Rent the Runway

Robert Rodriguez Collection

Candlelight Romance Shift

$30 rental
$395 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look fabulous for your date night by wearing this lady like shift by Robert Rodriguez Collection. A cuff like the Kendra Scott's Gold Sanskrit Cuff is all you need to complete this flirty look.

Also available in turquoise.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch and no zipper
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch and no zipper
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace. Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Scalloped hem. Inner nude slip. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

458 reviews

Fit
Small 18
True to Size 183
Large 239
Photos 232
Kelly
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 22, 2012

Comfortable, classy-- perfect for dinner and dancing

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Runs a bit large in the body, but tight in the arms.
stacey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Jan 1, 2013

Classy, yet sexy!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for a New Years Eve wedding. Perfewct for the occasion and recieved a ton of compliments! This dress definitely runs a little large. I typically wear a size 2, but had read the recommendations that said to order a size down as well. Unfortunately RTR was out of the size 0 for New Years Eve (I ordered very last minute). The 2 worked, but I wore it with a black patent skinny belt to give me some shape. It was huge on me and looked a bit like a potato sack without the belt. The belt totally made the dress though, and looked great. I was comfortable all night and felt very classy, but sexy too. My husband loved the dress as well. Would definitely rent again!!
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

Adorable black lace dress - could be great for any occasion!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Overall, I loved this dress. The lace is a really pretty pattern is a nice quality. The lining is soft and comfortable. Important to note that this lace does not have any stretch in it. I tend to carry my weight in my hips and butt, and was totally comfortable in the 8, but probably could have worn a 10 as well. All the other reviews said that this ran big, but I didn't find that. It's a more straight fitting sheath though, so don't expect a nipped in waist. I added my own skinny belt to give the waist a little more shape. The other thing that I would add is that for someone on the tall side (5'11") the dress was short. Once I put tights on, I felt great, but before I felt a little bit naked. Overall, loved the dress!
Jill
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Jan 2, 2013

Great NYE Dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a NYE party and received so many compliments. One of my favorite dresses I've rented so far, and would definitely do it again!
Micaela
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 11, 2013

LOVED IT!!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress out for my birthday in December! I absolutely loved the look! It ran a little big through the waist so I added a belt and it worked perfectly!
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 15, 2013

Runs HUMONGOUS!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented this in size 2 for New Years as a back up - it really does run ENORMOUS. I was *swimming* in the size 2. SIZE TWO! I belted it (see second pic) and that helped (because it honestly looked like a bag on me), but it was still way too big and bulgy (see third pic) for a New Years Eve dress. Order at least two sizes down, and prepare to belt it regardless. It was a nice quality, and it should be noted that the slip is completely detached - there's a skin colored cami/slip, and then the silk sheath that goes over. It looked like they used to be attached by a loop at the shoulders but was no longer attached.
Kara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 20, 2013

Great dress! Comfortable yet exudes class!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this for a fundraising event for a non-profit organization I am involved in and I received tons of compliments about it. The dress was comfortable and easy to run around in during the fundraiser. I would highly recommend this dress and would definitely order again. Maybe pair it with a skinny belt to try to had more shape to it, but it was perfect for me!
Alicia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 27, 2013

the next LBD

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I had a poor first experience with RTR but was willing to give them another shot since they were very accomodating. First off, I have a very difficult time shopping for my body. I am 5'3'', 133 lbs., 34C/D, the biggest part of me is around my middle and my legs are my best feature. I'm pretty atheletic. This dress definitely runs large, I'm pretty standardly a 6, but wore this in a 4 and I bet I could have even gotten into a 2. The arms were not too tight and I am by no means a super lean girl. I did not cinch in with a skinny belt like others were doing because I like being comfortable. The length was perfect for me, it hit roughly 6-8 inches above my kneecap, which gave it a sexy factor without looking inappropriate. It was perfect for the fancy dinner and Broadway show afterwards. I got tons of compliments on this dress, it looked AMAZING and was comfortable to wear. I will definitely be renting this dress again for future events.
Reina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 28, 2013

Perfect dress to a date to a really special meal.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I love the fit of this dress! Very cute, very dressy and classic. My boyfriend loved the dress!
Laura
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 28, 2013

I LOVED this dress! Wish I could afford to buy it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
It fit perfect (although I went down a size). I usually don't pull off shift dresses, but this one looked great, even without it belted. The hem length was perfect too, because I am short I was worried it would be too long, but it wasn't. Would definitely wear again!
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 28, 2013

Great dress, very forgiving.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great dress. Conservative, yet still flirty. Perfectly appropriate for the January event I wore it to. Because I'm so short, I wanted a dress that wouldn't overwhelm me and if you have great legs, this is a great dress to show them off in. Also, after having two babies I'm not yet back to my ideal size and shape. This dress is very forgiving around the midsection. If you have a killer shape and tiny waist, this probably isn't the dress for you, but if you're looking for something with a big of give, it's a good choice.
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Jan 29, 2013

Just the right amount of sexy

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress definitely ran large but thanks to all of the fabulous reviews, I was able to pick the right size! The belt added some waist definition and the nude pumps drew even more attention to the gorgeous detail of the dress. I absolutely loved wearing it! Unfortunately, so did the 4 other ladies at the event. Regardless, we bonded over our amazing fashion sense and Rent the Runway experience!
Mel
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 4, 2013

Felt amazing in this dress. SO many compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I originally wanted to wear the black Badgley Mischka dress to my works winter social event. I ordered the Robert Rodriguez as a back up. Last minute, a friend needed a date, so my friend came with. The BM dress fit her perfectly, and I was more than happy to wear to RR. I wish I had a size 4 since the 6 was a little bigger, but I put a black patent belt on and was good to go. It looks amazing with nude platform heels! Overall, this dress (AND the Badgley Mischka) was a HIT.
Christina
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Feb 5, 2013

A great dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress. The 0 was a bit tight in the shoulders, loose at the waist, and fitted through my hips but the 2 was way, way too big. After wearing it for about an hour though the arms stretched out a bit and it fit perfectly. I did tried belting it but found it looked better on me without the belt.. I got so many compliments on it!
Jennifer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 11, 2013

The dress was beautiful, definitely runs large, and it fit my body a little awkwardly.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is beautiful, I just think it probably wasn't the right dress for my body type. I'm short with short legs, big bust, and a long torso. The arms and bust fit perfectly, but the middle area was very loose and just looked too big. I added a belt, but there was still just a lot of excess material hanging around. I'm usually a size 4 and wore the size 2, but I probably could have worn the size zero and been more comfortable. Overall a great dress, definitely runs large, and probably not for every body type.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 18, 2013

Great dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress! Fit was perfect! I'm only 5'2", so might be a tad short on a tall girl. I chose to belt it to define my waist. Overall the dress was great!
Hillary
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 19, 2013

This was a great experience!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first time renting from RTR and it was a great experience! I was a little (lot) nervous about waiting so close to the event to have my dress, but having the 2 sizes was a life saver!. After reading the reviews from other renters, I order the 6 and 4. I am usually a 6, but this dress was boxy and the fit was large. I ended up with the 4 and was really comfortable. The return was a no brainer as the prepaid/labeled envelope is included in the package along with a goodie bag of fashion tape and shave gel. I highly recommend this site and I did to anyone that asked at my event!
Kathleen
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 19, 2013

Perfect dress for downtown Philadelphia wedding in October

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
True to size, very comfortable, classy dress, had a ton of compliments, especially from the guys- they loved the lace! Could wear this to holiday parties and other formal events, not too short or too tight. Sorry I don't have more pics!
Kellie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 22, 2013

Easy service

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress! As other reviewers stated, this dress runs slightly large. However, it is also short. I'm 5" and it fit me fine, but anyone over 5' 4" might find it short. I also recommend a belt for added shape. Would rent again!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127 lbs
Feb 26, 2013

Fun Dress for Cooler Weather

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This one wasn't my favorite dress I've rented (my husband thought it was just ok too), but I did receive several compliments throughout the night. Great to show off your legs but runs a bit large.
Cymone
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123 lbs
Mar 3, 2013

I received tons of compliments! Hot dress without being too revealing!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wasn't sure how I felt about this dress at first. the belt definitely helped but I thought It might be too frumpy. Initially I couldn't choose between the two sizes, but then decided that the 2 was definitely a lot baggier. So went with the 0 and it was a great choice! The arm length is perfect. I recieved a TON of compliments! I paired it with patent leather peep toe heels...perfect!
Veronica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 14, 2013

Nice dress, little boxy around the waist, but belting it works. Good for a nice dinner & eve out.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I decided to give this dress another try in a smaller size and was glad I did. It was so comfortable, elegant and pretty, while being just a little sexy, too.
Keri
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Mar 29, 2013

Great dress for work parties/events

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Like most of the reviews on here have said, this dress runs a little on the big size. I ordered a 4 & a 6, but ended up wearing a 4 (and probably could have been ok in a 2). I belted it to give it a little shape, but it also looked cute as a traditional shift style. The length was perfect - short but not inappropriate, as I wore this to an awards party for work. Received lots of compliments on the dress, which I paired with a Kenneth Lane cocktail ring and DVF clutch, both from RTR. Very happy with this rental!
Briana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Apr 1, 2013

Simple and sophisticated.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a February wedding (I wanted something with sleeves. It looked great on but as others have noted the fit is kind of weird. It was baggy and does not have a zipper so I was glad I followed the advice of others and wore it with a black belt. I wished the skirt was just a bit longer as I was sitting in church, but overall it didn't disappoint.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134 lbs
Apr 2, 2013

Nice dress, not ideal for hourglass or pear body types

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was very pretty. I wore it to work and then out for a date night. The fit was not ideal for my body type, however. In general, I struggle with shift dresses because they hide the smallest part of my body, my waist. I wore this with a black belt to cinch the waist, but there was a lot of fabric bunching and it made look larger/thicker than I am. In general, shifts are probably better for girls with smaller hips.
Annie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 21, 2013

LOVED wearing this dress!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress was everything I hoped it would be. It runs a little big and I ended up belting it, but I got so many compliments on it. I highly recommend this dress.
Deena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 29, 2013

Perfect formal affair dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was exactly what I had anticipated related to the reviews. It ran large and boxy and definately needed a belt for my body type. It was the perfect length for me, but may run short for taller women. All in all I was very pleased with the entire experience and will definately use this service again.
Hdavis97
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
May 9, 2013

Beautiful, comfortable, sophisticated cocktail dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfect for my husband's dressy cocktail event with work. It ran a bit big, but simply adding a belt to cinch it in at the waist made for a wonderful silhouette. I have never been as comfortable at a dressy event as I was in this dress. I have a decent sized bust and often find dresses too tight if it fits the rest of my body, but not this one. The short length gave it a bit of sex appeal, but was still conservative elsewhere. It was perfectly sophisticated, yet fun.
Jamie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
May 13, 2013

Runs VERY large!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I was very surprised at just how large this dress runs. I read the reviews so I ordered my normal size and a size down... I could have ordered two sizes down in this one! It fit okay so I ended up wearing it, but I would have preferred it to fit a little bit more snug. Overall, it's a beautiful dress but I probably won't be renting this style of dress again.
Brittany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 113 lbs
May 14, 2013

Great evening dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a November wedding and loved it. Got a ton of compliments and it was super comfortable (though a bit short, even on my 5'3'' frame...hence the 4 stars). Runs a bit big, but nothing crazy. I was glad I had a black ribbon to synch it with. Would definitely rent again.
Kelly
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170 lbs
May 14, 2013

The dress was so comfortable and I had no problem dancing the night away and got SO many compliments

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
A little bit short for my personal taste!
Miranda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 15, 2013

Lots of compliments and so comfortable!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
True to size, wore it with a gold belt to cinch in the waist. Perfect for our work holiday party! Got lots of compliments and so easy to do. So glad I rented!
Jamie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 22, 2013

Great for a holiday party

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a holiday party. It ran a little large but looked better with a belt.
Stacey
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 2, 2013

Perfect!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to my daughter's graduation and for the party we held for her after the ceremony! Perfect hostess dress for this early summer evening party! It's very comfortable and I got MANY compliments!
Mary
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 7, 2013

LOVED it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for an early fall party at my beach club and I loved it. It was well made and pretty much exactly what I expected from the picture. I don't have a defined waist so I usually wear shift type dresses like this one. I rarely (if ever would) belt a dress but I did with this one. I used a thicker patent leather belt but a black satin ribbon might have worked as well. The only draw back is that the dress is short to begin with and when it's belted it gets even shorter. I got many compliments and I would rent it again.
Kala
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Sep 13, 2013

Elegant, sexy and comfortable

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for engagement pictures and felt elegant and feminine. It is very comfortable, but was a bit long on my 5'4 frame. It was also a little larger than I had expected, but still looked very flattering. This dress would be gorgeous for a date night, girls night out, or wedding. I would definitely wear this dress again!
Kristen
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 14, 2013

Amazing dress & amazing RTR experience!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first time using RTR & I was a little nervous about how it would turn out but I am so happy I did! I finally narrowed my choices down to this dress & ordered a size 4 & 6. I am 5"8 & 135 lbs & usually wear between a 4 & 6 in clothing. The 6 was a bit too baggy but the 4 fit great. I wore a gold belt to give it a little more of a waist (which also shortened it a bit more but since I was wearing tights nbd). It was perfect for an April wedding in Vail. I got so many compliments & loved the way the dress looked & felt - it was super comfortable & I had plenty of room to dance the night away. I was so happy with the entire experience & am currently placing an order for a Chicago wedding at the end of this month. Also have a few more dresses picked out for other weddings in October & November :). I would absolutely wear this dress again though & have is saved in my favorites for when I decide to do so.
Nic
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 13, 2013

Great dress! Super comfortable and easy to wear!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit true to size. Great length on me at 5'7".
Kathleen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Oct 16, 2013

Incredibly comfortable, easy to wear showstopper.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I went with the larger size because the 4 was a *bit* short and tight in the bust. There are no zippers in this dress: pull over style which I found comfortable. Roomy enough to dance in and doesn't get too warm as the underslip is sleeveless. The recommended necklace looked great too.
Melissa
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 4, 2013

Gorgeous dress, lots of compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I normally wear a large shirt and size 8 pants and dresses. The size 8 was very large. The size 6 fit pretty well, but I might have even been able to squeeze into a size 4 (if you're looking for a tighter fit). I had a belt that I thought I would wear to cinch the waist, but after adding the dangling earrings and long necklace, I didn't think a belt was necessary. I wore the dress with high-heeled ankle boots, which really completed the look!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×