You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Sophisticated Merlot Dress
Rental $75 Retail $650
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
The rich hue of this Robert Rodriguez dress screams sophistication. With a subtle raw edge trim and sexy one shoulder, this dress is a true showstopper. Shown here with AV Max's Gold Dome Bangle .
Chat with a Stylist
Wine stretch silk georgette. One shoulder neckline. Laser-cut tiered layers. Padded cups. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem (on a size 6).
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend sizing up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built-in padding can be worn without a bra for all bust sizes though fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and tiered fabric is flattering on all body types
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - tall or curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has built-in cups in bust
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10")

Chat with a Stylist
This style is currently unavailable.
Shop all dresses
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos43

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Zoe
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 1331
Jun 23, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
Quite a great dress! Not for curvy people, and untoned tummies will be quite obvious in this dress. Its much more dark red than the picky-red in the picture. Surprisingly it also works well for red heads (like me). It was quite complementary with my hair, and didn't clash. I wore it to my prom with gold shoes and Dark-red and gold earrings. It was definitely fancy enough, and i got lots of complements. I would absolutely recommend it!
KM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 4432
Jun 16, 2011
Overall fit: Large
Did not cinch at the waist for me so it left me looking boxy. Also the one sleeve hit at an odd point of my shoulder (my shoulders are somewhat broad). The materail isnt very stretchy at all so this dress is pretty much hit or miss.
Lindsay
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 19
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 1241
Jun 15, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
the one thing that is not shown well in this picture is that the bands of the dress are frayed, not sure if that is just from wear and tear or meant to be there but it still looks nice. Also the dress is much more wine colored that the maroon color shown. Overall I loved the dress and the 2 fit perfectly but it was definitely different from what i expected
luann
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 1431
May 17, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is pretty, but if you are at all between sizes then definitely order the size up. This dress came and it was really too tight for me to wear- it's very fitted and very very true to size.
NG
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 1431
May 16, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was very pretty. I wore it to a rehearsal dinner for a black tie optional wedding. As others explained, the layers on the dress are not clean cut like they look in the photo, they are slightly frayed, but I didn't mind it. I'm 115 lbs and wore a size 2. Great dress overall.
Ariela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 5431
Apr 28, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
This dress looks 10x better on the model than in person. The folds aren't clean but rather frayed instead. I ended up wearing my backup which looks so much better. Disappointed with this dress, it wasn't flattering. I got a 6 and the 8 (I have very big boobs) and the 8 was far too big, while the 6 fit poorly - it was tight on my boobs and very big on my stomach area.
RTRfan
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 1421
Apr 25, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
i love this dress! i wore it to my friend's wedding and received numerous compliments. the dress was in good condition, the strap stayed in place all night long, and i didn't need to wear a bra. i weigh 123 lbs and i ordered both a size 4 and 6 and despite the 4 fitting ok on the top, because i have hips the bottom didn't fit so well. so i wore the 6, and even with that one i had a difficult time pulling the bottom past my hips once i put the dress over my head. damn my hips! :p
Sophie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 5323
Apr 22, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I was a little worried ordering this dress because of my height, but it ended up hitting just above the knee and was extremely well proportioned. I got both a 4 and a 6, and at 34B, the 6 ended up being a better fit (the shoulder draping was more flat) though it didn't pull me in at the waist as well as the 4 did and I needed double-sided fashion tape with the bust on the right. What other reviewers have to say regarding the strips is true - they're a lot more rugged than in the image, and protrude slightly fuzzily from the sides of the dress. They also seemed a little bent on the size I chose not to wear, probably just from the wear and tear of many rentals. It was still gorgeous and everyone at my event (the senior prom) loved it with my black hose, patent leather four and a half inch heels, and several sterling silver bangles.
Meg
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 1441
Apr 18, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this dress to a formal event and received so many compliments - it is perfectly elegant and the color is gorgeous. However, I would not recommend this dress to girls with hips. I am fairly straight up and down and had trouble wiggling it on over my hips, so I imagine that curvy girls could definitely struggle with it.
Meg
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3331
Mar 8, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this to a fraternity formal and it was perfect! i absolutely love this dress! I am 130 lbs and I wore a size 4. I wore it as shown but my hair was down!
Liza
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 1621
Mar 6, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
You can't tell by the picture, but the fabric on the tiers looks "shorn". Not a negative, just an observation. Other reviewers said the color of the dress was more vibrant in person, but I disagree as you "get what you see" on the website. This was my second choice dress that I didn't wear due to it being too tight in the hips and loose in the waist. It is very short too, and this would be fine if I were not 45 years old. Good dress for someone with narrow hips and great legs.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5434
Mar 2, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I loved this dress! I wore it for Valentine's Day dinner and I got many compliments! Very comfortable. You may want to go one size up if you have bigger hips.
EJ
Height: 4' 6"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 1421
Feb 22, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
Ordered this for a winter wedding. Pretty dress. The 0 had room to spare and I am not always a 0. A few things were disappointing though. The color is a duller version of the color on this website. Not rich. Kind of washed out. All in all the dress looked better on the model than it did in person and on myself. But that was my experience ;) Wore some other 'rent the runway' dress to the wedding and that one worked much better.
juliette
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 1431
Feb 19, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I felt great in this this dress. I wore this dress to a November wedding and felt very season appropriate and stylish. The color was great and I felt very sexy.
dg girl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5524
Feb 2, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
the fabric doesn't give. Normally I wear a 4 or 6 in dresses but the 6 wasn't very comfortable. I'm a D bust and the draping looked awkward in pictures. Not one of my favs.
