Rent the Runway

Robert Rodriguez Black Label

Santorini Waters Dress

$40 rental
$560 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Do the salsa in this spicy Robert Rodriguez Black Label one shoulder cocktail dress. Go with the Erickson Beamon's Chrysler Earrings to turn up the heat on the dance floor!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Purple matte jersey. One shoulder ruched neckline and bat wing sleeve. 35'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

89 reviews

Fit
Small 4
True to Size 62
Large 19
Photos 38
Mary
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Dec 16, 2011

I loved the flow of the sleeve. It was fun swishing it while I danced. My friends also rented dresses and it was fun anticipating there arrivals.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I love this dress!! I rented it for my office Christmas Party and got so many compliments. I wore the size 2 and it was perfect. It was very comfortable, I danced all evening. The purple was a fun alternative to black. This was my first rental and it was so easy. I would definitely recommend this dress. Thanks RTR!!
Reagan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 20, 2011

So far, I haven't been disappointed with any of my rentals, and in this dress, I was told that I was a timeless beauty(:

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am usually a 0 or a 2, and in this case the 0 fit me better. The other reviews are correct, the dress runs a bit big, but nothing drastic. The dress was a bit longer than listed for me, it went to about my knee instead of just above it. The reviews and compliments I received on the dress were awesome, and I would definitely recommend the dress for any semi-formal affair!
Anastasia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 23, 2011

I always feel elegant and stylish in the dresses I rent from RTR.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I love this dress! It is a vibrant purple and very comfortable to wear. Even the maitre d' complemented me! I usually wear a size 4, but after reading other reviews I ordered a backup dress in a size 2. The 2 fit me better overall.
Shelley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142 lbs
May 29, 2012

This dress was so amazing and I felt so good wearing it. The color shape and look of the dress was truly a hit! I really enjoyed the dress and can't wait to rent from RTR again!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding in Seattle and it was a hit! I got so many compliments. The style and color of this dress is so classy and elegant. This dress is a bit unforgiving so you may need to wear seamless spanks to cinch your waist if it's less than perfect. The dress runs large so order two sizes down. I wore a 6 but I could have worn a 4. This was my first RTR experience and I loved it! I will do it again and again!
Carissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jul 10, 2012

I didn't even have to wear spanks with this dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I had so much confidence wearing this dress to my friend's wedding in December. I was so excited that I didn't have to wear Spanks! I usually have to, but with this dress I didn't need to at all and it was so comfortable and flattering. Thanks RTR!
Regina
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

I truly felt like a queen for my special day

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this BEAUTIFUL dress for my bridal shower on Aug 19, 2012 and I never felt more beautiful. The dress was true to size (although I ordered a 10 as a back up size, but it was too big :-)). I normally shy away from dresses (very self conscience about my thin calves) but it was really comfortable and I received so many compliments from my family and friends. Truly a confidence booster. Would definitely rent from RTR again!. Thanks so much
T
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 22, 2012

The dress was beautiful and I felt beautiful in it!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful color and very comfortable!
Katherine
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Wearing this dress made my night amazing

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit me almost exactly how it looked on the model. It was a little bit longer than in the picture but I'm guessing that its because I'm only 5'4". The actual color of the dress is a little bit darker than in the picture but still stunning.
Cristina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

Amazing dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit great. Of course I wish it came a bit shorter because I am short, but I did like the length more than I expected, especially for a somewhat conservative wedding. Very comfortable as well. Only issue I had was the liner peeking out at the hem. Note: I tagged my Kate Spade Agathe Black Sparkle Summit Bag in the pic as the Gold, only available in list. Love this purse, will review it separately!
Becky
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 13, 2012

Great experience. I will rent again!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I ordered a 4 and a 2. The 4 fit perfectly, but the lining was hanging below the hem. The 2 fit fine, just a little tight. I received them on a Wed, my event was FRiday night. I called on Thurs. morning and they shipped out another size 4 right away for free. I did not get the box until after I had to leave for my event :( but it wasn't RTR's fault as I looked at the tracking and UPS just didn't get it to me although it was at their local distribution center at 8 am that morning! Great service, no hassles to ship a new one. The fit: I was able to wear the 2 pretty comfortably, the tightness just made it a little more sexy. I had great compliments on it, the color and was covered enough yet felt sexy and a little bare. Great dress....true to size. I wear a four in dresses and work out a lot so I can be a bit muscular...but the 2 pulled me through. I think this is true to size. Fun little number. Thank you!
Mary Beth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 2, 2012

Great experience.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Definitely a fun dress to wear. True to size. Did not need any special undergarments. No spanks needed. Received many compliments.
miss
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 20, 2012

That sleeve is SO much fun on the dance floor. Or even just sashaying to get your drink.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I couldn't tell if I wore the 4 or the 6 because neither dress displayed the size. I tried them both on and still couldn't tell. I put the 4 in my review because you have to put something. In the end, the only difference I could see between the two dresses was that one had up to 1" of the lining showing below the skirt. No good at all. Thankfully, there was that 2nd dress.
Delaine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Jan 5, 2013

