Rent the Runway

Sachin & Babi

Gray Gatsby Dress

$35 rental
$495 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Float in and dazzle on a cloud of chiffon. This party perfect dress by Sachin + Babi is feminine and subtle with a cheeky dash of bling. Watch out for him taking a second, third (and fourth!) look at glamorous you.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller busted women
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ribbon detail
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is somewhat narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller busted women
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ribbon detail
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is somewhat narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Grey tulle over tulle chiffon. V neckline. Sequin embellishment at bodice. Hidden back zip. 33'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

196 reviews

Fit
Small 129
True to Size 62
Large 0
Photos 98
Kayla
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 7, 2011

It was perfect for my date function's twenties theme!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a "Roaring 20's" themed date function I had with my sorority and it was absolutely perfect! I got tons of compliments on it. It does like more gray in person and fits a little snug up top. I usually wear a 6, but had to size up to an 8. I would definitely recommend this dress for any formal occassion!
Shannan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 4, 2012

Nearly every girl at the event asked where I had gotten my dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for New Years this year and absolutely loved it. I had an issue with UPS not being able to find my house on Saturday afternoon, but RTR worked it out and I was able to pick the dress up right in time. I got at least 20 compliments throughout the night and felt very beautiful. The black sash around the waist is snug, so I would probably get a size 6 in the future, but the rest of the dress was perfect. Would definitely rent again!
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Body type: Apple
Feb 29, 2012

Dresses arrived perfectly on time and were gorgeous!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was so much fun -- I felt like I was wearing a grown up tutu! The black band was very tight, but the simple block of dark color defined my waist very well! The picture I'm posting also has a dress from RTR that my sister rented! Great first experience!!
Kirstin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 9, 2012

Got tons of compliments throughout the night and friends said it was very "me"

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Loved the dress; I usually wear a 6/8 (top/bottom) and found the top and the belt to fit great in a 8 and be a bit tight in the hips. The 10 was too loose in the top but fit better through the hips. Ultimately went with the 8, but was definitely a bit shorter/tighter than I am used to, though still flattering. Overall loved the rental!
Cookie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 16, 2012

Lots of compliments

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Dress does run small...1 size smaller than a "normal" brand, 2 sizes smaller than a vanity-sized brand like Ann Taylor or Banana. Also note the length! I'm 5' 6" and could not have gotten away with this length if I were any taller...super cute, but super short. The front feels longer than it is due to the ruffles, but back has no length for sitting comfortably or bending over at all. I knelt down to sign the guest book so as not to flash those behind me! I wasn't sure about this dress at first as the v-neck didn't seem overly flattering, but I was flooded with compliments all night. It's such a unique dress that nobody was analyzing the neckline.
Tennille
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Dec 8, 2013

Adorable and fun - lots of compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this for a theme event in which we were the roraing 20's. I didn't want to own and expensive flapper dress and this was perfect. I read the reviews and ordered the 2 and the 4, even though I am always a 0 or a 2. I have 3 kids under the age of 5 so even though I am petite, I have a tummy so I am glad that I got the one size up b/c there is NO wiggle room in this dress, particularly through the mid section. Overall I loved the dress and received lots of compliments. I followed the lead of others and wore black tights and black patent leater mary janes - so fun!
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 15, 2013

Runs very small in the waist

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't wear this dress to my event (it was my back up dress), but even though I ordered up a size, the waist (where the ribbon is) has no give and was really snug. Order up!
Vanessa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Dec 23, 2013

I didn't wear this

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress is probably cute for teenagers! Plus, I'm far, far too pale for it. I just didn't like it. I think it ran a little small... or I was just too fat for it. Or too pale.
Colleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 24, 2013

Beautiful dress but wished the skirt was bigger

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress but felt like the skirt could have been more full and swishy. It was a little tight for my rear but didn't prevent me from wearing it and having a good time
Veronica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134 lbs
Jan 23, 2014

Fabulous, runs short

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Used the dress for a 20's-theme party. Simply amazing. Runs very short (especially if you are tall.) Had to use a black-slip under to make-up for the length of the skirt.
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116 lbs
Feb 7, 2014

Runs very small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I was unable to wear - it runs very small. I normally wear a 2 or 4 depending on the dress, however in this dress I would have needed a 6
amber
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 4, 2014

Back up dress, seems a little too tight

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I normally am size 2 but got a 4 instead and just seemed too tight all around. Liked the ruffles but felt it may have not been great from the back (no ruffels, and tight)
Lyalek
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 6, 2014

Fun dress, especially for 1920's-themed parties

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Wore this to a "speakeasy" brunch. Good fit but runs small. I'm size 0 in almost every brand, and size 2 of this style ran really tight and short.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 7, 2014

Cute for NYE if it had fit!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I have a short torso and the sewn in belt hit me well below my waist and was super tight. I wore a similar dress from RTR by Sachin and Babi last NYE and it had a similar problem, but was not uncomfortable as I sized up from a 4 to a 6 as most other reviewers suggested. This dress was too tight in the 6 because of the belt. It was baggy otherwise.
Jaime
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 18, 2014

Was hoping to wear this for a Great Gatsby party I hosted.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
A pretty dress on the hanger, but not on me. Definitely runs VERY small. I typically wear a 2 or 4 and the 6 didn't even fit. And my friends said the color was rough - washed me out (and I'm not a fair-skinned girl). I went with the other dress I ordered from RTR for the night and was thrilled.
Bethany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 1, 2014

Classy sparkles!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Mt first rental with Rent the Runway. The dress is stunning--soft, silken fabric, muted sparkles under chiffon-y overlays. The bridal shower I attended was a tea party, and I paired this with a black shrug, black stilettos, the silver Cara bracelet, Alexis Bittar pave earrings, and waved my hair. Adorable. That being said, I wear a 4 normally and the 6 barely fit. This dress forgives hips, but prefers if you don't own them. A new dress would not have gotten to me in time, so I did wear a spanx style slip, and was able to squeak by with it as long as I didn't drive with the skirt around my hips.... I loved the dress that much. The skirt was true to the mid-thigh description, and the black belt is not removable. Next time, I would rent the 8 and the 10.
H
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 29, 2014

Loved the dress

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress so much! I didn't get to wear it unfortunately because it was stained in the back, but fortunately RTR hooked me up with a different dress which ended up fitting better... I put it ran small because the back was extremely short... Other than that love it., will try to rent again
Khandyce
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 30, 2014

Didn't love this dress at all

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a 1930's party. I didn't love it based off of the pictures, but going off of the good reviews I was really hoping to love it more in person. I didn't like it on all me at all. I have an hourglass figure with broader shoulders, and it had a very weird fit on me. It was uncomfortably tight at the waist, but fit better at my wider parts. It also flattened my chest area (not that I needed help in that area). I felt very stocky and not feminine in it, so I returned it for the Nicole Miller Work What You Got dress, and I liked that one much better.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
May 2, 2014

Did not like this dress

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for a rehearsal dinner thinking it would be cute. It was super tight and the pieces of fabric were very busy and full static. It made me look like a little girl playing dress up and I didn't feel like it looked like the picture at all.
Lori
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
May 5, 2014

1920s-1930s formal party

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress definitely runs small, but I was able to go a size up to fit over my hips. Even so, the dress was so short that I would have been scared of flashing everyone all night. Luckily, I had rented a back-up dress that worked fine. This dress would have been great if it had been 2-3 inches longer. Definitely rent 1-2 sizes up from what you normally wear though!
Megan
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
May 12, 2014

Ran very small, material thin and felt like the material on top added width. Did not wear

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I thought the extra material on top made me look bigger. The black ribbon did not stretch at all and rolled up immediately. I returned for a credit. When ordering, my back up size was unavailable so I only had that one shot. Loved the way the website ran though and rented a new dress with my credit for an event this weekend. Hoping this one will work out. Thanks RTR!
Jennifer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
May 23, 2014

It was my best friend's bachelorette party.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The wait was a little tight, but I was the only person that could tell. I loved this dress and was receiving compliments throughout the night.
Amers
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
May 27, 2014

