Cap Sleeve Swirl Mini

$30 – $40 rental?
$660 retail
Stylist Notes

This Robert Rodriguez Collection dress is the perfect modern LBD for any season. This shift creates a spectacular shape on any figure and works with or without tights. The dress' jersey lining is so comfortable that you won't want to take it off.

Also available in blue.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so size up in back-up size for full bust
WAIST: Fitted - embroidery conceals midsection and lower abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow so size up in back-up size for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types (Models height is 5'10". )

Product Details

Black 100% nylon embroidery. Short sleeves. Exposed back zip. Jersey lining. About 31" from shoulder to hem. Models height is 5'10".

Share
1066 reviews
Fit
Large
(47)
True to Size
(659)
Small
(222)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 17, 2012
Beautiful dress
This dress was so comfortable--the lining was a little warm so it's really better for winter events. It fit perfectly though and the length was perfect for me since I'm short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 144lbs
August 22, 2012
"That's one foxy dress"
I rented this after I already rented 2 other dresses for a Vegas Bachelorette Party. After reading about how one of the dresses ran small I spoke with Heather/Megan B. (? sorry I typed name on my phone but lost phone in Vegas!) and she recommended this one. It fit like a glove! I usually rent 8 but so glad I got the 6 too. The 8 wasn't too bad but the 6 was definitely more of a vanity thing. :) The lining inside the dress will keep you warm, it's almost like sweat pants lining. Very comfortable dress to move around in! This has been one of my top faves and I never would have gotten this dress had it not been for the stylist from RTR!!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 27, 2013
Sexy and interesting LBD
I wore this to a black tie formal party that had an asian theme. The dress looked really beautiful and stands out with the beautiful pattern in a dark setting even though it's black -very elegant and young. It is fairly thick (keeps you warm on a winter night) and very short even for me! Wouldn't wear this to anything where a lot of dancing and sitting would be involved as it would ride up and has no stretch. My only complaint is that the waist doesn't really come in enough for those with a larger hip-waist ratio -I wore a 0 and it still was a bit loose! Didn't keep it from looking gorgeous overall however! Comment below if you have questions and I'll answer.
AllieApril 4, 2013
Can I ask you what your measurements are? I don't know whether to get an extra in a 0 or 4
SofiaApril 5, 2013
Hmm, I am not totally sure of my measurements except that my waist is about 26in and I have a small bust (A or B cup with 32in ribcage). I felt like the dress ran large -I would go with the 0, my hips are wide relative to the rest of my body and it still fit great.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 28, 2013
Perfect cocktail dress!
The previous reveiwers have it right in that 1.) the dress really has no stretch whatsoever 2.) it runs a bit small in the hips and 3.) it is short. However, I LOVED this dress and got so many compliments. Both the size 8 and 10 fit, but because the zipper malfunctioned on the 8, I wore the size 10 (which was probably for the best anyway because it gave me a bit more room). The modest neckline keeps it classy with the shorter length, and it pairs fantastically with black ice bangles for a bit of sparkle. I wish I could buy this dress to add to my wardrobe. Highly recommend!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
January 28, 2013
Super sexy!
Fabric is a little think so it's good for a chilly night.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
January 29, 2013
Sexy, yet Modest!
I got this dress for a Korean banquet I was invited to for work. I wanted something that was sexy yet modest and this was the perfect combination! I got compliments throughout the night including one from one of my retailers who said "that dress is sexy!" The dress is very fitted in the chest/shoulders area so if you are big in that department, I would look for another dress. As others have noted, the dress IS on the shorter side. I'm 5'2 and this was still short! I also should have worn tights. I did notice that my clutch, which as a small chain strap for the shoulder, would get stuck to the dress if I had it around my shoulder or while dancing. Nothing too dramatic but it was kind of annoying. One star off for that and it was a bit loose in the hip area, but then again I dont have wide hips.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 30, 2013
Super mini-dress on 5'9" and above!
I didn't end up wearing the dress because it was entirely too short. The size 6 was a little snug all over, and the size 8 fit well minus the length. I am 5'9" and very leggy -- it was not a dress that I could feel comfortable wearing without tights. The fit is very flattering-- thick material so the stomach is hidden. Gorgeous dress, just order a size up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
