You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Lace Surprise Gown
Rental $70 Retail $795
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Have a black tie affair to attend? Rent this lady like Robert Rodriguez Black Label lace gown. Simple and chic. Pair with classic accessories like the Miriam Haskell's Charming Charlie Bracelet and the Miriam Haskell's Royal Contessa Earrings.

Also available in berry.
Chat with a Stylist
Black crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with lace trim. Velvet tie waist. Front slit. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow belt; fabric conceals midsection
HIPS: Fitted - very loosely fitted at hips though may be more fitted on full hips
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 59'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11''; dress has high slight to upper to mid-thigh

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos67

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Brittany
Age: 26
Canonical User Type: 1411
Apr 13, 2014
Needed a dress one week before this event. It was magic!
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Perfect fit, comfortable, and as pretty in person as the pictures. Got the dress on time (day before) and comes with pre paid envelope to send it back. Super easy process. And fun. Do it :)
Diane
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6534
Apr 13, 2014
Loved the mix of soft and sexy with the lace vs. the high slit!
Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was flattering. It accentuated the right curves. The belt was missing but I had my own to recover. Length was good with 2.5 in heels. I felt very comfortable and glamorous :)
Andrea
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 55
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 6621
Mar 19, 2014
the wedding was a beautiful event.
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was true to size, I was worried about the length I am 5'2" and the length was perfect with a heel. Overall, the experience was very easy and a pleasure to deal with. I receive the dress in plenty of time. the only problem I came across was they didn't include the sash that the dress came with, but they were very accomadating and were willing to overnight.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6444
Dec 27, 2013
This was my boss's wedding and this dress really impressed everybody, I felt so elegant!
Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is stunning but has an extremely high slit. I am also above average height so I had to wear the 10R because I wanted the length. It is true to size but the nice thing about it was the 10 wasn't too big and worked well. I also have a larger bust and for girls who are curvy this dress is classy and sexy in one. I would absolutely recommend this dress, I did not want to send it back!! I wore the sash fine, I read a lot of reviews that said it unclips easily and I had a different experience it worked just fine, I wore the ends down the middle to draw length to my figure.
Ashley
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5443
Dec 26, 2013
Gorgeous!
Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! It was so flattering. I ordered the 6L and 8L and ended up wearing the 8L. You do have to be careful with the slit when you sit down. The lace detail is beautiful I didn't want to sent it back. I wore the dress with an emerald pair of Kendra Scott earrings and 3 1/2 inch pumps. I will definitely use rent the runway again.
Esther
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3422
Nov 25, 2013
elegant
Size worn: 2P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my backup, but the first choice made me look a little preggers and i'm not lol. It fit nicely around my midsection, but not constraining. I even wore this without a bra and felt comfortable. The slit on the left is sexy! I am 25 and I definitely felt grown up and sexy in this dress. The material is not shear or thin. It was ok to be walking around the city at night. It was missing a sash so I improvised and attached a bow with some ribbon I had around the house. The length was perfect and I am 5'0. I was not tripping in 3 in heels.
Nicole
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4524
Nov 24, 2013
The dress was perfect for my black tie Gala!
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit very well. It's a little tricky to get into, which is why I went up a size from my usual, but either size would have fit - I just wanted a little more room up top. The length was surprisingly perfect - with a 2.5 inch heel, it didn't even skim the ground. As other people mentioned, the lace on top didn't really stand well, but it still looked ok. Beware of that side slit! It is subtle when standing still, but once you sit down, there's no stopping it. Invest in some boy short spanx just to be safe! Unfortunately, the belt didn't arrive with my dresses, so I bought a sparkly one and wore that instead. Worked out great. Overall, it was a great dress!
Amy
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5534
Nov 22, 2013
Luxurious and easy to wear!
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a black-tie wedding only 3 months after the birth of my son. Although I had lost most of my baby weight, I still had some curves that needed some de-emphasizing, and I wanted something that draped over my midsection. It was flattering and comfortable. I didn't feel the need to hide anything. I couldn't get the belt to lay correctly, so I skipped it in the end. Also, the slit was very high, but a quick safety pin fixed that. I am 5'6", but the dress was almost too short on with me with heels on. I'd recommend going for the longer size if you're on the taller side.
Katie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
Oct 3, 2013
First time but definitely not the last!
Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first time renting a dress from RTR and I loved every minute of it. I was going to a Black Tie event for work and didn't think anything I owned was appropriate. I've since rented another dress and plan to rent more in the future for formal events. This was dress classy but I still felt sexy - word of caution - the slit is quit high. But I loved it. I'm 5'7" and typically a 0-2. I definitely needed the 2L - the regular length may have been short and I could hardly breathe in the 0.
JG
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Aug 12, 2013
Simple + Pretty.
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress had gorgeous eyelash lace detail and fit perfectly. The leg slit was pretty high but I actually think a previous renter left a few stitches in it so it wasn't as high as it could have been. The belt was prettier than I thought it would be and made the dress look more appropriate for a black tie wedding. Was a bit short with heels but still doable. This was my back up dress order, and its a good thing I rented a back up because my other two dress options from RTR never showed up. It was a bummer that I wasn't able to wear any of the rented jewelry/accessories.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5443
Jul 22, 2013
This dress is A-M-A-Z-I-N-G. Don't let the simplicity fool you! You will LOVE it.
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I have an athletic frame, and some dresses bring too much attention to my broad shoulders, but this dress really drew the eye up with the one shoulder, which narrows towards the top seam.. The lace trim was the perfect touch to this otherwise simple black gown, and can either give off a sweet or edgy vibe depending on the accessories you choose. As I wore it in the summer, I left the velvet belt off, and didn't even bother to replace it with anything, as the dress cinches your waist in perfectly on its own. The slit was very high, but I did not need to pin it closed like some other renters, as it only hit me mid thigh. I am 5'9" and with the 6L I was able to wear a 3" heel and the dress was the perfect length. I would absolutely rent this dress again. I was very sad to send it back!!!!
Paulina
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6424
Jul 15, 2013
Loved the RTR experience!!!
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress was gorgeous! Fit true to size, it has a long slit on the left side so you show alot of leg when you walk, very sexy. The belt gives it a great touch and its velvet so it gives it a great contrast. The only thing is that the belt is a little more snug and it clips on so at times it would come undone. Toward the end of the night i just ended up taking it off. Overall great dress and amazing lace detail.
Angelique
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4434
Jul 10, 2013
Perfect dress for my black and white gala!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit perfectly! Although, I ordered a long based on the size chart but didn't need it. I wish I ordered a regular. People are right about the high slit, I had to safety pin it. Great dress overall. I got so many compliments! Very classy.
Tatjana
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Jul 3, 2013
The dress is very beautiful. I loved it!
Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I normally wear size 2. Size 2 dress was a little big on top, so I wore 0R. Regular length looked good, but I wanted the dress to be a little longer.
Paige
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 4431
Jun 28, 2013
The split really gave this dress pizazz!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this gown to a black tie affair. I loved it and received many compliments all night -- especially on the split! It did fit very tight in the waist area especially with the belt. But with a little sucking in it really cinched the waist beautifully!
Christy
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 3523
Jun 18, 2013
Sleek, simple, sophisticated!
Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I had 3 days notice to find a dress for a black tie gala with my husband's company. RTR to the rescue! My style is pretty classic and this elegant dress fit the bill perfectly. I rented the 0R and the 2R and ended up wearing the 0R, athough I am a 2-4 in most clothing (the 2R was a little too loose at the top). Being just 5'3", I was nervous about the length of the dress, but with 3" heels it came just to the top of my foot and looked fine. Others mentioned the slit being too high - it is very high on the leg, but I pinned it closed a bit lower it as this was a business event. My only complaint is that the belt did keep poppping open - I am very petite with a narrow torso and it still popped off the snaps when I sat down. I ended up removing the belt by the end of the night. That being said - this dress was an amazing rental - if the belt bothers you, I suggest pinning a brooch on the snap where the belt attaches to the dress, or wearing your own belt with it. I would definitely rent this again for another event! I highly recommend this dress for ladies who are larger on the bottom, smaller on the top, like me - I have a petite yet muscular frame and this style really worked for me.
Emily
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4243
May 30, 2013
I absolutely LOVED this dress. Stylish, sophisticated, and simple.
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first time using Rent The Runway and I am in love with it! I rented this dress for a friend's prom I went to and it fit so perfectly. I ordered sizes 2L and 4L; the reason I ended up wearing the 4L was for the extra length. Being 5'10, it's usually very difficult to have enough in my clothing but the 4L gave me the perfect length, even with 3-in heels! The only thing that sometimes bothered me was the high slit on the left side of the dress. I kept having to make sure that I wasn't being "exposed" when I sat down or when I danced, but other than that, the surprise aspect of the slit made me feel very Angelina Joliesque.
Sara
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6444
May 24, 2013
I was able to wear a long dress!
Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress! I rented it for a black-tie wedding. I am tall (5' 11") and am never able to find full-length dresses that are long enough for me. I picked this one based on reviews by some other tall ladies on RTR. The 8L did fit well but I ended up wearing the 10L because I was convinced it was a tiny bit longer :) The length was perfect with flats, and the larger size looked fine since the dress is belted at the waist. I wore my own belt though, because the one it came with was too loose. As others have noted, the slit is VERY high. I pinned it about 6 inches down and that worked well.
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4424
May 23, 2013
Absolutely perfect!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I cannot describe how absolutely perfect this dress was! I wore it to a formal work event and was looking for something classic, elegant and still a little fun. The sleek cut and classic black covered the first 2 bases and the bow, the lace and the Angelina slit add a little fun.To top it all off it was COMFORTABLE!!! The fabric made the dress easy to move in for everything from sitting to dancing! The first 2 hours of the party were spent sitting, watching a movie and the dress didn't wrinkle AT ALL. It transitioned smoothly in the dancing and chatting later. I was actually sad to send this back!
Noelle
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7324
May 8, 2013
I loved this dress, it was amazing. I'm about 5'2 and around 140. This dress is very sliming
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
There is a big slit that goes to your thigh. Cant wear spanx
Samantha
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
May 7, 2013
Delivery was timely and perfect!
Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I LOVED this dress! It fit great, though it was a bit short- I could not wear heals with it. It was such a classy dress and very sophisticated for the black tie charity event I attended. My only complaints were: - The smell! The dress smelled very funky initially to a point that I had to air it out and spray it heavily with perfume. - There was a stain on the inside of the dress and there was pilling around the butt on the inside (not visible outside) - I think the bottom had been hemmed (poorly) which is why it was shorter than anticipated These obviously did not ruin my experience and after I got rid of the smell and the stain, it was fine. I got so many compliments! I would definitely rent again- I would just try for a recently added dress.
Olivia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3333
Apr 22, 2013
Great formal but simple dress for an Air Force Banquet!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this with 3" heels, and it fit perfectly with them. I got a 0R and a 2R. I decided to wear the 2R because of the slit. The slit is very high up, it goes to about where most short shorts would end. I ended up pinning the slit a bit because an Air Force banquet is more conservative. With the 0R the slit was open and very obvious when I was just standing there, while with the 2R the slit stayed closed when I was just standing there. The only other issue is the velvet bow, it buttons on and it kept popping off. Which got a bit annoying because I kept having to watch it all night. None of these things were a huge deal for me and I would definitely rent this dress again!
Missy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4423
Apr 13, 2013
Elegant and effortless
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress hits you at the waste and then is pretty loose fitting so it makes you look tiny. I received many compliments from the women at my husband's event (spoke lots of renttherunway praise!). The slit is high - be ready to get your Angelina Jolie leg ready or get some double sided tape. The lace was a little beat up from repeated wear. All in all elegant dress that was effortless to wear. Very happy with it!
Megan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4442
Mar 29, 2013
Short
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I tried to order this dress in a long, but they did not end up having it in a long for the week I needed it. The regular was too short, so I ended up wearing another gown. This dress is beautiful and elegant. I believe if you order the correct size, the slit should be tasteful because it is sewn to remain closed unless you stick your leg out. I think that a variety of body styles would look nice in this dress.
Suzanne
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3434
Feb 7, 2013
Stunning dress!
