Sachin & Babi

Gray Gatsby Dress

$79 to buy
$495 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Float in and dazzle on a cloud of chiffon. This party perfect dress by Sachin + Babi is feminine and subtle with a cheeky dash of bling. Watch out for him taking a second, third (and fourth!) look at glamorous you.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller busted women
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ribbon detail
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is somewhat narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Product Details

Grey tulle over tulle chiffon. V neckline. Sequin embellishment at bodice. Hidden back zip. 33'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
204 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(63)
Small
(132)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
November 23, 2013
Perfect for a Roaring 20s Party!
This dress was perfect for the Gatsby themed party I hosted, I got so many compliments!! I ordered a 4 and they send a second size, so I got a 6 in case. It's a good thing! Because this dress runs small, the 6 fit more like a 2/4, so I recommend going up a size ;)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
November 25, 2013
Beautiful dress but design leaves some insecurities.
Rented this dress as a backup option for my roaring 20's themed birthday party. The dress is beautiful and I had high hopes considering all of the rave reviews. The dress is fabulous from the front view, but the back is as plain as described. I rented it knowing that was the case but it's a pretty drastic difference. The back is very short too. I am pear shaped and ordered up to a 6 from my usual 4 but it left me nervous. That and the almost see through material in the back. For this reason I wore another dress. Definitely size up ladies and if you have some junk in the trunk might want to consider another dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
December 2, 2013
I got so many compliments on this dress! It definitely stood out in the crowd of Black and White..
definitely tone down the jewelry..
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 8, 2013
Adorable and fun - lots of compliments!
I wore this for a theme event in which we were the roraing 20's. I didn't want to own and expensive flapper dress and this was perfect. I read the reviews and ordered the 2 and the 4, even though I am always a 0 or a 2. I have 3 kids under the age of 5 so even though I am petite, I have a tummy so I am glad that I got the one size up b/c there is NO wiggle room in this dress, particularly through the mid section. Overall I loved the dress and received lots of compliments. I followed the lead of others and wore black tights and black patent leater mary janes - so fun!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
December 11, 2013
Great for dancing with Santa!
Wore this for our company's Gatsby-themed Christmas party. I really should have ordered up even more than I did as you don't get much room in the hips/booty area...well if you're built like I am anyway! But I got a ton of compliments and my dress did stay in place...I wasn't about to have a Britney Spears moment at a company function if you know what I mean.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 15, 2013
Runs very small in the waist
I didn't wear this dress to my event (it was my back up dress), but even though I ordered up a size, the waist (where the ribbon is) has no give and was really snug. Order up!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
November 6, 2013
Perfect dress for a Gatsby theme. Loved it.
I ended up ordering the size 4 and 6 and wore the 4. It was perfect !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 9, 2012
Runs Small!
This dress is cute but runs small! Make sure you order the next size up.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Body type: Apple
March 20, 2013
great!
it was beautiful!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
December 23, 2013
I didn't wear this
This dress is probably cute for teenagers! Plus, I'm far, far too pale for it. I just didn't like it. I think it ran a little small... or I was just too fat for it. Or too pale.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 24, 2013
Beautiful dress but wished the skirt was bigger
Loved this dress but felt like the skirt could have been more full and swishy. It was a little tight for my rear but didn't prevent me from wearing it and having a good time
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 22, 2014
My semi formal was Yule Ball themed and everyone loved my dress! It was perfect
It does run a little small, I'm usually a 2 and I wore the 4 But I liked that I didn't have to wear a strapless bra, received tons of compliments from my sorority sisters, wonderful dress!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 28, 2014
Everyone loved it!
Definitely runs small. I am typically a 2/4, but tend to err on the side of a 2. I wore the back up size (the 4) and it was snug! Thankfully, I was able to wear the dress without a bra since there was so much going on in the front. No bra lines visible through the fabric on my back and made it a little looser/A LOT more comfortable. As always, TONS of compliments and I got to brag about RTR! I wore it to a Gatsby party and while it wasn't anything near historically accurate, it blew the other "typical" 20's costumes out of the water! 3 stars only because this sizing was way off. But quality...4 stars!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
February 7, 2014
Runs very small
I was unable to wear - it runs very small. I normally wear a 2 or 4 depending on the dress, however in this dress I would have needed a 6
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
February 18, 2014
Perfect 20s Party Dress!
This was perfect for my husband's 20s themed gala- a great way to do "20s" without being completely literal. For me the fit was small but I believe this is due to my body type/the fact that I have had children. If you are young and blessed with an immaculate body, order your usual size. For those of us in our mid-thirties one other other pointer: dress is short so no Spanx. I wore a strapless bra but a regular bra will also work. Happy Renting!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
March 4, 2014
Back up dress, seems a little too tight
I normally am size 2 but got a 4 instead and just seemed too tight all around. Liked the ruffles but felt it may have not been great from the back (no ruffels, and tight)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
March 6, 2014
Fun dress, especially for 1920's-themed parties
Wore this to a "speakeasy" brunch. Good fit but runs small. I'm size 0 in almost every brand, and size 2 of this style ran really tight and short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 7, 2014
Cute for NYE if it had fit!
I have a short torso and the sewn in belt hit me well below my waist and was super tight. I wore a similar dress from RTR by Sachin and Babi last NYE and it had a similar problem, but was not uncomfortable as I sized up from a 4 to a 6 as most other reviewers suggested. This dress was too tight in the 6 because of the belt. It was baggy otherwise.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 18, 2014
Was hoping to wear this for a Great Gatsby party I hosted.
A pretty dress on the hanger, but not on me. Definitely runs VERY small. I typically wear a 2 or 4 and the 6 didn't even fit. And my friends said the color was rough - washed me out (and I'm not a fair-skinned girl). I went with the other dress I ordered from RTR for the night and was thrilled.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 18, 2014
The dress was stunning and chic! I fell in love with the details <3!!
I wore this dress for my friend's 30th birthday party and it was a big hit. This dress is really true to size and the details are beautiful. I received a lot of compliments for this dress and I felt like a star. The only con was that I had to return it; that was heartbreaking! I would definitely rent this dress again.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 18, 2014
Great 1920's Flapper Dress!
Wore this dress to a Halloween party. Loved the champagne color, fun fringe and sparkles, and the dress fit perfectly in all the right places. I typically wear a six but had to size up to an eight, as the dress runs slightly small and there is NO give to the fabric. Keep that in mind when picking sizes. Otherwise I got a ton of compliments and it was a fun alternative to the black dresses the other "flappers" wore than night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 23, 2014
Perfect Gatsby-themed dress!
This is a great dress to wear to a Gatsby-themed event without looking like you're in costume! The dress is a bit short so I went up a size, but otherwise it was fantastic! Five stars.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
April 1, 2014
Classy sparkles!
Mt first rental with Rent the Runway. The dress is stunning--soft, silken fabric, muted sparkles under chiffon-y overlays. The bridal shower I attended was a tea party, and I paired this with a black shrug, black stilettos, the silver Cara bracelet, Alexis Bittar pave earrings, and waved my hair. Adorable. That being said, I wear a 4 normally and the 6 barely fit. This dress forgives hips, but prefers if you don't own them. A new dress would not have gotten to me in time, so I did wear a spanx style slip, and was able to squeak by with it as long as I didn't drive with the skirt around my hips.... I loved the dress that much. The skirt was true to the mid-thigh description, and the black belt is not removable. Next time, I would rent the 8 and the 10.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
April 6, 2014
This was perfect for a Great Gatsby Themed party.
The dress runs small. In my opinion this is far from the normal RTR quality. The dress has a cheap fabric with no give. I wore my normal size however it is short I am high waisted with longer legs.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
April 7, 2014
I've never gotten so many compliments on a dress before and how it looked on me. Very unique!
Wore it to my "A Night In Paris" sorority formal and it fit like a glove! I'm usually a size for in dresses. Small waist and bigger bust
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
April 27, 2014
I had compliments all night
This dress is very fitted, and for a girl with a long torso a bit short. I loved it and had so much fun dancing the night away in it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
April 29, 2014
Loved the dress
Loved this dress so much! I didn't get to wear it unfortunately because it was stained in the back, but fortunately RTR hooked me up with a different dress which ended up fitting better... I put it ran small because the back was extremely short... Other than that love it., will try to rent again
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 30, 2014
Didn't love this dress at all
I rented this dress for a 1930's party. I didn't love it based off of the pictures, but going off of the good reviews I was really hoping to love it more in person. I didn't like it on all me at all. I have an hourglass figure with broader shoulders, and it had a very weird fit on me. It was uncomfortably tight at the waist, but fit better at my wider parts. It also flattened my chest area (not that I needed help in that area). I felt very stocky and not feminine in it, so I returned it for the Nicole Miller Work What You Got dress, and I liked that one much better.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
May 2, 2014
Did not like this dress
I rented this for a rehearsal dinner thinking it would be cute. It was super tight and the pieces of fabric were very busy and full static. It made me look like a little girl playing dress up and I didn't feel like it looked like the picture at all.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
May 4, 2014
This dress was so much fun to wear. I have received many compliments on the dress.
I'm a bigger chested person and this dress did not make me feel like my chest was the first thing I saw. Although title fit great in the chest area, but the little black ribbon around the waist kept rolling up.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 5, 2014
1920s-1930s formal party
The dress definitely runs small, but I was able to go a size up to fit over my hips. Even so, the dress was so short that I would have been scared of flashing everyone all night. Luckily, I had rented a back-up dress that worked fine. This dress would have been great if it had been 2-3 inches longer. Definitely rent 1-2 sizes up from what you normally wear though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
May 6, 2014
Perfect dress for a Roaring 20s party. Received many compliments!!
Needed a dress for a roaring 20s party. This one was perfect! Went great with my accessories, and had the perfect amount of glitz and glam. Received many compliments on the dress. Would work great for a cocktail / formal occasion as well!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
May 11, 2014
Perfect Roaring 20's Dress!
I loved this dress! It was perfect for the roaring 20's theme of the party. It runs small. I'm glad I went a size bigger for my first choice, and then a size even bigger for my 2nd choice thanks to the reviews. I went with the bigger of the two and it was perfect. A little short while sitting down, but perfect while standing. Luckily the event was mostly at high top tables.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 13, 2014
It's sparkly in the very front and the ruffles are super adorable! So classy and chic!
The pros: Outfit is super cuuuute! You will get compliments ALL NITE LONG! Very versatile as you can wear it for you birthday party (which I did), to a nice event, on a date, etc… It hugged my body but in a sophisticated, classy way! It's so uber awesome! The cons: it doesn't have any stretch, so I am glad I ordered by the 2 and 4 with this one! The 2 was a bit tight because I am athletically built, and my butt and thighs was not having it, lol! However, that is my only con :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
May 14, 2014
Glamorous and unconventional. Perfect match for my daughter.
Rented this dress for my daughter's senior prom, "Roaring '20s" theme. She was nervous because she couldn't touch the dress, but once it arrived, she knew she made the right choice. The dress is definitely GRAY, and the sequins on the bodice are more noticeable and lovely in person. She normally wears size 3/4, and the 4 worked perfectly but was pretty snug after dinner. If you are curvy, I would definitely size up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
May 17, 2014
Most fun dress I've ever had!
This dress was incredible. My original first choice wasn't available so RTR offered me a switch and I am sooooooo glad I picked this one. It's sparkly, floaty, and lays just the right way in all the right places. I felt so beautiful! It fits true to size. My only warning would be that it might be a little short for taller girls. It was just right for me, but I'm only 5'1.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
May 18, 2014
I got non-stop compliments on my dress. It was a roaring 20's party and I went as Daisy from Gatsby
I usually wear a size 2 and had to wear the size 4. This dress is perfect and lightweight! I was so sad to ship it back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
May 19, 2014
So Many Compliments!
Pros - I got so many compliments on this dress! It was very flattering and fun to wear. Perfect dress for a 1920's themed event. Cons - Like the reviewers before me have said, this dress runs very small. I luckily ordered an 8 & 10 (normal sizing for me is 4-6) since I was worried about the fit after reading the reviews. I'm very glad I did since I ended up wearing the bigger size. It is also quite short when sitting down. Overall, I probably wouldn't rent this dress again - however it was perfect for my event and even got compliments from a local TV personality!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175lbs
May 22, 2014
Everyone loved my dress!
This is a gorgeous dress, but it is soooo SMALL!! The black belt is not stretchy at all so I had to suck it in all night. I can fit into a size 8 pants at J Crew but I could barely fit in this so definitely order a size above.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 23, 2014
It was my best friend's bachelorette party.
The wait was a little tight, but I was the only person that could tell. I loved this dress and was receiving compliments throughout the night.
See more reviews:
3 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×