Rent the Runway

Robert Rodriguez Black Label

Sequin Inserts Mini Dress

$80 to buy
$750 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

The Sequin Insert Mini Dress is back! Rent the newly styled Robert Rodriguez dress for anything and everything. It is an absolute must rental of the year!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup - fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout; ruching and sequin inserts are flattering on all body types
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted through; for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup - fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout; ruching and sequin inserts are flattering on all body types
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted through; for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black. 100% stretch silk with gold sequin embellishment. Ruching detail throughout body. Gold zipper trim. Tube construction with boned bodice for support. Hidden side zip. 25" from top of bodice to hem. Model's height is 5'9".

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

133 reviews

Fit
Small 16
True to Size 93
Large 24
Photos 42
CAC
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 28, 2011

Absolutely amazing piece. I was actually a bit hesitant to get this dress but trusted an opinion of a friend and was very thankful I did so. By the image you can't really get a clear picture of the how the detailing looks but its lovely in person. Certainly a show stopper. In regards to the hanger straps..I did not have a problem with them popping out, however, the dress has a side zipper and the hanger strap on this side does make the piece a bit awkward to put on you have to slide in either under or over. In any case xoxo RTR

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Absolutely amazing piece. I was actually a bit hesitant to get this dress but trusted an opinion of a friend and was very thankful I did so. By the image you can't really get a clear picture of the how the detailing looks but its lovely in person. Certainly a show stopper. In regards to the hanger straps..I did not have a problem with them popping out, however, the dress has a side zipper and the hanger strap on this side does make the piece a bit awkward to put on you have to slide in either under or over. In any case xoxo RTR
Caroline
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 30, 2011

It was a black and gold affair and my dress was the perfect fit. I received soooo many compliments it was unreal! The best part about the night was being with my friends and celebrating the successful fundraiser my friend, Rachel, put together.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the way this dress accented my curves. I am a petite gal and have a hard time finding a dress that is not too long, but not too short. My booty is significant and can fill out any skirt. Hence, the difficulty in finding a perfect dress. This one hit me in all of the right spots. The only issue I had with it is it irritated my armpit on the side where the zipper hook comes together. My strapless bra also kept falling so I would definitely go with a sticky bra next time.
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Jan 9, 2012

Tons of compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for NYE and got a ton of compliments. It's very festive and very flattering. The dress looks very well made, the one I got was a little worn in, but not too bad. I am 5'2 and it was a decent length, like mid thigh-ish, not too short, or too long. Very fitted, but still comfortable. Runs true to size.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Jan 29, 2012

Overall, it was a great experience and I would def recommend this dress. I got tons of compliments from strangers and friends. You wont be disappointed!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
My friend invited me on an impromptu trip to Atlantic City, but we were leaving the next day and I had nothing to wear!!.... Solution: Rent the Runway. The company had great customer service. I ordered the "same-day" delivery, and they were able to make sure I got it before 3pm (they usually guarantee that it's there before 6pm). The dress was very flattering and surprisingly very comfortable. The zipper on the 2 had been altered so it fit nicely but the bottom "tail" was sticking out. Also, part of the boning on the left side was showing. I didn't choose to wear the 4 because the zipper on the 4 puffed out awkwardly and it was really baggy. I was surprised there was such a discrepancy between sizes. You can even pair it with a black blazer for a more conservative look and it's still is eye-catching.
Kelsie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 2, 2012

Nonstop Compliments all night!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
At first I was a little worried about wearing this dress because the side zipper sometimes bunched up in a way that made my body look akward, but after receiving endless compliments all night at my winter formal dance, I am really glad I ended up wearing it. I was told that it was one of the best dresses in the group and it looked great in the lights at the dance!
Taylor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 23, 2012

Great times in a great dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to my sorority formal this January and got a lot of compliments on it. I ordered the 4 and the 6, I usually wear a 4, but I probably could have worn the 2. Looked great anyway though and nice sequins.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113 lbs
Apr 22, 2012

First time I had ever been to Vegas and I went with my best friends!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
This is one of my favorite dresses that I have rented from RTR. It is so flattering and runs very true to size. Cannot say anything bad about this dress. I got so many compliments. Thanks RTR for making me look fabulous in Vegas!
Hannah
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112 lbs
Jun 16, 2012

Winter Formal

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress came on time, but ran a little big. Also the zipper bunched or gapped on the side, so I had to pin it. But overall I liked the dress! And received numerous compliments!
charity
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Aug 2, 2012

RTR makes it so easy...not only do they provide beautiful dresses but the accessories as well. The comments from the customers and pictures helps you make the right choices for yourself! Thank you!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Overall I really enjoyed wearing this dress. It's a lot of fun! After reading the reviews I was worried about the pouching of the side zipper but also read that this problem was fixed, it was not. It did bug me.....also the hanging straps were popping out in the front of the dress. That was annoying too! It is a tight fitting dress.
Sally
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 16, 2012

best compliment, "OOOH TYRA BANKS?"... NO IM SALLY MORON LOL :)

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
ONLY MODELS LIKE ME:) TRUE TO SIZE!! JUST LIKE THE WHISKEY!! BLACK LABEL!
Malia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 23, 2012

Got so many compliments at Homecoming!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit well other than a bulge that kept appearing along the zipper. The straps were a bit annoying & kept popping out but other than that, it's a great & comfortable dress! Highly recommended.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 10, 2012

SO Comfortable!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was absolutely amazing! I wore this to my first sorority formal and loved it. It was so comfortable and easy to dance in. It was very form fitting and brought out my figure beautifully. I usually wear a 2 but went with the 0 because the dress was a little too big at the top. I would definitely rent this again!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 15, 2012

amazing dress! sexy yet comfortable!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
i wore this dress in las vegas for my bachelorette party and got so many compliments! it is the perfect dress for vegas. tight but flattering, short but not too short, and the sequins add just the right amount of party of flare! i highly recommend this dress!
Chelsea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 26, 2012

NYE Sparkle

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wore size 4 in this dress and it fit well except for this odd bulge on the left hip. I was definitely aware of it all night but otherwise it was a very pretty dress.
Kitty
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 136 lbs
Oct 29, 2012

Very comfortable dress, and photogenic dress; wore this to homecoming and recieved many compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I received size 4 (which I wore, I normally wear size M, 8 in juniors) and a size 6 for back up. The boning on the right side of the dress was worn and the back up dress was missing completely. The dresses were beautiful but I think they need to be retired. I absolutely loved this dress and everybody said they loved it too!
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Dec 3, 2012

Loved this dress!!!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Comfortable and flattering!
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 26, 2012

Perfect dress for a holiday party for work

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented the size 2 and 4, and I chose to wear the 2. The dress fit perfectly. From walking around in it to dancing most of the night, I felt like it was really comfortable. I did not find myself adjusting it constantly like other strapless dresses I have worn in the past. The smaller size fit a little more snug, and I felt that it hid the bunch on the hip that other reviews mentioned about the dress.
Nimi
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Dec 31, 2012

it was a very nice dress.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
it runs a tad big, but other than that the dress is perfect.
Nicole
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

New Years Glitter and Gold!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wore the dress for night out at the casino on New Years Eve. The dress was perfect. I received a 10 and a 12 in the mail, a day earlier than expected, which was great. I was was able to track its arrival. I was initially worried because we were in the middle of a storm when it was due to arrive but it came well packaged. When I tried on the dresses, both sizes fit pretty well but since I had dinner plans, I went with the 12 to combat any post-meal bloat. I paired the dress with some sparkly gold heels and black nylons. Bottom line, the dress was KILLER! It fit perfectly and looked gorgeous. I'm 5'10 and it came up mid thigh. It was very fitted, but breathable. If you have anything on your hips and stomach you'd like to keep hidden, spanx are probably a necessity. I was concerned about the dress staying up because I am not particularly busty but that didn't turn out to be a problem. The dress stayed put all night. My only complaint was the zippers were tough on both dresses! They stuck. I was terrified I'd tear the dress! Overall though, that didn't ruin it for me. Bottom line, this dress is stunning and everyone I came in contact with complimented it nonstop. The whole RTR experience was pheomenal. I already have a second dress ordered for a party I am going to in less than two weeks. Love it!
paige
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

I loved all the compliments I received while wearing this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was amazing! Super comfortable and fit really well. I would have given it 5 stars but I was really disappointed by the ribbon that was sewn in to hang the dress up. It kept popping out and showed in almost every picture. I would suggest double stick tape.
AB
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jan 20, 2013

The dress is pretty but I didn't find it very flattering

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress ran a little big and the sequins make areas of your body look not particularly flattering. Personally I think it didn't look good on me.
Carrie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Jan 21, 2013

Fun, sparkly dress for a special occasion!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for New Year's Eve in AC. It was the perfect look for dinner & dancing. It was confortable and fit well - I didn't have to keep pulling it up like you sometimes do with strapless dresses. My only complaint was that the little hanger straps kept popping out in the front. Otherwise, it was a great dress that was just the right amount of sparkle.
alaina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Feb 18, 2013

loved the dress and got so many complements- it was a good change from the typical LBD

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
the fit of the dress was great, the only hitch was that the zipper sometimes sticks because of the sequin inserts but other than that it was fine! It fit well in the bust too so I didn't need to constantly pull the dress back up.
Edie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 4, 2013

This was a beautiful dress and I would totally reccommend it to anyone!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got this dress for my sophomore year homecoming. It was gorgeous and I received lots of compliments! My dress size is a 0 or a 2 depending on the designer. I ordered a 2 and a 4 because those were the smallest sizes. The only problem I had was that I tried on the 2 and it was really big! It seemed like it got streched out by other people wearing it. I almost couldn't wear it, so I had to pin it. I suggest you go down a size because of this problem. The length was a little longer than expected, but I didn't mind. Overall, it was a great dress and I loved it! I would highly reccommend this dress!
Chelsea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 28, 2013

The option of dress sizes was just what I needed, and that I was able to ship it back from Vegas!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I wore this in Vegas for my sister's bachelorette party. I'm a new mom who was still losing baby weight, and this dress helped hide my flaws and made me feel fabulous!
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 6, 2014

Great dress for NYE!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a NYE party and it was great! I opted for the larger size to have a little more comfortable fit as the fit of the dress is rather snug, and the 6 fit great! Loved the gold sequins with the black!
Maggie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 10, 2014

Rent the Runway is a great company to work with, and getting two sizes makes life easier!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for New Year's Eve. The color and gold sequins were perfect for the event. The dress was on sale and I've rented from Rent the runway once before, so I knew the experience would be simple and straight forward. They did not have a size 6 which is sometimes what I wear. I also sometimes wear a size 4, so I order that one. I had read in some of the other reviews that the dress can run large, so I order the size 2 for my second size... because why not. I was really glad I had the size 2! Some of the other reviewers had complained about the bunching of the dress along the hip region. When I tried on the 4, this was very prominent. The size 2 was a little tight on the top around the bust line, but the reduction in the bunching along the hip made it worth a little snugness. Overall, the smaller size was more flattering. I gave this dress three stars because of a couple things: the bunching at the hip, the hanging straps popped out of the dress constantly and were a huge pain, and I wasn't a huge fan of the gold sequin color as I thought I would be. Rent the Runway is an amazing company and I will absolutely rent again from them. I just would not rent this dress again.
nikki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jan 15, 2014

Hollywood Glam

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The fit of this dress is odd. Not bad, just odd. It's very tight, but not terribly form-fitting and didn't accentuate my curves (which are basically non-existent) as much as I would have liked. The top felt loose but I wasn't worried about it falling down, even without wardrobe tape. I wouldn't describe it as an ideal dress for someone as petite as me, but I looked and felt good. My last RTR I had a 0 and 2 and wore the 0. This time, there was only a 2 and 4 available. I wore the 2, but honestly I almost fit better into the 4. Definitely order up a size. Overall, it was a great dress for a date night at the opera for a good price!
catie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 20, 2014

Rented for my 30th bday in AC!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Super flattering. Form fitting, and no under garments were needed. Only complaint was that the some glitter fell off as I was trying it on. It wasn't enough to see a difference in the dress.
Amy
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Feb 24, 2014

Very unique dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It was tight but comfortable
patricia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136 lbs
Feb 27, 2014

fun, elegant and comfortable

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
there are some beautiful dresses out there but they are uncomfortable, I think it is true to size, this is easy to wear, fits perfect, the gold is more yellow then in the picture, I ordered a size 6 and an 8, had to go with the 8, I was hoping I've lost some weight but I didn't, love the dress, used it to go on a date with the hubby and I felt beautiful :)
Emily
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 3, 2014

Statement-making little dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I liked this dress but it is easily the smallest, tightest thing I've ever worn, at least in the last 10 years. I found it to be quite short (I'm 5' 3" and it hit about mid thigh). The boning isn't terribly strong so I had to pull it up pretty frequently. Otherwise, for the right occasion, I think this is a great party dress.
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Mar 9, 2014

Loved the gold sequin accents!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this dress for a New Years Eve party. The dress fit pretty true to size, and looked gorgeous in photos. The length was a little too long for my liking, in the photo it ends at mid-thigh but when I wore it, it was longer than that. My particular dress also had a wire in the top that was slightly out of place and started to poke me throughout the night. Other than that, it looked great in photos and I got a ton of compliments.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 23, 2014

I wore this dress for valentines day. It was a fun easy dress.

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The dress ran true to size. It was a little longer than I expected, but a fun dress.
Jaime
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 27, 2014

Didn't fit

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Got the 2 and 4 and the 2 was huge- that's why I always bring a backup! Sad the dress wasn't good but RTR was great and gave me a credit. I still use them all the time.
Laudine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
May 23, 2014

Amazing - bedazzled!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Was a bit big but fit perfectly. Got compliments on it all night long!
Tasha
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 18, 2014

fits like a glove! got tons of compliments :)

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
great fit, true to size
meghan
Top Contributor
Age: 25
Aug 5, 2014

Would not rent again

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
The dress was much longer than expected and bunched out at the side.
Kerry
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 8, 2014

Edgy glam! This was the perfect dress for my 30th birthday party-part 2!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was exactly what I was looking for! It made me feel edgy and very rocker glam. I loved the cutout design of the glitter and black- very flattering! I wanted something form-fitting but not skin tight and unflattering to my curvy (chubby) body type. The dress hugged my body and was the perfect length above my knees so it wasn't riding up and didn't make me feel frumpy! The bold glitter accent was perfect for making me stand out- as it was my 30th birthday! The best part is that since a previous rental didn't work out, I got to use my credit and rent this dress for almost nothing! Love the customer service and will definitely be RTR-ing frequently!
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 9, 2014

Classic dress with a touch of sparkle

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress ran really big, and I should have ordered and wore an 8 instead of a 10. It was still a beautiful dress though and I received many compliments on it throughout the evening!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×