Marilyn Gala Gown

$70 rental
$495 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Walk into the gala wearing this form flattering Robert Rodriguez Black Label open back gown. An amazing color that everyone will love on you!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - bust is fitted and exposed back does not allow for a strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with knot detail
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt at knee
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6'' and above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - bust is fitted and exposed back does not allow for a strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with knot detail
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt at knee
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6'' and above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Purple matte jersey. Bateau neckline. Ruching at waist with knot detail. Open back with hook-and-eye closure. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
82 reviews
Fit
Large11
True to Size61
Small9
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
January 3, 2013
The color is good in a crowd of boring dresses and the keyhole is great.
I ordered the 6L and 8L but RTR apparently sent me the 6R and 8R. As such, the dress didn't hit the floor even in flats. Everything worked out fine because I could be zen about it. However, if you're tall definitely order the L version and be sure to call to double check that they'll send the right length!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
December 17, 2012
Not a great choice
I got a 4 regular and it was well above my ankles. (I ended up wearing a 2 in another dress, so its not like I'm a giant...) The color was not the deep blue that it appeared on the website but more purple. It also arrived exteemely wrinkled. Thank goodness t was my second choice.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
December 11, 2012
Great dress!
Very flattering, heavy nice material. Would definitely recommend! Also loved the color
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 15, 2012
Wish i could have worn this...
BEAUTIFUL DRESS. The top fits true to size, but I was looking for a slinky, curve hugging look and this dress did NOT deliver. You really must have to have a booty to fill out the hips of this dress as the model in the photo. It hung beautiful from the waist up, sloppy from the waist down. Aside from that, I loved the feel of the material, and the color was stunning. I'm 5'10" and wouldn't have been able to wear heels with it. Don't let my somewhat dissatisfied review deter you though - if you've got a good booty - go for it! This is truly a beautiful dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
November 12, 2012
This dress was extremely comfortable to dance and move in; absolutely everything!
The dress fit in all the right places. The most awkward feature about the dress for me, considering that I wear a 38DD, was that it was completely open back. After finding the appropriate support it was a killer! Also in length it was perfect with 3inch heels. Definitely would rent this dress again!
ShannonJanuary 23, 2013
Hi Nancy,What did you use for support that did not show from the back? (I'm considering this dress for a gala and have the similar full bust problem)
PauldineSeptember 9, 2013
What bra did you use. Would love to wear this dress
DiedraDecember 17, 2014
I hear a lot of people say that the dress was a bit long on them but it didn't look that long on you. I'm wondering if it would fit my height because I'm tall and normally order extra length on my formal dresses.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 12, 2012
Very comfortable
I did not end up wearing this for my event, but if the other one hadn't fit I would have worn this. I'm 5'5" and with 4.5" heels it was just barely off the floor...the perfect length so I wouldn't have to worry about someone stepping on it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
November 1, 2012
I loved the dress and didn't want to send it back!
This dress was perfect for a black tie wedding. It was dressy enough but still comfortable to dance in. Being 5'2" I did have to wear it with 4" heels so that it wouldn't be too long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 30, 2012
Very short
I didn't end up wearing this gown because it was VERY short. I'm 5'4" and wasn't able to wear heels without it looking too short. If you plan on wearing heels, order the long.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 51
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117lbs
October 25, 2012
I was really pleased with the sizing. I am 5' 3" and was worried about the length but it was fine.
The color is more of an eggplant purple than is shown in the model photo. The back is low enough that you need to go without a bra (the dress is lined) or make other arrangements!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 18, 2012
Simple Stunner!
I don't remember if I wore a size 4 or 2 Regular. I had to wear high heels with the dress and I am 5'6" and wore 3-4 inch heels. It's just one of those dresses that seem so simple on the hanger, but once on it is really elegant and the fabric is so comfortable.
LiliApril 7, 2013
Did you wear a bra?
LizNovember 2, 2013
No i didn't wear a bra
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
October 18, 2012
I didn't end up wearing this dress because of the length
It was a beautiful dress - I loved the back cutout and the color, but the longer length was too short for my taste - it barely touched the floor when I was barefoot - I really like the dress to cover my shoes and still be touching the floor (I usually wear 3.5"-4" heels)
DiedraDecember 17, 2014
What size did you order?
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 16, 2012
The dress was great, fit well showing just enough and very classy.
The dress fit my shape well except the length, I wish it were longer. The color was perfect. The dress arrived on the start date no problem. It was a very smooth process. Thank you RTR for a memorable part in this event.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 14, 2012
Another winner from RTR
This dress fit perfectly but was a bit short for my 5'8" height. I had to double check that I really got the long size...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
October 7, 2012
I rented this for a Gala at my university.
