Rent the Runway

Robert Rodriguez Black Label

Purple Explosion Dress

$43 to buy
$850 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! Look sexy and vibrant in this to die for Robert Rodriguez Black Label asymmetrical mini! It’s the ultimate dress for a bachelorette party, birthday, or night out on the town! Go with earrings like the Badgley Mischka's Dramatic Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - deep V neck reveals cleavage; fuller busted women should consider sizing up for a more conservative look
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist; ruching and sequin insert conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - deep V neck reveals cleavage; fuller busted women should consider sizing up for a more conservative look
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist; ruching and sequin insert conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Purple silk. One shoulder neckline. Black sequin inserts. All over ruching. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

85 reviews

Fit
Small 34
True to Size 47
Large 4
Photos 41
AJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 9, 2011

A low key New Year's in NYC with a small, close group of friends.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for New Years Eve and received a ton of compliments. Was a fairly easy fit and runs true to size.
karlee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Nov 29, 2011

I danced all night long in this dress! I received many compliments and was told my dress was stunning.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this to a dance of mine and loved it! The boning in it gave a great shape, was very slimming, and the perfect length. However, the one strap on the shoulder dug in somewhat when I was dancing. Overall, I loved this dress.
Abby
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Nov 30, 2011

I got many compliments on the color of the dress, as well as the style and cut.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit very true to size and was very flattering on a petite frame. I would highly recommend it!
Jada
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Jan 1, 2012

Loved the compliments I received, and I will cherish the wonderful photos of me and my husband.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I love this dress. The color was awesome and really great in pictures. The only problem was the side zipper. The zipper did not lay flat and would buckle up a little bit throughout the night. Other than that, it was great. Love that I had a great dress for the night and don't have to regret paying more for a dress that I would have only worn one time. RTR is a great concept.
Melissa
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 2, 2012

I received so many compliments on this dress and I felt great wearing it!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved loved loved this dress! Fit perfectly in all the right ways. Had to use fashion tape to hold up the flap with no strap for peace of mind, but otherwise flawless.
ashley
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 113 lbs
Apr 18, 2012

Great dress! Would definitely rent it again!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was BEAUTIFUL. I wore it to my spring formal and received tons of compliments! The fit was a little tight and the side without the strap did tend to fall down, but overall I was very pleased with the dress!
SJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124 lbs
May 25, 2012

Red carpet ready!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for an awards show in Vegas - the dress is BEAUTIFUL and I felt like a star. It runs true to size/slightly small. The 0 fit like a glove but I was going to be sitting most of the night so I went with the 2 because the hem is actually narrower than the hip of the dress, and the dress felt infinitely tighter when I sat down. Since there's ruching you don't really notice it too closely, but there was a bit of gathering around my hips compared to the skirt - an important thing to note if you're a pear like me, because you may have to go up a size or two depending on how much wider your thighs are than your hips. The neckline is awesome and there's a stiffness to the strapless side, so it stays up all night.
Myra
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jul 16, 2012

plenty of compliments on this dress. great shape. fun and edgy!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for my homecoming dance last fall. But since I'm writing this review so late I can't remember if I rented the 0 and 2 or the 2 and 4. I'm usually a 0 or 2.The smaller size I got was too tight mainly on the bottom half. So I wore the bigger size and it would shift a little and wasn't as fitted but it still looked fine. It seemed like an inch or two long on me, but I'm really short. It was super comfortable and easy to dance and move in.
Carrie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 24, 2012

wore to a friend's birthday party and received endless compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress is my favorite rental from RTR. I recieved it as a back up dress because the dress I originally wanted was not available. It fit really well, I just wish I had ordered it in a size 6 instead of an 8. The shoulder that does not have a strap was a little strange at first but my hair covered it so that did not bother me. I will DEFINITELY rent this dress again.
Jillian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119 lbs
Aug 30, 2012

Felt fabulous in such a beautiful dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The color is even prettier in person. I wore a 0 and it fit well but the strap around my neck was a little tight. Overall this is a fabulous dress and got tons of compliments.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 22, 2012

This dress is amazing! I received more compliments on this dress than any other I've ever worn.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is a great summer wedding dress! I fit into a size 4 until the zipper was up by my boobs. There was no way I was going to be able to zip it up. I'm glad I ordered the size up because that ended up working out great. Make sure to have double sided tape when you wear this dress because the hanger strap will pop out if you don't double sided tape it down inside the dress.
Rachel
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 100 lbs
Oct 14, 2012

I wore this dress when I attended the AMAs as a seatfiller. I did not want to give this back.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was very forgiving due to the folds. The indigo color of the dress is unique enough to make you stand out but it doesn't shout "look at me!". The neckline of dress is one of the most unique necklines I have ever seen. The sequins add a nice contrast to the fabric of the dress. I would rent this for a party, formal, or even a wedding. It is fairly short so it may not work great for someone who is 5'10" or taller or for a situation that you should be wearing a longer dress. You won't be able to wear a necklace so make sure to get some big earrings and bracelets for the occasion.
Shaina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 11, 2012

Loved the dark purple and one shoulder - gorgeous fit!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! It was actually my backup to the Herve Leger bandage dress but once I put it on I just didnot want to take it off. I definitely should have gotten a size up because of my athletic build - my traps made it extremely hard to zip up haha. But I stuffed myself in and it was a great night :)
Karina
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 29, 2012

Talk of the night

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to homecoming and everyone loved it! I was complemented all night. The style of the dress was very flattering and having the black jems poke out on different parts of the dress added a little something to it. I loved that it was one shouldered too! everything about the dress was perfect. It was the first dress I have rented and since then I've rented other dresses.
Xiomara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Jan 3, 2013

Beautiful dress and it fit great.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Originally ordered 0 but ended up wearing the 2. I am very athletic, runs true to size. If you are a C cup you won't get into the size 0.
Krystal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128 lbs
Jan 6, 2013

It was stylish, flattering around the waist, accentuates the bust lovely like. Loved it

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am 5'7" 130 lbs. typically a size 4/6. The 4 fit best. Many compliments
LB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 26, 2013

Beautiful, but didn't work for me

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is absolutely beautiful but there is hardly any stretch or "give" in the waist/hips area. I knew I would be sitting a lot at my event so luckily I had rented a back-up (the Tracy Reese "Bardot Bow" dress) and went with that one instead. Typically I wear a 6, but had read that this dress runs a little small so I rented an 8...I probably would have been more comfortable in a 10, though then the top might have been a little big. I really wish it had worked out!
Sonya
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 26, 2013

I loved the color!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Loved this dress!
Justina
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 8, 2013

This color was perfect for a NYE party! Don't forget the boob tape or a major disaster awaits!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I typically wear a 4 and I rented a 4 and a 6. I ended up wearing the 4 because of the awkard strapless side. I was afraid that the 6 would lead to a show I didn't want to put on if ya know what I mean. Boob tape didn't to the trick because of the fabric so I Improvised and wore the strap you hang the dress from as a mini strap and used my hair to cover it up. It was a bit snug but you couldn't tell because the rouching was so flattering. Sitting on low stools and not revealing anything was a challenge, but probably no different than any other dress. I wore this to an intimate house party with close friends so it ended up being amazing, but if was for a more formal affair I think I would have been upset with the extreme awkardness of the strapless side.
Brittany
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 12, 2013

I got compliments the entire night! New years-Amazing color, felt so amazing in this dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fitted but comfortable. One-sided strap stayed up all night
Morgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Mar 14, 2013

Cute Dress but didn't wear it

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for NYE, but ended up going to a more casual event, so I didn't wear it. It was cute on, but was pretty tight. I'm pretty small, and small chested, and the top part was still very tight and squished my boobs in. Also, the rouching in the middle was a bit much and ended up making me look more bulky than I would have liked. It's a good dress if you want to show off your legs and maybe hide a little tummy pooch. I like that it's different and interesting, but the way it fits will not work for everyone. I would definitely size up on this one.
TT
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134 lbs
Mar 22, 2013

This is a pretty, sexy, stylish dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
So, of the dresses I rented, this was NOT the one I thought I'd like the best....but I did. It looks great on and has great style. I wear a 6 and it fit perfectly....hugging my body just enough. I ended up wearing a different dress, but this one, I would probably rent again for a proper event. I'm only 5 ft 4in and it is NOT as short as it is on the model. It hit me more mid-thigh. But the quality is great. It has a super cute profile look. Nice dress.
Catie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 31, 2013

Perfect!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this dress to my high school formal. I ordered a 2 and a 4 and had to squeeze into the 4. very different from other dresses, structurally. very comfortable and i received compliments throughout the night!
Chelsea
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 7, 2013

Got tons of compliments all through the night.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I felt like the dress was a little constrictive at the beginning of the night. But as I danced more it became a little looser and more comfortable. Definitely a fun, sexy little dress that will turn many heads.
Gabriela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 9, 2013

Perfect Fit for a Perfect Night!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great dress! Holds it ALL in. So flattering yet comfortable. The fabric doesn't give at all so make sure to get your normal size and maybe one size up. The color is VERY unique in person. Photographs more purple than it looks the blue it looks in person. Length is pretty long so its conservative. Not a Vegas dress but formal and classy
Brennan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
May 9, 2013

Loved the dress...but definitely size up!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Really cute dress...perfect for my event...however, it does run a little small. I had a bit of trouble driving/sitting down in it.
Leticia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Jul 13, 2013

Didn't end up wearing it

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Runs really small.
Victoria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 26, 2013

Added pounds - went unworn

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This was one of the dresses chosen for my daughter's bachelorette weekend, and none of her friends ended up wearing it. They said it looked too bulky on.
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 8, 2013

Loved how this dress looked but was a little too tight

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I rented this for NYE last year and I loved the interesting neckline and the sequin insets. However, Robert Rodriguez runs small, and unfortunately my go-to backup size (8) was not available. I would have loved to have worn this! Maybe another time.
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 25, 2013

Unique design - Felt stunning

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit great - a little snug but in the right places to accentuate a woman's figure. I received many compliments on it. It has a structured feel, but it isn't constricting. Sitting and dancing were not problems in the garmet. The ruching of the material hid some of my imperfections, which I was pleased about. I'm consistently a 4 in dresses, but part of the reason is my chest size. If you have similar measurements to me and have a smaller chest, I think you may want the 2. Side note: sorry about the odd pose in pic 2, but I didn't take a lot of photos that night. I figured potential renters could make a better judgment from the shot/angle in pic 2 versus pic 1.
Erica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 27, 2013

Great dress - Runs small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I usually wear a 6-8 but after reading the reviews, I knew I wouldn't fit into the 6 so I ordered an 8 and 10. I started with the 8, couldn't even get it over my hips. The 10 fit but was extremely tight, I couldn't even bend over to put on my strappy shoes. I ended up wearing my back-up dress, but I would rent this dress again, in the 10 and 12. I will say, it hides any stomach imperfections.
Jenna
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 20, 2013

This dress was AMAZING! I got so many compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fits perfectly and is very flattering and the color is perfect!
RiRi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 30, 2013

This dress is sexy.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I didnt love the strapless side. its kind of odd. i considered wearing the hanger strap but actually just wore my back up dress. this dress is really tight as i have wide hips and small waist. i plan on renting again when i lose a few more pounds. Also, the black embellishment is the best part and makes the whole dress and the party i went to was too dark to fully appreciate the detail work.
Angela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 12, 2014

Super comfortable--dance the night away in this dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress during a Vegas girl's trip and it was perfect! The ruching provides some give which is always nice. Only complaint is the non-sleeve side kept toppling a bit. Otherwise, it was perfect!
Bernadette
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 5, 2014

Couldn't even get it on

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was supposed to be a 6 and that's what the tag said but I swear it must have been a 0 cause I couldn't get it on! My tiny friend who is 5'2 and size 00 couldn't even zip it up! Either I got a dud or it runs ridiculously small
Mandii
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
May 1, 2014

Didn't wear dress

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was a back up dress, it runs very small. And the top part without the strap sits up awkwardly, I have narrow shoulders and it went above my shoulders and stuck up.
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
May 1, 2014

Unique cut and style if you want something different

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I had my eye on this dress and decided to wear it for the after party for the Marine Corps Ball. I loved the interesting neckline and the color in person. Like some previous reviewers, I found the one side of the dress to stick out a little awkwardly and even with fashion tape, it didn't hold for long. It wasn't something I needed to constantly address though and I still loved wearing this dress. It is a very flattering dress too and holds you all in and flatters your curves. Great for a party or fun night out!
Stacey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 29, 2014

Rented it twice!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is very flattering but doesn't have much stretch to it. I needed to go up a size or 2. You also need to use fashion tape to hold the one side up in the front that comes to a point. I rented it twice about 2 years apart.
Feleg
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Aug 4, 2014

I wore the dress for my birthday and it was amazing and perfect in every way!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I have no cons for the dress. I have an hourglass figure and the dress hugged my curves in all the right places. The lines on the dress are very flattering. The black sequins are a nice touch of party to a classy chiffon dress.
Kylee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Sep 10, 2014

Beautiful color!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This dress runs about one size too small, but it is beautiful. The color is so great and the dress is comfortable!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×