Always a Star Dress

$41 to buy
$650 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look out of this world at the cocktail party when you walk in wearing this Sachin + Babi navy ruffle dress. Stylish and femininity combined for you to look fab at the event. Add a hint of bling to your wrist by wearing the Chamak by Priya Kakkar's Crystal Snake Eye Bangle Set.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller busted women
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ribbon band - great for creating a waist
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow; curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller busted women
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ribbon band - great for creating a waist
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow; curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Blue crepe. V neckline. Asymmetric tiered body. Embellished waist. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
133 reviews
Fit
Large4
True to Size44
Small79
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
January 3, 2014
Beautiful dress but can tell it has been worn a few times.
The dress is beautiful and fits really well. And I received a lot of compliments throughout the night. But you can definitely tell this dress has been wore a few times.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 1, 2014
This color really pops. I loved the sequin belt which made this very slimming.
Order a size larger than you usually wear if you have any sort of hips or thighs. I wore this to a seven course dinner and it kept getting tighter:) I have worn this brand before and it always runs small. I would highly recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 1, 2014
Gorgeous Color!
I wasn't sure I would love this dress by looking at some of the other girls' picture reviews on RTR but loved the color and sparkly belt so decided to order it for a New Year's Eve party anyway. I am very glad I did because I loved the dress in person and received tons of compliments all night. I didn't like how the black tabs stuck out on the shoulders so I used some fashion tape to tuck them in and then it was perfect. I sized up as others suggested and got the 4 and 6 and wore the 4 comfortably. Definitely loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 23, 2013
Perfect dress for a 30th Birthday Party at Speakeasy in Hollywood!
This was a beautiful dress and my boyfriend absolutely loved it on me. The color stands out and it really flatters. It does run a little small and doesn't have any stretch in the hips so if in doubt, order one size up. I usually wear a size 4, but the size 6 fit perfectly. Overall, I was very happy with this dress for my boyfriend's 30th birthday
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
December 11, 2013
Dress arrived early and was very easy to return.
Very small and narrow through the hips. Beautiful color though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 22, 2013
Fantastic Customer Service
The color was beautiful...but the size 2 did not fit in he waist ( 2 smalll) or top ( 2 big). The size 4 was way 2 big. Thank you rent the runway for your excellent Customer Service! They gave me credit towards my next rental. I will try another dress because of the excellent Costomer service!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 9, 2013
I wore this to a friend's wedding, great for the occasion.
Not my favorite dress that I've ever rented, but I liked it. The fabric doesn't give very much, which makes it pretty tight and the bust, because that part of the dress is cut closer. The color is gorgeous and the ripple designs are pretty cool.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 15, 2013
Awesome service.
Love this dress..I wish I owned it. The color of this dress is just amazing. The ruffles give it a trendy and flirty look and the belt gives it just enough pizazz. Like all of the other reviewers stated, the dress runs small. For me, the size 4, which is my normal size, fit me better overall; however, the belt/waist area was so tight that I couldn't sit comfortably. I opted to go with the larger size 6 , even though it was loose in the bust area. I wanted to be comfortable and I also felt that the 6 was just a touch longer on me than the 4. I think this is just a great, fun, and sexy dress.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 8, 2013
Great dress, great service from RTR!
Fit was a bit small, as others have indicated. Loved the texture to the dress and the belt was pretty.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 24, 2013
Great party dress!
Wore this dress for a New Years eve party and it was perfect! The bottom didn't have much "give" to it so definitely make use of the free additional size and size up if you have a curvier figure. The tiered layers were pretty and flirty and the sequined sewn in belt was the perfect accessory already included! Loved this dress and would definitely recommend! Wore it with black tights and a black leather jacket since it was winter time:)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 59
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
September 17, 2013
Last minute changes and willingness to help me through it!
Didn't fit, I had lost weight but obviously, not enough to wear a dress that had no give. It didn't come in a larger size. This was a back-up dress for one that I had ordered that was not available to ship at the last minute. It turned out ok because the dress that I really wanted to wear fit perfectly!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 17, 2013
One of my favorite RTR dresses!
I wore this dress for a wedding inflate summer! I was so happy after the dress came that I couldn't wait to put it on. I loved the blue color and the "belt" added a very nice touch of glam and sparkle. I rented the 6 and 8 and went with the 8 it just had a better overall fit! I paired this with the Lee Angle Tie Up Crystal Necklace and it completed the look fantastically.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
September 6, 2013
Lovely dress
This is a lovely dress and was suitable for the formal wedding I wore it to. Size wise, the 6 was fine in the chest but far too tight in the hips so I wore the 8 which was better but still snug. It's also quite short, especially when you are sitting down; however, it was a great dress for the occassion. The color is great and it is comfortable. I would recommend sizing up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
September 4, 2013
Not the right fit
Based on other user reviews, I ordered my normal size and one size up in this dress - neither fit! I was really disappointed because I thought the dress was even cuter in person and would have been perfect for my event. Perhaps I have an unrealistic perception of my actual size?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
August 24, 2013
Head Turner
Loved the belt detail & flow of the fabric but didn't end of wearing it. Rented for a wedding that ended up being much more casual. Wish I could have worn it somewhere outside of the house. Will end up renting a very similar dress by same designer for a Fall wedding - this blue was stunning but not a good color for Fall.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
August 11, 2013
Beautiful dress but runs small.
I knew from other reviews this dress ran small. I thought I might be able to squeeze in since I'm not very hippy, which is where other people said it ran small, however no such luck. Since I wear a 12, there was no option to order a size up. Luckily, I ordered another dress that wound up working perfectly and was very happy with that- in fact I think it was an even better choice for a day time wedding since this one is more on the formal side. (For reference, the other dress is the Trina Turk Walk Like an Egyptian dress- it's amazing!) If I could drop another size or 2 I would consider renting this dress again. Not for a day time wedding though, as I think it's too formal, but maybe for a more formal occasion. The color is a very bright beautiful blue and the belt is great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 30, 2013
Tight in the hips
I rented this to wear for my friend's bachelorette party in NYC (night 1). I got the 6 but it was extremely tight in the hips - no stretch. Also, the beaded strip was a little flashier than I thought it would be. I felt like it needed black or metallic heels rather than just nude. It was a really pretty dress though and I'm not sure if the 8 may have fit better (it was my backup). I would suggest sizing up if you have any hips at all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
July 22, 2013
Super fun, awesome waist accessory and compliments all night!
This dress was a bit snug in the middle (read that on the other reviews and luckily went up a size) I usually wear a 0 but I wore a 2 with this and some of the night I honestly felt like I needed the 4 I also rented, just for dancing and sitting sake. But I received a TON of compliments and I loved the waist belt, so much more sparkly in person.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
June 19, 2013
Gorgeous color, fit and very flattering!
I rented this dress for a wedding in Indiana and got so many compliments. It is classy, flattering and beautiful detail.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
June 10, 2013
bold color, classy cut.
I loved wearing this dress for a wedding! It felt a bit short, and somehow didn't look as "unique" as I'd hoped it would, but overall it was a beautiful, rich color and was modest and classy all at the same time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
June 3, 2013
I didn't get to wear the dress :(
This dress is super cute and a great blue color. I rented it as my first pick and with a backup size. Usually I wear a 6, but reviews said to size up for my body type. I have been blessed with a booty so neither size worked for me. I couldn't get the 6 on. The 8 could have worked, but I felt too self conscious about the rear. It's on the short side and it was just a little too tight. The back of the dress is straight, flat fabric, unlike the front to hide imperfections. The 8 fit fine everywhere else. If I had gone up another size to a 10 I think the dress would have been too big everywhere else.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
June 2, 2013
I received many complements on this dress! It was perfect for an outdoors cocktail style wedding!
I had to go up a size in this dress so I would recommend ordering a size up for your second dress. The dress was snug around my butt and i don't even have a big butt! I was able to wear a normal bra with this dress which is great because I have a large chest. Overall it was a great experience and I will use RTR again!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
May 13, 2013
Gorgeous unique dress. My husband loved it and it was nice to wear something different on date night
This dress doesn't have a lot of "give" so I would recommend ordering a bigger size for your backup. The sash area is a bit tight. Other than that it's a fun dress with character. Would rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 6, 2013
Beautiful color and really unique details make this dress great, but it is small in the hip area.
I would up not wearing this and instead wore a Shoshanna dress but it is really pretty. The bottom half fit more snugly than I was comfortable with, so just fair warning to order a size up, but it may be hard to find a size that fits well both on top and bottom. Probably better for straighter figures.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 27, 2013
This dress was embarrassing!!!
Fit terribly, short-waisted, silly. I do not recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
April 15, 2013
One of the most beautiful dresses I've ever worn.
The dress is a striking blue color and very flattering. I got compliments on it all evening. I am quite busty and I often have trouble finding a dress that isn't too revealing on top. The belted waist is a really beautiful detail and it tied in my sparkly earrings and shoes perfectly. The dress was also great because I could wear a regular bra with it and it wasn't too low cut. I was fine through the hips, but there truly is no give so I would say to order a size up for your alternate size just in case.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
April 10, 2013
Perfect for a night out!
The dress definitely fit small. I think the band across the waist is the reason for this. I received a lot of compliments and felt great all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
April 5, 2013
Wore this to my engagement party. I recieved a million compliments. Great party dress!
I have a large chest and small waist. I always look for dresses that will allow me to wear a standard bra and still look sexy, cute and show off my figure. This dress did just that. Super comfortable! I didnt want to take it off at the end of the night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
March 11, 2013
Awesome and fun party dress - lots of compliments.
The bust was a bit tight, but the length was perfect for me as I am only 5'0". The fabric was a bit dressier than I thought from the pictures, but it is still beautiful and perfect for any formal party.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
March 5, 2013
Wonderful Homecoming Dress!
I rented this dress for my homecoming dance this fall. I was pretty nervous about the experience, because I had never rented from RTR before, but the experience went perfectly! I order the dress in a 2 and 4, but ended up wearing the 2 because the fit was better. The only negative thing about this dress is that it was a little longer on me than I expected (I'm only 5'1) and also would ride up just a little. But I got many compliments on this dress and would definitely rent it again!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
February 24, 2013
I lovetheblue and the ruffles, and the material was so nice.
It was a little too tight around my butt, which made it hard to dance.But I wouldn't have picked another dress!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Body type: Petite
February 22, 2013
The amazing quality and design
Like it a lot, the only thing is that it is a little bit longer than I expected. The quality is really good though. Like!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Apple
Weight: 120lbs
February 6, 2013
Not for pear body types...
So I always wanted to rent this dress, so I finally did. Too bad IT DID NOT FIT. Girls, if you have a booty, do not even bother renting this dress. It is way too tight around the hips and booty area. I'm a small girl, tiny waist but I do have a booty. Normally wear a 27 in jeans, small in shirt.
MarielJune 3, 2013
bummed i didnt see this review of yours. i rented it for this past weekend and could not wear it due to the booty issue. luckily i rented a second look just in case!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
February 2, 2013
Definitely received a lot of good stares! Felt like a supermodel!
This dress was structured so it fit will for a formal affair. I liked the details on the beading and the zipper. I have a large bust so I could not wear the size 6 even though it fit perfectly everywhere else. I had to wear my backup size 8 so that my chest could fit. The dress does not have any give otherwise I could have wore the size 6 and fit in the bust. I usually wear a size 4 or 6 in pants and a M or L in tops.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
February 2, 2013
I didn't end up wearing it
If you have a butt go 2 sizes up. I
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 30, 2013
Wore this dress to my sorority's formal and got so many complements!
Overall the fit was great, but it was a little tight in the hip/butt area. Also, the neckline was a little higher than I thought it was going to be. But, I loved the dress and it was perfect for my formal occasion!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 14, 2013
Fun, flirty NYE dress
Wore this to a dinner party on NYE. The 4 fit, but was too tight in the hips when sitting. I ended up wearing the size 6 which fit much better in the hips but was too baggy up top especially in the back. The belt added a little bling, but was overall too tight. The size 4 was perfectly pressed and all the ruffles in place. The 6 looked like it was worn the day before. All the ruffles were stuck the wrong way and the shoulder tabs were curled up. I had to do a lot of steaming for this one. Ugh! The dress was very cute in the photos, but I wouldn't order it again. Just didn't fit my body.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 113lbs
January 5, 2013
Very pretty, got lots of compliments but somewhat uncomfortable
I have a long torso, so the waist band tightened my stomach directly which made it difficult to eat during the wedding! But loved it anyway.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
January 4, 2013
Pretty, but not quite perfect dress!
I love the dress, the color is fantastic and the sparkly belt is really becoming. As per other reviews, the hips do fit REALLY tight... and I'm not one who has a lot of hips. So, the dresses weren't perfect on me as the 4 was a bit big at the top and the 2 was a bit small in the skirt. I ended up going with the 4 and adding a cardigan. All in all, the look was lovely and I was pleased - but just a tiny bit of warning! That being said, I would recommend for others!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2013
Too small on the bottom
The dress is to die for beautiful. Unfortunately, it didn't fit. I ordered a 6 because everyone said it ran small. But if I'd gotten larger than a 6, it would have been too big in the chest.
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×