You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Purple Explosion Dress
Rental $100 Retail $795
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Exclusive to Rent the Runway! Look sexy and vibrant in this to die for Robert Rodriguez Black Label asymmetrical mini! It’s the ultimate dress for a bachelorette party, birthday, or night out on the town! Go with earrings like the Badgley Mischka's Dramatic Drop Earrings.
Chat with a Stylist
Purple silk. One shoulder neckline. Black sequin inserts. All over ruching. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - deep V neck reveals cleavage; fuller busted women should consider sizing up for a more conservative look
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist; ruching and sequin insert conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos36

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Katie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4432
Dec 9, 2012
The service was great, but the dress was not.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress arrived in perfect condition, unfortunately it was so tight I could not even get it on. I ordered the 4 & 6. Be aware that this runs extremely narrow in the hips and does not stretch at all! Since I did not wear it, I got a refund and can't wait to pick out a dress for NYE this year (that will hopefully fit!)
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Oct 9, 2012
The dress fit really well and was great for the formal event
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The flap did come down a bit but the tape helped. Otherwise it was a great form fitting dress. The bottom is fitted so you can't dance that hard
Jen
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Oct 1, 2012
N/A
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
My back-up size for the original dress I rented was out of stock the day before it was to be sent, so I chose this as my free back-up dress. I'm normally a 2, but this dress didn't fit - way too tight but it was really pretty! I don't think it's appropriate for a wedding, but would recommend for a night on the town! Just size up on this one.
Paige
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7343
Sep 13, 2012
The dress was a nice color for pictures
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was very straight. I have an hourglass figure and it really didn't accentuate my waist at all and was really lose there.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5431
Aug 29, 2012
Not my fave
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This was a cute dress but it was a little too tight and too sexy for the event I was attending so I ended up wearing my back-up dress instead. I would recommend this dress for a night of going out when the sexiness is more appropriate! Fit was a little bit on the small side.
Carey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Aug 26, 2012
Lovely dress!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress is very flattering and sexy. You will not regret renting this dress.
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5333
Aug 22, 2012
Sent as Back up Gorgeous dress
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
RTR sent this dress to me last minute because my other dress became unavailable. The dress was great, such a pretty color! However, it was way too formal for the event I was going to. I tried on the dress just for fun. I am wider in the hips but the 8 fit like a glove!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5443
May 14, 2012
Snug & Sexy
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a charity event and it was a hit! It was definitely a tight dress so if you're planning on sitting down a lot, i wouldn't recommend. It was very flattering and a great purple color. I liked the pops of sparkle too! Great dress!
melissa
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2223
Mar 15, 2012
looked great!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
the dress looks great on, but it was hard to dance in because the top didnt have a lot of support. though it looked pretty and i got alot of complements!
em19
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Feb 14, 2012
Did not work for me :(
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered a size 4 and a size 6. I am almost always a size 4, The 4 fit but squashed my boobs (which aren't large to begin with) and was very short. The 6 was a bit large, and because of the all over rouching I felt it was unflattering, making me appear larger. This just wasn't a hit with me.
Sari
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2523
Jan 19, 2012
Fun dress, couple gliches
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I really loved this dress. I would say it fits true to size, but is FITTED, so I wore a 2 when I can sometimes wear a 0. The two gliches I had (which are mentioned elsewhere) were: - it's hard to dance in because there isn't much "give" in the skirt - the flap on the side without a strap falls down/goes limp I'd still rent it again despite the gliches. It's flattering and a great color.
Kelsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Jan 13, 2012
LOVED this dress
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for NYE 12' and ordered a size 4 and a size 6. If it weren't for my hips, the 4 would have fit.. but I was SO happy that I ordered a size up (just in case). The dress fit like a glove. Wish there was a little more wiggle room (elastic?) in the butt area, but overall, cute dress. Would definitely rent from RTR again :)
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6443
Jan 9, 2012
Not the Best Look for Curves
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this for NYE but ended up wearing my back-up dress (DVF black, sparkle dress from RTR). This dress did not have any stretch and fit very tight on the bottom. The top wasn't really flattering; I was hoping it would show off my chest, but the placement of the v-neck was awkward and did not look cute. It might look better on someone smaller-chested, but was not working on me. One of my friends tried it on and it didn't flatter her either. The 10 was too small; the 12 fit, but was tight and wasn't doing anything for my figure. The 10 also looked like it had been worn a lot - the bottom hem was falling out and it probably needs to be repaired.
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2423
Jan 5, 2012
NYE
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I'm super petite < 4'10" so really can only order 'mini' dresses for them not to be at my knees. This dress fit suprisingly well. Was fitted and not too long. Felt comfortable to wear and isn't as flashy or bright as it seems. The pointy boob on one side of the dress was a little weird at first, but turned out to look very cute!
cynloohoo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5541
Dec 21, 2011
Great dress, beautiful color
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to the PRISM Awards and loved it. It's sexy but not over-the-top. The color is stunning - I got lots of compliments. It's just a very well made dress. I usually wear a size 6 but because I'm more hourglass I had to wear the 8. I highly recommend this dress!!!
Liz
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3432
Dec 15, 2011
Smokin' Hot!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to my office holiday party (at a fancy ballroom) and it was great! I got so many compliments! I am usually a size 0-2 which is what I rented, but I "just" fit into the 2, even with a small bust. The great thing is, even if I couldn't really sit down comfortably, it didn't look tight or constricting. I looked at the other reviews and pictures of people who got a tan and I decided against that but instead to wear Calvin Klein black semi-sheer tights with black flats.
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4443
Sep 23, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was AMAZING!! I wore it to my bachelorette party and received TONS of compliments. Photographs really well! I am 135lbs ordered a size 4 and 6 as my backup. Size 6 was much to big, 4 was a bit snug as the fabric had no stretch, but looked great so I wore the 4. Rouching was great for hiding small imperfections in my mid section. Loved it and would totally rent it again!
KARA
Age: 34
Canonical User Type: 1511
Sep 21, 2011
Overall fit: Small
I have an athletic build, larger legs and small top (32 A). This dress is definitely not made for me. There is absolutely no give on the bottom. You must have long and lean legs to pull this dress off. Also, the neckline of the dress is odd. It almost looks like Spock! Not flattering at all.
Em
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 1431
Sep 19, 2011
Overall fit: Small
This dress is so unbelievably cute! HOWEVER, I recommend going a size up. I have to return this little number before I was able to wear it anywhere because it was so tight around my legs that I had no room for my legs to walk. I'm normally a size 8 or 10; which were the sizes I got. It just wasnt meant to be...
Tara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4532
Aug 6, 2011
Overall fit: Small
I really wanted to love this dress because the top was so interesting and the color was great. However there were a few things about this dress that made it tough to do so. First off I am typically a 4, but I ordered the 6 as a back up just in case.Thank goodness I did. I wound up wearing the 6. It fit very well through the top and body, but it was VERY tight around my hips and legs that sitting down was nearly impossible. This made the dress look boxy around my thighs leading to an unflattering look. The next problem with this dress was the strings that are used to hand up the dress. One of the strings is sewn in at the top of the strapless side of the dress. Because this part of the dress does not lay flat to the body as it should, the string kept peaking out all night and I had to keep adjusting it. Even invisible tape didn't help. Lastly, the boning on the inside moved around from the zipper part of the dress to the middle of the dress.Very annoying! Needless to say by the end of the night I wanted to rip the dress off I was so uncomfortable. For a $100 rental there are much better dresses available on this site.
TE
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5434
Jun 28, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
Very flattering dress all around. I have a little bit of a belly and the ruching in my case helped disguise that area and made me look even all over. The length made my legs look sexy. The fabric is definitely very good quality and the detail of the sequins is great. The color is almost exactly the same as on the pictures, it depends on the light- it looked purple to me the whole time I was wearing it, but some others saw it with a slightly blue hue. Use fashion tape to keep that sleeveless half of the dress on your chest, if you find that it doesn't stay up like it does on this model. For me, it did not at all, that corner kept drooping down so tape helped keep up that part the entire time I wore it.
MFG
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 1521
Jun 20, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
Loved it!!!!! Fits perfectly!! I'm normally 2, and ordered 2 and 4, but ended up using the 2, it was perfect, great color. Lots of compliments
KB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 6531
Jun 13, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I was sooo disappointed in this dress...I absolutely loved the way it looks on the model, but I ordered my size and a size larger and could not wear either. The dress itself is gorgeous, but there is absolutely no stretch or give in the fabric. I have muscular legs, so I was not able to even get the dress on because it was so tight around my legs. I think a size larger would have been too big on top because the strap would be too long. I would definitely not recommend this dress unless you are tall and thin - not for curvy girls!
Susie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3443
May 19, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
The neckline was off- the asymmetric neckline did not hit the center of my chest and it just looked really strange. The rusching did not flatter my body, and I am a size 2 tall hourglass figure! The fabric does not have any give.
rtrcustomer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 3333
May 18, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
loved loved loved this dress. fits true to size, an absolute stunner. mine arrived with a tear at the bust area, but it was barely noticible and i still ended up wearing it because it was so chic. very impressed
Hallie
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 1431
May 9, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I loved this dress! It did bunch a little around my stomach, but I think I noticed it more than anyone else. It's amazing. It photographs really well and the color is beautiful. I usually wear a 2 or a 4 and ended up wearing the 4. The 2 was much tighter and bunched more for me so the 4 was perfect!
SSE
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 1441
May 2, 2011
Overall fit: Small
This dress is beautiful, I would rent it again in a heartbeat! Runs a little small, but otherwise no complaints. Rent it! You won't regret it!
Anne
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 3434
May 2, 2011
Overall fit: Small
Definitely be wary of this dress if you are curvy - the fabric has NO give. I usually wear a 0, I got the 0 and the 2, and I could BARELY zip up the 2. Once I got in on, the dress looked great, but it was uncomfortably tight. But it's a really fun dress, and the color is gorgeous - more purple than navy.
SK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2422
Mar 23, 2011
Super Classy!!!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is a beautiful dress, got lots and lots of compliments. I rented the size 4; I'm 118 lbs and 5' 2" with a smaller chest (I was a bit heavier when I rented this dress). It does look nice if you have some what of a fuller bottom. Yes, and I agree the ruching is very flattering!
Whitney
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 1531
Mar 18, 2011
Overall fit: Small
God I was excited to wear this dress! I rented it in 2 different sizes and BOTH were entirely too small...couldn't even zip it up! Thankfully, I rented a back up dress that I ended up getting proposed to in! Very pretty, well made dress that runs small. I'd like to rent it again though because I'm dying to wear it!
Maria E.
Top Contributor
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 39
Body type: Apple
Canonical User Type: 1521
Mar 4, 2011
Overall fit: Small
This dress was sent by the stylist after the size of my first choice dress wasn't available. It's very sexy, but too tight on me - size 0, I couldn't zip it all the way up. Maybe the next size up would have been better. Great color, very sexy and form fitting - hugs the curves.
Melissa
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 1331
Feb 28, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
This dress fit great and looked great! My only complaint is that the fabric did not give so it was hard to dance, get in and out of cars etc. It looked so good though that I didn't care. I usually run a 2 and while the 2 looked great I wore the 4 to make dancing easier.
Alissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3443
Feb 26, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I really liked this dress... the color is more navy than purple but the top of this dress is unique which makes it stand out even more! Lots of compliments! Fits well, runs true to size.
rgladstone
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6334
Jan 29, 2011
Overall fit: Small
Beautiful, well-made dress! I received so many complements in it. That said, the bottom fits more snuggly than the top, which makes the dress slightly uncomfortable,
Dressup
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2523
Jan 24, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
Very sexy, but I agree with the previous poster that the ruching adds bulk on a small frame. Loved wearing it, bet it looks even better on a curvy girl.
Debra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3423
Jan 5, 2011
Overall fit: Large
Maybe I should have gotten the smallest size but it was large in random areas. I could not wear it. I was very disappointed.
Lisa
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 1431
Jan 3, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
Beautiful color. Quality fabric. Sexy length and details. I did not feel the ruching was flattering for my body type- the extra fabric created a gut. I think it would look great on a curvy body type though.
Shann
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 1531
Nov 28, 2010
Overall fit: True to Size
AMAZING dress! I wore this dress to my 30th B-day party and the color is bold and sequins are a lovely touch. Photograhs well. Many compliements. Highly recommended.
CC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 5543
Nov 22, 2010
Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is super sexy. I got tons of compliments the night I wore it. Ruching is very flatterin. It looks a little more navy than purple to me.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress