Sophisticated Merlot Dress

$228 to buy
$650 retail
Stylist Notes

The rich hue of this Robert Rodriguez dress screams sophistication. With a subtle raw edge trim and sexy one shoulder, this dress is a true showstopper. Shown here with AV Max's Gold Dome Bangle .

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend sizing up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built-in padding can be worn without a bra for all bust sizes though fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and tiered fabric is flattering on all body types
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - tall or curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has built-in cups in bust
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10")

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend sizing up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built-in padding can be worn without a bra for all bust sizes though fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and tiered fabric is flattering on all body types
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - tall or curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has built-in cups in bust
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10")

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Wine stretch silk georgette. One shoulder neckline. Laser-cut tiered layers. Padded cups. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem (on a size 6).

Share
151 reviews
Fit
Large
(9)
True to Size
(115)
Small
(27)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 161lbs
October 16, 2012
got lots of compliments
I was excited when this dress came in as my 1st pick wasn't available for the wedding. We lucked out because the weather was beautiful for the October outdoor wedding. I only had 2 gripes. One, was that clearly I'm not a one-shoulder girl as i had to keep messing with the shoulder. The other was that I felt like although I'm not busty girl, it made me look like my entire ribcage was a giant boob. Overall I really liked the dress and would recommend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 18, 2012
Sophisticated Fun
Loved this dress. Wore it to my cousin's evening wedding. I took the route of the model in the photo and wore it with sheer black tights and black heels. It was fun and fabulous, accentuating my curves without being clingy or skintight. Appropriate to wear around all my older relatives. The layers did have a tendency to stick up, especially on the shoulder. Have some fashion tape handy to keep down layers. Wore my standard 4, and the length was perfect on me since I'm so short. Even with a strapless bra, the top was a bit loose but with a a bit of fashion tape it stayed up no problem. I was also surprised by how heavy the dress was—all those layers create a thick garment!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 119lbs
October 22, 2012
Loved it
This dress was great, I wore it for a sunday evening black tie optional wedding and got tons of compliments. After reading other reviews about sizing, I decided to rent a 2 and a 4. The 2 ended up being a little loose but I could have gotten away wearing it and it would have been fine, however I checked with RTR and they had a 0 available and were able to send it over to me same day. I ended up wearing the size 0 because it fit a bit better and got tons of compliments! It's good to know in advance that the dress definitely doesn't have much stretch but it runs true to size or a little large. Also know that the dress doesn't really cinch or get tight around the stomach area, but it still has enough curve so it doesn't look boxy. Would definitely recommend this.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 24, 2012
Beautiful dress!
I rented this dress to wear for a rehearsal dinner in late September. It was just as beautiful as it looks online and true to size, but unfortunately it was a little too short and to form fitting for the look that I wanted. I wasn't able to wear the dress that night, but it would be great for a date or New Years Eve!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
November 6, 2012
Hated it!
This dress was not a success! I rented it for a wedding, and when I tried it on the pleats on the dress did not sit properly. It fits well at the bottom, but the built in bra looked terrible!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
November 24, 2012
Fabulous!
The fit was true to size and looked great! Perfect for a dressy occasion!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
November 26, 2012
didn't like it.
I thought the fabric looked very different in person and somewhat cheap. The one shoulder strap also would not lie flat. I returned without wearing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
November 26, 2012
how it arrived, everything it came with, was amazing! & so simple to return
It fit perfectly, not too tight and but not too loose. I wore it to a rehearsal dinner for a friend and received so many compliments on it! The material was great and there wasn't anything I'd change about it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
December 6, 2012
Great dress for a wedding.
I wore this dress as a guest for a friend's wedding. It was a fantastic choice for a fall wedding. I would recommend this dress!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
December 11, 2012
Loved it!
Fit really well and felt great in it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 20, 2012
Sexy dress!
Loved the fit of this dress and the deep red color (though it was a little tight on my booty)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
January 3, 2013
Fabulous color, good fit.
The shoulder part came down somewhat easily, so if you have narrow shoulders I would not advise this choice. But for the most part really loved it!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
January 4, 2013
Great color, flattering fit, but frayed layers can be tough to work with
I loved my first RTR rental and will definitely be using RTR again for future events. This dress is a gorgeous color for a fall wedding. I wore this to a November wedding 3 months after having my second son and I felt that was forgiving on my post baby body. What you may or may not be able to tell in the pictures is that this dress has thin tiers or layers. This was a pro and a con for me. I think the layers make for a more flattering look, however, they kept flipping up by my neck line and over my shoulder which was driving me crazy! I used the double sided tape and it helped but it wasn't perfect. Over all great dress, very flattering but take the time before your event to try it on and fix the layers with the double sided fashion tape RTR provides. Ps. Thats my bestie with me in another RTR rental looking gorg! She loved her dress and got a lot of compliments :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
January 13, 2013
Beautiful dress, beautiful color!
I rented this dress for a friend's wedding in August. It is a gorgeous dress and was very flattering. I preferred the size 10 (I normally wear an 8) as this dress runs a little small. I ended up not wearing the dress though because it was pretty heavy and I was worried I'd be too warm. Would be a perfect dress for a winter occasion!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 28, 2013
This was such a great dress. Flattering and fun!
I loved the fabric and the fact I didn't have to worry about anything all night. The dress fit snug, but felt flattering. Would recommend for a more conservative, but fun event.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 21, 2013
Loved this dress!
It was right on the bandage dress trend without being (or looking) too tight. The stripes are folded fabric, so it hugs the body without showing off too much and without the bandage-y tightness. It fit perfectly and made my figure look fantastic. I wish I could wear it again for an event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
September 19, 2012
Great for a fall wedding!
Perfect dress for a fall wedding, I wore it with black tights. Love the overall fit, I wore the size 4, 6 was too big.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
March 5, 2013
fun and perfect for work christmas party
wore this to my boyfriends christmas party and got a ton of compliments loved this dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 31, 2013
Nice color!
This was my backup dress and I didn't end up wearing it. The pleats were a little more freyed than I thought they would be, and it was a TINY bit hard to move in. Other than that, nice color and hot dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 3, 2013
I got so many complements on the deep burgundy color with my blond hair!
I loved the color and the fit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
April 14, 2013
Perfect fit! So comfortable and gorgeous.
This is my first time renting from RTR and I will absolutely do it again. I wore this to a sorority formal and got so many compliments, this dress is the perfect combination of classy and sexy. I typically wear an 8 or 10 and I always struggle with one shoulder dresses due to my broad shoulders and chest but this dress fit perfect, and surprisingly no bra needed. The fabric has a little stretch so its very comfortable and the color and cut make it form flattering. I would recommend this dress to anyone!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
April 15, 2013
Pretty dress, but absolutely no stretch!
This dress was beautiful, but it was heavy, thick, and completely unforgiving! I ended up wearing something else when I ordered it because I just didn't like the way it fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
April 19, 2013
Pretty Color
Wore this to a fraternity formal and got lots of compliments. I had to iron down some of the fabric strips before I wore it but it looked great. It's fairly tight and doesn't have much stretch.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
May 7, 2013
It was a gorgeous, classy dress, and i was named sweetheart of TKE fraternity that night!
the bottom was pretty tight, so it was kind of hard to move around in freely, but overall is was comfortable and fit well!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
June 2, 2013
Dress runs very large
I didn't end up wearing this dress because both sizes that I ordered (the 2 and 0) were too large. The dress itself also didn't look very well made and was "bulkier" than the picture shows.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
August 25, 2013
I wish this dress worked!
This dress just didn't fit me right. I usually wear a size 2/4, but this dress just did not accentuate me correctly. Sadly, this dress didn't work out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
September 21, 2013
Cute and fun dress
Fun dress but the detailing consists of lots of layers of fabric. It was a little snug but it worked out. The fabric kept coming up so I made sure to bring fabric tape with me! The fabric tape helped tremendously but the shoulder did slide up a bit. Even though those things were slightly inconvenient, by the end of the night I was dancing the night away and didnt care about those things!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
November 5, 2013
Beautiful rich color and a pretty good fit. I got lots of compliments.
Not much give to the fabric, which is good for hiding flaws, but not always the most comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 24, 2013
Beautiful dress
I wore it for my fiancé's brothers wedding and loved it. It was a beautiful dress, wonderful fit. A little short but I am tall.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 28, 2011
success!
Fit very well, wore to dinner with my boyfriend and he loved it too!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 11, 2012
Awesome I loved it
Fit great a tad snug around the top but otherwise perfect
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
February 27, 2014
Lovely dress, but it definitely runs small.
Definitely size up for this dress, but it's lovely in person. Perfect dress on its own with some simple accessorizing. I actually did not end up wearing this dress for my event as it was my second choice, but it was a tough decision!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
March 2, 2014
Comfortable, form fitting, and hides your imperfections. Perfect dress for the Casino Night party!
Fit like a glove, very comfortable and stayed in place well. The small tiered layers hide any imperfections I was trying to hide. Received many compliments, wish I could've kept this one in my closet!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129lbs
March 4, 2014
This dress looked great on, but it was surprisingly thick layers of fabric. Not the most comfortable
Fine for fall or winter, but too heavy/thick for summer event.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 22, 2012
Loved it but too tight and short for a wedding.
This dress was too tight and short for a wedding. I'm 5'7" with a butt and it was definitely better suited either for someone smaller or for another occasion, like a bachelorette party. Still beautiful, just didn't work for the black-tie affair that I was attending.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
January 14, 2011
Love this dress...picture does not do justices....looks very elegant
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
February 19, 2011
I felt great in this this dress. I wore this dress to a November wedding and felt very season appropriate and stylish. The color was great and I felt very sexy.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 2, 2011
I loved this dress! I wore it for Valentine's Day dinner and I got many compliments! Very comfortable. You may want to go one size up if you have bigger hips.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 8, 2011
I wore this to a fraternity formal and it was perfect! i absolutely love this dress! I am 130 lbs and I wore a size 4. I wore it as shown but my hair was down!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 16, 2011
This dress was very pretty. I wore it to a rehearsal dinner for a black tie optional wedding. As others explained, the layers on the dress are not clean cut like they look in the photo, they are slightly frayed, but I didn't mind it. I'm 115 lbs and wore a size 2. Great dress overall.
See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×