Robert Rodriguez Black Label

Sophisticated Merlot Dress

$75 rental
$650 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

The rich hue of this Robert Rodriguez dress screams sophistication. With a subtle raw edge trim and sexy one shoulder, this dress is a true showstopper. Shown here with AV Max's Gold Dome Bangle .

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend sizing up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built-in padding can be worn without a bra for all bust sizes though fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and tiered fabric is flattering on all body types
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - tall or curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has built-in cups in bust
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10")

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend sizing up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built-in padding can be worn without a bra for all bust sizes though fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and tiered fabric is flattering on all body types
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - tall or curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has built-in cups in bust
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10")

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Wine stretch silk georgette. One shoulder neckline. Laser-cut tiered layers. Padded cups. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem (on a size 6).

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

152 reviews

Fit
Small 27
True to Size 116
Large 9
Photos 43
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Jul 1, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
very flattering dress! the ruffles along the midsection help diguise any flaws. on the mini side for tall girls!
saram
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 25, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Very pretty dress, runs very small! I am usually a 2/4 so those are the sizes I rented but yikes, could barely squeeze into the 4! If you have a large bust or curvy hips, renter beware. I am a 34D and the one-sided shoulder was very constricting. I would recommend the dress but would caution renting a size up, wish I got the 6!
HMobile
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 1, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Color is GORGEOUS! I am a solid size 6 and was disappointed that this dress was a bit snug in the hips. Also worth noting, its a tad short on the taller girls like myself so be ready to rock some leg-action or have hosiery to make it more conservative depending on the event you're going to.
Katie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 3, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this to a wedding and absolutely loved it! I have broad shoulders and a bit of a booty, so I ordered the size 4 and size 6 and ended up wearing the 6. I wore it with cream shoes and pearls and received many compliments. My only issue was in having to keep smoothing down the shoulder after raising my arm. Otherwise it was beautiful and the whole rental process was awesome!
G Miller
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 23, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Unfortunately, I couldn't wear this dress because the sizes I ordered were so small I couldn't even get it on!! However, it did look "sophisticated" and the fabric was great. It also looked a bit shorter in person, but it was hard to tell from the hanger.
jenny
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 41
Body type: Athletic
Aug 27, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
amazing on! i'm very short, and the dress fit perfectly. the length was just short enough. tons of complements.
Monica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 13, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Beautiful dress & color, very sophisticated overall look. I wore this to my office holiday party - 18 weeks pregnant, and the layering in the dress is forgiving for the tummy area. Received many compliments. Only complaint was the top sash comes up and does not lay correctly, perhaps because I have broad shoulders, I had to keep pushing it down all night. Wore without hose in December and dress is just short enough to be sexy but not provocative.
Jessica S.
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Body type: Petite
Sep 14, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this dress to a wedding recently and got many compliments. I'm 5' 4" and weigh 120 and ordered the size 4 and it fit perfect. It is fitted to your body and I had no extra room, so if you have bigger hips and bust I would recommend ordering a larger size. It was not as short on me as the woman in the picture. I would recommend this dress.
cha cha
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Sep 21, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Even with wearing the larger size i rented, this dress was too tight on my thighs. I have small thighs, but a larger butt and it made the dress too tight on my thighs to sit down for long periods. great dress if you only sit for a short time.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Sep 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I got this dress for a wedding, where I was also doing a reading during the ceremony. I was quite excited to wear it, but was a little disappointed with the fit. While I do think it is true to fit (I wear a 2 or 4 and ended up wearing the 4) it was very tight on my butt/thighs, but a bit loose on top even with the built in bra cups. I was a little concerned with the length given the tightness, but was still able to have fun on the dance floor. I did, however, get a ton of compliments on it even if I was a little mixed on the overall fit on me. I styled it with black sling back heels and a great pair of dangly earrings, also from RTR, which I loved! The dress by itself has enough style that you really don't need much to make it glam.
nyy1985
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 4, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I liked this dress and it looked pretty nice. My only complaint was that the tiers that go across the shoulder would flap up and I felt like I had to fix them a lot. I also ordered the Herve Leger Watercolor dress which I thought was a lot more comfortable.
Aubrey
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 5, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I rented this dress and chatted with a fit specialist. I rented a 4 and a 6, as those are typically my sizes. This dress had little to no stretch, so the 6 fit better than the 4. But the part that overlays on your shoulder doesn't stay down, and the top was a bit large on me. I didn't end up wearing this dress. I was a little disappointed as it didn't look like it does in the picture, not just on me, but even on the hanger. It's a little frayed, and much heavier a material then I imagined. Not my favorite dress. But I definitely can't wait to try and rent something else - the process was seamless!
brooket
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 5, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Love this dress! Wore it to a fall wedding, and ended up wearing the 2. I am 5'3'', and am about 110 lbs, but the 0 wouldn't go over my hips (which are NOT big). Got lots of compliments, however throughout the night, I had to flatten the shoulder down every time I lifted my arms. Also, you can't tell from this picture, but at the edge of EVERY SINGLE tier on this dress, it is slightly frayed. It is supposed to be like that, however it startled me.
Reg
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Oct 6, 2011

Overall fit: Large
This was my 1st choice dress and I did not end up wearing it. Not to say that this dress wasn't beautiful, because it is. It just didn't fit me right in the midsection area. I'm usually a size 3 and I ordered the size 2. It was just a little loose looking but the dress is beautiful.
lala
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 41
Body type: Petite
Oct 12, 2011

Overall fit: Small
A very pretty dress - nice, rich fabric. I usually wear a 2P but could not get the 2 over my hips! The 4 fit fine - I'm an A cup, and the bust area could have been a bit snugger, but it was not noticeably too big. The dress was comfortable. The top ruffles flipped up when I lifted my arm but just needed some smoothing down.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 27, 2011

Overall fit: Small
This dress is beautiful. Exactly the color and style it shows in the photo. However, it fit me very strangely. I don't consider myself to be all that curvy, but I began to feel that way in this dress. I rented a 6 (my usual size) which was very, very small. The 8 looked substantially larger, so I was still hopeful. The length and mid-section fit wonderfully, but the top was HUGE, and I am a 34C. Then the bottom hem was TINY. I don't think I would have been able to walk up steps without ripping it. I was so excited to receive this dress but sadly I was unable to wear it. May work great for those who are petite or slim and narrow, but not if you have curves (that you may not even know you had!)
Ally
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 4, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
fits great, true to size, looks just like it does in the picture, wore to a wedding & got so many compliments. only problem was it looked a little bit worn but still great and will definitely use rent the runway for all other special occasions!
Kel
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 15, 2011

Great fit!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is perfect and simple, especially with some big earrings and silver pumps. I wore it for homecoming at my school and loved it!
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 16, 2011

Great for fall!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I had a fall wedding to attend and this fit the occasion perfectly. The other reviews are correct, if you have any kind of hip, you should go a size up. I ordered the 4, but I couldn't even get it past my hips. The 6 fit well on my hips and waist and was a little big up top, but nothing that made me worry I would have some kind of "slip". The layers are more feathered then the picture gives off, so if you worry about any kind of horizontal stripes, I would skip this one.
Nicole
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 20, 2011

I loved it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress. I wore it to a high school friend's fall wedding and felt beautiful in it. I thought the fit was pretty true to size but slightly big on top (I don't have a very big bust). Still, it wasn't off by much and I was able to wear the dress comfortably. ps: I wore it off-the-shoulder.
CB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Dec 5, 2011

Pretty dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this at a Christmas party and really enjoyed it. It was a little to short on me due to my height and thicker thighs/hips. I was worried about ordering this dress and not having it fit over my hips. Luckily, I barely squeezed into it and it looked perfect on me. It's very fitted. I liked the fabric layering of the dress; It has tiny frays on the ends. Overall, I am glad I chose to rent this dress!
Gina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 8, 2011

Worn in an Outdoor Oct Wedding

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I love this dress! I ordered it in a size 8, and a size 10 as a backup. And the size 8 fit perfectly! The length was perfect, and the dress hugged my curves in all the right spot. I received so many compliments from other guests and my in-laws as well, which if you knew if my in-laws, means a lot.
Miss Fern
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 15, 2011

Lovely

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This was actually my back-up dress so I didn't wear it that day but I am absolutely going to rent it again because it is really pretty, really flattering, and just all around lovely.
michele
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Dec 18, 2011

Classy dress works for petites

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Size 0 fit well. I'm 5'2 105lbs. It's short, so might not be great for someone tall. Overall very classy, nice material. The one-shoulder top is very flattering and stays put. I didn't wear a bra. Horizontal pleats have a short fringe which doesn't show well on the pic. Also the style doesn't show off a slim waist, but would hide a thick waist. But it's a pretty dress, got lots of compliments. I would recommend to a friend!
sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 28, 2011

success!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Fit very well, wore to dinner with my boyfriend and he loved it too!
Cristina
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 28, 2011

Very Flattering

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to my company's holiday party and I loved it! The shoulder strap did go over my shoulder like the model's, I know some reviewers mentioned it didn't for them. I am petite and do not have broad shoulders, maybe this dress isn't the best fit for broader shoulders? It fit great, the fabric didn't have much give but I wasn't at an event where I needed a lot of give in my dress so it was fine and looked great! I do have shorter legs and was worried about the dress being a little too long on me (I like things real short) but it was fine with 3" heels (my feet were not by the end of the night though!)
Nina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 4, 2012

Great dress for the New Year!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for New Years Eve. I originally picked the dress as a back up to another dress that I ended up not liking at all. This dress ended up being my favorite. I would suggest getting the size you think you are and maybe a size larger because it fits snug if you have curves. I loved wearing the dress it was a hit and I felt comfortable in it.
Kristina
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
Jan 15, 2012

Nice for a night out

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Rented this for dinner out while on vacation in Napa. Fits true to size. Very flattering for a slim figure. Fabric doesn't really give, so perhaps order a size up if you're busty or hippy. Would upload photos, but they're all too large.
Erica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
Apr 1, 2012

Worn for a birthday party

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The color of this dress is great. Matches very well with jewelry and can work with many different colored shoes. However, I wasn't aware that the dress had multiple layers from top to bottom in the pictures shown on the page. It made it seem larger and looked bigger in some spots than I had hoped for. Overall, it was comfortable, but I wish it were tighter and that I had known the layers in fabric were there when I ordered it. It ran a little big.
Rose
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 16, 2012

Almost perfect

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The color of this dress is even better in person. Unfortunately, my dress arrived damaged and I was unable to wear it, but I would consider renting it again in the future.
Pat
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
May 15, 2012

Great Dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
To tell you the truth, I was first skeptical about renting a dress. However, the whole process from choosing a dress to returning it was flawless! I had several questions regarding the dress and the stylist quickly responded to my e-mail. I usually wear size 0 but I also got size 2 as my back up since the fabric is not stretchable (based on the reviews). I love the dress! I got several compliments even after the event (thanks to social networking). I decided to wear the size 0 since it showed my petite frame better than the size 2. It was also comfortable! The color is similar to the picture shown. The dress was not too flamboyant or too dull. The only concern I had was the fringe of the dress. I didn't expect that the fringe was so delicate. Towards the end of the wedding, I had to stop dancing and sit down because I was worried I might ruin the dress.
Alexandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Aug 9, 2012

cute dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress as a back up, didn't end up wearing it. I wasn't a huge fan of the layers, if they weren't laying perfectly flat it made the dress (and me!) look a little bit unkempt
Erin
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 11, 2012

Awesome I loved it

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit great a tad snug around the top but otherwise perfect
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 59
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Aug 14, 2012

Great Dress!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Loved this dress
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 17, 2012

More fringe-y than expected

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am fairly short (5'1"), and was surprised by how high up my thigh this dress hit. Also, while the description mentions "a subtle raw edge trim," I would like to note that the trim (which lines the bottom of each "strip" that winds around to create the dress) is much more noticeable than I expected. That being said, it looked good, and I did get many compliments.
EZB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Aug 17, 2012

Stunning!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got so many compliments on this dress. It was the perfect little number for an evening wedding. I am a little busty so the 8 didn't fit quite right. I went up a size to accommodate. Thank goodness they will send you 2 sizes!
JR
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 17, 2012

Winter style

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Not a very flattering shape, more of a winter shape. I returned this dress without wearing it.
Tiffany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 22, 2012

Didn't end up wearing it

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was very pretty, however the way the shoulder fabric laid, it kept flipping up and over itself. My husband didn't like the way it looked, so I wore and dress I had in my closet.
Barbara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Sep 10, 2012

Show Stopper

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was incredible!! People were ranting and raving about it all night long. The dress is very flattering because it is forgiving yet sexy at the same time. I would definitely wear it again. Just as a heads up, though, if you're tall like I am, it is a little short - so perhaps not the best for an incredibly formal function, but definitely a lot of fun anywhere else.
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 11, 2012

Fantastic fall color!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress! Received soo many compliments. The overlapping detail is very flattering!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×