Candlelight Romance Shift

$30 rental
$395 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look fabulous for your date night by wearing this lady like shift by Robert Rodriguez Collection. A cuff like the Kendra Scott's Gold Sanskrit Cuff is all you need to complete this flirty look.

Also available in turquoise.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch and no zipper
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch and no zipper
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace. Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Scalloped hem. Inner nude slip. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
513 reviews
Fit
Large254
True to Size201
Small19
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
February 19, 2015
He stood me up... on Valentine's Day. But I rocked the dress anyway.
He told me, "You're going to want to rent a sexy dress for this." So I chose this dress for a Valentine's Day evening dinner at a surprise location, followed by tickets to see Harry Connick, Jr. in our favorite new venue, all after a day of fun together playing golf and hitting a spa. Long story short, he stood me up, disappearing days before and not getting in touch with me for days after. Amazing friends and family swooped in, and by the end of the day, I'd been to a spa for a day, had my hair done, and had a dinner date set up by/with two of my best friends at a gorgeous hotel. So I got to wear this gorgeous dress after all. This extremely elegant and classy-with-bite dress is meant to be a sheath, so it's supposed to be roomy and "suggest" your shape, but not hold it. That said, if you want it more fitted, go a size down. Otherwise, the sizing was perfect. The length was mid-thigh, great for showing off sexy gams. Sitting at the bar was a bit of an adventure with the length, but at the table, I was comfortable. If you plan on dancing in this, don't to the YMCA (unless that's your thing). I paired the dress with warm-colored pearl earrings, a matching pearl bracelet, and no necklace - the dress is sexy enough, so you'll just go a little overboard with too much else. I borrowed a pair of Aldo nude wedge peep-toes to tie it up and make my legs look extra long, and carried a black clutch. I received TONS of compliments - as always with RTR dresses - and I absolutely plan on wearing this one again. This dress made me feel beautiful, sexy, and wanted on a day where I really needed it most. Thank you, RTR. You rocked my world again.
DonnaMarch 28, 2015
Wow Heather, you're stunning! That was definitely his loss!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
February 11, 2015
Effortless dress! Got so many compliments.
Conservative fit up top but length adds a little sexiness - it definitely runs on the shorter side. I'm 5'8 and ended up wearing the 2 even though the 0 fit because of the different in length and tightness across the backside area. The fit on the backside wouldn't have been an issue but since it was also short and I was going to a wedding, I wanted something a little more demure so I went with the size 2.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 137lbs
February 10, 2015
Loved Dress, Comfortable and Stylish
Loved this Dress! It was very comfortable and very flattering & Received so many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
February 8, 2015
Great dress, decided to belt it.
I received the dress the night I was going to wear it, so I didn't have a lot of time to play with the fit of the dress. Overall it was super cute - I decided to belt it to give it a little bit more shape on my body. The dress was longer than I expected on my frame; the belt helped with that as well.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
February 7, 2015
This was subtly sexy and incredibly comfortable! Perfect for the peak of a mountain in August.
Easy on stomach pouch and great length for legs! The 6 was a little short and snug in the arms, the 8 was perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
February 4, 2015
Comfortable yet classy, received several compliments
No cons, definitely looks best with nude heels
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
January 28, 2015
I rented this dress for NYE and it was absolutely perfect.
I read a ton of reviews before renting this dress and all were very spot on. I am short so the dress was not short on me at all and was the perfect length. I would say that this dress does run a little big. I ended up wearing the 8 but the 6 did not get to me in time. I tried on the 6 when I got it and it fit perfect. The dress was very comfortable. The cream under part of the dress did ride up a little bit and I found myself having to pull it down every so often but it was not that big of a deal. Also, normal bras can be work with this dress which is always a plus. I would definitely recommend renting this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 26, 2015
Super cute, exactly what I was looking for.
This dress is so comfortable. It's cute, sexy, and classy all at the same time. Loved it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Apple
January 23, 2015
Company Xmas Party
Super comfortable and classy. Loved it!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
January 18, 2015
Perfect for a fun night out celebrating a special occasion
Just long enough for a tall gal to pull off, but its cutting it close
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 16, 2015
Great Lace Dress
The dress was a true shift dress. I loved the lace on this dress but it didn't fit as well as I though it would. When it wasn't belted, it seemed to add pounds because it was baggier in the stomach area. I also felt like it was super short and had to be super careful when bending over. I wouldn't rent this dress again but love Rent the Runway and will be coming back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
January 14, 2015
"You look amazing"
Although the dress is very straight, and I was still curvy from my last pregnancy, the dress looked really nice. It didn't hug my tummy, which is what I needed. I got lots of compliments and I felt beautiful.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 14, 2015
Nice but not my favorite RTR dress.
Very nice dress, Lace is pretty. 4 fit true to size and was very comfortable although a little short for my taste. It was cold out so black tights worked out great. The middle was a little loose and I usually prefer something more tailored but it didn't look terrible. Overall I was happy but probably would not rent this style again.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Body type: Apple
January 13, 2015
LOVED the dress!
Fit perfectly and got so many compliments. This was the first time I rented from Rent the Runway and it was such an easy process...very satisfied and will def do it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
January 10, 2015
Great Dress that made an impression on people who usually see me in scrubs.
Dress was a lot shorter than I expected. It was above mid thigh and in the pictures looked like mid thigh and longer on most girls. Maybe it was just the set I got. The sleeves were a lot tighter that I would have liked. Probably should have gotten a 10/12 and not a 8/10
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
January 8, 2015
Middle too big
The mid section was big and baggy. Beautiful dress but I couldn't wear it. Size 4 was way too short
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 8, 2015
Pretty Dress, Runs Really Large
I rented this dress for a holiday party. I typically wear an 8 but since I read reviews that the dress runs large I chose the 6 as a backup. I wasn't able to wear either one because the 6 was still so big! Please rent a size down from your normal size and get the next smallest size as your backup. It was a pretty dress and I wish I had been able to wear it. RTR customer service is great and I received a full refund.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
January 7, 2015
Little Black Dress For Party
I wore this to a friend's engagement party. It's conservative for a black dress but still fun. I really liked the dress but likely won't rent it again. I couldn't get it to fit well. The 6 was a great fit (even a tad tight) in the shoulders and arms area but quite loose around the belly. I have smaller shoulders/arms so this isn't where most dresses are tight on me. The 8 was way too big.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
January 6, 2015
Wonderful fitting dress. You will not be disappointed. Lots of compliments on this piece.
Perfect dress for a winter wedding! No tights needed. This dress is super comfy. Just the right length, hitting mid thigh. Runs slightly big, as I would normally wear a size 8-10 in most dresses. It's forgiving in the mid section, but hugs the bust arms and butt. You will not be disappointed if you choose this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
January 5, 2015
Pretty dress - not for all body types
I did not end up wearing either of the dresses I ordered. I am usually an 8 and neither the 8 nor 6 fit correctly. I have larger hips and a smaller chest and the 6 fit my hips but was very loose on my upper body. I think this dress is best suited for straight and narrow body types or body types with more bust than mine.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Other
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 120lbs
January 5, 2015
Wonderful service as always!
This dress runs huge! After reading other reviews I ordered a 2 and a 4 (I typically wear a 4) and I definitely could have worn a 0 with this one! Overall a beautiful and comfortable dress!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 5, 2015
Wedding
Rented this for a wedding but the fit was small in the hips/across the thighs. If you are pear shaped I would recommend going a size up. Since they only had a 6 in stock and it was too small around the thighs, I had to return it.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
January 5, 2015
Love it. Got lots of compliments when I wore this.
Great length and a great fit all around.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
January 3, 2015
This was a great little black dress for New Year's Eve. It wasn't the typical LBD, and I loved that.
I rented this dress for New Years Eve and loved it. This dress fit me so well, and I got a lot of compliments. I listened to the other reviews, which said that the dress ran large, so I opted to get sizes 4 and 6. Both fit but the 6 was a little looser in the arms, which was better for moving around in. I would definitely suggest getting your normal size plus one size down just in case. I will definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
January 2, 2015
Very comfortable dress - great for curvy shapes and large busts!
I am a wedding photographer and was shooting a close friends' wedding, as well as attending as a guest, so I wanted to wear something comfortable I could move in but also looked nice for the day. I ordered three different dresses with different sizes, as I can fluctuate in sizing between designers - and this one was my absolute favorite! I received so many compliments, it was super comfortable and not too tight. I even threw on some cute heels after I was done shooting photos and danced all night. I will definitely be renting this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
January 2, 2015
I didn't wear this dress
I didn't wear this dress it to event. It's a very pretty dress but it was to short on me and I'm only 5'3"
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Body type: Pear
January 1, 2015
Perfect LBD with lace.
