Gray Gatsby Dress

$79 to buy
$495 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Float in and dazzle on a cloud of chiffon. This party perfect dress by Sachin + Babi is feminine and subtle with a cheeky dash of bling. Watch out for him taking a second, third (and fourth!) look at glamorous you.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller busted women
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ribbon detail
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is somewhat narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller busted women
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ribbon detail
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is somewhat narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Grey tulle over tulle chiffon. V neckline. Sequin embellishment at bodice. Hidden back zip. 33'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
202 reviews
Fit
Large0
True to Size63
Small131
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 22, 2014
My semi formal was Yule Ball themed and everyone loved my dress! It was perfect
It does run a little small, I'm usually a 2 and I wore the 4 But I liked that I didn't have to wear a strapless bra, received tons of compliments from my sorority sisters, wonderful dress!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 24, 2013
Beautiful dress but wished the skirt was bigger
Loved this dress but felt like the skirt could have been more full and swishy. It was a little tight for my rear but didn't prevent me from wearing it and having a good time
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
December 23, 2013
I didn't wear this
This dress is probably cute for teenagers! Plus, I'm far, far too pale for it. I just didn't like it. I think it ran a little small... or I was just too fat for it. Or too pale.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 15, 2013
Runs very small in the waist
I didn't wear this dress to my event (it was my back up dress), but even though I ordered up a size, the waist (where the ribbon is) has no give and was really snug. Order up!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
December 11, 2013
Great for dancing with Santa!
Wore this for our company's Gatsby-themed Christmas party. I really should have ordered up even more than I did as you don't get much room in the hips/booty area...well if you're built like I am anyway! But I got a ton of compliments and my dress did stay in place...I wasn't about to have a Britney Spears moment at a company function if you know what I mean.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 10, 2013
Wore this to the Roaring 20's military ball!
my first time renting, and 2 days before 20's military ball I got size 4 and 6, I usually wear 2 or 4, 4 wouldn't even go on and 6 was mighty tight, so being that it was 2 days away and no time to get a larger size, I had to have nothing but protein shakes and water until the event, but what do you know? it really worked out, the 6 started out by being a little too tight but by saturday evening it fit perfectly, yes it is short and I am 5' 2" as many reviewers said and I agree that it does run small! at the end it fit and I got so many compliments, I felt like I belonged in the 20's!! my experience with RTR, was great but next time to avoid the fitting issue I recommend chatting first with CS, which I didn't do and went simply by the reviews!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
December 8, 2013
Adorable and fun - lots of compliments!
I wore this for a theme event in which we were the roraing 20's. I didn't want to own and expensive flapper dress and this was perfect. I read the reviews and ordered the 2 and the 4, even though I am always a 0 or a 2. I have 3 kids under the age of 5 so even though I am petite, I have a tummy so I am glad that I got the one size up b/c there is NO wiggle room in this dress, particularly through the mid section. Overall I loved the dress and received lots of compliments. I followed the lead of others and wore black tights and black patent leater mary janes - so fun!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
December 2, 2013
I got so many compliments on this dress! It definitely stood out in the crowd of Black and White..
definitely tone down the jewelry..
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
November 25, 2013
Beautiful dress but design leaves some insecurities.
Rented this dress as a backup option for my roaring 20's themed birthday party. The dress is beautiful and I had high hopes considering all of the rave reviews. The dress is fabulous from the front view, but the back is as plain as described. I rented it knowing that was the case but it's a pretty drastic difference. The back is very short too. I am pear shaped and ordered up to a 6 from my usual 4 but it left me nervous. That and the almost see through material in the back. For this reason I wore another dress. Definitely size up ladies and if you have some junk in the trunk might want to consider another dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
November 23, 2013
Perfect for a Roaring 20s Party!
This dress was perfect for the Gatsby themed party I hosted, I got so many compliments!! I ordered a 4 and they send a second size, so I got a 6 in case. It's a good thing! Because this dress runs small, the 6 fit more like a 2/4, so I recommend going up a size ;)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 10, 2013
glitzy gatsby :-)
Per prior reviews - this dress definitely does not have stretch. I could get the Size 2 on (easily) but through the waist and thighs it didn't have much give so I opted to wear the Size 4 since I knew I'd be sitting all night. The front is really fun and flirty and looks a lot more interesting in person than the photos give it credit for. The back is absolutely plain so just know to expect that. Fun for a girls night out!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
November 6, 2013
Never got to wear it, very disappointing.
