Purple Explosion Dress

$43 to buy
$850 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! Look sexy and vibrant in this to die for Robert Rodriguez Black Label asymmetrical mini! It’s the ultimate dress for a bachelorette party, birthday, or night out on the town! Go with earrings like the Badgley Mischka's Dramatic Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - deep V neck reveals cleavage; fuller busted women should consider sizing up for a more conservative look
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist; ruching and sequin insert conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - deep V neck reveals cleavage; fuller busted women should consider sizing up for a more conservative look
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist; ruching and sequin insert conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Purple silk. One shoulder neckline. Black sequin inserts. All over ruching. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
85 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(47)
Small
(34)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119lbs
August 30, 2012
Felt fabulous in such a beautiful dress
The color is even prettier in person. I wore a 0 and it fit well but the strap around my neck was a little tight. Overall this is a fabulous dress and got tons of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
August 29, 2012
Not my fave
This was a cute dress but it was a little too tight and too sexy for the event I was attending so I ended up wearing my back-up dress instead. I would recommend this dress for a night of going out when the sexiness is more appropriate! Fit was a little bit on the small side.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132lbs
August 26, 2012
Lovely dress!
The dress is very flattering and sexy. You will not regret renting this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 24, 2012
wore to a friend's birthday party and received endless compliments!
This dress is my favorite rental from RTR. I recieved it as a back up dress because the dress I originally wanted was not available. It fit really well, I just wish I had ordered it in a size 6 instead of an 8. The shoulder that does not have a strap was a little strange at first but my hair covered it so that did not bother me. I will DEFINITELY rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 22, 2012
Sent as Back up Gorgeous dress
RTR sent this dress to me last minute because my other dress became unavailable. The dress was great, such a pretty color! However, it was way too formal for the event I was going to. I tried on the dress just for fun. I am wider in the hips but the 8 fit like a glove!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 16, 2012
plenty of compliments on this dress. great shape. fun and edgy!
I wore this for my homecoming dance last fall. But since I'm writing this review so late I can't remember if I rented the 0 and 2 or the 2 and 4. I'm usually a 0 or 2.The smaller size I got was too tight mainly on the bottom half. So I wore the bigger size and it would shift a little and wasn't as fitted but it still looked fine. It seemed like an inch or two long on me, but I'm really short. It was super comfortable and easy to dance and move in.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124lbs
May 25, 2012
Red carpet ready!
I wore this for an awards show in Vegas - the dress is BEAUTIFUL and I felt like a star. It runs true to size/slightly small. The 0 fit like a glove but I was going to be sitting most of the night so I went with the 2 because the hem is actually narrower than the hip of the dress, and the dress felt infinitely tighter when I sat down. Since there's ruching you don't really notice it too closely, but there was a bit of gathering around my hips compared to the skirt - an important thing to note if you're a pear like me, because you may have to go up a size or two depending on how much wider your thighs are than your hips. The neckline is awesome and there's a stiffness to the strapless side, so it stays up all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 14, 2012
Snug & Sexy
I rented this dress for a charity event and it was a hit! It was definitely a tight dress so if you're planning on sitting down a lot, i wouldn't recommend. It was very flattering and a great purple color. I liked the pops of sparkle too! Great dress!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 113lbs
April 18, 2012
Great dress! Would definitely rent it again!
This dress was BEAUTIFUL. I wore it to my spring formal and received tons of compliments! The fit was a little tight and the side without the strap did tend to fall down, but overall I was very pleased with the dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
March 15, 2012
looked great!
the dress looks great on, but it was hard to dance in because the top didnt have a lot of support. though it looked pretty and i got alot of complements!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
February 14, 2012
Did not work for me :(
I ordered a size 4 and a size 6. I am almost always a size 4, The 4 fit but squashed my boobs (which aren't large to begin with) and was very short. The 6 was a bit large, and because of the all over rouching I felt it was unflattering, making me appear larger. This just wasn't a hit with me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
January 19, 2012
Fun dress, couple gliches
I really loved this dress. I would say it fits true to size, but is FITTED, so I wore a 2 when I can sometimes wear a 0. The two gliches I had (which are mentioned elsewhere) were: - it's hard to dance in because there isn't much "give" in the skirt - the flap on the side without a strap falls down/goes limp I'd still rent it again despite the gliches. It's flattering and a great color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 13, 2012
LOVED this dress
I rented this dress for NYE 12' and ordered a size 4 and a size 6. If it weren't for my hips, the 4 would have fit.. but I was SO happy that I ordered a size up (just in case). The dress fit like a glove. Wish there was a little more wiggle room (elastic?) in the butt area, but overall, cute dress. Would definitely rent from RTR again :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
January 9, 2012
Not the Best Look for Curves
I rented this for NYE but ended up wearing my back-up dress (DVF black, sparkle dress from RTR). This dress did not have any stretch and fit very tight on the bottom. The top wasn't really flattering; I was hoping it would show off my chest, but the placement of the v-neck was awkward and did not look cute. It might look better on someone smaller-chested, but was not working on me. One of my friends tried it on and it didn't flatter her either. The 10 was too small; the 12 fit, but was tight and wasn't doing anything for my figure. The 10 also looked like it had been worn a lot - the bottom hem was falling out and it probably needs to be repaired.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90lbs
January 5, 2012
NYE
I'm super petite < 4'10" so really can only order 'mini' dresses for them not to be at my knees. This dress fit suprisingly well. Was fitted and not too long. Felt comfortable to wear and isn't as flashy or bright as it seems. The pointy boob on one side of the dress was a little weird at first, but turned out to look very cute!
mildredJanuary 29, 2012
Hello Andrea? I'm actually thinking about renting it & I'm 4'11 & i was wonder where to the body did the dress go to? the knee? or above it? I would really appreciate it if you could help me out. Thank you, Milly
RTRJanuary 30, 2012
Hi Milly! If you are 4'11" this will hit you right below your knee!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 2, 2012
I received so many compliments on this dress and I felt great wearing it!
Loved loved loved this dress! Fit perfectly in all the right ways. Had to use fashion tape to hold up the flap with no strap for peace of mind, but otherwise flawless.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
January 1, 2012
Loved the compliments I received, and I will cherish the wonderful photos of me and my husband.
I love this dress. The color was awesome and really great in pictures. The only problem was the side zipper. The zipper did not lay flat and would buckle up a little bit throughout the night. Other than that, it was great. Love that I had a great dress for the night and don't have to regret paying more for a dress that I would have only worn one time. RTR is a great concept.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 21, 2011
Great dress, beautiful color
I wore this dress to the PRISM Awards and loved it. It's sexy but not over-the-top. The color is stunning - I got lots of compliments. It's just a very well made dress. I usually wear a size 6 but because I'm more hourglass I had to wear the 8. I highly recommend this dress!!!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 15, 2011
Smokin' Hot!
I wore this to my office holiday party (at a fancy ballroom) and it was great! I got so many compliments! I am usually a size 0-2 which is what I rented, but I "just" fit into the 2, even with a small bust. The great thing is, even if I couldn't really sit down comfortably, it didn't look tight or constricting. I looked at the other reviews and pictures of people who got a tan and I decided against that but instead to wear Calvin Klein black semi-sheer tights with black flats.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
November 30, 2011
I got many compliments on the color of the dress, as well as the style and cut.
This dress fit very true to size and was very flattering on a petite frame. I would highly recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
November 29, 2011
I danced all night long in this dress! I received many compliments and was told my dress was stunning.
I wore this to a dance of mine and loved it! The boning in it gave a great shape, was very slimming, and the perfect length. However, the one strap on the shoulder dug in somewhat when I was dancing. Overall, I loved this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 9, 2011
A low key New Year's in NYC with a small, close group of friends.
I wore this for New Years Eve and received a ton of compliments. Was a fairly easy fit and runs true to size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138lbs
September 23, 2011
This dress was AMAZING!! I wore it to my bachelorette party and received TONS of compliments. Photographs really well! I am 135lbs ordered a size 4 and 6 as my backup. Size 6 was much to big, 4 was a bit snug as the fabric had no stretch, but looked great so I wore the 4. Rouching was great for hiding small imperfections in my mid section. Loved it and would totally rent it again!
Overall fit:
Small
Age: 36
September 21, 2011
I have an athletic build, larger legs and small top (32 A). This dress is definitely not made for me. There is absolutely no give on the bottom. You must have long and lean legs to pull this dress off. Also, the neckline of the dress is odd. It almost looks like Spock! Not flattering at all.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Pear
September 19, 2011
This dress is so unbelievably cute! HOWEVER, I recommend going a size up. I have to return this little number before I was able to wear it anywhere because it was so tight around my legs that I had no room for my legs to walk. I'm normally a size 8 or 10; which were the sizes I got. It just wasnt meant to be...
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
August 6, 2011
I really wanted to love this dress because the top was so interesting and the color was great. However there were a few things about this dress that made it tough to do so. First off I am typically a 4, but I ordered the 6 as a back up just in case.Thank goodness I did. I wound up wearing the 6. It fit very well through the top and body, but it was VERY tight around my hips and legs that sitting down was nearly impossible. This made the dress look boxy around my thighs leading to an unflattering look. The next problem with this dress was the strings that are used to hand up the dress. One of the strings is sewn in at the top of the strapless side of the dress. Because this part of the dress does not lay flat to the body as it should, the string kept peaking out all night and I had to keep adjusting it. Even invisible tape didn't help. Lastly, the boning on the inside moved around from the zipper part of the dress to the middle of the dress.Very annoying! Needless to say by the end of the night I wanted to rip the dress off I was so uncomfortable. For a $100 rental there are much better dresses available on this site.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 28, 2011
Very flattering dress all around. I have a little bit of a belly and the ruching in my case helped disguise that area and made me look even all over. The length made my legs look sexy. The fabric is definitely very good quality and the detail of the sequins is great. The color is almost exactly the same as on the pictures, it depends on the light- it looked purple to me the whole time I was wearing it, but some others saw it with a slightly blue hue. Use fashion tape to keep that sleeveless half of the dress on your chest, if you find that it doesn't stay up like it does on this model. For me, it did not at all, that corner kept drooping down so tape helped keep up that part the entire time I wore it.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
June 20, 2011
Loved it!!!!! Fits perfectly!! I'm normally 2, and ordered 2 and 4, but ended up using the 2, it was perfect, great color. Lots of compliments
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
June 13, 2011
I was sooo disappointed in this dress...I absolutely loved the way it looks on the model, but I ordered my size and a size larger and could not wear either. The dress itself is gorgeous, but there is absolutely no stretch or give in the fabric. I have muscular legs, so I was not able to even get the dress on because it was so tight around my legs. I think a size larger would have been too big on top because the strap would be too long. I would definitely not recommend this dress unless you are tall and thin - not for curvy girls!
RTR CustomerAugust 12, 2015
did you have to wear a bra?
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 19, 2011
The neckline was off- the asymmetric neckline did not hit the center of my chest and it just looked really strange. The rusching did not flatter my body, and I am a size 2 tall hourglass figure! The fabric does not have any give.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
May 18, 2011
loved loved loved this dress. fits true to size, an absolute stunner. mine arrived with a tear at the bust area, but it was barely noticible and i still ended up wearing it because it was so chic. very impressed
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 9, 2011
I loved this dress! It did bunch a little around my stomach, but I think I noticed it more than anyone else. It's amazing. It photographs really well and the color is beautiful. I usually wear a 2 or a 4 and ended up wearing the 4. The 2 was much tighter and bunched more for me so the 4 was perfect!
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
May 2, 2011
This dress is beautiful, I would rent it again in a heartbeat! Runs a little small, but otherwise no complaints. Rent it! You won't regret it!
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
May 2, 2011
Definitely be wary of this dress if you are curvy - the fabric has NO give. I usually wear a 0, I got the 0 and the 2, and I could BARELY zip up the 2. Once I got in on, the dress looked great, but it was uncomfortably tight. But it's a really fun dress, and the color is gorgeous - more purple than navy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
March 23, 2011
Super Classy!!!
This is a beautiful dress, got lots and lots of compliments. I rented the size 4; I'm 118 lbs and 5' 2" with a smaller chest (I was a bit heavier when I rented this dress). It does look nice if you have some what of a fuller bottom. Yes, and I agree the ruching is very flattering!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
March 18, 2011
God I was excited to wear this dress! I rented it in 2 different sizes and BOTH were entirely too small...couldn't even zip it up! Thankfully, I rented a back up dress that I ended up getting proposed to in! Very pretty, well made dress that runs small. I'd like to rent it again though because I'm dying to wear it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 42
Body type: Apple
March 4, 2011
This dress was sent by the stylist after the size of my first choice dress wasn't available. It's very sexy, but too tight on me - size 0, I couldn't zip it all the way up. Maybe the next size up would have been better. Great color, very sexy and form fitting - hugs the curves.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Body type: Hourglass
February 28, 2011
This dress fit great and looked great! My only complaint is that the fabric did not give so it was hard to dance, get in and out of cars etc. It looked so good though that I didn't care. I usually run a 2 and while the 2 looked great I wore the 4 to make dancing easier.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 26, 2011
I really liked this dress... the color is more navy than purple but the top of this dress is unique which makes it stand out even more! Lots of compliments! Fits well, runs true to size.
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
January 29, 2011
Beautiful, well-made dress! I received so many complements in it. That said, the bottom fits more snuggly than the top, which makes the dress slightly uncomfortable,
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×