Terri
Age: 32
Canonical User Type: 1511
Jan 25, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
The dress was cute but I received a damaged dress. A section of the layers on the front of the dress was torn and I wasn't able to wear it. The customer service I have received after I immediately called them to notify them of the damage has been the worst customer service I've ever experienced. It's been almost a month since my rental and I haven't been able to get anyone on the phone (or email) to resolve it.
gigibebe
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 1421
Jan 14, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
Love this dress...picture does not do justices....looks very elegant
Debra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3423
Jan 5, 2011
Overall fit: Large
This dress was a complete disappointment. I checked the product details, size & fit and read every review. I made sure to really keep in mind every reviewer's body type and height. I wanted to make sure that if I was going to commit to something like renting a dress for an important event, I would do it the right way. The dress looks beautiful in the photo but unfortunately it did not look as good in person. My body type is petite, however I have hourglass curves and usually that works in my benefit- not with this dress though. Maybe it had been worn by too many people and stretched out but the hips and stomach area were both loose. I ordered two sizes, 0 and 2, and that was the 0. All in all, I was unable to wear either size and this experience was money down the drain, not to mention they wanted me to return everything on New Year's day which would have been impossible. I didn't want to get charged with the daily late fee (50% of your order charged per late day) so, I had to send back on NYE... it's a good thing the dress looked horrible because I wouldn't have been able to wear it anyway. TERRIBLE experience, I wish I could get every cent I spent back.
CARRIE
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 1431
Dec 20, 2010
Overall fit: True to Size
well i ordered a size 8 and 10. the size 8 was a little big but not sure i could pull a size 6 over my hips. The dress also was big in the bust and i don't have a problem in that area. I loved the dress it made me feel very pretty and I received many compliments!
Christy
Age: 32
Canonical User Type: 1511
Dec 12, 2010
Overall fit: Small
I rented this dress for a wedding and ended up not wearing it. It's not made for hour glass/curvy women I think. The top was larger than the bottom of the dress...so if you've got a butt, it really hugs you in the skirt and then gapes at the top. It was also hard to walk in...so I couldn't imagine dancing in it very well. Also, there's a rubber lining strip along the top (I guess to help it stay up), but it's frayed and falling apart. Just trying it on, several pieces flaked off. I think it's a pretty dress, but I thought it was an awkward fit.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 1421
Dec 7, 2010
Overall fit: Large
I am about 5'1" and typically wear a 00 or a 0. This size 0 dress was definitely big on me, and the shoulder was fairly large. I would have loved to wear it, but I would suggest ordering a size down.
CK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2533
Nov 30, 2010
Overall fit: Large
I was so excited to wear this pretty dress, but the zero was enormous on me, so I couldn't wear it. I think all Robert Rodriguez's are on the larger side though.
rcm2116
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3421
Nov 23, 2010
Overall fit: True to Size
I absolutely loved this dress and I would rent it again! I got dozens of compliments when I wore it to a wedding. The dress is very flattering and worked very well on my petite frame. It did not slip down and kept its shape very well. The dress is lined and perfect for a winter or fall event!
AJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3432
Nov 19, 2010
Overall fit: True to Size
Absolutely LOVE this dress. The material is thick and flattering, and the color is much more vibrant that in this picture. The dress has built in cups which is fantastic (no bra!) and the one shoulder stayed in place all night. I don't have wide hips at all and the dress clung to me perfectly and was very shapely. If you have wide hips, I would recommend ordering a size up.
connie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 51
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 2621
Nov 16, 2010
Overall fit: True to Size
Very comfortable dress, wore it to a night wedding, black high heels, no hose, diamond studs no necklace because dress itself makes a statement it self... would recommend!!
Carter
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6543
Nov 15, 2010
Overall fit: True to Size
The dress is incredibly flattering! I wore it to a fall wedding and it was perfect. The fabric is beautiful but very formal. Beware, however, that it is very body-hugging, especially through the hip and thigh area. So if you have large hips, you may need to order up one size. The bust, on the other hand, runs slightly large.
Kitty
Height: 4' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 1421
Oct 25, 2010
Overall fit: True to Size
I ordered this dress for a black-tie wedding in the mountains in October and it was absolutely perfect! I got so many compliments and everyone agreed it was the perfect fall-winter formal dress. It runs very true to size and looks great with chunky gold bracelets. I would definitely recommend this dress!
Krystina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 4133
Oct 25, 2010
Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this dress to an evening wedding and received several compliments. I went up a size as my normal size was shorter than I prefer for a wedding and high heels. Paired this classic dress with patent, nude pumps and gold jewelry...dress is a bordeaux/pinot noir color - love it. Has a built in bra padding and very comfy! Great rental.
Jenna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4444
Oct 12, 2010
Overall fit: True to Size
I loved this dress!!! It fit great (with a little room to spare). I wore it to a wedding over the weekend & I got tons of compliments.
Steph
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3423
Oct 12, 2010
Overall fit: True to Size
Looked absolutely amazing. The dress is incredible comfortable and is super flattering. Wore it with nude Jimmy Choos in Napa for a rehearsal dinner and got many compliments. The color is really gorgeous and brought out my natural tan.
Jessica M.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2424
Oct 6, 2010
Overall fit: True to Size
Absolutely LOVED this dress! I got so many compliments on it all night! It was very comfortable too. I wore it with the Dannijo Daryn earrings.
Jessica R.
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2533
Oct 5, 2010
Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was gorgeous! I wore this to a black-tie optional wedding and got a ton of compliments. Wore it pretty much as shown, sheer black hose, black shoes and gold accessories. Would definitely recommend!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress