Olympia Gown

$46 to buy
$725 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! An ultra-chic take on the classic Grecian silhouette, this Robert Rodriguez Black Label gown features a feminine bow at the shoulder and raw edge trim on the neckline.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - full skirt conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 54” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’0” woman in 2” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has built-in boning and structure
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Bump Friendly, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'11''. )

Product Details

Wine crepe de chine. One shoulder neckline. Tulle bow at shoulder. Raw edge trim at neckline. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zipper. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
69 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(42)
Small
(22)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
March 20, 2013
runs small, i looked pregnant, i did not wear

color was more maroon than the picture, wire in the bust poked me

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
April 28, 2013
Felt comfortable and classy for a charity event.

This dress is super comfortable. I will say, if your are short this is a great dress. If you are taller than 5'2" I would get the long. My shoes showed with three inch heels in the regular. I would also say if you are chesty make sure to order the size that will fit your bust, the rest of the dress is fairly loose. I loved this dress, and this was my first RTR experience, but it won't be the last. I felt fabulous all night!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 3, 2013
Great night, perfect for the Gala I attended.

This was my first rent the runway experience and it went well. I have recently had a baby...and am not my normal size. I ordered this dress thinking it would be loose in all the right places. It was. Many people stated that ti dress runs big, so I ordered an 8 and 10. I couldn't get the largest size zipped over my chest. The gala was Saturday and I got the dresses on Thursday night. I tried them on immediately. I contacted RTR customer service and they overnighted (i only had to pay for shipping) and I returned my two existing dresses. The 12R fit much better in the chest. I was so grateful that it arrive the morning of my event and was perfect for a Black Tie Gala. My only complaint is that I am 5'4" and the Regular was short in heels. As you can tell in the picture, you can see my shoes. I prefer floor length, but in this scenario...it was last minute and I was still happy with the look. The sizes of the 12R were floor length, just seems the front was a little short. Overall, very happy with my experience and I would rent again.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
May 6, 2013
Excellent service

This is a beautiful dress, but I didn't end up wearing this. It was my backup dress to the Nicole Miller Forget-Me-Not dress. While the Nicole Miller 4L was way big, I couldn't even zip this dress!! It was way too small. I didn't get to wear it, but it is beautiful- loved the fabric and the color. The length is also short. The 4L would have barely covered my 4inch heels.

Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
May 6, 2013
Absolutely stunning!

I wore this dress for my senior prom, and couldn't be happier with it. I certainly felt I had the classiest dress in the entire room, but I may be a little biased! It was a bit on the long side (it looks very long in the photo because I had my 3" heels off), but otherwise it fit exactly according to the measurements. Beware that the bust is very small, but luckily that was exactly what I was looking for!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
June 14, 2013
So elegant!

Very elegant dress. I ended up not wearing it to the black tie event but I still adored the dress

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
June 23, 2013
It was not flattering on me at all.

This is a beautiful dress, but it definitely wasn't the dress for me. It was tight in the chest area yet too loose everywhere else, making me look like I had absolutely no figure at all.

Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Body type: Petite
November 9, 2013
Perfect dress for prom!

Pro- comfortable, color was better in real life than the pictures Con- I don't really like the dangling material off the shoulder

Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
February 17, 2014
Spare Dress

I loved this dress and the bow was perfect. However, it was a little too short to wear with high heels.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
March 6, 2014
Beautiful color and material!

I LOVE this dress, but the top is a bit tight. I suggest you go one size up if you have a larger bust! Beautiful otherwise--might rent again in the proper size if I have another occasion!

Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
March 25, 2014
Classy and elegant

I wore this dress for a deb ball and it was lovely. It was very appropriate, but still looked great. The long is super long! I am tall and would have had to wear 3+ inch heels to get it off the ground. I ended up wearing the regular with smaller heels.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
May 7, 2014
Grecian Goddess

This dress is very comfortable and fashion-forward. It looks better in person that in photographs. I ended up not wearing it because I liked the color of my other option better, but this would be perfect for a fall/winter event!

Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
June 8, 2014
Easy style and great color

I wore the dress for my senior prom, and it was absolutely amazing. I loved it. The color is gorgeous and the fit is great. There was one issue, and it was that I was sent the wrong size. I originally ordered a 0L and a 2L and planned on wearing the 2, instead of being sent the sizes I ordered I was sent the 0L and a 2 regular. The 2 regular was beyond too short for me so I was forced to wear the 0, which fit it was just really tight. Overall though I loved the dress and would definitely recommend.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 56
Body type: Hourglass
February 20, 2011

I wore this dress for about an hour and the boning cut into my back so badly that it left a red mark that lasted for days. RTR please fix this for future rentals!!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 2, 2013
Amazing dress, got compliments all night.

This dress was awesome and everyone at my sorority formal complimented it. My only complaint is it ran a little short. I got the Regular but even being 5'4 I think a long would've been better if you're wearing heels. Fabric was nice but the boning did poke.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 63
Body type: Athletic
December 20, 2010

Unfortunately, this dress was not shipped to me as it had not been returned in time from the previous person who rented it. So I am unable to review the dress. I was however happy that RTR allowed me to choose any other dress as a substitution and I did love the dress I ended up wearing.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Body type: Full Bust
March 7, 2011

I wore this dress for a black tie gala my office puts on every year. It was a little tight around the chest (I am a full D cup) and I did have some issues with the plastic boning coming out, but I just cut whatever pieces were exposed and that helped. I wore '3 inch heels with the long size 6 and it was perfect! I got a TON of compliments and easily stood out from the rest of the crowd! I would highly recommend this dress.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 59
Body type: Petite
March 21, 2011

A very pretty dress, I think, though my husband did not like the color, which he said was the shade of church pew velvet. The problem is 1) it is scratchy, especially at the zipper location and 2) the chiffon overlay is too long, by an inch or two, even with 4 inch heels. Petites, steer clear.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
October 31, 2011

Unfortunately, I was not able to wear this gown. I was excited when it arrived, because it was beautiful. However, my body just didn't work in it. I had a baby 9 months ago and still have not lost all of the baby weight, so I thought that the flowy, non-fitted dress would work well. However, my chest is also still quite a bit larger than pre-babies (yes I have 2). So, I will say that if you have a small(er) chest, this dress will be great for you. Otherwise, not so much. Also, I noticed when trying on, that the vertical supports in the dress had poked through the fabric, which, had I been able to wear the dress would have been insanely annoying. All of that said, RTR made my experience good anyway by crediting me with the cost of the rental so that I can try again once this baby weight is gone!!

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
November 4, 2011

Oh my gosh I loved this dress. I wore it to a wedding. It was so figure flattering and comfortable. It did have a wire poking out but I just wrapped a bandaid over it and didn't have any problems. I have put on a little bit of weight and was looking for a dress that would conceal but also make me look pretty and this fit the bill perfectly. I felt absolutely glamorous and beautiful all night. If you have a very large bust you might need to order up a size, I am a small B cup and the top fit me snugly.

KristineNovember 4, 2011
do you think a size 0R would be good for me? im 5'0, 107 lbs, and have an A cup bust. do you think A cup is too small and make the dress fall?
RTRNovember 4, 2011
Hi Kristine, the size 0R sounds like your size! If the bust is a bit too spacious, you can wear a strapless bra with this style.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
February 5, 2012
Modest, classy, beautiful

I needed a dress to host a show sign the theme of the "academy awards" and this was PERFECT! It was a little long for me in length because I couldn't wear the heels I wanted to, but everything else fit like a glove. It's a close fit around the rib cage so make sureto size up.

Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
September 20, 2012
Nice dress. I received alot of compliments. 1st time renting and def. not the last.

Im glad I received a free 2nd dress with my first rental. I originally ordered a size 2 but to be on the safe side i got a 0 too. I tried on the 0 first and it fit. Thank goodness for the second dress. The size 2 probabaly would've been big. But i dont know because i didnt bother trying it on. While everyone wore a mermaid dress i was the only one w a one shoulder dress. Dress is comfortable.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36DDD/E
Body type: Petite
Weight: 165lbs
November 21, 2012
It's a pretty dress and I got compliments on it.

I love how it flows, and the material is really nice as well. It was not flattering for my body type though.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 21, 2012
Gorgeous gown, my boyfriend though it was just so beautiful on me.

I got the 0 & 2. The 0 fit great except in the chest and then the 2 was just a little too big. I had to wear the 2 though since the chest was so tight in the 0. Other than that it was great!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 4, 2012
Elegant and flattering

Loved this dress. It was my first time using RTR and I wasn't sure about the sizing and everything but this dress was very flattering and draped beautifully. Had a great experience with RTR, will definitely be back for more.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
December 8, 2012
Very Comfortable!

I just had a baby a few months ago so I wanted something to hide my belly, this dress was great. Very comfortable too!

Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
January 7, 2013
beautiful

lots of compliments

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36H
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
February 15, 2013
This one wasn't too great, but hopefully the next one will be!

I wasn't able to wear this dress. Was way too tight for my chest. I called RTR but they never managed to get me my credit either. Its too bad though because this dress is even prettier in person.

Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 15, 2016
Held up through all I put it through!

This dress was perfect as the matron of honor at my best friend's wedding! Her colors included "wine" and I found the color to be perfect! I was worried the black in the shoulder ribbons would be too dark but they were hardly noticeable. I would definitely say that the dress is true to size because I would consider myself a size 6. I of course waited till the last minute and had to settle for a 4. Thankfully there was a lining because when I zipped it up the seam started to bust. Rent the Runway insurance for the win! It held together though and looked beautiful! I'm 5'10" and the Long size worked perfectly with the heels I had to wear to please the bride. I then put on flats for the reception and the length was still spot on. During the reception I ended up spilling meat sauce all down the front! I went to the reception to try to clean it out as best as possible and thankfully the lighter outer layers of the dress dried pretty quickly. Again, Rent the Runway insurance for the win! I was so impressed!

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×