January 31, 2013
great experiece
I rented size 4 and 6. The 6 was a little big and 4 a bit small but the fabric stretches out a little as you wear it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 7, 2013
Any dress that gets you into the VIP is a winner!
The fit of this is true to size OR even a bit large... I generally wear a size 6 (which I wore) but it wasn't anywhere near tight. Thick fabric but really pretty take on a little black dress. I think it was a bit longer on me than a lot of the other pictures I have seen (I am 5'3") but still short enough. Overall, very comfortable to wear and I was happy that I rented it!
MelissaApril 9, 2013
Hi! So I'm considering renting this dress and I am around your height/usual size, so I was wondering if you would recommend getting the 6? or would you have opted for the 4?
TarynApril 10, 2013
Hi Melissa... Unfortunately I didn't try the 4 so I can't say for sure, but I think if I had to do it again I would still get the 6 - just don't expect it to be skin tight (you can sort of see in the picture that it is hanging off of my legs a bit). Maybe get the size 4 as a back-up?
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 8, 2013
Warm, tight, textured, comfortable, and sexy
I wore this for the first night of my bachelorette weekend. I had tried the size 2 on at the DC RTR popup shop, and it was so comfortable and attractive- just a smidgen big. This dress checks off a lot of requirements for me- great fit, modest but sexy, thick and soft material. The black textured tulle swirls are sewn on top of a gray layer, which feels almost like sweatshirt material. It was freezing in NYC when I wore this, but I felt confident and not over-exposed.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 10, 2013
Wore this dress for my 25th birthday to Lucky Strike luxury bowling alley. got so many compliments!
The fit was a little smaller than I anticipated so I had to wear the 10 as opposed to the 8. It was a bit short, but it worked because I had to wear bowling shoes. The dress was beautifully designed and had amazing detail. I received so many compliments on it. It was a thicker material, which also made it nice for winter because it was heavier. The dress also does a great job of masking any unwanted attention to "problem areas"..i.e. mid section. I felt really skinny in it! I recommend it to everyone.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Body type: Athletic
February 12, 2013
Wish I could've worn this dress!
This dress wasn't what I was expecting at all. I ended up having to send it back. Its very boxy and has no movement. I rented a size two and four and they both didn't fit well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
February 18, 2013
Cute But That's All.
I wore this dress for a night in NYC in a size 2 with my backup as a 0. The material is very heavy which was nice for winter but it cause the dress to sort of bunch in weird places. I think it's safe to say that when you're a size 2 you're a tiny girl, but this dress didn't do much to my mid section except make it look bulky. The size 0 fit through the mid section a little better but the length was too short for my taste. Overall I wasn't totally dissapointed, but I've worn more flattering/ prettier dresses than this.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
February 20, 2013
Great twist on the LBD!
Definitely agree with all the reviewers - be honest with yourself and your true size and then get one size up! This dress runs small and there is no give/stretch in it! The dress is beautiful and photographs well also. Super comfortable lining that made it easy to wear in the cold winter. It is quite short so if you plan on sitting a lot this might not be the dress for your occasion!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 21, 2013
Boyfriend thought it was super cool
A fabulous, well-constructed dress that was very flattering. This dress has no stretch, but the tailoring is so great there were no fit issues. This is shocking considering how tall I am and it still worked for me. I am nearly 6'0, so as you can see this dress is very short on me. Boyfriend loved it though, the shortness kept it on the sexy side and was a great balance to the conservative neckline and thick fabric. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Body type: Pear
Weight: 107lbs
October 1, 2014
The dress fit perfectly!
The dress fit perfect. I loved it and received many compliments on it. Many reviews say it is short but it is not as short as I expected.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
February 25, 2013
Gorgeous dress that was sexy but comfortable!
I LOVED this dress- just like all the reviews had said before it was a little snug (I ordered the zero and the two) but ended up wearing the zero. The two was much larger in the hip area and I felt like the dress was made to be snug since it wasn't stretchy/was very slim cut. It was amazing! Definitely shorter but I thought since it wasn't low cut or anything, I could get away with it being a little shorter. Was happy to be standing most of the night though!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114lbs
February 25, 2013
Comfortable and fun!
Sat through a show in this and wanted to go dancing later - it was so comfortable. It is short but you dont feel it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 27, 2013
fabric is super flattering
tried 6 on first because dress looked tiny, but it was too big in the waist area. Then tried 4 and it fit great. the fabric is a little heavy but still form fitting and therefore flattering bc it doesn't show every little imperfection
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
March 4, 2013
Cute and classy!
Very cute dress for cocktail attire wedding! It ran mostly true to size but there is no stretch in the fabric. I felt more comfortable in the size 2 although the 0 fit as well. I would have probably worn the 0 if I were going out but the 2 was slightly longer and better for the wedding. Definitely a winner!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 6, 2013
Great for all occasions!
I absolutely loved this dress. It's perfect for a night in the city, for a dinner, for a wedding...you name it. The length may be a little short for some, but I'm already a short person so there was no problem for me sitting, standing, etc. the material was surprisingly very soft on the inside and the dress did not fill clunky.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 7, 2013
Great dress for the occasion, be mindful of the zipper and size.
This dress was great for the occasion. I had a work event at an Italian Gun Club so was very classy. The two issues I had were that I got a size 2 and a size 4 and the size 4 was totally smaller than the size 2 so the labeling must have been wrong and the zipper didn't work on the size 4. The size 2 worked out fine but I would of liked to have possibly worn the 4 to have it a little longer.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 10, 2013
I received tons of compliments! Perfect for my Gram's 80th birthday at our family's country club.
I would wear this dress again. I highly recommend wearing it during the wintertime as the material is very thick and sturdy. It's a well-made, structured cocktail dress. I ordered a 2 and a 4 and went with the 4 for a "roomier" fit. I typically wear a 4 in dresses because of my chest size. If you're approximately my height and weight but have a smaller chest, I'd recommend the 2 for this particular dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
March 12, 2013
wishhh it fit!!
The material of the dress is great for the cold weatherbc it's sooo heavy and thick, I normally wear a size 6 but I read that it ran small on some ppl so I got the 8 incase. I could get it on...but it wasn't pretty. It just didn't fit right and was pretty short. Next time I'd go up a size. Really bummed...I was so excited to wear it for my birthday and it was my 1st RTR experience. Better luck next time hopefully!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 17, 2013
Great dress with classic styling
I wore this dress at an event that was about 7 hours long. It was very comfortable. The fit is impeccable and the styling is so classic that it could be worn for most occasions.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
March 18, 2013
Very pretty dress, perfect for the occassion!
We have a fancy awards show each year and instead of buying an expensive dress, I decided to rent one for the first time. I was a little nervous about the fit and it coming on time. To my surprise, the dress was at my door ready to go the day I wanted. After trying on the two dresses, the first was very short and tight. I decided to go for the larger dress which was a tad longer and fit perfectly. This dress does not have any stretch so if you are concerned, you definitely should go a size up. I was pleasantly surprised at all of the great compliments I received throughout the night. Some fellow RTR members at the event even recognized the dress! Overall, I was very happy with the look and fit. I will definitely be renting a dress from RTR again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
March 20, 2013
Great
Loved it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
March 20, 2013
It's a fun dress for a party!
The dress was fairly comfortable, though arm movement is a bit restricted. It also fit a little weird on my body, especially around the hips and stomach. Its definitely made for girls with a little hip action, and it was a little too loose on me in that area. The great thing is that my chest fit into the top, which can sometimes be a challenge - so this is a great dress for top heavy girls !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
March 21, 2013
great dress, but for straight shapes only
this dress is adorable and well-made, but impossible for my shape. I am petite, usually a size 2-4, and with moderate curves (mostly in the butt/hip region). I'm a little smaller on top, about a 0-2. this dress unfortunately had zero give, so while well fitting on top, completely squashed my lower half. Not flattering I think unless you are very straight cut.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 24, 2013
So convenient! I flew in for a wedding and never had to pack a thing!
This was my first experience with RTR but I'd been dying for the opportunity to try it so when I was invited to an out of town wedding I realized I finally had my chance! I ordered the dress in a 4 and 6 and has it delivered to the wedding location ahead of me. The dresses arrived clean and in beautiful condition packed nicely into garment bags (that are mine to keep!) The 6 fit and the length was perfect had I wanted to go bare legged, but it was a little too roomy in the midsection. I went with the 4 ultimately, which fit like a GLOVE but left very little wiggle room in terms of length so I threw on some opaque black tights and suede black pumps. The dress has no stretch to it whatsoever which I found helpful because it created a really structured and sophisticated look while the mini skirt length kept it sexy. I wish I wouldve snagged a few full length shots because these pics hardly do the dress justice, but I truly did get compliments all night and will without a doubt be renting again!!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 25, 2013
HOT dress
I could have worn either the 2 or 4, but I opted for the 2..even though it was SHORT! The 4 was roomy in areas and the 2 fit like a glove. All in all - tons of compliments and would DEFINITELY rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
March 25, 2013
Loved this dress! Definitely recommend it!
Comfortable dress, just very short! But got tons of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 25, 2013
Loved this dress! It was perfect for a wedding.
Despite being a fitted dress, it was still really comfortable. The grey fabric that peaks through is almost jersey material, but you can't tell by looking at it because of the fabric on top.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 144lbs
March 25, 2013
Great dress!
This was a great dress, I ordered both a 6 and an 8, the 6 fit a little snug in the hips but was overall a good fit. Unfortunately, the zipper for the 6 was broken and I was worried the dress would be ruined if I wore it. The 8 fit a bit loose but it didn't take away from the look of the dress at all! I got so many compliments and had a blast!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
March 26, 2013
Great party dress!
This dress was very fitted. The material was thick and sturdy. I truly love the dress and how it fit. It hugged all the right curves and showed off my long legs. Loved it wanted to make it mine!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 28, 2013
Fun dress. Tons of compliments.
Fit was true to size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
March 29, 2013
Too big for a petite person
I had ordered the 0 but didn't end up wearing it as it was too big on me. I generally fall between a 00 and a 0, so this wasn't that surprising. The dress is adorable and if it would have fit, I would have loved it. Super comfy. If you are a super petite person like myself, I wouldn't go with this dress unless you don't mind it being loose. I had hoped for the tight fit that other reviewers had commented on so this dress just wasn't for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
March 31, 2013
great for short girls!!!
i rented this for a wedding and was obsessed w/ it. the material is substantial but i was dancing all night in it and wasn't too hot. i'm short & i like my dresses short and this totally fit the bill! The cap sleeves make your arms look good haha. Paired it with nude pumps to make my legs look longer. i highly recommend! My sister in the pink is also wearing an RTR dress but I forget who makes it!
JulieSeptember 15, 2013
You are very similar to my size and I'm thinking about renting this dress but in the blue. Do you feel it was too loose around your waist? Sounds like other petite girls have had that problem, but I love it!
VeronicaSeptember 18, 2013
I actually didn't think so at all! It's definitely not form fitting, but it's not baggy either. It falls nicely on your body and shows off your shape :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 4, 2013
the way my boyfriend look at me... Priceless
a bit short , but i dance all night
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
April 6, 2013
The attention to detail and absolutely amazing service that RTR offers.
I'm so bummed! This dress is absolutely gorgeous!!! I normally wear an 8/10 so I ordered both just in case. I read all of the testimonials and made sure I ordered based on similar height/weight and the hips were just too small. Had I ordered a 12, the hips would have fit fine but the top would have been too big.
See more reviews:
3 / 27

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×