You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Marilyn Gala Gown
Rental $70 Retail $495
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Walk into the gala wearing this form flattering Robert Rodriguez Black Label open back gown. An amazing color that everyone will love on you! Go with the Coralia Leets' Sapphire Druzy Ring for that high fashion look.
Chat with a Stylist
Purple matte jersey. Bateau neckline. Ruching at waist with knot detail. Open back with hook-and-eye closure. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - bust is fitted and exposed back does not allow for a strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with knot detail
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt at knee
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6'' and above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.
Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos33

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Alice
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5342
Jan 3, 2013
The color is good in a crowd of boring dresses and the keyhole is great.
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered the 6L and 8L but RTR apparently sent me the 6R and 8R. As such, the dress didn't hit the floor even in flats. Everything worked out fine because I could be zen about it. However, if you're tall definitely order the L version and be sure to call to double check that they'll send the right length!
MM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4633
Dec 17, 2012
Not a great choice
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got a 4 regular and it was well above my ankles. (I ended up wearing a 2 in another dress, so its not like I'm a giant...) The color was not the deep blue that it appeared on the website but more purple. It also arrived exteemely wrinkled. Thank goodness t was my second choice.
Shira
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 8331
Dec 11, 2012
Great dress!
Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very flattering, heavy nice material. Would definitely recommend! Also loved the color
Sparks
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3443
Nov 15, 2012
Wish i could have worn this...
Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
BEAUTIFUL DRESS. The top fits true to size, but I was looking for a slinky, curve hugging look and this dress did NOT deliver. You really must have to have a booty to fill out the hips of this dress as the model in the photo. It hung beautiful from the waist up, sloppy from the waist down. Aside from that, I loved the feel of the material, and the color was stunning. I'm 5'10" and wouldn't have been able to wear heels with it. Don't let my somewhat dissatisfied review deter you though - if you've got a good booty - go for it! This is truly a beautiful dress.
kristin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Nov 12, 2012
Very comfortable
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I did not end up wearing this for my event, but if the other one hadn't fit I would have worn this. I'm 5'5" and with 4.5" heels it was just barely off the floor...the perfect length so I wouldn't have to worry about someone stepping on it.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4423
Nov 1, 2012
I loved the dress and didn't want to send it back!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfect for a black tie wedding. It was dressy enough but still comfortable to dance in. Being 5'2" I did have to wear it with 4" heels so that it wouldn't be too long.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8434
Oct 30, 2012
Very short
Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't end up wearing this gown because it was VERY short. I'm 5'4" and wasn't able to wear heels without it looking too short. If you plan on wearing heels, order the long.
Sarah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4621
Oct 25, 2012
I was really pleased with the sizing. I am 5' 3" and was worried about the length but it was fine.
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The color is more of an eggplant purple than is shown in the model photo. The back is low enough that you need to go without a bra (the dress is lined) or make other arrangements!
CL
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3443
Oct 18, 2012
I didn't end up wearing this dress because of the length
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was a beautiful dress - I loved the back cutout and the color, but the longer length was too short for my taste - it barely touched the floor when I was barefoot - I really like the dress to cover my shoes and still be touching the floor (I usually wear 3.5"-4" heels)
missmimichi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4543
Oct 14, 2012
Another winner from RTR
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit perfectly but was a bit short for my 5'8" height. I had to double check that I really got the long size...
K
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5434
Oct 7, 2012
Beautiful dress, beautiful color, stunning back.
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fit really well, but definitely can't wear with a bra, so make sure to get a backless bra or pasties.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4531
Oct 6, 2012
Perfect for the occasion
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I needed a purple dress for a gala and this dress was perfect. The fabric is very flattering and comfortable. I'm 5'6 and the length with 3 inch heels was a tad too short. I'm afraid I would have been stepping on the long though. Sorry, I don't have any photos.
Maria
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3424
Oct 2, 2012
So so elegant! Low back adds just enough sexy
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The low back was super elegant. Deff a spank wearing dress because if you have any mid section it will show in this little number. Lots of compliments. Being 5 foot 2 this was quite long. Wear high high heels if you're petite. I accessorized with a statement necklace, this was a poor choice looking back at pictures. If I could go back i would have done a delicate bracelet and earrings.
Leah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 4434
Sep 21, 2012
I wore this for a black tie wedding and it was perfect.
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The color was really nice. It is more purple than blue and I wore it with a fancy neckace. I am about 5'4 1/2 and the length of this was perfect with very small kitten heels (1 inch). If you are average height and want to wear heels maybe go with the longer size because dresses are always too long on me this one was just touching the floor with small heels. My only other comments are that the back is not quite as low as it looks in pictures. The gathering in the front is very flattering (hides belly a little)
Sadie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3333
Sep 17, 2012
I loved how organized RTR was! I received several emails that answered any questions that I had.
Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! The color was beautiful. The open back and front detail kept the dress from being TOO simple. It looks very classy. I was afraid the 0L would be too long but I was so glad I ordered it after I put my heels on.
Meredith
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3334
Aug 29, 2012
Purple!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
LOVED IT! 0 fit perfect but I ended up wearing the 2 for length!
Kellie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5524
Aug 27, 2012
Great dress
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I liked this dress a lot. Conservative from the front, but the back adds a bit of sexiness. Very comfortable fabric, and fits true to size. It clings to your curves, but the fabric is very forgiving, so you don't need to wear Spanx if you don't want to. You do need nipple covers or stick-on bra cups. I am 5'2" and wore the regular length. It was perfect for me with 3 1/2 inch heels (skimmed the top of my shoes). If you are at all taller than me, or want to wear taller shoes, then definitely go with the long.
phaty
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4544
Aug 24, 2012
nice but not me
Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very pretty dress.... fits nice, makes your waist look tiny.... But thought it was more appropriate for someone a little older than me (im in my late 20's)
Dayri
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 6533
Aug 22, 2012
Misfit
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I rented 8L and the dress was super short (above my ankles)...
Aubrey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Aug 20, 2012
Beautiful!
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding and got so many compliments! The knot in the front is in the perfect place to give a great shape to your figure. The color is a little darker than shown in the picture but still gorgeous.
Courtney
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6443
Aug 10, 2012
An unfortunate experience
Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Initally I ordered this dress in an 8L, and after I place my order I called to have another size added just in case. (I had to get the 12L because there is no 10L???) Well when my order arrived I was so excited to try this dress on! I opened the box and the dress on top was a 12L and then the one underneath was a 10R. The size that I initially ordered wasn't anywhere to be found! SO SAD!! The 10R fit alright on the top but there was no way that it was going to be long enough for my 5'11 frame. Too, too bad because this is a beautiful dress! Where is the 10L!?!?!
Marlean
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5633
Jul 12, 2012
Too short
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Unfortunately I had to return unworn. Online it said the regular length was 58 inches from shoulder to hem. The 6R was actually only 53 inches. Hit above my ankle, way too short to look right even with flats. Too bad as it is a lovely dress though the arm holes fit a bit snug. This is the second rental I've done with RTR. The first was perfect. It was actually 58 inches in length as noted which is perfect for 5'6" with about a 2.5 inch heel.
AnneMarie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 6533
May 18, 2012
Pretty but short
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Im about 5' 6 1/2" tall so thought the regular length would work for me. The fit was nice, but it hit me mid-shin...not at all what I expected from the pictures. If you're over 5'6", get the long!
Annette
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6434
Feb 29, 2012
Gorgeous
Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the way this dress fitted me. Perfect not to tight or to loose. The length was great. If I would have went for a smaller size my hips would had made the dress shorter. I've gotten so many compliements about this dress. I wore a pair of 3 inch gold heels with gold accessories. Can't wait to rent again!!!
NJL
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2523
Jan 21, 2012
Too big
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress didn't do anything special for me. It wasn't huge, it was just loose. I think if you're a tall drink of water, this dress would be great. But it wasn't for me.
mmh
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3542
Jan 9, 2012
Sad fit for me.
Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5'10" so renting a long dress is risky but this was way too short on me. Was a little baggy and not form fitting as well. Sad it did not fit but always appreciate RTR being so nice about returns!!
Kristin
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 5543
Jan 4, 2012
Also my first RTR Experience
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a NYE black tie wedding and it was perfect for the occasion. I'm 5'8" and the 6L fit perfectly with 3 inch heels. Like the other reviewer said, the dress was more purple than I expected, but a great color. The material was nice, and didn't show any lines underneath. Overall a very flattering fit. The people at RTR were very responsive and helpful, and made this whole process seamless. Will be sure to use RTR again!
lisa
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 109 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2633
Jan 3, 2012
beautiful dress great fabric
Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
i loved this dress! it hangs beautifully, the fabric is nice and feels good against your skin-plenty heavy enough the length for the 0R was long enough for 3-4 inch heels (with a platform) and i am 5' 5" It is a much darker purple than it looks in the pic but still a great color I got tons of compliments! the open back adds zip!
Mishelle
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7523
Nov 14, 2011
Best Fitting Dress
Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to the Marine Corps ball and it was truly comfortable. t 5ft 2in, with 4 inch heels it was still a bit long with the R fit. I might have fitted nicely into a 8R but Im glad 10R was perfectly fitted. This dress was awesome and recommend it.
C
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 1431
Nov 7, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I loved this dress!!! The material was so comfortable but also very sturdy. I am a little over 5'6, so I was very glad that I got the 2L instead of the 2R. Got compliments all night long. The color is much more purple than it seems in the picture. I thought it was going to be more navy than it was. However, the color was still beautiful!
Chelsea
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 1441
Nov 7, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
This dress looked fabulous and I got a million compliments! I ordered an 8 Long and it fit perfectly, although it didn't cover my shoes (3 inch heels) but I am really tall so it happens a lot, ha! The color is a great, vibrant blue. I did not wear a bra because of the open back, but there was enough fabric to keep everything under control. Overall, a great dress!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress