Robert Rodriguez Black Label

Santorini Waters Dress

$40 to buy
$560 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Do the salsa in this spicy Robert Rodriguez Black Label one shoulder cocktail dress. Go with the Erickson Beamon's Chrysler Earrings to turn up the heat on the dance floor!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Purple matte jersey. One shoulder ruched neckline and bat wing sleeve. 35'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

89 reviews

Fit
Small 4
True to Size 62
Large 19
Photos 38
Jessica
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 30, 2014

The dress is beautiful! People at my party are still talking about it and that was 4 months ago!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was comfortable, true to size and the color was beautiful. It was a unique and modern look. Every single person complimented me and asked where I got my dress. I was a total ad for Rent-the Runway. I am sure at my next company party everyone will be renting a dress.
Maria
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112 lbs
Apr 29, 2014

Tons of compliments with the "wow" factor of this dress. I had so much fun wearing it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I went with Size 2 which is my normal dress size. I was a bit disappointed in the wear and tear that this dress is showing....I think only noticeable to me as the wearer....a bit of stitching coming undone on the side seam and there were spots on the dress from previous usage and the dry-cleaner apparently couldn't get out. I suppose the fact that this is a rental excuses the expectation of perfection in the dress. This was my first RTR rental and the process was so easy I would certainly rent again. Thank you for your service.
Corey's birthday
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143 lbs
Feb 2, 2014

The dress was fun and flirty

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered two sizes and had to wear the bigger size because the hem was uneven on the size that fit.
Lala
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 2, 2013

Loved the dress! Color really gave the dress a pop! Will definitely use RTR again.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for a formal dinner I hosted. Sexy, fun, and very comfortable.
CeCe
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165 lbs
Nov 24, 2013

So easy to shop online, and found such a fabulous dress for New Years Eve!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress was perfect! Fit true to size...got lots of compliments! Can't wait to rent again
Karen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Oct 16, 2013

Great dress and feels great on -

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
could possible go one size down
TA
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 3, 2013

Great color, bad fit

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
While I loved the purple, I felt like I was drowning in all the fabric. Definitely not as fitted as this picture makes it appear. I returned without wearing.
NG
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 2, 2013

Great color and great chance to show off buff arms!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Ordered 8 and 6. Unfortunately, the 8 was defective in that the slip came out under the dress. The 6 was too snug but didn't reveal the slip. Form fitting, unforgiving fit so beware if bloating issues. Also beware that due to short length, some shapeware garments are too long. Yikes! Is a great color and a great style for a nice athletic upper build with well defined arms and shoulders!
jek
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 25, 2013

Very stylish. Beautiful color. Wore to a red carpet event in Hollywood. Loose and comfy.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
ran large in the top- and i am busty. nice, loose fit. does not necessarily show off one's figure, but this is due to the flared arm. great dress for a comfortable, stylish time. Quite chic and in style.
Taniesha
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 20, 2013

Beautiful fabric! It was very comfortable all night.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I had to safety pin the dress (under my armpit) to fit snugly against my body on the side without a sleeve.
beth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Pear
Dec 31, 2012

fabulous dress! Received a ton of compliments! Fantastic first experience with RTR.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit very close to size.
Cassie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 23, 2012

I usually opt for a LBD for a special occasion, but I am so glad I went with the blue for last NYE!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
LOVED the fit of this dress. Was a little weary because I ordered at the last minute for NYE and really needed it to be perfect. Received so many compliments throughout the night and never saw someone in a similar silhouette or color. The material is a little slinky, but forms well to the body. I'm pretty tall so I was pleasantly surprised it wasn't too short, which is usually my problem. It had just enough length for me to dance comfortably.
NA1278
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 9, 2012

Beautiful... Nightgown-ish

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Nahhhh! I had this dresses a second option to HL dress I ordered and wore. It was just as is... Second option... Does not look good on tall figure at all!
Allie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 3, 2012

