You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Sequin Inserts Mini Dress
Rental $40 Retail $595
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
The Sequin Insert Mini Dress is back! Rent the newly styled Robert Rodriguez dress for anything and everything. It is an absolute must rental of the year!
Chat with a Stylist
Black. 100% stretch silk with gold sequin embellishment. Ruching detail throughout body. Gold zipper trim. Tube construction with boned bodice for support. Hidden side zip. 25" from top of bodice to hem. Model's height is 5'9".
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup - fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout; ruching and sequin inserts are flattering on all body types
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted through; for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8''.)

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos40

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

sarika
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 6521
Jan 10, 2013
I loved this dress - i wore it for my birthday party and a bachelorette party and I looked hot!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
it is definitely true to size.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7433
Jan 7, 2013
Good looking dress, less attractive on
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Beautiful dress, however the way the gold stripes fit me was not flattering. Bummer, because the dress is beautiful.
DJ
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4531
Jan 3, 2013
New Years Eve 2012
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress has a huge pooch on the left side by the zipper. I had to constantly pull on it. Someone else had mentioned it in a comment so you would've thought they corrected this problem. It was my first time to rent and dress and the dress itself is beautiful. My only reservation is they aren't paying attention to feedback about quality and fit or they would've fixed it. Only other problem is the hanger straps keep popping out while dancing. You can't cut them like I normally would so next time I'd tape them down. The dress itself was hot!
Sophia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6442
Dec 18, 2012
Super hot look!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is a PARTY dress! It was my second choice of 2 dresses I chose for a formal event, but the length was too short. I would definitely rent it again for a NYE party or birthday bash! SO flattering and fun. I would wear some intense smokey eye makeup, nude/natural lips, and either black or nude heels. Most definitely on my radar for the next party I go to!
Marie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2524
Dec 17, 2012
Right dress for a holiday party!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Perfect little dress for my company's Monte Carlo themed party. Just enough skin showing without being volgur. Hugged every curve so don't eat a big meal before you put the dress on. Was very forgiving, nothing special needed not even a strapless bra. Ton's of compliments, easy to find accessories and shoes to match. Would definitely recommed if you aren't trying to be over the top but still be fitting to party.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 8434
Dec 11, 2012
Beautiful dress, but too small for busty women
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was so cute and beautiful, but it was way too small on the top. It has straps inside to help hang it on the hanger, but they definitely wouldn't fit around anyone's bust bigger than a C. I have a DD and could zip it up until it got to my chest!! Still a really cute dress though, but anyone but a bust, size 10 or larger I don't think it would fit! My friend ended up wearing it though and she is a size 6!
socialight
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6434
Nov 17, 2012
I wore this for my 25th birthday. It was beautiful.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit was perfectly true to size on me.
Cresandra
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 4431
Oct 22, 2012
Wore this dress for my 25th Birthday celebration and received a lot of complements.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
no problems.
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3534
Oct 22, 2012
Super Cute!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very cute and very comfy!! I wore this dress to my niece's HS Graduation party and received so many compliments all night long - many from her girlfriends! I paired it with black patent peep-toe Louboutins, which were a perfect compliment. As a busty girl, the size 2 was perfect in the chest, but a little loose in the bodice/hips and the darts gave it an odd pooch that probably wouldn't happen if it were tight-fitting overall (but I think I'm the only one who paid that much attention). Overall, I truly loved it though and can't wait to rent again!
Jenna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6433
Oct 17, 2012
Stunning!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress is absolutely beautiful in person. I rented it as my back up dress but didnt get to wear it it was also way too small. I would rent it again in a bigger size for my next party maybe new years!!
Kaitlyn
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 4331
Oct 16, 2012
Loved it! Felt so pretty!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was worried it would be missing sequins, but it was in PERFECT condition. Ordered a 4 and 6 and went with the 4.
sylvia
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2523
Oct 12, 2012
Great piece and affordable
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
love the dress. Got so much complement for the dress. I got a size 0 and 2 and both are in very good condition with no beads coming out or torn fabric. I ended up wearing size 0, it was a bite loose on the bust, but all over very nice dress. It was a statement piece for sure.
Nell
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Oct 9, 2012
Way too small and short!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit, but it was just a little too tiny - felt a little cheap.
AK
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4333
Oct 8, 2012
I wore this dress for my senior prom, and it was perfect because as seniors prom was more casual.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress did ride up throughout the course of the night while dancing and whatnot, but the top never slipped down and that would have been a bigger issue!
Katie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Oct 8, 2012
The delivery was timely and I got a nice extra gift in the delivery. It was a seamless experience.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was super cute for a work event in Vegas. It was glamorous without being too revealing. I would note that these are NOT vanity sizes, so you should order the next size up from what you might usually wear. Also, if you have any curves, the darts are cut a little bit high. Overall it looked great, but I would make sure you order two sizes the smaller one being a size larger than you normally wear anyway.
Jessica
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4424
Oct 2, 2012
Very Pretty Dress
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress runs very big. I ordered a 4 and a 6 because I was reading other clients said this ran small or true to size. I normally wear a 2 or a 4 and the 4 was too big.
caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 2431
Sep 29, 2012
NYE 2012 - perfectly sparkly
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for NYE 2012. It looked great and I liked that it was sparkly but not completely covered in sequins!
frances
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 7331
Sep 19, 2012
I did not end up wearing this dress.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I did not like the way that this dress fit. If you have any curves at all it makes you look 2 sizes larger then you are.
Kendall
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 4234
Sep 13, 2012
Great dress!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The dress was great. Normally, I wear either a 6 or 8; however, I read the previous reviews saying that the dress runs small. So, I rented the 8 and 10. I was swimming in the 10, and the 8 was still really big on me. If I rented the 6, I would have LOVED this dress. Either way, the dress was GORGEOUS! Even more so in person. There were a couple of problems with the boning structure of the dress poking you sometimes. Overall, this dress was great. I wish I got the right size.
Nayha
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2434
Sep 1, 2012
New Years Eve Dress
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress! it fit well and was everything I was expecting.
Ana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 6344
Aug 23, 2012
Loved my birthday dress!!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I LOVED this dress! It was perfect for my birthday dinner and party with friends! I felt amazing with this dress on. I paired it with a leather jacket and gold sequins pumps. I didn't want to give it back. I wish I took more pictures of me in it but I was so caught up in the night I forgot... But definitely a must rent!!
SY
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4332
Aug 22, 2012
rush
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
the sequins make the dress pouchy and it doesn't lie flat. very pretty, but not form fitting.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 121 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4233
Aug 21, 2012
Stands out!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
A little big in the breasts, but otherwise it was a great dress.
Amber
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
Aug 17, 2012
Girls Night Out
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect for my friends golden birthday in Chicago. It was not as snug as I would have liked, but overall a great dress!
Stephanie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 4423
Aug 10, 2012
Great Dress!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Needed a dress for my 25th birthday in Vegas, and this was it! Beautiful dress! It seemed that the size was larger than I expected. Usually a 4, but the 2 fit the best. Best thing though, is that you can get both sizes, just in case! Also they send a prepackaged envelope to put the dresses in which makes it super easy to return! Just find a blue post office box, and you're set! Great experience!
Ebony-Birthday Girl
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5531
Apr 19, 2012
Hollywood Sweet Sixteen Party
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for my daughter's Sweet Sixteen Hollywood Theme party as her second dress to change into. It was more beautiful then the picture. It fitted her to the tee. Everyone loved it. She made her grand entrance in a long Red and Silved ballgown and change into this dress to party in. I must say that I as well as her was very pleased. We will rent again.
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2322
Apr 3, 2012
Not good for me
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5'1", and smaller on the top than on the bottom. The 0 was an ok fit, but the 2 was huge. Also the zipper on the size kept bunching up. Luckily, I had ordered a backup dress, and I ended up wearing that because the zipper situation made my hips look twice as big!
Jill
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4623
Mar 10, 2012
Not a great fit
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this for a Cocktail party for a Bar Mitzvah. It came and I quickly tried it on. The problem is the side zipper puckered outward and looked like I had a bulging hip on one side. I quickly called RTR and they couldn't of been nicer and more accommodating. They immediately sent me a different dress which fits perfectly. I can't wait to have another affair to go to and use RTR. I also would suggest speaking to a stylist there as they do guide you.
Mimi
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4522
Mar 1, 2012
generally happy with it
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am generally a size 2 or 4 and I rented the size 4. It fit, but barely (which is why I stated that it runs small). Overall, I was happy with the dress and it is definitely a "statement." However, it did have some issues. First, it seemed a bit worn and I agree with the prior reviews that the hanger straps were problematic. I fixed it with dress tape, but it was annoying. Also, the dress kind of pooches out on the left so I felt like I had to constantly pull the dress down although I was probably the only one to notice it. It doesn't fit the way it looks on the model - she must a complete waif because it is much more tight fitting. I was glad I rented it and happy with the experience, and I got a ton of compliments on it.
Kelsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5433
Jan 6, 2012
NY EVE dress
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was amazing, it was my first time renting from RTR and they did not disappoint. I got so many compliments through the entire night and the dress fit perfectly. I would tell anyone to rent this dress you will definitely get noticed. The dress was a little loose in the bust but the double sided tape that RTR sent fixed that problem.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5443
Jan 5, 2012
Gorgeous and flattering!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I would rent this again in a second! Great for NYE! Lots of compliments and very comfortable as well.
Somer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Dec 28, 2011
Adored
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress. The 4 was a little tight on me, but the 6 was perfect. I wore this to my company Christmas party and got a ton of compliments. Its flashy and fun without being over the top, and super comfortable. The side zipper occasionally would pooch out a little but it wasn't anything major. Stays up, never slid down like some strapless dresses. Would totally rent again!
Kelsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Dec 28, 2011
Amazing Dress
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I received both a 6 and an 8 because sometimes you never know how the fabric will fit. The 8 fit fine, but the zipper kept bunching up. When I tried the 6, it was snug, but perfect. I didn't have to keep pulling it up all night or anything. I wore this for a chic fashion fund-raising event that my company was putting on, and I received great compliments.
Maha
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 6331
Dec 28, 2011
Perfect Birthday Dress!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my 22nd birthday party and I loved every minute of it! The dress looks loose on the model but it is in fact very fitting and very slimming. I felt great all night. The only annoying thing about wearing this dress is the straps that are used to hang the dress always come out. You have to keep tucking them in but it was such a fun dress to wear! It's a good dress for people with curves.
Endsley
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 3333
Dec 14, 2011
Amazing
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I've been dying to wear this dress for about a year and final was able to rent it for my sorority's semi formal. It fit great and it was everyone's favorite dress of the night. One guy said, "This is the best dress of the night. It's like you're classy with the black but also here to party with the gold." If you're looking to impress or just for a really fun dress, this one is the way to go.
Arianna
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 4343
Nov 14, 2011
Like a glove
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is perfect for a formal event to which you dont want to wear a long gown, the fit is very flattering.
Catherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6442
Nov 11, 2011
great dress!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress, but wish I would have worn a size up on it...it definitely runs true to size! I would have felt more comfortable with the size 8. I am a super small bust, but this dress played up all of my other assets. It is definitely a dress that catches the attention of everyone! I got compliments all night on it. Would definitely recommend this dress!
Donna
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4634
Nov 10, 2011
Awesome dress!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Was complimented on it all night! For fit, the chest was a little small (I'm a 34D) and I had to use fashion tape to make sure it didn't slip down too much. It was gorgeous and looked like a million bucks. This was my first Rent The Runway experience, and won't be my last!
Natasha
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 1521
Nov 7, 2011
Overall fit: Small
This dress looked really cheap and the black portions of the dress were pilled. Not flattering. The dress went right back.
lia
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 1331
Oct 14, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
the staps were annoying they get popping out all night but other than that I loved the dress ,oh and the zipper doesnt go all the way up either on the side! That was annoying too.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress