You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Purple Explosion Dress
Rental $100 Retail $795
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Exclusive to Rent the Runway! Look sexy and vibrant in this to die for Robert Rodriguez Black Label asymmetrical mini! It’s the ultimate dress for a bachelorette party, birthday, or night out on the town! Go with earrings like the Badgley Mischka's Dramatic Drop Earrings.
Chat with a Stylist
Purple silk. One shoulder neckline. Black sequin inserts. All over ruching. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - deep V neck reveals cleavage; fuller busted women should consider sizing up for a more conservative look
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist; ruching and sequin insert conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos36

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

AJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Nov 9, 2011
A low key New Year's in NYC with a small, close group of friends.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for New Years Eve and received a ton of compliments. Was a fairly easy fit and runs true to size.
Erica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6533
Aug 27, 2013
Great dress - Runs small
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I usually wear a 6-8 but after reading the reviews, I knew I wouldn't fit into the 6 so I ordered an 8 and 10. I started with the 8, couldn't even get it over my hips. The 10 fit but was extremely tight, I couldn't even bend over to put on my strappy shoes. I ended up wearing my back-up dress, but I would rent this dress again, in the 10 and 12. I will say, it hides any stomach imperfections.
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4424
Aug 25, 2013
Unique design - Felt stunning
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit great - a little snug but in the right places to accentuate a woman's figure. I received many compliments on it. It has a structured feel, but it isn't constricting. Sitting and dancing were not problems in the garmet. The ruching of the material hid some of my imperfections, which I was pleased about. I'm consistently a 4 in dresses, but part of the reason is my chest size. If you have similar measurements to me and have a smaller chest, I think you may want the 2. Side note: sorry about the odd pose in pic 2, but I didn't take a lot of photos that night. I figured potential renters could make a better judgment from the shot/angle in pic 2 versus pic 1.
Shaina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4523
Dec 11, 2012
Loved the dark purple and one shoulder - gorgeous fit!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! It was actually my backup to the Herve Leger bandage dress but once I put it on I just didnot want to take it off. I definitely should have gotten a size up because of my athletic build - my traps made it extremely hard to zip up haha. But I stuffed myself in and it was a great night :)
Gabriela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7443
Apr 9, 2013
Perfect Fit for a Perfect Night!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great dress! Holds it ALL in. So flattering yet comfortable. The fabric doesn't give at all so make sure to get your normal size and maybe one size up. The color is VERY unique in person. Photographs more purple than it looks the blue it looks in person. Length is pretty long so its conservative. Not a Vegas dress but formal and classy
Chelsea
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4523
Apr 7, 2013
Got tons of compliments all through the night.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I felt like the dress was a little constrictive at the beginning of the night. But as I danced more it became a little looser and more comfortable. Definitely a fun, sexy little dress that will turn many heads.
Catie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4233
Mar 31, 2013
Perfect!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this dress to my high school formal. I ordered a 2 and a 4 and had to squeeze into the 4. very different from other dresses, structurally. very comfortable and i received compliments throughout the night!
Brittany
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 3433
Mar 12, 2013
I got compliments the entire night! New years-Amazing color, felt so amazing in this dress.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fitted but comfortable. One-sided strap stayed up all night
Justina
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Mar 8, 2013
This color was perfect for a NYE party! Don't forget the boob tape or a major disaster awaits!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I typically wear a 4 and I rented a 4 and a 6. I ended up wearing the 4 because of the awkard strapless side. I was afraid that the 6 would lead to a show I didn't want to put on if ya know what I mean. Boob tape didn't to the trick because of the fabric so I Improvised and wore the strap you hang the dress from as a mini strap and used my hair to cover it up. It was a bit snug but you couldn't tell because the rouching was so flattering. Sitting on low stools and not revealing anything was a challenge, but probably no different than any other dress. I wore this to an intimate house party with close friends so it ended up being amazing, but if was for a more formal affair I think I would have been upset with the extreme awkardness of the strapless side.
Sonya
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 4331
Feb 26, 2013
I loved the color!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Loved this dress!
Krystal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Jan 6, 2013
It was stylish, flattering around the waist, accentuates the bust lovely like. Loved it
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am 5'7" 130 lbs. typically a size 4/6. The 4 fit best. Many compliments
Xiomara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2623
Jan 3, 2013
Beautiful dress and it fit great.
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Originally ordered 0 but ended up wearing the 2. I am very athletic, runs true to size. If you are a C cup you won't get into the size 0.
Karina
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2323
Dec 29, 2012
Talk of the night
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to homecoming and everyone loved it! I was complemented all night. The style of the dress was very flattering and having the black jems poke out on different parts of the dress added a little something to it. I loved that it was one shouldered too! everything about the dress was perfect. It was the first dress I have rented and since then I've rented other dresses.
Rachel
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 100 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3434
Oct 14, 2012
I wore this dress when I attended the AMAs as a seatfiller. I did not want to give this back.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was very forgiving due to the folds. The indigo color of the dress is unique enough to make you stand out but it doesn't shout "look at me!". The neckline of dress is one of the most unique necklines I have ever seen. The sequins add a nice contrast to the fabric of the dress. I would rent this for a party, formal, or even a wedding. It is fairly short so it may not work great for someone who is 5'10" or taller or for a situation that you should be wearing a longer dress. You won't be able to wear a necklace so make sure to get some big earrings and bracelets for the occasion.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4534
Sep 22, 2012
This dress is amazing! I received more compliments on this dress than any other I've ever worn.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is a great summer wedding dress! I fit into a size 4 until the zipper was up by my boobs. There was no way I was going to be able to zip it up. I'm glad I ordered the size up because that ended up working out great. Make sure to have double sided tape when you wear this dress because the hanger strap will pop out if you don't double sided tape it down inside the dress.
Jillian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Aug 30, 2012
Felt fabulous in such a beautiful dress
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The color is even prettier in person. I wore a 0 and it fit well but the strap around my neck was a little tight. Overall this is a fabulous dress and got tons of compliments.
Carrie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6433
Aug 24, 2012
wore to a friend's birthday party and received endless compliments!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress is my favorite rental from RTR. I recieved it as a back up dress because the dress I originally wanted was not available. It fit really well, I just wish I had ordered it in a size 6 instead of an 8. The shoulder that does not have a strap was a little strange at first but my hair covered it so that did not bother me. I will DEFINITELY rent this dress again.
Myra
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3323
Jul 16, 2012
plenty of compliments on this dress. great shape. fun and edgy!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for my homecoming dance last fall. But since I'm writing this review so late I can't remember if I rented the 0 and 2 or the 2 and 4. I'm usually a 0 or 2.The smaller size I got was too tight mainly on the bottom half. So I wore the bigger size and it would shift a little and wasn't as fitted but it still looked fine. It seemed like an inch or two long on me, but I'm really short. It was super comfortable and easy to dance and move in.
SJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3432
May 25, 2012
Red carpet ready!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for an awards show in Vegas - the dress is BEAUTIFUL and I felt like a star. It runs true to size/slightly small. The 0 fit like a glove but I was going to be sitting most of the night so I went with the 2 because the hem is actually narrower than the hip of the dress, and the dress felt infinitely tighter when I sat down. Since there's ruching you don't really notice it too closely, but there was a bit of gathering around my hips compared to the skirt - an important thing to note if you're a pear like me, because you may have to go up a size or two depending on how much wider your thighs are than your hips. The neckline is awesome and there's a stiffness to the strapless side, so it stays up all night.
ashley
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 113 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3323
Apr 18, 2012
Great dress! Would definitely rent it again!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was BEAUTIFUL. I wore it to my spring formal and received tons of compliments! The fit was a little tight and the side without the strap did tend to fall down, but overall I was very pleased with the dress!
Melissa
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2532
Jan 2, 2012
I received so many compliments on this dress and I felt great wearing it!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved loved loved this dress! Fit perfectly in all the right ways. Had to use fashion tape to hold up the flap with no strap for peace of mind, but otherwise flawless.
Jada
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2522
Jan 1, 2012
Loved the compliments I received, and I will cherish the wonderful photos of me and my husband.
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I love this dress. The color was awesome and really great in pictures. The only problem was the side zipper. The zipper did not lay flat and would buckle up a little bit throughout the night. Other than that, it was great. Love that I had a great dress for the night and don't have to regret paying more for a dress that I would have only worn one time. RTR is a great concept.
Abby
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 2423
Nov 30, 2011
I got many compliments on the color of the dress, as well as the style and cut.
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit very true to size and was very flattering on a petite frame. I would highly recommend it!
karlee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4623
Nov 29, 2011
I danced all night long in this dress! I received many compliments and was told my dress was stunning.
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this to a dance of mine and loved it! The boning in it gave a great shape, was very slimming, and the perfect length. However, the one strap on the shoulder dug in somewhat when I was dancing. Overall, I loved this dress.
Bernadette
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Mar 5, 2014
Couldn't even get it on
Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was supposed to be a 6 and that's what the tag said but I swear it must have been a 0 cause I couldn't get it on! My tiny friend who is 5'2 and size 00 couldn't even zip it up! Either I got a dud or it runs ridiculously small
Angela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2421
Feb 12, 2014
Super comfortable--dance the night away in this dress!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress during a Vegas girl's trip and it was perfect! The ruching provides some give which is always nice. Only complaint is the non-sleeve side kept toppling a bit. Otherwise, it was perfect!
RiRi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 9533
Dec 30, 2013
This dress is sexy.
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I didnt love the strapless side. its kind of odd. i considered wearing the hanger strap but actually just wore my back up dress. this dress is really tight as i have wide hips and small waist. i plan on renting again when i lose a few more pounds. Also, the black embellishment is the best part and makes the whole dress and the party i went to was too dark to fully appreciate the detail work.
Jenna
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6331
Nov 20, 2013
This dress was AMAZING! I got so many compliments!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fits perfectly and is very flattering and the color is perfect!
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Aug 8, 2013
Loved how this dress looked but was a little too tight
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I rented this for NYE last year and I loved the interesting neckline and the sequin insets. However, Robert Rodriguez runs small, and unfortunately my go-to backup size (8) was not available. I would have loved to have worn this! Maybe another time.
Victoria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5443
Jul 26, 2013
Added pounds - went unworn
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This was one of the dresses chosen for my daughter's bachelorette weekend, and none of her friends ended up wearing it. They said it looked too bulky on.
Brennan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5432
May 9, 2013
Loved the dress...but definitely size up!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Really cute dress...perfect for my event...however, it does run a little small. I had a bit of trouble driving/sitting down in it.
TT
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5532
Mar 22, 2013
This is a pretty, sexy, stylish dress!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
So, of the dresses I rented, this was NOT the one I thought I'd like the best....but I did. It looks great on and has great style. I wear a 6 and it fit perfectly....hugging my body just enough. I ended up wearing a different dress, but this one, I would probably rent again for a proper event. I'm only 5 ft 4in and it is NOT as short as it is on the model. It hit me more mid-thigh. But the quality is great. It has a super cute profile look. Nice dress.
Morgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2422
Mar 14, 2013
Cute Dress but didn't wear it
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for NYE, but ended up going to a more casual event, so I didn't wear it. It was cute on, but was pretty tight. I'm pretty small, and small chested, and the top part was still very tight and squished my boobs in. Also, the rouching in the middle was a bit much and ended up making me look more bulky than I would have liked. It's a good dress if you want to show off your legs and maybe hide a little tummy pooch. I like that it's different and interesting, but the way it fits will not work for everyone. I would definitely size up on this one.
LB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5423
Feb 26, 2013
Beautiful, but didn't work for me
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is absolutely beautiful but there is hardly any stretch or "give" in the waist/hips area. I knew I would be sitting a lot at my event so luckily I had rented a back-up (the Tracy Reese "Bardot Bow" dress) and went with that one instead. Typically I wear a 6, but had read that this dress runs a little small so I rented an 8...I probably would have been more comfortable in a 10, though then the top might have been a little big. I really wish it had worked out!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6434
Feb 13, 2013
Always awesome. I got this dress for $25 after ordering another dress.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Unfortunately , I didn't get to wear this dress because it didn't fit. I would definitely recommend for the curvy gals that you order a size up or consider a dress with a different cut. The dress fit everywhere except the bust, which was a bit dangerous on the open side even though it fit on the sleeve side.
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Jan 15, 2013
Absolutely tiny fit.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I ordered the 2 and the 4, I am usually right in between so depending on the material one always fits. These were so small I had my friend a 0/2 try them on and she could BARELY zip up the 4. Dress is beautiful and I wish I could have worn it but sadly neither fit.
Amy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4634
Jan 4, 2013
Too small
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Cute dress and would have worked for the occasion except this dress ran so small both the size 4 and 6 I ordered were too tiny. Unfortunately I didn't try them on until close to my event date or else I would have returned immediately.
Chelsea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Jan 3, 2013
Not what I expected
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress in the pictures but in person it was completely different. The black sparkles looked a little cheap and it did not fit the way a nice dress should. The one-shoulder side pulled very tight to make that side of my chest look flattened down while the other side without a strap didn't hide my bra - or enough to not wear a bra. I tired everything (tape, bra, no bra) to be able to wear it but it never looked good. Save your money and rent a better crafted dress that will be more flattering. It also runs very small and does not have any give in the fabric so if you do decide to rent anyways - rent up a size.
Rae
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3624
Dec 29, 2012
Glamorous!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was a great dress that is even nicer in person than it looks in the photos. It fit well, but I did have to use Hollywood tape to keep the strapless side from bending outward. Probably better for a bust size smaller than D.
Susie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3443
Dec 15, 2012
it looked awkward
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I received this dress as a backup, as the dress I originally wanted was not available. It was very narrow in the hips and the rusching was not flattering. I wore something else.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress