Robert Rodriguez Collection

Cap Sleeve Swirl Mini

$40 rental
$660 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This Robert Rodriguez Collection dress is the perfect modern LBD for any season. This shift creates a spectacular shape on any figure and works with or without tights. The dress' jersey lining is so comfortable that you won't want to take it off. Shown here with the AV Max's On The Verge Earrings.

Also available in blue.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so size up in back-up size for full bust
WAIST: Fitted - embroidery conceals midsection and lower abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow so size up in back-up size for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types (Models height is 5'10". )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so size up in back-up size for full bust
WAIST: Fitted - embroidery conceals midsection and lower abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow so size up in back-up size for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types (Models height is 5'10". )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black 100% nylon embroidery. Short sleeves. Exposed back zip. Jersey lining. About 31" from shoulder to hem. Models height is 5'10".

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

862 reviews

Fit
Small 192
True to Size 580
Large 45
Photos 453
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95 lbs
Feb 7, 2015

Fancy yet very comfortable!!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Party
I wore this for NYE and it was absolutely perfect!! It looked very classy but extremely comfortable!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Bust size: 34C
Jan 26, 2015

runs very short, but adorable dress

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Formal Affair
thank goodness i got a second size because it ran small and the free larger size fit me way better
Kat
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 22, 2015

Perfect dress for a fun, dancing night!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for my homecoming and it was great! The dress was shorter than I expected so I decided to wear the 8 because it was a little longer than the 6. The dress fit perfectly otherwise! Overall, I would recommend this dress because it was comfortable and cute!
Morgan
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 21, 2015

Obsessed with this dress!! So many Compliments, but be very careful with the zipper!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fits pretty tight, but i liked the way it holds you in. Be VERY sure to buy 2 sizes because as I was going out the door my dress ripped and somehow i managed to get into the smaller size. Other than that loved the dress!
Rachel
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 11, 2015

Great dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for New Year's and got so many compliments. It was a little short and rode up a little but it wasn't a big deal. Like other reviews said, there was a little extra fabric in the stomach area but it was still really flattering. I would definitely recommend!
Brianna
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 18
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 11, 2015

I received so many compliments! I felt gorgeous

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Other
I loved this dress! I wore it to my senior homecoming and received so many compliments that night. I felt amazing. The dress was super super short. The material was a bit thick but it wasn't too much of a hassle. Overall it was a great dress and I enjoyed wearing it.
Jamie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Jan 8, 2015

Perfect NYE Dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is super comfortable, has great structure, and looks sexy at the same time with its shorter length. I wore it in Vegas on NYE and couldn't have been happier
steph
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 5, 2015

Great LBD for NYE!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I waited too long to rent a dress for NYE and I was a little skeptical about this dress because some of the reviews say if you're pear shaped or have a booty, this isn't the dress for you. I ordered the dress in a size 2 and 4 and the 2 was perfect for a sexy yet classy NYE look. This dress totally hugs your curves in all the right places and I was getting compliments all night! It was a little short, even on me but I was overall so happy with my first RTR experience!
lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 5, 2015

Fancy. Fun. Short.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This is the second time I've rented this dress. The first time I rented the cobalt blue version in a 12, which was entirely too big. This time I rented the black/grey in a 10, which was perfect, but fit more like an 8. Regardless.......it was perfect. It was party style short for NYE and totally amazing!!!
Meredith
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 1, 2015

I wore this dress for NYE, and it was PERFECT!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fabric is very thick, and does not stretch at all. Fits very true to size.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 22, 2014

I am obsessed with this dress!! It fit perfectly, I would definitely wear this again!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I am usually a 6 so I got the 4 and the 6 based on the reviews which said it ran a little big and this is a dress that you definitely don't want to have too tight. The size 4 was perfect! I absolutely loved this dress and would wear it again!!! Thanks RTR
Maria
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Bust size: 32B
Weight: 105 lbs
Dec 18, 2014

Awkward fit

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was made very well and was overall comfortable. It was incredibly short, even on someone as short as I am (5'2"). It fit great in the shoulders, bust and hip/thigh regions. However, it was like a loose garbage bag around my waist. It felt slightly stretched out in that area, perhaps from previous wearers. If you're looking for something fitted all the way down and you are similar in size to me, this is not your dress.
MZ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 17, 2014

I felt young and sexy wearing this dress.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was fitted in the hips and very short even on me (I'm only 5'2") but I liked the stretch and the fit. It's hard to find short dresses for my body. Very comfortable for a casual night out, party or cocktails. I wore it to my bachelorette dinner/drinks. I would wear it again. :)
Allie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Apple
Dec 12, 2014

Hugs in all the right places.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress hugs in all of the right places and was perfect for a work holiday party. It's on the shorter side, so don't forget the tights!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 10, 2014

I had a lot of compliments on the dress. Very cute, party style dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I ordered a size 4 and a 6 (I usually wear a 4). I am large chested and was worried the 4 would be too snug. I ended up wearing the 4 and it fit like a glove. The middle section (abdominal area) runs a bit large. I had no problems in the chest area, as a reference I am a size 32D.
Lucyluvy
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 9, 2014

Great dress - as long as you have no booty

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Party
This dress is an awkward fit and I ended up not wearing it. I'm an hourglass/pear, but have never worn larger than a 4 in a dress and am normally a 2. The 2 was way too small and the 4 rode up every time I tried to move. The top of the dress was too big, despite being a size C. This dress is made for apple or straight shapes.
Melanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Dec 8, 2014

Dress was so comfortable! Great fit!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my company holiday party. This dress was very comfortable! It's also thick which makes it warmer. I am always cold so it's perfect. It's very unique and I am only 5'2 so the length was good for me. As my first RTR dress I was very satisfied!
Mitzi
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 1, 2014

Ladies night out!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Super cute dress! I loved it...it was super short but still so so cute!
Shaun Nikole
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 30, 2014

The dress was perfect and so was customer service.

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Other
The size 6 fit perfect. I think I would've felt more comfy in the 8, but the zipper was broken on the dress. I rented the dress for my 30th birthday and got soooo many compliments. I'm tall so I was concerned about how short it would be. It was super short, but I felt amazing. Sitting was kinda weird because I felt like I was giving a peep show. Other than that no complaints at all. This won't be my last rental.
kate
Age: 24
Nov 30, 2014

Loved this dress!!! <3

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a wine mixer... And thank god I did!!! I felt amazing the whole night. It wasn't too tight and while I was concerned it would be too short... It wasn't!! I got tons of compliments on it and it definitely stood out. Ugh!! Wish I could buy it. But the experience was great and going to be renting again very soon. LESSON TO TAKE AWAY: rent this dress.
amanda
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Nov 27, 2014

Perfect dress for a fraternity formal

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Flattering fit all throughout the night, unique and different. comfortable sweatshirt material that keeps you warm.
Marie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 26, 2014

I wore this dress for my best friend's bachelorette party in New Orleans!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The fabric is very thick and doesn't stretch much at all. It was a cold night so it was perfect, but I wouldn't recommend for a summer night. The fit ran a little small, but overall was a great option for my night out!
Christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 24, 2014

Short & classy

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Ended up with this since my 1st choice didn't fit, I wore this on a cold night although it was short sleeve (& the shoulders were a bit constricting) because it was a thick material. Understated sexy.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Nov 24, 2014

Loved it and will rent again !

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Party
The pattern is awesome. Very thick fabric. Has small shoulder pads which was odd but did make the dress look better. The 0 was still a tad large and wish it hugged just a bit more on me.
Sarah
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 23, 2014

SO fun talking to all the ladies who also got their dress from RTR!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am normally a size two, which fit fine, but it was a little bit too tight and short for the occasion. I made a last minute switch to the 4 and it fit perfectly! It is a very heavy material and the shoulder pads felt awkward at first but ended up being just fine! Perfect LBD for the night!
Sara
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 19, 2014

I had a great date and a great dress... what more can a girl ask for?

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Really great dress! It was a little loose on my stomach, but thats not a bad thing :) The dress was really comfortable and easy to move in.
Bella
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 18, 2014

This dress is absolutely gorgeous!!! I received a ton of compliments!! Everyone loved it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the size 0 and 2. Both fit, but I went with the 2 because the 0 was too short! It actually hides all your flaws and makes you look amazing! My husband absolutely loved it!
Jamie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 18, 2014

Showcased my booty perfectly

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to Spark's annual Black and Pink Ball, a not-for-profit I'm involved with that helps fund raise for women's organizations around the world. It is a pretty classy affair, though the crowd is young so I needed something elegant without being stuffy (or long). This dress fit the bill perfectly. I was nervous that the form fitting nature of the dress wouldn't fit my booty since I have wide hips (38") vs my waist (26"), but it was totally fine. Would totally rent again.
Jessica
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 14, 2014

