You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Avril Dress
Rental $40 Retail $795
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Go rocker chic in this flirty number by Robert Rodriguez Black Label. This dress is perfect if you're looking to pump up the volume with that little black dress.
Chat with a Stylist
Black tulle. Strapless sweetheart neckline. Flower applique with beaded embellishment at waist. Ruched bodice. Full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 45'' from shoulder to hem.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to c cup sizes - built in bustier has padded cups and fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (On a 5'5'' model).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier and padded cups for support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.
Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos30

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Hannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Canonical User Type: 5323
Jul 9, 2013
Tiny!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I was unfortunately unable to wear this dress as both the size I ordered and the backup size were to small. I'm confident one size up would have been right, but I wish I'd realized just how small the dress was. But if you can get the right size, it's super cute and I wish I could have worn it!
Patti
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2532
Jul 5, 2013
Gorgeous dress! Did not end up wearing it do to poor fit.
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very tight around the ribcage.
D NYC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7643
Jun 10, 2013
The Femmys
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress ran small and looked beautiful but, not very comfortable.
Buck
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3523
May 19, 2013
The ability to return and get a credit for next time.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Both the size 2 and 4 did not fit. I typically wear a 0-2 in street clothes.
Christy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6534
May 16, 2013
gorgeous dress but very small in the chest. I mean VERY.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
gorgeous dress but very small in the chest. I mean VERY. I usually wear a size 8 and read the reviews, so ordered a 10 and 12 as a back-up. Neither of them would zip (I'm 5'4, 140lbs, 34DD). Had to send both sizes back.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 148 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5442
May 9, 2013
Comfortable and chic! So many compliments!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is absolutely fabulous - if you're going to an event, and you're worried about comfort, wear this dress. It fits true to size, it's VERY flattering, and the fabric feels great (not too heavy). It also hides any "tummy" issues. My creds say that I am 148 lbs but I'm approaching 160 right now, and the dress still fit wonderfully (so perhaps the dress actually runs big? But I didn't notice!). I would recommend this dress to ANYONE, but I would take special note that I have a small bust, and the fit on top was snug (in a good way). If you have a larger bust, I'm not sure it would fit properly.
courtney
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3521
Apr 26, 2013
Perfect Dress for Auction
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress fit great. Comfortable. Easy to wear. Got lots of compliants. Wore with black shoes.
Hungirl
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7542
Apr 22, 2013
This dress is gorgeous. I loved the midi length because I am 6'3. I can only recommend.
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I recommend it to tall girls.
Sandy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 60
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 4631
Apr 19, 2013
The dress was stunning! Contrary to the 'runs small' the sizes ordered were too large.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was for a Viva Las Vegas themed high school Prom. The sizes ordered were based on reviews that the dress ran small and consultation with the fit stylist. However, all were too large to be flattering. Unfortunately, the 'wearer' was not available in the 24 hour window for returns.
Alana
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5433
Apr 3, 2013
LOVED IT
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was fantastic, simple... but fantastic. Everyone stopped to look at me!! wait... maybe that is because I was late to this event!! But still!! haha lots and lots of compliments!!
Kristen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4523
Mar 26, 2013
As the fashion stylist for the closing night party it was a true representation of my work & style.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress does run small, especially through the bust and upper rib cage. It is very comfortable, elegant and edgy! I would recommend this to anyone wanting the glam/rock feel.
Chelsea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 3443
Mar 11, 2013
Perfect for dancing, flattering, not fussy at all.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
LOVED this dress. Was worried about renting it due to the reviews. Im usually a 2-4 so I got the 4 and 6. I wore the 4, it fit fine, might have even been able to wear the 2 if I had rented it. Zipper was tough over the seam on the side, but not impossible at all, just as you'd expect a zipper near layers of pleated tool to zip a little stiffer. The dress moved great, was a creative formal look, very fun and stood out for everyone elses long dresses. It did not poof out too much or look very costume-y; looked very accurate to the model on me and just as i expected the dress to look. Obviously wasn't a dress made to show off how skinny you are/your great curves so if you're looking for that look find something more form fitting. Would rent this dress again.
Lindsey
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8544
Feb 25, 2013
I love this website and use it frequently.
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I run a size 10/12 but I had read that it ran small so I rented a 12. I actually am a 36 D on top but a very small waist and I had to lay on my side and have my date struggle to zip it. I felt like a stuffed sausage but I did receive a lot of compliments
Jessica
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3233
Feb 20, 2013
Loved it!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was so beautiful. I ordered the 2 and the 4. I loved how the 2 fit and would have worn it, but the tulle was ripped in one of the under layers. I ended up having to wear the 4 which made me have to pull it up all night; it does fit very true to size. RTR customer service is the best. I called them and they completely credited the dress and apologized. Great experience and overall great dress.
Meredith
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2622
Feb 2, 2013
I chose to not wear this one.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am really tiny all over . I ordered this in a size 0 and 2. I couldn't zip up the size 0. The 2 fit alright. The look of the dress is a bit prom like with a lot of extra material. I felt it made my mid section look thick which was unflattering. Probably better on a really thin taller person.
Alli L
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Weight: 117 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3543
Jan 31, 2013
Wanted to love this dress....
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I really wanted to love this dress, but it did not fit my body at all. This dress isn't good for a skinny, straight figure like mine. It would stay up and probably would work better on someone that has bigger breasts. Beautiful dress beside the fit problem.
mrs
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Jan 27, 2013
Runs small. Difficult to zip on the side. long for short girls
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5'4" so the length hit mid calf, which looked awkward. Dress runs small and is difficult to zip, I needed help. Zipper is on the side. This dress would be best for tall thin girls. The detail at the waist is pretty but just below the detail, the dress poufs out, making your belly appear larger than it is. I wasn't able to wear the dress due to the length but Customer Service is amazing at RTR. I recommend RTR!
Abbey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Jan 19, 2013
Beautiful material....very light and whimsical!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I'm busty so the dress was too tight to zip up on the side (over my ribcage), so I had to go up two sizesin order to breathe and be comfortable. The larger size made my hips look large though because of the layers of material. I wasn't crazy about the way it fit me, but it was a gorgeous dress in person and I received compliments on the dress!
Maria
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4633
Jan 11, 2013
I felt amazing and everyone said I looked it. I would highly recommend this dress.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit well and was very flattering. It was comfortable enough to wear all night while dancing.
Jamie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Jan 8, 2013
The dress came in perfect condition, ran true to size, and was perfect for the black tie wedding!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits true to size, great condition, and looked even more beautiful than online.
Tash
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Jan 6, 2013
Not for me
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful dress on the hanger, though the ruffles in the torso area definitely added an inch or two to my waist and made me look as though I had a belly that I don't normally have. I ordered the 4 and 6 - ended up wearing the 4 although I normally wear a 6. Again, the dress was beautiful nonetheless!
Kim
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 2532
Jan 5, 2013
It was okay....
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
It is a pretty dress. Great for a wedding or cocktail party. I fit in a 0. Always have but the size 0 wouldn't zip up. The zipper kept sticking where the top meets the bottom part. Didn't want to break it so I wore the 2 and it kept slipping a little so you always felt like you had to hold it with your arms and lift up. It's quite annoying when you are dancing! The top is great on a smaller bust as well. The heart shape complements you so well. So if a 0 is a little bit go for the 0. If you are normally a size 2 then it will be a bit snug, but if you run in between don't get the dress. I also have a smaller bust (A Cup) so I couldn't fill it out as much and so it was loose (size 2).
Gillian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Jan 2, 2013
Beautiful dress - wish it would have fit!
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Beautiful dress but the top is very small. I am usually a size 0 or 2 and I couldn't even squeeze my average sized chest into either. Unless you're small chested, I highly recommend sizing up 1 or even 2 sizes.
Cydnee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5544
Dec 23, 2012
Maybe a better Halloween costume!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This was a beautiful dress, but it ran ludicrously small and was a little joyless for a wedding. Went with backup dress.
Betty
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5423
Dec 15, 2012
This dress runs very small. I usually fit into a size 6, but both the 6 and the 8 did not fit.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress runs very small. I usually fit into a size 6, but both the 6 and the 8 did not fit. I picked it for a formal holiday party. I'm a short girl so if the dress had fit, the dress would've been too long anyway. I couldn't zip the dress up all the way.
Cortney
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4523
Dec 15, 2012
Empire waist was not flattering
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't realize when I ordered this that it was an empire waist. I looked pregnant in it, so I didn't wear it. Plus, the zipper was very difficult to zip up (even when it was just on the hanger) and the clasp at the top of the zipper was broken in both sizes I ordered.
Jill
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Nov 14, 2012
Ran very small particularly around the rib cage.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The roucing around the rib cage created a lot of problems for me. I ordered both a 2 and a 4 (usually fit fine into a 2) and could not get either zipped. I don't know if others had this problem but I typically don't have an issue with this so I don't know if it was me or the dress. Also, the fabric was not quite as high quality as I was expecting. overall had to return it and wear a dress I owned.
Marissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2423
Oct 16, 2012
Not for Short Girls
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a formal affair, but didn't end up wearing either size that I rented. I'm usually a size 0 so I rented the 0 and 2, and the fit was just not flattering on my short frame. The size 0 hardly zipped but the fit of the dress made me look like I was huge. Loved how this dress looked on the model, but just wasn't for me. Don't recommend for short girls. Won't stop me from renting other styles though!
Allie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5443
Oct 15, 2012
Too much material at waist and stomach
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Im a lean person and this dress made me look very wide. The extra fabric hangs from the belly button, and is not flattering. It is a sheer material and not fluffy life the picture suggests. Perhaps on someone shorter this would look better. Thankfully I rented a back-up dress.
FIT
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3532
Oct 13, 2012
Too long for me!
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a black tie wedding, but ended up not being able to wear it. The dress was entirely too long for me (I'm 5'6'') and there was so much material, it completely overwhelmed my frame. Pretty dress, just not a great fit or me.
AMY
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4542
Sep 30, 2012
Very pretty
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was very nice, I am taller so it's nice to have a dress I don't have to worry about being too short, and I adore a fuller skirt. It hit right below the knee for me, the fabric and design was nice and elegant.
Sal
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 126 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4534
Sep 27, 2012
cute dress but was too big
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
i ordered this as my main dress, and was advised to order a size up, and for my backup size to be one size up from that, since a lot of the reviews were saying it ran small, especially if you have a larger bust. i was so bummed because i am normally a 2-4, and i had ordered the 6 and 8 per RTR stylist recommendations , and the 6 was just too big, the bust itself was large and i was shocked because i am a 34 d, so that usually isnt a problem. i wish i had ordered a 4, the dress was very cute otherwise. i recommend ordering your normal size , and the none size up if you are nervous. !!!
Alison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4633
Sep 22, 2012
This dress runs extremely small.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a 4 (sometimes a 2). I ordered a 4 and a 6 (for backup). I couldn't even zip the 6 because it was so tight in the ribs and chest. You must have a very small chest and a tiny frame (narrow rib cage) to wear this dress. It is beautiful, though.
Maggie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5331
Sep 7, 2012
Beautiful!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is absolutely beautiful!
Jo
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5132
Sep 6, 2012
Gorgeous dress....but small
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is absolutely gorgeous! The picture does it no justice. I was 3 months post-baby #2 so was hoping the dress would work for me.I rented it in an 8 but the backup in 10 was not available so I was hoping the 8 would fit but as many of the members wrote it runs small. The dress has an extremely fitted bodice that cuts just at your natural waist. If you have a larger chest than size up 2 sizes! I would recommend ordering your first size one size larger than what you normally wear and the backup 2 sizes up. I had to return it...which of course was hassle-free. I also lost 20 pounds since so I'll be renting it again and this time I better fit into it! :-)
Jenna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Sep 4, 2012
Runs small
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am really happy that I ordered two sizes in this dress - the 6 did not fit at all, but the 8 was a perfect fit. Really unique dress in person but difficult to see the details in photographs.
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Aug 22, 2012
Fun and elegant
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress! I rented it for a wedding, and it was perfect for the occassion. The color, fit and material were very elegant and the flowy skirt was a lot of fun. The bottom is very full, so it can add curves if you are a skinny person. I did find that the dress itself was kind of bulky, so if you are a thicker person, it may not be the dress for you.
roo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 6421
Aug 20, 2012
prettier in photo
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a gala event and ended up wearing the backup dress because this one is very... witchy. It looks like something Stevie Nicks would wear and that is not the look I was going for. Perhaps it is less voluminous in the smaller sizes but for me it was a LOT of black chiffon.
Rosie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3523
Aug 19, 2012
Lots of fabric
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress looks much better in the photo. In real life, the skirt is super full, a bit witchy/Halloween-ish and hits at a weird length. It didn't look as elegant as expected.
Steph
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 4533
Aug 6, 2012
dont get it
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress looked nothing like the picture. First of all it does run a size small. Then the one I got wasn't even black anymore but the color was washed out that it looked grey. The bust part was assymetrical in the top, I guess due to too many dry cleanings, so made the cleavage looked very strange. Overall, the dress had a look of poor quality, badly made, and it did not even fit. I sent it back and wore my own dress.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress