Sequin Inserts Mini Dress

$80 to buy
$750 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

The Sequin Insert Mini Dress is back! Rent the newly styled Robert Rodriguez dress for anything and everything. It is an absolute must rental of the year!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup - fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout; ruching and sequin inserts are flattering on all body types
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted through; for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8''.)

Product Details

Black. 100% stretch silk with gold sequin embellishment. Ruching detail throughout body. Gold zipper trim. Tube construction with boned bodice for support. Hidden side zip. 25" from top of bodice to hem. Model's height is 5'9".

Share
134 reviews
Fit
Large
(24)
True to Size
(94)
Small
(17)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 19, 2012
Hollywood Sweet Sixteen Party

I rented this for my daughter's Sweet Sixteen Hollywood Theme party as her second dress to change into. It was more beautiful then the picture. It fitted her to the tee. Everyone loved it. She made her grand entrance in a long Red and Silved ballgown and change into this dress to party in. I must say that I as well as her was very pleased. We will rent again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 22, 2012
First time I had ever been to Vegas and I went with my best friends!

This is one of my favorite dresses that I have rented from RTR. It is so flattering and runs very true to size. Cannot say anything bad about this dress. I got so many compliments. Thanks RTR for making me look fabulous in Vegas!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
August 2, 2012
RTR makes it so easy...not only do they provide beautiful dresses but the accessories as well. The comments from the customers and pictures helps you make the right choices for yourself! Thank you!

Overall I really enjoyed wearing this dress. It's a lot of fun! After reading the reviews I was worried about the pouching of the side zipper but also read that this problem was fixed, it was not. It did bug me.....also the hanging straps were popping out in the front of the dress. That was annoying too! It is a tight fitting dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 16, 2012
best compliment, "OOOH TYRA BANKS?"... NO IM SALLY MORON LOL :)

ONLY MODELS LIKE ME:) TRUE TO SIZE!! JUST LIKE THE WHISKEY!! BLACK LABEL!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 22, 2012
rush

the sequins make the dress pouchy and it doesn't lie flat. very pretty, but not form fitting.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
November 10, 2011
Awesome dress!

Was complimented on it all night! For fit, the chest was a little small (I'm a 34D) and I had to use fashion tape to make sure it didn't slip down too much. It was gorgeous and looked like a million bucks. This was my first Rent The Runway experience, and won't be my last!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 121lbs
August 21, 2012
Stands out!

A little big in the breasts, but otherwise it was a great dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
September 19, 2012
I did not end up wearing this dress.

I did not like the way that this dress fit. If you have any curves at all it makes you look 2 sizes larger then you are.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 29, 2012
NYE 2012 - perfectly sparkly

I wore this dress for NYE 2012. It looked great and I liked that it was sparkly but not completely covered in sequins!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 10, 2012
SO Comfortable!

This dress was absolutely amazing! I wore this to my first sorority formal and loved it. It was so comfortable and easy to dance in. It was very form fitting and brought out my figure beautifully. I usually wear a 2 but went with the 0 because the dress was a little too big at the top. I would definitely rent this again!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
October 16, 2012
Loved it! Felt so pretty!

I was worried it would be missing sequins, but it was in PERFECT condition. Ordered a 4 and 6 and went with the 4.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
October 26, 2012
NYE Sparkle

Wore size 4 in this dress and it fit well except for this odd bulge on the left hip. I was definitely aware of it all night but otherwise it was a very pretty dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
December 3, 2012
Loved this dress!!!!

Comfortable and flattering!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 2, 2013
New Years Glitter and Gold!

Wore the dress for night out at the casino on New Years Eve. The dress was perfect. I received a 10 and a 12 in the mail, a day earlier than expected, which was great. I was was able to track its arrival. I was initially worried because we were in the middle of a storm when it was due to arrive but it came well packaged. When I tried on the dresses, both sizes fit pretty well but since I had dinner plans, I went with the 12 to combat any post-meal bloat. I paired the dress with some sparkly gold heels and black nylons. Bottom line, the dress was KILLER! It fit perfectly and looked gorgeous. I'm 5'10 and it came up mid thigh. It was very fitted, but breathable. If you have anything on your hips and stomach you'd like to keep hidden, spanx are probably a necessity. I was concerned about the dress staying up because I am not particularly busty but that didn't turn out to be a problem. The dress stayed put all night. My only complaint was the zippers were tough on both dresses! They stuck. I was terrified I'd tear the dress! Overall though, that didn't ruin it for me. Bottom line, this dress is stunning and everyone I came in contact with complimented it nonstop. The whole RTR experience was pheomenal. I already have a second dress ordered for a party I am going to in less than two weeks. Love it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
January 7, 2013
Good looking dress, less attractive on

Beautiful dress, however the way the gold stripes fit me was not flattering. Bummer, because the dress is beautiful.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
January 21, 2013
Didn't wear it

There was a noticeable bulge on the left hip area of the size 4, in the black fabric between the sequined areas. I think if the size 2 would have been sent as well (it was noted that the smaller size was not available) the smaller size would have had a better fit. Ultimately it was something I just couldn't deal with so I didn't wear the dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
January 21, 2013
Fun, sparkly dress for a special occasion!

I wore this dress for New Year's Eve in AC. It was the perfect look for dinner & dancing. It was confortable and fit well - I didn't have to keep pulling it up like you sometimes do with strapless dresses. My only complaint was that the little hanger straps kept popping out in the front. Otherwise, it was a great dress that was just the right amount of sparkle.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
February 18, 2013
loved the dress and got so many complements- it was a good change from the typical LBD

the fit of the dress was great, the only hitch was that the zipper sometimes sticks because of the sequin inserts but other than that it was fine! It fit well in the bust too so I didn't need to constantly pull the dress back up.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 28, 2013
The option of dress sizes was just what I needed, and that I was able to ship it back from Vegas!

I wore this in Vegas for my sister's bachelorette party. I'm a new mom who was still losing baby weight, and this dress helped hide my flaws and made me feel fabulous!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 6, 2014
Great dress for NYE!

I wore this dress for a NYE party and it was great! I opted for the larger size to have a little more comfortable fit as the fit of the dress is rather snug, and the 6 fit great! Loved the gold sequins with the black!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 10, 2014
Rent the Runway is a great company to work with, and getting two sizes makes life easier!

I rented this dress for New Year's Eve. The color and gold sequins were perfect for the event. The dress was on sale and I've rented from Rent the runway once before, so I knew the experience would be simple and straight forward. They did not have a size 6 which is sometimes what I wear. I also sometimes wear a size 4, so I order that one. I had read in some of the other reviews that the dress can run large, so I order the size 2 for my second size... because why not. I was really glad I had the size 2! Some of the other reviewers had complained about the bunching of the dress along the hip region. When I tried on the 4, this was very prominent. The size 2 was a little tight on the top around the bust line, but the reduction in the bunching along the hip made it worth a little snugness. Overall, the smaller size was more flattering. I gave this dress three stars because of a couple things: the bunching at the hip, the hanging straps popped out of the dress constantly and were a huge pain, and I wasn't a huge fan of the gold sequin color as I thought I would be. Rent the Runway is an amazing company and I will absolutely rent again from them. I just would not rent this dress again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 15, 2014
Hollywood Glam

The fit of this dress is odd. Not bad, just odd. It's very tight, but not terribly form-fitting and didn't accentuate my curves (which are basically non-existent) as much as I would have liked. The top felt loose but I wasn't worried about it falling down, even without wardrobe tape. I wouldn't describe it as an ideal dress for someone as petite as me, but I looked and felt good. My last RTR I had a 0 and 2 and wore the 0. This time, there was only a 2 and 4 available. I wore the 2, but honestly I almost fit better into the 4. Definitely order up a size. Overall, it was a great dress for a date night at the opera for a good price!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 20, 2014
Rented for my 30th bday in AC!

Super flattering. Form fitting, and no under garments were needed. Only complaint was that the some glitter fell off as I was trying it on. It wasn't enough to see a difference in the dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
February 24, 2014
Very unique dress

It was tight but comfortable

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
March 9, 2014
Loved the gold sequin accents!

Wore this dress for a New Years Eve party. The dress fit pretty true to size, and looked gorgeous in photos. The length was a little too long for my liking, in the photo it ends at mid-thigh but when I wore it, it was longer than that. My particular dress also had a wire in the top that was slightly out of place and started to poke me throughout the night. Other than that, it looked great in photos and I got a ton of compliments.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 23, 2014
I wore this dress for valentines day. It was a fun easy dress.

The dress ran true to size. It was a little longer than I expected, but a fun dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
August 8, 2014
Edgy glam! This was the perfect dress for my 30th birthday party-part 2!

This dress was exactly what I was looking for! It made me feel edgy and very rocker glam. I loved the cutout design of the glitter and black- very flattering! I wanted something form-fitting but not skin tight and unflattering to my curvy (chubby) body type. The dress hugged my body and was the perfect length above my knees so it wasn't riding up and didn't make me feel frumpy! The bold glitter accent was perfect for making me stand out- as it was my 30th birthday! The best part is that since a previous rental didn't work out, I got to use my credit and rent this dress for almost nothing! Love the customer service and will definitely be RTR-ing frequently!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 28, 2011
Amazing Dress

I received both a 6 and an 8 because sometimes you never know how the fabric will fit. The 8 fit fine, but the zipper kept bunching up. When I tried the 6, it was snug, but perfect. I didn't have to keep pulling it up all night or anything. I wore this for a chic fashion fund-raising event that my company was putting on, and I received great compliments.

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
February 2, 2012
Nonstop Compliments all night!

At first I was a little worried about wearing this dress because the side zipper sometimes bunched up in a way that made my body look akward, but after receiving endless compliments all night at my winter formal dance, I am really glad I ended up wearing it. I was told that it was one of the best dresses in the group and it looked great in the lights at the dance!

NinaFebruary 2, 2012
RTR, could I wear this dress to a homecoming dance? And what shoes would I wear with it?
RTRFebruary 2, 2012
Hi Nina! You can absolutely wear this to a homecoming dance. I would wear black patent shoes with it! You can also always wear nude shoes as well!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 23, 2012
Got so many compliments at Homecoming!

Fit well other than a bulge that kept appearing along the zipper. The straps were a bit annoying & kept popping out but other than that, it's a great & comfortable dress! Highly recommended.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 26, 2012
Perfect dress for a holiday party for work

I rented the size 2 and 4, and I chose to wear the 2. The dress fit perfectly. From walking around in it to dancing most of the night, I felt like it was really comfortable. I did not find myself adjusting it constantly like other strapless dresses I have worn in the past. The smaller size fit a little more snug, and I felt that it hid the bunch on the hip that other reviews mentioned about the dress.

View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
January 2, 2013
I loved all the compliments I received while wearing this dress!

This dress was amazing! Super comfortable and fit really well. I would have given it 5 stars but I was really disappointed by the ribbon that was sewn in to hang the dress up. It kept popping out and showed in almost every picture. I would suggest double stick tape.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 27, 2014
fun, elegant and comfortable

there are some beautiful dresses out there but they are uncomfortable, I think it is true to size, this is easy to wear, fits perfect, the gold is more yellow then in the picture, I ordered a size 6 and an 8, had to go with the 8, I was hoping I've lost some weight but I didn't, love the dress, used it to go on a date with the hubby and I felt beautiful :)

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 18, 2014
fits like a glove! got tons of compliments :)

great fit, true to size

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 17, 2010

Overall, quite pleased with the dress...but only if I had a little, cropped jacket on. There are some TERRIBLE hanger-straps on this dress right along the bust-line that constantly popped up, really distracting from how beautiful this dress is. I thought about cutting them off but was scared about the consequences! I would recommend it, it's very well made and runs true to size, and got a lot of compliments, but heads up!

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Body type: Petite
February 4, 2011

I love this dress! Even more gorgeous in person! It fits like a glove and is so flattering! I'm small and the length was perfect for me, and didn't even have to wear a bra with it. I wore this to a formal with black peep toe pumps and it was perfect for the occasion! It's sparkly and so well made! I noticed that a lot of reviews mentioned the hanger straps but i didn't have any problems with them. The zipper is a little tricky, but i liked it because it was hidden on the side and you couldn't even tell it was there. This dress looks gorgeous in pictures and I received so many complements on it! I would definitely rent again! It was so easy and worked out perfectly!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
March 11, 2011
perfect for a night out on the town with the girls

Loved the sparkliness of this dress, and it ran true to size, but like many other reviews, I'd have to confirm that yes, there is an annoying bulge near your hip where the zipper is. I think it makes you look wider than you are. This dress doesn't really have a spandex-conform to your body material in it so it relies on your own natural curves to fill it out. Great design but poor execution when it comes to the zipper bulge

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Body type: Full Bust
April 11, 2011

I didn't even have this dress in my possession for an hour before putting it back in the mail. The zipper on the dress was poorly sewn, and awkwardly stuck out on the side. Definitely a no-no for my birthday party. See ya, $75!

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Body type: Athletic
July 14, 2011

I'm 5'2", 36C, and athletic build. I wore this dress to my "Fling before the ring" party on July 2. It was a hit! I ordered the dress in 10 and 12. 10 fit like a glove but I wanted it with a little more flexibility so I could eat, drink, and dance! The 12 fit great, just had to pin the sides to make sure the dress wouldn't ride down. I wore the dress with 5 1/2" heels and it was perfect! If I could attach a picture, I would but I don't see any link to upload! Thanks RTR!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
August 9, 2011

This dress is absolutely gorgeous. I wore it for a girl's night out on the town and received so many compliments on it. The dress is very close fitted so don't expect to be able to move around much. I would definitely recommend this dress for a girls night out or a black tie event.

See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×