Candlelight Romance Shift

$43 to buy
$395 retail
Stylist Notes

Look fabulous for your date night by wearing this lady like shift by Robert Rodriguez Collection. A cuff like the Kendra Scott's Gold Sanskrit Cuff is all you need to complete this flirty look.

Also available in turquoise.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch and no zipper
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black lace. Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Scalloped hem. Inner nude slip. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
549 reviews
Fit
Large
(258)
True to Size
(212)
Small
(21)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 27, 2012
Comfortable & Classy
Great for the fall wedding I attended! classy and chic! I loved the 1/4 length sleeves for the cooler time of year! I ordered a 2 and a 0, thinking I'd wear the 2 (my normal size) but the 0 actually fit perfectly and was not too short or tight. I do have pretty slender arms though and although sleeves were not tight at all, if you have athletic or bigger arms, etc, may need to go up a size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
December 3, 2012
Classy & elegant dress
This dress was just as gorgeous on as it was in the photos. I ended up wearing my alternate dress, but I will be ordering this again to wear to another event. Its classic, chic, and elegant.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 5, 2012
What a gorgeous dress!
I really loved how comfortable this dress was. I ordered the size 4 and 2 and the size 2 fit my perfectly (I'm usually a size 4). It did seem to be missing something, so I added the belt after reading some of the reviews. I got a ton of compliments on the dress throughout the night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 5, 2012
Didn't end up wearing it
A gorgeous dress, but it was way too baggy on me (the 0 was too loose).... I thought belting it would dress it down too much and didn't work with the style of the dress. I wish it fit! It was really pretty
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 8, 2012
I absolutely LOVED this dress in every way!!! RTR was fantastic to work with and everything rocked!
The size 2 ended up being perfect for me, but I thought I would need the size 4 so having the extra size was a LIFESAVER. The dress ran a bit large and the size 2 fit just perfectly, and I'm no stick figure. I'm curvy and it hung loosely in the right places and was just classy and gorgeous, and so uber comfortable. I loved every moment of wearing it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 9, 2012
Love this dress.
I received many compliments on this dress. I would recommend going a size smaller or even two sizes smaller. It ended up working out since it was a company Christmas party and I wanted it to be conservative.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
December 10, 2012
Classic and Sexy!
This dress was extremely comfortable. Luckily I read in the reviews that it does run large and ordered a size smaller than I normally wear. They did not have a back up available - but luckily the smaller size fit perfectly. I do have fulller hips, and the dress just did not look right with the belt I planned to wear - it pulled in all the wrong places. So I went sans belt and still felt great! Perfect dress for a Holiday party or winter cocktail event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
December 11, 2012
Beautiful & comfortable.
Suggest going down a size. Very forgiving but a size smaller would have been a lot more flattering. Great length for 5'7".
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
December 12, 2012
When everyone asked me "Where did you get that dress?!" and I could explain all about RTR!
This dress was very comfortable to wear and stunning with some gold jewelry. The wedding took place in December, so the color and the look worked great for a winter/fall wedding. My only concern about the dress was that the lace part was attached to the nude slip underneath. While this usually isn't an issue, the spanx I wore clung to the nude slip and sometimes made the dress move up. I had to frequently pull the dress back down while dancing. Also, I would have preferred to wear a belt with it to add some curves. Overall though, RTR was an amazing experience, great service, and I am already planning my next dress purchase for New Year's!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 14, 2012
Didn't get a chance to wear this dress.
I rented this as my second dress but didn't get a chance to wear it. Although, when I tried it on, it seemed a little big but when you add a belt it looks more fitting. It is also a litte more conservitave.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 17, 2012
Comfortable, conservative but sexy dress! LOVED wearing it & got tons of compliments!
I just had a baby in late summer and am not back to my pre-pregnancy weight yet. With an upcoming holiday party I was hesitant to purchase a new dress since I am still losing weight. This dress was soooo flattering and provided just enough "sexy" without being too tight or clingy. I got the size 4 and size 2, and ended up wearing the 2. It was a little loose in the stomach area, and I thought about belting it as I read others had, but decided not to in the end. It was comfortable and elegant, and I would definitely rent again! :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
December 20, 2012
Great dress!
Had the 4 been available, I think it would have been a better fit. However the 6 worked and I received a ton of compliments! I loved this dress and it's a great dress for multiple occasions!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
December 20, 2012
Loved the dress, ran a bit big
I ordered this dress in both a 0 and 2, since I normally wear a size 2. I am 5'1" 110 lbs, with a small chest and a fuller rear. Classic pear shape. The size 0 was considerable large on me, even though I wore it with a black patent bow belt to help cinch in the waist. The length was just above the knee, but I was hoping it would be shorter since it was kind of boxy. This is the perfect dress if you are trying to hide a tummy or a fuller rear since it is not form fitting at all. The sleeves fit nicely, but I have rather thin arms so I'm not sure how they'd fit someone with thicker arms. Overall, a beautiful dress, and very modest. I wore it to a ladies winter social night at my country club and it was perfect. I chose my "second choice" dress to wear the following night to my husband's company holiday party because the fit was a bit tighter on the other dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 21, 2012
Loved everything about this dress!
I normally wear a 6 in a dress but reading the other reviews, I went with a sz 4 and it fit great! The only con was that I couldn't keep the dress forever!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
December 22, 2012
Comfortable, classy-- perfect for dinner and dancing
Runs a bit large in the body, but tight in the arms.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 26, 2012
Great classy dress. Size down!
Wore this dress belted. Was weary to size down, but highly recommend to size down on this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 27, 2012
Large in mid-section
It was a very cute dress! Great length for a tall person but the mid-section was very big... Suggest going a size smaller or get a belt. I didn't have time to go a find one and didn't have a dressy enough one for the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 119lbs
December 27, 2012
My first rental from RTR and I couldn't be happier!
This dress was perfect for my work Holiday party! I received many compliments; I felt work appropriate, but with the perfect amount of sexy. I was only able to order a size 2 (which is what I usually wear), but a size 0 would have hugged my shape a little better. No complaints here -- looking forward to my next rental!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 31, 2012
Classy dress but runs large
It's a classy dress, but definitely runs large. Unfortunately I wore a size 0 and there's no smaller size for me to go down. Had to wear a belt to go with it, and it looked fitter with the belt. Still wouldn't recommend it to anyone petite.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 121lbs
January 2, 2013
Baggy
I ordered a 2 and a 4 and both dresses were pretty boxy and not form fitting. If you are looking for a fitting dress this probably isn't the best for you then! I'd also recommend getting a size smaller!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 170lbs
January 2, 2013
I'm in between a 10 and 12 and the 10 was too baggy on me. I would go down a size or 2 next time!
The fit was large and wished I ordered an 8 instead of a 10. I'm 5'2 and it was a perfect link but unfortunately too baggy through out and even tried adding a belt but it was just too large.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 4, 2013
Pretty dress, large fit
This is a very pretty dress that appears to be well made. I would however order a size smaller than you normally wear as this dress runs a little large. Also the dress is very loose fitting, and is not as flattering as I had hoped it would be. The photo on the website shows a much more flattering fit than it actually is in real life.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
January 5, 2013
Huge!
I ordered this as a backup dress, and I'm glad it was only that. I usually wear a 2 in designer dresses, but ordered a 0 in this dress because of the reviews noting that it runs large. The 0 was like a sack on me...it would have been doable with a belt, but not otherwise!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 7, 2013
So cute! But definitely runs big.
I'm 5'5 and I thought the length was perfect. I did have to add a belt as the dress was large in the waist area.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 9, 2013
It was pretty with the lace details. I had to wear a belt since it was a little loose.
It was a little loose but I wore a belt and boots and it was sexy. I like the short length.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 11, 2013
LOVED IT!!!
I wore this dress out for my birthday in December! I absolutely loved the look! It ran a little big through the waist so I added a belt and it worked perfectly!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 12, 2013
Cute dress
The dress was cute. I wish it would of fit better. I forgot a belt in a hurry to pack. I think a belt would of made it better. It just looked large on my petite body.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
January 14, 2013
Super cute but not a lot of shape to it. Got lots of compliments though!
