Rent the Runway

Robert Rodriguez Collection

Cap Sleeve Swirl Mini

$40 rental
$660 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This Robert Rodriguez Collection dress is the perfect modern LBD for any season. This shift creates a spectacular shape on any figure and works with or without tights. The dress' jersey lining is so comfortable that you won't want to take it off. Shown here with the AV Max's On The Verge Earrings.

Also available in blue.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so size up in back-up size for full bust
WAIST: Fitted - embroidery conceals midsection and lower abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow so size up in back-up size for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types (Models height is 5'10". )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so size up in back-up size for full bust
WAIST: Fitted - embroidery conceals midsection and lower abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow so size up in back-up size for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types (Models height is 5'10". )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black 100% nylon embroidery. Short sleeves. Exposed back zip. Jersey lining. About 31" from shoulder to hem. Models height is 5'10".

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

856 reviews

Fit
Small 190
True to Size 577
Large 45
Photos 449
Jamie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 12, 2013

Felt amazing in this dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got so many compliments on this dress! It fit amazingly and is different enough to where no one else was wearing anything like it. I loved this dress and wish I could have bought it! The only problem was when i lifted my arms or sat down, it was a little short but it wasn't that big of a deal for me!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 2, 2014

Wore this to my ten year reunion and received SO many compliments!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
A little short, but I was still comfortable. Sexy but classy =)
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Aug 19, 2014

This dress was really fun to wear, I got Compliments all night long!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit a little snug on my hips, but i still felt great wearing it. The fabric is nice and thick and hides your flaws.
E
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Aug 23, 2014

I wore this dress for a recent performance. Looked great!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This dress was pretty short and I wanted to dress it down, so I wore black jeans underneath. Worked like a charm! I also had to sit for the performance, so without pants it would have been unwearable. I normally wear a 10 or an 8, but would have gone up another size if I could have. Runs small. I recommend sizing up as an option -- a belt would look great with it anyway.
Antonia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Aug 30, 2014

Received lots of compliments...my husband loved it!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Fit like a glove. Very sexy!
Anna
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117 lbs
Sep 8, 2014

I wore this dress for a bachelorette party, everyone loved it and I got tons of compliments!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I am 5'7 and was between the 2 and the 0 because like another reviewer had said, the 2 was a tad longer and more comfortable because this dress runs REALLY short (why I gave it 4 stars and not 5)! For me, the 2 was too big and baggy so I went for the 0 and it fit like a glove but it was very short. However, everyone said it looked amazing, but in my own head I felt a little self conscious. The pics also came out great, it did not look too short and I was standing and dancing most of the time so I didn't really notice it throughout the night. The other thing about this dress worth noting is that it has shoulder pads, which was a little weird for me but it actually looks good. It is also a heavy material like other reviewers had said and I wore this on Labor Day weekend and it did not seem hot or uncomfortable. Overall, I would recommend this dress if you are wearing it for a party atmosphere where a short dress would look hot, but I do feel like it works better for someone who is more on the petite side (aka shorter) so if you are tall and thin, looking for a formal affair such as a wedding and not looking for something really short I would consider looking at a different dress.
Julie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129 lbs
Sep 8, 2014

Easy to wear and feel great it!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I worse this dress for a bachelorette party. The dress fit great; it was young and fun without trying too hard. But as other reviewers noted it was a bit short and it was a little tight on the hips so I actually wore my next size up (an 8). The materials is heavier so it hides flaws well (read = no Spanx needed for us Moms), but probably not good for an 80 degree summer day. Overall I thought the dress and fit was excellent.
kriezl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 10, 2014

Amazing!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore a size 2. Thick material so it got hot even though it was short. Still loved the dress though.
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 10, 2014

Bachelorette Party

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Love the dress for a night out in Atlanta for a bachelorette party. I got compliments all night on in. The only thing is that the dress is extremely short which stinks for dancing and sitting but I still loved it! The dress material is very nice and comfortable but is very thick and probably should be worn in the colder months.
Heather Marie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112 lbs
Sep 13, 2014

.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Excellent fit! Loved the dress, got tons of compliments. It's definitely a "mini" so be sure it's what you want. I really liked the look, but wore boy short spanx to be safe! Will def rent it again!
Ceaulovone
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132 lbs
Sep 13, 2014

Birthday Picture

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved the Fit..
Nathalia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Sep 15, 2014

Beautiful dress, so cool and comfortable.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was so great! I wore it on a night out in Vegas, and got so many compliments. It was very comfortable but definitely short. The size 6 fit me perfectly, so I'll say it's true to size.
Ksenia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 17, 2014

The fit was perfect but....

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The fit was perfect but as everyone else pointed out it was VERY short. I wore a size up but it didn't help. It was impossible to sit in it. Walking and dancing is fine thou. Also the dress look very worn off. I could tell it was worn before me many-many times.
Sarah Kate
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 17, 2014

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress ran true to reviews for me. I rented the 6 and 8 and both fit great. I ended up wearing the 8 just because it was a little longer and I was attending a wedding. Length was my biggest concern but it worked out fine. If I were any taller, I am not sure I would have worn it to a wedding. Just like reviews have said, the inside material is a thick jersey and may not be ideal for summer events. Perfect for a September evening though for me. Great first rental and would definitely rent it again.
Ili
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Sep 23, 2014

Cute but short!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to my friend's bachelorette party and it was the perfect material for just-before-fall weather as it was thicker. My only issue was that it was so short that I was pretty self conscious all night.
Allison
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 23, 2014

easy, simple, versatile, comfortable, not a show stopper but solid!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Nice fit, comfortable, fun pattern, not the most exciting dress but good dress to blend into a formal affair.
Freddie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 24, 2014

Fun dress that was perfect for bachelorette party!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a bachelorette party. I felt comfortable but it does run short. I kept pulling it down throughout night but I loved it anyways!!! The fabric and style were very forgiving. I would rent again in a heartbeat! I tried on size 0 and 2 and ended up wearing size 0.
K
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 24, 2014

I would have loved this dress if it was 2 inches longer.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is adorable, fits true to size and is really comfortable. I loved that the inside of the dress was a sweatshirt type material. The only con is.. This dress is SO short. I honestly wasn't comfortable wearing it out for a bachelorette party. ..if your event requires you to sit down, renter beware! I would definitely size up for the added length.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 136 lbs
Sep 25, 2014

Loved this dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is very short (which was why I wanted it - I like shorter dresses) but beware if you're much taller than 5'3". It is a very thick material and I liked that I felt "sucked in" without needing any Spanx. I would definitely have worn this again if I owned it. It felt very flattering on a post-baby/awkward weight loss body.
Michelle
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 25, 2014

Excuse the selfie! Wore this to a ball in NOLA. Very pleased. It was an LBD but was also unique.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
A little tight around armholes but loose in stomach area. That could just be my body type though. I don't think it was noticeable to others. I was satisfied because usually dresses are difficult for me to find because I am very short but also have big hips. Overall I would rent this dress again. It also comes in blue!
Lindsay
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 26, 2014

Perfect for my bachelorette party!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was worried that this would be too short because I have a huge butt/thighs but it was fine! Definitely short but really flattering. I usually float between a 4 and 6 and went with the 6
sara
Age: 29
Sep 26, 2014

Would definitely rent again.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit perfectly. Not too short. Wore with 4 inch lace up heels.
Deena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 100 lbs
Sep 28, 2014

I rented this for a rehearsal dinner

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
For someone short like me this dress was perfect! The fabric is heavy so I would t recommend it for a hot day! So many people asked me where I got the dress, it was definitely worth it!
RTR Customer
Sep 28, 2014

Great dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit well, fabric was a little stretchy, was just a little short when I sat
Gabrielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 30, 2014

Loved It!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I really loved this dress, I would have worn the size 8, but it was too short for me (i'm 5'7"). Other than that, it was perfect!
Jacqui
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 1, 2014

I LOVE this dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this on a dinner cruise and it can get a little chilly at night towards the end of September in Pittsburgh, but the sweatshirt type material of this dress kept me nice and warm on the boat! I don't highly recommend wearing this in the middle of the summer unless you plan on being indoors. The length of this dress was perfect for my height but it does seem like it would be a little short for you taller ladies!
Veronika
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Body type: Pear
Weight: 107 lbs
Oct 1, 2014

The dress fit perfectly!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit perfect. I loved it and received many compliments on it. Many reviews say it is short but it is not as short as I expected.
Miriel
Age: 34
Oct 2, 2014

Fit just perfectly, made me feel beautiful!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress really did fit like a glove. It wasn't too short when standing but sitting it rode up a bunch. Keep this in mind. I received many compliments and felt like second to the bride, I was in one of the nicest dresses there!
chelsea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 102 lbs
Oct 11, 2014

This dress! Everyone was giving me compliments all night and my boyfriend loved it on me!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Pros - fit was perfect. Very comfortable & material was heavier for the perfect fall weather. Was the perfect length for me as well! Cons - was short when I sat down but not really a con
Jenn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 13, 2014

This dress was fantastic. Unique and flattering. Will rent it again.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress hugged all my curves and made me feel amazing all night. I received several compliments. It's a very unique style, which made it stand out. The lining is like sweatshirt material, which made it a bit warm, but cozy and the thicker fabric worked a bit like spanx - smoothing out any bumps from the pizza I scarfed pre-party. :) It's SHORT so I couldn't bend over - but I was moving around all night and didn't notice. Great dress.
Miranda Holizna
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 13, 2014

I got so many compliments in this dress! It was a little short but I was looking for a shorter fit

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The material is very heavy, so this is more of a fall/winter dress. Like I said it does run short but overall it fit my frame perfectly.
Marge
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 14, 2014

Great dress for a Manhattan wedding reception!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress. It was really comfortable and flattering. I was nervous about the length, but it ended up being fine. It's definitely on the shorter side though so I would recommend sizing up if concerned about that.
Li
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 15, 2014

Great dress for a date!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The only complaint I have is that the material is stuff and thick. I was happy wearing to dinner but definitely happy there was no dancing involved. I love the same dress in blue and look forward to renting it next!
Ruby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 112 lbs
Oct 17, 2014

Very cute dress for a bachelorette party! Got a lot of complements.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a rather low key bachelorette party and it was great for the occasion! A few of the girls asked where I got it, which is always flattering. I really loved the pattern! I thought it might be too much, but it was actually really understated. It looked dressy without trying, and it really didn't need any accessories. The fabric was thick enough to keep me warm (I live in Seattle), but didn't look bulky. It was comfortable enough that I didn't mind wearing it all night. Despite the fact that the dress lacked any stretch I was able to eat (a LOT), climb in and out of a vehicle, and dance in comfort. The only real con was that I couldn't really raise my arms as mentioned in some other reviews. The caps leaves have no give, so just don't plan on raising your arms past your shoulders.
Mindy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 17, 2014

Great textured pattern. Got so many compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
If you want to be comfortable all night, this is not the dress for you. Forget sitting all together. This is more of a dancing-looking good in pictures dress. The 4 fit but was too short, so I opted for the 6, which had a little more length and move ability. The 4 had shoulder pads in it, but the 6 did not, though there wasn't a huge difference. Overall this was a great dress and I would rent again, but probably in the blue color. :)
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 17, 2014

Cute party dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was very comfortable and great to wear out to dinner & drinks. The material was a little thicker so it'd be good in the early fall. I loved the cap sleeves and the pattern. Was a nice change up from the standard LBD. It was a little short when I was sitting for dinner but if you plan on standing and dancing the whole night, rent it!
Candice
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128 lbs
Oct 17, 2014

Edgy

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I liked the dress overall. Pretty stiff though and kind of made me look like I had a belly bulge all night (even though I was wearing spanx!)
Sehba
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129 lbs
Oct 20, 2014

Amazing dress - very chic.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Thick fabric so it's best in cooler weather. This dress is short and tends to ride up when you're seated.
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 20, 2014

This dress was incredibly comfortable and flattering!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This cap-sleeved dress was very flattering and was not your average shift dress. The dress gave me a shape and was very soft (it really does feel like like a soft, light sweatshirt). I opted to wear the size 6 because of the length of the dress (it added an inch or two compared to the size 4). Therefore, I'd recommend ordering a size up and coupling this dress with black stockings. All in all, I recommend this dress for a special occasion or date night!
Chandler
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 21, 2014

Perfect dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Comfortable, flattering
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×