Robert Rodriguez Black Label

Sequin Trim Empire Gown

$86 rental
$695 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This gorgeous Robert Rodriguez Black Label gown is trimmed with sequins to ensure you sparkle your evening away.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for C cups and larger- runs slightly large in bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at high waist with sequin band- pleating conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - Full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular is for heights 5'6" and below. Long is for heights above 5'6''.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra; built in padding in bust area
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for C cups and larger- runs slightly large in bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at high waist with sequin band- pleating conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - Full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular is for heights 5'6" and below. Long is for heights above 5'6''.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra; built in padding in bust area
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black silk chiffon. V necklne. Stacked gold sequin empire waistband detail. Deep V back with tie at neck. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

65 reviews

Fit
Small 1
True to Size 40
Large 24
Photos 31
Pippa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 30, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Great dress, a little long for me but it falls really nicely. Really comfortable even though you can't wear a bra. The only issue I had was that the zipper was really difficult to do.
Kelly
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Dec 22, 2010

Overall fit: Large
I ordered the long and it was WAY too long to wear. I'm 5'8" and even with 3" heels I would have been tripping over it all night. Also, I am usually a size 2 or 4 but probably could have worn a 0. Otherwise, a pretty dress. The gold belt was a little more bronze than shown in the picture.
Jesse
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Apple
Feb 7, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I thought this dress was great - simple and chic. It's surprising to see a review saying it was too long - I'm 5'5'' and wore a 3.5 inch heel and it fell perfectly. It's great for hiding tummy flaws - and while I did not wear a bra, there was enough support and cold coverage that it was no problem. I wore the 10 but probably could have fit the 8 comfortably - so I would recommend going down a size for your backup version.
Karen
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Body type: Petite
May 9, 2011

Overall fit: Large
This dress was incredible. It does run a bit large-- I am usually a 0 or a 2 and the 0 was still a little roomy, but worked totally fine. I wore 4-inch heels, which made it the perfect length. I would definitely recommend wearing adhesive bra cups if you have a smaller bust; they helped enhance cleavage and fill the top out. A stunning dress. I loved wearing it. Everyone else loved it too, especially the beautiful back.
Jcuts
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
May 12, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress fit perfectly! The back is gorgeous and I would definitely say the sequined belt is more of a gold than a bronze. Without hells the "regular" dress fell to the floor about the same as the length in the picture shown. So if you're wearing flats get the R and if you're wearing heels I'd go for the long (L). I definitely recommend this dress!!
Jennie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 6, 2011

Overall fit: Large
This dress was great. Heeded other reviews and ordered a size 2 rather than my usual 4 and it fit well. Also was the perfect length for me while wearing 3 inch heels. Couldn't wear a bra with it but for me it was not neccessary as the top has a good amount of padding.
clc
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 162 lbs
Jun 15, 2011

Overall fit: Large
Long legs? This is your dress! I'm 6'0 with a 35" inseam and with 2" heel, it skimmed the ground. It's also a dream fit. Splurge for a big cuff--it so makes the outfit!
Robby
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 13, 2011

Overall fit: Large
Too long, but beautiful.
Liz
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
Sep 19, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I loved this dress! Elegant and chic yet comfortable too. The 8L fit me to a tee and the length was perfect with 3in. heels.
Amy
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Body type: Athletic
Sep 30, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I'm 5'4" about 165 lbs and I rented this dress for the Emmy's. It was great! The gold sequins is more of a brassy color that bright gold. I read reviews saying it ran big so I ordered the size 8 & 10. I'm a D cup and both the 8 and 10 fit. I wore the 10 because the gold sequins on the 8 was a bit snug on my rib cage. The 10 was comfortable, but was still a tag big in the top. Was definitely flattering on my figure, being a heavier athletic build. Was good quality, but does run big. Do not rent if you have a small bust.
Shelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 19, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Tis was a gret dress. I rented it for a wedding I was in. I'm expecting my second child and was starting to show so I wanted a dress that would desguise my bump/weight gain. This dress was perfect. Even though I don't feel pretty at the moment with the weight gain this dress worked great. I put my hair up and wore a matching necklace and earings that looked great with it and I actually looked sexy. The only thing was the deep neckline I had to use dress tape to keep it in place, just so I didn't look like I was going to pop out in the middle of the church. My husband loved it. He couldn't wait to get me home.
LFisher
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
Oct 31, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress just wasn't what I'd hoped it would be. The material just felt a little cheap and the gold band looked the same. The fit was ok but I felt the draping didn't look very good with my body type. As for length, for my height (5'10"), the long is definitely the way to go.
vspisme
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 2, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I got the 12 long and it was a bit too big for me. However, not sure if it's because I lost weight (major workout program right now) or it runs large. The long is very long, so at 5'8" and 5 inch heels, I was still afraid to trip on the dress. So I held it up all night. The bodice looked huge too, thought I would have to buy cutlets to fill it out, however, it fit great without and I was never worried about a "peep" show. On the hanger the dress looks ok, but once I put it on, it looked AMAZING!
Kate
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175 lbs
Nov 2, 2011

Overall fit: Large
Beautiful dress but it ran a little big. Also the zipper was broken in the size that fit best. RTR credited my account quickly but had to find a new dress on REALLY short notice for a black tie event. Not fun.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 175 lbs
Nov 14, 2011

Get a size or 2 smaller

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is a beautiful dress and was flattering on me and I imagine it would be on virtually any figure. It doesn't need to fit perfectly because of the nature of the cut, but it runs large. I wear a size 12 or 14 normally and rented a size 8. It was tight in the waist band, but everywhere else fit perfectly. It was also very long, which is nice because I'm 5'10", but I had to wear 5 inch heels so I wouldn't trip on it! I would definitly recommend it.
Sonia
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 14, 2011

Too BIG

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The chat stylist advised me to go with a 12R after giving my measurements. Well, this dress runs BIG! Even in 4" heels, the dress length was a little too long, but it was the fit that bothered me. It was like 2 sizes too big, so renters BEWARE:) Other than that, it was pretty. I didn't wear it to the U.S. MARINE CORPS Ball due to it being huge on me, had to send it back.
leslie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133 lbs
Jan 26, 2012

love

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
this was my backup dress and although I didn't end up wearing it, I will totally rent it again. It fit true to size and it simple but super elegant.
Amy
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 18, 2012

Praise the Lord that it fit!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got invited to a Mardi Gras Ball and had to order this beautiful dress 1 week before the event. It came Thursday and we left Friday. It fit great! I wore a 8L. I'm 5' 8" with long legs and big boobs. I normally wear a 6 or an 8 in dresses and the 8 fit fine. Was a little revealing for my liking but if you tie the back strings tight then it covers more skin. I felt great in it!
Gina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 22, 2012

Decent Option

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was not as pleased with this dress as I thought I'd be when it arrived. The length was great, but the zipper was difficult to manage through the sequins and the small clasp at the top was loose. Once I had some help, I was able to navigate the zipper but this style wasn't flattering on me. I did not end up wearing this dress and returned it.
terry
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 113
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Jun 12, 2012

lovely gown

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was lovely. Thank goodness I rented both the short and long lengths of this dress. The long dress zipper was broken, so i wore the shorter length with flat sandals. It was a warm evening in Napa so the sandals worked great. I am 5'8" and the regular length fit exactly.
ea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 4, 2012

simple class...

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
this dress is beautiful, totally comfortable and super flattering. i would go a size smaller - especially if you are smaller on top...as the bottom has plenty of room.
JG
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 11, 2012

Gorgeous! I can't wait to rent this again!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I didn't end up wearing this dress but I loved it! Flattering and comfortable. Def need one of those sticky strapless/backless bras. The sequins are more muted gold. I can't wait to rent it again and wear it!!
Ema
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Oct 11, 2012

The customer service was awesome and the dress was prettier in person.

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was alittle big but not enough to order a size down; however the there is a tie in the back that helped keep the breasts in place. The length was just right as I am 5'7 and wore 4" inch heels. The dress skimmed the floor. I danced the night away in this dress at my friend's wedding.
elizabeth
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 15, 2012

When a very glam sister of the bride exclaimed, "Look at you!"

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was great, all the foundations were built right in. The cons were that I had to steam the gown, and it was too long.
Rhm
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 17, 2012

Just ok

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Not special or different enough for me, but still nice.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×