Pleased Pleat Dress

$79 to buy
$395 retail
Stylist Notes

Pleats? Yes, please! Get this adorable purple dress by Robert Rodriguez Collection for your next dinner or cocktail party.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Purple stretch poplin (70% cotton, 23% polyamide, 17% nylon). Sleeveless. V-neckline. Full pleated skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure and cut out detail. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
155 reviews
Fit
Large
(8)
True to Size
(103)
Small
(35)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
October 7, 2014
Could barely squeeze my chest into it!
Hi Ladies! I am sorry I am pictureless but I ended up not even wearing the dress. I had rented it for a party and -no fault to the construction of the dress- but I looked silly in it. The waist fell higher than it looks on the model and since I am extremely top heavy I looked pretty goofy. I also could barely get my chest into the dress! Curvy ladies, D+ cup beware!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 157lbs
October 8, 2014
It was exactly what I needed!! It came on time and the second size really helped!
Fits great, on the short side., if you have a short torso wear one size up!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
October 20, 2014
Too Small
This dress runs very small. I normally wear an 8 and the 12 was really tight. Not for my body type.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
November 28, 2014
Very girly
the pleats give it volume and gives you a tiny waste. You may need to iron it before wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
April 2, 2015
Cute idea but ultimately not very flattering
Quite short-waisted - the waist hit at the bottom of my ribs, so it didn't quite get to the narrowest part before flaring out into the full skirt, and the paperbag waist just seems to add bulk rather than creating the most flattering silhouette. If I were to wear it again, I might add a belt to hide the paperbag effect. Still, color was great - with big chunky jewelry and wedges, it would be a nice option for a casual summer party.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 23
December 7, 2015
Replacement that worked!
This was a replacement dress that I ordered after the first dress I ordered didn't work out. I'm glad I decided to get both sizes because the 8 would not have fit. The dress was really flattering on my body type (pear) but I did feel like the chest area was a little tight - would not recommend for women with a larger bust. I would give this dress 5 stars, but when I opened the bag I was a bit disappointed to find that the color was not as vibrant as seen on the model. The dress has definitely faded - probably because of the material. Definitely fun to spin around in on the dance floor - but wear full underwear. Order the size up!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113lbs
January 6, 2014
Beautiful classic dress with a little bit of edge
I loved this dress. I wore it on vacation with my boyfriend's family and it was just the right amount of conservative but had a fun back with the small cut out. I considered it a little bit small only in the waist band but other than that it fit great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 2, 2014
Not as pictured
I was pretty excited about wearing this dress to a formal party but when it came it was all wrong. The fabric is just a boring casual cotton and doesn't look that nice. The hem isn't finished and it arrived in a total wrinkled mess. I would have had to iron it in order to wear it. It's also extremely tight/small in the waist area. I'm normally a 0 and I couldn't even zip it up. The 2 zipped up better but was huge in the bust. Overall, I felt really uncomfortable in the dress but luckily I was able to exchange it for something else in time for my event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 8, 2014
I was hoping this would be the one, but turned out not to be.
Runs very small, and the material is not nice enough for a wedding. If you are not without any kind of body fat, avoid this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 11, 2014
Not what I had expected
I rented this dress for a wedding but it was way too tight and looked really awkward around my stomach.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
June 14, 2015
The color of this dress is beautiful!
This dress fits a little small in the waist and chest, in my opinion. I was in between 4 and 6. Because I am also petite, I went with the 4 and wished there was a 5! The 6 was too big in the waist. A beautiful color and cut.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
April 14, 2016
RUN AWAY if you're DD or DDD
I am a 36DDD and this did NOT work for me. It exposed a lot of side boob and was very tight around my waist with a bra. Without a bra it fit better, but it would be completely inappropriate for the bridal shower I am attending not to wear one. I doubt I will wear it. If you want it and you have a big bust, go a size up and bring a cardigan just in case.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116lbs
April 23, 2013
the dress definitely impressed. I got comments about how it looked amazing.
Do wear in a windy area, your skirt will fly up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 29, 2013
Great prom dress
Wore this dress to prom and got tons of compliments. Great color. But it was a little big in the bust for me!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
May 21, 2013
Perfect Girls' Night Out
I wore this for a girls' night out and absolutely loved it. I went with the size 6 because the 4 was a little tight on the rib cage. The skirt is very forgiving but can get a little poofy. I was smoothing it down a lot. It was cold out when we left so I threw a white tuxedo blazer over it and it looked super cute. I loved the dress and got compliments all night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 23, 2013
Was Perfect for my body type!
This dress was perfect! It had enough detail that it did not need much jewlery to make it appear formal. The color looks more bluish-purple online and in photos but in person its a very pretty royal purple. I recieved many compliments and was very confident in its quality and make the entire evening. I worried that the dress would appear more "puffy" then I wanted, but in reality was perfect. This dress was very classy with the modern feel as well!
JennieApril 22, 2014
Northwood!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
May 25, 2013
My favorite color and the color of my school!
I wore this dress to my school's commencement. It has pockets, which I love and is super comfortable. I will say that this probably runs a bit small because I had to literally be zipped into this dress- it took effort + another set of hands. I didn't receive a back up size for this dress so I had no option but to drink to fit in. It worked! (Thank god) If I received a back up size, one size bigger I might have opted for it. I also didn't need to wear a bra because the material is thick enough.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 190lbs
June 9, 2013
Very cute dress. Perfect for partying.
This is a great dress but i did have a few issues. The top portion definitely has no stretch in the material. I am usually a 10/12 and I couldn't zip the 10 up. It is fitted at the top but I think it was intended to be this way so you don't have to wear a bra. The cutouts are very minimal. They don't show nearly as well as pictured on the model. As others mentioned, the skirt was definitely fuller than I would have liked but I expected the full skirt after reading other reviews. Overall a perfect party dress. Very comfortable and received several compliments.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
June 25, 2013
I loved this dress! I received so many compliments and it was incredibly comfortable!
The fit is very true to size. However, if you have a fuller bust I would go up a size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 93lbs
June 27, 2013
So Cute!
I wore this to a rehearsal dinner for a wedding in NYC. It was perfect! The only thing is the boob cups are a little pointy, but you really had to look to notice. Other than that, it was simple and the cut outs in the back were sexy, but not too sexy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
June 30, 2013
Stunning color
The color was absolutely stunning. The fabric goes out at the waist so if you're very curvy, it may not be the most flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
July 10, 2013
just in love. perfect for a wedding in a vineyard
everything was perfect
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90lbs
July 18, 2013
The entire process was incredibly easy and fun! I will most definitely return to rent more dresses!
My body type is very little and I usually wear 0 Petite, but wore size 0. It ran a little big, but it was still comfortable enough. The color is amazing and had so much fun wearing it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 133lbs
July 20, 2013
Lots of compliments on this dress! First time wearing a designer dress and I felt so classy!
The 4 fit me pretty great. I would have loved it to be a little tighter in the chest but I have small chest so I think I'm just destined to have things be a little looser there. I would not have been able to size down as the waist was definitely snug. Usually I'm probably a 6, but because the bottom flares out my apple shape allowed me to wear a 4. I wore this dress for an outdoor restaurant Brooklyn wedding and I think i was definitely a hit. If I had time I would have put my hair up to better show off the back of the dress! As you can see- the bottom pleated part did get wrinkly but it wasn't a big deal and this dress was such a blast to dance in!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
July 21, 2013
Very cute dress. It is cotton, although in image it looks a little fancier. May compliments!
One of the best things about the dress is you do not need a bra. I was definitely in between the two sizes that I ordered (2 and 4). The 2 was a bit tight in the waste, but the four was about 2" too large/tall on top. The skirt has a great swing, with lots of light fabric. Great for summer.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 16, 2013
absolutely beautiful dress. compliments all night long.
fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
August 26, 2013
Beautiful dress fits true to size
Beautiful dress, fits very well. Only little issue is that it is cotton and needs to be pressed to get some of the cute pleats back. I did not have time for this and wore another dress, but I would have loved to wear this modern dress. As usual RTR service was awesome and they had many solutions for how I could fix my dress- I just called them at the last minute. Very summer wedding friendly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
September 15, 2013
Wore this dress for my bridal shower. I am having a destination wedding in New Orleans. Loved color!
This dress fits like a glove, hugging in all the right places! Super flattering! Only con about this dress was that it wrinkled very easily. I ironed on day of even and after sitting opening gifts the skirt was wrinkled again. Over all it was a great RTR experience.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 17, 2013
Comfortable and fun!
Wore this for my engagement photos. Such a great color! The top ran a little big on me, but it was very comfortable to wear.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 136lbs
September 17, 2013
Got this for my daughter and she loved it!!!
Super cute and great fit! 5'8" 135 lbs
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
September 26, 2013
Unique
Cool, unique dress. Vibrant color. Unfortunately my torso was too short for it so it was gaping awkwardly at the top of the straps, but if it had fit better I would have for sure worn it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 8, 2013
Loved it in the showroom but the dress I received had a defective zipper :(
I went to the showroom to pick out dresses for a few upcoming occasions and immediately fell in love with this dress. It was a great shade of purple and was so fun and flirty. Sadly, when the dress arrived the zipper would not zip up in the back, even with the help of 5 people. I took it off and even tried to zip it up without myself in it and it still didn't work. I contacted RTR and they rectified the situation which I am very grateful for!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
November 4, 2013
Great Color, Fun fit!
I actually wore this dress as the host of a get together for a football game. Yes, in the south we dress up this much for football! wore it with cowboy boots and I got tons of compliments from guys and gals alike. The color is great, a royal purple, and the fit worked very well for my pear figure. In other reviews it said it ran small so I got a 2, but could have worn the 0.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
December 5, 2013
Fit perfectly expecially for an hourglass/ pear figure!
Would recommend this for any girl looking for a combination of sexy but appropriate. Decent length even on a tall girl.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
November 13, 2013
Pretty color
Nice color; flattering shape.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
February 7, 2014
Cute in the back, okay in the front.
This is a casual dress due to the fabric but the cut in the back steps it up a bit. Wouldn't rent again because the front was just okay and didn't offer much appeal until I turned around.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
March 4, 2014
This dress was so perfect for homecoming because no one else was wearing anything similar!
The color is slightly lighter than in that picture, but the dress is just as beautiful as it is on the model. It fit very well, but it was a bit snug around the waist, so I would go up a size if you are between sizes normally. It is very comfortable, and I liked the straps because I did not have to worry about holding up my dress. The dress was the perfect length too!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 31, 2014
Unique dress with flattering cut
Pretty dress and very flattering lines. This dress is purple- in case the picture looks a little different. Only complaint is that it was a cotton material that looked like it had been washed several times and faded. Nothing to make or break but felt more like a daytime dress because of that.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
April 5, 2014
beautiful, fun, comfy dress!
I rented this dress for a wedding and it was a GREAT choice!! I was continuously complimented and the dress was really comfortable! It is on the short side (but I'm 5'10 so every dress is a wee bit short) otherwise everything was great!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
April 27, 2014
The comfort and flow of the dress made dancing and celebrating an all nighter!
I loved this dress and wish I could keep it! It's fitting yet so perfect to have enough space to move around. I received so any compliments!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×