Although this dress was said to run big, I stayed true to my regular size. It is a little short, but great for NYE/party attire. It was very comfortable and flattering!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 190lbs
December 30, 2014
Simple yet elegant
The dress fit generally well and the lace was beautiful/comfortable. The lining of the dress tended to ride-up, so I felt I was constantly readjusting all night. I was surprised at how short the dress was, being that I'm only 5'5". I felt a little restricted with my movements at times and needed to make sure I was covered up when sitting down and standing up. The dress may not have been the best choice for a family gathering, but I would consider ordering again for a wedding or another occasion where the shorter length was more appropriate.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 30, 2014
This was my first experience with R2R and I was so pleased!
This dress was awesome! I ordered two sizes to try: my usual size 6 and a 4 since previous reviews mentioned the dress ran a bit large. I wound up wearing the 4 because it hugged my curves a bit better. I could have worn the 6 but I probably would have belted it to give it some more shape. I'd recommend this dress to anyone and would definitely wear it again if I could!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 26, 2014
Classy dress!
I am normally between a size 4 and 6. I tried on the size 4 first, and it fit perfectly. However, since this dress is essentially a nude spaghetti strap dress with a black, lacy, sleeved sheath, I opted to wear the 6 to allow more movement and to keep it from riding up so much. This is NOT a warm dress. I paired the dress with a hair fascinator as a necklace would have snagged the neckline too much. I wore this dress on a date to a high-end, luxury, 5-star resort and spa restaurant and I felt completely comfortable.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 25, 2014
So elegant!
Slightly big, but not worth going a size down in my opinion - might make it too short. I loved the fit, it was really comfortable and elegant for my holiday party. I wish I could have kept it!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 24, 2014
I wore this to a Christmas party and it was perfect for the event!
The overall fit was great! My only problem was that it rode up when I sat down so I had to wear leggings and boots to make me feel better and more comfortable when I sat down. I would recommend this dress for any occasion and definitely plan on renting it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 23, 2014
Dress was comfortable and classy!!!
I wore the same designer this summer in the teal and I loved it soI rented it again but in the black. so comfortable and classy! It does run big, I wore the six because it was a little bit looser in the shoulders for me but a little too loose in the waste but it still looks flattering and I paired it with a sexy pointed toe red heels and red necklace! Would rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
December 22, 2014
Appropriate for a winter wedding.
I got this in a size 6 and 4. The 6 was too big. The 4 was perfect for my upper body, but it was a little snug for my lower half. Based on the picture of the model, it looks like this was intended. However, this causes the dress to rise up, requiring you to keep pulling it down. Still, overall very flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
December 20, 2014
This was a great dress -- perfect for my office holiday party.
This dress was super flattering, really comfortable, stylish -- I LOVED wearing it (and my husband wished I could keep it!)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 174lbs
December 19, 2014
The experience was RTR was incredible. I will definitely do this again and recommend it to others.
Loved the dress and got lots of compliments! It was a little short, but I have a Kim K booty and long legs so that is a typical fit for me. (2nd from the left).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
December 18, 2014
Perfect Dress
I rented this dress for 8 days because I had two different events to wear it to. I wore the larger size (6) for a performance of the Nutcracker that my daughter was dancing in. I wore the smaller one (4) for my office Christmas party. Both fit fine but the 4 was a bit shorter/sexier. The photo is of the 6. There is an attached nude slip underneath and it's shorter than the lace. That means that you show quite a bit of leg. Fine standing up but when I sat down I was glad I had my napkin over my lap at dinner and my shawl in the theater.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 18, 2014
Everyone loved this dress!
I wore this dress to an office holiday party an everyone absolutely loved it. It runs slightly large, I often wear a 4 but ended up wearing a 2 to get a slightly tighter fit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 17, 2014
Beautiful dress - rent one size down!
I wore this dress to my company Christmas party - it was perfect! Loved the sleeves! Added a black ribbon tied around my waist as a belt! Wish I could keep this dress. Am usually a size 8 (bigger in the hips) and the size 6 fit perfect.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
December 17, 2014
Comfy and very elegant.
Runs large...very large. I read a few reviews and many people mentioned this dress was large - I should've listened. I ended up getting the 4 and 2 and wish I had ordered a 0. Other than being very wide, it was extremely comfortable and went wonderfully with the classic, elegant look I wanted for the black-tie wedding. I would definitely recommend.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 13

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×