You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Olympia Gown
Rental $80 Retail $725
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Exclusive to Rent the Runway! An ultra-chic take on the classic Grecian silhouette, this Robert Rodriguez Black Label gown features a feminine bow at the shoulder and raw edge trim on the neckline.
Chat with a Stylist
Wine crepe de chine. One shoulder neckline. Tulle bow at shoulder. Raw edge trim at neckline. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zipper. See Size and Fit tab for length.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - full skirt conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 54” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’0” woman in 2” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has built-in boning and structure
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'11''. )

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos12

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8633
Dec 7, 2011
Bummed out!
Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was really excited to get this dress! The color is a beautiful cranberry... but it wouldn't zip across my bust, and I'm not that big! Couldn't wear it to the function as planned, and had to scramble to come up with something from my own closet! I ahve rented several things before and have been VERY happy!!!
MiKayla
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7333
Dec 5, 2011
Amazing Dress
Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was a beautiful dress. It looked absolutely stunning on. However, it did have the boning problems mentioned in previous reviews. It didn't bother me much. I put a band-aid over the area and I also wore a high pair of spanx that covered the area and I didn't feel it. The top of the dress was ran small. Previous posts said that it wouldn't fit over their bust, mine wouldn't zip over the bottom of my rib cage. I rented the 10L but ended up wearing the back up size of 12L because of that problem. The dresses length ran true to size though. I am 5'7" and I wore flats and I had to come up with some creative ways to keep the dress (which was about 5 inches too long at that point) from dragging on the ground. This service was great and I will definitely be using it again for my next formal affair.
Lisa
Age: 48
Canonical User Type: 1611
Nov 11, 2011
Review
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Did not wear this dress because it was not what I had ordered. It was sent to me as a substitute. I tried it on, and it fit. Was not my style at all. I placed it right back in the bag.
Kristen Nevermore
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Apple
Canonical User Type: 6531
Nov 7, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I did not end up wearing this dress to my event. Although the dress ran true to size, I didn't like the way it looked on me. I thought it was too matronly and made me look older than I really am. Or it looked like a dress a pregnant woman could wear and look good in. I mean unless you are stick thin I don't see how this dress would look flattening IRL. The detail at the shoulder didn't look anything like it did in the photo. The strips of fabric were not as wide and looked cheap. The dress was also a bit darker and duller than in the photo online. Luckily my backup dress looked and fit great and I was able to wear that instead.
Becky
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 1421
Nov 4, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
Oh my gosh I loved this dress. I wore it to a wedding. It was so figure flattering and comfortable. It did have a wire poking out but I just wrapped a bandaid over it and didn't have any problems. I have put on a little bit of weight and was looking for a dress that would conceal but also make me look pretty and this fit the bill perfectly. I felt absolutely glamorous and beautiful all night. If you have a very large bust you might need to order up a size, I am a small B cup and the top fit me snugly.
Jen
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8633
Oct 31, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
Unfortunately, I was not able to wear this gown. I was excited when it arrived, because it was beautiful. However, my body just didn't work in it. I had a baby 9 months ago and still have not lost all of the baby weight, so I thought that the flowy, non-fitted dress would work well. However, my chest is also still quite a bit larger than pre-babies (yes I have 2). So, I will say that if you have a small(er) chest, this dress will be great for you. Otherwise, not so much. Also, I noticed when trying on, that the vertical supports in the dress had poked through the fabric, which, had I been able to wear the dress would have been insanely annoying. All of that said, RTR made my experience good anyway by crediting me with the cost of the rental so that I can try again once this baby weight is gone!!
kira
Height: 4' 6"
Age: 43
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 1621
Oct 25, 2011
Overall fit: Small
I agree with others - if your chest is anything larger than an A cup, you need to go up a size. And, the plastics stays on the dress poke out of the fabric which is quite uncomfortable. I would probably choose another dressif I had the chance to do things differently. The service itself is outstanding though!!
JCH
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 103
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 1631
Oct 25, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
Gorgeous gown! Used it for black tie-optional dinner. Continue receiving compliments. One person said "best dress of the event." If renter is any taller than 5'3 1/2" then she should choose the long option. I wore flats because the dress would have been short if I had worn heels. I'm a B cup and didn't have to wear a bra. The vertical chest support band on the left side slightly poked through at the bottom of my ribs when I sat down, but it wasn't noticable. I could easily adjust the dress so it didn't poke. I'd definitely rent the dress again. I rated four stars because of length and poking. Otherwise it would have been a 5.
MK
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 1221
Oct 13, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
Plastic ribbing hurt like crazy, but other wise this dress is gorgeous. Beware if you're not flat-chested though - my boobs could barely fit into this dress. And I'm only a B cup.
Kimberly333
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 1531
Oct 11, 2011
Overall fit: Small
The dress was super tight in the bust and while I read that in other reviews, I figured since I have a small chest it wouldn't be an issue. Wrong. Also, the wires actally left red scratch marks on my ribs where they poked out from under the seams. It's too bad tho...I wanted so badly to wear this dress; it's so pretty...or at one point it was pretty. The one I got (12R and 12L) looked a little weathered.
Beverly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Sep 22, 2011
Overall fit: Small
I was thoroughly disappointed with this dress. I have now rented about 20 dresses from rent the runway and this was the first one that just absolutely did not work. I am 5'5", 134 pounds and a 34C and I found the top to be extremely small for my bust, but the part below ballooned out and made me look enormous. It looked so awful on me that I put it back in the mail within an hour of trying it on. Thankfully, this was my backup dress and my original dress Theia "Dipped in Vanilla" looked amazing.
Hngg
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 1531
Sep 5, 2011
Overall fit: Small
I ordered this dress in my size (8) and a size up. I wear a 36dd picked this dress bc it was in the full-busted section. Even the 10 did not come close to zippering over my boobs so happy that I ordered a second dress that fit perfectly
HotMamma
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 41
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 1521
Jun 27, 2011
Overall fit: Small
I normally wear a size 4 or smaller, due to my height. But I could not squeeze into this dress in either size - the bust area is cut WAY to small (I'm a full C cup). Luckily, I ordered a back up dress at the same time - everything worked out great. It's a pretty dress, maybe next time, I'll try the size 6.
Alice
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4334
Jun 7, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
This is a beautiful dress and although a size 4 was a little tight around the bust for me (a 34C), it fit well everywhere else. The length was perfect for me in 3 inch heels. I agree with the other reviewers about the plastic boning, it came out in the front and back and was very annoying but I used band-aids to help which worked. I would definitely recommend this dress.
Anna
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 54
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 1621
May 23, 2011
Overall fit: Large
This dress runs big. I ordered a 6 and the top was too big. I am usually a 6 on the bottom and a 4/2 on the top (34A) I don't think this dress is good for a pear unless you have a bust. I just look lost in the dress. Kind of like a stick of gum since I don't have a bust. Beautiful dress.
Karen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4524
Apr 18, 2011
Overall fit: Small
Loved this dress, but wasn't able to wear it because it was too snug on top. I'm petite (usually a size 2, sometimes a 4) but wear a 32D bra, and the size 4 wouldn't accomodate my bust. I was a little nervous about the length because I am so short, but the length was perfect. I'll definitely try renting the size 6 for another event.
Bearwife
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 55
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 1621
Mar 21, 2011
Overall fit: Large
A very pretty dress, I think, though my husband did not like the color, which he said was the shade of church pew velvet. The problem is 1) it is scratchy, especially at the zipper location and 2) the chiffon overlay is too long, by an inch or two, even with 4 inch heels. Petites, steer clear.
Lori
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 13
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 1231
Mar 17, 2011
Overall fit: Small
I normally wear a Size 8 dress. I only received the Size 8 as the Size 10 back-up size was not available. Although it fit in the waist, I could not get the dress zipped up over my chest. I am a 36C. Even if I could have gotten it on, it would have been way too short on me. I ordered the regular length since I was planning to wear low heels but the length hit about three inches above my ankle! While trying it on, I also noticed the boning problem earlier reviewers complained about. There was a wire sticking out of the front of the dress on the left side. It would definitely have been a problem digging into my skin if I wore the dress.
Katie
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 1431
Mar 10, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I had a Navy Ball to go to, and waited way too long to get a dress, so I had to get the 8L, which was too long, but fit amazingly everywhere else! ( I am 5'7", about 160 lbs, with 34/36D chest, and athletic body) It didn't make my chest look funny, and it wasn't so flowy that I looked pregnant. It was elegant and I got a TON of compliments on it. Great dress, I highly recommend it!
Erika Dee
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 1541
Mar 7, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this dress for a black tie gala my office puts on every year. It was a little tight around the chest (I am a full D cup) and I did have some issues with the plastic boning coming out, but I just cut whatever pieces were exposed and that helped. I wore '3 inch heels with the long size 6 and it was perfect! I got a TON of compliments and easily stood out from the rest of the crowd! I would highly recommend this dress.
Jaqui
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6634
Feb 20, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this dress for about an hour and the boning cut into my back so badly that it left a red mark that lasted for days. RTR please fix this for future rentals!!!
Jules
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 1431
Feb 4, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
This was a great dress, but the boning in the top slipped out of the bottom(it is not sewn in at all) and started poking me during the night. Not fun! Still a pretty dress though.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 7443
Dec 21, 2010
Overall fit: True to Size
This was the first dress I've EVER worn that was actually too long for me even when worn with heels. I ended up wearing the highest pair of heels I owned and still ended up carrying the overskirt over my arm so that I could walk without triping. I liked that I didn't have to worry about it slipping off my shoulders because it zipped up on the side with the strap. I got so many compliments and I felt like a queen in this gorgeous gown.
joan
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 59
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 1621
Dec 20, 2010
Overall fit: True to Size
Unfortunately, this dress was not shipped to me as it had not been returned in time from the previous person who rented it. So I am unable to review the dress. I was however happy that RTR allowed me to choose any other dress as a substitution and I did love the dress I ended up wearing.
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3642
Dec 17, 2010
Overall fit: Large
This is a beautiful dress and very easy to wear. It was perfect for a black tie gala that I attended. The skirt is very flowy and graceful. If you are very small (32A) on top the size 2 will still be a little big. The black bow on the shoulder added great color contrast. I would definitely wear this again in a smaller size!
AY
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7643
Dec 10, 2010
Overall fit: True to Size
The picture does not do this dress justice. It is simply gorgeous. I wear a size 10 or 12 and found this to be a very flattering cut for my figure. I ordered as a backup for a black tie work event and it was too formal for the occasion (see below). That said, I found myself wishing I had an occasion, any occasion, to wear this stunning gown. It seems like something Titania might wear in Midsummer Night's Dream. The "long" is VERY long. The main reason I chose not to wear the dress is because I would have had to hold the train of the gown throughout the evening to avoid stepping on it.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress