Chrome Lace Sheath

$36 to buy
$395 retail
Stylist Notes

Dress to impress at the party wearing this Sachin + Babi lace style. You'll be the most fashionable one there! Add a pop of color by adding the Oscar de la Renta's Emerald Confetti Cluster Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust; may be worn with a black standard bra or a NuBra due to the sheer back
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a black standard bra or a NuBra due to sheer lace back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust; may be worn with a black standard bra or a NuBra due to the sheer back
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a black standard bra or a NuBra due to sheer lace back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Gold lace with lurex threading (100% nylon). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Straight skirt. Exposed back zipper. Lined. 34” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
92 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(67)
Small
(17)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
April 2, 2013
Really pretty and very classy! (but still festive!)
A little shorter than I expected which works for me but everybody may not love that. Fit was excellent even for a large-ish bust.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
June 19, 2013
Really fun dress for a wedding
I loved this dress, and it was a perfect choice for a winter wedding. The illusion lace in the back is a lot of fun. It shows as having a bit of gold sparkle to it which makes it more fun than just an LBD. Since the back is illusion lace, you do need to wear a backless bra or some other backless option.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
August 21, 2013
Gorgeous, sexy dress!
I loved this dress the back was really sexy and the colors were great for a night out! The only problem was that the top of the dress was too loose and I ended up having to wear my back-up size (4) because the 6 made my top seem baggy. Otherwise I loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 2, 2013
Gorgeous dress!
I wore this dress to my friend's wedding and received lots of compliments. I rented a 6 and an 8 and ended up wearing the 8. It does have a very low back (covered in lace) so I had to wear my stick on bra. Just something to keep in mind - you really can't wear a regular bra with it. I loved this and will definitely rent this again in the future.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
September 19, 2013
Photographs like a dream, professionally and with iPhone!
I ordered this dress in a 0 and a 2, and the zero fit perfectly. However, there was an issue with damage from a previous renter, and I was really disappointed and I wore the 2 instead. It still photographed and looked beautiful!! RTR was informed of the damage issue and phenomenal and has handled this issue fantastically. This is the only time I've run into a damage on an item issue since '09. I posted one pic taken by a professional photographer in the dress, and one I had taken by a random with my iPhone... the dress looks amazing no matter what... and I'm by no means a professional model. If you're short like me remember it's not a super sexy mini length like on website....you'll look classy but not be showing a ton of leg. The lace on the back is so fun!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 10, 2013
gorgeous dress
didn't end up wearing it but it is a beautiful dress
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
December 16, 2013
This dress made me feel beautiful! Perfect for a wedding around the holidays!
Pictures do not do this dress justice, it is way more beautiful in person! It fit perfectly and was very flattering! I am usually a size 4 and wore the 4! I will say the lining was a little bit off (the black underneath was longer than the lace of the hem but it almost looked like it was supposed to be). You can see the tags through the lace back unfortunately. I received SO many compliments on this dress and was really sad to send it back!! I would definitely rent this again. I searched everywhere for a dress that was sophisticated but still fun for being 24! This dress was amazing. You will need a sticky bra because the back is see through! Enjoy wearing it, I sure did!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 16, 2013
Absolutely loved!
I was on the fence about ordering this dress, but I couldn't be happier that I did. The sheer back of the dress was beautiful and made the dress so unique. Depending on how you like your dress to fit, it may run small. I felt that going up to a size 6 helped the dress lay better. In the size 4 I found the waist fit tighter than expected. The size 4 also was stretching a bit too much causing the lining to slip out of the bottom of the dress. I paired with sheer black tights and suede black booties for a holiday party.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
December 17, 2013
Pretty dress, but didn't fit
I am 5'1" and 110 lbs. I usually wear a size 2 in most dresses and have always ordered a size 2 from Rent the Runway and they've always fit. This dress was so pretty when I took it out of the box, and I was excited to wear it. However, it was way too tight in the waist (and I will mention that I have a flat stomach and a small waist) and snug around the hip/butt area. Too bad, because I really wanted to wear it. This was my backup dress, so I didn't order a second size. Next time I'll order the 4.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 12, 2014
got a lot of compliments on the dress
loved the lace in the back of the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 19
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 8, 2014
FUN DRESS
This dress was perfect for New Year's. Very cool color and style. The lace on the size 2 definitely showed a little wear but otherwise the dress was in nice condition. The black lining does show below the hem and I didn't like the look of that so I pinned it up. Much, much better after that. It really does run small, especially in the waist, so the 2 fit perfectly. Overall, a very nice and fun dress.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
January 17, 2014
Loved wearing a designer dress while out for my birthday in Vegas!
Love the black lace overlay and the metallic underneath made it sparkle - perfect for Vegas. The open back is covered in black lace, so you shouldn't wear a bra. I'm 5'3" and it was relatively short on me. Runs a little small - I don't usually wear an 8.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
February 13, 2014
Fun, festive dress for new years without fuss.
comfortable fit, not too form fitting. Sheer on top so best worn with a strapless.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
February 20, 2014
Interesting fabric, festive dress for a wedding
This rental worked out OK, but wasn't my favorite. I found the waistband to be particularly tight (even though the rest of the dress fit fine), so it made my stomach feel bigger than usual. I was also having trouble with the hem - was coming undone after multiple wears so it didn't look finished.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 26
February 22, 2014
Perfect NYE Dress!
Wore this for NYE, got so many compliments, great fit, very comfortable!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 10, 2014
This was my first time using RTR, it was perfect for my sorority's formal!
I rented a size 4 and got a 6 as my back up dress, both fit but I wanted the more fitted look and went with the 4 (not too much of a size difference between the two.) Because of the lace back I bought a sticky bra to wear with it and paired it with silver and gold jewelry and black heels. The color of the dress is different in different lighting, close up with flash it appears silver and it has more of a gold tint in regular lighting. The dress was perfect and shipping was the most convenient part! I can't wait to rent again!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 17, 2014
Great dress for a wedding
Wore this dress to a winter wedding. Was happy because I wanted to wear black, but this dress gives a bit more interest than a plain black dress. Loved the sheer lace and the fit was great. Length was perfect for me being 5'1". Would definitely recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
April 2, 2014
Very special girls night out! So much fun!
This dress was incredibly flattering! I am a little heavy on top but the dress left room for my busy but gave my boyish figure curve!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
April 13, 2014
Beautiful but I did notice small holes!
I loved this dress overall but there were a couple small holes in the back because of the delicacy of the lace. They were small and no one notice so I still wore it and received several complements! Would rent this again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Weight: 120lbs
April 19, 2014
Great dress... So many compliments!!
The dress fit true to size, the tag in the back was something I had to work with, but it was fine, my hair basically covered it up! I received many compliments, and was telling everyone about my experience with RTR!! There are just so many events, that's it's pointless to buy dresses and only wear them once, or twice. Best experience! This dress was a hit!! And I had nice gold jewelry to go with it!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 25, 2014
Seeing east coast friends since we now live on the west coast!
The fabric around the waist was a bit tight for the overall size, but otherwise it was extremely comfortable and flattering. Also, you can't wear a bra because the back is lace/transparent, so you have to go with fun lil' stickies!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 25, 2014
Sheer back surprise studded in metallics
The back was only covered with the shiny fabric, which looks FABULOUS, but is not practical for someone with my bra size and no appropriate bra. I compensated with a cropped mini jacket, which kept me warm during this winter get together! The bottom is also tighter around the knees, so think of that when you need to be sitting for a long time at a potential event. Overall another dress I love!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
January 4, 2015
Good party dress
I usually wear a size 6 but ended up wearing the size 8. I have a smaller waist and bigger behind and hips. The dress was really comfy and very flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 5, 2015
Sexy
Sexy details with the exposed lace back. Wore it for a date night and loved it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 7, 2015
Fun dress!
I ordered my usual size 4 and the next size up after reading the other reviews. They were both exactly the same size and I would have went with a 6. The black band in the middle was so tight I was uncomfortable but I committed to the dress and wore it anyway. The fabrics were fun and shiny - a little out of my norm. The back was lace from the middle up, which I liked. Overall it was a cute dress and would have been comfortable in one size bigger.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
February 23, 2015
I LOVED that the back of the dress was all lace! Wore my hair up so everyone could see!
The fit was amazing. It is perfect for someone pear-shaped like myself. I ordered the 4 with a 2 as a back-up and ended up wearing the 2 because the four was too big in the chest. I went to an event in the dead of winter, so I wore it with black tights and heels and it was great! I was comfortable all night, and even did a little dancing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 22, 2015
Not my Favorite RTR...
I rented this dress for my sister-in-law's bachelorette party in San Diego. The event was classy yet snazzy and from the reviews and pictures it seemed like the perfect dress. Unfortunately, it just didn't have the WOW factor I had hoped for when it arrived. I ordered a 6 and an 8, as I had read reviews saying to order up, and they were right. The 6 didn't fit at all, yet the 8 was a little too roomy. I was also surprised that the back is completely open with lace overlay - it would have looked better without a bra, but I need the support of one. I must have missed that detail before ordering the dress; if I had known about the back, I would have made another selection to rent for the weekend. I received compliments on the dress, but I just didn't feel as amazing wearing it as I have in the past with RTR rentals. If you're hoping to make an appearance in a stand-out dress, this one isn't it.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 157lbs
October 28, 2014
Tons of Compliments
I have a small waist but larger hips and the beltish feature around the waist looked great on me. The fabric was very cool looking.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 9, 2015
Great shear back!
The ribbon around the middle is a little snug, but otherwise fit was great. The dress wasn't quite as exciting as I was hoping for my bachelorette party, but definitely a nice dress for a special occassion.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 20, 2015
It was New Year's Eve...who remembers?
Only con was that the nude slip underneath ran a little longer than the dress. But - the fashion tape included with the dress solved the problem. Classy dress, very figure fitting. Great!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
June 14, 2015
Super classy!
The dress I received was a bit loose so I ended up wearing the backup size (0). This dress received a lot of compliments about how classy it was! The only thing I didn't really like about this dress is how the bottom didn't really have a tight fit and the hemming wasn't sewn together so there were two layers (and it kind of moved around a lot). But other than that, I would highly recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 4, 2013
This was my second choice, but I totally loved it!
The picture of this dress on the RTR site does not do it any justice. The dress is golden and the gold with the lace is really sexy and classy. Perfect NYE dress. I am really tall but the dress was the perfect length. I read a lot of people thought the belt was too tight in the middle, but I thought it fit great. I'd definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 2, 2014
Wore it for my birthday and received tons of compliments!
The dress was true to size. It was quite snug in the rib cage so don't size down. The lace back was gorgeous! You'll need to get some pasties. I wore it with black, opaque tights and some edgy black heeled booties.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 16, 2014
All eyes on me and still not showing too much skin. Attended symphony orchestra season opening
Fit: Tried the 4 and felt good but the band ... decided to go for 6 and it was perfect. Busty area a little more covered than what i would like or normally do BUT it was a symphony theater night so it was perfect for the occasion. Pro. The fabric and the lace + discrete glitter made of this dress an amazing choice. I decided Tory Burch green pumps and i loved it (but i think it would look super with sandal heels as the model in the pic). Cons. At the end of the evening the hem of the skirt went down just like that. it was not embarrassing but only because it was towards the end of the soiree...otherwise...
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
June 15, 2015
Fun dress for a summer wedding
This was a fun, cute dress for a hot summer wedding. I love little black dresses, and this had enough detailing to make it a bit different from the usual.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 16, 2014
The dress was tighter than what I would have liked- I am usually a 4-6 but 8 might have fit best.
Just tighter than expected in waist
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
September 12, 2012
Loved the dress, but due to tags sticking out in back, opted for my second choice
Loved the dress and cut, and it's such a pretty color under the lace. Only reason I went with my second option dress is because the lace is see-through and there are a bunch of big white tags stuck to the inside of the back that you can see through and it doesn't look great. Being a rental, I obviously didn't want to remove the tags, so I opted not to wear it. But, if those weren't there, it would've been killer.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
October 7, 2012
The whole experience was easy and the dresses were delivered as promised.
The dress fit fine and looked great. It was not a great quality, were I to have purchased it, but for a single event, the style was terrific and it was a great dress. I would definitely use this website again because of its large selection and because it's really so easy to use! We'll be back.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
November 26, 2012
So easy to rent and return, great dress!
Loved the sparkly lace on this dress! It is a little snug around the waist band and the lacy back was kinda loose on me, but it still looked great and was comfortable. Great for a formal night time affair!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 11, 2012
Did not wear dress...
I actually ended up returning this dress for fit. I was supposed to wear it to my boyfriends office Christmas party but it was too tight in the hips area and fit very well in the waist up. If you have a pear shaped body and are uncomfortable with dresses tight around the hip area, I would recommend trying a different dress. It was really pretty in person though - definitely more gold and the back was gorgeous.
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×