Rent 3 for 1 Valentine's Day weekend! Use code 3FOR1VDAY16. DETAILS

Valid on rentals only. You will pay the cost of the most expensive item. Adding a free backup size will count as 1 of the 3 items. Offer expires 2/13/16 at 11:59pm EST and delivery dates must be 2/5/16 through 2/13/16. Promo code cannot be used on existing orders or be combined with other offers or gift cards. Enter promo code at checkout.

Sequin Inserts Mini Dress

$80 to buy
$750 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

The Sequin Insert Mini Dress is back! Rent the newly styled Robert Rodriguez dress for anything and everything. It is an absolute must rental of the year!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup - fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout; ruching and sequin inserts are flattering on all body types
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted through; for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup - fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout; ruching and sequin inserts are flattering on all body types
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted through; for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black. 100% stretch silk with gold sequin embellishment. Ruching detail throughout body. Gold zipper trim. Tube construction with boned bodice for support. Hidden side zip. 25" from top of bodice to hem. Model's height is 5'9".

Share
133 reviews
Fit
Large24
True to Size93
Small16
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 11, 2011
great dress!
I loved this dress, but wish I would have worn a size up on it...it definitely runs true to size! I would have felt more comfortable with the size 8. I am a super small bust, but this dress played up all of my other assets. It is definitely a dress that catches the attention of everyone! I got compliments all night on it. Would definitely recommend this dress!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
November 10, 2011
Awesome dress!
Was complimented on it all night! For fit, the chest was a little small (I'm a 34D) and I had to use fashion tape to make sure it didn't slip down too much. It was gorgeous and looked like a million bucks. This was my first Rent The Runway experience, and won't be my last!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Body type: Athletic
November 7, 2011
This dress looked really cheap and the black portions of the dress were pilled. Not flattering. The dress went right back.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Body type: Athletic
October 14, 2011
the staps were annoying they get popping out all night but other than that I loved the dress ,oh and the zipper doesnt go all the way up either on the side! That was annoying too.
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
October 12, 2011
I didn't understand this dress. The last Robert Rodriguez dress I rented was a 4 and was too small. So I sent it back and this time the 4 was too big. It was loose in the hip area (I'm a 29 waist) and the top kept sliding down . I loved the look of the dress so much, but probably needed a size smaller and didn't have time to exchange it. I woudl definitely recommend trying it out as it's very pretty in person.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Body type: Hourglass
September 30, 2011
This was the first dress I ever rented from RTR and disappointingly, it didn't look presentable because where the zipper ends after unzipping it was sticking out and did not fit like the picture shows. I am 5'5" and wear size xs with a 34 b small bust, this dress did not hug me everywhere and just felt like a garbage bag. I still think its a pretty dress but I didn't end up wearing it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Body type: Petite
September 28, 2011
But I am petite and it was too roomy in the waist area
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
September 28, 2011
Absolutely amazing piece. I was actually a bit hesitant to get this dress but trusted an opinion of a friend and was very thankful I did so. By the image you can't really get a clear picture of the how the detailing looks but its lovely in person. Certainly a show stopper. In regards to the hanger straps..I did not have a problem with them popping out, however, the dress has a side zipper and the hanger strap on this side does make the piece a bit awkward to put on you have to slide in either under or over. In any case xoxo RTR
Absolutely amazing piece. I was actually a bit hesitant to get this dress but trusted an opinion of a friend and was very thankful I did so. By the image you can't really get a clear picture of the how the detailing looks but its lovely in person. Certainly a show stopper. In regards to the hanger straps..I did not have a problem with them popping out, however, the dress has a side zipper and the hanger strap on this side does make the piece a bit awkward to put on you have to slide in either under or over. In any case xoxo RTR
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
September 24, 2011
I felt this dress ran a little small. I usually wear an 8 or 10 which is what I rented. I wish I would have picked the size up instead of the size down for my backup. I wore the 10 and it fit like a glove. The dress is just as gorgeous in person. I wore this to my Bachelorette Party and received so many compliments on it. I would rent it again for sure but a size up! The only complain I have is the 'boning' in the dress kept poking out and pricking me every so often. I think going with the size up would have eliminated this from happening. However, the dress was so AMAZING I didn't mind it. Pain is beauty, right?!?!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 59
Bust size: 38A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
September 18, 2011
felt great. Loved the look. What a wonderful dress. It looks so much better in real life than the picture does.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
September 12, 2011
I definitely should have believed the reviews on this dress. I didnt think the hanger strings bothered me that much however they were a little long. The problem I had with this dress was the fit. It bulges on the side where the model has her hand and was completely unflattering! If you have any hips at all, do not rent this dress. I loved the look of the dress, black dress with gold sequins that's why I gave this dress 1 star. I sent the dress back right away and didn't even bother wearing it!
LeeOctober 6, 2015
I am also anxiously waiting. I've been on the wait-list since April 2015. Cannot wait.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
August 30, 2011
This dress had a horrible bulge at the bottom of the zipper. Too much fabric there. It was not wearable. RTR replaced it. I didn't see anyone else mention this. Hope it was just the one dress.
TaraOctober 2, 2015
Hi! Was the R short with flats or heels? I'm 5'8 1/2", and plan on wearing flats - L or R better? Thanks!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 9, 2011
This dress is absolutely gorgeous. I wore it for a girl's night out on the town and received so many compliments on it. The dress is very close fitted so don't expect to be able to move around much. I would definitely recommend this dress for a girls night out or a black tie event.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
August 4, 2011
I loved this dress. It was super cute and sassy. I got a lot of compliments. I am short though and it was too long for me. I was able to fold it under to make it shorter, but that would be my only caution for the petite girls. Overall, super sexy and fun for a big night out.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Body type: Athletic
July 14, 2011
I'm 5'2", 36C, and athletic build. I wore this dress to my "Fling before the ring" party on July 2. It was a hit! I ordered the dress in 10 and 12. 10 fit like a glove but I wanted it with a little more flexibility so I could eat, drink, and dance! The 12 fit great, just had to pin the sides to make sure the dress wouldn't ride down. I wore the dress with 5 1/2" heels and it was perfect! If I could attach a picture, I would but I don't see any link to upload! Thanks RTR!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
June 28, 2011
Fun dress, but I was unable to wear it. I have a petite, lean frame, and bunching on the left side of the dress below the model's hand stuck out in a way that was extremely unflattering. Further, the overall bodice of the dress did not hug my body and fell a bit flat. Imagine this is a gorgeous dress on the right body, though.
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Body type: Petite
June 28, 2011
It may have been because I am shorter than the model in this picture, but the dress looked awkward long. I usually wear a size 0 and the 0 in this dress ran awfully large (for me at least), to the point where the dress looked rather bulky. The hanger straps were an issue too, but regardless I received MANY compliments on the dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Body type: Petite
June 22, 2011
I can't say anything bad about this dress. It fit great to my small form, and I was able to dance all night! This dress is definitely great in person.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 134lbs
June 20, 2011
Cute, fun dress for a night out.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Body type: Petite
June 6, 2011
I got a 0. It was still too big. I had to leave the hanger straps on and wear those as normal straps. Other than that, it looked nice. It just wasn't what I was expecting or what I wanted.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
May 27, 2011
This dress is gorgeous- however very uncomfortable. There is 'boning' that gives the dress shape- and it pinched into my back/hips when sitting. Perhaps a larger size would have helped but then the bust would have been to big. Disappointing considering how beautiful the dress was on the hanger and off (pain free when standing!).
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
May 26, 2011
Dress is pretty but didn't fit right. The zipper was an issue on both my sizes, 2 & 4. The dress is really stiff and hard to move around in. Didn't fit the 2 bc of my chest but the top of the 4 didn't seem too sturdy and I was afraid things might fall out while dancing. Also it was a tad too short for me falling right under my bottom. I didn't want to provide any Paris Hilton moments so I wore a dress I had in my closet. Beautiful just not for me due to comfort.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 22
Body type: Full Bust
May 23, 2011
I absolutely loved this dress! Everyone was asking me where I got my dress and I happily said that I rented it with RentTheRunway. I matched my date perfectly, and he was in the navy, so we were the center of attention at the dance. The dress fit me in all of the right places that it needed to without looking like it was squeezing anything. The sequins didn't bother me at all and I have pretty sensitive skin. The design is very flattering and will hide any sort of tummy flaw with the curve of the dress. Very appealing to any body type and the material is stretchy enough to fit over curves. The only thing was that the zipper kept getting caught at the top of the dress. But other than that, I was very pleased with my experience with RentTheRunway and I will definitely be renting again. Thanks for the best prom ever!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Body type: Hourglass
May 14, 2011
the dress was beautiful but also frustrating due to the hanger straps that kept coming out. Also the zipper side bulged out if dress crept up. I was constantly pulling the dress down so it didn't pucker. It was not tight so I am thinking when the zipper was replaced the garment was sewn down maybe wrong. Not sure? Anyway, we loved the customer service and the dress was on time. If we would have looked closer in the box we would have noticed the tape they had sent to maybe avoid problems we had...
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
May 13, 2011
I'm a size 0 and this dress was super tight in the hips - really weird fitting. Better for athletic types - if you have hips go one size up.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
May 11, 2011
This dress was beautiful in person, i ordered this as a back up for a Vegas trip. They were out of size 2 which is my size so I ended up with a 4. The dress being a bit too big caused a buldge where the zipper begins on the bottom. I didn't where the dress because of that but I will more then likely rent this dress again in the future and hope for the right size. Other then the zipper issue this dress looked AMAZING on. Very flashy!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
May 2, 2011
I wore this dress to a company XMAS party and got many compliments. I ended up wearing a cardigan with it due to the zipper being a little rough. Other than the zipper issue, the dress is lovely.
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
April 27, 2011
This dress does NOT look like a designer dress. It looks like it is from charlette rousse or forever 21 and if you don't have big hips I definitely do not recommend it. The fit around the hips was really stretched out and the size 2 was way too long (went to right above my knee). The material is cheap and the sequins are falling off/CHEAP. I ordered a 2 and 4 and they were entirely too big. Hope this helps (if you are deciding between this and another one and can't decide, DO NOT GO WITH THIS ONE).
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
April 25, 2011
Super cute dress. But received the dress in two different styles! One had zippers along the black fabric and the other didn't. I understood others' frustration about the zipper seam. I paired the dress with a black blazer. It really does have a WOW factor to it... I'm not into really short dresses--so if you're around my height, know that you'll be showing ALL of your leg.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Body type: Petite
April 25, 2011
This dress was not my favorite. I wouldn't rent this for a dance or a formal just because I felt uncomfortable the whole time. I kept having to pull my dress up and then pull my dress down. On top of it all, there were little pokey things on the bust line of the dress that kept poking me in the chest. I would be weary of renting again.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
April 24, 2011
You could tell this dress had been rented 1-million times. It was frumpy & a few of the ribbing-pipe was poking through. Was bummed b/c this dress could have looked really hot, but it was a little too worn-out.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Body type: Full Bust
April 11, 2011
I didn't even have this dress in my possession for an hour before putting it back in the mail. The zipper on the dress was poorly sewn, and awkwardly stuck out on the side. Definitely a no-no for my birthday party. See ya, $75!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
April 5, 2011
I loved this dress on. I felt it was true to size and very flattering. However, I did have trouble with the zipper, it got stuck towards the top area. I wasn't able to zip it up on my own. Also, the bone bodice was uncomfortable and sometimes painful. There is plastic wires inside the dress. They did poke out and stabbed me a few times! If you're like me and don't mind discomfort for beauty, you'll love the dress. Otherwise, i don't really recommend it.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Body type: Full Bust
March 28, 2011
The dress was a hit! It definitely fits true to size. One problem I had involved the 2 strings that I guess you could use if you didn't want to wear the dress strapless. They kept popping out throughout the night. Other than the the dress was comfortable and photgraphs well.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 27, 2011
Loved this dress!!! I received several compliments. This was actually my second dress for the evening. Everyone loved the wardrobe change. The dress fit perfectly but I would highly recommend using fashion tape if you're going to be dancing.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 23, 2011
I wore this dress to a cocktail party and it was perfect! I love this dress and it was very flattering! I ordered my normal size (2) and then got a size up (4) and ended up wearing the 2. The only problems I ran into was the zipper kind of sticking out on the side, but as long as you pull it down after sitting down it really wasn't that big of a deal and then the hanger strings got pretty annoying so I taped them down and it solved the problem!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 15, 2011
Had this dress sent in 2 sizes. 6 was too big and 4 was perfect when I tried it on, but when I went to wear it, it had an issue with the zipper bagging. I'm not sure if it was just damaged or if it was a defect in the design, but I didnt get to wear it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 14, 2011
A bit disappointed with this dress. The fit was great for my body type and runs true to size. However, I have many of the same complaints of other reviewers. The hanger straps are ridiculously long and wouldn't stay tucked in, even with fashion tape. Also, RTR should do a better job inspecting dresses before shipping them out. The size 0 not only had a tear in the side seam, but the zipper was COMPLETELY non-functioning. The size 2 was too big on me, so I basically had to shimmy myself into the 0 without unzipping it. Thankfully I was able to unzip it (after 20 minutes of effort) to take it off. Like other reviewers, the zipper did not flat the dress and had odd bulges in the hip area. Too bad for all these issues because it is a very stunning dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
March 11, 2011
perfect for a night out on the town with the girls
Loved the sparkliness of this dress, and it ran true to size, but like many other reviews, I'd have to confirm that yes, there is an annoying bulge near your hip where the zipper is. I think it makes you look wider than you are. This dress doesn't really have a spandex-conform to your body material in it so it relies on your own natural curves to fill it out. Great design but poor execution when it comes to the zipper bulge
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Body type: Petite
February 4, 2011
I love this dress! Even more gorgeous in person! It fits like a glove and is so flattering! I'm small and the length was perfect for me, and didn't even have to wear a bra with it. I wore this to a formal with black peep toe pumps and it was perfect for the occasion! It's sparkly and so well made! I noticed that a lot of reviews mentioned the hanger straps but i didn't have any problems with them. The zipper is a little tricky, but i liked it because it was hidden on the side and you couldn't even tell it was there. This dress looks gorgeous in pictures and I received so many complements on it! I would definitely rent again! It was so easy and worked out perfectly!
See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×