Always a Star Dress

$41 to buy
$650 retail
Stylist Notes

Look out of this world at the cocktail party when you walk in wearing this Sachin + Babi navy ruffle dress. Stylish and femininity combined for you to look fab at the event. Add a hint of bling to your wrist by wearing the Chamak by Priya Kakkar's Crystal Snake Eye Bangle Set.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller busted women
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ribbon band - great for creating a waist
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow; curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller busted women
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ribbon band - great for creating a waist
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow; curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Blue crepe. V neckline. Asymmetric tiered body. Embellished waist. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
133 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(44)
Small
(79)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 27, 2012
Not true to size
This is a BEAUTIFUL dress and I was super excited to wear it. I am normally a size 10. I ordered a 10 and a 12 and BOTH were way too small in the hips. I figured since this was in the "hourglass" section this would fit me well, but it did not. This dress is not for girls who have larger hips than upper body. I had to end up purchasing another outfit at a local store at the last minute. I really LOVED the dress so I wish I would have been able to wear it. :-(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
September 15, 2012
Beautiful. Great detail!
Was a hit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 15, 2012
its a Beautiful dress that made me feel amazing!
go one size higher then normal!!!! love this dress the color and everthing about it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
September 16, 2012
Beautiful dress, but definitely order up!
I wore this dress to my cousins wedding. It is a gorgeous blue color and the detailing is incredible. I have to reiterate the sentiments of the other reviewers that it runs very, very small through the hip and thigh. I am usually a 2/4 and based on reading the reviews I ordered a 4 and a 6 knowing that my hips are wider. I went with the 6 which was still uncomfortable but manageable. The ruffles create a great illusion and nobody (I asked several close family members) could tell I felt I was going to bust a seam. Overall, it is a beautiful dress, I received countless compliments on it. Definitely order up a size or even two if you are wider in the hips. I paired the dress with a silver bracelet, diamond earrings and a steel gray clutch.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 17, 2012
This was a gorgeous dress. Great color and great details.
The size 10 fit pretty well, but it was tight around the hips. I ended up wearing the 12 and it was a little big up top, but was more comfortable all around.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 19, 2012
Felt beautiful for a night out in West Palm beach!
Pretty color, loved the sparkly belt! and it was comfortable
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
September 19, 2012
Colorful and fun!
This dress was my back up dress, I ended up wearing it because the dress I really wanted wasnt able to be shipped in time. (RTR did a great job of refunding me/making up for it! Awesome customer service!!) I was happy with this dress - the blue was bright and fun, the dress was really comfortable. A little snug in the hips for my body type (pear) but a size larger would've been too baggy in the bust. Overall, it was great for the occasion and i'm renting again for a wedding in October!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 20, 2012
Too small to wear
Loved the color and detail of this dress but it ran veryyyyyyy small for my tiny waist and big hips. It would be stunny on less curvy figures!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 20, 2012
Just enough flash without going over the top!
I ordered a zero and and two. I have always worn a size 0 when ordering from RTR but am thankful I also got a backup size 2 because I ended up wearing the 2. There are no ruffles on the back of the dress and it is very fitted. Every time I sat down and then got up I had to pull the dress down as it bunched up in the back. I also realized when I got home that the zipper had crept down a little. I loved the sparkly belt and all the ruffles details. It was just enough flash without going over the top.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 24, 2012
Gorgeous color and unique style - really stood out!
After reading reviews I ordered in a 4 and 6, but ended up wearing the 6 because it was a little less fitted in the butt/hip area. Like previous reviews mention, there's absolutely no stretch, so while it isn't the most comfortable dress I've worn it definitely did stand out and I received many compliments. If you're looking for a beautiful dress that's unique, I'd highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
September 25, 2012
It was an unbelievably beautiful dress, color, fabric, etc...runs VERY small in the hip area.
The color blue is beautiful and the jeweled belt is too. The fabric is gorgeous and I would have loved to have worn it, but I couldn't fit in the size 2 or 4. I typically wear either size and really needed a 6 for the hip area. It is lined silk so it doesn't give at all. I would not suggest this for an hourglass or pear shape.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 27, 2012
Great dress for a wedding!
I wore this dress to a wedding and I loved it! It has the perfect amount of detail to make it fun and interesting without being over the top. All I added was a cuff bracelet and black strappy shoes and it looked complete. When I read the reviews I though it was going to be too small (I ordered a 0 and 2) but the 0 fit perfectly. I really liked the length and the fit.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Weight: 170lbs
September 29, 2012
Was not able to wear :(
I found this dress to run small. It was tight in my hips and butt area. The dress looks like a much better quality in the picture. Still it was a pretty dress, wish it fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 1, 2012
Not the same in person
This dress runs very small and the colors are not as rich looking in person. The dress is also not as flowy as it looks on the model, the fabric is pretty stiff.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 3, 2012
The dress is sooo unique! Nobody had anything like it and I received tons of compliments!
The color of the dress is absolutely GORGEOUS and the jeweled is way cute too. The fit is a bit looser than I would've liked, but that can be solved by sizing down. Overall though, I loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
October 7, 2012
Beautiful color and loved the belt!
Great dress - color looked great in pictures. Dress definitely runs small, especially for curvy girls. There is NO stretch in the skirt part of the dress. I sized up and it still felt small to me and the top started to become baggy. Overall though, I did receive a lot of compliments and I loved the detail of the attached belt.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
October 9, 2012
I chose this dress for a fancy wedding, Very flattering dress. I will definitely rent it again !
I absolutely loved the bright blue color and the precious shining belt. I wore black pumps with it to recall the black part of the dress on the shoulders. Just a negative aspect:it was a little too tight around the hips area.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
October 22, 2012
The amount of compliments I received on this dress was unreal!
I usually wear a 2 or a 4, but with this dress I was a 6. The 6 fit perfectly and was very comfortable! The cut of the dress is super flattering...fitted but not too tight.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
October 22, 2012
The dress runs very small, but beautiful material.
beautiful material but runs very small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 25, 2012
loved the color of this!
beautiful, but since I don't have much of a waist, it was a little tight around the "belt"
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 12, 2012
Fun & Flirty!
I wore this dress to a fall wedding, and it was perfect for dancing all night. The color is super vibrant, and the petals/ruffles on the front have really nice movement. The belt gives a pop of sparkle, too! I generally wear a 4 and the size 4 fit me to a tee. My only minor complaint is that one of the shoulder pieces was wrinkly and looked a bit odd up close.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 14, 2012
Beautiful but snug in the hips
I chose this dress but ended up wearing the another one I chose--this one ran a bit snug in my hips. I usually wear a 6 or 8 and chose an 8 in this (as my 1 additional dress). It just didn't have much give in the hips but it was a beautiful dress. The color is beautiful!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
November 19, 2012
torso portion is too long for some petite women
This dress is really fun and the color is pretty. My problem was that I am only 5'1 and the torso portion was way too long. Therefore, there was a lot of extra material on top, and the belt did not hit at my waist. I had ordered a size up because everyone said it runs small - the hips fit appropriately in the size up but the top the proportions were all wrong! I couldn't wear it :(
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 19, 2012
It was definitely a unique dress.
Seeing as this is a popular dress, I think it has seen some rough times. Each fringe was frayed to different degrees, so I had to trim a lot of loose threads. Other than that, the dress was very pretty. Many people wore royal blue that night, but none of them had the same glamor and unique detailing as this number. It was conservative enough to wear for my brother's wedding, but it had the extra oomph that I was looking for.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
November 26, 2012
Was cute and fun
Fit was fine though a bit awkward in the chest area.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 15, 2012
My first RTR bust
I've be a Runway girl for years and this was the first dress that didn't fit or look good. I actually felt like a blue big bird in it. I'd recommend this dress for girls that have fewer curves. Still, RTR got me another dress in time for my party that's GREAT!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 22, 2012
That it made my date speechless!
It is such a lovely dress! The bottom was a little tight, and the top a little lose but it looked amazing!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2013
Too small on the bottom
The dress is to die for beautiful. Unfortunately, it didn't fit. I ordered a 6 because everyone said it ran small. But if I'd gotten larger than a 6, it would have been too big in the chest.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
January 4, 2013
Pretty, but not quite perfect dress!
I love the dress, the color is fantastic and the sparkly belt is really becoming. As per other reviews, the hips do fit REALLY tight... and I'm not one who has a lot of hips. So, the dresses weren't perfect on me as the 4 was a bit big at the top and the 2 was a bit small in the skirt. I ended up going with the 4 and adding a cardigan. All in all, the look was lovely and I was pleased - but just a tiny bit of warning! That being said, I would recommend for others!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 113lbs
January 5, 2013
Very pretty, got lots of compliments but somewhat uncomfortable
I have a long torso, so the waist band tightened my stomach directly which made it difficult to eat during the wedding! But loved it anyway.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 14, 2013
Fun, flirty NYE dress
Wore this to a dinner party on NYE. The 4 fit, but was too tight in the hips when sitting. I ended up wearing the size 6 which fit much better in the hips but was too baggy up top especially in the back. The belt added a little bling, but was overall too tight. The size 4 was perfectly pressed and all the ruffles in place. The 6 looked like it was worn the day before. All the ruffles were stuck the wrong way and the shoulder tabs were curled up. I had to do a lot of steaming for this one. Ugh! The dress was very cute in the photos, but I wouldn't order it again. Just didn't fit my body.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
May 15, 2012
color and embellishment... pow
this dress was super elegant and lovely at a recent NYC wedding. My only advice would be to go up for your back-up size because the dress runs narrow around the ribs.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 15, 2012
LOVED!
Definitely one of my favorite dresses on the site. Easy fit and super flattering and the color is great -- would have been even better with a tan.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
May 29, 2012
Great dress
I love this dress! I wore it to a friend's evening wedding and received tons of compliments all night. The color is beautiful, and the dress is very flattering. However, it does run a little small. I am considering renting the dress again for another evening wedding later this summer.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 134lbs
May 30, 2012
Snug, but very cute
I wore this dress to a wedding and was very happy with it - the color is beautiful and the shape is unique. I rented a 2 and a 4, and the 4 was a little snug on me but I was able to wear it anyway.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
May 30, 2012
It was a great dress for a Girl's Night Out. I got compliments all night, and felt great!
It is definitely snug in the hips, so I suggest ordering a size up. Loved this dress. I felt great in it and got tons of compliments all night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
June 1, 2012
No one compliment in particular. Everyone just thought it looked cool.
Pros: tons of compliments. I felt super trendy with all the cool details. Originally I didn't like that the ruffles don't go all the way around, but I ended up liking it better that way. I was adamant about not having a strapless dress, and I'm glad I didn't have to worry about hiking it up or hiding my bra. The upper portion was comfortable. No one else seemed to notice the things that bugged me. Cons: literally no stretch in fabric (really noticeable in hips. I was scared of ripping it when I sat down so I would bunch it up a little at the waist). Black shoulder tabs weren't my favorite, but they worked fine. Same with the ruffles on the right hip that I really wanted to do some gravity-defying thing, but they didn't oblige. Also, you might need someone to help zip you up -- the zipper gets caught kind of easily.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
August 7, 2012
Being able to wear a stand out dress at a great price and not worry about it collecting dust in my closet!
I wore it to a wedding and got many compliments! It has just the right amount of bling and color to stand out but not show off and overwhelm. I am a bit a pear shape so I wore a size bigger than my normal for comfort as there is absolutely no stretch in the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
August 8, 2012
Good dress for large busted
I wore this dress to a wedding six weeks after giving birth. I had no idea what size to wear, so I ordered it in four sizes (6, 8, 10, 12), my bust at the time was a 36G (thanks to nursing) and I wore the size 10. The dress did a good job concealing my not perfectly flat belly (another residual effect of my recent pregnancy).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 11, 2012
Perfect Color!
I normally wear a 4/6 and the 8 fit me in this dress. It is beautiful! The most gorgeous blue with amazing detail on the dress. My zipper was a little tough to get up, I had to have my husband do it for me.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×