Rich deep indigo blue color on this beautiful dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Heavier material on this dress than I expected - be aware if you are choosing for a summer event. Hugs the body with some give - beautiful lines both front and back. Very comfortable to wear. Requires a NuBra or strapless/low back. Front is gathered and added some dimension (which works for me - but perhaps something to consider for the more-endowed). The color is such a rich blue/purple hue - makes for a stand-out dress. Made my evening very special.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 18, 2013

Fun dress for a fiesta!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was my first time using RTR and I look forward to renting again and again. This was a comfortable, easy dress to wear. The sleeve made it interesting and the color is very pretty.
haley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 17, 2014

the fit was excellent beautiful color nice design i felt special wearing it.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
the dress is exactly how it looks online.
Tricia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 5, 2014

A pretty good choice for me

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fits true to size or maybe a little large. I'm in between a 0 & 2 and definitely needed the 0 in this. I wore it to a family friend's 70th birthday party which was a semi-formal event. I was pretty satisfied with this dress except for some side bunching where the zipper is located. It was comfortable, and the color is really nice.
Kella
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 8, 2014

Gorgeous dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Comfortable, stunning color, compliments galore!
D
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 2, 2014

Purple Elegance

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Not my usual style of cut but it was fun and dramatic. To be completely honest, I felt a little body-conscious in it but I did get compliments so I think it was just the way I was feeling on that particular night... but I probably could've used some help from Spanx! Overall, nice quality, I liked that it was lined which prevented the dress from being too thin/clingy. Very nice and very fun, will have to try another style like this again.
Marissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 178 lbs
Apr 4, 2014

Feels expensive, hugs the body, great for cocktail event!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Was second runner up to a more formal option, best for women with narrow hips; start to pull just a teeny bit if you are more hour glass. Size 8 was just right and that is my normal size. Going up would have been too loose on top. Would rent again for another event.
Ayan
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175 lbs
Apr 21, 2014

I felt gorgeous and got a lot of compliments on the dress.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It's heavier than I thought. But not in a way that would make the dress uncomfortable. I was able to move and dance, which was great. The only con I have is with the original size I ordered. I ordered a 12, which was a tad too big, but the hem was obviously messed up. The outer layer of the dress was an inch shorter than the 2nd layer. I don't see how that dress could have been shipped out with someone noticing. So, I'm very glad I had the backup size, which actually fit better.
Karen
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
May 16, 2014

I wore this to my 25th highschool reunion (yep, old!) and got tons of compliments.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I LOVE RTR!! The dress(es) and earrings arrived exactly on schedule and were both gorgeous. The packaging was great and the return was so easy! Only two minor things: 1. the dress had some small, but not very noticeable stains and 2. I asked a stylist what sizes I should get, and when I gave her my measurements, she suggested a 4 and 6. Luckily, the computer algorithymn knew that the dress ran big, so it suggested a 2 and 4. The two was perfect. Forgot my Spanx (waaaah), but that's not RTR's fault! Thank you, RTR - I will order from you again! You have a great service!
Mabel
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
May 19, 2014

I felt gorgeous and my husband couldn't keep his eyes off of me the whole night.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I absolutely loved this dress. I wore it for my anniversary dinner. It's very classy and I received multiple compliments. It's a beautiful shade of blue and was surprisingly comfortable. I never once found myself adjusting the dress or feeling uncomfortable. I was sad to send it back! I chose to wear the 6 instead of the 4 because the 4 was skin tight and I knew I was going to indulge myself during dinner :) My only issue was that the lining underneath peeked out from under the dress whenever I lifted my arms at all. I learned that after the first few pictures were taken so folded it underneath for the rest of the night.
RTR Customer
May 25, 2014

So comfortable, doesn't ride up .. Truly a great dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fabulous dress should of gotten an 8! Usually an 8 but always worry about fit around hips.. Was so comfortable and the color is deep purple not blue! Which I loved even more!! I would recommend pinning the back to your bra it fell below it a couple of times! I had tons of friends to straighten it out. Again should of gotten 8!
Tracy
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
May 26, 2014

It was such a fun dress and it was so comfy!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits perfect!
Kemper
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
May 27, 2014

This dress is gorgeous color and with a dramatic sleeve, but unfortunately just a tad short!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Unfortunately, this was too short. I had to sing in a performance and sit on a high stool, so this short hemline wouldn't work. The sleeve was gorgeous, very dramatic!
Adry
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Jun 10, 2014

The best dress I have rented so far!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I went to a wedding with my husband and this dress was more than what I could ever expected, my husband even asked me if we could just pay for it and keep it . . . The fabric has a beutiful texture and is kind of heavy, really fun dress to dance.
Diana
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 15, 2014

I love this dress!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I normally wear a 6 I ordered the 4 and 6 ended up wearing the 6. This dress is to die for I felt like a Greek goddess and got so many compliments on it. The fabric and color are gorgeous not to mention the eye catching style. Would definitely rent this dress again!
Katora
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Body type: Full Bust
Aug 16, 2014

BravoBravo Fundraiser- Fun Charity Event

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a really fun event and wanted to be chic but comfortable. I wore the size 12 and it fit comfortably. The 10 fit better, but due to the thinness of the material, it was hard to wear under "armor" so I went with the 12 so that it wouldn't show any bulges. In photos it still did. It is made for someone who has a six pack. If you have no bulge issues anywhere, it is a great dress, fun and comfortable. But it wasn't my favorite dress. The color is nice and I paired it with crystal chandelier earrings which picked up the deep purple. If you are fit and trim, it's a great dress. For this mother of four, not so much!
Bee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Aug 26, 2014

Great color

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful dress. Size runs a bit large but it probably benefited me n my belly. Great color. The dress had a tear in the seam that I had to repair before I could wear it. It also had a stain on the front of the dress. But renttheway cs was excellent and was able to get a credit.
Noelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Sep 27, 2014

Feeling Fabulous on my 40th!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This is a stunning piece. I wore it for dinner out for my 40th birthday and felt amazing in it. The only thing negative about it is the style makes it quite heavy, which kept pulling it down and letting the hanging straps slip up and out if I wasn't careful. Fashion tape would have worked very well for this issue. Oh, well, fashion hindsight is 20/20! I paired it with platinum heels, an amazing House of Harlow cuff, and a stunning necklace.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 7, 2014

The event was the first time I was meeting my boyfriend's friends. I made a great impression!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The sleeve was very flowy. I had to make sure I always had it tucked underneath my arm during dinner. The body of the dress fit great! It wasn't a tight, bodycon dress by any means, but it still flattered every curve.
Ramsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 10, 2014

Loved this dress and so did all of my girlfriends. Very comfortable and the fabric was really nice.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The fabric is a little heavy but it makes it crape well. It was fashionable but still very comfortable, I was able to really dance in it.
Anastasia
Top Contributor
Age: 34
Oct 24, 2014

Great color dress and fun to wear!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
My first dress arrived with a stain on it but RTR was awesome and overnighted me another one. This dress is comfortable to wear, photographs beautifully and runs true to size.
Erin
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 20, 2014

Loved the dress but had to wear the wrong size

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got SO many compliments on this dress. It was comfortable, lightweight, and the fabric was an excellent quality which skimmed over my curves nicely. However, I got the 2 and the 4 and had to wear the larger size even though the 2 fit better because the 2 had an uneven hemline which showed the sewn-in slip. The upside is that the shape of the dress slips flatteringly over the wearer and the larger dress was still lovely! This is a great option for anyone who wants to hide any mid-section imperfections or is worried about selecting a size.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Nov 23, 2014

Comfortable & Cute

Size worn: 12
Rented for: Other
I selected this dress for the style & color. Although I love the front of this dress the off centered V cut in the back did not work with my strapless shapewear slip which I was not willing to go without.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 12, 2014

Intensely rich color

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is unbelievably pretty. The color is an incredibly rich and vibrant jewel purple. The detailing across the bust is exceptionally flatter on small and large chests. The back hits the perfect spot, allowing for a standard strapless bra. However the truly unique aspect of the dress is that sleeve. That SLEEVE! I was blown away by how beautiful and well made this dress is. Unfortunately I was also blown away by my tummy as this material is on the thin and clingy side. Ordinarily I'd thrown on some Spanx and call it a day, but the length presents a bit of an issue where shape wear is concerned. Still, this is a gorgeous dress and absolutely worth the rental for those with a more flattened mid-section.
Sheila
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 2, 2015

BUY THIS DRESS IT'S BEAUTIFUL!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I'm 5'4", 105-110 lbs, Petite, 34A. Bought this during the clearance sale, a little bit on impulse. This is one of the best dresses I have ever purchased. The color of the material is true to the pictures online, the material has a good weight to it. I was worried it would be too large on me based on other reviewers comments, but I think it fits like a glove. There is just a tad too much space in the bust which is typical for me.
Katie
Age: 35
Feb 7, 2015

Beautiful fit and color

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Party
This fit really well. I could have worn either size, but the 2 was wider in the waist, so I wore the 0. It's a beautiful deep purple color that's brighter than the picture. Very happy with the dress and the RTR process.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137 lbs
Feb 28, 2015

So many compliments on this dress!! I LOVE it!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect! I am usually afraid to get a size 4 because my butt usually makes some dresses look inappropriate, but this was perfect! It wasn't tight and I felt comfortable in it. It also didn't wrinkle on the car ride to the wedding, and did fine in the rain we got caught in.
Charlotte
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165 lbs
Mar 7, 2015

The best RTR rental ever!

Size worn: 12
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was by far my favorite dress I've ever rented from RTR and I've rented a lot. The sleeve made it. The fabric was soft, somewhat stretchy, and had a very luxurious feel. The fit was flattering for this curvy girl and the color was beautiful. I'd call it a deep purple tone but not Barney purple, more subtle. I felt beautiful and glamour out that night. I'd definitely rent this one again!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×