Modern Juliet Jersey Dress

$25 to buy
$395 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look fashion forward at the cocktail party wearing this chic Robert Rodriguez Black Label draped dress. A color that you can sport all year round. Go with gold toned accessories like the AV Max's Gold Dome Bangle and Tuleste Market's Golden Petal Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Purple matte jersey(100% rayon). Surplice neckline. Twisted straps. Tie waist. Open back. 37'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
55 reviews
Fit
Large26
True to Size29
Small0
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
September 28, 2014
Easy to wear
The dress was fitted in the backside but it was comfortable, I was hosting a party and had no wardrobe malfunctions.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 3, 2014
Beautiful dress!
This dress is absolutely gorgeous. The color and the fabric are high quality. The only reason it's not 5 stars is that the liner shows on the bottom of the dress by about an inch. I ended up pinning it because it bothered me. My boyfriend said he couldn't tell, but I felt it was obvious. The belt that is pictured was not sent with it either, but it looked fine without. Very beautiful and I recommend this one!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
July 14, 2014
Sassy and sexy
I didn't go with this dress, was a back up, but amazing dress! I'm slightly too hippy for this, (I am a size 4 on top and a size 10 on bottom) but for girls with slighlty less hips, it will give you amazing curves!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 30, 2014
Very comfortable!
I liked the dress, but I didn't love the dress. It arrived without the belt; I contacted RTR and they said they would overnight the belt to me, but I never received it. So this dress review is for the dress without the belt.... The pros: This dress is a quality heavy fabric that drapes nicely. It's extremely comfortable - I never felt like I was exposing myself or had to be careful about bending over, etc. The draping hides any stomach insecurities. The back is lovely and unexpected (as another reviewed said). The cons: I felt that the dress was a bit long; it hit at or just below the knees. I also felt like the draping in the front was a bit overwhelming for my petite frame. Maybe the belt would have helped with that. And as other reviewers have said, it does run large, so maybe that was part of the problem. I also felt, personally, that the style of the dress was more suited for someone a bit older (40+). Note: I also purchased the NuBra backless/strapless bra to wear with the dress and it worked perfectly (see my review for the bra).
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Weight: 125lbs
June 29, 2014
Received a lot of compliments even with wearing a bigger size!
I needed to wear a purple dress for this wedding and found this on on RTR. Size 4 wasn't available so had to get a 6 or 8. The 6 was too big but I wore it anyway and they forgot to include the tie around the waist which may have helped the look being too big. Nonetheless, still got a ton of compliments and would recommend this dress. The back was also amazing and that's what everyone complimented on! It also runs long. I would say it's true to the size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 2, 2014
Spent my birthday in an amazing dress, eating amazing food. Runs very large!
I ordered the 4 (my normal size), and the 0 (only option at the time for a backup). I am sure glad I did! I tried on the 0 first and it fit wonderfully. It definitely is a tricky dress to try on but looks great on A and B cup ladies like myself. I wore pasties with this dress as it is backless, but I almost didn't need it with the draping across the front. This dress hugs your body so make sure to wear seamless underwear or spanx. The sash comes with in a bag and mine had some dried food on it-kinda gross, but it came off fairly easily. Overall a great dress, but if you're normally a size 2 or 0 this dress will be too big for you.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 3, 2014
Wedding and bride were beautiful and my dress made me feel like I fit right into the bridal party.
I've never fit into a size 0 in my life, but this was the perfect fit for me. The dress was so comfortable and sexy. It hugged all the right curves and the back was adorable. I wrote it as a bridesmaid dress and got so many compliments. Such a versatile dress! I loved the entire experience because the dress was better than expected and they made it so easy to rent and return. Definitely renting again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
March 31, 2014
I loved the open back! I wore this for my bachelorette - so fun!!!
The fabric is thick so it is okay if you're not wearing a bra
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
March 26, 2014
Luxurious color, lots of compliments on the backless feature!
My waist:hip ratio is about 60% so I always worry about straighter-fitting skirts but this dress skimmed my curves perfectly without being clingy! Glad I ordered the 8 - the 10 swallowed me and the loops holding the back part together looked like they were on their last leg. The backless feature is a lovely surprise compared to the full-coverage front (although there is zero support, so I wouldn't recommend for super busty gals). The skirt part rises high enough in the back to cover Spanxx :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143lbs
January 29, 2014
A beautiful and fun dress.
This dress was very comfortable and flattering. The back got lots of compliments and attention when I turned around. It does run very large in the chest area. I normally wear an 8 and went with the 6. I would honestly have loved to try on the 4. I definitely had to wear a backless, strapless bra and due to the looseness in the top, I had to use fashion tape to pull the dress up higher. Without the tape, I would have been exposing my entire chest area. I did not wear the tie around the waist. Overall, I really liked the dress and would consider renting it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
November 27, 2013
Gorgeous, sexy dress
This dress has definite sex appeal without being raunchy. Wore it to a cocktail party and received numerous compliments from friends and total strangers. The open back is what really makes it. The length was perfect (just above the knee) and the bust line was cut just right (wore my NuBra and was fine).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
November 11, 2013
Love this dress! Looked fun but classy at the same time.
The open back is definitely sexy. It took me some time to figure out how to put this on but once it was on...wow!! This dress is not for those with larger chests.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
August 8, 2013
Didn't work for me.
The elastic in the waist slipped up to my natural waist, and the slip/lining would show at the bottom of the dress--about 1 1/2 inches would be exposed. Made me look frumpy. This dress might work better on someone taller and slimmer, rather than someone with big hips and a smaller waist. I returned it and didn't wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
July 23, 2013
Beautiful color and length.
I wasn't completely thrilled with the fit. Very tight in the hips and loose at the bust. Very deep V. I only wore the dress because it was too late to find anything else. A little disappointed for my first time using RTR.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 19, 2013
It's a confortable dress and great for a spring wedding.
cute dress
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
July 2, 2013
Perfect fit with an unexpected detail!
I rented this dress for an on-the-water wedding in Jamestown, Rhode Island. It was perfectly casual-yet-dressy, and I got so many compliments on it (and a number from a cute guest!). I would say it runs true to size or slightly larger; I usually wear between an 8-10 and I went with the 8 because it is slightly stretchy. The length is great, although the lining on my dress kept peeking out of the bottom. I wish I could afford to buy this dress! I would definitely recommend it. (please excuse the horribly awkward pictures; luckily i got awkward candids of the back of the dress)
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 22, 2013
Lovely dress that was comfortable to dance the night away! So many compliments!!
I rented this for family member's wedding last weekend. It was my first rental from RTR and I was so excited! My package arrived on time, and the products were great (so THAT'S what a $400 feels like!!) The dress was comfortable and the color was exactly as shown on the site. If I'm being *exceptionally* nit-picky: the neckline was a bit low, but nothing that a strategically placed safety pin couldn't fix. It probably wouldn't be a problem for someone less busty. I did find that towards the end of the night, the plastic stays at the back of the shoulders started to poke and became slightly uncomfortable. The hem was starting to show wear (ever so slightly), but you couldn't tell unless you were really looking; and when I sat down, the top layer would ride up so the lining would show, but again, the only person who would notice was me. Overall, the experience was very pleasant, and I am already starting to look for a rental for my rehearsal dinner in October!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 16, 2013
was really kind of disappointed
I really was excited for this dress, I thought it would look fantastic. I am a dress size 2 - but the zero in this still feels too big. I'm wearing it regardless, because I have no other options lined up. This is the second time I've rented a dress from RTR, and honestly, the quality of the dresses leaves a lot to be desired. Both times the dresses I've received have looked like they've been worn and dry cleaned a zillion times. The very tiny part on sides of the upper back are literally held on by a thread. Hopefully it holds together for the entire night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
May 1, 2013
The back is so unexpected!
I loved this dress overall, but it was definitely a challenge. The 8 fit better on the bottom, but the top was HUGE. Even on the 6, the top was still a bit looser than I would have liked. You have to wear a sticky, backless bra, which may not work for everyone. The back adds such an extra bit of sexiness though - I felt super sassy all night!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 29, 2013
Form fitted but not clingy
Rented this dress, but ended up wearing another rental. The fabric is quite heavy, but has a good amount of draping. Because of the wrap and draping style this can swallow you up if youre not careful. Id suggest sizing down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
April 23, 2013
The back of this dress was amazing!
Can't wear a bra with this dress because of the exposed back. I got away with wearing petals. This dress is forgiving to a tall woman with curves. I probably could have gotten away with wearing an 8. Id definitely get two sizes next time I rent a dress like this.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 14, 2013
Never felt so AMAZING in a dress!
I received compliments all night and it's just a great dress. It's very flattering, no fuss, no adjusting, it was simply amazing. I felt so comfortable and confident.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
January 11, 2013
I received the most compliments on this dress than any other outfit I have worn.
The dress was a bit loose up top but it fit perfectly at the bottom.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 109lbs
January 4, 2013
awesome
excellent fit
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
January 2, 2013
Couldn't wear a bra, which was a pain, but received a ton of compliments! Would rent again.
Really fun dress - would rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 45
Body type: Hourglass
January 2, 2013
the wow factor of the back
Nice dress; be sure to allot plenty of time to tape your chest in place as there is now ay to wear any type of bra. The only potential problem is that the back of the dress is held together from the top by what seem to be precious and well worn threads. It seems like the dress has been worn too much and not maintained so well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
December 20, 2012
Unusual, classy dress
Wore this for a rehearsal dinner and loved it... difficult to figure out how to put it on correctly, and I definitely had to pin the top so it would stay closed, but definitely attracted attention and compliments. Love the open back!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 11, 2012
I've been a member of RTR for a while now but was able to FINALLY use it... I'm glad I did!
The dress was great and I received LOTS of compliments on it! The Pro: the ruching in the front will help hide any tummy insecurities you may have and is extremely flattering. The Con: This dress runs a tad large so make sure to wear a backless bra or get a smaller size then you'd expect to get so you don't run into a dress malfunction! Otherwise I loved it and you don't necessarily need the tie around the waist, I wore the dress without it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
December 11, 2012
You need to be long waisted or have a full bust for this to fit well.
I thought this would be great for our company Christmas party, but it didn't fit. I ordered a size two, but the top was way too big and did not fit welll. Also, the skirt seemed a lot shorter than the one in the picture.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 135lbs
December 5, 2012
I decided not to wear this dress due to the large size.
The dress runs very large. I normally wear a 6 and the 4 was too big on me. In order for the front to drape as shown in the picture you will need to use fashion tape.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Body type: Hourglass
November 19, 2012
The back was lovely.
It was super cute for a taller girl. I'm only 5'2 and it looked very odd on me. it was too bad because it really is a cute little dress.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
November 13, 2012
loved it
very flattering
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
November 11, 2012
Loved how this dress looked on!
The tie around the waist drew attention to my waist, while the rest of the dress was just fitted enough to give me some wiggle room. I would definitely rent this dress again.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
November 11, 2012
Loved it, but had a bit of damage.
Fit perfectly, needed fashion tape to keep the top in place. The color was AMAZING!!! The twisted shoulders were missing the wire that held it taught so it moved alot and required readjusting frequently. The hem was also frayed & required fashion tape to hold it on place as well. I would rent this dress again, hoping that I got one that didn't have wear and tear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
October 2, 2012
Fun dress, beautiful color.
This dress was comfortable and great for dancing all night at a wedding. I had some issues with the twisted shoulders, I think I might have put it on wrong or gotten it untwisted somehow and ended up fussing with it quite a lot. Other than that, great dress, just make sure to pay attention to how it works before putting it on.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 19, 2012
Beautiful color!
The details of this dress are unique. It required a couple tries to get it on correctly, but once it was on it was gorgeous. The material stretches and is very comfortable. The straps are kind of funny, but definitely complement the draping of the dress. The open back is subtly. I rented the 4 and the 6. The six was just a little too big where I knew I'd be fussing with it all night. The 4 fit perfectly.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 13, 2012
Fun dress with just a bit of edge.
Very comfortable. The drape of the material is flattering. You will need fashion tape and you WILL need to put it on before you put on makeup, deodorant, anything that will smudge. You have to pull the neckline around your head making for a tough time if you're already primped and ready to go. Not too flashy - just the right amount.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 10, 2012
Pretty Dress but Runs Large
This dress is a really pretty color and a unique cut. I am usually a 2 or 4 but the 2 may have even been a little large. Did not get to wear it because it had a couple quality issues--called RTR right away though and got AMAZING customer service. (The 4 was in great shape though--just too large.) I wish I had ordered a 0 and 2 to see if the 0 would have fit or been too small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 9, 2012
Amazing Dress
I wore this dress for a casual event and then would change into an evening event. It was perfect,,,the fit amazing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 4, 2012
Great dress!
Does run a bit big as the other reviewers noted. Overall though, it hangs well and it is super comfortable. Would rent this one again.
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×