Gray Gatsby Dress

$79 to buy
$495 retail
Stylist Notes

Float in and dazzle on a cloud of chiffon. This party perfect dress by Sachin + Babi is feminine and subtle with a cheeky dash of bling. Watch out for him taking a second, third (and fourth!) look at glamorous you.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller busted women
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ribbon detail
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is somewhat narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller busted women
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ribbon detail
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is somewhat narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Grey tulle over tulle chiffon. V neckline. Sequin embellishment at bodice. Hidden back zip. 33'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
204 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(63)
Small
(132)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
February 8, 2012
Adorable Dress!
I rented this dress for our New Year's Eve Party that we hosted at our apartment. I ended up getting engaged that night (!!!) on top of the Empire State Building, and I got so many compliments there and at the party. It was the best night ever, and I'm so glad I had a beautiful dress to wear to it. Rent it, you'll love it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 19, 2012
Roaring 20's party
The dress runs small! I usually wear a size 4, but ended up wearing the 6. It was perfect for the roaring 20's party. It arrived clean and in good shape. Very happy with my 1st rental with rent the runway!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 9, 2012
Got tons of compliments throughout the night and friends said it was very "me"
Loved the dress; I usually wear a 6/8 (top/bottom) and found the top and the belt to fit great in a 8 and be a bit tight in the hips. The 10 was too loose in the top but fit better through the hips. Ultimately went with the 8, but was definitely a bit shorter/tighter than I am used to, though still flattering. Overall loved the rental!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
April 2, 2012
Classy, fun, and feminine
I rented this dress for my son's school gala. It's such a fun and feminine dress! The color is much richer in person - more of a warm silver with some gold and a deeper tone than in the photo. I'm relatively fair-skinned and the color still complemented me both in person and in photos. The fit is on the smaller side. I usually wear a size 4 and am a 34C and it fit snugly in the bust. I also ordered the 6, but decided I liked the 4 better. My only complaint is that there was a very small square in the back of the dress by the zipper that looked like it had been cut out. Fortunately the layer underneath was still there and I don't think it was too noticeable. Overall, though, it was a fabulously fun and classy dress and I will definitely rent again...and would love an excuse to rent this exact dress again!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
April 14, 2012
Awesome dress!
Loved this dress! I wore it for homecoming and it was really flattering on. It was a tiny bit long on me, but then again I'm a little short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
April 16, 2012
Lots of compliments
Dress does run small...1 size smaller than a "normal" brand, 2 sizes smaller than a vanity-sized brand like Ann Taylor or Banana. Also note the length! I'm 5' 6" and could not have gotten away with this length if I were any taller...super cute, but super short. The front feels longer than it is due to the ruffles, but back has no length for sitting comfortably or bending over at all. I knelt down to sign the guest book so as not to flash those behind me! I wasn't sure about this dress at first as the v-neck didn't seem overly flattering, but I was flooded with compliments all night. It's such a unique dress that nobody was analyzing the neckline.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 26, 2012
Fantastic dress!
I loved wearing this dress. It had a nice grey color and just the right amount of sparkle. I received many compliments. Fit: I rented both a 4 and 6. The 4 was a bit small around the butt and wouldn't close at the bust. The 6 fit perfectly, but it is a little short (I'm 5'6). One issue: The black ribbon at the waist was nice for defining, but it tended to curl up a bit throughout the night. I doubt anyone but me noticed.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
July 2, 2012
Comfortable and flattering!
I ordered this dress in a size 6 and an 8 for my Bachelorette party. I'm generally between a 4 and a 6, and the size 8 fit perfectly, so size up!!! At 5'9" the dress was short... so just beware. For this occasion, the length was totally fine. The dress was fun and comfortable to wear (you can wear a bra with it).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
July 3, 2012
Good Date Night Dress.
I rented this for my fancy birthday dinner that my boyfriend was taking me to. I rented both the 4 and 6, the 4 was a little snug around the hip and butt area, so I went with wearing the 6 instead so I could be comfortable. I got TONS of compliments from people at the restaurant that thought the dress was gorgeous, and my boyfriend loved it too. I also wore it the day after to a political function with a lot of elected officials and campaign people. I figured it was ok to wear it again since it looked so great. I did have another dress for the political function, but it was too dressy for the event, and this one was just dressy enough without being over dressed.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
July 30, 2012
I cannot say enough!
I wanted to keep this dress! It is absolutely beautiful in person. I wore it for a family wedding and it was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
August 2, 2012
Runs very small
I would definitely order a size up for this dress. I ordered my normal size and it did not fit.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
August 10, 2012
Perfect!
I am 15 and wore this dress to Sadies. It was stunning. If you want to stand out AND get compliments on your dress (I mean who wouldn't?!) this is definatley the dress for you. The fabic pieces are neither teathered or destroyed. The sparkles add a little "OMPF" to the dress to make the dress look complete. I wore the dress with nude pumps and it worked flawlessley. The dress was uber comfortable. I did not have to mess around with the fabric pieces at all and they did not become static, which I was pleaslently suprised about. Being a little bit taller than most women, this dress was the perfect length. Picture the length of bermuda shorts minus 1 inch. Simply a perfect length. The black fabric/ribbon belt did not budge a bit. Overall, this dress did not cause a fuss at all, but made a flawless lasting impression!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 13, 2012
Small through hips
Beautiful dress! It ran a little small through the hips so I was unable to wear it. Size up if you are a little hippy
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 15, 2012
Classy but fun party dress
I rented this dress for New Year's Eve last year and I absolutely loved it! (& so did my boyfriend!) It's a perfect length, doesn't ride up at all - perfect for dancing. I thought it fit a bit small, especially through the waist and there is no "give" at at all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
August 16, 2012
The dresses (I used a "rent a second look for $25" to have a back up) arrived and both fit perfectly to size! It was so hard to choose between them but this one was one that caught my eye on the website for months. I finally pulled the trigger and rented and I am so glad I did! I felt like a million bucks in that dress without having to break the bank to do so..... and now that dress doesn't have to sit in the back of my closest haunting me because of how much I paid for it. I think I am done buying formal wear. I'm a RTR enthusiast for life!
I can't tell you how many quests at this wedding stopped me to tell me how beautiful my dress was... some of them I didn't even know! All night long I praised RTR while my husband sported the RTR sunglasses I got as a free gift.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 22, 2012
I felt so beautiful and confident and that is exactly what a dress should make you feel like!
This dress is stunning. The other reviews were very helpful when deciding the dress size. I normally wear a 2 but decided to get the second size in 4 since the other reviews said the belt doesn't stretch. I am really glad I did because the 4 fits like a glove! I would suggest this dress for any event as it is really classy and sophisticated but still fun! I am really sad to have to send this dress back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
August 28, 2012
Lots of compliments. People couldn't believe I rented it!
Wore this to an outdoor wedding and it was perfect. Went well with flat shoes and was very comfortable for dancing. I probably could have worn a 0 but it didnt look too big on me and it made it easy to move around. It was about mid thigh in length with the mesh parts hanging a bit lower. Didn't feel too short or too long at all. All I had to add was some earrings and it was perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 3, 2012
Beautiful Dress!
The 0 fit me perfectly, it is actually a little more fitted then in the picture, but in a good way. The picture truly does not do the top half of the dress justice as there are all silver sequins underneath. ABsolutely gorgeous dress that I unfortunately did not wear because I ended up with a herve Leger, But I will most definitely be renting in the future! Perfect for petite girls!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 27, 2013
This dress is unique without being too out there. I got a lot of compliments!
I ordered a size up since many suggested to do that in previous comments. However, I have a pretty small top half and the smaller size fit just fine :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
April 2, 2013
Fun dress for a 1920's themed party but not my favorite rental.
The Pros: I wore this dress with black elbow gloves and the ubiquitous 1920's knotted flapper pearls, and did my hair in finger waves and my make-up like a silent movie star. Even though the dress itself is not very 1920's, it dressed up well and I looked convincing. The color is pretty and the detail on the front of the top is very sparkly and fun! The Cons: The skirt is short and narrow! The 6 fit me perfectly except that I was worried about sitting down. I ended up wearing the 8 for the length. The black ribbon around the waist kept folding in half and even though I tried to tape it down, it kept curling. My picture is distorted from the light switch plate mounted in the middle of the mirror, but you can still tell the proportion of the dress is a little off when the ribbon is narrower. This one is my bad because I saw the pictures of both the front and the back of the dress when I rented it, but it ended up driving me nuts that the front of the dress had a whole lot of detail and shreds of tulle, and the back is completely plain. The front hung down lower because of all the extra detail. And lastly but probably most importantly, the shredded tulle on the front makes this dress puffy. If you are curvy like I am, it is not a very flattering look. It makes you look about 2 inches bigger than you actually are, all across the front of your body. Unless you're going for over the top costume effect, I recommend this dress for someone straighter and narrower, with a smaller chest!
FrancesOctober 19, 2013
Nice review. Thanks
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
April 3, 2013
The dress looked great on and I received lots of compliments.
The dress does run small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
April 14, 2013
Adorable! So many compliments! Tight on the bottom and a little short
This dress is bound to make you new friends as everyone is going to come up to you and give you tons of compliments! The skirt part was really tight on me, but I have a big butt so if you're smaller on the bottom you will probably be able to wear your typical size. Because of this, the dress so much shorter than I had anticipated. I ended up changing into black tights which made me more comfortable. It's gorgeous in person and easy to dress up or dress down.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
May 6, 2013
Fun dress!!!!
Couple of things to note: 1. The waist doesn't stretch at all so I needed a size larger than normal. 2 it is pretty short! Be careful. If you we're wearing it during the winter with stocking it would be perfect. If it is warm out watch the dance moves! Pros: received lots of compliments. Such a fun dress to wear, loved the sparkle and ruffle!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 9, 2013
Comfy!
This dress fits true to size and it was very comfortable. I liked that you could wear a normal bra with it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
May 24, 2013
Excellent dress for a Gatsby theme gathering!
Perfect dress for my Gatsby themed Mother's Day Brunch. I'm between sizes 4 & 6. The 6 fit best on top, I'm 34D. It stayed right above my knee, the black band around the waist does not stretch. Paired it with black color shoes and accesorize it with the Ben-Amun Petite Peacock Pearl earrings, just perfect! Thank you Toni P for the stylist gift and for all your help putting these outfits together for me!! It was such a pleasure to deal with you and You most certainly did and AMAZING job!! You made it so easy for me!! Thank you so much!!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
June 8, 2013
Great dress!!! But size up lady's.
The fit was really snug. If I had eaten that night it would be slightly uncomfortable. But the dress still looked AMAZING!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
June 12, 2013
Very flattering cut but the detail of the fabric makes it exceptional
Wore this to my sister-in-law's rehearsal dinner. Best dress on a guest there easy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
June 24, 2013
Not my fav
Unflattering on curves and ran small I ended up exchanging it for another dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
August 9, 2013
i love this dress
It's comfortable and flattering. I changed into it for the "dance" portion of my wedding. I would buy this dress if it ever went on sale.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 105lbs
August 12, 2013
Perfect for a 1920s Gatsby theme party!
I rented this dress for a Great Gatsby theme party and it was perfect for the occasion! The dress looks prettier in real life than in the photos. The dress runs small though so make sure you size up, especially if you have a bigger butt/hip/thighs. I have a small waist and usually wear a 0 but since I read that this dress runs small, I chose to order a 2 and a 4. SO glad I did because I'm pear shaped and have fuller hips/thighs, and the 2 fit perfectly but it was a little tight in the butt area. Therefore, I chose to wear a 4 which looked better and had a comfier fit. If you're wearing this for a 1920s theme party, you can pair it with a sparkly headpiece and pearls, and your'e good to go! :) Also makes for a great cocktail party dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
August 15, 2013
This dress is so unique and fun. I got lots of compliments from all ages.
It fits true to size. The band is a little snug, but not uncomfortable. Does not need any special bra which is a real plus. It would probably be a little short on a taller girl though.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
August 20, 2013
Most flattering dress!
This is hands down the most flattering dress I've ever ordered from RTW. It cinched in at the waist perfectly. I had so many compliments. If I could afford this dress, I would definitely buy it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
September 15, 2013
Fun dress the stood out from all the LBDs
This is a fun, interesting dress. I ordered the 4 and 6 and ended up wearing the 6, which just fit. I would recommend ordering up for your back-up size. Other reviewers have mentioned it's short...I'm pretty short and it was short on me. I took a cue from another reviewer and wore black tights and fun Mary Jane heels and then added a flowered head band--it ended up being a cute look. The black tights kept me from feeling too exposed, especially when I sat down. Another upside was being able to wear a regular bra. I ended up wearing a Spanx top with built in bra, which gave me a smooth, bulge free back, as the fabric is pretty see through. I'd highly recommend the dress for a party or wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
September 16, 2013
This dress was perfect for a Great Gatsby themed party!
I loved this dress! It was perfect for the Great Gatsby occasion. It fit great, was super comfortable and I really liked that I could wear a normal bra with it. My mid section is my struggle point and this dress was snug through the middle, but very slimming. I am generally a 2 or a 4 and the 4 fit perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 7, 2013
Too small
Wanted this for a Gatsby party but the dress was too small. I even sized up after reading the reviews. It zipped but I wouldn't have been able to move or sit.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
October 8, 2013
So pretty! Got complements all night. Was told I looked like a princess by my 3yr old cousin.
I got the 4 and the 6 and the dress does run quite small - had to wear the 6. It was still very flattering. The fit at the top is perfect and the teal and sequin detail is perfect. It is one of those dresses you feel just perfect in. I would definitely buy this dress if I could.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 24, 2013
This was the perfect dress for a Great Gatsby soiree without being too "costumey".
This dress was very true to size and with the addition of gloves and a 20s inspired headpiece, it was perfect for my event. My only complaint was that the waistband wouldn't lie completely flat.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 27, 2013
Looks great, fits small
I was SOOOO disappointed that this dress didn't fit. It's GORGEOUS! However, not only does it run small, it's SUPER short. Not sure if ordering up a size would help the length issues. Again, so disappointed that this didn't fit but was SO relieved by the AMAZING customer service at RTR! Order UP for your second size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
October 27, 2013
Not my fav!
Rented this as a back-up dress for a 20's themed night. I was disappointed. The fit was completely off. Too small. Not very flattering. Definitely a no go for me.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
November 6, 2013
Never got to wear it, very disappointing.
Could not get it zipped up in spite of ordering a size up, runs VERY small through the chest. Also super short!
See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×