True to fit. Must be worn with a backless bra. The material was so soft to the skin, and the dress was forgiving to my mid section. I loved it. I could have gotten one size smaller. I felt like I had to stand tall all night or the straps would fall. Yet, it kept me confident and happy all night. My husband l loved the backless feature :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
October 7, 2012
Beautiful dress, beautiful color, stunning back.
It fit really well, but definitely can't wear with a bra, so make sure to get a backless bra or pasties.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 6, 2012
Perfect for the occasion
I needed a purple dress for a gala and this dress was perfect. The fabric is very flattering and comfortable. I'm 5'6 and the length with 3 inch heels was a tad too short. I'm afraid I would have been stepping on the long though. Sorry, I don't have any photos.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 2, 2012
So so elegant! Low back adds just enough sexy
The low back was super elegant. Deff a spank wearing dress because if you have any mid section it will show in this little number. Lots of compliments. Being 5 foot 2 this was quite long. Wear high high heels if you're petite. I accessorized with a statement necklace, this was a poor choice looking back at pictures. If I could go back i would have done a delicate bracelet and earrings.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 21, 2012
I wore this for a black tie wedding and it was perfect.
The color was really nice. It is more purple than blue and I wore it with a fancy neckace. I am about 5'4 1/2 and the length of this was perfect with very small kitten heels (1 inch). If you are average height and want to wear heels maybe go with the longer size because dresses are always too long on me this one was just touching the floor with small heels. My only other comments are that the back is not quite as low as it looks in pictures. The gathering in the front is very flattering (hides belly a little)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
September 20, 2012
This elegant, but vibrant dress stood out in a sea of black dresses for this NYC gala.
This was my first gala as Director of Development for my new nonprofit, so I had to tone down the sexiness, but still look stylish. I feel like I accomplished that with this dress. The hue is gorgeous, but I found it a bit loose. The front is quite plain, so I would add a necklace next time (I rented gorgeous earrings to go with it, but stupidly kept my hair down). The back is the really special part. The bottom of the dress was a bit wrinkly when it arrived, so it's great if you have a steamer on hand as this material does tend to wrinkle if not hung up for a few days in advance of wearing it. I am also not very curvy, and I think this dress would be better suited to a woman with curves. It doesn't do much for a straight shot like myself.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
September 17, 2012
I loved how organized RTR was! I received several emails that answered any questions that I had.
I loved this dress! The color was beautiful. The open back and front detail kept the dress from being TOO simple. It looks very classy. I was afraid the 0L would be too long but I was so glad I ordered it after I put my heels on.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 29, 2012
Purple!
LOVED IT! 0 fit perfect but I ended up wearing the 2 for length!
RTR CustomerOctober 2, 2012
May I please ask what did you do for a bra, because it doesn't look like you can wear anything that offers enough support for 34D+. Which I happen to be as well...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119lbs
August 27, 2012
Great dress
I liked this dress a lot. Conservative from the front, but the back adds a bit of sexiness. Very comfortable fabric, and fits true to size. It clings to your curves, but the fabric is very forgiving, so you don't need to wear Spanx if you don't want to. You do need nipple covers or stick-on bra cups. I am 5'2" and wore the regular length. It was perfect for me with 3 1/2 inch heels (skimmed the top of my shoes). If you are at all taller than me, or want to wear taller shoes, then definitely go with the long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
August 24, 2012
nice but not me
Very pretty dress.... fits nice, makes your waist look tiny.... But thought it was more appropriate for someone a little older than me (im in my late 20's)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
August 22, 2012
Misfit
I rented 8L and the dress was super short (above my ankles)...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 20, 2012
Beautiful!
I wore this dress to a wedding and got so many compliments! The knot in the front is in the perfect place to give a great shape to your figure. The color is a little darker than shown in the picture but still gorgeous.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
August 16, 2012
Loved being able to pick from two different sizes just in case! Such an easy process, would definitely rent again! Felt comfortable and glamorous with my Miss Wisconsin sisters, loved welcoming our new Miss Wis to our sisterhood! :)
I wore this dress as a "former" to the Miss Wisconsin Pageant this year and received numerous compliments! It is so simple and classic, yet quite a stunner! Very comfortable, definitely glad I got the long size, I am 5'9" with three inch heels on in the pics.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
August 10, 2012
An unfortunate experience
Initally I ordered this dress in an 8L, and after I place my order I called to have another size added just in case. (I had to get the 12L because there is no 10L???) Well when my order arrived I was so excited to try this dress on! I opened the box and the dress on top was a 12L and then the one underneath was a 10R. The size that I initially ordered wasn't anywhere to be found! SO SAD!! The 10R fit alright on the top but there was no way that it was going to be long enough for my 5'11 frame. Too, too bad because this is a beautiful dress! Where is the 10L!?!?!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
July 12, 2012
Too short
Unfortunately I had to return unworn. Online it said the regular length was 58 inches from shoulder to hem. The 6R was actually only 53 inches. Hit above my ankle, way too short to look right even with flats. Too bad as it is a lovely dress though the arm holes fit a bit snug. This is the second rental I've done with RTR. The first was perfect. It was actually 58 inches in length as noted which is perfect for 5'6" with about a 2.5 inch heel.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
May 26, 2012
Everything was on time and in tact. The return shipping was extremely easy.
I loved the dress but the necklace made the look. I wore the RJ Graziano Dress Me Up Necklace. I ordered a 4 and 6 but the 4 was too short. The dress made it look like I had curves, thank goodness. I was comfortable all night as well, even though I wasn't wearing a bra.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
May 18, 2012
Pretty but short
Im about 5' 6 1/2" tall so thought the regular length would work for me. The fit was nice, but it hit me mid-shin...not at all what I expected from the pictures. If you're over 5'6", get the long!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
February 29, 2012
It was my first rent, and I was very pleased
Great fit! Had several compliments!
JenniferSeptember 25, 2012
Hi I would like to know if you wore any heels with this dress?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
February 29, 2012
Gorgeous
I loved the way this dress fitted me. Perfect not to tight or to loose. The length was great. If I would have went for a smaller size my hips would had made the dress shorter. I've gotten so many compliements about this dress. I wore a pair of 3 inch gold heels with gold accessories. Can't wait to rent again!!!
LishanApril 21, 2012
I would love to see some pictures! Your body type, weight, bust size and height are exactly mine. I was going to turn down this dress because of my D sized cup vs. the recommended A-C and inability to wear a bra. How did you get around the bra issue while still ensuring that your girls were secure?
AlexandraApril 29, 2012
Yes please show pictures! I am the exact same body type as you and it would really help to get a visual! thank you :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 23, 2012
Felt great in this dress!
I rented this dress for a Mardi Gras Ball and felt elegant and pretty in it. Gorgeous color. Great heavy material. I was worried about the 0R and they didn't have my back up size but this dress fit like a glove. I'm 5'4 about 115lbs. It was a tiny tiny bit long but I danced all night in it with heels and had NO problem! PS You will need Sticky Boobs.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 93lbs
January 21, 2012
Too big
This dress didn't do anything special for me. It wasn't huge, it was just loose. I think if you're a tall drink of water, this dress would be great. But it wasn't for me.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 9, 2012
Sad fit for me.
I am 5'10" so renting a long dress is risky but this was way too short on me. Was a little baggy and not form fitting as well. Sad it did not fit but always appreciate RTR being so nice about returns!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 8, 2012
How amazing I felt that night.
Fits a little more conservatively than the photo of the model, but great for a wedding. Very comfortable! Loved it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 4, 2012
Also my first RTR Experience
I rented this dress for a NYE black tie wedding and it was perfect for the occasion. I'm 5'8" and the 6L fit perfectly with 3 inch heels. Like the other reviewer said, the dress was more purple than I expected, but a great color. The material was nice, and didn't show any lines underneath. Overall a very flattering fit. The people at RTR were very responsive and helpful, and made this whole process seamless. Will be sure to use RTR again!
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 109lbs
January 3, 2012
beautiful dress great fabric
i loved this dress! it hangs beautifully, the fabric is nice and feels good against your skin-plenty heavy enough the length for the 0R was long enough for 3-4 inch heels (with a platform) and i am 5' 5" It is a much darker purple than it looks in the pic but still a great color I got tons of compliments! the open back adds zip!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 30, 2011
I was so nervous as this was my first experience and I only had 24 hours to prep for a black tie event. The dress fit perfectly and I felt amazing all night long. Will definitely be renting again!
The dress was beautiful and fit better than I imagined. It is a much darker purple than in the picture, but a beautiful color! This was first RTR experience and I was worried I would be too short/small for the clothes, but it worked perfectly. (I wore 4" heels and the dress just barely dragged the ground)
MaryFebruary 16, 2012
Kristin does not weigh 200 lbs
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 178lbs
November 14, 2011
Best Fitting Dress
I wore this to the Marine Corps ball and it was truly comfortable. t 5ft 2in, with 4 inch heels it was still a bit long with the R fit. I might have fitted nicely into a 8R but Im glad 10R was perfectly fitted. This dress was awesome and recommend it.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×