You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Sophisticated Merlot Dress
Rental $75 Retail $650
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
The rich hue of this Robert Rodriguez dress screams sophistication. With a subtle raw edge trim and sexy one shoulder, this dress is a true showstopper. Shown here with AV Max's Gold Dome Bangle .
Chat with a Stylist
Wine stretch silk georgette. One shoulder neckline. Laser-cut tiered layers. Padded cups. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem (on a size 6).
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend sizing up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built-in padding can be worn without a bra for all bust sizes though fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and tiered fabric is flattering on all body types
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - tall or curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has built-in cups in bust
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10")

Chat with a Stylist
This style is currently unavailable.
Shop all dresses
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos43

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4424
Sep 11, 2012
Fantastic fall color!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress! Received soo many compliments. The overlapping detail is very flattering!
Barbara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 3444
Sep 10, 2012
Show Stopper
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was incredible!! People were ranting and raving about it all night long. The dress is very flattering because it is forgiving yet sexy at the same time. I would definitely wear it again. Just as a heads up, though, if you're tall like I am, it is a little short - so perhaps not the best for an incredibly formal function, but definitely a lot of fun anywhere else.
Tiffany
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4423
Aug 22, 2012
Didn't end up wearing it
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was very pretty, however the way the shoulder fabric laid, it kept flipping up and over itself. My husband didn't like the way it looked, so I wore and dress I had in my closet.
JR
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6433
Aug 17, 2012
Winter style
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Not a very flattering shape, more of a winter shape. I returned this dress without wearing it.
EZB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 6524
Aug 17, 2012
Stunning!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got so many compliments on this dress. It was the perfect little number for an evening wedding. I am a little busty so the 8 didn't fit quite right. I went up a size to accommodate. Thank goodness they will send you 2 sizes!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5523
Aug 17, 2012
More fringe-y than expected
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am fairly short (5'1"), and was surprised by how high up my thigh this dress hit. Also, while the description mentions "a subtle raw edge trim," I would like to note that the trim (which lines the bottom of each "strip" that winds around to create the dress) is much more noticeable than I expected. That being said, it looked good, and I did get many compliments.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 59
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3623
Aug 14, 2012
Great Dress!!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Loved this dress
Erin
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4333
Aug 11, 2012
Awesome I loved it
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit great a tad snug around the top but otherwise perfect
Alexandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2423
Aug 9, 2012
cute dress
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress as a back up, didn't end up wearing it. I wasn't a huge fan of the layers, if they weren't laying perfectly flat it made the dress (and me!) look a little bit unkempt
Pat
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 2421
May 15, 2012
Great Dress!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
To tell you the truth, I was first skeptical about renting a dress. However, the whole process from choosing a dress to returning it was flawless! I had several questions regarding the dress and the stylist quickly responded to my e-mail. I usually wear size 0 but I also got size 2 as my back up since the fabric is not stretchable (based on the reviews). I love the dress! I got several compliments even after the event (thanks to social networking). I decided to wear the size 0 since it showed my petite frame better than the size 2. It was also comfortable! The color is similar to the picture shown. The dress was not too flamboyant or too dull. The only concern I had was the fringe of the dress. I didn't expect that the fringe was so delicate. Towards the end of the wedding, I had to stop dancing and sit down because I was worried I might ruin the dress.
Rose
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5523
Apr 16, 2012
Almost perfect
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The color of this dress is even better in person. Unfortunately, my dress arrived damaged and I was unable to wear it, but I would consider renting it again in the future.
Erica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 3431
Apr 1, 2012
Worn for a birthday party
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The color of this dress is great. Matches very well with jewelry and can work with many different colored shoes. However, I wasn't aware that the dress had multiple layers from top to bottom in the pictures shown on the page. It made it seem larger and looked bigger in some spots than I had hoped for. Overall, it was comfortable, but I wish it were tighter and that I had known the layers in fabric were there when I ordered it. It ran a little big.
Kristina
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2423
Jan 15, 2012
Nice for a night out
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Rented this for dinner out while on vacation in Napa. Fits true to size. Very flattering for a slim figure. Fabric doesn't really give, so perhaps order a size up if you're busty or hippy. Would upload photos, but they're all too large.
Nina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2423
Jan 4, 2012
Great dress for the New Year!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for New Years Eve. I originally picked the dress as a back up to another dress that I ended up not liking at all. This dress ended up being my favorite. I would suggest getting the size you think you are and maybe a size larger because it fits snug if you have curves. I loved wearing the dress it was a hit and I felt comfortable in it.
