Crimson Scalloped Dress

$74 to buy
$595 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look sophisticated and trendy by renting this Robert Rodriguez Collection Crimson Scalloped Dress for a holiday party or birthday dinner. The basic sheath style has a twist of pizazz with the scalloped detail. Wear with Kenneth Jay Lane's Picasso Cuff to complete the look.

Also available in black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - detail conceals midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model) - curvy women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Product Details

Red stretch silk. Crew neckline. All over scallop detailing. Hook-and-eye closure. Exposed back zip. 31'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
125 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(51)
Small
(66)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 18, 2011

Unfortunately I didn't get to wear this dress, but it was gorgeous. Be warned that the material is quite heavy/thick, but it has a really interesting texture. The size 0 fit me perfectly, and was just short enough to show off my legs. It was a little snug on my hips though, so maybe order a size up if you're curvy.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
May 16, 2011

Dress fit throughout the body and chest but was too short for me to wear even out at night. Not recommended if you have long legs as it will be inappropriately short. Maybe order a size larger just for the length.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 101lbs
July 26, 2011

I loved the way this dress looked on, but it was a lot heavier than I thought it would be. I definitely wouldn't wear this in the middle of the day outside, or even on a warm night.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Body type: Petite
August 1, 2011

I really enjoyed wearing this dress and it was fairly true to size, perhaps a bit small. I needed to wear the larger back-up size I ordered because it was too tight in the hips/butt. I'm petite but curvy; the larger size worked out fine. One other note: the dress is not as lightweight as it looks. The outer fabric and inner lining have more heft than I thought, but it wasn't a problem for me.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 15, 2011

I loved this dress! It fit wonderfully. Although I am thin and small busted, I also have a tiny waist and there was just enough curve to be very flattering. I do agree with previous reviewers about the narrow cut of the hips, so I would recommend a size up as your second choice. The length was perfect for my 5'5", it came to mid thigh, yet the style was still appropriate for my age and long legs.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 170lbs
October 24, 2011
spending homecoming with my bf

Was so comfortable it was like wearing a quilt. material is heavy which was perfect for cool fall night. Wore it for homecoming and was so glad because most girls wore black so I really stood out in this red :) Size 4 fit perfectly but it is very short. I didn't want to send this dress back.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
October 31, 2011
Dress was amazing! I got so many compliments!

It fits great, looks great, and is even better in person! The detail isn't truly captured in the photograph. Agree with other reviews that there is no stretch and you have to be careful of the length. Love this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 14, 2011
The one of a kind look of the dress!

Absolutely LOVED this dress. It's beautifully made, so delicate, but so strong at the same time. Only complaint is that it's a tad shorter than I expected, but it fit true to size otherwise.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 14, 2011
Great dress!

The dress fit true to size, but does run a little bit short like the other reviews say. The material does not stretch so order your back up size one size up. My one complaint was that it was a little tight at the top and pinched my underarm area a little bit. But I got SO many compliments on this dress!! And it is a great way to stand out (the bright red color) at a formal party where most people seem to stick to black and other dark colors. Definitely recommend it!

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 23, 2011
Great Dress

I am size 6, 135 lb, 5 feet 8 - ran true to size and I wore the 6 - Material is very thick so it was perfect for a fall football game. It wasn't short at all on me and I even wore heels to go with it... This is more of a "girls" dress though - lots of compliments from my friends but it is not as "sexy" as it appears on the model.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Full Bust
December 21, 2011
don't wear with big chest

great dress, thought it was really cute - however if you have a large chest i wouldn't recommend it

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119lbs
December 23, 2011
The bright color was very beautiful and eye-catching.

The dress fit was great; I am pretty straight through the hips and thighs and was thankful that the dress was, too. The color is beautiful. I wore tights with the dress. I am only 5'4 and felt that without the tights, it definitely would have been too short. The material is really thick, so I felt that it made ME look thicker - my boyfriend disagreed? The scalloped detail looks great in person and in pictures.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 15, 2012
Rent the Runway made it so easy to get a great dress for my event! It came straight to my door and I had plenty of options so I was sure to find a dress that fit.

Got so many compliments when wearing the dress. Fitted great. Wasn't too short or awkwardly too long. Classy and had just enough texture that it wasn't too plain. The red made a great statement! Pairs great with gold jewelry and shoes. Worked well for a person with smaller boobs and a straight figure. It could've been uncomfortable/tight otherwise.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
August 25, 2012
Intresting dress, hard to pull

This dress's scallops didn't lay down correctly, and I'm rather short so it looked much longer on me than it would on most women. Also with how the sleeves were cut and how my boobs were squished in them, my armpit looked really fleshy and fat. (I am above average in breast size as well.)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 7, 2012
Perfect Rehersal Dinner Dress

Wore this to a rehersal dinner. It was beautiful and fit very well. I got so many compliments all night!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 7, 2012
Perfect Rehersal Dinner Dress

Wore this to a rehersal dinner. It was beautiful and fit very well. I got so many compliments all night!

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
September 19, 2012
I loved this dress! I actually was able to wear it twice!

I was able to wear this for a big work event and my friends wedding (which were within 2 days of each other), The dress is a beautiful vibrant red that is super comfortable and really flattering on. I would rent this again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
September 21, 2012
Flattering and eye catching color!

The dress is tight but the scalloping hides any flaws. I didnt end up wearing this dress to the event, as it was a little to fancy for the event. But it would definitely wear it to something else!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
October 17, 2012
Perfect party outfit.

great red color - great snug fit: comfortable but very flattering. ordered the black and the red version and loved the red.

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
November 7, 2012
Great for the occasion, got so many compliments on how it accentuated my curves!

The fit was perfect, although the zipper kept getting jammed. Otherwise, fantastic dress all around. The detail in the dress was so much prettier than I expected. Definitely a perfect rental!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
November 16, 2012
Loved the dress. Great fit, Very comfortable

It's very thick material so I got really hot during the night. It also was shorter than I thought so when I sat down it was interesting, but while dancing and walking I was fine. But I got a ton of complements on it! Loved Loved LOVED this dress

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 137lbs
November 25, 2012
I loved this dress!

The fit was great - the texture helps hide any extra love handles. it is a perfect winter dress as the material is very thick and somewhat heavy. Overall, it is flattering and I received many compliments!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 7, 2012
The look my boyfriend gave me after zipping me up!

Originally I rented this dress for my boyfriend's fraternity formal, but the event was pushed off to another weekend so instead we got dressed up and went out to dinner. This dress was so well made & very thick, which I liked for a chilly night in the beginning of December. It would probably be too much for a summer event. The dress was very form fitting, and the length was perfect on my 5'1" frame. I was so sad when I had to return this one!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
January 6, 2012
How beautiful I felt in this dress

I am petite at 5'4 with a tight athletic body, hips and butt, but this dress is made beautifully. I really like it and is flattering on a tight athletic body and runs short, definately makes people look twice. more classy than fun

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
January 13, 2012
gorgeous texture to the dress. It was pretty short and I felt like I didn't have much of a waist in it so I belted it. Cute though!

gorgeous texture to the dress. It was pretty short and I felt like I didn't have much of a waist in it so I belted it. Cute though!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
February 12, 2013
It's a great pop of color for the holidays! Simple dress.. the pattern makes it unique and flatterin

Pros: so many compliments. Pattern on the dress was amazing and flattering. It was the perfect red in a sea of black holiday dresses. Cons: Could be a little short if that's not your style.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
February 13, 2013
The boy, who is otherwise not effusive with compliments, was in awe.

Great for petite girls. Great color. Fits like a glove (no bra needed). I wore it in Paris and felt pretty good to represent America ;) The French boy stared the second I walked out and kept saying "you look amazing" all night. But my girl best friend thinks it's too formal looking (thick material, not revealing, and I don't have the legs). I probably wouldn't have bought this for myself but it was a perfect rental.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 14, 2013
I didn't get to wear the dress because I only received size 4

If I had received the size 2 I'd requested I'm sure it would have fit perfectly.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 137lbs
July 19, 2013
First rental great quality

Good fit, usually wear a 6 but went for the 8 just to be comfortable.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
January 17, 2014
Lovely dress

The color of the dress is an elegant, vibrant red and is made of a heavy textured material. Photographs well. The hem line is a little on the short side, but otherwise very happy with this dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152lbs
May 10, 2014
This is my favorite dress and I will rent it again and again!!!

True fit and the details are stunning.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 8, 2015
Bright pop of color with interesting fabric pattern

This dress is short, I'm 5'1 and I even felt a bit self conscious wearing this for Christmas. Apart from the shortness, it was fitted but flattering. I usually don't wear bright colors so this was a welcome change, the material was thick with fabric patterns sown in, so it was warm enough with tight and a jacket.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
November 17, 2010

This dress runs true to size but it does run pretty narrow through the hips and has no stretch to it.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
December 13, 2010

Dress is short! I'm only 5'4" and still felt like it was short - good to wear with black stockings.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 21, 2013
Beautiful & unique!

This dress has very thick material, so it was a little hot. & for me, it was very loose around the stomach. Regardless, I loved it & thought it was perfect for a wedding.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
December 20, 2010

The color and texture of this dress are beautiful, but it is definitely snug in the hips and small in the bust. I am just a medium bust, but felt a bit flattened out. I found it also to be a bit loose in the waist. Didn't love the way in fit, but it was such a pretty dress in itself and lets one show off their legs and arms, so the overall effect is good.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Body type: Petite
December 20, 2010

Great dress!! Perfect for holiday parties. I am on the shorter side and it was perfect on me, but probably short for anyone taller. The material is very thick, good for winter events. Fit well and conservative enough for office parties.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
July 5, 2011

I love the detail and color of the dress unfortunately, it is narrow on the hips and a bit too loose on the waist so it makes you look like you have no curves or bottom heavy. i still had a great night wearing the dress though!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
September 13, 2011

True to size, but narrow through the hips with no stretch. This dress was very short on me, but I'm 5'9." Definitely an attention-getter, I received a lot of compliments.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 19, 2012
Great texture, pretty dress!

This dress was really pretty in person and it fit well except that it was a little tight in the hips. The dress is short, I wore it in the winter so I had on tights and added a dressy belt to give it more shape, and a blazer and it looked great!

See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×