Sequin Trim Empire Gown

$86 to buy
$695 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This gorgeous Robert Rodriguez Black Label gown is trimmed with sequins to ensure you sparkle your evening away.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for C cups and larger- runs slightly large in bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at high waist with sequin band- pleating conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - Full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular is for heights 5'6" and below. Long is for heights above 5'6''.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra; built in padding in bust area
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for C cups and larger- runs slightly large in bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at high waist with sequin band- pleating conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - Full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular is for heights 5'6" and below. Long is for heights above 5'6''.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra; built in padding in bust area
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black silk chiffon. V necklne. Stacked gold sequin empire waistband detail. Deep V back with tie at neck. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
65 reviews
Fit
Large24
True to Size40
Small1
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 152lbs
June 22, 2012
I felt like a goddess, such a gorgeous dress and everyone noticed.
I rented this dress for my Senior Ball and I fell in love with it. It fits like a glove and hits in all the right places. I honestly never felt prettier in any other gown. It was the perfect mix of classic, elegance and interest (the back is gorgeous). Definitely rent this dress for a formal event, you wont be disappointed (and you will most likely want to size down, it runs very big, but confidence boost!)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 114
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
June 12, 2012
lovely gown
The dress was lovely. Thank goodness I rented both the short and long lengths of this dress. The long dress zipper was broken, so i wore the shorter length with flat sandals. It was a warm evening in Napa so the sandals worked great. I am 5'8" and the regular length fit exactly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
April 22, 2012
Decent Option
I was not as pleased with this dress as I thought I'd be when it arrived. The length was great, but the zipper was difficult to manage through the sequins and the small clasp at the top was loose. Once I had some help, I was able to navigate the zipper but this style wasn't flattering on me. I did not end up wearing this dress and returned it.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
February 18, 2012
Praise the Lord that it fit!
I got invited to a Mardi Gras Ball and had to order this beautiful dress 1 week before the event. It came Thursday and we left Friday. It fit great! I wore a 8L. I'm 5' 8" with long legs and big boobs. I normally wear a 6 or an 8 in dresses and the 8 fit fine. Was a little revealing for my liking but if you tie the back strings tight then it covers more skin. I felt great in it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 10, 2012
I felt like the most beautiful girl in the room - I'll definitely be using RTR again!
this dress was my backup dress, but I ended up liking it more than the one I had intended on wearing! it is sleek and comfortable, and it looked great with my date's military uniform. the V-neck is pretty revealing, but it really is a beautiful dress! i love the back as well. i'll definitely be renting again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
February 8, 2012
I loved the dress and I will definitely use RTR again in the future!
This dress fit perfectly! I was very comfortable all evening and received many compliments. It was a little too long, but a 4R was not available.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
January 26, 2012
love
this was my backup dress and although I didn't end up wearing it, I will totally rent it again. It fit true to size and it simple but super elegant.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
January 9, 2012
When I first tried on the dress, I got a lot of ooh's and ahh's from my family! Thanks RTR!
The dress was beautiful! There is padding in the chest area that really assists for some nice cleavage! The only complaint I had was that the sequins were sort of a dull bronze color, and I had hoped that they would be more of a gold color! Awesome dress for a formal event!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
December 12, 2011
The dress was perfect - and I loved that all I had to do was toss it in an envelope when I was done!
I am 5'11" and one of those poor people with a small upper body and big lower body. This dress, however, fit me perfectly! I got an 8 in a LONG length and was still able to pull it off with 3 1/2" heels! I am a D cup and the top fit well - if I was DD, it would have fit even better! LOL I am a 10 on the bottom - but with the 8, it still fit perfectly. One word of caution - the band under the chest is NOT A SHINY GOLD! It's more of an antiqued gold...or even a bronze.
AGDecember 13, 2011
I ordered the same dress for this weekend, can't wait to wear it! Looks great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 14, 2011
Too BIG
The chat stylist advised me to go with a 12R after giving my measurements. Well, this dress runs BIG! Even in 4" heels, the dress length was a little too long, but it was the fit that bothered me. It was like 2 sizes too big, so renters BEWARE:) Other than that, it was pretty. I didn't wear it to the U.S. MARINE CORPS Ball due to it being huge on me, had to send it back.
SloaneAugust 18, 2015
The 2L. And, like I said, I don't like my shoes to show. If that doesn't bother you, it would probably be okay.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 175lbs
November 14, 2011
Get a size or 2 smaller
This is a beautiful dress and was flattering on me and I imagine it would be on virtually any figure. It doesn't need to fit perfectly because of the nature of the cut, but it runs large. I wear a size 12 or 14 normally and rented a size 8. It was tight in the waist band, but everywhere else fit perfectly. It was also very long, which is nice because I'm 5'10", but I had to wear 5 inch heels so I wouldn't trip on it! I would definitly recommend it.
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
November 2, 2011
Beautiful dress but it ran a little big. Also the zipper was broken in the size that fit best. RTR credited my account quickly but had to find a new dress on REALLY short notice for a black tie event. Not fun.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Body type: Hourglass
November 2, 2011
I got the 12 long and it was a bit too big for me. However, not sure if it's because I lost weight (major workout program right now) or it runs large. The long is very long, so at 5'8" and 5 inch heels, I was still afraid to trip on the dress. So I held it up all night. The bodice looked huge too, thought I would have to buy cutlets to fill it out, however, it fit great without and I was never worried about a "peep" show. On the hanger the dress looks ok, but once I put it on, it looked AMAZING!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
October 31, 2011
This dress just wasn't what I'd hoped it would be. The material just felt a little cheap and the gold band looked the same. The fit was ok but I felt the draping didn't look very good with my body type. As for length, for my height (5'10"), the long is definitely the way to go.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 19, 2011
Tis was a gret dress. I rented it for a wedding I was in. I'm expecting my second child and was starting to show so I wanted a dress that would desguise my bump/weight gain. This dress was perfect. Even though I don't feel pretty at the moment with the weight gain this dress worked great. I put my hair up and wore a matching necklace and earings that looked great with it and I actually looked sexy. The only thing was the deep neckline I had to use dress tape to keep it in place, just so I didn't look like I was going to pop out in the middle of the church. My husband loved it. He couldn't wait to get me home.
KimMay 20, 2012
Any thoughts how this might fit 9 months pregnant...all in the belly?
michelleOctober 4, 2012
Wondering the same thing! Thinking of renting this for a black tie event and I will be 8 months pregnant...
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Body type: Athletic
September 30, 2011
I'm 5'4" about 165 lbs and I rented this dress for the Emmy's. It was great! The gold sequins is more of a brassy color that bright gold. I read reviews saying it ran big so I ordered the size 8 & 10. I'm a D cup and both the 8 and 10 fit. I wore the 10 because the gold sequins on the 8 was a bit snug on my rib cage. The 10 was comfortable, but was still a tag big in the top. Was definitely flattering on my figure, being a heavier athletic build. Was good quality, but does run big. Do not rent if you have a small bust.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
September 19, 2011
I loved this dress! Elegant and chic yet comfortable too. The 8L fit me to a tee and the length was perfect with 3in. heels.
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Body type: Hourglass
September 13, 2011
Too long, but beautiful.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 162lbs
June 15, 2011
Long legs? This is your dress! I'm 6'0 with a 35" inseam and with 2" heel, it skimmed the ground. It's also a dream fit. Splurge for a big cuff--it so makes the outfit!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
June 6, 2011
This dress was great. Heeded other reviews and ordered a size 2 rather than my usual 4 and it fit well. Also was the perfect length for me while wearing 3 inch heels. Couldn't wear a bra with it but for me it was not neccessary as the top has a good amount of padding.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
May 12, 2011
This dress fit perfectly! The back is gorgeous and I would definitely say the sequined belt is more of a gold than a bronze. Without hells the "regular" dress fell to the floor about the same as the length in the picture shown. So if you're wearing flats get the R and if you're wearing heels I'd go for the long (L). I definitely recommend this dress!!
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Body type: Petite
May 9, 2011
This dress was incredible. It does run a bit large-- I am usually a 0 or a 2 and the 0 was still a little roomy, but worked totally fine. I wore 4-inch heels, which made it the perfect length. I would definitely recommend wearing adhesive bra cups if you have a smaller bust; they helped enhance cleavage and fill the top out. A stunning dress. I loved wearing it. Everyone else loved it too, especially the beautiful back.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Body type: Apple
February 7, 2011
I thought this dress was great - simple and chic. It's surprising to see a review saying it was too long - I'm 5'5'' and wore a 3.5 inch heel and it fell perfectly. It's great for hiding tummy flaws - and while I did not wear a bra, there was enough support and cold coverage that it was no problem. I wore the 10 but probably could have fit the 8 comfortably - so I would recommend going down a size for your backup version.
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
December 22, 2010
I ordered the long and it was WAY too long to wear. I'm 5'8" and even with 3" heels I would have been tripping over it all night. Also, I am usually a size 2 or 4 but probably could have worn a 0. Otherwise, a pretty dress. The gold belt was a little more bronze than shown in the picture.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
November 30, 2010
Great dress, a little long for me but it falls really nicely. Really comfortable even though you can't wear a bra. The only issue I had was that the zipper was really difficult to do.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×