Sachin + Babi

Gray Gatsby Dress

$35 rental
$495 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Float in and dazzle on a cloud of chiffon. This party perfect dress by Sachin + Babi is feminine and subtle with a cheeky dash of bling. Watch out for him taking a second, third (and fourth!) look at glamorous you.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller busted women
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ribbon detail
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is somewhat narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller busted women
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ribbon detail
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is somewhat narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Grey tulle over tulle chiffon. V neckline. Sequin embellishment at bodice. Hidden back zip. 33'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

190 reviews

Fit
Small 124
True to Size 62
Large 0
Photos 96
Kayla
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 7, 2011

It was perfect for my date function's twenties theme!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a "Roaring 20's" themed date function I had with my sorority and it was absolutely perfect! I got tons of compliments on it. It does like more gray in person and fits a little snug up top. I usually wear a 6, but had to size up to an 8. I would definitely recommend this dress for any formal occassion!
Shannan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 4, 2012

Nearly every girl at the event asked where I had gotten my dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for New Years this year and absolutely loved it. I had an issue with UPS not being able to find my house on Saturday afternoon, but RTR worked it out and I was able to pick the dress up right in time. I got at least 20 compliments throughout the night and felt very beautiful. The black sash around the waist is snug, so I would probably get a size 6 in the future, but the rest of the dress was perfect. Would definitely rent again!
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Body type: Apple
Feb 29, 2012

Dresses arrived perfectly on time and were gorgeous!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was so much fun -- I felt like I was wearing a grown up tutu! The black band was very tight, but the simple block of dark color defined my waist very well! The picture I'm posting also has a dress from RTR that my sister rented! Great first experience!!
Casey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Oct 27, 2013

Not my fav!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Rented this as a back-up dress for a 20's themed night. I was disappointed. The fit was completely off. Too small. Not very flattering. Definitely a no go for me.
Carrie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 6, 2013

Never got to wear it, very disappointing.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Could not get it zipped up in spite of ordering a size up, runs VERY small through the chest. Also super short!
Christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 10, 2013

glitzy gatsby :-)

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Per prior reviews - this dress definitely does not have stretch. I could get the Size 2 on (easily) but through the waist and thighs it didn't have much give so I opted to wear the Size 4 since I knew I'd be sitting all night. The front is really fun and flirty and looks a lot more interesting in person than the photos give it credit for. The back is absolutely plain so just know to expect that. Fun for a girls night out!
Victoria
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 25, 2013

Beautiful dress but design leaves some insecurities.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Rented this dress as a backup option for my roaring 20's themed birthday party. The dress is beautiful and I had high hopes considering all of the rave reviews. The dress is fabulous from the front view, but the back is as plain as described. I rented it knowing that was the case but it's a pretty drastic difference. The back is very short too. I am pear shaped and ordered up to a 6 from my usual 4 but it left me nervous. That and the almost see through material in the back. For this reason I wore another dress. Definitely size up ladies and if you have some junk in the trunk might want to consider another dress.
lc
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 2, 2013

I got so many compliments on this dress! It definitely stood out in the crowd of Black and White..

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
definitely tone down the jewelry..
Tennille
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Dec 8, 2013

Adorable and fun - lots of compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this for a theme event in which we were the roraing 20's. I didn't want to own and expensive flapper dress and this was perfect. I read the reviews and ordered the 2 and the 4, even though I am always a 0 or a 2. I have 3 kids under the age of 5 so even though I am petite, I have a tummy so I am glad that I got the one size up b/c there is NO wiggle room in this dress, particularly through the mid section. Overall I loved the dress and received lots of compliments. I followed the lead of others and wore black tights and black patent leater mary janes - so fun!
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 15, 2013

Runs very small in the waist

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't wear this dress to my event (it was my back up dress), but even though I ordered up a size, the waist (where the ribbon is) has no give and was really snug. Order up!
Vanessa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Dec 23, 2013

I didn't wear this

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress is probably cute for teenagers! Plus, I'm far, far too pale for it. I just didn't like it. I think it ran a little small... or I was just too fat for it. Or too pale.
Colleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 24, 2013

Beautiful dress but wished the skirt was bigger

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress but felt like the skirt could have been more full and swishy. It was a little tight for my rear but didn't prevent me from wearing it and having a good time
Veronica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134 lbs
Jan 23, 2014

Fabulous, runs short

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Used the dress for a 20's-theme party. Simply amazing. Runs very short (especially if you are tall.) Had to use a black-slip under to make-up for the length of the skirt.
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116 lbs
Feb 7, 2014

Runs very small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I was unable to wear - it runs very small. I normally wear a 2 or 4 depending on the dress, however in this dress I would have needed a 6
amber
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 4, 2014

Back up dress, seems a little too tight

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I normally am size 2 but got a 4 instead and just seemed too tight all around. Liked the ruffles but felt it may have not been great from the back (no ruffels, and tight)
Lyalek
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 6, 2014

Fun dress, especially for 1920's-themed parties

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Wore this to a "speakeasy" brunch. Good fit but runs small. I'm size 0 in almost every brand, and size 2 of this style ran really tight and short.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 7, 2014

Cute for NYE if it had fit!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I have a short torso and the sewn in belt hit me well below my waist and was super tight. I wore a similar dress from RTR by Sachin and Babi last NYE and it had a similar problem, but was not uncomfortable as I sized up from a 4 to a 6 as most other reviewers suggested. This dress was too tight in the 6 because of the belt. It was baggy otherwise.
Jaime
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 18, 2014

Was hoping to wear this for a Great Gatsby party I hosted.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
A pretty dress on the hanger, but not on me. Definitely runs VERY small. I typically wear a 2 or 4 and the 6 didn't even fit. And my friends said the color was rough - washed me out (and I'm not a fair-skinned girl). I went with the other dress I ordered from RTR for the night and was thrilled.
Bethany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 1, 2014

Classy sparkles!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Mt first rental with Rent the Runway. The dress is stunning--soft, silken fabric, muted sparkles under chiffon-y overlays. The bridal shower I attended was a tea party, and I paired this with a black shrug, black stilettos, the silver Cara bracelet, Alexis Bittar pave earrings, and waved my hair. Adorable. That being said, I wear a 4 normally and the 6 barely fit. This dress forgives hips, but prefers if you don't own them. A new dress would not have gotten to me in time, so I did wear a spanx style slip, and was able to squeak by with it as long as I didn't drive with the skirt around my hips.... I loved the dress that much. The skirt was true to the mid-thigh description, and the black belt is not removable. Next time, I would rent the 8 and the 10.
H
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 29, 2014

Loved the dress

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress so much! I didn't get to wear it unfortunately because it was stained in the back, but fortunately RTR hooked me up with a different dress which ended up fitting better... I put it ran small because the back was extremely short... Other than that love it., will try to rent again
Khandyce
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 30, 2014

Didn't love this dress at all

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a 1930's party. I didn't love it based off of the pictures, but going off of the good reviews I was really hoping to love it more in person. I didn't like it on all me at all. I have an hourglass figure with broader shoulders, and it had a very weird fit on me. It was uncomfortably tight at the waist, but fit better at my wider parts. It also flattened my chest area (not that I needed help in that area). I felt very stocky and not feminine in it, so I returned it for the Nicole Miller Work What You Got dress, and I liked that one much better.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
May 2, 2014

Did not like this dress

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for a rehearsal dinner thinking it would be cute. It was super tight and the pieces of fabric were very busy and full static. It made me look like a little girl playing dress up and I didn't feel like it looked like the picture at all.
Lori
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
May 5, 2014

1920s-1930s formal party

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress definitely runs small, but I was able to go a size up to fit over my hips. Even so, the dress was so short that I would have been scared of flashing everyone all night. Luckily, I had rented a back-up dress that worked fine. This dress would have been great if it had been 2-3 inches longer. Definitely rent 1-2 sizes up from what you normally wear though!
Megan
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
May 12, 2014

Ran very small, material thin and felt like the material on top added width. Did not wear

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I thought the extra material on top made me look bigger. The black ribbon did not stretch at all and rolled up immediately. I returned for a credit. When ordering, my back up size was unavailable so I only had that one shot. Loved the way the website ran though and rented a new dress with my credit for an event this weekend. Hoping this one will work out. Thanks RTR!
Jennifer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
May 23, 2014

It was my best friend's bachelorette party.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The wait was a little tight, but I was the only person that could tell. I loved this dress and was receiving compliments throughout the night.
Amers
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
May 27, 2014

Beautiful dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I received so many compliments on this dress. I was co-chairing a charity event that was Gatsby themed. This dress would be beautiful worn alone though without all the flare. Highly recommend. The fit was a little tight only because I have larger ribs and the black belt barely made it around. I also went braless as the flowy fabric allowed this and the back is see through so I didnt want the back closure to show.
Kelli
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
May 29, 2014

Runs really small, especially if you have a large rib cage!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered a size 6 and 8 going with the recommendation to size up. The size 8 fit, but barely, and was extremely uncomfortable because the black strap around the waist has no give. It felt like it was cutting into my waist. I called to order a size up, but there were none available.
Ruthie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 2, 2014

Super cute, but way small in hips and too short.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Tight in hips. Also too short. Definitely order size up.
Mads
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 6, 2014

I ended up not needing the dress and the return was quick and easy. They even refunded me.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Never actually wore it.
Steph3987
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jul 15, 2014

Beautiful Details

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Dress was beautiful but didn't fit around my butt, if you have a larger bottom section definitely size up!
Kay
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128 lbs
Aug 3, 2014

Perfect for the Gatsby event

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I liked this dress for the "costumy" Gatsby theme party. It looked better from the front and I'm not sure i would have loved it for a more traditional formal event. Mid-range quality.
Natalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 23, 2014

Beautiful but not meant for hips

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Gorgeous dress, however I was disappointed as neither size I ordered fit. The material is really snug and I couldn't even get it over my hips, it has literally no give. RTR was AMAZING as always and I picked out another dress in time for my Gatsby themed party. The customer service is truly wonderful and it is always a pleasure using them!!
Allie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Oct 14, 2014

Great Dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Great dress and tons of compliments! Used for a twenties party and it was perfect! Would definitely recommend. Runs slightly small.
HIddenfashionista
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Oct 21, 2014

Ethereal dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Runs small like all reviews say. Beautiful fit on me. Loved the dress for black tie Gatsby theme formal event
Meegs
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Nov 6, 2014

I wore this for a Gatsby event and dressed it up with fun jewelry. Great dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The fit is very tight around the middle. I am usually the smallest in my waist and this is where is fit least well. The six was not available so I just had the four.
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 10, 2014

Very Gatsby!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
It worked for my party but ran pretty small. It was pretty hard to sit in (which I didn't do much of) and was very tight. It was a Gatsby themed event so this fit the bill but isn't something I would order again. Didn't really flatter in pictures and made me feel a bit bulkier than normal.
Kellie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 7, 2015

Gatsby? What Gatsby?

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Size up for backup! I'm usually a 4-6, but ended up wearing an 8. The ribbon on the waist has ZERO stretch. I wore this dress to my 1920's themed bridal shower. The dress was beautiful!
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 5, 2015

One of my favorite rentals. It's versatile. The model's photo doesn't do it justice.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wish I could purchase this one!
Mary
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 10, 2015

This dress was stunning in person and fit the 1920's theme perfectly for my friend's wedding.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress can seem a little short but the fit is true to size and is very comfortable.
RTR Customer
Mar 18, 2015

Sparkly and fun gatsby party dress

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Formal Affair
I just BARELY squeezed my giant nursing boobs into the top of this (34DDD into size 10) by not wearing a bra. I got tons of compliments on it though, and it hid my small postpartum pooch nicely. Not too low cut, very flattering. A little shorter than I expected.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×