Candlelight Romance Shift

$90 to buy
$395 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look fabulous for your date night by wearing this lady like shift by Robert Rodriguez Collection. A cuff like the Kendra Scott's Gold Sanskrit Cuff is all you need to complete this flirty look.

Also available in turquoise.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch and no zipper
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch and no zipper
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace. Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Scalloped hem. Inner nude slip. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
542 reviews
Fit
Large258
True to Size210
Small21
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Age: 47
August 11, 2015
Beautiful lace !
This dress is beautiful, the lace details are very elegant. It did run large, I ordered the 4, but could have worn a 2. The nude lining is form fitting, but the lace is a shift, it hangs, but looks great. I was worried when I first tried on, but it was comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 31
August 4, 2015
From girls' dinner right into nightclub.
I have a small bust and I'm bigger at the ribcage/wait, so this fabric was very flattering and almost hid the mid-section a bit. It was tight around my bust, but due to my large rib-cage, narrow women with bigger busts might be fine. I loved where it hit my legs.. right at the center of my thigh. I really wanted to keep it! My husband said he could see me wearing it to a work presentation! very versatile and classy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
July 28, 2015
Shipped right to my hotel!
Loved this look - slightly boxy in the midsection so my short waist looked a little baggy. Overall great experience and plenty of compliments! Size down - I ordered a 6, could have tried a 4.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
June 26, 2015
Holiday date party
Snug in the hips and a little too loose up top, but paired perfectly with some leggings and heels. This is a late review as I wore this before Christmas. Lace was a little ratty looking but it was dark where we went so no worries there :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 27, 2015
It was fun for a holiday party.
I'm usually a 4 bc of my shoulders and back. I wish I would have known that this dress had to be pulled over your head to put on bc it made it a lot harder. If I had worn the 6 it would have looked like I was swimming in the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
May 26, 2015
So comfortable.!
I am size 8 and this dress was a little bit big on me.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
May 19, 2015
Beautiful dress, perfect for New Year's Eve or any formal winter event!
Lovely dress in person, was a little snug but not uncomfortably so. I was between sizes (I usually am) and opted to go with the smaller size (the 10). WARNING: if you're tall, and you don't feel comfortable showing your legs...skip this dress. The 10 was really short on me, but the 12 looked too baggy and boxy...and it was New Year's Eve so I figured why not lol and went with the 10. I'm very happy I did, will definitely be shopping around RTR again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 15, 2015
Elegant and simple. The perfect dress for a wedding.
True to designer dress sizes.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
May 7, 2015
fit great, I didn't want a tight fitting dress and this was perfect!
The theme of the auction fundraiser was "All that glitters is Gold" . This dress went perfect with my gold accessories, the underlay can pass for slightly gold. I got the 8 just in case the dress was really short like other reviews, but the 6 was perfect and not too short.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
May 7, 2015
Wore for a fraternity black and white formal
Was rented after the first dress I ordered for the event did not fit. Was much happier with this dress. It fit wonderfully and was very comfortable. The sleeves were not too tight and it was an appropriate length. Was able to dance and enjoy myself in this dress. Would definitely recommend!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 4, 2015
Perfect dress for a classy rooftop wedding in DC! Fit the cocktail attire but took it up a notch.
This dress was perfect for an upscale spring wedding I was attending. I generally wear a 4 or 6 depending on the fit and I ended up going with the size 4 in this dress as the 6 was just a little too loose all over. Keep in mind when considering renting that this is a shift dress so it is meant to have a boxier fit. For me, the shoulders and hips were form fitting but the dress was pretty loose around the middle. It looked nice on its own but I decided to belt it to give it a little more figure (someone with less of a booty might have a different experience!). The belt worked great but did require some adjustments throughout the night, otherwise it started to bunch. The pattern is amazing and very elegant; I'd definitely rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125lbs
April 30, 2015
Great dress!
Loved this dress. Comfortable, pretty. Everything you could want for a cocktail party.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114lbs
April 29, 2015
I wore this dress for a Gala and loved the material and that the sleeves weren't tight!
I ordered a size 0 and 2 and the 0 fit me better but the strap wasn't connected to the lace on one side. Sent it back to RR with a photo of the damage and there wasn't any charge. I feel the dress is very elegant with the lace and felt comfortable wearing a shorter dress at the event even though some women choose to wear a floor length dress. Personally I am slender with a smaller bust so did feel like that I looked too small for the dress but once moving around you couldn't tell. I highly recommend this dress for a sorts of occupations, I feel it is very flattering for all body types. Enjoy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
April 28, 2015
Classy and comfortable!
Wore this dress for a Chicago wedding on a cold April day and it worked great. It is a true shift as everyone else mentions so it was a little baggy around the waist. I am usually in between a 2 and a 4 and the 2 worked great with room to spare. I'm 5'3" so the length was also fine for me. I would rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
April 23, 2015
I received lots of compliments on this classy dress!
***Please keep in mind when thinking about ordering this dress, it is a SHIFT dress. It is not meant to fit tight. With that said, many of the reviews I read before I rented this one had pictures of girls with belts to make it tighter or statements that it ran large.. Personally, I found it was true to size and not form fitting. It was flattering in that it fit tighter in the right areas, but you still feel comfortable enough to eat and dance. It's not too short, but i'm only 5'0.** I rented this one completely last minute when my first one did not work out--- This was a very simple, classy dress that worked perfectly for a conservative wedding. I will definitely rent from RTR again :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 23, 2015
Lovely Lace!
This dress was 100% fantastic! This has probably been my favorite RTR moment. I wore it to a wedding and received so many compliments! The sleeves made it perfect for a Texas winter wedding and it was super comfortable. I felt like a star!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
April 22, 2015
When my husband saw me in the dress, his eyes lit up! One of our first date nights post-kiddo!
Dress was shorter than I anticipated, seeing that I'm 5'3'', but it wasn't too bad! It worked out great for our Valentine's date night. Just wish I would have snapped a picture! Hubby loved it! :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
April 21, 2015
LBD was a little lace, perfect!
The dress was a little short, but at 5'10 I'm used to that.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
April 21, 2015
Great dress for a fall wedding!
This dress was actually a last minute backup that I had ordered because the first dress did not fit. I was so happy that I ended up with this dress! The fit did run a little small in the hips and bust so I went with the bigger size. I would definitely reccommend and rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
April 21, 2015
Beautiful and sexy lace dress
Flattering and easy to wear. Very short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 20, 2015
The service, product and packaging far exceeded my expectations.
This dress was perfect for the ACM awards! I typically wear a size 6 but wore a size 4 in this dress...so definitely size down. Depending on your height, the dress is a bit shorter but I felt comfortable and classy the entire night. I'd definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 17, 2015
Beautiful!
This dress is GORGEOUS and super flattering! I planned on wearing the size 4 and ended up wearing the 2. I had a baby 4 months ago and this dress is a little bigger in the mid-section - which made me feel great and not self-conscious about my tummy all night. I received tons of compliments and will most likely rent again. This was my first time renting and overall a great experience.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
April 8, 2015
A little big, but comfy!
I wore this to a casual-ish family dinner before my winter wedding. It felt a little bit baggier than I wanted but it was comfortable and cute.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
April 7, 2015
Perfect for the Gatsby themed holiday party!
This was a replacement dress that I ended up getting at the last minute. No zippers in the back so it's made a little loose, which was great for the cocktail + dinner Gatsby themed party I was going to because I wanted to be comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
March 13, 2015
Wasn't crazy about this one but I didn't get a backup so I had to wear it
Rides up when sitting. Just uncomfortable all around
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 6, 2015
Great comfortable dress with style
The dress runs a bit big, but throw on a belt and you're good to go. It's easy and stylish for any occasion with family, coworkers or friends.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 22, 2015
Felt totally sexy and classy during my New Years party. Paired with black tights and booties.
Awesome dress. My husband wanted me to buy it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 146lbs
February 21, 2015
Great shift dress!
Rented this dress for a winter bridal shower and it was the perfect choice. It runs slightly big so I would get your regular size and one below it. I chose to wear the larger size of the two and belt it to give it some shape. I highly recommend having a black belt on hand when renting this dress! It was the perfect length for me ( at 5'2 ). All in all, another great experience with RTR. And you can't beat the price!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
February 19, 2015
He stood me up... on Valentine's Day. But I rocked the dress anyway.
He told me, "You're going to want to rent a sexy dress for this." So I chose this dress for a Valentine's Day evening dinner at a surprise location, followed by tickets to see Harry Connick, Jr. in our favorite new venue, all after a day of fun together playing golf and hitting a spa. Long story short, he stood me up, disappearing days before and not getting in touch with me for days after. Amazing friends and family swooped in, and by the end of the day, I'd been to a spa for a day, had my hair done, and had a dinner date set up by/with two of my best friends at a gorgeous hotel. So I got to wear this gorgeous dress after all. This extremely elegant and classy-with-bite dress is meant to be a sheath, so it's supposed to be roomy and "suggest" your shape, but not hold it. That said, if you want it more fitted, go a size down. Otherwise, the sizing was perfect. The length was mid-thigh, great for showing off sexy gams. Sitting at the bar was a bit of an adventure with the length, but at the table, I was comfortable. If you plan on dancing in this, don't to the YMCA (unless that's your thing). I paired the dress with warm-colored pearl earrings, a matching pearl bracelet, and no necklace - the dress is sexy enough, so you'll just go a little overboard with too much else. I borrowed a pair of Aldo nude wedge peep-toes to tie it up and make my legs look extra long, and carried a black clutch. I received TONS of compliments - as always with RTR dresses - and I absolutely plan on wearing this one again. This dress made me feel beautiful, sexy, and wanted on a day where I really needed it most. Thank you, RTR. You rocked my world again.
DonnaMarch 28, 2015
Wow Heather, you're stunning! That was definitely his loss!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
February 11, 2015
Effortless dress! Got so many compliments.
Conservative fit up top but length adds a little sexiness - it definitely runs on the shorter side. I'm 5'8 and ended up wearing the 2 even though the 0 fit because of the different in length and tightness across the backside area. The fit on the backside wouldn't have been an issue but since it was also short and I was going to a wedding, I wanted something a little more demure so I went with the size 2.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 137lbs
February 10, 2015
Loved Dress, Comfortable and Stylish
Loved this Dress! It was very comfortable and very flattering & Received so many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 8, 2015
Great dress, decided to belt it.
I received the dress the night I was going to wear it, so I didn't have a lot of time to play with the fit of the dress. Overall it was super cute - I decided to belt it to give it a little bit more shape on my body. The dress was longer than I expected on my frame; the belt helped with that as well.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
February 7, 2015
This was subtly sexy and incredibly comfortable! Perfect for the peak of a mountain in August.
Easy on stomach pouch and great length for legs! The 6 was a little short and snug in the arms, the 8 was perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
February 4, 2015
Comfortable yet classy, received several compliments
No cons, definitely looks best with nude heels
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
January 28, 2015
I rented this dress for NYE and it was absolutely perfect.
I read a ton of reviews before renting this dress and all were very spot on. I am short so the dress was not short on me at all and was the perfect length. I would say that this dress does run a little big. I ended up wearing the 8 but the 6 did not get to me in time. I tried on the 6 when I got it and it fit perfect. The dress was very comfortable. The cream under part of the dress did ride up a little bit and I found myself having to pull it down every so often but it was not that big of a deal. Also, normal bras can be work with this dress which is always a plus. I would definitely recommend renting this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 26, 2015
Super cute, exactly what I was looking for.
This dress is so comfortable. It's cute, sexy, and classy all at the same time. Loved it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
January 23, 2015
Company Xmas Party
Super comfortable and classy. Loved it!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
January 18, 2015
Perfect for a fun night out celebrating a special occasion
Just long enough for a tall gal to pull off, but its cutting it close
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 16, 2015
Great Lace Dress
The dress was a true shift dress. I loved the lace on this dress but it didn't fit as well as I though it would. When it wasn't belted, it seemed to add pounds because it was baggier in the stomach area. I also felt like it was super short and had to be super careful when bending over. I wouldn't rent this dress again but love Rent the Runway and will be coming back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
January 14, 2015
"You look amazing"
Although the dress is very straight, and I was still curvy from my last pregnancy, the dress looked really nice. It didn't hug my tummy, which is what I needed. I got lots of compliments and I felt beautiful.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 14

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×