Cristina
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3423
Dec 28, 2011
Very Flattering
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to my company's holiday party and I loved it! The shoulder strap did go over my shoulder like the model's, I know some reviewers mentioned it didn't for them. I am petite and do not have broad shoulders, maybe this dress isn't the best fit for broader shoulders? It fit great, the fabric didn't have much give but I wasn't at an event where I needed a lot of give in my dress so it was fine and looked great! I do have shorter legs and was worried about the dress being a little too long on me (I like things real short) but it was fine with 3" heels (my feet were not by the end of the night though!)
sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6333
Dec 28, 2011
success!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Fit very well, wore to dinner with my boyfriend and he loved it too!
michele
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2522
Dec 18, 2011
Classy dress works for petites
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Size 0 fit well. I'm 5'2 105lbs. It's short, so might not be great for someone tall. Overall very classy, nice material. The one-shoulder top is very flattering and stays put. I didn't wear a bra. Horizontal pleats have a short fringe which doesn't show well on the pic. Also the style doesn't show off a slim waist, but would hide a thick waist. But it's a pretty dress, got lots of compliments. I would recommend to a friend!
Miss Fern
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6543
Dec 15, 2011
Lovely
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This was actually my back-up dress so I didn't wear it that day but I am absolutely going to rent it again because it is really pretty, really flattering, and just all around lovely.
Gina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6431
Dec 8, 2011
Worn in an Outdoor Oct Wedding
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I love this dress! I ordered it in a size 8, and a size 10 as a backup. And the size 8 fit perfectly! The length was perfect, and the dress hugged my curves in all the right spot. I received so many compliments from other guests and my in-laws as well, which if you knew if my in-laws, means a lot.
CB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Dec 5, 2011
Pretty dress!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this at a Christmas party and really enjoyed it. It was a little to short on me due to my height and thicker thighs/hips. I was worried about ordering this dress and not having it fit over my hips. Luckily, I barely squeezed into it and it looked perfect on me. It's very fitted. I liked the fabric layering of the dress; It has tiny frays on the ends. Overall, I am glad I chose to rent this dress!
Nicole
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5431
Nov 20, 2011
I loved it!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress. I wore it to a high school friend's fall wedding and felt beautiful in it. I thought the fit was pretty true to size but slightly big on top (I don't have a very big bust). Still, it wasn't off by much and I was able to wear the dress comfortably. ps: I wore it off-the-shoulder.
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4423
Nov 16, 2011
Great for fall!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I had a fall wedding to attend and this fit the occasion perfectly. The other reviews are correct, if you have any kind of hip, you should go a size up. I ordered the 4, but I couldn't even get it past my hips. The 6 fit well on my hips and waist and was a little big up top, but nothing that made me worry I would have some kind of "slip". The layers are more feathered then the picture gives off, so if you worry about any kind of horizontal stripes, I would skip this one.
Kel
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3223
Nov 15, 2011
Great fit!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is perfect and simple, especially with some big earrings and silver pumps. I wore it for homecoming at my school and loved it!
Ally
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 4333
Nov 4, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
fits great, true to size, looks just like it does in the picture, wore to a wedding & got so many compliments. only problem was it looked a little bit worn but still great and will definitely use rent the runway for all other special occasions!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Oct 27, 2011
Overall fit: Small
This dress is beautiful. Exactly the color and style it shows in the photo. However, it fit me very strangely. I don't consider myself to be all that curvy, but I began to feel that way in this dress. I rented a 6 (my usual size) which was very, very small. The 8 looked substantially larger, so I was still hopeful. The length and mid-section fit wonderfully, but the top was HUGE, and I am a 34C. Then the bottom hem was TINY. I don't think I would have been able to walk up steps without ripping it. I was so excited to receive this dress but sadly I was unable to wear it. May work great for those who are petite or slim and narrow, but not if you have curves (that you may not even know you had!)
lala
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 1521
Oct 12, 2011
Overall fit: Small
A very pretty dress - nice, rich fabric. I usually wear a 2P but could not get the 2 over my hips! The 4 fit fine - I'm an A cup, and the bust area could have been a bit snugger, but it was not noticeably too big. The dress was comfortable. The top ruffles flipped up when I lifted my arm but just needed some smoothing down.
Reg
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3522
Oct 6, 2011
Overall fit: Large
This was my 1st choice dress and I did not end up wearing it. Not to say that this dress wasn't beautiful, because it is. It just didn't fit me right in the midsection area. I'm usually a size 3 and I ordered the size 2. It was just a little loose looking but the dress is beautiful.
brooket
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2424
Oct 5, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
Love this dress! Wore it to a fall wedding, and ended up wearing the 2. I am 5'3'', and am about 110 lbs, but the 0 wouldn't go over my hips (which are NOT big). Got lots of compliments, however throughout the night, I had to flatten the shoulder down every time I lifted my arms. Also, you can't tell from this picture, but at the edge of EVERY SINGLE tier on this dress, it is slightly frayed. It is supposed to be like that, however it startled me.
Aubrey
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5423
Oct 5, 2011
Overall fit: Small
I rented this dress and chatted with a fit specialist. I rented a 4 and a 6, as those are typically my sizes. This dress had little to no stretch, so the 6 fit better than the 4. But the part that overlays on your shoulder doesn't stay down, and the top was a bit large on me. I didn't end up wearing this dress. I was a little disappointed as it didn't look like it does in the picture, not just on me, but even on the hanger. It's a little frayed, and much heavier a material then I imagined. Not my favorite dress. But I definitely can't wait to try and rent something else - the process was seamless!
nyy1985
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 1421
Oct 4, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I liked this dress and it looked pretty nice. My only complaint was that the tiers that go across the shoulder would flap up and I felt like I had to fix them a lot. I also ordered the Herve Leger Watercolor dress which I thought was a lot more comfortable.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 4421
Sep 28, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I got this dress for a wedding, where I was also doing a reading during the ceremony. I was quite excited to wear it, but was a little disappointed with the fit. While I do think it is true to fit (I wear a 2 or 4 and ended up wearing the 4) it was very tight on my butt/thighs, but a bit loose on top even with the built in bra cups. I was a little concerned with the length given the tightness, but was still able to have fun on the dance floor. I did, however, get a ton of compliments on it even if I was a little mixed on the overall fit on me. I styled it with black sling back heels and a great pair of dangly earrings, also from RTR, which I loved! The dress by itself has enough style that you really don't need much to make it glam.
cha cha
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 1531
Sep 21, 2011
Overall fit: Small
Even with wearing the larger size i rented, this dress was too tight on my thighs. I have small thighs, but a larger butt and it made the dress too tight on my thighs to sit down for long periods. great dress if you only sit for a short time.
Jessica S.
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 1631
Sep 14, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this dress to a wedding recently and got many compliments. I'm 5' 4" and weigh 120 and ordered the size 4 and it fit perfect. It is fitted to your body and I had no extra room, so if you have bigger hips and bust I would recommend ordering a larger size. It was not as short on me as the woman in the picture. I would recommend this dress.
Monica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6543
Sep 13, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
Beautiful dress & color, very sophisticated overall look. I wore this to my office holiday party - 18 weeks pregnant, and the layering in the dress is forgiving for the tummy area. Received many compliments. Only complaint was the top sash comes up and does not lay correctly, perhaps because I have broad shoulders, I had to keep pushing it down all night. Wore without hose in December and dress is just short enough to be sexy but not provocative.
jenny
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 40
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 1521
Aug 27, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
amazing on! i'm very short, and the dress fit perfectly. the length was just short enough. tons of complements.
G Miller
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6433
Aug 23, 2011
Overall fit: Small
Unfortunately, I couldn't wear this dress because the sizes I ordered were so small I couldn't even get it on!! However, it did look "sophisticated" and the fabric was great. It also looked a bit shorter in person, but it was hard to tell from the hanger.
Katie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4432
Aug 3, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this to a wedding and absolutely loved it! I have broad shoulders and a bit of a booty, so I ordered the size 4 and size 6 and ended up wearing the 6. I wore it with cream shoes and pearls and received many compliments. My only issue was in having to keep smoothing down the shoulder after raising my arm. Otherwise it was beautiful and the whole rental process was awesome!
HMobile
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 1541
Aug 1, 2011
Overall fit: Small
Color is GORGEOUS! I am a solid size 6 and was disappointed that this dress was a bit snug in the hips. Also worth noting, its a tad short on the taller girls like myself so be ready to rock some leg-action or have hosiery to make it more conservative depending on the event you're going to.
saram
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 1431
Jul 25, 2011
Overall fit: Small
Very pretty dress, runs very small! I am usually a 2/4 so those are the sizes I rented but yikes, could barely squeeze into the 4! If you have a large bust or curvy hips, renter beware. I am a 34D and the one-sided shoulder was very constricting. I would recommend the dress but would caution renting a size up, wish I got the 6!
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4323
Jul 1, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
very flattering dress! the ruffles along the midsection help diguise any flaws. on the mini side for tall girls!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress