Sachin & Babi

Gray Gatsby Dress

$79 to buy
$495 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Float in and dazzle on a cloud of chiffon. This party perfect dress by Sachin + Babi is feminine and subtle with a cheeky dash of bling. Watch out for him taking a second, third (and fourth!) look at glamorous you.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller busted women
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ribbon detail
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is somewhat narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Product Details

Grey tulle over tulle chiffon. V neckline. Sequin embellishment at bodice. Hidden back zip. 33'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
204 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(63)
Small
(132)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
April 6, 2014
This was perfect for a Great Gatsby Themed party.
The dress runs small. In my opinion this is far from the normal RTR quality. The dress has a cheap fabric with no give. I wore my normal size however it is short I am high waisted with longer legs.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
April 29, 2014
Loved the dress
Loved this dress so much! I didn't get to wear it unfortunately because it was stained in the back, but fortunately RTR hooked me up with a different dress which ended up fitting better... I put it ran small because the back was extremely short... Other than that love it., will try to rent again
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 30, 2014
Didn't love this dress at all
I rented this dress for a 1930's party. I didn't love it based off of the pictures, but going off of the good reviews I was really hoping to love it more in person. I didn't like it on all me at all. I have an hourglass figure with broader shoulders, and it had a very weird fit on me. It was uncomfortably tight at the waist, but fit better at my wider parts. It also flattened my chest area (not that I needed help in that area). I felt very stocky and not feminine in it, so I returned it for the Nicole Miller Work What You Got dress, and I liked that one much better.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
May 2, 2014
Did not like this dress
I rented this for a rehearsal dinner thinking it would be cute. It was super tight and the pieces of fabric were very busy and full static. It made me look like a little girl playing dress up and I didn't feel like it looked like the picture at all.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 5, 2014
1920s-1930s formal party
The dress definitely runs small, but I was able to go a size up to fit over my hips. Even so, the dress was so short that I would have been scared of flashing everyone all night. Luckily, I had rented a back-up dress that worked fine. This dress would have been great if it had been 2-3 inches longer. Definitely rent 1-2 sizes up from what you normally wear though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
May 6, 2014
Perfect dress for a Roaring 20s party. Received many compliments!!
Needed a dress for a roaring 20s party. This one was perfect! Went great with my accessories, and had the perfect amount of glitz and glam. Received many compliments on the dress. Would work great for a cocktail / formal occasion as well!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 11, 2014
Perfect Roaring 20's Dress!
I loved this dress! It was perfect for the roaring 20's theme of the party. It runs small. I'm glad I went a size bigger for my first choice, and then a size even bigger for my 2nd choice thanks to the reviews. I went with the bigger of the two and it was perfect. A little short while sitting down, but perfect while standing. Luckily the event was mostly at high top tables.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 13, 2014
It's sparkly in the very front and the ruffles are super adorable! So classy and chic!
The pros: Outfit is super cuuuute! You will get compliments ALL NITE LONG! Very versatile as you can wear it for you birthday party (which I did), to a nice event, on a date, etc… It hugged my body but in a sophisticated, classy way! It's so uber awesome! The cons: it doesn't have any stretch, so I am glad I ordered by the 2 and 4 with this one! The 2 was a bit tight because I am athletically built, and my butt and thighs was not having it, lol! However, that is my only con :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
May 18, 2014
I got non-stop compliments on my dress. It was a roaring 20's party and I went as Daisy from Gatsby
I usually wear a size 2 and had to wear the size 4. This dress is perfect and lightweight! I was so sad to ship it back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34DDD/E
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
May 19, 2014
So Many Compliments!
Pros - I got so many compliments on this dress! It was very flattering and fun to wear. Perfect dress for a 1920's themed event. Cons - Like the reviewers before me have said, this dress runs very small. I luckily ordered an 8 & 10 (normal sizing for me is 4-6) since I was worried about the fit after reading the reviews. I'm very glad I did since I ended up wearing the bigger size. It is also quite short when sitting down. Overall, I probably wouldn't rent this dress again - however it was perfect for my event and even got compliments from a local TV personality!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175lbs
May 22, 2014
Everyone loved my dress!
This is a gorgeous dress, but it is soooo SMALL!! The black belt is not stretchy at all so I had to suck it in all night. I can fit into a size 8 pants at J Crew but I could barely fit in this so definitely order a size above.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 23, 2014
It was my best friend's bachelorette party.
The wait was a little tight, but I was the only person that could tell. I loved this dress and was receiving compliments throughout the night.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
May 27, 2014
Beautiful dress
I received so many compliments on this dress. I was co-chairing a charity event that was Gatsby themed. This dress would be beautiful worn alone though without all the flare. Highly recommend. The fit was a little tight only because I have larger ribs and the black belt barely made it around. I also went braless as the flowy fabric allowed this and the back is see through so I didnt want the back closure to show.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
May 29, 2014
Runs really small, especially if you have a large rib cage!
I ordered a size 6 and 8 going with the recommendation to size up. The size 8 fit, but barely, and was extremely uncomfortable because the black strap around the waist has no give. It felt like it was cutting into my waist. I called to order a size up, but there were none available.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
June 8, 2014
Great dress! Great night!
Definitely get one size up from your normal size. Dress is gorgeous and fits perfect! I had tons of compliments all night:)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 21, 2014
Worked out really well. 4/5 because I wish it was a wee bit more comfortable
Was happy with it. Wish the ribbon didn't roll and bunch. Got lots of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 24, 2014
Perfect dress for a 20s themed wedding!
Loved this dress! This was my first time renting with RTR and it was fabulous. I took my time to read the reviews, which really paid off. It was comfortable and perfect for a tiny gal like me. I was able to look glamourous and dance the night away. Its an unusual style, so something I wouldnt wear all of the time, so renting was the perfect option.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
June 24, 2014
Cute dress but really short!
Rented this for a Gatsby style fashion shoot. It runs small and we used the dress one size larger than our model's usual size 4. As much as I liked the lightness of the dress, it was just way too short for my liking and we ended up only shooting from the mid-thigh up. (We could see up her dress every time she sat down.)
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
July 18, 2014
Beautiful, comfortable and exactly what I needed!
This dress was exactly what I was looking for. It was beautiful in person, and was surprisingly comfortable and easy to wear (no pulling, adjusting or duck taping required...this is a well-made dress)! Do be aware that it runs a bit small; I could fit in the size 2 that I ordered, but the backup size 4 was a much better fit. Also, the zipper is very delicate and seemed a bit worn, so take extra care. This was my first time using RTR, and I'm a very picky chicky, but I couldn't be happier with this rental!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
July 30, 2014
Perfect dress for my vintage bridal shower!
I'm usually a 4, but I was worried because of the reviews that I would need the 6 (which was unavailable). I ordered an 8 as my backup, just in case it really was way too small. It actually fit pretty well, though, and I wore the 4. The only part that was tight was the ribbon around the waist, which is not adjustable and has no flex. By the end of the day, driving home, I just had to unzip for that reason. As others have mentioned, it is pretty short, but that only really bothered me while sitting down. Standing the length was just fine. Also, the color really is a cool grey, where the pictures make it look a little warmer.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 6, 2014
I wore this for a Gatsby event and dressed it up with fun jewelry. Great dress!
The fit is very tight around the middle. I am usually the smallest in my waist and this is where is fit least well. The six was not available so I just had the four.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 25, 2014
Paired it with fishnets, pearls, long gloves and a headband for a themed look.
I rented this dress for a 20's themed party. The size 4 fit perfectly but was way too short. I practiced bending, reaching and sitting before I left the house and had to switch into the 6 for the extra length. It was a really pretty dress and something different. It would work for many other occasions; not solely Gatsby parties.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
September 28, 2014
Great Gatsby party!
I can't say enough how happy I was with my rental and rent the runway! I got compliments all night on my dress. Rent the Runway made my night. I'm already looking forward to my next rental.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
October 14, 2014
Great Dress!
Great dress and tons of compliments! Used for a twenties party and it was perfect! Would definitely recommend. Runs slightly small.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Age: 32
October 14, 2014
Easy to order
Perfect for my flapper themed bridal shower!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
October 16, 2014
It was a very playful dress yet very sexy.
I'm normally a size 4 but the 6 fit better. Ballroom dancing was so much fun with this dress. It can tend to ride up and when it does, it gets really short. And I'm pretty short - 5'3". So if you're tall, this is probably not the dress for you.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
November 10, 2014
Very Gatsby!
It worked for my party but ran pretty small. It was pretty hard to sit in (which I didn't do much of) and was very tight. It was a Gatsby themed event so this fit the bill but isn't something I would order again. Didn't really flatter in pictures and made me feel a bit bulkier than normal.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
November 15, 2014
Great Gatsby party with great friends!
LOVED this dress! I wore it to a "Great Gatsby" themed party. I ordered a size 4 and 6. They both fit, but I ended up going with the size 6, for comfort. The black belt doesn't have any give. I knew there was going to be lots of food and dancing, so the size 6 was a good choice. This was my first Rent The Runway experience, and it was a great one. I will definitely be ordering again in the future.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 7, 2015
Gatsby? What Gatsby?
Size up for backup! I'm usually a 4-6, but ended up wearing an 8. The ribbon on the waist has ZERO stretch. I wore this dress to my 1920's themed bridal shower. The dress was beautiful!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
January 13, 2015
Multiple compliments all through the night!
I rented this for my company post-holiday party. I borrowed both size 4 (my regular size) and a size 6. To my surprise, I could not fit the size 4 at all and the 6 was tight!! I think I would have easily fit and felt comfortable in the Size 8. It was very short so bending over was a definitely no-no throughout the night, but I received so many compliments on the day and even after work a few days after! Everyone loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
January 14, 2015
Amazing dress! So hard to decide which RTR to wear!
I ordered this for a 'roaring 20's' themed party. I ordered a 2 and 4. In regular clothes I wear a 2, in this dress the 4 was perfect! It looked great and was comfy. yes its a shorter dress- but that's OK- sexy! My only complaint is that I ordered a back up dress, which I also LOVED, so I ended up wearing the back up dress. I wanted to wear them both! This is a great dress!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 16, 2012
Huge hit
Never have I received more compliments at a fancy work party! It was a winter party, so I wore black tights and black suede booties with the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 1, 2015
n/a
I wore this for a Gatsby-themed wedding. It is a cute dress but it does run really short. I was really conscious when sitting down because the dress does ride up your thighs. I usually fit a size 4 or 6 in dresses, but for this dress in particular, size 8 fit well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 175lbs
April 15, 2015
Was intended for a 1920s, Great Gatsby themed party.
I read the reviews and knew this dress would run small, but holy cow, I couldn't even get it past my boobs! The bottom is not stretchy in the slightest and has ZERO wiggle room, so for those with a tight figure, this dress is for you! Those with curves: I would sadly not recommend, despite how cute it is.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
May 9, 2015
What a gorgeous dress! I received so many compliments at the Great Gatsby themed wedding I attended.
The dress definitely runs small and short. I'm normally a true size 2 with a 26 inch waist., but I had to wear the 4 The hip area was a little snug (I know my butt is not that large) & the dress was pretty short when you sat down. I still liked it overall.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 10, 2015
So in love with this dress!
First off this dress is so dainty and delicate!! The ruffles are stunning!!! I wanted to rent it SO bad and came very close to not doing it because I normally wear a size 2 ~ 4 but mostly 2's.....those sizes were completely booked! I tried to find another dress but couldn't get this one off my mind....I went back to read the reviews and saw the same statement on almost every one....the fact that this dress runs EXTREMELY SMALL!!!! Upon their opinions I went ahead and rented the 6 and let me just say that I could NOT have gotten into anything smaller!! This is a gorgeous dress but don't make the mistake of ordering your normal size!! Overall I LOVED THIS DRESS & so did everyone else!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
October 21, 2014
Ethereal dress
Runs small like all reviews say. Beautiful fit on me. Loved the dress for black tie Gatsby theme formal event
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 13, 2016
Sadly couldn't wear.
The dress ran small so I couldn't wear it.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 3, 2012
I loved it! Will be coming back for more!!
I got so many compliments on this dress! I told everyone about this site and how awesome it is! The dress does run small. Typically I can wear a 10 but this size 10 barely came up over my hips! The black belt does roll up like all the other reviewers said! The shipping went smoothly and I love that I got to keep the garment bag because I've been needing one!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
February 7, 2013
Fun and comfy!!
This dress was AMAZING!! I got this for my 13 year old daughter to wear to a fashion show. It had a great sequin detailed on the bodice that was softened up with the gauzy fabric. She wore it with black leggings and lace up patten leather booties which went well with the black belt. She said it was very comfortable. She felt pretty and I liked that she was covered. WIN-WIN!! My daughter's measurements are above
BeckyMarch 6, 2013
I thought the system took her measurements... My daughter is usually a size 4; height: 5' 2", 115lbs. Bust 34B.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×