Could not get it zipped up in spite of ordering a size up, runs VERY small through the chest. Also super short!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
November 6, 2013
Perfect dress for a Gatsby theme. Loved it.
I ended up ordering the size 4 and 6 and wore the 4. It was perfect !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
October 27, 2013
Not my fav!
Rented this as a back-up dress for a 20's themed night. I was disappointed. The fit was completely off. Too small. Not very flattering. Definitely a no go for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 27, 2013
Looks great, fits small
I was SOOOO disappointed that this dress didn't fit. It's GORGEOUS! However, not only does it run small, it's SUPER short. Not sure if ordering up a size would help the length issues. Again, so disappointed that this didn't fit but was SO relieved by the AMAZING customer service at RTR! Order UP for your second size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 24, 2013
This was the perfect dress for a Great Gatsby soiree without being too "costumey".
This dress was very true to size and with the addition of gloves and a 20s inspired headpiece, it was perfect for my event. My only complaint was that the waistband wouldn't lie completely flat.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
October 8, 2013
So pretty! Got complements all night. Was told I looked like a princess by my 3yr old cousin.
I got the 4 and the 6 and the dress does run quite small - had to wear the 6. It was still very flattering. The fit at the top is perfect and the teal and sequin detail is perfect. It is one of those dresses you feel just perfect in. I would definitely buy this dress if I could.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 7, 2013
Too small
Wanted this for a Gatsby party but the dress was too small. I even sized up after reading the reviews. It zipped but I wouldn't have been able to move or sit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
September 16, 2013
This dress was perfect for a Great Gatsby themed party!
I loved this dress! It was perfect for the Great Gatsby occasion. It fit great, was super comfortable and I really liked that I could wear a normal bra with it. My mid section is my struggle point and this dress was snug through the middle, but very slimming. I am generally a 2 or a 4 and the 4 fit perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
September 15, 2013
Fun dress the stood out from all the LBDs
This is a fun, interesting dress. I ordered the 4 and 6 and ended up wearing the 6, which just fit. I would recommend ordering up for your back-up size. Other reviewers have mentioned it's short...I'm pretty short and it was short on me. I took a cue from another reviewer and wore black tights and fun Mary Jane heels and then added a flowered head band--it ended up being a cute look. The black tights kept me from feeling too exposed, especially when I sat down. Another upside was being able to wear a regular bra. I ended up wearing a Spanx top with built in bra, which gave me a smooth, bulge free back, as the fabric is pretty see through. I'd highly recommend the dress for a party or wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
September 4, 2013
I wore this for my prom. I got so many complements on it and it looked great!
Overall it fit well. The back bulged a little since I'm only a 32A, but a couple safety pins solved that problem. Some reviews said it was short, but I actually thought it was a little long on me. The fabric doesn't stretch much at all, so order your second size bigger to make up for that. Otherwise I loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
August 20, 2013
Most flattering dress!
This is hands down the most flattering dress I've ever ordered from RTW. It cinched in at the waist perfectly. I had so many compliments. If I could afford this dress, I would definitely buy it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
August 15, 2013
This dress is so unique and fun. I got lots of compliments from all ages.
It fits true to size. The band is a little snug, but not uncomfortable. Does not need any special bra which is a real plus. It would probably be a little short on a taller girl though.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 105lbs
August 12, 2013
Perfect for a 1920s Gatsby theme party!
I rented this dress for a Great Gatsby theme party and it was perfect for the occasion! The dress looks prettier in real life than in the photos. The dress runs small though so make sure you size up, especially if you have a bigger butt/hip/thighs. I have a small waist and usually wear a 0 but since I read that this dress runs small, I chose to order a 2 and a 4. SO glad I did because I'm pear shaped and have fuller hips/thighs, and the 2 fit perfectly but it was a little tight in the butt area. Therefore, I chose to wear a 4 which looked better and had a comfier fit. If you're wearing this for a 1920s theme party, you can pair it with a sparkly headpiece and pearls, and your'e good to go! :) Also makes for a great cocktail party dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
August 9, 2013
i love this dress
It's comfortable and flattering. I changed into it for the "dance" portion of my wedding. I would buy this dress if it ever went on sale.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
June 24, 2013
Not my fav
Unflattering on curves and ran small I ended up exchanging it for another dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
June 12, 2013
Very flattering cut but the detail of the fabric makes it exceptional
Wore this to my sister-in-law's rehearsal dinner. Best dress on a guest there easy!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
June 8, 2013
Great dress!!! But size up lady's.
The fit was really snug. If I had eaten that night it would be slightly uncomfortable. But the dress still looked AMAZING!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
June 5, 2013
The wedding I attended was 1920's (Great Gatsby) themed. This dress was perfect.
The dress runs small, plus I was 17 weeks pregnant when I wore it, so I made sure to order up to 2 sizes larger than normal. Normally a six, but wore a ten. Only complaint is that the skirt was super short. I had to make sure I wasn't flashing people when I sat down. Also, the black ribbon at the waist kept folding up. My slightly pregnant belly did not help this though. Overall, I loved the dress and received tons of compliments. Pros outweigh the cons. Definitely recommend this dress to others.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
May 24, 2013
Excellent dress for a Gatsby theme gathering!
Perfect dress for my Gatsby themed Mother's Day Brunch. I'm between sizes 4 & 6. The 6 fit best on top, I'm 34D. It stayed right above my knee, the black band around the waist does not stretch. Paired it with black color shoes and accesorize it with the Ben-Amun Petite Peacock Pearl earrings, just perfect! Thank you Toni P for the stylist gift and for all your help putting these outfits together for me!! It was such a pleasure to deal with you and You most certainly did and AMAZING job!! You made it so easy for me!! Thank you so much!!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 9, 2013
Comfy!
This dress fits true to size and it was very comfortable. I liked that you could wear a normal bra with it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
May 6, 2013
Fun dress!!!!
Couple of things to note: 1. The waist doesn't stretch at all so I needed a size larger than normal. 2 it is pretty short! Be careful. If you we're wearing it during the winter with stocking it would be perfect. If it is warm out watch the dance moves! Pros: received lots of compliments. Such a fun dress to wear, loved the sparkle and ruffle!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
April 14, 2013
Adorable! So many compliments! Tight on the bottom and a little short
This dress is bound to make you new friends as everyone is going to come up to you and give you tons of compliments! The skirt part was really tight on me, but I have a big butt so if you're smaller on the bottom you will probably be able to wear your typical size. Because of this, the dress so much shorter than I had anticipated. I ended up changing into black tights which made me more comfortable. It's gorgeous in person and easy to dress up or dress down.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
April 3, 2013
The dress looked great on and I received lots of compliments.
The dress does run small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
April 2, 2013
Fun dress for a 1920's themed party but not my favorite rental.
The Pros: I wore this dress with black elbow gloves and the ubiquitous 1920's knotted flapper pearls, and did my hair in finger waves and my make-up like a silent movie star. Even though the dress itself is not very 1920's, it dressed up well and I looked convincing. The color is pretty and the detail on the front of the top is very sparkly and fun! The Cons: The skirt is short and narrow! The 6 fit me perfectly except that I was worried about sitting down. I ended up wearing the 8 for the length. The black ribbon around the waist kept folding in half and even though I tried to tape it down, it kept curling. My picture is distorted from the light switch plate mounted in the middle of the mirror, but you can still tell the proportion of the dress is a little off when the ribbon is narrower. This one is my bad because I saw the pictures of both the front and the back of the dress when I rented it, but it ended up driving me nuts that the front of the dress had a whole lot of detail and shreds of tulle, and the back is completely plain. The front hung down lower because of all the extra detail. And lastly but probably most importantly, the shredded tulle on the front makes this dress puffy. If you are curvy like I am, it is not a very flattering look. It makes you look about 2 inches bigger than you actually are, all across the front of your body. Unless you're going for over the top costume effect, I recommend this dress for someone straighter and narrower, with a smaller chest!
FrancesOctober 19, 2013
Nice review. Thanks
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 27, 2013
This dress is unique without being too out there. I got a lot of compliments!
I ordered a size up since many suggested to do that in previous comments. However, I have a pretty small top half and the smaller size fit just fine :)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Body type: Apple
March 20, 2013
great!
it was beautiful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 4, 2013
Perfect fit, very girly
LOVED this dress! I rented for a friends wedding and got so many complments on! This dress fit great, but was a bit short (when I sat down). I loved it and recommend to anyone for any occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
February 28, 2013
Super cute, but tiny!
I got it as the back up dress because they only had the 4 available. I couldn't even zip it and since they didn't have the 6, I wore another dress. Too bad, because it was a great looking dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
February 20, 2013
Perfect for a Gatsby themed party!
Absolutely loved this dress. I got tons of compliments on it all night! It runs VERY small, I wore a size bigger than I typically would and had trouble zipping it around my ribs, which is strange since I'm very small in the chest area. Overall, would recommend this to anyone looking for a fun, cute dress - the sequins really add a great touch!
See more reviews:
3 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×