Intriguing one shoulder, curve hugging dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Stretchy fabric was forgiving, and hugged curves beautifully. The one shoulder and long sleeve was very stylish and eye-catching. This was a beautiful dress. I'm 5'10" and this was not too short on me, although if I were 5'5" or below I think it would reach below the knee.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 27, 2012

Great Dress for New Years.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Great fit, but the sleeve is a bit big.
leslie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 14, 2012

Beautiful dess and fabric

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Was too short for me, I'm 5'5"
Patricia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 12, 2012

I had an event in NYC (and I don't live) -- the dress was waiting for me at my hotel!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I received so many compliments on this dress! I fit perfectly and as some who is busty but not very tall, it looked great on my body.
Mimi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Oct 26, 2012

Elegant. Flirty, and sophisticated. Great dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I read the reviews and thank the previous users for giving useful/helpful information. This dress was great! I'm small chested, and the rouging in the bust helped the girls! I usually wear dresses with 2 straps, and sleeveless, so this dress was outside my comfort zone, and I was so happy i chose it! It was stunning! The material lent itself to fitting in all the right places. I didn't wear spanx. I did notice that the lining peaked through at the bottom, so I did need to readjust every so often. The color was very vibrant and perfect for an October evening wedding. I got a lot of head turning in my direction, and received many compliments! Great ego boost! I have waist length curly hair, and wore my hair loosley up with gold drop earrings and gold bracelet. Gold and brown makeup. My shoes were black patent and gold. I have a tattoo on my right shoulder, and this dress let it shine as well. I would wear this again!
Jessica
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 1, 2012

Easy return is so great and the option of a second size is awesome!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wanted to wear the size 2 but the liner was longer then the dress hem and looked awful so I went with the 2nd choice of a size 4 a little big but it worked. Good thing I had 2!
KIM
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Sep 30, 2012

I had to send them both back as the slip hung down below the dress.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
RTR was awesome and sent me another dress overnight for the wedding! I already told 3 new customers about RTR!
Erin
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

Super comfortable and beautiful dress! Ran a little large.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I normally wear a size 2 but thankfully I ordered a 0 as well because the 2 was way too big. It was also a little longer than showed in the picture. Other than that I really liked it! The dress was very flattering and comfortable. The sleeve was my personal favorite part.
Andrea
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Sep 22, 2012

Everyone loved the dress.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
it was more baggy around the middle than I thought it would be. But I liked the feel of the material.
Silvia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Sep 18, 2012

This Dress is Amazing!! Not only stunning by very comfortable. Got compliments from everyone!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was easy to throw on at the end of my daughters Wedding Reception. The material is so comfortable and falls along the body line so smoothly. Very comfortable and didn't have to worry about how it looked on me - everyone was complimenting and wondering where I bought it!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Sep 15, 2012

Showed up on time and arrived beautifully!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I am in between sizes and felt the smaller size fit better. Beautiful color and got lots of compliments.
Tina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 5, 2012

Nice for a beach wedding

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The color is very nice--a rich indigo--and it makes blue eyes really pop. If you're going to be tearing up the dance floor in this, do consider that the one sleeve is quite long and will catch on your dance partner (and chairs, and glasses, etc.). I'd definitely qualify this as a bodycon dress, too. I was fine in it until we had a beachside barbeque and was sporting a foodbaby nicely enhanced by the form-fitting material. Even so, note that you may want to order your backup size one size down if you're small chested. I ordered a 6 and a 4, and even the 4 (my usual size) was a bit roomy up top for my 34B bust. A padded strapless bra helped.
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 2, 2012

Runs Small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Unfortunately I was unable to wear the dress that I rented because the dress was too small. It was very snug in the hips and the fabric did not have much give. Wish I could have worn it!!
Gail
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 31, 2012

DId not end up wearing

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress for New Years last year but did not end up wearing it. I think the fit was good except that it was to long on me. I am short and it fell to my knees.
Stacey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 163 lbs
Aug 29, 2012

Pretty color

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I loved the color and the style, but the ruffle/bunching along the top was too much. I'm between a 10 and 12 (12 hips, 10 bust) and the size 10 was still too loose for my liking.
B
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
Aug 20, 2012

party!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great with all skin colors and true to fit.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 17, 2012

Fun dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I liked this dress a lot. It was a bit short for me for the event I was planning to wear it to so I did send it back. If I were attending a party or a night out on the town, not an issue. But for a more formal event I just couldn't wear something that short. I'm taller and mostly leg so that's my problem. Otherwise, fun dress.
Teresa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 11, 2012

Great dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very comfortable dress.. Amazing customer service... Color looks more blue grey in person then the picture
Steph
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
May 23, 2012

Fun for Vegas

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Vacation
Love this dress. Wasn't my style but I thought anything goes in Vegas. Loved this dress! That what I love about RTR, you can take a risk without investing too much! It does run big, I normally wear a4 but the 2 was perfect.
Paige
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Apr 15, 2012

Perfect for curvy women

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a gala, and had compliments from the first second to the last dance. It's elegant, sexy and tasteful- the word "stunning" was mentioned every time. The photo on the site really doesn't do it justice. The dress was slightly shorter than I expected (I'm 5'7") so leaning over meant Spanx exposure - but who cares! You just stand up straight, dance, and enjoy the compliments. I usually wear a 10 and am large-busted, and was able to wear an 8 with no bra and feel appropriately supported - thanks again to some spanx, since the dress requires smooth lines/no lines. I felt like it accentuated my curves (I have hips and a bust line and smaller waist) much more than many other dresses, but did so tastefully - I felt entirely confident in my appearance at the gala.
STER
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 19, 2012

Fab and FIT!!!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress; is every bit the showstopper-great length; fit and color! Can't go wrong wearing this for any size--loved how well it flowed and layed!
Kittenheelz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 49
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Mar 10, 2012

Fabulous fit! Very dramatic.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this as my back-up dress, but when I saw the goddess dress I ordered as my first choice I changed my mind. The dress is more purple than royal blue which it appears to be in the photo, but since either color works for me this was not a problem. The fabric is stretchy, but very high quality with a luscious feel and a great swingy drape. This dress makes much more of an impact than you'd think from the photo.
Linda
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 2, 2012

First time - will rent again!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was beautiful - I am about 5'2" so it was a little longer on me than I would have liked, but looked very elegant once I had my heels on. The color was very rich, the sleeve very dramatic. This was a very positive experience and I will definitely "rent the runway" again!
Kimberly
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 29, 2012

Mardi Gras hit!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a Mardi Gras party this past weekend. It was a big hit, I added some purple/gold/green rhinestone earrings and bracelet and I was ready to celebrate in Mardi Gras fashion. This was my first time renting but won't be my last. Dress arrived a bit late the night before (7:30pm) so I got a bit nervous as the event was the following evening. EASY return shipping. Great concept and I will definitely rent again.
Maryann
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Feb 16, 2012

Awesome !

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress will turn heads... The fit was great very comfortable and the color was amazing ! You will love love live !
angie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 30, 2012

Beautiful dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a cocktail party - I received many compliments. The dress is really fun. I do agree that it may run a LITTLE big - I'm 5'10 and 145 pounds and the size 6 was perfect. The 4 was too small. I usually wear a size 6 or 8 but ordered the 4 because of the reviews. The one thing I didn't like about this dress was the material (100% Rayon). It is not very forgiving. Overall I really liked the dress and the RTR experience. I'll be back.
Caitlyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 4, 2012

Rent a size down

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress is beautiful and fun. It definitely works better on taller people. I rented the 2 and 4 (wore the 2) but wished for the 0. The only problem was that the base of the zipper (which fell right on my hip) puckered pretty substantially so I ended up with my hand on my hip most of the night to cover it.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×