Love this dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my birthday dinner/party with friends. It was short I am small so it was ok on me. I am am 5'3" so anyone taller may find it to be too short. It was very cold the night I wore it but it was surprisingly warm. I think it would also look cute with black tights for a more wintery look.
Abby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 11, 2014

The dress looks great and such great quality

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was alittle big up top, but wasn't anything major.
Julia
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 17
Body type: Straight & narrow
Nov 6, 2014

The dress fit great and was comfortable to move around in, also thick and warm.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Was a little short, but a length that I was comfortable with.
Mary Ann
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 60
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 4, 2014

I wore this dress for my best friend's son's wedding. I received dozens of compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
My main problem with dresses is the length, they are always too long since I am only 5'4. A common comment in the reviews of this dress was that it is "very short", which was a big factor in my choosing it. The size 4 was by far too tight, and although I felt the size 6 was a bit large over the hips, no one agreed with me, so I guess my concerns were unfounded! I felt great in this dress, the length was exactly what I wanted. Most people my age do not wear short dresses, and it is difficult to find one that isn't "too young" for me, but this was the perfect dress for me. This was my first Rent the Runway experience, and it couldn't have been smoother....I will absolutely be back! Thanks RTR!!
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 2, 2014

I received so many compliments and felt amazing!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was true to size but it was very short. I am 5'5 and was a bit self-conscious constantly pulling it down all night. It is an amazing dress and I absolutely love it but I think wearing it to a wedding where I was dancig around family members wasn't the best choice. This dress would be amazing for a night out and I probably would rent again for a different affair.
Emmie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Nov 2, 2014

Gorgeous dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was GREAT for my homecoming, although it did run a size or so small. And the material is stiff, not stretchy at all, making it slightly difficult to do extensive movement. And the dress is also very short. i did like how it looked, but if you don't like shorter dresses it isnt for you.
Jilliann
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 1, 2014

Great dress! Not for pear shapes, but never claimed to be

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I had been dying to rent this dress for months and finally had the perfect opportunity. I am sort of a petite pear--0 on the top, 4 on the bottom--so I went with a 2 and a 4 assuming I'd end up in the 2. However, as other reviews mention, this dress has NO STRETCH whatsoever and is on the short side, so I went with the 4. It fit nice and snug on the bottom but was a little loose on top, which I expected. I danced in it all night with no problems! I would definitely rent this dress again. Just beware--as my title suggests, this is probably better for hourglass or straight and narrow shapes because if you are curvier on the top or bottom like I am, one end of the dress will definitely fit differently than the other.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 30, 2014

Easy to deal with

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding. I received a ton of compliments. Fit tight on my chest but stomach area was lose. I was worried about the length but it was fine. I also had to try on with a few different bras achieve the right look. I would rent it again for a night out.
Cristina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 29, 2014

Great safety dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
So... I let fall season get the better of me and gained a few lb. I was going to a charity function and I wanted to get a dress that would hide the extra baggage and look great! I had a friend rent this dress in blue and she highly recommended it. I ordered a 6 and an 8 (I am usually a 6) and the 8 fit perfectly. The 6 was a tad too short. This dress was simple yet fun. So if you're looking for something that will look good for all body types, this is the dress!
Melody
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 26, 2014

It was nice to know exactly what I'd be wearing - no scrambling to find a new look from my closet.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I liked the texture of the dress and thickness, which helped me keep warm for the fall wedding I attended. It required just simple accessories and worked well with flats. However, it was even shorter than I expected so I ended up wearing a black dress under it to extend at least an inch. It was so short you could see the darker part of the shaper part of my pantyhose when I sat! The larger size was not longer and was just too big so went with my real dress size. I wore "Assets" tights by Sara Blakely (Spanx brand at Target). Nobody really complemented the dress but my friend thought I lost weight.
Ayana
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 22, 2014

Rented for a date night -- ended up being my engagement dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was perfect for celebrating an anniversary with my boyfriend -- even more perfect when he surprised me with a proposal! Photographs well and I got a million compliments -- will warn that it does run VERY short. Wore it with heels and had to be very careful when sitting down/getting up.
Ariana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 22, 2014

Obsessed with this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first time using RTR and it will not be my last. I wish I could own this dress forever! I was worried it would be super short based on the reviews but I thought that it was fine, even for a wedding. The material was nice and thick and the size 4 fit me perfectly. It was a really comfortable dress to wear all night long and I got tons of compliments on it. I might even rent the blue one for a friends birthday weekend next month!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×