Crimson Scalloped Dress

$74 to buy
$595 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look sophisticated and trendy by renting this Robert Rodriguez Collection Crimson Scalloped Dress for a holiday party or birthday dinner. The basic sheath style has a twist of pizazz with the scalloped detail. Wear with Kenneth Jay Lane's Picasso Cuff to complete the look.

Also available in black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - detail conceals midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model) - curvy women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - detail conceals midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model) - curvy women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red stretch silk. Crew neckline. All over scallop detailing. Hook-and-eye closure. Exposed back zip. 31'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
125 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(51)
Small
(66)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
July 14, 2012
My fiance and I were recently engaged at this fundraiser and the photographer took a portrait of us that he ended up giving us rights to and we used it as our engagement announcement in our local papers.
I normally wear an 8 but ordered a 10 as my back-up size and felt much more comfortable in the 10. I loved wearing it and many people told me I should just keep it and not send it back! I did send it back but would not rent it again in a minute!
BriannaNovember 7, 2012
I'm about the same height and weight as you but I have a smaller chest (34B). Did the larger size better accommodate your chest or hips? I was going to order a 6 indefinitely but I was unsure whether to order up or down...
BriannaNovember 7, 2012
other reference point: I typically wear a 7/9 in jeans
RTR CustomerNovember 13, 2012
Hi Brianna! This dress runs a bit small, so I would definitely suggest going a size up for back-up!
LauraNovember 16, 2012
I agree! When I rented this dress I was wearing size 8 pants; the 8 could have worked, but it was snug for sure. I felt much more comfortable in the 10. Sorry for the delayed response! I hope you rented because this has been my favorite of all the RTR dresses I've worn!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 16, 2012
Short and tight but unique
My hips and thighs are pretty proportionate to the rest of my body, but this dress felt very tight on the bottom, and it would ride up, which was uncomfortable. The color and fabric are pretty, and would be best suited for a winter event. Because this dress was tight on the bottom and loose in the waist, it was not very figure flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
May 8, 2012
Good look
I wore this dress to a wedding. The dress runs small, particularly in the hips. I ordered up because of other's reviews and I'm glad I did. It's also very short. I'm only 5'3", so usually short dresses are just the right length. This one was definitely short, even on me. Also, the material of the dress is very thick, and feels like a quilt. Because of the thickness/stiffness of the fabric, the top portion almost had a shoulder pad kind of look. Otherwise, it still looked really good and I got a lot of compliments. I'm glad I rented it and would recommend it. I wore it with dark gray choes and silver bangles and it looked great. It doesn't need much in accessories because of how bold it looks on its own.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
April 9, 2012
WOW Dress!
I rented the 2 and the 4 and they were both a great fit but the 2 was a little more snug and hugged my body a bit better. I wore it for my 30th birthday party and we got a limo and went to a fancy restaurant. This dress was the star of the evening! I highly recommend this dress. It does run a bit small so be sure and get a back up size, just in case.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 2, 2012
Too big
It was too big but the simplicity and design of the dress is where the one star goes to. The size was too big for a typical size 0. I'm 5'5 and weigh 120lbs with an athletic body.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 126lbs
March 5, 2012
little red dress
this dress is made with a thick material and it wasn't as form fitting as i expected. But I did love the cut and color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
February 15, 2012
My boyfriend wishing that I could keep the dress
I'm normally a size 2, but was glad I got a backup bigger size for this dress; I couldn't even zip the 2 up. This mini is very cute, and the texturing of the pattern is great, but it might not be the best choice for bigger busted ladies. I found that because of the top fit, the waist appeared bigger than normal, to the point where I almost chose to belt it. That being said, my boyfriend loved the dress, and said "I almost wish you could keep it, it's stunning," which is always a nice thing to hear on Valentine's Day. Overall, it was a well-made dress, and a satisfactory rental, but not my favorite.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
February 13, 2012
Great Dress!!
This dress was exactly how I imagined it. I've rented from RTR before, and I knew to read the reviews and most of them were spot on. I usually wear a size 6, but the 8 was much more comfortable and flattering. I wore the dress for a 1920s themed party and received LOTS of compliments even though it wasn't a conventional flapper dress. The one issue I had with the dress is that it is EXTREMELY short, and being 5'8" there were questionable moments in the night, however, because I read the other reviews, I knew to expect this, and was totally pleased overall with my decision!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 30, 2012
Perfect dress for formal!
I absolutely loved this dress! I had ordered in in August 2011, but didn't get to wear it. So I ordered it again January 2012 for a formal and could not be happier with my decision. I was a little disappointed when I got the dress because they replaced the original black zipper with a red and gold one which didn't stand out as much. The dress does run smaller than other dresses of the same size and this dress is pretty short. But for me, it worked and I loved it! The fabric is thick and strong which I liked because I didn't have to worry about spanks or anything like that, and the scalloping is beautiful. I would recommend this dress to anyone! Definitely must try!
ashleyJuly 30, 2013
Your review was very helpful.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
January 29, 2012
felt fantastic!
I received so many compliments on this dress! I wore it to homecoming, and I definitely had the most one of a kind dress. I ordered a size 0 and 2, and ended up wearing the size 0, but it was pretty snug. I wore it with a Nicole Miller bracelet and nude heels. It was a little chilly at night so I paired it with a black, fitted blazer. I had such a great experience that I am using RTR for prom, too!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
January 13, 2012
gorgeous texture to the dress. It was pretty short and I felt like I didn't have much of a waist in it so I belted it. Cute though!
gorgeous texture to the dress. It was pretty short and I felt like I didn't have much of a waist in it so I belted it. Cute though!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
January 6, 2012
How beautiful I felt in this dress
I am petite at 5'4 with a tight athletic body, hips and butt, but this dress is made beautifully. I really like it and is flattering on a tight athletic body and runs short, definately makes people look twice. more classy than fun
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
January 2, 2012
RTR made my night sooo amazing! Renting the dress was so easy and the return process so simple! I loved being able to wear a beautiful dress and not having to spend a ton of money! My boyfriend loved the dress and thought I looked stunning!
This dress was beautiful and I got a million compliments in it. It was a very thick fabric which is great for a fall/winter outfit. I usually wear a size 0 and I had to put on the 2 so I do think it runs a little small. My only complaint would be that it is pretty short and I was a little uncomfortable sitting down in it. Otherwise, it was an amazing dress and everyone loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Body type: Full Bust
December 31, 2011
great dress!
I loved this dress! I wore it to a debutant ball and It photographed very well and was super flattering. I usually am a 6 or an 8 and the 10 fit me.. so the thick fabric caused this dress to run a little small. Got a million compliments on it throughout the night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
December 31, 2011
Runs Small & Very Short
I am 5 ft 11 in tall, I usually wear a 6 or 8 in dresses. I ordered the 8 because the 6 was not available. The dress detail is beautiful, HOWEVER it is incredibly tight in the hips and shoulders. I was going to wear it for NYE, but opted for a dress I already own because I know I would have been so uncomfortable. I recommend ordering a size up and wearing tights with this dress unless you are shorter. Good LUck!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119lbs
December 23, 2011
The bright color was very beautiful and eye-catching.
The dress fit was great; I am pretty straight through the hips and thighs and was thankful that the dress was, too. The color is beautiful. I wore tights with the dress. I am only 5'4 and felt that without the tights, it definitely would have been too short. The material is really thick, so I felt that it made ME look thicker - my boyfriend disagreed? The scalloped detail looks great in person and in pictures.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Full Bust
December 21, 2011
don't wear with big chest
great dress, thought it was really cute - however if you have a large chest i wouldn't recommend it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 5, 2011
Thick material adds width
I loved the dress on the hanger and think it would look awesome on a slim figure looking to add some curves. Unfortunately, didn't flatter my curvy figure and the combination of the pattern and thick material made my hips look huge. The top part was also very large on me and I found the neckline unflattering as well. Loved the scalloped bottom and wish it worked for me!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 2, 2011
Red Beauty
I have never felt so pretty before! I love how different this dress was for me at my school Homecoming. No one else had such a geometrical dress, and I also got compliments from teachers AND students. I am 5'7" so this dress was a little too short for my liking. ( It was shorter than my fingertips)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 29, 2011
Beautiful in theory
I really wanted to love this dress. The picture looks beautiful. But the material is just so thick and somewhat itchy that I didn't really enjoy wearing it. It also runs very small so be sure to size up. It might be a better winter dress with opaque black tights and booties but it wasn't so great for a Florida wedding.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 23, 2011
Great Dress
I am size 6, 135 lb, 5 feet 8 - ran true to size and I wore the 6 - Material is very thick so it was perfect for a fall football game. It wasn't short at all on me and I even wore heels to go with it... This is more of a "girls" dress though - lots of compliments from my friends but it is not as "sexy" as it appears on the model.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 14, 2011
Great dress!
The dress fit true to size, but does run a little bit short like the other reviews say. The material does not stretch so order your back up size one size up. My one complaint was that it was a little tight at the top and pinched my underarm area a little bit. But I got SO many compliments on this dress!! And it is a great way to stand out (the bright red color) at a formal party where most people seem to stick to black and other dark colors. Definitely recommend it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 14, 2011
The one of a kind look of the dress!
Absolutely LOVED this dress. It's beautifully made, so delicate, but so strong at the same time. Only complaint is that it's a tad shorter than I expected, but it fit true to size otherwise.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
November 7, 2011
Beautiful color and if it wasn't really more of a shift dress I would of liked it better. If you have curves this dress doesn't highlight them like the picture indicates.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 2, 2011
I am 5'2 and 33/27/36, and the size 2 was perfect! It hit right at mid-thigh and was absolutely adorable. This dress seems to be made for petites, so if you have long legs, beware.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
October 31, 2011
Dress was amazing! I got so many compliments!
It fits great, looks great, and is even better in person! The detail isn't truly captured in the photograph. Agree with other reviews that there is no stretch and you have to be careful of the length. Love this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 24, 2011
spending homecoming with my bf
Was so comfortable it was like wearing a quilt. material is heavy which was perfect for cool fall night. Wore it for homecoming and was so glad because most girls wore black so I really stood out in this red :) Size 4 fit perfectly but it is very short. I didn't want to send this dress back.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
October 13, 2011
After speaking with the fit specialist I ordered an 8 and a 10 instead of a 6 and and 8. I typically wear a 6 or 8 in dresses but thankfully the prior reviews said this dress ran narrow at the bottom, which is completely accurate. The 8 was a great fit but unfortunately I had to return with out wearing because the zipper was faulty.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
September 13, 2011
True to size, but narrow through the hips with no stretch. This dress was very short on me, but I'm 5'9." Definitely an attention-getter, I received a lot of compliments.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 15, 2011
I loved this dress! It fit wonderfully. Although I am thin and small busted, I also have a tiny waist and there was just enough curve to be very flattering. I do agree with previous reviewers about the narrow cut of the hips, so I would recommend a size up as your second choice. The length was perfect for my 5'5", it came to mid thigh, yet the style was still appropriate for my age and long legs.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Body type: Petite
August 1, 2011
I really enjoyed wearing this dress and it was fairly true to size, perhaps a bit small. I needed to wear the larger back-up size I ordered because it was too tight in the hips/butt. I'm petite but curvy; the larger size worked out fine. One other note: the dress is not as lightweight as it looks. The outer fabric and inner lining have more heft than I thought, but it wasn't a problem for me.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 101lbs
July 26, 2011
I loved the way this dress looked on, but it was a lot heavier than I thought it would be. I definitely wouldn't wear this in the middle of the day outside, or even on a warm night.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
July 5, 2011
I love the detail and color of the dress unfortunately, it is narrow on the hips and a bit too loose on the waist so it makes you look like you have no curves or bottom heavy. i still had a great night wearing the dress though!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
May 16, 2011
Dress fit throughout the body and chest but was too short for me to wear even out at night. Not recommended if you have long legs as it will be inappropriately short. Maybe order a size larger just for the length.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 18, 2011
Unfortunately I didn't get to wear this dress, but it was gorgeous. Be warned that the material is quite heavy/thick, but it has a really interesting texture. The size 0 fit me perfectly, and was just short enough to show off my legs. It was a little snug on my hips though, so maybe order a size up if you're curvy.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Body type: Full Bust
April 10, 2011
Very pretty dress with no give anywhere and super short.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
January 22, 2011
Beautiful dress! It fit me odd though, so I was not able to wear it. It was too tight in the bust area and way to big in the waist for me - not flattering on me at all. I think it would work best on people with smaller busts. Gorgeous dress though!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 3, 2011
This is a beautiful dress and it looks great on but I actually ended up going with my 2nd opition because it was more flattering. As the other reviews said it is very narrow in the hips and I had to step into it in order to get it on.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Body type: Petite
December 20, 2010
Great dress!! Perfect for holiday parties. I am on the shorter side and it was perfect on me, but probably short for anyone taller. The material is very thick, good for winter events. Fit well and conservative enough for office parties.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
December 20, 2010
The color and texture of this dress are beautiful, but it is definitely snug in the hips and small in the bust. I am just a medium bust, but felt a bit flattened out. I found it also to be a bit loose in the waist. Didn't love the way in fit, but it was such a pretty dress in itself and lets one show off their legs and arms, so the overall effect is good.
See more reviews:
3 / 4
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×