Cap Sleeve Swirl Mini

$30 – $40 rental?
$660 retail
Stylist Notes

This Robert Rodriguez Collection dress is the perfect modern LBD for any season. This shift creates a spectacular shape on any figure and works with or without tights. The dress' jersey lining is so comfortable that you won't want to take it off.

Also available in blue.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so size up in back-up size for full bust
WAIST: Fitted - embroidery conceals midsection and lower abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow so size up in back-up size for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types (Models height is 5'10". )

Product Details

Black 100% nylon embroidery. Short sleeves. Exposed back zip. Jersey lining. About 31" from shoulder to hem. Models height is 5'10".

Share
1066 reviews
Fit
Large
(47)
True to Size
(659)
Small
(222)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
September 3, 2012
This dress makes you feel sexy and look like a million bucks! All the girls in our party wanted to know all about rent the runway after this one.
I love love love this dress, It was perfect for our trip to Vegas for a Bachelorette party, it is a little conservative on top, but the sexiness on the bottom between the super short length and scalloped hem really made my legs look amazing. The dress has some stretch which was great. It was a little hot for Labor Day weekend in Vegas, but it doesn't really matter what you wear it'll be hot. I would rent it again.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Body type: Pear
October 25, 2011
Beautiful fit and super comfortable!! Wore it with black tights and ankle booties, and it looked very cool!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
September 10, 2012
LOVED this dress!
I felt like a well-dressed spy. A little understated and very sexy. Perfect for a cooler evening, the dress is warm. The hemline is on the shorter side but because it has sleeves it doesn't look scandalous.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 13, 2012
Great party, awesome dress!
I have a small frame, but I do have hips and this dress was very flattering. It was made of thick material, which was nice because I felt it masked all my worry areas. It was also very comfortable. It was pretty short though, so not the best dress for dancing or moving around a lot! Also, the material does not have a lot of give, so it was pretty tight around my bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
September 14, 2012
Amazing Dress!!
This is my new favorite dress! It is absolutely gorgeous, I highly recommend it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 17, 2012
Super fun for a night out in NYC!
This dress has NO STRETCH so be honest and pick the right size! I requested the 0 and 2 - both fit, but the 2 was just more comfy AND the 0 had a tiny tear in the seam at the shoulder. RTR team was great though so it wasnt an issue!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 20, 2012
Wore the dress for "law school prom" it was a perfect choice!
I thought it was good with tights because it was a tad short, especially for the winter!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
September 24, 2012
Looked amazing!
Definitely needed to go up a size since the fabric has no give, but looks fabulous!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 26, 2012
pretty up close, weird fit
The dress was pretty up close but the fit was awkward on me. I am very petite with a normal chest and it was too tight at the top and in the shoulders. It did not flatter me and even made me look stumpier and shorter. The length hit about mid thigh, maybe a little lower. I would recommend this dress to an extremely thin person, other than that dont waste your time and get a better dress that this site has to offer.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 30, 2012
Super flattering and comfortable dress!
For a petite frame, this dress fits amazingly well. Looked great w sheer black nylons for a chilly fall night too. Just the right length on me ( and I don't say that often for dresses I haven't shortened given that I'm only 5'0". My sister who is 5'5" with a long torso found the dress too short and the hips didn't fall in the right place in the dress on her. So, definitely a dress that will work well for ladies on the petite side of the height spectrum. I got lots of complements on the dress and questions about who made it and where I got it. It was easily my favorite dress I've rented so far from RTR and I'm already considering renting this same dress again for another event I liked it so much!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
October 1, 2012
perfect for charity fundraiser cocktail party
great flattering fit, interesting detail
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 1, 2012
This dress was very cute and perfect for a night out.
It was too short for me. I could've worn because it was too loose in the hips but the 4 would've been too short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 2, 2012
Short and sweet!
Love, love, love this dress! Rented this for Vegas and felt excellent in it. It only went up to a size 8, and I tend to hover in between the 8s and the 10s in the hips, so I had my fingers crossed. If you're hippy like me, and worried about the badonkadonk, eh! Yes, it's short, yes, it seems like it might ride, but nope! Fits like a glove, super comfy, is absolutely form-flattering, and makes you feel like a million bucks. Only downside? It's HOT! The jersey layer underneath really starts to heat up if you're dancing in 100 degree weather with people packed on a dance floor like sardines. This was the dress that made me thankful I spent most of the night playing Craps and drinking gin. Would absolutely rent again, for play or for a cocktail event. Easy to dress up or dress for partying.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 11, 2012
Fabulous and Classy!!!
First, I was so impressed by this company's service. The dress was delivered timely inside a box, inside a thick nylon garment bag AND inside a dry cleaning bag. The two sizes I ordered were really unnecessary because the size the Fit Specialist suggested was spot on! The icing on the cake of their customer service was the "fix kit" included with the order. The fix kit had pieces that I didn't even think of and would've been handy in a fashion emergency (thankfully there were none). It contained Fashion tape, anti-frizz hair serum, and the cutest little pink bag. That hooked me as a customer for any event where I need a chic dress. Now for the actual dress: As a petite woman (4"10' height 110 lbs) I am usually wary of dresses with exposed zippers, since they tend to be too long for my torso. THIS DRESS WAS PERFECT! It fit like a glove. The thick pattern skimmed and slimmed all my curves and the jersey lining was so comfy! I wore this to a wedding in Palm Springs and it was a bit warmer than we anticipated but this dress kept me comfortable from the cocktail hour all the way through the night of dancing. It is very short, but for my little legs it was perfectly sassy & classy hitting right in the middle between my knee and thigh. I can't wait to rent this again for any event that calls for a LBD <3
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 28, 2012
Loved it! Got lots of compliments!!
I got the dress for my prom. It arrived right on time and it was in perfect condition. The dress felt fine on. I was a bit nervous because the previous reviews recommended it for winter due to its jersey like lining, but it was perfect for spring as well. I loved the dress, but it was a bit big in the shoulders and stomach. Overall, renting this dress was a great decision and I will definitely rent from this site again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
December 2, 2012
A nice dress but too conservative for me.
The length of this dress was perfect, I am 5'2. The waist and the bust were a little big. The dress was my third choice of dresses, the other two that I would have preferred were already rented. I liked the dress but because the waist and bust were a little big it looked a little conservative on me. I wish RTR had more of a selection for us petite girls. Right now I see very little selection for an event I have later this month. Customer service of this company is excellent and if you are average in size I think there is a lot more to choose from.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
December 2, 2012
Not only did this dress look amazing, it was AMAZINGLY comfortable!
This dress fit like a glove but was VERY movable. I was able to dance and party the night away without adjusting or figgiting. This dress made me feel confident, sexy, and comfortable. The rent the runway staff are over the top accommodating and a joy to work with.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 3, 2012
This dress was really nice. It fit a little tight around the hips, but was a beautiful design.
I would absolutely recommend this dress, just knowing that the fit is a little off/tight. The sleeves are really cute with a scalloped look that looks unique and stands out in pictures.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 3, 2012
Awesome!
I LOVE the dress! It was everything I was hoping! I got so many compliments on it! It is a true fit to its size, although in my case with my body it ran a little smaller (but only because my bottom half is a little wider than my top). It was extremely comfortable and was perfect for a december wedding. The jersey lining inside was a pleasant surprise as i was never too hot.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 3, 2012
I had a vision or what I wanted to wear. RTR helped me bring it to life.
The fit is snug, which is exactly what I wanted but I would recommend ordering both your true size and a size up. It's very short (again, which I adore) so very black opaque tights are a must. I'm short-ish so I imagine it's a micro mini on others. The beauty of this dress are the cap sleeves and structured fit. Bold earrings go a long way. No need for a necklace. Adore! Only complaint the hem on my size 0 was stretched out. Otherwise, perfection.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 7, 2012
Cute but oh, so short
Very cute but really short. Keep it in mind but remember who you'll be seeing ;)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 10, 2012
Such a cute and structured dress!
Material does not have a whole lot of "give" to it, so I would go a size up!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 12, 2012
Detail and fit were fabulous!
Fit was good- maybe a bit loose in the waist, but hips and bust fit great. Note, there are some shoulder pads to give it structure; but even with broader shoulders I felt it looked great. It would look phenomenal with a skinny gold belt, but if you belted it, the dress would wear shorter and you would need tights. A pop color underneath would look really great with a pair of booties. Can definitely be dressed up or down with accessories. I believe this fits true to size but would consider it a mini-dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 12, 2012
I was so excited to finally try this dress! I've been eyeing it all year, and rented it just because
It was very sexy, but a little on the short side for my taste. I would order up a size for back up, although there was not really much of a difference between the 6 and the 8. Went with the size 8 because it was a little longer (still felt like I was pulling it down all night), but my boyfriend loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
December 13, 2012
Beautiful dress - very unique
I received this as a backup dress when one of my existing orders was unavailable. It's a beautiful dress but the skirt has no room in it - it was too tight on the bottom for me to wear. Would definitely recommend going a size up if you need more room in the skirt!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 14, 2012
It does fit like a dream, if just a bit snug. Its beautiful quality and stunning structure.
Its a little heavy in fabric and it is extremely short!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
December 14, 2012
The dress is prettier in pictures and I was unimpressed with the fit.
The fit was weird as the hip area was tight, but the waist was loose. I think the dress looks better in pictures than it does in person. I was unable to wear either size and had to return the dresses unworn.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
December 17, 2012
Way too Short! There is no give to the fabric! No way could i have danced or even sat down in this!
I ordered this for a coporate Christmas party was very disappointed that I wasn't able to wear it because it was way too short and would of been completely inappropriate. I was left scrambling at the last minute to find something else to wear and ended up being late to my event because of it. Even if the dress had been long enough, I would of been uncomfortable all night because when I was trying it on it was riding up my legs and I was constantly pulling it down. There's no way I I would of been able to dance since the dress didnt give at all and I could barely lift my arms above my shoulders. The fit was very weird being tight in some areas and very loose and baggy in others. I really wish it fit because on the hanger it is a beautiful dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
December 17, 2012
Fun party dress!
Got lots of compliments. Felt fun and flirty. Was definitely short so opted for tights. Saw little difference in the fit of the 2 and 4. Eventually went with the 2 as it fit in the waist slightly better.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
December 17, 2012
Very cute and flattering. Will rent again!
Loved this dress! It's tight, but I wore it with tights and heels to my company holiday party and received tons of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
December 18, 2012
Fit Perfectly
The dress fit perfectly. I am petite and the dress was not baggy or too long. It was perfectly proportioned for a small frame. The dress hit me about 5" above the knee. So I would not recommend for anyone tall.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
December 19, 2012
I ordered 2 sizes ( 0 and 2 ) but wasn't able to wear it because they were both too big.
It is a very pretty dress but unfortunately was a little too big and bulky.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 126lbs
December 26, 2012
loved the fit and structure of the dress!
i adore the look/style of the dress but i fell more in love with how the dress felt when i put it on!! soo much structure and support
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
December 26, 2012
This dress was perfect for the occasion, and I felt safe ordering since I got two sizes for one.
Fit perfectly and was comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153lbs
December 28, 2012
Where did you get that dress?
This dress runs true to size. My second size was unavailable, so I just hoped this dress would fit and it did. It was a little tight, so I could not really sit well in it as it would ride up, but I was standing mostly at the party anyway. It is very comfortable and slimming and I loved how it hugged my curves in the right places. I received many compliments on it because everyone loved the detail of the dress. If you plan on wearing this to a cocktail party where you will be standing a lot, go for it! I don't think I would have worn this to a wedding and danced in this dress, but would consider if I wore a size up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 107lbs
December 28, 2012
Bringing sexy back!
I rented this dress for a holiday party and LOVED it. I got so many compliments. Truthfully, due to the design of this dress...you can get away with no bra. It is very slimming and comfortable. Danced the night away. Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
December 28, 2012
Super cute! Super comfy!
This dress fit true to size. It is definitely not tapered in at the waist but has a slender silhouette so it’s not a problem. I'd say it is more fitted in the hips than most. I am a 32C and it was fitted so well that I didn't have to wear a bra. I usually wear a 0/2 and could have gone down in the waist but not anywhere else. The jersey lining made it insanely comfortable for a long night of socializing! I got lots of compliments and would rent it again!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
January 2, 2013
A great night out with the girls I grew up with!!!
What a great dress! I couldn't have asked for a better night out! This dress was perfect for a winter night out on the town. The grey part of the dress is like a stretchy pattern and the black swirls are a velvety feel, perfect winter dress that kept me warm the whole night. I was able to dance comfortably, sit easily and got several compliments!! **This dress does not look good with black tights/sheer tights
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
January 2, 2013
Loved the dress! Perfect way to ring in the new year!
The size 8 was a bit snug in the hips and a bit short without stockings. The size 10 was PERFECT! I was comfortable, the dress lining is jersey. It was very flattering!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 4, 2013
Loved ringing in the New Year in a Fabulous Dress!
Very comfortable and stretchy material. the under layer is like a Heather Grey Color (was expecting more of a silver or see thru based on the pictures) Was expecting to wear silver shoes but couldn't make them look right, I went with Black. This Dress is VERY SHORT and Size doesn't help. The 2 and the 4 were basically the same length on me. If you get this dress TOO BIG it will make you look like you have bigger hips and belly than you do, its important to order the right size to make it flattering.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 27

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×