Candlelight Romance Shift

$277 to buy
$395 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look fabulous for your date night by wearing this lady like shift by Robert Rodriguez Collection. A cuff like the Kendra Scott's Gold Sanskrit Cuff is all you need to complete this flirty look.

Also available in turquoise.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch and no zipper
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch and no zipper
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace. Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Scalloped hem. Inner nude slip. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
540 reviews
Fit
Large258
True to Size209
Small21
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
July 22, 2016
Very pretty!
Ran a bit big.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 24
May 26, 2016
Very flattering
The dress was very comfortable and flattering! I am 5'6'', 120 pounds and the 2 fit me perfectly (I usually am between 2 or 4, but found the 4 to be a little loose). The dress was the perfect length while standing but did seem to bunch up and feel very short while sitting. Also, while it is a looser -shift style, it managed to be form flattering while still being loose enough to allow you to eat all of those wedding snacks without it showing. Would highly recommend! Would definitely buy this dress if I could.
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
May 8, 2016
First dress from RTR. Great experience.
This was my first order from RTR and I have to say it was a great experience. I wore this dress to a work function and it was the right length and fit for the event. The dress does run a size big so I would recommend ordering a size smaller than you normally do. I usually wear a size 8, but the 6 fit perfectly. My only complaint about the dress is that the underlining isn't sewn to the dress. I wore stockings with it and the lining kept riding up because of the stockings. If you don't wear stockings then it's a not an issue. Other than that I thought the dress was great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
May 7, 2016
Perfect for a Cocktail attire event
I wore this dress to a fall Bat Mitzvah. It looked lovely. It was conservative enough that I felt comfortable in the service, yet still felt like a great party dress for the evening party that followed. It would probably be flirty short on a taller woman (I'm only 5-3). It was very comfortable and I am generally very sensitive to lace or other itchies.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 137lbs
May 6, 2016
Friends, good food and drink, and my amazing dress
It fit well, made of comfortable fabric with enough give to be forgiving. I added a belt to accentuate my figure, since I'm a bit top-heavy. Overall, a great dress to have a birthday adventure in.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 26, 2016
Loved this dress!
Unfortunately, I don't have a picture of this dress. But, it fit great. Had a bit of a stretch to it. Perfect for a Holiday party. Really comfy but super classy at the same time.
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Age: 31
April 20, 2016
Comfortable and flattering!
I wore this for a bachelorette party and it fit right in from dinner to dancing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
April 16, 2016
Finally seeing the Lion King on Broadway!
I normally wear a 6-8 and sized down per the advice of previous reviewers. I ordered a 6 and 4 and ended up wearing the 6 only because the lace arms on the 4 were a little too tight, otherwise I would have went with the 4. I normally don't like lace dresses with nude slips underneath because I'm a black woman, so when I'm "nude" I'm brown and not the standard "nude" color. Therefore, a nude underlay doesn't have the same effect on me as it would have on a lighter person. I chose the dress anyway though because I liked the style and length, but a wasn't 100% happy because of the underlay. Overall, I would choose this dress again if I was in a pinch and needed a sure thing, but otherwise I would keep looking.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
April 14, 2016
Great Dress for small chested
I rented this for my mother in law and she wore to a wedding. It looks fabulous on her! She's about 5'5" and currently an A cup and weighs probably about 115.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 11, 2016
Beautiful dress
I wore this for a birthday dinner, the 4 and 2 fit well, I went with the 2 as I wore black tights and it being a bit shorter didn't bother me. Had I wore nylons I may have worn the 4 to give a little extra length.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 4, 2016
Dressy and comfortable
This dress fits true to size and is a shift so it's not super clingy but definitely comfortable. It is a little bit short but the length was great for the cocktail event I wore it to. Also, I didn't find the arms to be tight like some of the other reviewers. Beautiful dress for a special occasion!
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 144lbs
April 4, 2016
Received tons of compliments, fit nicely!
Fit was great, perfect for a wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
April 3, 2016
Stunning LBD perfect for Christmas charity brunch. Very comfortable!
I really, really liked this dress! I wore it to a formal Christmas brunch for a local charity event. It was very flattering & forgiving for trouble spots. I wore the size 6 since it was slightly longer & I didn't want to tug on a short dress while sitting. I would highly recommend for a winter event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 137lbs
March 19, 2016
Look great in lace!
Rented for my birthday dinner w my fiancé. Rented the 6 and 8 and wore the 6. Very comfortable and not too tight in the arms and a little baggy. Not form fitting but still looks good. When sitting, the back was a little short but overall a great rental! Received a ton of compliments all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 115lbs
March 13, 2016
This dress was perfect!!
This dress runs VERY big!!!! I originally ordered a 4 and 6 and needed a 2 overnighted to me. The lace is beautiful and it's the perfect length...not too short at all!!! I loved it and would rent it again in a heartbeat!!! RTR customer service was amazing in helping me get the right dress!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 12, 2016
Amazing dress and selection
Fit as expected
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 142lbs
March 2, 2016
Wore this to a cocktail party the night before a wedding.
Dress was very comfortable and slimming.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 1, 2016
Was a solid backup choice
This was a backup dress since the one I rented became unavailable, I was looking for something a little different since everyone wears lacy, sleeved dresses lately. That being said, it fit well, was super comfortable and was great for the wedding I attended.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
March 1, 2016
Super cute dress. Wore it to casual wedding and it was perfect
Fits true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 1, 2016
Felt amazing!!
Ran a little big!!
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165lbs
February 28, 2016
Perfect sexy dress
Loved this dress. Classy and sexy. I wear a normal size 12 but this dress runs large. I wore the size 10 and if fit perfectly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 26, 2016
Perfect for a fancy night out!
This dress was classy and comfortable. It was a little big in the waist so I just used a thin robe belt. That also lifted it a bit since I'm short. A great dress for any winter time occasion.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 26, 2016
This dress was gorgeous! I had dozens of people compliment me and ask where I got it.
This dress was incredibly comfortable and true to size. The only downfall was that it rides up when you sit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
February 19, 2016
Simple, elegant dress
A surprisingly great dress. It fit perfectly, and could work for almost any occasion. I would rent this again and it was my back up dress but ended up being the one I wore because I liked it so much!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 130lbs
February 18, 2016
I would 100% rent this dress again! So comfortable and the prefect dress for a fall wedding.
I typically wear a size 4. I wore the size 6 because it ran a tad short. The dress was a little stiff to dance in.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
February 15, 2016
Very comfy dress for a Valentine's dinner!
This is a true sheath dress-- yes, its not very fitted but that's what I was looking for! I wanted to feel great after eating a 4 course meal. I ordered the 0 and 2, the 0 fit perfect so I didn't even bother trying on the 2. I wore the dress with tights and booties.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 134lbs
February 7, 2016
The dress fit perfectly!
The dress was perfect. The dress fit very nice. #EngagementDinner
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Age: 36
January 31, 2016
Perfect dress, comfortable & cute!!
Received many compliments and it was truly comfortable! Cute with black or gold heals!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
January 15, 2016
Perfect little black dress
It was a perfect little black dress, although it is a sheath -- it runs HUGE! but it still looked great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
January 15, 2016
This dress is very flattering and would seem to appeal to many shapes and sizes.
I felt very good in this dress. It fit appropriately and was perfect for me to wear to an evening work event for my husband. My only complaint was that some of the lace was pulled and had created pilling and snagging on the dress. It had arrived that way, so it seems that the particular dress I wore had just seen better days and is maybe nearing retirement. 😬 Jewelry can snag easily against the material, especially when putting it on and taking it off. That being said, I would definitely rent it again and my husband wished I could buy it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
January 10, 2016
Great first experience
It was my first time using RTR. I got it on time and there were no issues at all with the delivery. I wore the dress for a January wedding and I got a lot of compliments on the dress. I ended up wearing the 10 instead of the 8 bc of the skirt length. I am on 5'5" and thought the size 8 was too short. Also, I have a larger chest so I was able to felt more comfortable in the 10.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
January 6, 2016
I got a ton of compliments on the dress! Very wedding appropriate.
Being a shift dress, I knew it would run rather large. It still was flattering and was very appropriate for a winter wedding. The slip fit well, it wasn't too clingy so it never rode up. I'm 5'-2", and it was the perfect length. On a taller person, it may be a bit short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 4, 2016
Not flattering (on me at least)
I rented this for New Years' Eve but did not end up wearing it because I felt like it made me look like I had a large tummy area (which I don't) and no chest at all - it just did not show off any of my good features and seemed to highlight the bad ones. This dress would probably look best on someone a little bustier - just didn't fit my body type well.
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 1, 2016
Great first RTR experiencei
Many compliments on the dress! I am petite, and it ran slightly large for my frame- although I know this is the style. I still went with it and felt confident all night! Great first experience with RTR, so easy to rent, wear and return! Will make sure to read reviews more closely next time for sizing!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
December 31, 2015
OK dress, not as flattering or fancy as I had hoped
I rented this dress to wear on NYE. I'm a true 6/8 - half the time the six fits, half the time the eight does. Only the 8 was in stock, so I took a chance as a lot of the reviews said that the dress was a little tight in the arms and bust. I'm small, but have a big bust and big hips...you know how it goes. Anyway, this dress came early and I tried it on. Not the perfect NYE dress for me. It was a little baggy and just didn't give off the WOW look I wanted for NYE. I had another house party that night so I decided to belt it and wear it out. I'm glad I did. It looked cute with the belt. I started to wonder if the six might have given me more shape and been a better overall fit. The dress is very pretty and super comfortable, but probably not the best "special occasion" outfit...at least for me.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
December 23, 2015
Wore for a rehearsal dinner. Lots of compliments. Elegant look for a great rental price.
Fits true to size. Good length - hits about mid-thigh for 5'6.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 21, 2015
Perfect "cocktail attire" for my company Christmas party.
I needed a cocktail dress that was also conservative enough for my company Christmas party. This dress was perfect for that. I'm only 5'2, so it wasn't nearly as short on me as it is on the model. Keep in mind that it is a shift dress - It's not form fitting. I'm busty, so the size 2 barely fit me around the chest, but it was quite loose around the torso. It was comfortable, flattering and easy to move around in. I'd definitely recommend this dress.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 45
December 19, 2015
I loved the ease of renting from RTR!! Always a great experience!
What an elegant, classy little black dress! This was perfect for my event! I love the simple sheath style and the fact that it was a great length for me. I'm only 5'1" so it's difficult to find a dress that's a good fit for petites. Even my husband loved it! Will definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 19, 2015
Very cute and comfortable dress!
This dress was super cute and comfortable! I thought it was a little big, I wish had a 2 just to see the difference. But overall great dress. I wore it to and upscale NYC party and it was perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 16, 2015
quite short
i rented this and another dress for a december wedding. like other reviewers have said, i found the dress pretty short. i thought that, since i was 5'5" i could get away with it but i couldn't pull it off. the size 6 fit me but for it to have looked like a shift dress, i probably should have ordered the 8. the 6 was a little form-fitting
See more reviews:
1 / 14

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×