Sequin Inserts Mini Dress

$80 to buy
$750 retail
Stylist Notes

The Sequin Insert Mini Dress is back! Rent the newly styled Robert Rodriguez dress for anything and everything. It is an absolute must rental of the year!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup - fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout; ruching and sequin inserts are flattering on all body types
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted through; for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup - fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout; ruching and sequin inserts are flattering on all body types
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted through; for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black. 100% stretch silk with gold sequin embellishment. Ruching detail throughout body. Gold zipper trim. Tube construction with boned bodice for support. Hidden side zip. 25" from top of bodice to hem. Model's height is 5'9".

Share
134 reviews
Fit
Large
(24)
True to Size
(94)
Small
(16)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
November 10, 2011
Awesome dress!
Was complimented on it all night! For fit, the chest was a little small (I'm a 34D) and I had to use fashion tape to make sure it didn't slip down too much. It was gorgeous and looked like a million bucks. This was my first Rent The Runway experience, and won't be my last!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 121lbs
August 21, 2012
Stands out!
A little big in the breasts, but otherwise it was a great dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 13, 2012
Great dress!
The dress was great. Normally, I wear either a 6 or 8; however, I read the previous reviews saying that the dress runs small. So, I rented the 8 and 10. I was swimming in the 10, and the 8 was still really big on me. If I rented the 6, I would have LOVED this dress. Either way, the dress was GORGEOUS! Even more so in person. There were a couple of problems with the boning structure of the dress poking you sometimes. Overall, this dress was great. I wish I got the right size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
September 19, 2012
I did not end up wearing this dress.
I did not like the way that this dress fit. If you have any curves at all it makes you look 2 sizes larger then you are.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 29, 2012
NYE 2012 - perfectly sparkly
I wore this dress for NYE 2012. It looked great and I liked that it was sparkly but not completely covered in sequins!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
October 2, 2012
Very Pretty Dress
This dress runs very big. I ordered a 4 and a 6 because I was reading other clients said this ran small or true to size. I normally wear a 2 or a 4 and the 4 was too big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 10, 2012
SO Comfortable!
This dress was absolutely amazing! I wore this to my first sorority formal and loved it. It was so comfortable and easy to dance in. It was very form fitting and brought out my figure beautifully. I usually wear a 2 but went with the 0 because the dress was a little too big at the top. I would definitely rent this again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
October 15, 2012
amazing dress! sexy yet comfortable!
i wore this dress in las vegas for my bachelorette party and got so many compliments! it is the perfect dress for vegas. tight but flattering, short but not too short, and the sequins add just the right amount of party of flare! i highly recommend this dress!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Pear
October 16, 2012
Loved it! Felt so pretty!
I was worried it would be missing sequins, but it was in PERFECT condition. Ordered a 4 and 6 and went with the 4.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 17, 2012
Stunning!
This dress is absolutely beautiful in person. I rented it as my back up dress but didnt get to wear it it was also way too small. I would rent it again in a bigger size for my next party maybe new years!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
October 26, 2012
NYE Sparkle
Wore size 4 in this dress and it fit well except for this odd bulge on the left hip. I was definitely aware of it all night but otherwise it was a very pretty dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 136lbs
October 29, 2012
Very comfortable dress, and photogenic dress; wore this to homecoming and recieved many compliments!
I received size 4 (which I wore, I normally wear size M, 8 in juniors) and a size 6 for back up. The boning on the right side of the dress was worn and the back up dress was missing completely. The dresses were beautiful but I think they need to be retired. I absolutely loved this dress and everybody said they loved it too!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
December 3, 2012
Loved this dress!!!!
Comfortable and flattering!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
December 11, 2012
Beautiful dress, but too small for busty women
This dress was so cute and beautiful, but it was way too small on the top. It has straps inside to help hang it on the hanger, but they definitely wouldn't fit around anyone's bust bigger than a C. I have a DD and could zip it up until it got to my chest!! Still a really cute dress though, but anyone but a bust, size 10 or larger I don't think it would fit! My friend ended up wearing it though and she is a size 6!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 2, 2013
New Years Glitter and Gold!
