Purple Explosion Dress

$43 to buy
$850 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! Look sexy and vibrant in this to die for Robert Rodriguez Black Label asymmetrical mini! It’s the ultimate dress for a bachelorette party, birthday, or night out on the town! Go with earrings like the Badgley Mischka's Dramatic Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - deep V neck reveals cleavage; fuller busted women should consider sizing up for a more conservative look
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist; ruching and sequin insert conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Product Details

Purple silk. One shoulder neckline. Black sequin inserts. All over ruching. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
85 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(47)
Small
(34)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 122lbs
December 29, 2012
Glamorous!
This was a great dress that is even nicer in person than it looks in the photos. It fit well, but I did have to use Hollywood tape to keep the strapless side from bending outward. Probably better for a bust size smaller than D.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
January 3, 2013
Beautiful dress and it fit great.
Originally ordered 0 but ended up wearing the 2. I am very athletic, runs true to size. If you are a C cup you won't get into the size 0.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
January 3, 2013
Not what I expected
I loved this dress in the pictures but in person it was completely different. The black sparkles looked a little cheap and it did not fit the way a nice dress should. The one-shoulder side pulled very tight to make that side of my chest look flattened down while the other side without a strap didn't hide my bra - or enough to not wear a bra. I tired everything (tape, bra, no bra) to be able to wear it but it never looked good. Save your money and rent a better crafted dress that will be more flattering. It also runs very small and does not have any give in the fabric so if you do decide to rent anyways - rent up a size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
January 4, 2013
Too small
Cute dress and would have worked for the occasion except this dress ran so small both the size 4 and 6 I ordered were too tiny. Unfortunately I didn't try them on until close to my event date or else I would have returned immediately.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
January 6, 2013
It was stylish, flattering around the waist, accentuates the bust lovely like. Loved it
I am 5'7" 130 lbs. typically a size 4/6. The 4 fit best. Many compliments
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 15, 2013
Absolutely tiny fit.
I ordered the 2 and the 4, I am usually right in between so depending on the material one always fits. These were so small I had my friend a 0/2 try them on and she could BARELY zip up the 4. Dress is beautiful and I wish I could have worn it but sadly neither fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 13, 2013
Always awesome. I got this dress for $25 after ordering another dress.
Unfortunately , I didn't get to wear this dress because it didn't fit. I would definitely recommend for the curvy gals that you order a size up or consider a dress with a different cut. The dress fit everywhere except the bust, which was a bit dangerous on the open side even though it fit on the sleeve side.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 8, 2013
This color was perfect for a NYE party! Don't forget the boob tape or a major disaster awaits!
I typically wear a 4 and I rented a 4 and a 6. I ended up wearing the 4 because of the awkard strapless side. I was afraid that the 6 would lead to a show I didn't want to put on if ya know what I mean. Boob tape didn't to the trick because of the fabric so I Improvised and wore the strap you hang the dress from as a mini strap and used my hair to cover it up. It was a bit snug but you couldn't tell because the rouching was so flattering. Sitting on low stools and not revealing anything was a challenge, but probably no different than any other dress. I wore this to an intimate house party with close friends so it ended up being amazing, but if was for a more formal affair I think I would have been upset with the extreme awkardness of the strapless side.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
March 12, 2013
I got compliments the entire night! New years-Amazing color, felt so amazing in this dress.
Fitted but comfortable. One-sided strap stayed up all night
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
March 14, 2013
Cute Dress but didn't wear it
I rented this dress for NYE, but ended up going to a more casual event, so I didn't wear it. It was cute on, but was pretty tight. I'm pretty small, and small chested, and the top part was still very tight and squished my boobs in. Also, the rouching in the middle was a bit much and ended up making me look more bulky than I would have liked. It's a good dress if you want to show off your legs and maybe hide a little tummy pooch. I like that it's different and interesting, but the way it fits will not work for everyone. I would definitely size up on this one.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Body type: Hourglass
February 26, 2013
I loved the color!
Loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
March 22, 2013
This is a pretty, sexy, stylish dress!
So, of the dresses I rented, this was NOT the one I thought I'd like the best....but I did. It looks great on and has great style. I wear a 6 and it fit perfectly....hugging my body just enough. I ended up wearing a different dress, but this one, I would probably rent again for a proper event. I'm only 5 ft 4in and it is NOT as short as it is on the model. It hit me more mid-thigh. But the quality is great. It has a super cute profile look. Nice dress.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 7, 2013
Got tons of compliments all through the night.
I felt like the dress was a little constrictive at the beginning of the night. But as I danced more it became a little looser and more comfortable. Definitely a fun, sexy little dress that will turn many heads.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 9, 2013
Perfect Fit for a Perfect Night!
Great dress! Holds it ALL in. So flattering yet comfortable. The fabric doesn't give at all so make sure to get your normal size and maybe one size up. The color is VERY unique in person. Photographs more purple than it looks the blue it looks in person. Length is pretty long so its conservative. Not a Vegas dress but formal and classy
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
May 9, 2013
Loved the dress...but definitely size up!
Really cute dress...perfect for my event...however, it does run a little small. I had a bit of trouble driving/sitting down in it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 26, 2013
Added pounds - went unworn
This was one of the dresses chosen for my daughter's bachelorette weekend, and none of her friends ended up wearing it. They said it looked too bulky on.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 25, 2013
Unique design - Felt stunning
The dress fit great - a little snug but in the right places to accentuate a woman's figure. I received many compliments on it. It has a structured feel, but it isn't constricting. Sitting and dancing were not problems in the garmet. The ruching of the material hid some of my imperfections, which I was pleased about. I'm consistently a 4 in dresses, but part of the reason is my chest size. If you have similar measurements to me and have a smaller chest, I think you may want the 2. Side note: sorry about the odd pose in pic 2, but I didn't take a lot of photos that night. I figured potential renters could make a better judgment from the shot/angle in pic 2 versus pic 1.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
August 27, 2013
Great dress - Runs small
I usually wear a 6-8 but after reading the reviews, I knew I wouldn't fit into the 6 so I ordered an 8 and 10. I started with the 8, couldn't even get it over my hips. The 10 fit but was extremely tight, I couldn't even bend over to put on my strappy shoes. I ended up wearing my back-up dress, but I would rent this dress again, in the 10 and 12. I will say, it hides any stomach imperfections.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
July 13, 2013
Didn't end up wearing it
Runs really small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 30, 2013
This dress is sexy.
I didnt love the strapless side. its kind of odd. i considered wearing the hanger strap but actually just wore my back up dress. this dress is really tight as i have wide hips and small waist. i plan on renting again when i lose a few more pounds. Also, the black embellishment is the best part and makes the whole dress and the party i went to was too dark to fully appreciate the detail work.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 29, 2014
Rented it twice!
The dress is very flattering but doesn't have much stretch to it. I needed to go up a size or 2. You also need to use fashion tape to hold the one side up in the front that comes to a point. I rented it twice about 2 years apart.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
August 4, 2014
I wore the dress for my birthday and it was amazing and perfect in every way!!
I have no cons for the dress. I have an hourglass figure and the dress hugged my curves in all the right places. The lines on the dress are very flattering. The black sequins are a nice touch of party to a classy chiffon dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
September 10, 2014
Beautiful color!
This dress runs about one size too small, but it is beautiful. The color is so great and the dress is comfortable!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
November 29, 2011
I danced all night long in this dress! I received many compliments and was told my dress was stunning.
I wore this to a dance of mine and loved it! The boning in it gave a great shape, was very slimming, and the perfect length. However, the one strap on the shoulder dug in somewhat when I was dancing. Overall, I loved this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119lbs
August 30, 2012
Felt fabulous in such a beautiful dress
The color is even prettier in person. I wore a 0 and it fit well but the strap around my neck was a little tight. Overall this is a fabulous dress and got tons of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 11, 2012
Loved the dark purple and one shoulder - gorgeous fit!
I loved this dress! It was actually my backup to the Herve Leger bandage dress but once I put it on I just didnot want to take it off. I definitely should have gotten a size up because of my athletic build - my traps made it extremely hard to zip up haha. But I stuffed myself in and it was a great night :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 31, 2013
Perfect!
Wore this dress to my high school formal. I ordered a 2 and a 4 and had to squeeze into the 4. very different from other dresses, structurally. very comfortable and i received compliments throughout the night!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 1, 2014
Unique cut and style if you want something different
I had my eye on this dress and decided to wear it for the after party for the Marine Corps Ball. I loved the interesting neckline and the color in person. Like some previous reviewers, I found the one side of the dress to stick out a little awkwardly and even with fashion tape, it didn't hold for long. It wasn't something I needed to constantly address though and I still loved wearing this dress. It is a very flattering dress too and holds you all in and flatters your curves. Great for a party or fun night out!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 12, 2014
Super comfortable--dance the night away in this dress!
I wore this dress during a Vegas girl's trip and it was perfect! The ruching provides some give which is always nice. Only complaint is the non-sleeve side kept toppling a bit. Otherwise, it was perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 5, 2014
Couldn't even get it on
The dress was supposed to be a 6 and that's what the tag said but I swear it must have been a 0 cause I couldn't get it on! My tiny friend who is 5'2 and size 00 couldn't even zip it up! Either I got a dud or it runs ridiculously small
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
May 1, 2014
Didn't wear dress
This was a back up dress, it runs very small. And the top part without the strap sits up awkwardly, I have narrow shoulders and it went above my shoulders and stuck up.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
November 28, 2010
AMAZING dress! I wore this dress to my 30th B-day party and the color is bold and sequins are a lovely touch. Photograhs well. Many compliements. Highly recommended.
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
January 29, 2011
Beautiful, well-made dress! I received so many complements in it. That said, the bottom fits more snuggly than the top, which makes the dress slightly uncomfortable,
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
May 2, 2011
Definitely be wary of this dress if you are curvy - the fabric has NO give. I usually wear a 0, I got the 0 and the 2, and I could BARELY zip up the 2. Once I got in on, the dress looked great, but it was uncomfortably tight. But it's a really fun dress, and the color is gorgeous - more purple than navy.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
May 2, 2011
This dress is beautiful, I would rent it again in a heartbeat! Runs a little small, but otherwise no complaints. Rent it! You won't regret it!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 9, 2011
I loved this dress! It did bunch a little around my stomach, but I think I noticed it more than anyone else. It's amazing. It photographs really well and the color is beautiful. I usually wear a 2 or a 4 and ended up wearing the 4. The 2 was much tighter and bunched more for me so the 4 was perfect!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 19, 2011
The neckline was off- the asymmetric neckline did not hit the center of my chest and it just looked really strange. The rusching did not flatter my body, and I am a size 2 tall hourglass figure! The fabric does not have any give.
Overall fit:
Small
Age: 37
September 21, 2011
I have an athletic build, larger legs and small top (32 A). This dress is definitely not made for me. There is absolutely no give on the bottom. You must have long and lean legs to pull this dress off. Also, the neckline of the dress is odd. It almost looks like Spock! Not flattering at all.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 15, 2011
Smokin' Hot!
I wore this to my office holiday party (at a fancy ballroom) and it was great! I got so many compliments! I am usually a size 0-2 which is what I rented, but I "just" fit into the 2, even with a small bust. The great thing is, even if I couldn't really sit down comfortably, it didn't look tight or constricting. I looked at the other reviews and pictures of people who got a tan and I decided against that but instead to wear Calvin Klein black semi-sheer tights with black flats.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 21, 2011
Great dress, beautiful color
I wore this dress to the PRISM Awards and loved it. It's sexy but not over-the-top. The color is stunning - I got lots of compliments. It's just a very well made dress. I usually wear a size 6 but because I'm more hourglass I had to wear the 8. I highly recommend this dress!!!
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×