Sophisticated Merlot Dress

$228 to buy
$650 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

The rich hue of this Robert Rodriguez dress screams sophistication. With a subtle raw edge trim and sexy one shoulder, this dress is a true showstopper. Shown here with AV Max's Gold Dome Bangle .

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend sizing up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built-in padding can be worn without a bra for all bust sizes though fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and tiered fabric is flattering on all body types
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - tall or curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has built-in cups in bust
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10")

Product Details

Wine stretch silk georgette. One shoulder neckline. Laser-cut tiered layers. Padded cups. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem (on a size 6).

Share
151 reviews
Fit
Large
(9)
True to Size
(115)
Small
(27)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 16, 2011
Great for fall!
I had a fall wedding to attend and this fit the occasion perfectly. The other reviews are correct, if you have any kind of hip, you should go a size up. I ordered the 4, but I couldn't even get it past my hips. The 6 fit well on my hips and waist and was a little big up top, but nothing that made me worry I would have some kind of "slip". The layers are more feathered then the picture gives off, so if you worry about any kind of horizontal stripes, I would skip this one.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
November 20, 2011
I loved it!
I loved this dress. I wore it to a high school friend's fall wedding and felt beautiful in it. I thought the fit was pretty true to size but slightly big on top (I don't have a very big bust). Still, it wasn't off by much and I was able to wear the dress comfortably. ps: I wore it off-the-shoulder.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
November 22, 2011
I felt amazing:-)
I rented this dress for my office Christmas party and it was a hit! Beautiful dress - I received non-stop compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 23, 2011
This dress was perfect to complement my outrageous glittery gold pumps!
I wore this dress to a semi-formal/holiday party and it was perfect! I loved the color for the time of year (fall/winter) and my dress was unlike anyone elses'! One note was that if you have bigger hips it may not be the best choice- the dress was tight around my hips which as fine but it was a little shapeless through my torso. Also note that the little layers are frayed at the bottom; I think they're supposed to be that way but it brings down the look slightly. Overall no regrets!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
November 30, 2011
Feeling really good in what I was wearing...I was dancing all night and felt beautiful!
I absolutely loved this dress and I wore it to a Holiday Party last December. I recommend getting the size you normally wear in a dress and also the size up if you can just so you have options. I liked it a little tight and I got so many complements on it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 30, 2011
this dress wasn't available to be delivered until the day of my event and it came right on time and fit perfectly. i had no worries about wordrobe malfunction.
I wear a size 4 in pants and got the 4 in this dress and it fit perfectly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
November 30, 2011
Comfortable yet flattering
Wore this dress to a co-worker's wedding where I wanted to wear something fun, yet somewhat appropriate for people I'd be seeing back at work on Monday! The dress was incredibly comfortable and even hid my food baby pooch after dinner. Fit was perfect, and not too tight. Will definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 30, 2011
The whole night!
I loved this dress - looked so classy in pictures and I got tons of compliments. The only thing misleading about the picture shown is that the pleats are a bit less polished in real life.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 1, 2011
It was a nice surprise dress as I was just planning on wearing it for backup!
I actually rented this dress as a backup dress to another RR Black Label dress (Celebration Swept Dress). It was so cute though, that I had to wear it out to a dinner date. My only complaint about this dress is that the fabric doesn't give much and the sleeve didn't go over my shoulder like it does on the model. I have broader shoulders from being an athlete, but it just looked like it was a sleeveless one shoulder dress on me. It was still cute, but just not like I thought it would look from the picture. My measurements are 34-27-35 if that helps.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
December 5, 2011
Pretty dress!
I wore this at a Christmas party and really enjoyed it. It was a little to short on me due to my height and thicker thighs/hips. I was worried about ordering this dress and not having it fit over my hips. Luckily, I barely squeezed into it and it looked perfect on me. It's very fitted. I liked the fabric layering of the dress; It has tiny frays on the ends. Overall, I am glad I chose to rent this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
December 8, 2011
Worn in an Outdoor Oct Wedding
I love this dress! I ordered it in a size 8, and a size 10 as a backup. And the size 8 fit perfectly! The length was perfect, and the dress hugged my curves in all the right spot. I received so many compliments from other guests and my in-laws as well, which if you knew if my in-laws, means a lot.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 18, 2011
Classy dress works for petites
Size 0 fit well. I'm 5'2 105lbs. It's short, so might not be great for someone tall. Overall very classy, nice material. The one-shoulder top is very flattering and stays put. I didn't wear a bra. Horizontal pleats have a short fringe which doesn't show well on the pic. Also the style doesn't show off a slim waist, but would hide a thick waist. But it's a pretty dress, got lots of compliments. I would recommend to a friend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
January 4, 2012
Great dress for the New Year!
I wore this dress for New Years Eve. I originally picked the dress as a back up to another dress that I ended up not liking at all. This dress ended up being my favorite. I would suggest getting the size you think you are and maybe a size larger because it fits snug if you have curves. I loved wearing the dress it was a hit and I felt comfortable in it.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
January 15, 2012
Nice for a night out
Rented this for dinner out while on vacation in Napa. Fits true to size. Very flattering for a slim figure. Fabric doesn't really give, so perhaps order a size up if you're busty or hippy. Would upload photos, but they're all too large.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
February 5, 2012
First rental with RTR went amazingly perfect! My husband loved the way I looked in this dress!
This is the first time I've rented a dress from RTR and I will definitely do it again! The merlot color of this dress is beautiful and rich. I ordered a size 4 and a size 6 as my back up. Both sizes ended up fitting me. I was honestly more comfortable in the 6; however, it did not come in at the waist as much and the top was a little large on me, so I chose the size 4. I was nervous that the dress would fit me too long thus making me look even shorter. However, the length was perfect for this occasion and ended up fitting me a few inches above the knee. I wore this dress with gold sparkle heels and gold dangle earrings. Oh yea, unlike other reviewers, I found this dress comfortable enough to dance in. I was able to salsa and dance cumbias (both of which require lots of hip movement) comfortably all night long!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
March 3, 2012
Dress can be worn to any event. My fiancee's jaw dropped!
This dress is very nice. It has padded cups which were bent & didn't really work for me, I had to wear a strapless bra so the breast area felt a bit tight. Dress has no stretch but it fits beautifully.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
March 12, 2012
This dress was perfect for New Year's Eve! Such a fun party dress but still classy!
I rented this dress for New Year's Eve and I was overall pleased with it. The dress itself was heavy and the fabric was thicker than I expected, but since it was cold outside I wasn't upset about it. The shoulder didn't stay in place and I was pulling it down for most of the night though. The pleating on the shoulder also didn't stay in place, so I ended up using double sided tape to hold it down so I wouldn't have to worry about it. In the end I was pleased with the dress and again had an amazing RTR experience!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
April 1, 2012
Worn for a birthday party
The color of this dress is great. Matches very well with jewelry and can work with many different colored shoes. However, I wasn't aware that the dress had multiple layers from top to bottom in the pictures shown on the page. It made it seem larger and looked bigger in some spots than I had hoped for. Overall, it was comfortable, but I wish it were tighter and that I had known the layers in fabric were there when I ordered it. It ran a little big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 16, 2012
Almost perfect
The color of this dress is even better in person. Unfortunately, my dress arrived damaged and I was unable to wear it, but I would consider renting it again in the future.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
May 15, 2012
Great Dress!
To tell you the truth, I was first skeptical about renting a dress. However, the whole process from choosing a dress to returning it was flawless! I had several questions regarding the dress and the stylist quickly responded to my e-mail. I usually wear size 0 but I also got size 2 as my back up since the fabric is not stretchable (based on the reviews). I love the dress! I got several compliments even after the event (thanks to social networking). I decided to wear the size 0 since it showed my petite frame better than the size 2. It was also comfortable! The color is similar to the picture shown. The dress was not too flamboyant or too dull. The only concern I had was the fringe of the dress. I didn't expect that the fringe was so delicate. Towards the end of the wedding, I had to stop dancing and sit down because I was worried I might ruin the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 12, 2012
Loved it!
I ordered this dress in a size 4 after reading the reviews. I didn't order a back-up size because I also ordered another dress and got the back-up size in that one (could only get one back-up). I got worried when I started to put this on, it takes a bit of wiggling, but it fit perfect! I probably could have fit in a 6 but it would have been too loose for me. I liked that it was form fitting. I just had a baby 6 months ago an I used to wear a 2 but my hips are a bit wider now and I still have a couple extra pounds. Also I am still breastfeeding so I went from a size 32C to a 32D. The top fit me very well, not sure how it would be on an A or a small B, I could see it being a bit large up top. The fabric on the shoulder did flip up a bit as people had noted in previous reviews but it didn't bother me at all, just flattened it a couple times. Oh, the other dress I ordered was a size 2 that reviewers said ran large and it fit perfectly as well, the reviews are so helpful!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
August 9, 2012
cute dress
I rented this dress as a back up, didn't end up wearing it. I wasn't a huge fan of the layers, if they weren't laying perfectly flat it made the dress (and me!) look a little bit unkempt
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 62
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
August 14, 2012
Great Dress!!
Loved this dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
August 16, 2012
Perfect dress for my boyfriend's surprise birthday party!
This dress is beautiful, classy yet fun! The only complaint would be that the top of the sleeve kept rolling up but other than that it was great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
August 17, 2012
More fringe-y than expected
I am fairly short (5'1"), and was surprised by how high up my thigh this dress hit. Also, while the description mentions "a subtle raw edge trim," I would like to note that the trim (which lines the bottom of each "strip" that winds around to create the dress) is much more noticeable than I expected. That being said, it looked good, and I did get many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 22, 2012
Didn't end up wearing it
This dress was very pretty, however the way the shoulder fabric laid, it kept flipping up and over itself. My husband didn't like the way it looked, so I wore and dress I had in my closet.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 13, 2012
My Fiance LOVED this dress on me!
I would say this runs a little bit on the small size. Im usually between a 4-6 and I wore the 6, it was tight but very flattering. The pleats hide everything! The fabric is kind of "frayed" but it is supposed to be - I didnt mind this other than the very top of the dress which kept flapping over. Overall I was pleased and got a lot of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
September 10, 2012
Show Stopper
This dress was incredible!! People were ranting and raving about it all night long. The dress is very flattering because it is forgiving yet sexy at the same time. I would definitely wear it again. Just as a heads up, though, if you're tall like I am, it is a little short - so perhaps not the best for an incredibly formal function, but definitely a lot of fun anywhere else.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 10, 2012
sexy sexy dress
Like all my other RTR experiences, the fabric was beautiful and the service was great. Agree with other reviewers that the fabric has NO GIVE and for that reason would suggest sizing up. Also folds in the shoulder seem to come out of place easily. Otherwise a great option for a formal fall affair.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Body type: Athletic
September 12, 2012
Really Cute!
Looks great with gold jewelry. You will need to use the body tape to keep the dress from showing your bra. This dress is really flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
September 17, 2012
Perfect for a fall wedding!!
I rented this for a fall wedding and loved it! I wore it with a camel cape and it looked amazing! I accessorized it with the Nicole Miller plantation earrings and Nicole Miller star light bracelet and nude heels-- which went perfectly. The form of this dress does not give much room for stretching-- so make sure you order your true size and get a back up in the next size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
September 19, 2012
Wore for a summer event at the Country Club
This dress doesn't have enough stretch so I ended up wearing the larger size and it didn't fit great (was blousy some places like the hips). It was very classy, sharp and I'm glad I rented it. Looks great on, if not incredibly comfortable
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
September 24, 2012
Loved this dress. Super flattering cut and color- I got compliments all night!
The "layers" of the dress are more ruffly and fringe-y than they appear to be in the picture. This wasn't necessarily a bad thing- it just wasn't exactly as I expected. Also, the shoulder tends to move up and down along your shoulder when you left your arms. This wasn't bad either- you just need to adjust it from time to time. Overall, definitely reccommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
September 24, 2012
I loved the fabric on this. It was an incredible soft fabric, and the red tone was really fantastic.
It was a bit tight in the hips, but I'm fairly pear shaped, so it was probably me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
September 24, 2012
Beautiful merlot dress! Felt so rich and I received so many compliments!
I wore this dress to my cousin's Bar Mitzvah. The color was gorgeous and the fabric seemed so rich. I had to go with the 2 since I have a larger bust and the 0 was too tight under the arms. The fabric isn't stretchy, so I'd recommend to go with a size up. I wore nude pumps to compliment the look. First experience renting with RTR and I couldn't be happier! Can't wait to rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
September 24, 2012
Not for double digit sizes :(
Even with two sized (10 and a 12) I ended up not being able to wear this dress. The difference between the 10 and 12 was huge. I have a large bust (36D) and the 10 couldn't fit it but the 12 was like a potato sack on me. It looks so cute on the model, but just didn't work for my body.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 24, 2012
Came right on time and exactly as described!
LOVED this dress! Got LOTS AND LOTS of compliments! The shoulder "flaps" did pop up a lot, but I used a little fashion tape on the top two layers and had no problems the rest of the night. I did not have time to tan, but the color of the dress still looked good on my pale skin.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 24, 2012
Perfect for winter wedding!
I received many compliments on this dress! I wore it to a December wedding and was able to dance the night away comfortably!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
September 26, 2012
perfect winter wedding dress!
I wore this to a winter wedding
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 15, 2012
Great fit, didn't even need the additional size!
This dress is truely a show stopper. I literally had complements all night. The dress is fitting, but only in the best ways. I have a huge butt, but the dress had enough structure that it didn't wrap around my butt but still made it look great. The pleats are very flattering on the midsection as well. On top of that, I have an athletic build and no waist and this dress made me look like i had a perfectly proportioned hourglass shape. Overall, the dress was incredibly comfortable.
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×