Wore this for my husband's 30th bday. It was super comfy and roomy but does not do a lot for your shape. Very pretty detail in the lace.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 15, 2013
Runs HUMONGOUS!
I rented this in size 2 for New Years as a back up - it really does run ENORMOUS. I was *swimming* in the size 2. SIZE TWO! I belted it (see second pic) and that helped (because it honestly looked like a bag on me), but it was still way too big and bulgy (see third pic) for a New Years Eve dress. Order at least two sizes down, and prepare to belt it regardless. It was a nice quality, and it should be noted that the slip is completely detached - there's a skin colored cami/slip, and then the silk sheath that goes over. It looked like they used to be attached by a loop at the shoulders but was no longer attached.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 16, 2013
I felt comfortable and confident all night and received several compliments.
I rented this to my friend’s Fall wedding. I chose not to wear a belt, so at 5’ 7” the length was still modest enough for the traditional Catholic ceremony. This was my first experience with RTR and I loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
January 20, 2013
Great dress! Comfortable yet exudes class!
I wore this for a fundraising event for a non-profit organization I am involved in and I received tons of compliments about it. The dress was comfortable and easy to run around in during the fundraiser. I would highly recommend this dress and would definitely order again. Maybe pair it with a skinny belt to try to had more shape to it, but it was perfect for me!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
January 26, 2013
perfect shift!
As everyone has noted, this is much more of a "true shift" than a lot of the similar styles on RTR. Don't expect it to nip in at all at the waist; it's more flapper-ish, skimming around your body. (So, it's not exactly that it runs *really* big, though it does run a bit large; it's that the dress WANTS to fit you looser than other dresses. Either roll with it, or grab a belt!) The lace is soft and lovely, the slip creamier than the photo. SUPER comfortable, adorable with tights, generally an amazing dress for winter.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 55
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 27, 2013
This just kind of hung on me and I did not end up wearing it. Not a bad option but not great for me.
This was kind of boxy so I think it would be better for people with curvier figures. Really pretty dress though...
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
January 28, 2013
Loved the lace details-classy but fun!
The dress runs a little large, but after looking over reviews I belted the dress (patent leather skinny nude belt) and that worked well. I ended up going with a size 4, when I usually wear a 6. It was a little tight in the shoulders, but the wast area fit much better. The dress is a little short, so I wore opaque black tights with it. I got a ton of compliments on it!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 145lbs
January 28, 2013
I LOVED this dress! Wish I could afford to buy it!
It fit perfect (although I went down a size). I usually don't pull off shift dresses, but this one looked great, even without it belted. The hem length was perfect too, because I am short I was worried it would be too long, but it wasn't. Would definitely wear again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 29, 2013
Just the right amount of sexy
The dress definitely ran large but thanks to all of the fabulous reviews, I was able to pick the right size! The belt added some waist definition and the nude pumps drew even more attention to the gorgeous detail of the dress. I absolutely loved wearing it! Unfortunately, so did the 4 other ladies at the event. Regardless, we bonded over our amazing fashion sense and Rent the Runway experience!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
February 5, 2013
A great dress!
I loved this dress. The 0 was a bit tight in the shoulders, loose at the waist, and fitted through my hips but the 2 was way, way too big. After wearing it for about an hour though the arms stretched out a bit and it fit perfectly. I did tried belting it but found it looked better on me without the belt.. I got so many compliments on it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
February 5, 2013
Fun and classy
I think that this dress worked great for a wedding. Add a belt to give your waist some definition and you are good to go! May be a little short depending on your height.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
February 5, 2013
Yes, rent it. No seriously, do it.
wonderful dress, but enormous! i went with my backup smaller size and wore this to a cocktail event for the inauguration events. i got compliments, i was more covered than most ladies in the sub-20 degree weather, and i felt trendy. it's subtle sexy. i run marathons, but i have curves and a chest. go ahead and put this in your cart if this is you.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
February 7, 2013
Love this dress!
This dress definitely runs large. I normally wear a 2-4, but wore a 0 for this occassion. Very comfortable and I received tons of compliments!
See more reviews:
3 / 14

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×