Wore the dress for night out at the casino on New Years Eve. The dress was perfect. I received a 10 and a 12 in the mail, a day earlier than expected, which was great. I was was able to track its arrival. I was initially worried because we were in the middle of a storm when it was due to arrive but it came well packaged. When I tried on the dresses, both sizes fit pretty well but since I had dinner plans, I went with the 12 to combat any post-meal bloat. I paired the dress with some sparkly gold heels and black nylons. Bottom line, the dress was KILLER! It fit perfectly and looked gorgeous. I'm 5'10 and it came up mid thigh. It was very fitted, but breathable. If you have anything on your hips and stomach you'd like to keep hidden, spanx are probably a necessity. I was concerned about the dress staying up because I am not particularly busty but that didn't turn out to be a problem. The dress stayed put all night. My only complaint was the zippers were tough on both dresses! They stuck. I was terrified I'd tear the dress! Overall though, that didn't ruin it for me. Bottom line, this dress is stunning and everyone I came in contact with complimented it nonstop. The whole RTR experience was pheomenal. I already have a second dress ordered for a party I am going to in less than two weeks. Love it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
January 7, 2013
Good looking dress, less attractive on
Beautiful dress, however the way the gold stripes fit me was not flattering. Bummer, because the dress is beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 16, 2013
cute but didnt rock it bc it was my back up
ordered as my back up. i have wide hips and a small waist and i found this hard to get on. once on, it fit ok, kind of tight. the biggest turn off was how the sequined design in the middle by my waist didn't mold to my body and stuck out like an awkward bulge. other than that, it was cute, but my first choice looked better. wish i would have taken a picture.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
January 20, 2013
The dress is pretty but I didn't find it very flattering
The dress ran a little big and the sequins make areas of your body look not particularly flattering. Personally I think it didn't look good on me.
KateApril 30, 2013
I like it on you. Where did the girl next to you get her dress? it is exactly what i am looking for for my prom! thanks
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
January 21, 2013
Didn't wear it
There was a noticeable bulge on the left hip area of the size 4, in the black fabric between the sequined areas. I think if the size 2 would have been sent as well (it was noted that the smaller size was not available) the smaller size would have had a better fit. Ultimately it was something I just couldn't deal with so I didn't wear the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
January 21, 2013
Fun, sparkly dress for a special occasion!
I wore this dress for New Year's Eve in AC. It was the perfect look for dinner & dancing. It was confortable and fit well - I didn't have to keep pulling it up like you sometimes do with strapless dresses. My only complaint was that the little hanger straps kept popping out in the front. Otherwise, it was a great dress that was just the right amount of sparkle.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 15, 2010
This dress runs a little small if you have any hips! I ordered a 6 and an 8, but went with the 6 (the 8 fit better around the hips, was too big everywhere else). The zipper was a little tricky (even on the hanger), but I was able to get it up with a little effort. Going to the bathroom was pretty difficult, as this dress doesn't have any sort of give to it. I rec'd SO many compliments on this dress. I always know I'm wearing a knock out dress when random women come up to you and compliment you (we all know how catty some women can be!). Overall, I was very pleased with the dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
December 20, 2010
I LOVED this dress and received so many compliments! I agree with one of the posts below that the hanger straps are huge and constantly pop up--definitely use fashion tape or something to keep them out of sight. The dress was a little tight in the hips and loose up top, but still looked gorgeous in photos.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
December 20, 2010
I was a little disappointed in this dress. I agree with the other posters that the hanger straps continually pop up and the top fit a little big. Also, the side where the zipper was didn't lay flat around my hips.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
January 2, 2011
I loved wearing this dress. It was my first RTR dress and I received a ton of compliments on it. The only real downfalls of this dress are the placement of the hanger strings and the scratchiness of the sequins. My left forearm looked like it attacked by a cat the next day. I would rent this dress again.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 60
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 3, 2011
This dress was for my daughter 27, and I have to say that when she put it on there was a bunching of the sequins in between the fabric panels on the side. She has very slim hips but both the size 0 and the 2 did the same thing. The zipper on one was broken and to make matters worse, there was a small hole on the side seam. I give the dress a 3 star rating but I give customer service 5 stars!!! They had a new dress here in a day and sent some incredible earrings as well! New Years was saved!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 3, 2011
This dress was a disappointment. It looks beautiful here, but I ordered a size two, and a backup of a size 4. All I got was two size fours. I had to wear a size 4 because I didn't have anything else, it was huge. The two dresses looked COMPLETELY different. One of the dresses had zippers where the gold was and the sequence was a copper instead of the color you see advertised here. It looked as if it was a knock-off to be honest. The dress is huge in the top and it is an awkward length for anyone below 5'5. If the dress was properly delivered to me in good condition and the correct size maybe it would be different. Also, the body of the dress was poking out of both dresses the entire night digging into my skin. I only recommend this dress if they are more careful with what they send out to you than they did for me.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 3, 2011
Like everyone else - I got a LOT of compliments on the dress. It was perfect for NYE and I also second some of the other comments before me. The zipper bulged on the hip on both the 4 and the 6, and the dress was tight on the hips (tight on the 6, too loose everywhere else on the 6). I ended up wearing the 4 and the hanger straps were SO frustrating. But overall, the dress looked great just be sure to tape down the straps!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 4, 2011
The dress is absolutely gorgeous,and I received TONS of compliments; however i did have problems with the zipper. It would get stuck about halfway and you have to fidget with it a bit. The side with the zipper looked a little lumpy and was not smooth against my hip unless i smoothed it out which was ALL Night. Also, the hanger straps are WAY too big and were constantly poking out. I would recommend using tape to ensure they don't pop out. Other than that, it looked great!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
January 4, 2011
The dress is pretty and I definitely felt cool wearing it because the only other dress I've worn over like $300 was my wedding dress but it bunches up funny where the zipper is and the inside straps really are a nuisance (as the other reviewers said). Also, it was too big in the bust for me (I'm a small B).
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 5, 2011
Absolutely gorgeous dress in person. However, if you have any curves whatsoever I do not recommend this dress for you. The side zipper was very difficult to get up, even on the hanger. The dress was tight through the hips,thighs, butt, and loose up top (and I'm a 34C). There was also a piece of bulging material (probably from the boning in the sides of the dress) that just wouldn't stay down. The hanger straps also kept peeking out of the top, very annoying. thank goodness i rented two dresses because this one was too tight and uncomfortable even in the larger size. I ended up wearing the Nicole Miller LBD, it was PERFECT...
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
January 7, 2011
I really loved this dress, I ordered my normal size and a size up because of all the reviews I read. However, I felt it ran pretty true to size all over. My only issue with this dress was the hanger-straps, they kept popping out all night, so taping them down is a definite must cause it got super annoying making sure they were tucked in. Otherwise, I got lots of compliments and its a super cute dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 21, 2011
Fit great and was perfect for the Holiday party I wore it to very festive and sparkly! I do agree the hanger straps were a huge pain and had to tell a friend anytime she saw them pop out please tuck them in! The only other thing that should be known is you either need a really amazing strapless push-up bra or have a bigger chest to fill out the top of the dress even with the 0 that I wore there was a lot of room for the chest! Overall a GREAT dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 14, 2011
A bit disappointed with this dress. The fit was great for my body type and runs true to size. However, I have many of the same complaints of other reviewers. The hanger straps are ridiculously long and wouldn't stay tucked in, even with fashion tape. Also, RTR should do a better job inspecting dresses before shipping them out. The size 0 not only had a tear in the side seam, but the zipper was COMPLETELY non-functioning. The size 2 was too big on me, so I basically had to shimmy myself into the 0 without unzipping it. Thankfully I was able to unzip it (after 20 minutes of effort) to take it off. Like other reviewers, the zipper did not flat the dress and had odd bulges in the hip area. Too bad for all these issues because it is a very stunning dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 15, 2011
Had this dress sent in 2 sizes. 6 was too big and 4 was perfect when I tried it on, but when I went to wear it, it had an issue with the zipper bagging. I'm not sure if it was just damaged or if it was a defect in the design, but I didnt get to wear it.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 23, 2011
I wore this dress to a cocktail party and it was perfect! I love this dress and it was very flattering! I ordered my normal size (2) and then got a size up (4) and ended up wearing the 2. The only problems I ran into was the zipper kind of sticking out on the side, but as long as you pull it down after sitting down it really wasn't that big of a deal and then the hanger strings got pretty annoying so I taped them down and it solved the problem!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 27, 2011
Loved this dress!!! I received several compliments. This was actually my second dress for the evening. Everyone loved the wardrobe change. The dress fit perfectly but I would highly recommend using fashion tape if you're going to be dancing.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Body type: Full Bust
March 28, 2011
The dress was a hit! It definitely fits true to size. One problem I had involved the 2 strings that I guess you could use if you didn't want to wear the dress strapless. They kept popping out throughout the night. Other than the the dress was comfortable and photgraphs well.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
April 5, 2011
I loved this dress on. I felt it was true to size and very flattering. However, I did have trouble with the zipper, it got stuck towards the top area. I wasn't able to zip it up on my own. Also, the bone bodice was uncomfortable and sometimes painful. There is plastic wires inside the dress. They did poke out and stabbed me a few times! If you're like me and don't mind discomfort for beauty, you'll love the dress. Otherwise, i don't really recommend it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
April 24, 2011
You could tell this dress had been rented 1-million times. It was frumpy & a few of the ribbing-pipe was poking through. Was bummed b/c this dress could have looked really hot, but it was a little too worn-out.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Body type: Petite
April 25, 2011
This dress was not my favorite. I wouldn't rent this for a dance or a formal just because I felt uncomfortable the whole time. I kept having to pull my dress up and then pull my dress down. On top of it all, there were little pokey things on the bust line of the dress that kept poking me in the chest. I would be weary of renting again.
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×