Sequin Inserts Mini Dress

$80 to buy
$750 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

The Sequin Insert Mini Dress is back! Rent the newly styled Robert Rodriguez dress for anything and everything. It is an absolute must rental of the year!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup - fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout; ruching and sequin inserts are flattering on all body types
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted through; for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8''.)

Product Details

Black. 100% stretch silk with gold sequin embellishment. Ruching detail throughout body. Gold zipper trim. Tube construction with boned bodice for support. Hidden side zip. 25" from top of bodice to hem. Model's height is 5'9".

Share
134 reviews
Fit
Large
(24)
True to Size
(94)
Small
(16)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
January 7, 2013
Good looking dress, less attractive on
Beautiful dress, however the way the gold stripes fit me was not flattering. Bummer, because the dress is beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 16, 2013
cute but didnt rock it bc it was my back up
ordered as my back up. i have wide hips and a small waist and i found this hard to get on. once on, it fit ok, kind of tight. the biggest turn off was how the sequined design in the middle by my waist didn't mold to my body and stuck out like an awkward bulge. other than that, it was cute, but my first choice looked better. wish i would have taken a picture.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
January 20, 2013
The dress is pretty but I didn't find it very flattering
The dress ran a little big and the sequins make areas of your body look not particularly flattering. Personally I think it didn't look good on me.
KateApril 30, 2013
I like it on you. Where did the girl next to you get her dress? it is exactly what i am looking for for my prom! thanks
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
January 21, 2013
Didn't wear it
There was a noticeable bulge on the left hip area of the size 4, in the black fabric between the sequined areas. I think if the size 2 would have been sent as well (it was noted that the smaller size was not available) the smaller size would have had a better fit. Ultimately it was something I just couldn't deal with so I didn't wear the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
January 21, 2013
Fun, sparkly dress for a special occasion!
I wore this dress for New Year's Eve in AC. It was the perfect look for dinner & dancing. It was confortable and fit well - I didn't have to keep pulling it up like you sometimes do with strapless dresses. My only complaint was that the little hanger straps kept popping out in the front. Otherwise, it was a great dress that was just the right amount of sparkle.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
February 18, 2013
loved the dress and got so many complements- it was a good change from the typical LBD
the fit of the dress was great, the only hitch was that the zipper sometimes sticks because of the sequin inserts but other than that it was fine! It fit well in the bust too so I didn't need to constantly pull the dress back up.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 31, 2012
it was a very nice dress.
it runs a tad big, but other than that the dress is perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
March 4, 2013
This was a beautiful dress and I would totally reccommend it to anyone!
I got this dress for my sophomore year homecoming. It was gorgeous and I received lots of compliments! My dress size is a 0 or a 2 depending on the designer. I ordered a 2 and a 4 because those were the smallest sizes. The only problem I had was that I tried on the 2 and it was really big! It seemed like it got streched out by other people wearing it. I almost couldn't wear it, so I had to pin it. I suggest you go down a size because of this problem. The length was a little longer than expected, but I didn't mind. Overall, it was a great dress and I loved it! I would highly reccommend this dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 28, 2013
The option of dress sizes was just what I needed, and that I was able to ship it back from Vegas!
I wore this in Vegas for my sister's bachelorette party. I'm a new mom who was still losing baby weight, and this dress helped hide my flaws and made me feel fabulous!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
April 14, 2013
This dress was very ill fitting and did not flatter my figure at all.
Cons: not figure flattering, the stripes make you look larger than you are
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 6, 2014
Great dress for NYE!
I wore this dress for a NYE party and it was great! I opted for the larger size to have a little more comfortable fit as the fit of the dress is rather snug, and the 6 fit great! Loved the gold sequins with the black!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 10, 2014
Rent the Runway is a great company to work with, and getting two sizes makes life easier!
I rented this dress for New Year's Eve. The color and gold sequins were perfect for the event. The dress was on sale and I've rented from Rent the runway once before, so I knew the experience would be simple and straight forward. They did not have a size 6 which is sometimes what I wear. I also sometimes wear a size 4, so I order that one. I had read in some of the other reviews that the dress can run large, so I order the size 2 for my second size... because why not. I was really glad I had the size 2! Some of the other reviewers had complained about the bunching of the dress along the hip region. When I tried on the 4, this was very prominent. The size 2 was a little tight on the top around the bust line, but the reduction in the bunching along the hip made it worth a little snugness. Overall, the smaller size was more flattering. I gave this dress three stars because of a couple things: the bunching at the hip, the hanging straps popped out of the dress constantly and were a huge pain, and I wasn't a huge fan of the gold sequin color as I thought I would be. Rent the Runway is an amazing company and I will absolutely rent again from them. I just would not rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 15, 2014
Hollywood Glam
The fit of this dress is odd. Not bad, just odd. It's very tight, but not terribly form-fitting and didn't accentuate my curves (which are basically non-existent) as much as I would have liked. The top felt loose but I wasn't worried about it falling down, even without wardrobe tape. I wouldn't describe it as an ideal dress for someone as petite as me, but I looked and felt good. My last RTR I had a 0 and 2 and wore the 0. This time, there was only a 2 and 4 available. I wore the 2, but honestly I almost fit better into the 4. Definitely order up a size. Overall, it was a great dress for a date night at the opera for a good price!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 20, 2014
Rented for my 30th bday in AC!
Super flattering. Form fitting, and no under garments were needed. Only complaint was that the some glitter fell off as I was trying it on. It wasn't enough to see a difference in the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Body type: Petite
January 28, 2014
Bad fit
I didn't end up wearing the dress because the fit was awkward. It was cut straight down and didn't come on at my waist like I thought it would. I would not recommend this for someone with curves! It looked much better on the hanger.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
February 24, 2014
Very unique dress
It was tight but comfortable
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 3, 2014
Statement-making little dress
I liked this dress but it is easily the smallest, tightest thing I've ever worn, at least in the last 10 years. I found it to be quite short (I'm 5' 3" and it hit about mid thigh). The boning isn't terribly strong so I had to pull it up pretty frequently. Otherwise, for the right occasion, I think this is a great party dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
March 9, 2014
Loved the gold sequin accents!
Wore this dress for a New Years Eve party. The dress fit pretty true to size, and looked gorgeous in photos. The length was a little too long for my liking, in the photo it ends at mid-thigh but when I wore it, it was longer than that. My particular dress also had a wire in the top that was slightly out of place and started to poke me throughout the night. Other than that, it looked great in photos and I got a ton of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
March 27, 2014
Didn't fit
Got the 2 and 4 and the 2 was huge- that's why I always bring a backup! Sad the dress wasn't good but RTR was great and gave me a credit. I still use them all the time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 23, 2014
I wore this dress for valentines day. It was a fun easy dress.
The dress ran true to size. It was a little longer than I expected, but a fun dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Age: 27
August 5, 2014
Would not rent again
The dress was much longer than expected and bunched out at the side.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
August 8, 2014
Edgy glam! This was the perfect dress for my 30th birthday party-part 2!
This dress was exactly what I was looking for! It made me feel edgy and very rocker glam. I loved the cutout design of the glitter and black- very flattering! I wanted something form-fitting but not skin tight and unflattering to my curvy (chubby) body type. The dress hugged my body and was the perfect length above my knees so it wasn't riding up and didn't make me feel frumpy! The bold glitter accent was perfect for making me stand out- as it was my 30th birthday! The best part is that since a previous rental didn't work out, I got to use my credit and rent this dress for almost nothing! Love the customer service and will definitely be RTR-ing frequently!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
September 9, 2014
Classic dress with a touch of sparkle
The dress ran really big, and I should have ordered and wore an 8 instead of a 10. It was still a beautiful dress though and I received many compliments on it throughout the evening!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 28, 2011
Amazing Dress
I received both a 6 and an 8 because sometimes you never know how the fabric will fit. The 8 fit fine, but the zipper kept bunching up. When I tried the 6, it was snug, but perfect. I didn't have to keep pulling it up all night or anything. I wore this for a chic fashion fund-raising event that my company was putting on, and I received great compliments.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
May 13, 2011
I'm a size 0 and this dress was super tight in the hips - really weird fitting. Better for athletic types - if you have hips go one size up.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
February 2, 2012
Nonstop Compliments all night!
At first I was a little worried about wearing this dress because the side zipper sometimes bunched up in a way that made my body look akward, but after receiving endless compliments all night at my winter formal dance, I am really glad I ended up wearing it. I was told that it was one of the best dresses in the group and it looked great in the lights at the dance!
NinaSeptember 6, 2012
RTR, could I wear this dress to a homecoming dance? And what shoes would I wear with it?
RTRSeptember 10, 2012
Hi Nina! You can absolutely wear this to a homecoming dance. I would wear black patent shoes with it! You can also always wear nude shoes as well!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 23, 2012
Got so many compliments at Homecoming!
Fit well other than a bulge that kept appearing along the zipper. The straps were a bit annoying & kept popping out but other than that, it's a great & comfortable dress! Highly recommended.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 26, 2012
Perfect dress for a holiday party for work
I rented the size 2 and 4, and I chose to wear the 2. The dress fit perfectly. From walking around in it to dancing most of the night, I felt like it was really comfortable. I did not find myself adjusting it constantly like other strapless dresses I have worn in the past. The smaller size fit a little more snug, and I felt that it hid the bunch on the hip that other reviews mentioned about the dress.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
January 2, 2013
I loved all the compliments I received while wearing this dress!
This dress was amazing! Super comfortable and fit really well. I would have given it 5 stars but I was really disappointed by the ribbon that was sewn in to hang the dress up. It kept popping out and showed in almost every picture. I would suggest double stick tape.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 27, 2014
fun, elegant and comfortable
there are some beautiful dresses out there but they are uncomfortable, I think it is true to size, this is easy to wear, fits perfect, the gold is more yellow then in the picture, I ordered a size 6 and an 8, had to go with the 8, I was hoping I've lost some weight but I didn't, love the dress, used it to go on a date with the hubby and I felt beautiful :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 18, 2014
fits like a glove! got tons of compliments :)
great fit, true to size
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 17, 2010
Overall, quite pleased with the dress...but only if I had a little, cropped jacket on. There are some TERRIBLE hanger-straps on this dress right along the bust-line that constantly popped up, really distracting from how beautiful this dress is. I thought about cutting them off but was scared about the consequences! I would recommend it, it's very well made and runs true to size, and got a lot of compliments, but heads up!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Body type: Petite
February 4, 2011
I love this dress! Even more gorgeous in person! It fits like a glove and is so flattering! I'm small and the length was perfect for me, and didn't even have to wear a bra with it. I wore this to a formal with black peep toe pumps and it was perfect for the occasion! It's sparkly and so well made! I noticed that a lot of reviews mentioned the hanger straps but i didn't have any problems with them. The zipper is a little tricky, but i liked it because it was hidden on the side and you couldn't even tell it was there. This dress looks gorgeous in pictures and I received so many complements on it! I would definitely rent again! It was so easy and worked out perfectly!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
March 11, 2011
perfect for a night out on the town with the girls
Loved the sparkliness of this dress, and it ran true to size, but like many other reviews, I'd have to confirm that yes, there is an annoying bulge near your hip where the zipper is. I think it makes you look wider than you are. This dress doesn't really have a spandex-conform to your body material in it so it relies on your own natural curves to fill it out. Great design but poor execution when it comes to the zipper bulge
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Body type: Full Bust
April 11, 2011
I didn't even have this dress in my possession for an hour before putting it back in the mail. The zipper on the dress was poorly sewn, and awkwardly stuck out on the side. Definitely a no-no for my birthday party. See ya, $75!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Body type: Athletic
July 14, 2011
I'm 5'2", 36C, and athletic build. I wore this dress to my "Fling before the ring" party on July 2. It was a hit! I ordered the dress in 10 and 12. 10 fit like a glove but I wanted it with a little more flexibility so I could eat, drink, and dance! The 12 fit great, just had to pin the sides to make sure the dress wouldn't ride down. I wore the dress with 5 1/2" heels and it was perfect! If I could attach a picture, I would but I don't see any link to upload! Thanks RTR!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
August 9, 2011
This dress is absolutely gorgeous. I wore it for a girl's night out on the town and received so many compliments on it. The dress is very close fitted so don't expect to be able to move around much. I would definitely recommend this dress for a girls night out or a black tie event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 11, 2011
great dress!
I loved this dress, but wish I would have worn a size up on it...it definitely runs true to size! I would have felt more comfortable with the size 8. I am a super small bust, but this dress played up all of my other assets. It is definitely a dress that catches the attention of everyone! I got compliments all night on it. Would definitely recommend this dress!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Body type: Full Bust
December 28, 2011
Perfect Birthday Dress!
I rented this dress for my 22nd birthday party and I loved every minute of it! The dress looks loose on the model but it is in fact very fitting and very slimming. I felt great all night. The only annoying thing about wearing this dress is the straps that are used to hang the dress always come out. You have to keep tucking them in but it was such a fun dress to wear! It's a good dress for people with curves.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
September 1, 2012
New Years Eve Dress
I loved this dress! it fit well and was everything I was expecting.
See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×