Rent the Runway

Robert Rodriguez Black Label

Marilyn Gala Gown

$70 rental
$495 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Walk into the gala wearing this form flattering Robert Rodriguez Black Label open back gown. An amazing color that everyone will love on you!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - bust is fitted and exposed back does not allow for a strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with knot detail
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt at knee
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6'' and above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - bust is fitted and exposed back does not allow for a strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with knot detail
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt at knee
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6'' and above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Purple matte jersey. Bateau neckline. Ruching at waist with knot detail. Open back with hook-and-eye closure. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

79 reviews

Fit
Small 8
True to Size 60
Large 11
Photos 37
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 7, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress looked fabulous and I got a million compliments! I ordered an 8 Long and it fit perfectly, although it didn't cover my shoes (3 inch heels) but I am really tall so it happens a lot, ha! The color is a great, vibrant blue. I did not wear a bra because of the open back, but there was enough fabric to keep everything under control. Overall, a great dress!
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Body type: Straight & narrow
Nov 7, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I loved this dress!!! The material was so comfortable but also very sturdy. I am a little over 5'6, so I was very glad that I got the 2L instead of the 2R. Got compliments all night long. The color is much more purple than it seems in the picture. I thought it was going to be more navy than it was. However, the color was still beautiful!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 109 lbs
Jan 3, 2012

beautiful dress great fabric

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
i loved this dress! it hangs beautifully, the fabric is nice and feels good against your skin-plenty heavy enough the length for the 0R was long enough for 3-4 inch heels (with a platform) and i am 5' 5" It is a much darker purple than it looks in the pic but still a great color I got tons of compliments! the open back adds zip!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jan 4, 2012

Also my first RTR Experience

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a NYE black tie wedding and it was perfect for the occasion. I'm 5'8" and the 6L fit perfectly with 3 inch heels. Like the other reviewer said, the dress was more purple than I expected, but a great color. The material was nice, and didn't show any lines underneath. Overall a very flattering fit. The people at RTR were very responsive and helpful, and made this whole process seamless. Will be sure to use RTR again!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 9, 2012

Sad fit for me.

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5'10" so renting a long dress is risky but this was way too short on me. Was a little baggy and not form fitting as well. Sad it did not fit but always appreciate RTR being so nice about returns!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 93 lbs
Jan 21, 2012

Too big

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress didn't do anything special for me. It wasn't huge, it was just loose. I think if you're a tall drink of water, this dress would be great. But it wasn't for me.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Feb 29, 2012

Gorgeous

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the way this dress fitted me. Perfect not to tight or to loose. The length was great. If I would have went for a smaller size my hips would had made the dress shorter. I've gotten so many compliements about this dress. I wore a pair of 3 inch gold heels with gold accessories. Can't wait to rent again!!!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
May 18, 2012

Pretty but short

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Im about 5' 6 1/2" tall so thought the regular length would work for me. The fit was nice, but it hit me mid-shin...not at all what I expected from the pictures. If you're over 5'6", get the long!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128 lbs
Jul 12, 2012

Too short

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Unfortunately I had to return unworn. Online it said the regular length was 58 inches from shoulder to hem. The 6R was actually only 53 inches. Hit above my ankle, way too short to look right even with flats. Too bad as it is a lovely dress though the arm holes fit a bit snug. This is the second rental I've done with RTR. The first was perfect. It was actually 58 inches in length as noted which is perfect for 5'6" with about a 2.5 inch heel.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 10, 2012

An unfortunate experience

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Initally I ordered this dress in an 8L, and after I place my order I called to have another size added just in case. (I had to get the 12L because there is no 10L???) Well when my order arrived I was so excited to try this dress on! I opened the box and the dress on top was a 12L and then the one underneath was a 10R. The size that I initially ordered wasn't anywhere to be found! SO SAD!! The 10R fit alright on the top but there was no way that it was going to be long enough for my 5'11 frame. Too, too bad because this is a beautiful dress! Where is the 10L!?!?!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

Beautiful!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding and got so many compliments! The knot in the front is in the perfect place to give a great shape to your figure. The color is a little darker than shown in the picture but still gorgeous.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Aug 22, 2012

Misfit

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I rented 8L and the dress was super short (above my ankles)...
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 24, 2012

nice but not me

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very pretty dress.... fits nice, makes your waist look tiny.... But thought it was more appropriate for someone a little older than me (im in my late 20's)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119 lbs
Aug 27, 2012

Great dress

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I liked this dress a lot. Conservative from the front, but the back adds a bit of sexiness. Very comfortable fabric, and fits true to size. It clings to your curves, but the fabric is very forgiving, so you don't need to wear Spanx if you don't want to. You do need nipple covers or stick-on bra cups. I am 5'2" and wore the regular length. It was perfect for me with 3 1/2 inch heels (skimmed the top of my shoes). If you are at all taller than me, or want to wear taller shoes, then definitely go with the long.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 29, 2012

Purple!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
LOVED IT! 0 fit perfect but I ended up wearing the 2 for length!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

I loved how organized RTR was! I received several emails that answered any questions that I had.

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! The color was beautiful. The open back and front detail kept the dress from being TOO simple. It looks very classy. I was afraid the 0L would be too long but I was so glad I ordered it after I put my heels on.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 21, 2012

I wore this for a black tie wedding and it was perfect.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The color was really nice. It is more purple than blue and I wore it with a fancy neckace. I am about 5'4 1/2 and the length of this was perfect with very small kitten heels (1 inch). If you are average height and want to wear heels maybe go with the longer size because dresses are always too long on me this one was just touching the floor with small heels. My only other comments are that the back is not quite as low as it looks in pictures. The gathering in the front is very flattering (hides belly a little)
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 2, 2012

So so elegant! Low back adds just enough sexy

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The low back was super elegant. Deff a spank wearing dress because if you have any mid section it will show in this little number. Lots of compliments. Being 5 foot 2 this was quite long. Wear high high heels if you're petite. I accessorized with a statement necklace, this was a poor choice looking back at pictures. If I could go back i would have done a delicate bracelet and earrings.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 6, 2012

Perfect for the occasion

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I needed a purple dress for a gala and this dress was perfect. The fabric is very flattering and comfortable. I'm 5'6 and the length with 3 inch heels was a tad too short. I'm afraid I would have been stepping on the long though. Sorry, I don't have any photos.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 7, 2012

Beautiful dress, beautiful color, stunning back.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fit really well, but definitely can't wear with a bra, so make sure to get a backless bra or pasties.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 14, 2012

Another winner from RTR

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit perfectly but was a bit short for my 5'8" height. I had to double check that I really got the long size...
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 18, 2012

I didn't end up wearing this dress because of the length

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was a beautiful dress - I loved the back cutout and the color, but the longer length was too short for my taste - it barely touched the floor when I was barefoot - I really like the dress to cover my shoes and still be touching the floor (I usually wear 3.5"-4" heels)
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117 lbs
Oct 25, 2012

I was really pleased with the sizing. I am 5' 3" and was worried about the length but it was fine.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The color is more of an eggplant purple than is shown in the model photo. The back is low enough that you need to go without a bra (the dress is lined) or make other arrangements!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 30, 2012

Very short

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't end up wearing this gown because it was VERY short. I'm 5'4" and wasn't able to wear heels without it looking too short. If you plan on wearing heels, order the long.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127 lbs
Nov 1, 2012

I loved the dress and didn't want to send it back!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfect for a black tie wedding. It was dressy enough but still comfortable to dance in. Being 5'2" I did have to wear it with 4" heels so that it wouldn't be too long.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

Very comfortable

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I did not end up wearing this for my event, but if the other one hadn't fit I would have worn this. I'm 5'5" and with 4.5" heels it was just barely off the floor...the perfect length so I wouldn't have to worry about someone stepping on it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 15, 2012

Wish i could have worn this...

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
BEAUTIFUL DRESS. The top fits true to size, but I was looking for a slinky, curve hugging look and this dress did NOT deliver. You really must have to have a booty to fill out the hips of this dress as the model in the photo. It hung beautiful from the waist up, sloppy from the waist down. Aside from that, I loved the feel of the material, and the color was stunning. I'm 5'10" and wouldn't have been able to wear heels with it. Don't let my somewhat dissatisfied review deter you though - if you've got a good booty - go for it! This is truly a beautiful dress.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Dec 11, 2012

Great dress!

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very flattering, heavy nice material. Would definitely recommend! Also loved the color
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Dec 17, 2012

Not a great choice

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got a 4 regular and it was well above my ankles. (I ended up wearing a 2 in another dress, so its not like I'm a giant...) The color was not the deep blue that it appeared on the website but more purple. It also arrived exteemely wrinkled. Thank goodness t was my second choice.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 3, 2013

The color is good in a crowd of boring dresses and the keyhole is great.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered the 6L and 8L but RTR apparently sent me the 6R and 8R. As such, the dress didn't hit the floor even in flats. Everything worked out fine because I could be zen about it. However, if you're tall definitely order the L version and be sure to call to double check that they'll send the right length!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 16, 2013

This dress runs short!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
If you are over 5 foot 9", I would not recommend this dress. I tried the 6 L on barefoot and it was 2.5 inches too short. So I never could have worn any kind of heel with it. I'm sure it would be a beautiful dress on a more petite stature, but it's not a good choice for us tall girls.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 18, 2013

I was disappointed in this dress. I loved it but it looks better on the site than in person.

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
In the photo, it drapes the floor and is a long flowing dress, in person it is SHORT and I'm not tall, only 5'5" It just wasn't good all around. Thankfully I rented a back up which I love!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126 lbs
Jan 19, 2013

Meh

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was underwhelming to me; maybe it just wasn't the best for my skintone, but, I just didn't feel like the fit really did anything for me. It also seemed to run a little bit short (I'm 5'5). So unfortunately I didn't get to wear it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 16, 2013

The color was wonderful!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I would rent it again! Very comfortable! Beautiful color. Plan on using spanx, the fabric is clingy . I got so many compliments on this dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 19, 2013

Too short; Couldn't wear

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this for a black tie optional wedding, and had to return it. The dress (6L) was way too short, I looked like a 7th grader that had recently gone through a growth spurt. Pretty color, but I wouldn't recommend for anyone over 5'8. The fit itself was fine, and though it was hard to look at anything besides my ankles the cut was nice, and the back is very pretty.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 26, 2013

Long, elegant, beautiful color, perfect to show off shoulders and back!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit beautifully, but a little bit long, ever with 3" heels on. Even with that, I felt beautiful in the dress and received a ton of compliments!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 6, 2013

easy delivery, accurate real life photos

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am short and the length description was PERFECT!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 153 lbs
Apr 15, 2013

great dress for the occasion

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Black-tie event for my husband's law firm. Runs really large - I usually get a 6 with an 8 as a back up and the 6 was way too big. Generally looked nice and was perfect for the event.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
May 4, 2013

Gorgeous but short

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Unfortunately I didn't get to wear this dress as the 4L was too short (and I am only 5'6). It's a shame because the top laid beautifully... I just couldn't make it work for me. But it would be great for shorter girls!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×