Sachin & Babi

Always a Star Dress

$41 to buy
$650 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look out of this world at the cocktail party when you walk in wearing this Sachin + Babi navy ruffle dress. Stylish and femininity combined for you to look fab at the event. Add a hint of bling to your wrist by wearing the Chamak by Priya Kakkar's Crystal Snake Eye Bangle Set.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room for fuller busted women
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ribbon band - great for creating a waist
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow; curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Blue crepe. V neckline. Asymmetric tiered body. Embellished waist. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
133 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(44)
Small
(81)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Apple
Weight: 120lbs
February 6, 2013
Not for pear body types...
So I always wanted to rent this dress, so I finally did. Too bad IT DID NOT FIT. Girls, if you have a booty, do not even bother renting this dress. It is way too tight around the hips and booty area. I'm a small girl, tiny waist but I do have a booty. Normally wear a 27 in jeans, small in shirt.
MarielJune 3, 2013
bummed i didnt see this review of yours. i rented it for this past weekend and could not wear it due to the booty issue. luckily i rented a second look just in case!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
April 10, 2013
Perfect for a night out!
The dress definitely fit small. I think the band across the waist is the reason for this. I received a lot of compliments and felt great all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 27, 2013
This dress was embarrassing!!!
Fit terribly, short-waisted, silly. I do not recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 6, 2013
Beautiful color and really unique details make this dress great, but it is small in the hip area.
I would up not wearing this and instead wore a Shoshanna dress but it is really pretty. The bottom half fit more snugly than I was comfortable with, so just fair warning to order a size up, but it may be hard to find a size that fits well both on top and bottom. Probably better for straighter figures.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
May 13, 2013
Gorgeous unique dress. My husband loved it and it was nice to wear something different on date night
This dress doesn't have a lot of "give" so I would recommend ordering a bigger size for your backup. The sash area is a bit tight. Other than that it's a fun dress with character. Would rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
June 3, 2013
I didn't get to wear the dress :(
This dress is super cute and a great blue color. I rented it as my first pick and with a backup size. Usually I wear a 6, but reviews said to size up for my body type. I have been blessed with a booty so neither size worked for me. I couldn't get the 6 on. The 8 could have worked, but I felt too self conscious about the rear. It's on the short side and it was just a little too tight. The back of the dress is straight, flat fabric, unlike the front to hide imperfections. The 8 fit fine everywhere else. If I had gone up another size to a 10 I think the dress would have been too big everywhere else.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
July 22, 2013
Super fun, awesome waist accessory and compliments all night!
This dress was a bit snug in the middle (read that on the other reviews and luckily went up a size) I usually wear a 0 but I wore a 2 with this and some of the night I honestly felt like I needed the 4 I also rented, just for dancing and sitting sake. But I received a TON of compliments and I loved the waist belt, so much more sparkly in person.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 30, 2013
Tight in the hips
I rented this to wear for my friend's bachelorette party in NYC (night 1). I got the 6 but it was extremely tight in the hips - no stretch. Also, the beaded strip was a little flashier than I thought it would be. I felt like it needed black or metallic heels rather than just nude. It was a really pretty dress though and I'm not sure if the 8 may have fit better (it was my backup). I would suggest sizing up if you have any hips at all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
August 11, 2013
Beautiful dress but runs small.
I knew from other reviews this dress ran small. I thought I might be able to squeeze in since I'm not very hippy, which is where other people said it ran small, however no such luck. Since I wear a 12, there was no option to order a size up. Luckily, I ordered another dress that wound up working perfectly and was very happy with that- in fact I think it was an even better choice for a day time wedding since this one is more on the formal side. (For reference, the other dress is the Trina Turk Walk Like an Egyptian dress- it's amazing!) If I could drop another size or 2 I would consider renting this dress again. Not for a day time wedding though, as I think it's too formal, but maybe for a more formal occasion. The color is a very bright beautiful blue and the belt is great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36G
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
September 4, 2013
Not the right fit
Based on other user reviews, I ordered my normal size and one size up in this dress - neither fit! I was really disappointed because I thought the dress was even cuter in person and would have been perfect for my event. Perhaps I have an unrealistic perception of my actual size?
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 60
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
September 17, 2013
Last minute changes and willingness to help me through it!
Didn't fit, I had lost weight but obviously, not enough to wear a dress that had no give. It didn't come in a larger size. This was a back-up dress for one that I had ordered that was not available to ship at the last minute. It turned out ok because the dress that I really wanted to wear fit perfectly!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 8, 2013
Great dress, great service from RTR!
Fit was a bit small, as others have indicated. Loved the texture to the dress and the belt was pretty.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 15, 2013
Awesome service.
Love this dress..I wish I owned it. The color of this dress is just amazing. The ruffles give it a trendy and flirty look and the belt gives it just enough pizazz. Like all of the other reviewers stated, the dress runs small. For me, the size 4, which is my normal size, fit me better overall; however, the belt/waist area was so tight that I couldn't sit comfortably. I opted to go with the larger size 6 , even though it was loose in the bust area. I wanted to be comfortable and I also felt that the 6 was just a touch longer on me than the 4. I think this is just a great, fun, and sexy dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 9, 2013
I wore this to a friend's wedding, great for the occasion.
Not my favorite dress that I've ever rented, but I liked it. The fabric doesn't give very much, which makes it pretty tight and the bust, because that part of the dress is cut closer. The color is gorgeous and the ripple designs are pretty cool.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
December 11, 2013
Dress arrived early and was very easy to return.
Very small and narrow through the hips. Beautiful color though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
December 23, 2013
Perfect dress for a 30th Birthday Party at Speakeasy in Hollywood!
This was a beautiful dress and my boyfriend absolutely loved it on me. The color stands out and it really flatters. It does run a little small and doesn't have any stretch in the hips so if in doubt, order one size up. I usually wear a size 4, but the size 6 fit perfectly. Overall, I was very happy with this dress for my boyfriend's 30th birthday
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 1, 2014
Gorgeous Color!
I wasn't sure I would love this dress by looking at some of the other girls' picture reviews on RTR but loved the color and sparkly belt so decided to order it for a New Year's Eve party anyway. I am very glad I did because I loved the dress in person and received tons of compliments all night. I didn't like how the black tabs stuck out on the shoulders so I used some fashion tape to tuck them in and then it was perfect. I sized up as others suggested and got the 4 and 6 and wore the 4 comfortably. Definitely loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 10, 2014
Pretty dress but wrong fit.
I loved the look fo this dress online and thought the material and beaded belt were great in person however the fit was all wrong. I did order up a couple sizes based on the reviews but neither size fit just right. Unfortunately I was left without a dress to wear to my event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 11, 2014
Such a cute dress online, just doesn't fit well.
I rented this for NYE (for an awesome price!), but was really bummed when neither dress fit. I'm typically a 4 in dresses, but have an athletic booty/thighs and wear a 28 in jeans. I tried the 6 on first, and the hips/butt were so tight I could hardly pull it all the way up, but the top was much too loose. The dress was just so uncomfortable that there was no way I could wear it all night. I didn't even bother trying on the 4 since the bigger size was so tight in the skirt. Such a shame too, because the design and style is great, and the sparkly belt that is sewn on the dress is a perfect accent. Perhaps this would fit better on someone with a straighter figure.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
February 24, 2014
Small. Really small.
I zipped the 12 but barely. I could not breathe or move and it was inappropriately short. No possible way on earth i could have worn the dress. The dress is really pretty and would have been gorgeous if it had fit. Definitely made for the skinny minnys :-) Luckily RTR overnighted another dress that was gorgeous and actually fit! LOVE RTR.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
March 3, 2014
Such a fun dress!
Loved this dress. Runs small, I fit into the 8 but it was pretty tight so went with the 10 for comfort. It is a bit on the shorter side when you are sitting. I could tell the 10 had been worn more than the size 8 but still in good condition and no one would notice the small flaws. I did use fashion tape to tuck the shoulder tabs under, just not my style.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 16, 2014
Fun party dress!
As many other people stated, this dress is very fitted through the hips/butt/thighs area. I could've worn a 2 (my usual size) in the top, but there was no way I'd be able to sit down or move comfortably. I'm not terribly skinny through this area, but also not disproportionately larger than I am on top. The 4 still didn't have a ton of give, but I wasn't worried I was going to rip it. Beyond that, the dress was in great shape and the color is awesome. The sparkly belt really adds to it without feeling overly bling-y. I wore this to a wedding where attire was instructed to be "smart, sexy cocktail" and thought this fit the bill perfectly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
July 15, 2014
Weird fit, beautiful dress. Couldn't wear it!
I have a large bust, and my hips are smaller than the rest of me proportionally. This dress was huge in the bust, and about 3 inches too long in the torso. If you are tall, with narrow hips and large bust then this is a great dress for you. It really was beautiful, but I couldn't wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 29, 2014
Supper tight at bottom
This dress was so tight. Luckily it arrived early for me to try the next two sizes up but they still didn't work....was able to zip on but not walk or sit and the next size up fit in the bottom but was too huge at the top. oh well, wasn't that impressive looking in person anyway
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 12, 2014
Cute but small
Super cute dress but the bottom runs small and very fitted. Ended up returning both sizes.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 4, 2014
Great fit! Very flattering!
I wore this dress the first night in Vegas for my bachelorette party. I loved it. I normally wear a 4 or 6 but read another review of someone who posted to order up a size. The 8 was perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 7, 2014
The dress is beautiful - but the sizing was all wrong...
I rented this for a wedding and was really unhappy with the cut of the dress. I'm a 6 bottom but always struggle with dresses as I'm a busty 36DD. Typically I wear a size 10. When this dress didn't fit RTR was GREAT! But since it was so beautiful I had two other friends try it on. We're all different shapes and sizes ranging from S-L/32B-36DD tops to 4-8 bottoms, athletic, hourglass, and pear shaped and none of us fit comfortably in this dress. The smallest girl, regular dress size 4, was the only one with room to breath and sit. No one wore it but we're wondering if this dress may have shrunk as it's supposed to be a 10. This dress was not worn. It is a beautiful dress but it's cut small overall and not just in the hips as some people have mentioned.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 11, 2014
Very interesting dress but very flattering
This isn't typically a dress I would have rented but figured I try something different. It is a very flattering dress. I rented the 8 as the backup but didn't even try it on because the 6 fit perfectly. Runs a bit small in the mid section as most other posts describe but I didn't really find it to be a big issue. It was only a little tight while seated. I didn't care for the shoulder tabs so I tucked the under and pinned it. I would definitely recommend it and I would rent it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
October 14, 2014
I got TONS of compliments on the dress. I originally ordered a 6,8. They were both too tight.
Make sure you order two sizes bigger than our usually size, if you are a pear shape. Tight in my bottom and just small over all.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 25, 2014
Fits weird ... Too tight.
I'm typically a 6...an 8 if not. Rented it as a backup & that was a good thing! Didn't wear it. The other reviewers were right when they say it's tight in the middle...it's odd. I don't have a funny shape or odd-shaped body, but this dress is cut funky or something. I have a small chest, & the 8 was big in the chest...but SUPER tight in the middle, but fit my legs somewhat. The color is beautiful in person, so are the layers & the belt, just wasn't a fit for me.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 2, 2014
Beautiful Dress- tight on hips
This was a really pretty dress and I especially liked the belt. It is really different and was perfect for a summer wedding. I ended up going 2 sizes up for the dress I actually wore because it was SO small in the hips/butt area. I am usually between a 4 and 6, but I couldn't even pull the 6 over my hips. Because I went with the 8, it was baggy in the chest and stomach area. I had to make sure to keep pulling it down all night, not ideal for dancing. But it was beautiful and I think would be great for people with less hips!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
November 22, 2014
The color and waist defining belt are stunning
I wore this for my 30th birthday party and would rent it again. The blue color is perfect and paired nicely with black tights and booties on a cold evening. The belt is waist-defining while adding a pop of sparkle. This dress runs a little small around the hips- order your second dress a size up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 1, 2015
a great dress for a new year's eve wedding!
i wanted a fun, unique dress for a friend's wedding on new year's eve and felt this dress fit the bill. i don't typically wear this shade of blue but the color was really nice and popped. i ordered both the 2 and the 4 after reading other reviews to size up and i'm glad i did - the 2 fit but the 4 was more comfortable! the only downside for me was the shoulder pieces; they just seemed a bit random. i was able to tuck them under and they stayed all night without double-sided tape, so no biggie!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 12, 2015
It was super cute, but ran a little tight in the mid-section. I am shorter, the length was perfect.
I received so many compliments, the style is super cute and wedding appropriate. The size 6 was really tight, and the size 8 was also snug but fit much better than the 6. I recommend sizing up! I really did love this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 12, 2015
Not quite there
This dress is short (I'm 5'8") and a bit small. The 2 was not quite right and the 4 was too big. Because the 2 was a little too small, the ruffles/fabric didn't lay right. I also thought the waist was too high. Didn't end up wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 24, 2015
This dress' texture and fabric are phenomenal. A bit snug, and a smidgen tough to sit in.
The ruffles and color on this dress are amazing. They fabric and construction made for a classy dress but the texture made it incredibly fun. I'm busty. Very busty, so the chest was tight, and it was tight (even using the larger size) and rode up when I needed to sit. I wore it with a black cardigan and it photographed so well. By the time I was dancing I didn't even notice it was snug.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 6, 2015
Wore this to my 20 year high school reunion~ Knocked everyone sock off
runs small- wore the 10- stretches as the night goes on- perfect for hour glass figure
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 1, 2012
Gorgeous, rich color; super sexy fit
This dress is not too revealing up top (the V neck is quite conservative). It's the length that is super sexy and short. The hips fit REALLY tight. I ended up wearing one size up and the hips were still quite tight. there are lots and lots of fabric seams on this dress and the one sent to me was definitely looking worn. Some of the seams were sloppy/pulled. If not for this, I would have given this dress a 5.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
December 29, 2012
Real reviews from others helped me make the right size decision
Like others shared, this dress was tighter on the bottom and looser on top. Glad I read the reviews as I went up to the 6 so it would fit in the hips. I liked it, but wasn't wowed as the bulky top made my bust look a bit lumpy. Overall, I was happy with the experience and service from RTR. Will rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
June 2, 2013
I received many complements on this dress! It was perfect for an outdoors cocktail style wedding!
I had to go up a size in this dress so I would recommend ordering a size up for your second dress. The dress was snug around my butt and i don't even have a big butt! I was able to wear a normal bra with this dress which is great because I have a large chest. Overall it was a great experience and I will use RTR again!
View photos (3)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×