Rent the Runway

Robert Rodriguez Black Label

Sequin Trim Empire Gown

$86 to buy
$695 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This gorgeous Robert Rodriguez Black Label gown is trimmed with sequins to ensure you sparkle your evening away.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for C cups and larger- runs slightly large in bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at high waist with sequin band- pleating conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - Full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular is for heights 5'6" and below. Long is for heights above 5'6''.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra; built in padding in bust area
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for C cups and larger- runs slightly large in bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at high waist with sequin band- pleating conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - Full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular is for heights 5'6" and below. Long is for heights above 5'6''.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra; built in padding in bust area
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black silk chiffon. V necklne. Stacked gold sequin empire waistband detail. Deep V back with tie at neck. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

65 reviews

Fit
Small 1
True to Size 40
Large 24
Photos 31
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 12, 2011

The dress was perfect - and I loved that all I had to do was toss it in an envelope when I was done!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5'11" and one of those poor people with a small upper body and big lower body. This dress, however, fit me perfectly! I got an 8 in a LONG length and was still able to pull it off with 3 1/2" heels! I am a D cup and the top fit well - if I was DD, it would have fit even better! LOL I am a 10 on the bottom - but with the 8, it still fit perfectly. One word of caution - the band under the chest is NOT A SHINY GOLD! It's more of an antiqued gold...or even a bronze.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Jan 9, 2012

When I first tried on the dress, I got a lot of ooh's and ahh's from my family! Thanks RTR!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was beautiful! There is padding in the chest area that really assists for some nice cleavage! The only complaint I had was that the sequins were sort of a dull bronze color, and I had hoped that they would be more of a gold color! Awesome dress for a formal event!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 8, 2012

I loved the dress and I will definitely use RTR again in the future!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit perfectly! I was very comfortable all evening and received many compliments. It was a little too long, but a 4R was not available.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 10, 2012

I felt like the most beautiful girl in the room - I'll definitely be using RTR again!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
this dress was my backup dress, but I ended up liking it more than the one I had intended on wearing! it is sleek and comfortable, and it looked great with my date's military uniform. the V-neck is pretty revealing, but it really is a beautiful dress! i love the back as well. i'll definitely be renting again!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 152 lbs
Jun 22, 2012

I felt like a goddess, such a gorgeous dress and everyone noticed.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for my Senior Ball and I fell in love with it. It fits like a glove and hits in all the right places. I honestly never felt prettier in any other gown. It was the perfect mix of classic, elegance and interest (the back is gorgeous). Definitely rent this dress for a formal event, you wont be disappointed (and you will most likely want to size down, it runs very big, but confidence boost!)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 20, 2012

Comfortable and classy

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit great, felt great, and looked great! The material is loose and stretchy so definitely order down a size. I had trouble finding a bra that would go with this dress. I eventually bought a backless/strapless sticky bra that worked great, no other bra will work. The dress was perfect for senior ball, black and gold kept it formal and classy!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Sep 25, 2012

Great gold accent

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Thank goodness that RTR gives you 2 sizes to choose from, the 8 was way too big and the 6 fit closer to size, with room to spare. The gold belt spices up the dress and the neckline its the perfect length. If this goes on sale I'd buy it in a heartbeat!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 9, 2012

I felt so gorgeous in this dress.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress for my prom. It runs a bit large and quite long. I'm 5'3" and I wore 5 1/2 inch heels and the regular was good. When I tried on the long dress there was way too much fabric. I ended up wearing a 4R but a 2R or even 0R would have fit better, it was quite lose around my ribs. The gold band ended up being more of a bronze color. Also up close I could tell the dress had been worn quite a few times but it was still beautiful.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 16, 2012

Beautiful, stunning and flattering dress! :)

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to my sorority formal, it was beautiful and flattering and comfortable. My fave RTR dress I have rented so far!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Oct 17, 2012

I loved having a classic dress with a chic twist with the golden belt!

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I thought it was pretty loose for being a 12, but I loved it anyway! It was super comfortable and stylish!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 200 lbs
Oct 23, 2012

beautiful, simple and original dress

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
absolutely loved this dress. i wore it for my schools senior assembly dance, and was complimented all night. very happy to not be those girls who had others show up in their same dress. i wore heels for pictures and changed into flats for the dance. both shoes were ok with the dress length, neither making it awkward. i had to use a small amount of fashion tape on the chest area, but that was more precaution than necessity. overall, great rental
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Oct 26, 2012

Perfect for Expectant Mamas!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is perfect for pregnant women. Due to availability, I had to order a long. I am 5'5 and had 3 inch heels... STILL WAY TOO LONG. I normally wear a 2R, but sized up because of my belly. Size 4 was perfect at 34 weeks pregnant. This dress made me feel sexy and slim at 8 and 1/2 months pregnant. :)
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Nov 5, 2012

Dress fit well and was great for the ball I attended.

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was a bit loose on me due to some recent weight loss. I recommended using a sticky bra or lingerie tape to keep the bust of the dress intact. The dress does run a bit long, but since I'm super short I always wear 8" plus heels to make up for my height. I was very pleased with the purchase and will be renting again.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

All night, my date was telling me how amazing I looked -- and I believed him!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was worried from other reviews that the dress was going to be huge, but it actually fit perfectly. I'm tall, so with 3" heels the dress just barely touched the floor. Ties in the back are long but really helped to keep the dress up and under control. A backless bra (or no bra) is a must.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 5, 2012

Wish I owned this dress!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for a black tie wedding after receiving two other dresses that just didn't work. I couldn't have felt better in this one, though. Great fit, super flattering to someone who's not stick thin and loved the cleavage! The fabric was thick, but not in a way that made me feel that I was carrying around a heavy dress - just enough to make it forgiving.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 10, 2012

It was so easy.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress has a flattering shape. There were some loose sequins and the bust was very large. I am small on top, but it was exceptionally large for a size small. I thought the dress was okay but the other dress was amazing!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 30, 2012

Simple and Flattering

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Camouflages everything you want to hide and really makes your boobs look great! Very simple, easy and comfortable!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 16, 2013

Lovely dress..

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fits slightly large, great to move in, hides a newly postpartum belly.. Customer service was top notch..
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Jan 22, 2013

Wore it to Presidential Inaugural ball-husband loved it & it compared favorably to any dress there!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very elegant feel. Silk crepe drapes wonderfully and top fitted securely. Very classic look. 8 is my normal size and this fit me perfectly. I'm 5'10" and the long length was perfect also.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jan 27, 2013

I felt like a princess in this beautiful dress!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit very well, and the lightly padded cups were perfect for my smallish bust. I'm on the tall side but I ordered the regular length and it worked just fine with the 2" heels that I chose to wear. The only issue with the dress was that it arrived with one of the strings missing that is supposed to tie into a bow across the back. With only one string on the dress I couldn't tie it, so I stuffed it down inside the dress and went without the cut bow detail. It worked fine, but I did miss that little extra detail that I was supposed to have. Regardless, I felt fabulous and received so many compliments at the black tie wedding that I attended! I would definitely recommend this dress.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Jan 28, 2013

SO EASY! gorgeous dress, great for a formal!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was nervous because this was my first rental and I have a long lanky body type so wasnt sure how this dress would fit based on reviews. I typically wear a 10 and was going to get the 12, but luckily i got the 8 as my second because thats the one I ended up wearing. The gold is a little brassy but still shiny and looks great. Loved this dress, it was perfect length on me so id imagine it would be pretty long on someone average height.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 3, 2013

I fell in love with the dress a year earlier and I was so happy to finally wear it.

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I absolutely loved the dress. I decided to wear to prom. I ordered two sizes, 0R and 2L (the 2R was unavailable the weekend I wanted it). The 2L was not only too long, but way to big. the 0R fit perfectly and I had no issues with the dress at all. The zipper was easy and it was just the right length. I wore about 5" heels and the dress was about half an inch off the ground. I definitely recommend this dress!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Feb 6, 2013

Great for a deb ball!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 8, 2013

Enjoyed the dress and the evening

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful dress. I was very pleased. I did 'hem' the dress with tape sold on RTR. Due to the lining, I wish I had purchased at least two, maybe three boxes. I wore 3" heels and hemmed 2 1/2 inches. The top of the dress fit nicely. A bra is out of the question. I recommend purchasing something small to tape with. I purchased a sticky bra, and had to do a lot of trimming. I felt very comfortable in the dress, but I didn't do much dancing. If you are an active dancer, you might consider another dress.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 5, 2013

beautifully made black dress- wore for prom

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Usually a 4, but thank god I ordered the 2 as a backup! Both fit well but the 2 fit perfectly. A little large in the bust, but otherwise perfect. Ideal for hiding one's stomach. I definitely recommend this gown.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Mar 30, 2013

I loved this dress! Tons of compliments!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was very slimming! I usually am a 10 but I wore the 8L because it fit better around the waist. The dress is super low cut, and I wore no bra with it. The only thing you have to be careful about is slouching, especially if you wear no bra. Other than that this a a timeless dress!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165 lbs
May 19, 2013

Perfect for Prom or other formal events

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful dress! I wore this to prom and got a lot of compliments. It fits pretty well, made for girls with a larger bust. Im 5'7 so i ordered a longer dress but I should have ordered a regular length because even with heals it was a bit too long.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148 lbs
Jul 5, 2013

Beautiful and slimming!!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I felt absolutely beautiful in this dress. My boyfriend loved it too. It was very slimming and comfortable. I would recommend this dress to anyone. Thanks!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 30, 2013

Not just another black dress.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Glam, comfortable, and understated, while still standing out in the crowd. Loved it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 27, 2014

Really comfy, and no need for a bra!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I really liked the gold sequin band, so that added a little extra to the basic black gown. I wore this to a winter formal for my school and got lots of compliments (there were a lot of girls there who used RTR as well!). It's really comfy, sometimes static-y. It fit well up top, which is where I sometimes have trouble finding a good dress. Highly recommend for someone who has a larger bust. Thanks again RTR for another great night :)
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Jan 29, 2014

Perfect NYE Dress!

Size worn: 6P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was great. It's definitely good for busty women-- I have a small waist and big bust (32F) and this dress showed off both assets. I took a gamble and only ordered the 6P because they were out of the 6 regular, but it worked perfectly. Wore it to a formal New Year's Eve party. Got so many compliments! I would highly recommend.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 156 lbs
Feb 16, 2014

My first military ball and this dress saved the day!

Size worn: 8P
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
After my first choice wasn't available (another dress in a Petite size), and the substitutes sent weren't flattering to my body type or were too long, RTR came to my rescue and overnighted this (and another dress) as a substitute. This one fit so wonderfully, I never even tried on the other! This dress was so flattering and absolutely comfortable. As other reviewers mentioned, a size down from your normal dress size will probably be the right size in this style. Also, I agree that the sequins are on the bronze side of gold. The petite length was perfect for me with 3" heels. I have a larger chest (36D) and I did not wear a bra. I added inserts to push up a little, but that was all. I wore Spanx underneath to smooth my stomach area, since that's where I carry most of my weight, but I definitely could have skipped those if I had preferred. I cannot say enough wonderful things about RTR - amazing customer service, dresses were all great (even if they didn't quite fit me) and the efforts to get this one to me were truly above and beyond. You've won a fan for life!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Feb 28, 2014

Didn't end up wearing it, Too Long

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm not sure why I ordered a 0L because I'm definitely a petite at 5'4, but the dress was really pretty but too long for me. it was a bit tight around the chest where it zippers and the boob part has cups which is nice, so you dont need a bra. i wish i could have worn this dress because it's gorgeous and comfortable besides!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127 lbs
Mar 26, 2014

Felt gorgeous - even at 28 weeks pregnant!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
[Disclaimer: At the time I wore this dress, I was 28 weeks pregnant and weighed 154 lbs.] When the dress I'd originally ordered for a black-tie wedding didn't work out, Rent the Runway overnighted me a couple of back-up dresses, including this one. Even at 28 weeks pregnant, this dress fit beautifully, and accommodated my baby bump perfectly. It was not only gorgeous, but comfortable as well. I'd recommend this dress to anyone!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Apr 3, 2014

The gold waistline makes this dress very flattering.

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress, very comfortable and very flattering. But I wasn't quite sure what to do with the string in the back. I couldn't figure out how to make it look like the model's dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Apr 8, 2014

This dress was beautiful in person!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was actually my back up dress for a military ball. Because both dresses fit, I let my date choose which one I would wear. He made the perfect choice! It was classy and comfortable. The pictures really don't do it justice. I'm small breasted and would have fit better had I been a little larger in that area, but that's what most of the said so I was warned!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Apr 27, 2014

Didn't end up wearing

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
You need a large chest to fill out this dress. I was swimming In it, ended up sending it back
RTR Customer
Age: 30
May 15, 2014

Easy to use and so convenient

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Runs large. Pretty dress but could tell it had been worn quite a few times
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 20, 2014

Loved it!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was beautiful. One of my favorite RTR dresses so far. The gold "belt" was kind of a dark gold, and I matched it with a RTR bracelet as well! The deep V in the front wasn't too deep, and I still felt very classy in it! I did order a 2L because I am taller, but it ended up being too long and I had to hold it up for the most part of the night even with 4 inch heels. Other than that, it was great!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Oct 25, 2014

I wore this to my Cotillion presentation, and felt beautiful in it all night!

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was my backup dress, and I was so glad to have it! The original dress I ordered was not so flattering on me! But this one was beautiful! Its a comfortable fit, not too binding or tight, although the straps want to wander off your shoulders any chance they get. And for those of us larger in the chest area, I suggest you be ready to improvise. None of my backless bras or sticky bras worked with this dress, so I ended up going without. Which worked out just fine, I got plenty of compliments and felt happy with it throughout the night! I would absolutely rent again, and this dress is a great option!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×