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I adored this dress! I wore it to a company black tie event. I wanted to look formal without overdoing it. I was a bit nervous about the size and height of the dress (I typically fall somewhere between a 2-4). I decided to go with the 4L (the 2 was not available), with 4" heels and it fit perfectly! It did go right to the ground and I had to pick it up when walking at times, but I actually prefer that over being too short. I was also able to wear a strapless bra which was great! The slit is quite revealing but adds a little spice to the dress! I wouldn't change a thing!
Barbara
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2323
Feb 5, 2013
Sophisticated and Classic
Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I absolutely loved wearing this dress. I ordered a 0R and a 2R and didn't even try on the second size because the first fit so well. I wore about 4 inch heels which made the dress was the perfect length. One of my favorite parts about the dress was the black velvet belt. Even though it did unsnap at one point, it added more interest to the dress than just the lace on the top and the side. I was a bit worried about the slit on the leg because I read reviews that it was a bit high but I didn't find it to be a problem. I even thought it made it much easier to walk. It was so hard to send this dress back. I would wear it again for a formal occasion in a heartbeat.
Kelly
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3443
Jan 27, 2013
Wearing this elegant dress made my night!
Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was really nice. I wore it to a ball during inauguration weekend. It fit great in the waist and I received a lot of compliments on how elegant the dress looked. I do wish the dress was a little bit longer. I'm 5'11'' and once I put on heels the dress shortened a lot. Since the slit was open and high it minimized the short dress look. Also, if you sit down be aware of that slit!
Liza
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3431
Jan 14, 2013
i really enjoyed wearing this dress - it made me feel slender and beautiful!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
the slit IS pretty high (as expected according to other reviews) but the only time it really became a bit inappropriate was when we sat down to dinner. the sash also came unclasped very easily (it's just fastened with a snap) so that became kind of annoying at times, but other than that i really loved wearing this dress.
Beck
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2431
Sep 16, 2011
It was very slimming and sleek.
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was great at a black tie wedding. The second smallest size fit me best because it was just a bit looser around the waist--better for eating. Also, the smallest size was a tad short on the length so it couldnt even be worn comfortably with 2 inch heels.
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 7444
Dec 10, 2012
Great for a black tie wedding!
Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Overall, I liked the dress, but there were two things that drove me crazy. First of all, the slit was extremely high. I am 5'10 and it came almost up to my underwear line - I can't imagine what it would look like on someone with shorter legs. Secondly, the sash around the middle snaps on the dress and doesn't stay. Every time I sat down or stood up it came undone, not because it was too small, but because it was in an awkward place. I eventually just took the sash off. Overall, i liked the material of the dress and thought the lace was really pretty. I don't think I'd rent it again because it didn't work well for me, but it was a pretty dress and would maybe work for a different body type.
lara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6423
Dec 10, 2012
This dress was a hit, I got a lot of compliments and felt great all night.
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is called "Lace Surprise". If you are wondering what the surprise is, it is that the slit in this dress runs REALLY high. We are talking to the hip bone. I had to be extremely conscious of how I was sitting and moving the whole night (I ended up safety pinning it shut a little lower down my leg, but still very revealing!). Just be prepared! The belt that came with it didn't really fit, so I left it off. The cut of the top of the dress is extremely flattering, and I got a lot of compliments on the lace details!
Kelsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5442
Dec 3, 2012
This dress is elegant and comfortable!
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore the L dress and it was fine for me (5' 11") to wear with very short heels. I wore the smaller belt with it, because they'r'e not adjustable. I got lots of compliments on this dress and it was comfortable to wear to a long wedding and a long reception, but the slit on the left side is SUPER HIGH! You have to be careful when you sit down, stand up, and even a little bit while you're walking. I should have pinned it a litter further down on my leg so I wouldn't have to worry too much about it! That's the only reason I'm giving this dress 4 stars and not 5.
Allison
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 162 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8533
Dec 3, 2012
The dress is so classic. It fit very true to size.
Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The band around the waist needs to be a clip, not buttons. It kept popping open! But the dress looked and felt great - especially with the Angelina Jolie slit. It was a great dress.
Morgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5444
Nov 24, 2012
Perfect dress...I was sad to send it back!
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got this dress because my original pick was unavailable due to complications from Hurricane Sandy. I actually ended up liking it even more than my original choice! It fit like a dream and I felt beautiful in it. People were telling me all night that I looked like a celebrity! It was very classy, but the high leg slit made it sexy too. I'm 5'9" and my heels were around 4" tall, and the length of the 6L was perfect. I'd highly recommend this dress for your next formal event!
Tiffany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Nov 4, 2012
Absolutely perfect dress for a formal gala!
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is completely stunning - I got so many compliments throughout the evening! I have a very classic style and this dress was a perfect compliment to that. The lace along the neckline and slit makes it really feminine. The slit is high, so just be aware of that. It didn't cause any problems until I sat down, then was easily mitigated by strategic leg crossing or napkin placing. When walking, it gives it a bit of sassiness, especially if you have toned legs that you want to show off! As someone else commented, the belt has no give - it is velvet - so be sure to check your measurements or order a size up to be safe. On the length, I'm 5'6" and wore the long with 4-5" heels and the length was right at the floor.
Shy924
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Nov 2, 2012
Simple and elegant!
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Perfect choice for a black tie wedding in NYC. There isn't much stretch to the fabric but 6L fit perfectly and was a great length w/ 4 inch heels. Slit is high and revealing which sasses up the look a bit :) The belt has wraps around and snaps - a little flimsy but manageble- I suggest a safety pin from the inside to secure it. Overall- great choice and excellent experience for my first RTR dress.
Jess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 4524
Nov 1, 2012
Elegant and easy
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress to wear as a bridesmaid in a recent wedding. It definitely fit the bill, and was perfect for an active day of picture-taking and a long night on the dance floor. The dress is true-to-size, and even offered more room in the hips than I was expecting. It's also great for shorter women--the regular length was perfect on me with 3" heels. My only issues with the dress were matters of personal taste: The lace edging doesn't stand up quite as perfectly as it does on the model, and required some attention throughout the night to ensure it was pulled up (it tended to scrunch down at the edge of the dress, and looked a little funny--sometimes like hair coming off the edge of the dress). I didn't love the long velvet belt/bow, which felt disproportionately long on my short frame, so I styled the dress with a vintage brooch covering the snap where the belt would ordinarily clip in. And one big caveat: There is a side slit in the dress that isn't really visible in the photos; it's very high. Not inappropriately high, but high enough that my usual, thigh-length Spanx were very visible and I had to find shorter, boy-short style shapewear. All told though, a fabulous and super comfortable dress for a black-tie affair...and most importantly, the bride was thrilled!
Angie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4623
Oct 20, 2012
I felt amazing in the dress! Rent the Runway is fabulous!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I needed a gown for a wedding, black tie affair. I looked at dresses in stores and couldn't get myself to pay $1,000 for one night! I knew there were places to rent fabulous purses but didn't know about gowns. I searched for Rental Gowns and up popped Rent The Runway. I couldn't believe it, so many perfect dresses to choose from. However, I was nervous about getting the dress only 2 days before the event. What if it didn't work? I had no backup plan. No backup plan was needed, the dress was perfect! RTR sent 2 sizes, either of which would've worked but the 4 fit so well. The description of the dress was perfect, it fit exactly as described. I had originally been afraid that I would need new shoes (2 days before the event!) but RTR tells you what height heels you need for the length to be perfect. I felt absolutely amazing in this dress, thank you RTR. I just hope I get invited to more formal affairs, RTR could get addictive.
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 4533
Oct 19, 2012
Feeling absolutely gorgeous when 6mo pregnant!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was pregnant when I wore this dress and it made me feel absolutely incredible and beautiful.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5423
Oct 19, 2012
People are always amazed that I'm wearing famous designers... I tell them RTR is my go-to!
Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was gorgeous. The lace and the side slit is just enough sexy but not inappropriate. I did find that the belt was a little annoying as it got later into the night, but it kind of makes the dress, so going without isn't an option! This dress has no give or stretch, and runs pretty true to size! I love it, would totally order it again!!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress