Crimson Scalloped Dress

$74 to buy
$595 retail
Stylist Notes

Look sophisticated and trendy by renting this Robert Rodriguez Collection Crimson Scalloped Dress for a holiday party or birthday dinner. The basic sheath style has a twist of pizazz with the scalloped detail. Wear with Kenneth Jay Lane's Picasso Cuff to complete the look.

Also available in black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - detail conceals midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model) - curvy women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - detail conceals midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model) - curvy women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red stretch silk. Crew neckline. All over scallop detailing. Hook-and-eye closure. Exposed back zip. 31'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
125 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(51)
Small
(66)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 114lbs
September 18, 2012
Beautiful but tight.
This dress was really really beautiful but it was tight for a 2. Also VERY VERY short. I mean Sitting in it was inappropriate.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
September 19, 2012
I loved this dress! I actually was able to wear it twice!
I was able to wear this for a big work event and my friends wedding (which were within 2 days of each other), The dress is a beautiful vibrant red that is super comfortable and really flattering on. I would rent this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
September 21, 2012
Flattering and eye catching color!
The dress is tight but the scalloping hides any flaws. I didnt end up wearing this dress to the event, as it was a little to fancy for the event. But it would definitely wear it to something else!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 5, 2012
Fantastic dress! Does run very small though - I was surprised.
I wore this for my birthday party and it was perfect - dressed up enough but also not overdone. Loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
October 17, 2012
Perfect party outfit.
great red color - great snug fit: comfortable but very flattering. ordered the black and the red version and loved the red.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 26, 2012
This dress is so pretty. The color and scalloped details really make this dress something special.
The only issue I had was how small and tight it ran. I had to go up a size larger than my normal larger back up size for this one. The material is very thick and doesn't show much of your shape and it's VERY short. I wore this to a rehearsal dinner and felt a little uncomfortable at times. It's perfect if you plan on standing the whole night but sitting and walking can cause issues at times.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
October 29, 2012
sexy color sophisticated style
I was pleased with this dress. However, it was almost thick like one of those patchwork quilts. It felt like a quilt anyway. I didn't expect that from this dress. The dress left me with no shape b/c of the fabric. I didn't think it was too short as other reviews stated. I thought it was a perfect length. Definitely ran small. I was pleased with the dress and felt great wearing it. The fabric was not what I expected
View photos (3)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
November 7, 2012
Great for the occasion, got so many compliments on how it accentuated my curves!
The fit was perfect, although the zipper kept getting jammed. Otherwise, fantastic dress all around. The detail in the dress was so much prettier than I expected. Definitely a perfect rental!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
November 16, 2012
Loved the dress. Great fit, Very comfortable
It's very thick material so I got really hot during the night. It also was shorter than I thought so when I sat down it was interesting, but while dancing and walking I was fine. But I got a ton of complements on it! Loved Loved LOVED this dress
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 137lbs
November 25, 2012
I loved this dress!
The fit was great - the texture helps hide any extra love handles. it is a perfect winter dress as the material is very thick and somewhat heavy. Overall, it is flattering and I received many compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
November 27, 2012
Great material, a little loose in the waist
I rented this dress for my sorrority formal and it looks and felt amazing i was so sad i didnt get to wear it. It was a little big in my waist because i have a tiny waist but if you have a normal waist line this dress would look stunning on you!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 7, 2012
The look my boyfriend gave me after zipping me up!
Originally I rented this dress for my boyfriend's fraternity formal, but the event was pushed off to another weekend so instead we got dressed up and went out to dinner. This dress was so well made & very thick, which I liked for a chilly night in the beginning of December. It would probably be too much for a summer event. The dress was very form fitting, and the length was perfect on my 5'1" frame. I was so sad when I had to return this one!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
December 20, 2012
Stunning RED and beautiful fabric
Love this dress... but didn't end up wearing it because it was too tight in both sizes I ordered. I'm pretty straight and narrow, aside from my generous backside, which came nowhere near fitting into this dress. Gorgeous color and the fabric is luxurious. I'll probably rent again in the correct size.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
January 6, 2012
How beautiful I felt in this dress
I am petite at 5'4 with a tight athletic body, hips and butt, but this dress is made beautifully. I really like it and is flattering on a tight athletic body and runs short, definately makes people look twice. more classy than fun
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
January 13, 2012
gorgeous texture to the dress. It was pretty short and I felt like I didn't have much of a waist in it so I belted it. Cute though!
gorgeous texture to the dress. It was pretty short and I felt like I didn't have much of a waist in it so I belted it. Cute though!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
July 24, 2012
too short and too small
I have large shoulders and not so long legs and this dress wasnt right for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148lbs
December 27, 2012
Had to send this one back...
I've never had any issues with my RTR rentals until this dress, and had to send it back. I'm 5'10" and thought that it would be long enough if I ordered a size up, but I as wrong. It was super short (too short to even wear tights under) and was super tight through the hips. I'm usually a 6 or 8 and even the 10 didn't fit in this dress. Its a beautiful dress, but I would definitely go with a different style if you're tall or have any sort of hips at all since the fabric has zero give to it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 4, 2013
Super short and tight!
I got this dress in a 2 which was obviously a mistake. It was way too short and tight. Other than that, it's a really cute dress that has a bit of stretch to it (or I wouldn't have been able to get it off). I ended up going with another dress because of the fit but I def would have gone with this one if I'd had the foresight to get the 4.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 134lbs
January 4, 2013
I wore this dress to a New Year's Eve party, it fit amazing and I got so many compliments!
The only thing is there isn't much stretch in the fabric, so I had to size up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 9, 2013
Beautiful Dress!
This dress is beautiful. I love the thick material for the winter and it hides any questionable areas, but it runs so small! I would recommend getting one, if not two sizes bigger depending on how tight you want it! I have a larger butt and chest, so it was tight on me one size up!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
February 12, 2013
It's a great pop of color for the holidays! Simple dress.. the pattern makes it unique and flatterin
Pros: so many compliments. Pattern on the dress was amazing and flattering. It was the perfect red in a sea of black holiday dresses. Cons: Could be a little short if that's not your style.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
February 13, 2013
The boy, who is otherwise not effusive with compliments, was in awe.
Great for petite girls. Great color. Fits like a glove (no bra needed). I wore it in Paris and felt pretty good to represent America ;) The French boy stared the second I walked out and kept saying "you look amazing" all night. But my girl best friend thinks it's too formal looking (thick material, not revealing, and I don't have the legs). I probably wouldn't have bought this for myself but it was a perfect rental.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
November 23, 2010
The dress is a standout but narrow through hips. I'd recommend for only for straight & narrows, apples and petites.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
November 24, 2010
Fit pretty true to size, but had to step into it because the hips were so narrow... But the dress was very flattering and really easy to wear.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 5, 2010
I echo everyone's review re: hip narrowness. Its also a cute mini, great to wear with tights.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 3, 2011
This is a beautiful dress and it looks great on but I actually ended up going with my 2nd opition because it was more flattering. As the other reviews said it is very narrow in the hips and I had to step into it in order to get it on.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
January 22, 2011
Beautiful dress! It fit me odd though, so I was not able to wear it. It was too tight in the bust area and way to big in the waist for me - not flattering on me at all. I think it would work best on people with smaller busts. Gorgeous dress though!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Body type: Full Bust
April 10, 2011
Very pretty dress with no give anywhere and super short.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 18, 2011
Unfortunately I didn't get to wear this dress, but it was gorgeous. Be warned that the material is quite heavy/thick, but it has a really interesting texture. The size 0 fit me perfectly, and was just short enough to show off my legs. It was a little snug on my hips though, so maybe order a size up if you're curvy.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
May 16, 2011
Dress fit throughout the body and chest but was too short for me to wear even out at night. Not recommended if you have long legs as it will be inappropriately short. Maybe order a size larger just for the length.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 101lbs
July 26, 2011
I loved the way this dress looked on, but it was a lot heavier than I thought it would be. I definitely wouldn't wear this in the middle of the day outside, or even on a warm night.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Body type: Petite
August 1, 2011
I really enjoyed wearing this dress and it was fairly true to size, perhaps a bit small. I needed to wear the larger back-up size I ordered because it was too tight in the hips/butt. I'm petite but curvy; the larger size worked out fine. One other note: the dress is not as lightweight as it looks. The outer fabric and inner lining have more heft than I thought, but it wasn't a problem for me.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 15, 2011
I loved this dress! It fit wonderfully. Although I am thin and small busted, I also have a tiny waist and there was just enough curve to be very flattering. I do agree with previous reviewers about the narrow cut of the hips, so I would recommend a size up as your second choice. The length was perfect for my 5'5", it came to mid thigh, yet the style was still appropriate for my age and long legs.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
October 13, 2011
After speaking with the fit specialist I ordered an 8 and a 10 instead of a 6 and and 8. I typically wear a 6 or 8 in dresses but thankfully the prior reviews said this dress ran narrow at the bottom, which is completely accurate. The 8 was a great fit but unfortunately I had to return with out wearing because the zipper was faulty.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 24, 2011
spending homecoming with my bf
Was so comfortable it was like wearing a quilt. material is heavy which was perfect for cool fall night. Wore it for homecoming and was so glad because most girls wore black so I really stood out in this red :) Size 4 fit perfectly but it is very short. I didn't want to send this dress back.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
October 31, 2011
Dress was amazing! I got so many compliments!
It fits great, looks great, and is even better in person! The detail isn't truly captured in the photograph. Agree with other reviews that there is no stretch and you have to be careful of the length. Love this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 14, 2011
The one of a kind look of the dress!
Absolutely LOVED this dress. It's beautifully made, so delicate, but so strong at the same time. Only complaint is that it's a tad shorter than I expected, but it fit true to size otherwise.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 14, 2011
Great dress!
The dress fit true to size, but does run a little bit short like the other reviews say. The material does not stretch so order your back up size one size up. My one complaint was that it was a little tight at the top and pinched my underarm area a little bit. But I got SO many compliments on this dress!! And it is a great way to stand out (the bright red color) at a formal party where most people seem to stick to black and other dark colors. Definitely recommend it!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 23, 2011
Great Dress
I am size 6, 135 lb, 5 feet 8 - ran true to size and I wore the 6 - Material is very thick so it was perfect for a fall football game. It wasn't short at all on me and I even wore heels to go with it... This is more of a "girls" dress though - lots of compliments from my friends but it is not as "sexy" as it appears on the model.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 29, 2011
Beautiful in theory
I really wanted to love this dress. The picture looks beautiful. But the material is just so thick and somewhat itchy that I didn't really enjoy wearing it. It also runs very small so be sure to size up. It might be a better winter dress with opaque black tights and booties but it wasn't so great for a Florida wedding.
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×