Cap Sleeve Swirl Mini

$30 – $55 rental
$660 retail
Stylist Notes

This Robert Rodriguez Collection dress is the perfect modern LBD for any season. This shift creates a spectacular shape on any figure and works with or without tights. The dress' jersey lining is so comfortable that you won't want to take it off.

Also available in blue.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so size up in back-up size for full bust
WAIST: Fitted - embroidery conceals midsection and lower abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow so size up in back-up size for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types (Models height is 5'10". )

Product Details

Black 100% nylon embroidery. Short sleeves. Exposed back zip. Jersey lining. About 31" from shoulder to hem. Models height is 5'10".

Share
1079 reviews
Fit
Large
(47)
True to Size
(665)
Small
(222)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 11, 2017
So awesome!
This dress was so amazing. Only downside is the length. I couldn't bend over! The larger size would have been too baggy so I went with the 8, my normal size and just dealt with it. Really comfortable and cute design. Padded shoulders! I have worn the blue one as well. Both are amazing!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 12, 2017
True to size, but short!
Nice, thick material that fits true to size. Dress does run short, but worked perfectly for me since I am short.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
February 13, 2017
I love love love this dress
Definitely listen when people are saying that this dress is short! I loved the pattern and the fit and style! It was pretty funny when I realized that there are shoulder pads in this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
February 13, 2017
Vegas date with my husband
I loved this dress. The fit was great for me. It was a little short, but I didn't mind considering it was for a getaway a weekend with my husband in Vegas. I like how the material was thicker, perfect for a chiller night. The dress made me feel sexy and I would definitely recommend it ! Husband loves it as well!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
February 14, 2017
Short and sassy
I wore this to a super bowl party at a club. It's very short but since the top is very covered up, it didn't cheapen the look. It does not have any stretch or give which was fine for me because the size two fit great. I did feel like the dress ran small so I would recommend renting a size up. You can't squeeze yourself into it because there is zero stretch. I would def rent it again. It was very comfortable and stood out!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
February 27, 2017
Love this dress!!
This is one of my favorite dresses ever! I previously had rented this dress in the blue in the past and would recommend the black! It fits like a glove. The dress is a little short but it looks great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124lbs
March 4, 2017
I'm in love!
This was my first rent the runway experience and I was blown away. This dress was so comfortable and flattering. I received TONS of compliments that night and had a hard time sending it back because I wanted to keep it!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
March 7, 2017
Perfect Vegas night out dress
Dress is very comfortable but quite short. Great for a fun girls night out!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
March 6, 2017
Definitely a va va voom situation!
I rented this dress for a bridesmaid brunch & it certainly made me feel sleek & sexy. It fit true to size, and was snug enough that I didn't have to bother with a bra. It was on the short side, so I might not opt for this piece if you're taller (and opposed to being ALL leg.) Personally, I felt like it made me look taller-- especially paired with heels. Quality was exceptional & I also got a ton of compliments. Someone called my outfit "sassy." Totally would wear this again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
March 12, 2017
Perfect for shorter, petite girls!
I rented this dress for a rehearsal dinner and it was perfect! The dress is a thicker material which was nice because it was a cold night. It was a tight fit but I was still able to move around in it. Got so many compliments! Would rent this again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
March 27, 2017
NYC Night Out
I wore this dress for a date night with my husband while visiting NYC. At the time I was still losing some baby weight and even my larger backup dress was a little snug which made it a bit uncomfortable. The dress was shorter than I expected it to be so I had to be a bit aware all night. Probably wouldn't rent again just due to the length.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
March 27, 2017
I got sooo many compliments on the dress
I ordered the 0 with a back up of 2 and I'm so glad I did the back up. It's a little small to fit. It's not the easiest to move in, but for a sorority formal it worked perfectly fine. I really liked the dress and I got a lot of compliments on it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
March 30, 2017
Cute but small!
I didn't end up wearing it because it was too small and tight. It fit but would've been uncomfortable. I would recommend sizing up at least one if not two sizes for this dress. Will try again though because I do love this pattern!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 31, 2017
Perfect dress for co-workers wedding!
Loved this dress! I wore a 2 over the 0 for a little looser more "shift" fit. Great for short gals like me! This dress was actually a backup that was sent out when there was a problem with my backup size and I chose it over the original dress I ordered! Would rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 9, 2017
So comfortable and so many compliments!
Wore this to a charity fundraiser with a Studio 54 theme. It was so comfortable and I got so many compliments at the event and after at the bar too! Love this dress. Wish I owned it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
April 9, 2017
Great dress, but short
I'm 5'-3" 110 lbs and the 2 fit perfectly. I should have listened to the other reviews because this dress is short! I did receive a lot of compliments throughout the night and it was comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 10, 2017
Really flattering and great quality!
Would recommend
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
August 15, 2010
Uber cool with black tights. A sweatshirt lining is second skin comfy and a structured overlay and shoulders turn a pear shape into an hourglass.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
August 24, 2010
Love this dress! It's easy to wear and very comfortable, though the thicker lining makes it a better wear for the Fall/Winter, rather than the Summer. The cap sleeves are a bit small for those with broad shoulders but I'd highly recommend the purchase.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
September 6, 2010
This dress is awesome. My body type is some where between athletic and petite. I have small shoulders and not very wide hips, so I ordered a 2 and it fit perfectly. I could have gone down a size but, like another reviewer, I agree it does runs narrow through the hips. The way that the shoulders are cut, it gives a perfect hour glass shape. I paired it with the silver version of the Gemma Redux necklaces pictured and it looked awesome! The sweatshirt lining is very thick so I wouldn't recommend it for a hot summer night, but perfect for a cool night out or pair it with tights! I'm 5'5", 34-27-38 and ordered a size 2. Hope this helps! Happy Renting!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 28, 2010
Loved the structured nature of the dress and the cap sleeves. I got tons of compliments. It was short, which was a sexy zing to a conservative dress
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Apple
October 18, 2010
I absolutely love this dress! It is super comfortable, and the unique detailing is beautiful. I received many, many compliments when I wore this. If I had to say one thing about the fit, it's that there was excess fabric in the hip area; the shoulders fit fine for me.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Body type: Petite
October 24, 2010
First, when I got this dress, I thought it made me look a bit boxy from the side. BUT a pair of Spanx solved all that. I got a size 0 and wore it without tights. Paired with nude hidden platform stilletos and a few chunky necklaces, it really looked red-carpet amazing. I was very happy with the reception it got! I got a size 0 and at 5'4"/103 pounds, it was the perfect size..yay!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
December 5, 2010
This is a great, comfy dress and worked really well for my petite (read: short) but not tiny (read: curvy). I will caution: If you want to wear tights underneath you may want to go a size up, as the fabric will grip through the hips and may tend to ride up. Other than that it's super cute and worth the rental!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 9, 2010
I wore this to the Twilight Saga: Eclipse premiere and it was perfect. I was a little nervous, since I've got hips, that it wouldn't fit right but it ran perfect to size and it was comfortable. I was able to sit through the movie and party like a rockstar at the after party. I highly recommend this dress!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
December 20, 2010
This dress was as comfortable as it was beautiful. one thing to keep in mind: this dress is extremely short; I wore it with the suggested spanx sheer black super sharper tights and the dress was so short the thicker shaping section of the tights was just at the edge of the hem while standing; and an inch showing while sitting. Nevertheless, I received compliments all evening!
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 11, 2010
Awsome awsome awsome dress, I got compliments for days in it. The picture does not do the quality of the dress and intricate handiwork justice!!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
January 3, 2011
This dress was definitely a hit, the texture made it more unique other little black dresses, and I received many compliments. I do have to say though that for my body type (bigger hips and shoulders, smaller waist), the sizing was a bit off. While the dress was tight and form fitting around my shoulders/bust and hips, it was quite loose around my stomach and I had to wear a belt. I chose to wear a black braided one which actually looked cool with the texture/pattern of the dress, but I would have rather been able to wear it without. But overall, I was still really happy with this dress and would recommend it, especially to those who have a straighter figure.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Body type: Petite
February 18, 2011
I'm pretty petite so the 0 was teeny bit loose, but not noticeable to anyone but me. I was worried about the dress being too long but it is the perfect short length for shorties like me and SUPER comfy too!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 7, 2011
Very thick dress-too much fabric. I am all bust and then straight from there down so it just looked like I was wearing a huge dress. And I got it in a 0!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 11, 2011
Loved it! I wore this to a fall wedding with tights and felt so comfortable all night (and warm). I missed RTR's description of the length, so it was much shorter than I would typically choose and required some creativity when getting in and out of taxis.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
June 15, 2011
Loved this dress. Wore it without tights and it was very short. Wore a size two and it fit great, not to tight or loose. I don't have hips so it may be tight for those that do, 5'7 and 115 pounds.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 5, 2011
I got several compliments on my dress throughout the night!
I LOVED wearing this dress! I rented it for my Bachelorette party at the end of April in Philly. I thought it was incredibly comfortable - it has a sweatshirt lining which others have said makes it more of a Fall/Winter dress, but I disagree. I wasn't too hot in it, and we did drinks and dancing. The cap sleeves are a little snug, but I was expecting worse from those who complained about them in their reviews. They were just fine. For me, I'm 5 feet tall and about 115 lb...I ordered a 2 and a 4 and went with the 2. The length was perfect - a cute little mini skirt. I would definitely recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 15, 2011
Loved it :)
This dress looked amazing. I got many compliments. It's a much thicker material than I had anticipated. This made the dress more structured, not clingy. This makes it better for someone with curves. If you are fairly straight, it will look boxy. It definitely shapes the body. I'm short and the dress was very short even on me. But it's very sexy and different.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 2, 2011
I loved having a great classy dress for the occasion. The style and fit suited me perfectly.
I wore this to a rehearsal dinner for a wedding in Colorado. The jersey lining was comfy and warm when the evening started to get cooler. The dress was a little too short for me and made it hard to sit in, but other than that I loved the tailored fit and detailing.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 25, 2011
Very cute dress. I am pretty short and the dress was extremely short on me. Great for a cocktail party but be prepared for it to be itsy bitsy.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 9, 2011
This dress is amazing and I got so many compliments!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
September 14, 2011
When I rented this dress there was only a size 4 available. Normally I am between a size 4 and a size 6 (I'm 5'9'', 128 pounds, pear/hourglass). The size 4 fit well but it was REALLY short! Short as in, you can't sit down without people getting a peek:-) I wore it for my bachelorette party in Vegas so the length worked, but I would have liked to have compared it with the size 6 as I would have been more comfortable with a few more inches. Otherwise the dress was a hit and so much fun! I rented the "Tuleste Market Black Magic Earrings" paired with a matching bracelet I own and the outfit came together perfectly.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
October 11, 2011
Since I am almost a full foot shorter than the model I assumed that it wouldnt be short on me.....I was wrong. The dress was still too short to wear to a corporate event. Also I guess my torso is/was too short for the dress because I got this weird poofage in my back. :-( Pretty dress though it did not work for me.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
November 2, 2011
Gorgeous dress, very fashionable, but very short. Rented it to wear to a wedding and felt it was a little inappropriate for the occasion, even though I'm all for short dresses. I would rent this again, but only to wear to going out or with tights for a cocktail party.
See more reviews:
3 / 27

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×