Sequin Trim Empire Gown

$86 to buy
$695 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This gorgeous Robert Rodriguez Black Label gown is trimmed with sequins to ensure you sparkle your evening away.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for C cups and larger- runs slightly large in bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at high waist with sequin band- pleating conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - Full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular is for heights 5'6" and below. Long is for heights above 5'6''.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra; built in padding in bust area
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Product Details

Black silk chiffon. V necklne. Stacked gold sequin empire waistband detail. Deep V back with tie at neck. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
65 reviews
Fit
Large
(24)
True to Size
(40)
Small
(1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 6, 2013
Great for a deb ball!

Loved it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 8, 2013
Enjoyed the dress and the evening

Beautiful dress. I was very pleased. I did 'hem' the dress with tape sold on RTR. Due to the lining, I wish I had purchased at least two, maybe three boxes. I wore 3" heels and hemmed 2 1/2 inches. The top of the dress fit nicely. A bra is out of the question. I recommend purchasing something small to tape with. I purchased a sticky bra, and had to do a lot of trimming. I felt very comfortable in the dress, but I didn't do much dancing. If you are an active dancer, you might consider another dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
March 30, 2013
I loved this dress! Tons of compliments!

This dress was very slimming! I usually am a 10 but I wore the 8L because it fit better around the waist. The dress is super low cut, and I wore no bra with it. The only thing you have to be careful about is slouching, especially if you wear no bra. Other than that this a a timeless dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 30, 2013
Not just another black dress.

Glam, comfortable, and understated, while still standing out in the crowd. Loved it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 27, 2014
Really comfy, and no need for a bra!

I really liked the gold sequin band, so that added a little extra to the basic black gown. I wore this to a winter formal for my school and got lots of compliments (there were a lot of girls there who used RTR as well!). It's really comfy, sometimes static-y. It fit well up top, which is where I sometimes have trouble finding a good dress. Highly recommend for someone who has a larger bust. Thanks again RTR for another great night :)

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
January 29, 2014
Perfect NYE Dress!

The fit was great. It's definitely good for busty women-- I have a small waist and big bust (32F) and this dress showed off both assets. I took a gamble and only ordered the 6P because they were out of the 6 regular, but it worked perfectly. Wore it to a formal New Year's Eve party. Got so many compliments! I would highly recommend.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
February 28, 2014
Didn't end up wearing it, Too Long

I'm not sure why I ordered a 0L because I'm definitely a petite at 5'4, but the dress was really pretty but too long for me. it was a bit tight around the chest where it zippers and the boob part has cups which is nice, so you dont need a bra. i wish i could have worn this dress because it's gorgeous and comfortable besides!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
March 26, 2014
Felt gorgeous - even at 28 weeks pregnant!

[Disclaimer: At the time I wore this dress, I was 28 weeks pregnant and weighed 154 lbs.] When the dress I'd originally ordered for a black-tie wedding didn't work out, Rent the Runway overnighted me a couple of back-up dresses, including this one. Even at 28 weeks pregnant, this dress fit beautifully, and accommodated my baby bump perfectly. It was not only gorgeous, but comfortable as well. I'd recommend this dress to anyone!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
April 8, 2014
This dress was beautiful in person!

This was actually my back up dress for a military ball. Because both dresses fit, I let my date choose which one I would wear. He made the perfect choice! It was classy and comfortable. The pictures really don't do it justice. I'm small breasted and would have fit better had I been a little larger in that area, but that's what most of the said so I was warned!

Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 20, 2014
Loved it!

The dress was beautiful. One of my favorite RTR dresses so far. The gold "belt" was kind of a dark gold, and I matched it with a RTR bracelet as well! The deep V in the front wasn't too deep, and I still felt very classy in it! I did order a 2L because I am taller, but it ended up being too long and I had to hold it up for the most part of the night even with 4 inch heels. Other than that, it was great!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
October 16, 2012
Beautiful, stunning and flattering dress! :)

I wore this dress to my sorority formal, it was beautiful and flattering and comfortable. My fave RTR dress I have rented so far!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 200lbs
October 23, 2012
beautiful, simple and original dress

absolutely loved this dress. i wore it for my schools senior assembly dance, and was complimented all night. very happy to not be those girls who had others show up in their same dress. i wore heels for pictures and changed into flats for the dance. both shoes were ok with the dress length, neither making it awkward. i had to use a small amount of fashion tape on the chest area, but that was more precaution than necessity. overall, great rental

View photos (2)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
November 12, 2012
All night, my date was telling me how amazing I looked -- and I believed him!

I was worried from other reviews that the dress was going to be huge, but it actually fit perfectly. I'm tall, so with 3" heels the dress just barely touched the floor. Ties in the back are long but really helped to keep the dress up and under control. A backless bra (or no bra) is a must.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 30, 2012
Simple and Flattering

Camouflages everything you want to hide and really makes your boobs look great! Very simple, easy and comfortable!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 5, 2013
beautifully made black dress- wore for prom

Usually a 4, but thank god I ordered the 2 as a backup! Both fit well but the 2 fit perfectly. A little large in the bust, but otherwise perfect. Ideal for hiding one's stomach. I definitely recommend this gown.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
May 19, 2013
Perfect for Prom or other formal events

Beautiful dress! I wore this to prom and got a lot of compliments. It fits pretty well, made for girls with a larger bust. Im 5'7 so i ordered a longer dress but I should have ordered a regular length because even with heals it was a bit too long.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 38DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
October 25, 2014
I wore this to my Cotillion presentation, and felt beautiful in it all night!

It was my backup dress, and I was so glad to have it! The original dress I ordered was not so flattering on me! But this one was beautiful! Its a comfortable fit, not too binding or tight, although the straps want to wander off your shoulders any chance they get. And for those of us larger in the chest area, I suggest you be ready to improvise. None of my backless bras or sticky bras worked with this dress, so I ended up going without. Which worked out just fine, I got plenty of compliments and felt happy with it throughout the night! I would absolutely rent again, and this dress is a great option!

View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
May 12, 2011

This dress fit perfectly! The back is gorgeous and I would definitely say the sequined belt is more of a gold than a bronze. Without hells the "regular" dress fell to the floor about the same as the length in the picture shown. So if you're wearing flats get the R and if you're wearing heels I'd go for the long (L). I definitely recommend this dress!!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 19, 2011

Tis was a gret dress. I rented it for a wedding I was in. I'm expecting my second child and was starting to show so I wanted a dress that would desguise my bump/weight gain. This dress was perfect. Even though I don't feel pretty at the moment with the weight gain this dress worked great. I put my hair up and wore a matching necklace and earings that looked great with it and I actually looked sexy. The only thing was the deep neckline I had to use dress tape to keep it in place, just so I didn't look like I was going to pop out in the middle of the church. My husband loved it. He couldn't wait to get me home.

KimOctober 19, 2011
Any thoughts how this might fit 9 months pregnant...all in the belly?
michelleOctober 19, 2011
Wondering the same thing! Thinking of renting this for a black tie event and I will be 8 months pregnant...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
April 22, 2012
Decent Option

I was not as pleased with this dress as I thought I'd be when it arrived. The length was great, but the zipper was difficult to manage through the sequins and the small clasp at the top was loose. Once I had some help, I was able to navigate the zipper but this style wasn't flattering on me. I did not end up wearing this dress and returned it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 116
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
June 12, 2012
lovely gown

The dress was lovely. Thank goodness I rented both the short and long lengths of this dress. The long dress zipper was broken, so i wore the shorter length with flat sandals. It was a warm evening in Napa so the sandals worked great. I am 5'8" and the regular length fit exactly.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 11, 2012
Gorgeous! I can't wait to rent this again!

I didn't end up wearing this dress but I loved it! Flattering and comfortable. Def need one of those sticky strapless/backless bras. The sequins are more muted gold. I can't wait to rent it again and wear it!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 15, 2012
When a very glam sister of the bride exclaimed, "Look at you!"

Fit was great, all the foundations were built right in. The cons were that I had to steam the gown, and it was too long.

Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148lbs
July 5, 2013
Beautiful and slimming!!

I felt absolutely beautiful in this dress. My boyfriend loved it too. It was very slimming and comfortable. I would recommend this dress to anyone. Thanks!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
April 3, 2014
The gold waistline makes this dress very flattering.

I loved this dress, very comfortable and very flattering. But I wasn't quite sure what to do with the string in the back. I couldn't figure out how to make it look like the model's dress.

See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×