Avril Dress

$40 rental
$795 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Go rocker chic in this flirty number by Robert Rodriguez Black Label. This dress is perfect if you're looking to pump up the volume with that little black dress.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to c cup sizes - built in bustier has padded cups and fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (On a 5'5'' model).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier and padded cups for support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to c cup sizes - built in bustier has padded cups and fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (On a 5'5'' model).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier and padded cups for support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black tulle. Strapless sweetheart neckline. Flower applique with beaded embellishment at waist. Ruched bodice. Full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 45'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
114 reviews
Fit
Large10
True to Size53
Small48
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
January 3, 2016
Gorgeous dress!
I usually wear a 2 or 4, the 2 fit snug up top but 4 was a little loose and I didn't want to be pulling it up all night. Really pretty dress received lots of compliments on how fun the dress looked. Wore this to a formal gala it was a great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
June 10, 2015
The evening was great!
The dress fit really well. I really liked it, but I have one complaint. The top portion of the dress sits a bit low. So, I felt like I needed to keep pulling it up throughout the night even though I knew it wasn't going to fall down. Just a head's up to anyone not comfortable with that sort of style!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 2, 2015
I loved the edgy skirt.
I wore this to a spring wedding in Florida. I thought it was a fun style while still being chic. The 6 was snug on me and the zipper was really hard to manage on my own. My husband had to help me zip it up. According to the size chart, I was expecting to need a 4, but that size wasn't available so I chose 6. I probably would have been more comfortable in an 8.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 4, 2015
Pretty dress
This dress is beautiful! I'm a size 2 and it fit a little snug below the bust line and would have made it uncomfortable to sit. I'm also only 5'2 and it was a tad long for me. I felt like the dress made me lose my curves and took away. I really wish it had fit me better because it really is a pretty dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 28, 2015
The dress was too small, but thanks to RTR I had another gown to wear on time
This dress runs small, so I won't even share a photo. I ordered size 12, and feel like the only way I could wear it if I went back to size 8. When that happens, I am definitely renting this one again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
February 22, 2015
Loved it!
Dress was great. It was different from what anyone else was wearing. But not too much. It definitely ran big on top. I have big hips and need the bigger size but I was still able to make it work. Unfortunately I don't have a picture that shows the whole dress! I would rent again!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
November 20, 2014
I LOVED this dress.
I loved the fit of this dress. It hugged in the bodice area and was flowy in the dress part. It wasn't quite as flowy as the stock picture showed, but I'm sure if you did some fluffing to it, you could achieve that look. I wasn't too worried about it. I received TONS of compliments and would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
November 2, 2014
Pretty dress. But too high waisted for me. It also had a lot of material around the waist.
Better for someone tiny. Wasn't flattering for my curvy/athletic body.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
September 22, 2014
It was very flattering helped hide my curves. Lots of compliments at the wedding I attended.
The bust was tight but I didn't pull up or adjust my dress once all night!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
September 21, 2014
Small fit
It was a beautiful dress but runs very small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 8, 2014
I didn't wear this dress.
Unfortunately this dress was too small in the bust and I couldn't wear it for my event :(
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 6, 2014
The picture looks fluffy, but it's actually pretty flat
I didn't end up wearing the dress as the other one I reserved was better suited. This one fell flatter and longer on me than the pic shows, and it wasn't a fan.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 10, 2014
Perfect for a teen for a formal wedding!
The tulle and beaded princess waist were really pretty. Rent the Runway sent the Ben Amun "Victorian Crystal Statement" Necklace, and it went perfectly! This was a replacement dress for another dress she had that was a bit too small in the chest (size 8). They sent this dress (only available in 12), and it was a bit big on top. I lent her one of my strapless, padded push-up bras in black, and that seemed to help. We'll definitely rent from here again!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
August 8, 2014
I got so many compliments and felt very confident in this dress.
Ran a little large on top (I'm 36C and still had to wear an extra padded push up strapless bra) If the backup size 6 had been available I probably would have gone with that, but everything worked out really well! The dress was beautiful and the length was great for 4" heels. Definitely didn't get lost in a sea of black dresses.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
August 6, 2014
So flowy and fun! Awesome dress!
Fit was true to size
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 30, 2014
Felt like a fabulous bad girl in a glam dress!
Great upper fit, a bit snug but I actually appreciate that so no pulling up throughout night. Netting is so fun and flouncy I had so much fun wearing this!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
July 13, 2014
This was a fun party/formal affair dress! Lots of compliments on the cut.
Fit was a little snug around the top, but I did wear a bra, otherwise it was very comfortable! The tulle got caught on my handbag several times, so be careful what bag you carry! Dress can we worn with both silver and gold jewelry so it's flexible with accessories. #formal #gala #tulle #glamour
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
May 26, 2014
Runs small, and looks better on the model
I rented this for a wedding as a back-up dress. It ran small and was very tight. I opted not to wear the dress, and was glad I ordered a different option.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
May 7, 2014
Princess!
I really loved this dress but ended up wearing a different one that I liked even better. This was a snug fit on me, but really beautiful. My only complaint (and ultimately my deciding factor) was that the fuller skirt and thick fabric up top seemed to incrementally bulk up my figure, and I wanted to show it off! Still, I could tell this was an exceptionally well-constructed dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
April 27, 2014
I rented this for a photoshoot (subject Tulle Time). Beautifully made, reasonable and comfortable!
The dress flows fantastically! The model is a 2-4 and the 2 fit her fine (was a tiny tight zipping up, so true to size). Beautiful knee length with a whimsical but sexy feel.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 17, 2014
Pretty, but made me big all over & didn't wear
This wasn't the best dress for my frame, so I didn't end up wearing it. What I did like was that it fit very snug - when I'm wearing a strapless dress, I like to know that it's going to stay put! I typically wear a 6 or 4 - in this dress, an 8 fit okay and the 6 fit like a 4. My biggest complaint was that the thickness of the pouf (all over, not just in the skirt), made my entire frame look bigger than it could have. I'm not in the best shape of my life, so some of that is admittedly my own fault (reality sucks!), but the dress I ultimately ended up wearing (Vivienne Westwood's Anglomania), was much more flattering in the waist. Ultimately, if I hadn't had a back up option I would've happily worn this dress - it was definitely comfortable to move in and I would've probably felt more confident in it than I did in the finicky-necked Westwood.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 16, 2014
I wore this for my 30th birthday party and felt fabulous!
I was worried the dress would run small but the 2 fit just fine. It was a good length with a hot pair of heels and had just the right amount of fluff in the skirt (not too much, but not just flat) to make a party statement.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
April 5, 2014
Beautiful dress
This dress is beautiful... But the top is small. I usually wear a size 12 but this barely fit me. Fortunately for me, I have a small chest. Overall though, it was pretty comfortable once I got it on. The top has boning and very well lined so I didn't need a bra. Dress is very light and airy. Lots of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
March 30, 2014
Wonderful outfit for an evening wedding as Hostess.
This dress is true to size. I have a small chest, but did not have to wear a bra as the upper portion is quite fitted. I loved it and received many compliments. The onnnnly thing I would've changed is to see less of the nude-like underlay through the black. Other than that, I absolutely loved it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
March 19, 2014
gorgeous - forgiving on the waist. Nice fit
gorgeous - forgiving on the waist. Nice fit
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
March 10, 2014
Classy but fun
There was an issue with the 8 that I had originally ordered, so I was sent my back up in this (a 12, since the 10 had already been rented when I ordered) and an alternative dress. I did not like the alternative at all, so I put on an extra padded bra and was careful to keep this dress up. It was definitely too big, but it worked. The dress was not very flattering on my hips, however. The extra tulle made my hips look larger than they are. Additionally, since the waist wasn't as cinched as the correct size would've been, the fit just was not very flattering. I imagine I would've really enjoyed this dress in the correct size, but I do believe it would be better suited for someone with smaller hips. The dress itself was in good condition. I wore it to a work event and I felt that it was classy enough for the occasion, but also fun with the extra tulle!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
March 3, 2014
Daytime Emmys
I was attending a semi-formal event and thought this dress would be so much fun. But unfortunately, it didn't fit. I'm a pretty small person, and when ordering, I was only able to get the size 0 which is what I normally wear. But the 0 would not fit at all. Not even close! I'm 5'3'', 100 lbs, A-cup; and I could get the zipper up. Sadly, I wasn't able to wear the dress, but it looks cute on the hanger! I'm giving it 3 stars because I still like the look of it, but just couldn't wear it.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
February 24, 2014
I actually couldn't fit in the dress. Borrowed one from my sister instead.
Snug as a bug in a rug! Too snug. And others have apparently been in the same boat, the zipper had trouble going up even when on the hanger, without a body stuffed inside.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 41
February 20, 2014
Beautiful dress! Loved the fit- I'm 5'8" and it was a great length.
This dress looks prettier in person; I didn't think it showed up well in photos.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
February 4, 2014
A beautiful designer dress for very little money.
Dress was beautiful. Felt more secure using the body/clothing tape in the front and back. Needed help with the zipper. Dress was for a Sweet 16 party which turned out to be less dressy than indicated. My mom said she would definitely rent again as this was the best way to get a great dress without spending a lot of money. The embellishment was not centered properly around the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 28, 2014
Love. Love. Love.
I rented this dress for a wedding and absolutely loved it! However, it ran a bit big and the sizes I odered did not fit :( Wish I woould have rented a 0. Quality - fabric - form - all fab!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
January 27, 2014
Not in love...
Beautiful dress. Runs small and wasn't very flattering on me. The top bodice runs extremely small. Be warned! I ended up wearing a different dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 14, 2014
Super cute dress, great for twirling!
Little smaller than I had anticipated so good thing i ordered an extra dress in a size up.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 21, 2013
Flirty, pretty, and just a little rock n roll!
I received a ton of compliments when I wore this dress to my friend's formal wedding. The length is very fun and unexpected, plus the black tulle makes it a little edgy. My only tiny complaint was that the appliqued flowers at the waist were a little crushed from the mailing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Body type: Hourglass
December 21, 2013
Pretty dress.
Good structure. Pretty dress.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 19, 2013
This dress is gorgeous! Fits very well and the fabric is great.
Stays up well, great fit
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
December 10, 2013
didn't wear this dress
Didn't wear this because it seemed a little "too young" for me. I'm 39 and I felt it works for anyone 30 and under. Oddly, if it had been shorter, it wouldn't have seemed as awkward. My husband said it was too "Stevie Nicks!" I went with dress #2, my choice. Hubby won't have first choice next time. I know what fits me best and this wasn't it. But, it is a great looking dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
November 30, 2013
Loved this dress!
I usually wear a 4-6 and the 6 fit perfectly. It was extremely flattering and very comfortable to wear.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
November 6, 2013
Not Perfect, but still worked out!
I rented this dress for a formal wedding, but when it arrived it was too big and the material was super thick! I was unable to wear this, but luckily RTR allowed me to return this dress for store credit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
October 23, 2013
cute
I think the dress runs just a tad large, it was super comfortable and flirty but I had to keep pulling it up all night. However, it might work well for someone who has little fuller chest than me, I am 32B. Cute dress though and would get it again
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×