Robert Rodriguez Black Label

Purple Explosion Dress

$43 to buy
$850 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! Look sexy and vibrant in this to die for Robert Rodriguez Black Label asymmetrical mini! It’s the ultimate dress for a bachelorette party, birthday, or night out on the town! Go with earrings like the Badgley Mischka's Dramatic Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - deep V neck reveals cleavage; fuller busted women should consider sizing up for a more conservative look
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist; ruching and sequin insert conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - deep V neck reveals cleavage; fuller busted women should consider sizing up for a more conservative look
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist; ruching and sequin insert conceal lower abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Purple silk. One shoulder neckline. Black sequin inserts. All over ruching. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

85 reviews

Fit
Small 34
True to Size 47
Large 4
Photos 41
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 13, 2013

Always awesome. I got this dress for $25 after ordering another dress.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Unfortunately , I didn't get to wear this dress because it didn't fit. I would definitely recommend for the curvy gals that you order a size up or consider a dress with a different cut. The dress fit everywhere except the bust, which was a bit dangerous on the open side even though it fit on the sleeve side.
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 15, 2013

Absolutely tiny fit.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I ordered the 2 and the 4, I am usually right in between so depending on the material one always fits. These were so small I had my friend a 0/2 try them on and she could BARELY zip up the 4. Dress is beautiful and I wish I could have worn it but sadly neither fit.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 4, 2013

Too small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Cute dress and would have worked for the occasion except this dress ran so small both the size 4 and 6 I ordered were too tiny. Unfortunately I didn't try them on until close to my event date or else I would have returned immediately.
Chelsea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 3, 2013

Not what I expected

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress in the pictures but in person it was completely different. The black sparkles looked a little cheap and it did not fit the way a nice dress should. The one-shoulder side pulled very tight to make that side of my chest look flattened down while the other side without a strap didn't hide my bra - or enough to not wear a bra. I tired everything (tape, bra, no bra) to be able to wear it but it never looked good. Save your money and rent a better crafted dress that will be more flattering. It also runs very small and does not have any give in the fabric so if you do decide to rent anyways - rent up a size.
Rae
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 29, 2012

Glamorous!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was a great dress that is even nicer in person than it looks in the photos. It fit well, but I did have to use Hollywood tape to keep the strapless side from bending outward. Probably better for a bust size smaller than D.
Susie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 15, 2012

it looked awkward

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I received this dress as a backup, as the dress I originally wanted was not available. It was very narrow in the hips and the rusching was not flattering. I wore something else.
Katie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 9, 2012

The service was great, but the dress was not.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress arrived in perfect condition, unfortunately it was so tight I could not even get it on. I ordered the 4 & 6. Be aware that this runs extremely narrow in the hips and does not stretch at all! Since I did not wear it, I got a refund and can't wait to pick out a dress for NYE this year (that will hopefully fit!)
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 9, 2012

The dress fit really well and was great for the formal event

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The flap did come down a bit but the tape helped. Otherwise it was a great form fitting dress. The bottom is fitted so you can't dance that hard
Jen
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 1, 2012

N/A

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
My back-up size for the original dress I rented was out of stock the day before it was to be sent, so I chose this as my free back-up dress. I'm normally a 2, but this dress didn't fit - way too tight but it was really pretty! I don't think it's appropriate for a wedding, but would recommend for a night on the town! Just size up on this one.
Leah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Sep 13, 2012

The dress was a nice color for pictures

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was very straight. I have an hourglass figure and it really didn't accentuate my waist at all and was really lose there.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 29, 2012

Not my fave

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This was a cute dress but it was a little too tight and too sexy for the event I was attending so I ended up wearing my back-up dress instead. I would recommend this dress for a night of going out when the sexiness is more appropriate! Fit was a little bit on the small side.
Carey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132 lbs
Aug 26, 2012

Lovely dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress is very flattering and sexy. You will not regret renting this dress.
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 22, 2012

Sent as Back up Gorgeous dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
RTR sent this dress to me last minute because my other dress became unavailable. The dress was great, such a pretty color! However, it was way too formal for the event I was going to. I tried on the dress just for fun. I am wider in the hips but the 8 fit like a glove!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
May 14, 2012

Snug & Sexy

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a charity event and it was a hit! It was definitely a tight dress so if you're planning on sitting down a lot, i wouldn't recommend. It was very flattering and a great purple color. I liked the pops of sparkle too! Great dress!
melissa
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Mar 15, 2012

looked great!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
the dress looks great on, but it was hard to dance in because the top didnt have a lot of support. though it looked pretty and i got alot of complements!
em19
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Feb 14, 2012

Did not work for me :(

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered a size 4 and a size 6. I am almost always a size 4, The 4 fit but squashed my boobs (which aren't large to begin with) and was very short. The 6 was a bit large, and because of the all over rouching I felt it was unflattering, making me appear larger. This just wasn't a hit with me.
Sari
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Jan 19, 2012

Fun dress, couple gliches

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I really loved this dress. I would say it fits true to size, but is FITTED, so I wore a 2 when I can sometimes wear a 0. The two gliches I had (which are mentioned elsewhere) were: - it's hard to dance in because there isn't much "give" in the skirt - the flap on the side without a strap falls down/goes limp I'd still rent it again despite the gliches. It's flattering and a great color.
Kelsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 13, 2012

LOVED this dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for NYE 12' and ordered a size 4 and a size 6. If it weren't for my hips, the 4 would have fit.. but I was SO happy that I ordered a size up (just in case). The dress fit like a glove. Wish there was a little more wiggle room (elastic?) in the butt area, but overall, cute dress. Would definitely rent from RTR again :)
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 9, 2012

Not the Best Look for Curves

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this for NYE but ended up wearing my back-up dress (DVF black, sparkle dress from RTR). This dress did not have any stretch and fit very tight on the bottom. The top wasn't really flattering; I was hoping it would show off my chest, but the placement of the v-neck was awkward and did not look cute. It might look better on someone smaller-chested, but was not working on me. One of my friends tried it on and it didn't flatter her either. The 10 was too small; the 12 fit, but was tight and wasn't doing anything for my figure. The 10 also looked like it had been worn a lot - the bottom hem was falling out and it probably needs to be repaired.
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90 lbs
Jan 5, 2012

NYE

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I'm super petite < 4'10" so really can only order 'mini' dresses for them not to be at my knees. This dress fit suprisingly well. Was fitted and not too long. Felt comfortable to wear and isn't as flashy or bright as it seems. The pointy boob on one side of the dress was a little weird at first, but turned out to look very cute!
cynloohoo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 21, 2011

Great dress, beautiful color

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to the PRISM Awards and loved it. It's sexy but not over-the-top. The color is stunning - I got lots of compliments. It's just a very well made dress. I usually wear a size 6 but because I'm more hourglass I had to wear the 8. I highly recommend this dress!!!
Liz
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 15, 2011

Smokin' Hot!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to my office holiday party (at a fancy ballroom) and it was great! I got so many compliments! I am usually a size 0-2 which is what I rented, but I "just" fit into the 2, even with a small bust. The great thing is, even if I couldn't really sit down comfortably, it didn't look tight or constricting. I looked at the other reviews and pictures of people who got a tan and I decided against that but instead to wear Calvin Klein black semi-sheer tights with black flats.
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138 lbs
Sep 23, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was AMAZING!! I wore it to my bachelorette party and received TONS of compliments. Photographs really well! I am 135lbs ordered a size 4 and 6 as my backup. Size 6 was much to big, 4 was a bit snug as the fabric had no stretch, but looked great so I wore the 4. Rouching was great for hiding small imperfections in my mid section. Loved it and would totally rent it again!
KARA
Age: 35
Sep 21, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I have an athletic build, larger legs and small top (32 A). This dress is definitely not made for me. There is absolutely no give on the bottom. You must have long and lean legs to pull this dress off. Also, the neckline of the dress is odd. It almost looks like Spock! Not flattering at all.
Em
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Pear
Sep 19, 2011

Overall fit: Small
This dress is so unbelievably cute! HOWEVER, I recommend going a size up. I have to return this little number before I was able to wear it anywhere because it was so tight around my legs that I had no room for my legs to walk. I'm normally a size 8 or 10; which were the sizes I got. It just wasnt meant to be...
Tara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129 lbs
Aug 6, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I really wanted to love this dress because the top was so interesting and the color was great. However there were a few things about this dress that made it tough to do so. First off I am typically a 4, but I ordered the 6 as a back up just in case.Thank goodness I did. I wound up wearing the 6. It fit very well through the top and body, but it was VERY tight around my hips and legs that sitting down was nearly impossible. This made the dress look boxy around my thighs leading to an unflattering look. The next problem with this dress was the strings that are used to hand up the dress. One of the strings is sewn in at the top of the strapless side of the dress. Because this part of the dress does not lay flat to the body as it should, the string kept peaking out all night and I had to keep adjusting it. Even invisible tape didn't help. Lastly, the boning on the inside moved around from the zipper part of the dress to the middle of the dress.Very annoying! Needless to say by the end of the night I wanted to rip the dress off I was so uncomfortable. For a $100 rental there are much better dresses available on this site.
TE
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Very flattering dress all around. I have a little bit of a belly and the ruching in my case helped disguise that area and made me look even all over. The length made my legs look sexy. The fabric is definitely very good quality and the detail of the sequins is great. The color is almost exactly the same as on the pictures, it depends on the light- it looked purple to me the whole time I was wearing it, but some others saw it with a slightly blue hue. Use fashion tape to keep that sleeveless half of the dress on your chest, if you find that it doesn't stay up like it does on this model. For me, it did not at all, that corner kept drooping down so tape helped keep up that part the entire time I wore it.
MFG
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
Jun 20, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Loved it!!!!! Fits perfectly!! I'm normally 2, and ordered 2 and 4, but ended up using the 2, it was perfect, great color. Lots of compliments
KB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Jun 13, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I was sooo disappointed in this dress...I absolutely loved the way it looks on the model, but I ordered my size and a size larger and could not wear either. The dress itself is gorgeous, but there is absolutely no stretch or give in the fabric. I have muscular legs, so I was not able to even get the dress on because it was so tight around my legs. I think a size larger would have been too big on top because the strap would be too long. I would definitely not recommend this dress unless you are tall and thin - not for curvy girls!
Susie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
May 19, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
The neckline was off- the asymmetric neckline did not hit the center of my chest and it just looked really strange. The rusching did not flatter my body, and I am a size 2 tall hourglass figure! The fabric does not have any give.
rtrcustomer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
May 18, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
loved loved loved this dress. fits true to size, an absolute stunner. mine arrived with a tear at the bust area, but it was barely noticible and i still ended up wearing it because it was so chic. very impressed
Hallie
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 9, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I loved this dress! It did bunch a little around my stomach, but I think I noticed it more than anyone else. It's amazing. It photographs really well and the color is beautiful. I usually wear a 2 or a 4 and ended up wearing the 4. The 2 was much tighter and bunched more for me so the 4 was perfect!
SSE
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
May 2, 2011

Overall fit: Small
This dress is beautiful, I would rent it again in a heartbeat! Runs a little small, but otherwise no complaints. Rent it! You won't regret it!
Anne
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
May 2, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Definitely be wary of this dress if you are curvy - the fabric has NO give. I usually wear a 0, I got the 0 and the 2, and I could BARELY zip up the 2. Once I got in on, the dress looked great, but it was uncomfortably tight. But it's a really fun dress, and the color is gorgeous - more purple than navy.
SK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Mar 23, 2011

Super Classy!!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is a beautiful dress, got lots and lots of compliments. I rented the size 4; I'm 118 lbs and 5' 2" with a smaller chest (I was a bit heavier when I rented this dress). It does look nice if you have some what of a fuller bottom. Yes, and I agree the ruching is very flattering!
Whitney
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
Mar 18, 2011

Overall fit: Small
God I was excited to wear this dress! I rented it in 2 different sizes and BOTH were entirely too small...couldn't even zip it up! Thankfully, I rented a back up dress that I ended up getting proposed to in! Very pretty, well made dress that runs small. I'd like to rent it again though because I'm dying to wear it!
Maria E.
Top Contributor
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 41
Body type: Apple
Mar 4, 2011

Overall fit: Small
This dress was sent by the stylist after the size of my first choice dress wasn't available. It's very sexy, but too tight on me - size 0, I couldn't zip it all the way up. Maybe the next size up would have been better. Great color, very sexy and form fitting - hugs the curves.
Melissa
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress fit great and looked great! My only complaint is that the fabric did not give so it was hard to dance, get in and out of cars etc. It looked so good though that I didn't care. I usually run a 2 and while the 2 looked great I wore the 4 to make dancing easier.
Alissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 26, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I really liked this dress... the color is more navy than purple but the top of this dress is unique which makes it stand out even more! Lots of compliments! Fits well, runs true to size.
rgladstone
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 29, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Beautiful, well-made dress! I received so many complements in it. That said, the bottom fits more snuggly than the top, which makes the dress slightly uncomfortable,
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×