Avril Dress

$40 rental
$795 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Go rocker chic in this flirty number by Robert Rodriguez Black Label. This dress is perfect if you're looking to pump up the volume with that little black dress.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to c cup sizes - built in bustier has padded cups and fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (On a 5'5'' model).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier and padded cups for support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Product Details

Black tulle. Strapless sweetheart neckline. Flower applique with beaded embellishment at waist. Ruched bodice. Full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 45'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
114 reviews
Fit
Large
(10)
True to Size
(53)
Small
(48)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
October 16, 2013
Didn't end up choosing this dress.
Kind of an awkward length for me since I'm 5'3... plus it was large!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 7, 2013
Thank you to the great staff for sending this as a back up dress!
Ok, so full disclosure I didn't wear this dress out because it really wasn't the style I was going for once I saw it in person. The fit was nice and comfortable and it was definite dancing material.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 12, 2013
I wore this dress to a celebrity cocktail party and was the belle of the ball!
It was a great dress and good for any figure. I liked the edgie-ness of the dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
August 3, 2013
FUN! FUN! FUN! A complete departure from the norm for me & I enjoyed every minute!
I had been eyeing this dress up for a while, but never rented it because I usually wear very form fitting knee length cocktail dresses (Herve Ledger is a favorite for me) & this is more of a romantic length ballet tutu than a cocktail dress. I was also discouraged from several reviews stating it ran small & the bodice was uncomfortably tight or didn't fit at all. I decided to go for it & I am VERY glad that I did. It fit perfectly. I think that I wore the smaller size (I honestly can't remember so don't hold me to that this time). Please keep in mind I have a small bone structure for 5'11 & my rib cage is smaller than some of my friends. I wore a strapless bra & it stayed hidden all night, although like all strapless dresses (and bras) I did have to pull it up every so often. I paired it with nude & gold peep toe pumps. I didn't get as many compliments as I have in other dresses, but I didn't care. I LOVE wearing this dress & felt that I looked cute. I had fun in this dress. This dress for me is exactly what Rent the Runway is all about. You get to try different looks & styles like the celebrities do, but at a price an average girl like myself can afford. It wasn't my favorite, but I had no regrets & I felt that as a scroll through my photo album of events attended in similar style cocktail dresses I am glad to see myself in something different for a change.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 9, 2013
Tiny!
I was unfortunately unable to wear this dress as both the size I ordered and the backup size were to small. I'm confident one size up would have been right, but I wish I'd realized just how small the dress was. But if you can get the right size, it's super cute and I wish I could have worn it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 5, 2013
Gorgeous dress! Did not end up wearing it do to poor fit.
Very tight around the ribcage.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 10, 2013
The Femmys
Dress ran small and looked beautiful but, not very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
May 19, 2013
My daughter felt like a princess!
We rented this dress for my daughter to attend a gala. She looked stunning! The dress fit to a t! She did not have to fiddle with the dress, pulling it up at ALL!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
May 19, 2013
The ability to return and get a credit for next time.
Both the size 2 and 4 did not fit. I typically wear a 0-2 in street clothes.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
May 16, 2013
gorgeous dress but very small in the chest. I mean VERY.
gorgeous dress but very small in the chest. I mean VERY. I usually wear a size 8 and read the reviews, so ordered a 10 and 12 as a back-up. Neither of them would zip (I'm 5'4, 140lbs, 34DD). Had to send both sizes back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
May 9, 2013
Comfortable and chic! So many compliments!
This dress is absolutely fabulous - if you're going to an event, and you're worried about comfort, wear this dress. It fits true to size, it's VERY flattering, and the fabric feels great (not too heavy). It also hides any "tummy" issues. My creds say that I am 148 lbs but I'm approaching 160 right now, and the dress still fit wonderfully (so perhaps the dress actually runs big? But I didn't notice!). I would recommend this dress to ANYONE, but I would take special note that I have a small bust, and the fit on top was snug (in a good way). If you have a larger bust, I'm not sure it would fit properly.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
April 26, 2013
Perfect Dress for Auction
Dress fit great. Comfortable. Easy to wear. Got lots of compliants. Wore with black shoes.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
April 22, 2013
This dress is gorgeous. I loved the midi length because I am 6'3. I can only recommend.
I recommend it to tall girls.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 62
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 19, 2013
The dress was stunning! Contrary to the 'runs small' the sizes ordered were too large.
The dress was for a Viva Las Vegas themed high school Prom. The sizes ordered were based on reviews that the dress ran small and consultation with the fit stylist. However, all were too large to be flattering. Unfortunately, the 'wearer' was not available in the 24 hour window for returns.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
April 3, 2013
LOVED IT
This dress was fantastic, simple... but fantastic. Everyone stopped to look at me!! wait... maybe that is because I was late to this event!! But still!! haha lots and lots of compliments!!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
March 26, 2013
So classic and elegant!
I wore this dress for my spring formal. The dress runs a little small, but other than that if fit great! I usually wear a size 0, and I was able fit into the zero, but it was a little snug. I would suggest ordering your regular size and a size larger just in case! Overall, I received many compliments on the dress!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 26, 2013
As the fashion stylist for the closing night party it was a true representation of my work & style.
The dress does run small, especially through the bust and upper rib cage. It is very comfortable, elegant and edgy! I would recommend this to anyone wanting the glam/rock feel.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Body type: Petite
March 17, 2013
It was absolutely beautiful. Wore to my senior prom!!
Got so many compliments on the dress!!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 11, 2013
Perfect for dancing, flattering, not fussy at all.
LOVED this dress. Was worried about renting it due to the reviews. I got the 4 and 6. I wore the 4, it fit fine, might have even been able to wear the 2 if I had rented it. Zipper was tough over the seam on the side, but not impossible at all, just as you'd expect a zipper near layers of pleated tool to zip a little stiffer. The dress moved great, was a creative formal look, very fun and stood out for everyone elses long dresses. It did not poof out too much or look very costume-y; looked very accurate to the model on me and just as i expected the dress to look.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
March 5, 2013
Hearing my best friend say she was getting a Natalie Portman vibe from me
Fit was awesome, very comfortable dress. Wore to spring formal with Zara heels. Love it!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
February 25, 2013
I love this website and use it frequently.
I run a size 10/12 but I had read that it ran small so I rented a 12. I actually am a 36 D on top but a very small waist and I had to lay on my side and have my date struggle to zip it. I felt like a stuffed sausage but I did receive a lot of compliments
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 20, 2013
Loved it!
This dress was so beautiful. I ordered the 2 and the 4. I loved how the 2 fit and would have worn it, but the tulle was ripped in one of the under layers. I ended up having to wear the 4 which made me have to pull it up all night; it does fit very true to size. RTR customer service is the best. I called them and they completely credited the dress and apologized. Great experience and overall great dress.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
February 2, 2013
I chose to not wear this one.
I am really tiny all over . I ordered this in a size 0 and 2. I couldn't zip up the size 0. The 2 fit alright. The look of the dress is a bit prom like with a lot of extra material. I felt it made my mid section look thick which was unflattering. Probably better on a really thin taller person.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Weight: 117lbs
January 31, 2013
Wanted to love this dress....
I really wanted to love this dress, but it did not fit my body at all. This dress isn't good for a skinny, straight figure like mine. It would stay up and probably would work better on someone that has bigger breasts. Beautiful dress beside the fit problem.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 27, 2013
Runs small. Difficult to zip on the side. long for short girls
I am 5'4" so the length hit mid calf, which looked awkward. Dress runs small and is difficult to zip, I needed help. Zipper is on the side. This dress would be best for tall thin girls. The detail at the waist is pretty but just below the detail, the dress poufs out, making your belly appear larger than it is. I wasn't able to wear the dress due to the length but Customer Service is amazing at RTR. I recommend RTR!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
January 23, 2013
Pretty dress for a petite body
I liked the design but it looked awkward on me as a size 6. I can usually squeeze into a size 4 but this dress runs a tad small. I felt I looked larger in it. Made my hourglass figure looked straight because the top part of the dress is pretty thick and straight. I think this dress would look a lot better on someone who’s tiny, size 2 or smaller.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
January 19, 2013
Beautiful material....very light and whimsical!
I'm busty so the dress was too tight to zip up on the side (over my ribcage), so I had to go up two sizesin order to breathe and be comfortable. The larger size made my hips look large though because of the layers of material. I wasn't crazy about the way it fit me, but it was a gorgeous dress in person and I received compliments on the dress!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
January 11, 2013
I felt amazing and everyone said I looked it. I would highly recommend this dress.
It fit well and was very flattering. It was comfortable enough to wear all night while dancing.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 8, 2013
The dress came in perfect condition, ran true to size, and was perfect for the black tie wedding!
Fits true to size, great condition, and looked even more beautiful than online.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
January 6, 2013
Not for me
Beautiful dress on the hanger, though the ruffles in the torso area definitely added an inch or two to my waist and made me look as though I had a belly that I don't normally have. I ordered the 4 and 6 - ended up wearing the 4 although I normally wear a 6. Again, the dress was beautiful nonetheless!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
January 5, 2013
It was okay....
It is a pretty dress. Great for a wedding or cocktail party. I fit in a 0. Always have but the size 0 wouldn't zip up. The zipper kept sticking where the top meets the bottom part. Didn't want to break it so I wore the 2 and it kept slipping a little so you always felt like you had to hold it with your arms and lift up. It's quite annoying when you are dancing! The top is great on a smaller bust as well. The heart shape complements you so well. So if a 0 is a little bit go for the 0. If you are normally a size 2 then it will be a bit snug, but if you run in between don't get the dress. I also have a smaller bust (A Cup) so I couldn't fill it out as much and so it was loose (size 2).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 2, 2013
Beautiful dress - wish it would have fit!
Beautiful dress but the top is very small. I am usually a size 0 or 2 and I couldn't even squeeze my average sized chest into either. Unless you're small chested, I highly recommend sizing up 1 or even 2 sizes.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
December 23, 2012
Maybe a better Halloween costume!
This was a beautiful dress, but it ran ludicrously small and was a little joyless for a wedding. Went with backup dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
December 22, 2012
Pretty dress, awkward bust.
I wore this to a friend's rehearsal dinner. Very nice for formal occasions. The bust was ok in size. I'm small chested for a size 8. However I think there should be more in the bust area to keep it from running down. I hate having to tug on it, which I did a lot through out the night. During the rehearsal in church I kept my jacket on since the bust had a tendency to sag a little. Consider a sweater or a wrap to be conservative.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 133lbs
December 15, 2012
This dress runs very small. I usually fit into a size 6, but both the 6 and the 8 did not fit.
This dress runs very small. I usually fit into a size 6, but both the 6 and the 8 did not fit. I picked it for a formal holiday party. I'm a short girl so if the dress had fit, the dress would've been too long anyway. I couldn't zip the dress up all the way.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 15, 2012
Empire waist was not flattering
I didn't realize when I ordered this that it was an empire waist. I looked pregnant in it, so I didn't wear it. Plus, the zipper was very difficult to zip up (even when it was just on the hanger) and the clasp at the top of the zipper was broken in both sizes I ordered.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
December 14, 2012
Something different and fabulous for a masquerade holiday party
I wore this to a work holiday party. I don't usually wear strapless dresses, but I had no issues with this sliding down. The only issue I had with this was the trying to get the zipper up on my own. I think the 6 would have fit if someone else could have zipped it for me. Overall I really enjoyed wearing this dress. It's beautiful and very well made.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 3, 2012
The dress was nice and matched my mask perfectly with the black feathers on the waist.
the 4 was tight fitting, but perfect for my small bust and the bottom of the dress is wide, so it's not a problem with large hips. I figured that the dress would be longer than on the model, but it also looked puffier than expected. It's better to be really skinny to look great with this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 14, 2012
Ran very small particularly around the rib cage.
The roucing around the rib cage created a lot of problems for me. I ordered both a 2 and a 4 (usually fit fine into a 2) and could not get either zipped. I don't know if others had this problem but I typically don't have an issue with this so I don't know if it was me or the dress. Also, the fabric was not quite as high quality as I was expecting. overall had to return it and wear a dress I owned.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 16, 2012
Not for Short Girls
I rented this dress for a formal affair, but didn't end up wearing either size that I rented. I'm usually a size 0 so I rented the 0 and 2, and the fit was just not flattering on my short frame. The size 0 hardly zipped but the fit of the dress made me look like I was huge. Loved how this dress looked on the model, but just wasn't for me. Don't recommend for short girls. Won't stop me from renting other styles though!
See more reviews:
2 / 3
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×