You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Chrome Lace Sheath
Rental $40 Retail $395
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Dress to impress at the party wearing this Sachin + Babi lace style. You'll be the most fashionable one there! Add a pop of color by adding the Oscar de la Renta's Emerald Confetti Cluster Earrings.
Chat with a Stylist
Gold lace with lurex threading (100% nylon). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Straight skirt. Exposed back zipper. Lined. 34” from shoulder to hem. Imported.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust; may be worn with a black standard bra or a NuBra due to the sheer back
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a black standard bra or a NuBra due to sheer lace back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos34

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4423
Jan 30, 2013
Looks classy
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I loved the style of the dress, but as others noted, the waistband was really tight. Also, for us shorter girls, I felt like the torso was too long for my body, which caused some rippling up the zipper in the back. Otherwise, it looked good -- most people couldn't notice these issues. One thing to RTR -- the second size I ordered had a big white tag down the sheer back that I would have wanted moved had I worn it. Fortunately, the tag for the size I wore had been discreetly moved.
Dana
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4523
Jan 2, 2013
Fun, Flirty & Fabulous!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a work holiday party. Fit, style, & color were perfect for the occasion.
MM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4633
Dec 22, 2012
Great dress!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
My 22 year old daughter thought this was " too young" for me to wear to our big holiday party. All of my friends disagreed! It was perfect! The lace back gives it a bit more sizzle than a regular cocktail dress. It's one I'd love to own.
Tracy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2523
Dec 12, 2012
A little loose
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Very beautiful dress. Do consider your options for a bra tho. Even a nude colored bra could easily be seen thru the beautiful lace back. I just wished it was a little more form fitting. It was a bit baggy so I opted for my other option. I really wanted to love this dress tho.
Em
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Dec 11, 2012
Did not wear dress...
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I actually ended up returning this dress for fit. I was supposed to wear it to my boyfriends office Christmas party but it was too tight in the hips area and fit very well in the waist up. If you have a pear shaped body and are uncomfortable with dresses tight around the hip area, I would recommend trying a different dress. It was really pretty in person though - definitely more gold and the back was gorgeous.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6533
Dec 8, 2012
Gorgeous, but couldn't use it.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I REALLY tried to make this dress work. Fabric and cut are beautiful. Problems were related to the back. I didn't realize the back was lace, I thought it was illusion. I didn't have a proper bra and no bra was not an option. Also, because of the lace back, I couldn't wear any kind of pantyhose or shapewear. So although really beautiful, I went with my backup dress.
Stephanie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 4433
Dec 3, 2012
Dress fit great and looked adorable on! I got lots of compliments
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I will definitely rent again from Rent the Runway. It was such an easy process!
hot mama
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4623
Dec 1, 2012
I wasn't able to wear this dress. Best for a very thin, straight & narrow figure with no curves.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I kind of suspected it after seeing the pix of other RTR clients wearing the sheath, but took a chance and ordered it anyway. The black ribbon waist band is very fitted and if you have even the tiniest curve in your belly or hips, this dress will accentuate it and you look a little...well...like a sausage. I think its not too flattering except for very thin girl. Pretty dress, but must have flat stomach and no hips. I am a petite size 4 and did not flatter me - even trying the size 6.
Alissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6433
Nov 27, 2012
Gorgeous back
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this to a black tie event - looks great with black tights and black heels. Great back - gorgeous with a black lace bra! Fit a little tight in the waist, bigger in the back, so had a weird effect going on, but got lots of compliments regardless!
Claire
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2331
Nov 26, 2012
So easy to rent and return, great dress!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved the sparkly lace on this dress! It is a little snug around the waist band and the lacy back was kinda loose on me, but it still looked great and was comfortable. Great for a formal night time affair!
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 7543
Nov 10, 2012
Great dress!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was a great dress that I wore to a work event. I got so many compliments and everyone was asking me where I'd gotten it. Thank you for another amazing rental!!
Tracey
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2534
Nov 7, 2012
I received so many compliments on this dress!!! I felt beautiful!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit true to size. It's sexy but definitely not over the top and perfect for a wedding. I wore a nu bra to fully expose the lace back which added just the right touch of flirtyness. You can move around with no worries of having to adjust your dress. I highly recommend!!
CarolJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4624
Oct 28, 2012
I felt great!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit great. I received compliments all night. I never felt uncomfortable - that something was too tight, too short or just not right. No one else at the occasion had the same dress (which other women did have that situation). Thanks, I'll be renting another dress for a wedding we are attending in December.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Oct 28, 2012
The perfect amount of sophisticated and shimmery
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a friend's wedding this past weekend and it did not disappoint! After reading the reviews, I ended up ordering a 4 and a 6 based on some of the comments about the waist being too small - I had this issue also so sized up to the 6 and it fit perfectly. Other reviewers also commented on white tags that you could see through the lace - this could be the case. The 4 had tags at the top that could have been seen but on the 6, they were on the bottom and I just tucked them down into the dress. Anyway, still a gorgeous dress! I paired it with black nylons and pumps and it really looked fantastic.
Kristin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Oct 24, 2012
Great dress, got lots of compliments :)
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The back didnt fit tight against my bag and sort of sagged/poofed out. You can also see the tags through the back of the dress but I wore my hair down and it covered it up enought.
Morgan
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 3334
Oct 21, 2012
Fun dress, but the belt was al little awkward
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
As I said in the title, the dress was really pretty but the thin black belt at the wait was a bit tight compared to the fit of the rest of the dress. The lace on the back was really pretty and so soft and fit very well. The dress was sparklier in person and had a bit of gold undertones
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5432
Oct 14, 2012
Great customer service. When my dress became unavailable, a stylist chose another one for me.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Shiny dress!
Dana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5434
Oct 12, 2012
Fun and flattering party dress!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for an October wedding, with the intentions of belting a cream colored sweater over the top for the ceremony in the church, and then ditching the sweater for the reception. I ended up wearing the backup dress that I rented because it was a lot colder than expected - but had zero issues with this dress whatsoever! It was so flattering with the black detail at the waist, and not overly sparkly. The lace detail is gorgeous, and I'm so sad I didn't end up wearing it, because the back is super sexy and my boyfriend loved it! A perfect rental for a night on the town, NYE or better yet.. VEGAS! I will definitely be renting this dress again :)
Paula
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3434
Oct 10, 2012
Didn't work out at all.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Fortunately, I rented this as a back-up dress, and the other dress I got was amazing. Although the concept of this dress is great, it just doesn't pan out. First,there is a large tag in the back is directly under the lace back of the dress, which definitely takes away from the effect. Second,the lace overlay was smaller than the underlay to which it was sewn, causing the bottom of the dress to flip up noticeably. I was really disappointed with this dress.
Susan
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8543
Oct 7, 2012
The whole experience was easy and the dresses were delivered as promised.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit fine and looked great. It was not a great quality, were I to have purchased it, but for a single event, the style was terrific and it was a great dress. I would definitely use this website again because of its large selection and because it's really so easy to use! We'll be back.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Sep 12, 2012
Loved the dress, but due to tags sticking out in back, opted for my second choice
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the dress and cut, and it's such a pretty color under the lace. Only reason I went with my second option dress is because the lace is see-through and there are a bunch of big white tags stuck to the inside of the back that you can see through and it doesn't look great. Being a rental, I obviously didn't want to remove the tags, so I opted not to wear it. But, if those weren't there, it would've been killer.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress