Candlelight Romance Shift

$30 rental
$395 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look fabulous for your date night by wearing this lady like shift by Robert Rodriguez Collection. A cuff like the Kendra Scott's Gold Sanskrit Cuff is all you need to complete this flirty look.

Also available in turquoise.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch and no zipper
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch and no zipper
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace. Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Scalloped hem. Inner nude slip. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
513 reviews
Fit
Large254
True to Size201
Small19
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
September 29, 2015
Great dress for a fall wedding!
As others mentioned, order one size down as your back-up. The dress was really comfortable and very pretty! Wish I could keep it! If you're tall, this dress may be a bit short. Luckily I'm only 5'2" so it was perfect for me. Would highly recommend this dress - especially for an outdoor event.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
September 27, 2015
Easy shopping!
This was the first time I have rented from RTR. My friends have used RTR before and had good experiences so I decided to give it a try. RTR suggested ordering a size down, so I ordered a 2 and 0. I tried on the 0 first and found it fit so well I didn't even try on the 2. I love shift dresses but found this to have less shape than normal. I belted the dress, which made a big difference. I was nervous the dress would be too long since I'm only 5'2 but it was just right. I got several compliments on the dress and loved how easy the whole process was. I'll be using RTR for all my future weddings!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
September 26, 2015
Perfect dress for a fall wedding, fit and style were perfect!
The fit and the length was perfect! The fit was very flattering and forgiving. It does run a little big, I'm usually a size 10 but the 8 fit perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148lbs
September 23, 2015
I got a ton of compliments!
Love this dress super flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 21, 2015
Very cute and comfortable. This was pretty short, so you can't lift your arms very much.
This was loose and comfortable. There were some very minor imperfections in the lace that you could see if you looked up close, but I wasn't bothered by them.
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Age: 32
September 19, 2015
Super comfy yet sexy! Everyone loved the dress!!!!!!!!!
Fits try to size! Slightly short but love the length cause it shows leg!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 25
September 13, 2015
Not great for pear shaped bodies.
If you have any kind of thighs or butt I suggest you do not size down like the other reviews suggested. This dress would work best for skinny boyish figures. I found that the dress was roomy in the chest and stomach area but then clinged to my thighs and butt. Wearing stockings definitely helped to get the dress to lay smoother. Otherwise it seemed to bunch at the small of my back and the stomach area. This dress is pretty short. If you plan on raising your arms or dancing be prepared to flash people. Overall this dress looked good on me but I felt like I couldn't totally relax and had to keep readjusting.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
September 12, 2015
Felt amazing in this dress!
Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
September 11, 2015
Everything was perfect
The fit was perfect! I might have been able to wear a size 8 but I didn't order a backup size. LOVE LOVE LOVE this dress!!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
September 9, 2015
The dress was easy to wear and very sexy classy.
The dress was on the shorter side, which I loved. It was very classy with an edge.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
August 22, 2015
Not my favorite RTR
I thought this would be great for a classy evening. This dress hung off me and was in no way flattering. It looks more fitted on the model than it was on me. I didn't end up wearing it. I got my normal size and a size larger. Very pretty though - I would suggest sizing down.
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
August 13, 2015
Flattering and cute dress!
Runs big. Normally a size 6 and the 6 was big but 4 fit well. Flattering and not tight.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Age: 46
August 11, 2015
Beautiful lace !
This dress is beautiful, the lace details are very elegant. It did run large, I ordered the 4, but could have worn a 2. The nude lining is form fitting, but the lace is a shift, it hangs, but looks great. I was worried when I first tried on, but it was comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 30
August 4, 2015
From girls' dinner right into nightclub.
I have a small bust and I'm bigger at the ribcage/wait, so this fabric was very flattering and almost hid the mid-section a bit. It was tight around my bust, but due to my large rib-cage, narrow women with bigger busts might be fine. I loved where it hit my legs.. right at the center of my thigh. I really wanted to keep it! My husband said he could see me wearing it to a work presentation! very versatile and classy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
July 28, 2015
Shipped right to my hotel!
Loved this look - slightly boxy in the midsection so my short waist looked a little baggy. Overall great experience and plenty of compliments! Size down - I ordered a 6, could have tried a 4.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
June 26, 2015
Holiday date party
Snug in the hips and a little too loose up top, but paired perfectly with some leggings and heels. This is a late review as I wore this before Christmas. Lace was a little ratty looking but it was dark where we went so no worries there :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 27, 2015
It was fun for a holiday party.
I'm usually a 4 bc of my shoulders and back. I wish I would have known that this dress had to be pulled over your head to put on bc it made it a lot harder. If I had worn the 6 it would have looked like I was swimming in the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
May 26, 2015
So comfortable.!
I am size 8 and this dress was a little bit big on me.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
May 19, 2015
Beautiful dress, perfect for New Year's Eve or any formal winter event!
Lovely dress in person, was a little snug but not uncomfortably so. I was between sizes (I usually am) and opted to go with the smaller size (the 10). WARNING: if you're tall, and you don't feel comfortable showing your legs...skip this dress. The 10 was really short on me, but the 12 looked too baggy and boxy...and it was New Year's Eve so I figured why not lol and went with the 10. I'm very happy I did, will definitely be shopping around RTR again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 15, 2015
Elegant and simple. The perfect dress for a wedding.
True to designer dress sizes.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
May 7, 2015
fit great, I didn't want a tight fitting dress and this was perfect!
The theme of the auction fundraiser was "All that glitters is Gold" . This dress went perfect with my gold accessories, the underlay can pass for slightly gold. I got the 8 just in case the dress was really short like other reviews, but the 6 was perfect and not too short.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
May 7, 2015
Wore for a fraternity black and white formal
Was rented after the first dress I ordered for the event did not fit. Was much happier with this dress. It fit wonderfully and was very comfortable. The sleeves were not too tight and it was an appropriate length. Was able to dance and enjoy myself in this dress. Would definitely recommend!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 4, 2015
Perfect dress for a classy rooftop wedding in DC! Fit the cocktail attire but took it up a notch.
This dress was perfect for an upscale spring wedding I was attending. I generally wear a 4 or 6 depending on the fit and I ended up going with the size 4 in this dress as the 6 was just a little too loose all over. Keep in mind when considering renting that this is a shift dress so it is meant to have a boxier fit. For me, the shoulders and hips were form fitting but the dress was pretty loose around the middle. It looked nice on its own but I decided to belt it to give it a little more figure (someone with less of a booty might have a different experience!). The belt worked great but did require some adjustments throughout the night, otherwise it started to bunch. The pattern is amazing and very elegant; I'd definitely rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125lbs
April 30, 2015
Great dress!
Loved this dress. Comfortable, pretty. Everything you could want for a cocktail party.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114lbs
April 29, 2015
I wore this dress for a Gala and loved the material and that the sleeves weren't tight!
I ordered a size 0 and 2 and the 0 fit me better but the strap wasn't connected to the lace on one side. Sent it back to RR with a photo of the damage and there wasn't any charge. I feel the dress is very elegant with the lace and felt comfortable wearing a shorter dress at the event even though some women choose to wear a floor length dress. Personally I am slender with a smaller bust so did feel like that I looked too small for the dress but once moving around you couldn't tell. I highly recommend this dress for a sorts of occupations, I feel it is very flattering for all body types. Enjoy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
April 28, 2015
Classy and comfortable!
Wore this dress for a Chicago wedding on a cold April day and it worked great. It is a true shift as everyone else mentions so it was a little baggy around the waist. I am usually in between a 2 and a 4 and the 2 worked great with room to spare. I'm 5'3" so the length was also fine for me. I would rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
April 23, 2015
I received lots of compliments on this classy dress!
***Please keep in mind when thinking about ordering this dress, it is a SHIFT dress. It is not meant to fit tight. With that said, many of the reviews I read before I rented this one had pictures of girls with belts to make it tighter or statements that it ran large.. Personally, I found it was true to size and not form fitting. It was flattering in that it fit tighter in the right areas, but you still feel comfortable enough to eat and dance. It's not too short, but i'm only 5'0.** I rented this one completely last minute when my first one did not work out--- This was a very simple, classy dress that worked perfectly for a conservative wedding. I will definitely rent from RTR again :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 23, 2015
Lovely Lace!
This dress was 100% fantastic! This has probably been my favorite RTR moment. I wore it to a wedding and received so many compliments! The sleeves made it perfect for a Texas winter wedding and it was super comfortable. I felt like a star!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
April 22, 2015
When my husband saw me in the dress, his eyes lit up! One of our first date nights post-kiddo!
Dress was shorter than I anticipated, seeing that I'm 5'3'', but it wasn't too bad! It worked out great for our Valentine's date night. Just wish I would have snapped a picture! Hubby loved it! :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
April 21, 2015
LBD was a little lace, perfect!
The dress was a little short, but at 5'10 I'm used to that.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
April 21, 2015
Great dress for a fall wedding!
This dress was actually a last minute backup that I had ordered because the first dress did not fit. I was so happy that I ended up with this dress! The fit did run a little small in the hips and bust so I went with the bigger size. I would definitely reccommend and rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
April 21, 2015
Paring the dress with gorgeous nude patent leather pointed heels made my legs go on for days!
It's very short, but fabulous. Fit my large chest and shoulders.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 20, 2015
The service, product and packaging far exceeded my expectations.
This dress was perfect for the ACM awards! I typically wear a size 6 but wore a size 4 in this dress...so definitely size down. Depending on your height, the dress is a bit shorter but I felt comfortable and classy the entire night. I'd definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 17, 2015
Beautiful!
This dress is GORGEOUS and super flattering! I planned on wearing the size 4 and ended up wearing the 2. I had a baby 4 months ago and this dress is a little bigger in the mid-section - which made me feel great and not self-conscious about my tummy all night. I received tons of compliments and will most likely rent again. This was my first time renting and overall a great experience.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
April 8, 2015
A little big, but comfy!
I wore this to a casual-ish family dinner before my winter wedding. It felt a little bit baggier than I wanted but it was comfortable and cute.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
April 7, 2015
Perfect for the Gatsby themed holiday party!
This was a replacement dress that I ended up getting at the last minute. No zippers in the back so it's made a little loose, which was great for the cocktail + dinner Gatsby themed party I was going to because I wanted to be comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
March 13, 2015
Wasn't crazy about this one but I didn't get a backup so I had to wear it
Rides up when sitting. Just uncomfortable all around
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 6, 2015
Great comfortable dress with style
The dress runs a bit big, but throw on a belt and you're good to go. It's easy and stylish for any occasion with family, coworkers or friends.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 22, 2015
Felt totally sexy and classy during my New Years party. Paired with black tights and booties.
Awesome dress. My husband wanted me to buy it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 146lbs
February 21, 2015
Great shift dress!
Rented this dress for a winter bridal shower and it was the perfect choice. It runs slightly big so I would get your regular size and one below it. I chose to wear the larger size of the two and belt it to give it some shape. I highly recommend having a black belt on hand when renting this dress! It was the perfect length for me ( at 5'2 ). All in all, another great experience with RTR. And you can't beat the price!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 13

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×