Beautiful dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I received so many compliments on this dress. I was co-chairing a charity event that was Gatsby themed. This dress would be beautiful worn alone though without all the flare. Highly recommend. The fit was a little tight only because I have larger ribs and the black belt barely made it around. I also went braless as the flowy fabric allowed this and the back is see through so I didnt want the back closure to show.
Kelli
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
May 29, 2014

Runs really small, especially if you have a large rib cage!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered a size 6 and 8 going with the recommendation to size up. The size 8 fit, but barely, and was extremely uncomfortable because the black strap around the waist has no give. It felt like it was cutting into my waist. I called to order a size up, but there were none available.
Ruthie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 2, 2014

Super cute, but way small in hips and too short.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Tight in hips. Also too short. Definitely order size up.
Mads
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 6, 2014

I ended up not needing the dress and the return was quick and easy. They even refunded me.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Never actually wore it.
Steph3987
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jul 15, 2014

Beautiful Details

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Dress was beautiful but didn't fit around my butt, if you have a larger bottom section definitely size up!
Kay
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128 lbs
Aug 3, 2014

Perfect for the Gatsby event

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I liked this dress for the "costumy" Gatsby theme party. It looked better from the front and I'm not sure i would have loved it for a more traditional formal event. Mid-range quality.
Natalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 23, 2014

Beautiful but not meant for hips

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Gorgeous dress, however I was disappointed as neither size I ordered fit. The material is really snug and I couldn't even get it over my hips, it has literally no give. RTR was AMAZING as always and I picked out another dress in time for my Gatsby themed party. The customer service is truly wonderful and it is always a pleasure using them!!
Allie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Oct 14, 2014

Great Dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Great dress and tons of compliments! Used for a twenties party and it was perfect! Would definitely recommend. Runs slightly small.
HIddenfashionista
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Oct 21, 2014

Ethereal dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Runs small like all reviews say. Beautiful fit on me. Loved the dress for black tie Gatsby theme formal event
Meegs
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Nov 6, 2014

I wore this for a Gatsby event and dressed it up with fun jewelry. Great dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The fit is very tight around the middle. I am usually the smallest in my waist and this is where is fit least well. The six was not available so I just had the four.
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 10, 2014

Very Gatsby!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
It worked for my party but ran pretty small. It was pretty hard to sit in (which I didn't do much of) and was very tight. It was a Gatsby themed event so this fit the bill but isn't something I would order again. Didn't really flatter in pictures and made me feel a bit bulkier than normal.
Kellie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 7, 2015

Gatsby? What Gatsby?

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Size up for backup! I'm usually a 4-6, but ended up wearing an 8. The ribbon on the waist has ZERO stretch. I wore this dress to my 1920's themed bridal shower. The dress was beautiful!
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 5, 2015

One of my favorite rentals. It's versatile. The model's photo doesn't do it justice.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wish I could purchase this one!
Mary
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 10, 2015

This dress was stunning in person and fit the 1920's theme perfectly for my friend's wedding.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress can seem a little short but the fit is true to size and is very comfortable.
RTR Customer
Mar 18, 2015

Sparkly and fun gatsby party dress

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Formal Affair
I just BARELY squeezed my giant nursing boobs into the top of this (34DDD into size 10) by not wearing a bra. I got tons of compliments on it though, and it hid my small postpartum pooch nicely. Not too low cut, very flattering. A little shorter than I expected.
Leeyuh
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 1, 2015

n/a

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this for a Gatsby-themed wedding. It is a cute dress but it does run really short. I was really conscious when sitting down because the dress does ride up your thighs. I usually fit a size 4 or 6 in dresses, but for this dress in particular, size 8 fit well.
Tammy
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 18
Body type: Apple
Weight: 126 lbs
Apr 9, 2015

Loved the "Great Gatsby" look.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
My daughter wore this for a "decades" dance at school. She is usually a size 0 - this dress in a size 2 fit perfectly.
Jemma
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 175 lbs
Apr 15, 2015

Was intended for a 1920s, Great Gatsby themed party.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I read the reviews and knew this dress would run small, but holy cow, I couldn't even get it past my boobs! The bottom is not stretchy in the slightest and has ZERO wiggle room, so for those with a tight figure, this dress is for you! Those with curves: I would sadly not recommend, despite how cute it is.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×