Robert Rodriguez Collection

Pleased Pleat Dress

$35 rental
$395 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Pleats? Yes, please! Get this adorable purple dress by Robert Rodriguez Collection for your next dinner or cocktail party.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Purple stretch poplin (70% cotton, 23% polyamide, 17% nylon). Sleeveless. V-neckline. Full pleated skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure and cut out detail. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

137 reviews

Fit
Small 32
True to Size 93
Large 8
Photos 86
Ann-Marie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 131 lbs
Apr 28, 2013

Easy exchange for right fit

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Guessed wrong on the backup size. I'm way smaller on top (think AA), so I got my regular 4 and the 2. Well, the 4 wouldn't even zip! Of course RTR overnighted the 6 with no problems and it fit well. I think I must be a "5" because it was a little bit looser on top than I'd like, but in the end it looked great. It's a lightweight cottonish material and was really comfortable. The skirt is REALLY full and would be forgiving on pear shapes like mine. The cutouts in back weren't as noticeable on me as on the model which was a bummer, but I wore my hair up so you could see it. Got lots of complements! Thanks RTR :)
margaret
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 29, 2013

Great prom dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this dress to prom and got tons of compliments. Great color. But it was a little big in the bust for me!
Nora
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
May 8, 2013

This dress was better than expected.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I LOVED this dress! This is by far my favorite dress that I have rented and it's my 6th. I love the fun, full skirt. The back cut outs were perfect. I received so many compliments at the rehearsal dinner, my husband loved it so much he asked me to wear it again the next day for the wedding, I didn't but it was a nice compliment. It did fit a little tight but I didn't mind. I am renting this dress again!
Tara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
May 21, 2013

Perfect Girls' Night Out

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for a girls' night out and absolutely loved it. I went with the size 6 because the 4 was a little tight on the rib cage. The skirt is very forgiving but can get a little poofy. I was smoothing it down a lot. It was cold out when we left so I threw a white tuxedo blazer over it and it looked super cute. I loved the dress and got compliments all night.
Taylor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
May 23, 2013

Was Perfect for my body type!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfect! It had enough detail that it did not need much jewlery to make it appear formal. The color looks more bluish-purple online and in photos but in person its a very pretty royal purple. I recieved many compliments and was very confident in its quality and make the entire evening. I worried that the dress would appear more "puffy" then I wanted, but in reality was perfect. This dress was very classy with the modern feel as well!
Gina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116 lbs
May 25, 2013

My favorite color and the color of my school!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to my school's commencement. It has pockets, which I love and is super comfortable. I will say that this probably runs a bit small because I had to literally be zipped into this dress- it took effort + another set of hands. I didn't receive a back up size for this dress so I had no option but to drink to fit in. It worked! (Thank god) If I received a back up size, one size bigger I might have opted for it. I also didn't need to wear a bra because the material is thick enough.
kk
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Jun 17, 2013

Random people stopped me to comment on how gorgeous the dress was!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
It's no secret.. I'm a huge fan of RTR. Who wouldn't love the chance to strut it in amazing fashion for a fraction of the retail price. So I rented this dress for a bachelorette party. The full skirt was SO fun.. it is a little short.. anyone taller than 5'7"-ish might find it innapropriate. The cut-outs are subtle but still sexy. Random women stopped me and asked me to turn around so they could see the whole dress. They needed to know who the designer was and where I got the dress from. I shared my wonderful secret. The purple is a pretty royal purple.. I paired it with gold jewlery and it worked well. I'm usually a standard 2 but do wear 0's in some designers. I went with the 2 and got a back up size 4. The 2 was perfect but very fitted. The waist was very fitted. I was able to wear a strapless bra comfortably. Very cute and Very fun for a girls night out! Rented this again for a wedding! Loved it the 2nd time around too!!
NJL
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 93 lbs
Jun 27, 2013

So Cute!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a rehearsal dinner for a wedding in NYC. It was perfect! The only thing is the boob cups are a little pointy, but you really had to look to notice. Other than that, it was simple and the cut outs in the back were sexy, but not too sexy.
claudia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 10, 2013

just in love. perfect for a wedding in a vineyard

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
everything was perfect
Brittany
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Jul 10, 2013

The color of this dress is amazing

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Overall, I LOVED this dress. The back is so fun, the color was amazing, and the skirt was perfect for someone that is "bottom heavy". I would definitely get the earrings with it as I was complemented on those multiple times, and told by one person (who didn't know I rented) this whole look, exactly, must be repeated. I am generally a 0, and couldn't even zip the zero up so had to go with the 2. The 2 was a little big in my top - i have small shoulders so straps can sometimes be a problem - so the top was a little loose but since these weren't straps that could fall off your shoulders it was totally fine (obviously you can't tell that it was loose in the picture). I loved it and wouldn't have changed it or worn a different dress. Was still a little tight on the stomach, especially as the night went on (food). And for the hour long rooftop happy hour between the wedding and the reception, it was a little breezy, and I really had to keep the skirt down! but it was fun and i loved it.
margie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Jul 16, 2013

This was my first time renting - it was so easy!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
So, I was so hesitant to rent since I was only going to get the dress 2 days before the wedding, but the fact that they sent 2 sizes helped. I don't usually like purple, but I loved the cut of this dress. The dress in person is very purple - it looks more blue in pictures. The dress looks great on but was so tight in the waist area, right before the pleated skirt, that it was a little uncomfortable. I ordered the 6 and the 8, but I wore the 6 because the 8 was too big up top. Also, the zipper is kind of tricky, so make sure you have someone to zip you up. It looks much shorter on the model, but it was a normal length on me. Bonus - you can wear a strapless bra with no problem.
Carol
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90 lbs
Jul 18, 2013

The entire process was incredibly easy and fun! I will most definitely return to rent more dresses!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
My body type is very little and I usually wear 0 Petite, but wore size 0. It ran a little big, but it was still comfortable enough. The color is amazing and had so much fun wearing it.
Abby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Jul 20, 2013

Gorgeous Color

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress to wear under my gown at graduation. I was fearful the pleats would look too big under the gown but it worked out. The purple is a beautiful shade and the back is prettiest part. I'm only 5'1 and the dress was not too long or too short. The only iffy part was that I don't have a large chest so the top portion of the dress fit slightly big and awkward. I tried the backup size 0, but it was too small, so I just made the weird top fitting work with the size 2. Overall, a great dress.
Sarah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 133 lbs
Jul 20, 2013

Lots of compliments on this dress! First time wearing a designer dress and I felt so classy!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The 4 fit me pretty great. I would have loved it to be a little tighter in the chest but I have small chest so I think I'm just destined to have things be a little looser there. I would not have been able to size down as the waist was definitely snug. Usually I'm probably a 6, but because the bottom flares out my apple shape allowed me to wear a 4. I wore this dress for an outdoor restaurant Brooklyn wedding and I think i was definitely a hit. If I had time I would have put my hair up to better show off the back of the dress! As you can see- the bottom pleated part did get wrinkly but it wasn't a big deal and this dress was such a blast to dance in!
Sam
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 15, 2013

Wore this dress for my bridal shower. I am having a destination wedding in New Orleans. Loved color!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fits like a glove, hugging in all the right places! Super flattering! Only con about this dress was that it wrinkled very easily. I ironed on day of even and after sitting opening gifts the skirt was wrinkled again. Over all it was a great RTR experience.
Logan
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Sep 25, 2013

I wore this dress for my Homecoming and it was fantastic!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first rental and I was very happy with this awesome dress. The color is a deep, royal purple. I loved the back and was able to wear a strapless bra with no problem. The only issue I had with it is that it was too big in the chest and the shoulder straps sat a little above my shoulders but I'm not too large in the bust so that's probably why. I used some of the Hollywood double stick tape to be sure I wasn't flashing in the front and didn't worry about the rest. It was snug at the waist but I was able to wear it just fine. Overall, I'd say it runs a bit large in the chest but a little small around the waist. The length was a tad long on me but I'm only 5'1". The skirt was so fun for dancing and everyone loved it! I'm definitely happy with my rental!
Sarah
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 13, 2013

Perfect for standing out but not over doing!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The color is true to the picture, pretty purple. The waist fit perfectly and the bottom was so fun for dancing! The only problem I had was that the top was a little big. any strapless bra is hidden well, even with the flirt back cut. loved it! my first of many RTR experiences!
Morgan
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 27, 2013

Felt classy and stunning all night

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress fit me incredibly well and recieved tons of compliments all night! The material is not stretchy and fits true to size. It does not leave wiggle room. Was extremely comfortable and would definitely rent again.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Nov 13, 2013

Pretty color

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Nice color; flattering shape.
Kourtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 29, 2013

I loved the back of the dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Other reviews were right in the fact the dress is less dressy in person, but it was perfect to wear to a friend's birthday dinner. The size 0 fit, but was a teeny tight so I wore the size 2 which was a little big but more comfortable. Other than being in between sizes in this dress I have no complaints and it was fun to wear. The cut outs in the back received several compliments through out the night too.
Brooke
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 8, 2014

Great fit, shows off a small waist

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a highschool friend's wedding and I wanted to accentuate my more toned features, like a small waist. This dress fit well and I got lots of compliments on it.
Meagan
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32A
Weight: 118 lbs
Feb 20, 2014

Loved this dress! Fantastic first RTR experience

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was worried that because I'm small chested the dress would be too large, but the top fit perfectly. A little tight around the waist but not uncomfortable
Hannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 24, 2014

Amazing color!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a bachelorette party. Really liked the dress, it was fun to spin in! The skirt is a little bit more full than it appeared on the model, as other reviewers mentioned. I am pretty curvy, and I liked that I felt secure, but not like a sausage casing! Loved that I didn't need a bra too
Amelia
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108 lbs
Mar 4, 2014

This dress was so perfect for homecoming because no one else was wearing anything similar!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The color is slightly lighter than in that picture, but the dress is just as beautiful as it is on the model. It fit very well, but it was a bit snug around the waist, so I would go up a size if you are between sizes normally. It is very comfortable, and I liked the straps because I did not have to worry about holding up my dress. The dress was the perfect length too!
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 5, 2014

beautiful, fun, comfy dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding and it was a GREAT choice!! I was continuously complimented and the dress was really comfortable! It is on the short side (but I'm 5'10 so every dress is a wee bit short) otherwise everything was great!
Leslie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Apr 27, 2014

The comfort and flow of the dress made dancing and celebrating an all nighter!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress and wish I could keep it! It's fitting yet so perfect to have enough space to move around. I received so any compliments!
Catherine
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Apr 27, 2014

This was my first sorority formal and it was such a wonderful night with my wonderful beau!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for an AXO spring formal and it was perfect!! The theme was vintage circus, so I thought the fuller skirt would be great with a little tightrope walker/ballerina inspiration. The top fit me perfectly because I have a small chest. The waist fit snugly and I loved the little cutouts in the back - fun, but not revealing or trashy and very easy to wear a normal strapless bra with. The skirt was very light and perfect for spinning in... but a little too short to spin! It was a windy day and an outside event... I definitely Marilyn Monroe-d several people on accident. Light skirt + central Texas wind = OH NO! But luckily my lovely boyfriend was willing to help hold it down and all was well. I HIGHLY recommend this dress for a gorgeous, comfortable, easy wear!! I don't want to send it back!
Sam
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 29, 2014

So many compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
As many reviewers have said, pictures do not do justice to how great this dress is! I absolutely loved the color and fit. I would definitely order a size up from what you normally pick. The two fit (no bra necessary), but getting the zipper up and over the seam in back was near impossible. The four was a little big up top, so I just wore a strapless bra to help fill it out. Absolutely loved overall
Thenormantagonist
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 30, 2014

I felt sexy in this dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fun! Fun! Fun! Dress..
Alana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 5, 2014

Danced all night long!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit true to size. Love the bright purple color and pleated skirt. Was a little tricky with the fabric rumpling near the cut outs. Spent all night dancing!
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 8, 2014

I was hoping this would be the one, but turned out not to be.

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Runs very small, and the material is not nice enough for a wedding. If you are not without any kind of body fat, avoid this dress.
Alexa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 11, 2014

Not what I had expected

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding but it was way too tight and looked really awkward around my stomach.
Taylor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 7, 2014

Could barely squeeze my chest into it!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Hi Ladies! I am sorry I am pictureless but I ended up not even wearing the dress. I had rented it for a party and -no fault to the construction of the dress- but I looked silly in it. The waist fell higher than it looks on the model and since I am extremely top heavy I looked pretty goofy. I also could barely get my chest into the dress! Curvy ladies, D+ cup beware!
erika
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 20, 2014

Too Small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This dress runs very small. I normally wear an 8 and the 12 was really tight. Not for my body type.
Ms. C
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 28, 2014

Very girly

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
the pleats give it volume and gives you a tiny waste. You may need to iron it before wearing it.
Monica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Jan 9, 2015

Awkward fit

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved the color of the dress. The material was less fancy than I'd hoped. The cutouts in the back just looked weird on me. But I'm a curvy girl, so this just wasn't a great option. It was a last-minute decision and it didn't pan out. But that's ok!
Nicole
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 14, 2015

Great dress for garden party

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
My daughter worn this dress for a forma affair. Loose at top but unless you have the right bra you will have to either wear a strapless which may show or nothing at all. I choose sans bra and it worked better. The fabric was not as formal as I thought it should be for a formal affair.
Leslie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 18
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 134 lbs
Feb 20, 2015

Better in the picture

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Party
I had ordered this dress, along with another in both size 8 & 10 and I'm an 8 in just about every dress. But this dress is cut a lot smaller and the material is not the most comfortable and doesn't stretch at all. The 10 did actually fit, but it just didn't look right and wasn't super comfortable. However the color was gorgeous in person. Overall just wasn't the right dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Mar 22, 2015

Too big in chest

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
Cute color. Way to big in the chest for smaller chested women. Also, made my hips look larger than I wanted. I just didn't have the right shape for this dress.
Mebs
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Apr 2, 2015

Cute idea but ultimately not very flattering

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Quite short-waisted - the waist hit at the bottom of my ribs, so it didn't quite get to the narrowest part before flaring out into the full skirt, and the paperbag waist just seems to add bulk rather than creating the most flattering silhouette. If I were to wear it again, I might add a belt to hide the paperbag effect. Still, color was great - with big chunky jewelry and wedges, it would be a nice option for a casual summer party.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×