Asymmetric Island Chain Dress

$85 rental
$475 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look like a beach goddess in this gorgeous Robert Rodriguez Black Label chain necked cocktail dress. Go with gold toned accessories like the House of Harlow 1960 Gold Textured Cuff and fab earrings like the WGACA Vintage Vintage Chanel's Coco Cross Dangle Earrings.

Size & Fit

Sized 0-8. Model's height is 5'10''.

Size & Fit Notes

Sized 0-8. Model's height is 5'10''.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Orange washed silk. Gold chain halter neckline. Asymmetric hem. 38'' from shoulder to shortest length of the hem. Imported.

Share
47 reviews
Fit
Large10
True to Size34
Small3
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
July 14, 2014
More casual than formal
Cute dress, but the fabric is a really flimsy rayon. Wouldn't wear it to a formal event--it's more of a day dress (luncheon, wedding...). It was cute, but I was afraid the thin fabric would wrinkle in about 5 minutes :-( Had to send this one back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
June 24, 2014
Perfection!!!
Talk about style mixed with an exotic vide. This dress is classic sexy without being too revealing
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 24, 2014
Very sexy dress
Beware you need can't wear a bra with this dress, but need to wear petals because the fabric is thin. Loved the dress, lots of compliments. Back was very low!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
December 31, 2013
I felt like a movie star & received compliments all night long!
I didn't wear a bra with this dress, but I'm not really working with much so it was a nonissue. When the dress first arrived it came without the chain. I was definitely freaking out, but then called RTR and they sent the chain and another backup dress the next day. I'm not sure if I put the dress on the wrong way but there was a high slit/opening in the back that made me a bit nervous to flash everyone. Tried using tape but scratched that idea and mustered up the confidence to just go with it. I paired the dress with these beautiful gold Badgley Mischka shoes and gold chandelier earrings. I loved this dress and received so many compliments!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 104lbs
February 4, 2013
I loved this dress! I got so many compliments on it.
The fit is perfect, especially for people who don't have many curves. I have trouble fitting in dresses because I don't have a chest, but this dress complimented my body.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
January 20, 2013
Fit well
Looks good on
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 10, 2013
Flattering, skims the body
Great dress. Loved the color & it just hung well - not clingy, but skimmed the body in all the right places. I loved the chain hanging down on the back - interesting detail & really shows off the back/shoulders...FYI the chain does jingle a bit. Looks great with a tan - has an island vibe. Would rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 3, 2013
Great dress!
Got compliments all night! You cannot wear a bra with this dress, not even a nu bra. I bought some pasties (spelling?) and did not wear undewear ( you could see the seams no matter what) My BF said it was the best thing hes ever seen me wear:)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
December 12, 2012
Great dress, prepare to get compliments the whole time you wear this dress.
cant wear a bra with this dress but it looks great the way it is. The color is orange red also i would say.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 12, 2012
Absolutely gorgeous dress and very flattering
Only issue was if you have a small bust, it's difficult to keep the dress properly in place with lingerie tape.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
October 26, 2012
Great dress.
Too bad mine came without the chain, so I couldn't wear it - though I really wish I could. Great color and it runs true to size. I guess I would recommend getting a backup, even if it's not even close to your size, to make sure you get at least one chain in your order, or having a suitable necklace handy. I put it on, sort of, holding it up with my hand just to see what it would look like. You do need pasties or something to tape over your private parts because the fabric is not heavy (though heavier than regular silk). As far as bottoms go, seamless VS thong did it for me, but the other reviewers are correct in that any panty lines/bumps will generally be visible without smoothing undergarments.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
October 24, 2012
Amazing! People I didn't know were stopping me saying I was the best dressed!
fit perfect! I used double sided tape on side of stick on "bra" and for panties I went with a seamless from VS.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 24, 2012
Every time I turned around, someone was complimenting me on my dress!
This dress is incredible, the back is gorgeous! but you definitely need the right bra to make it work. I wore the nubra, which was great! The flowy fit was perfect for this destination wedding in Florida. The chain I received to hold the dress up was very tarnished, not the solid gold that the model is wearing, or that I've seen in other pictures. But it still worked well and I felt fantastic - I received so many compliments in this dress, from people of all ages!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 22, 2012
Loved this dress!! It was a beautiful color - fit great - and was a hit! I felt amazing!
The dress has a long chain down the back that makes it very unique and beautiful! The color is stunning and looks great with a bit of a tan! Gold accessories work really well! The low back is hot - but the front and length make it very appropriate for a wedding or more formal event. Rent it! You'll love it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 15, 2012
RTR was amazing and very helpful. The customer service was fantastic!
This dress is gorgeous for a summer beach wedding! The color is very vibrant - the only con is the weight of the chain holding up the dress, But it's worth the sacrifice.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 139lbs
October 8, 2012
Bold color brought life and shine to a very formal affair
I love the cut and color of this dress & received many compliments on how well the color suited me. With the asymmetrical cut it was a great compromise between cocktail length and evening gown, for a formal dinner that was still supposed to be fun. Unfortunately, even my usual size 4 hung very loose around my waist, forcing me to pin it together in the back for a better fit. Also, it was delivered without the necklace/halter, so that I had to improvise with a necklace of my own - but RTR was very decent in partially reimbursing the rental, and I'm still very glad I wore it for one of the most memorable nights of the year.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 1, 2012
I loved this dress! I got a tremendous amount of compliments!
It was a little loose in the stomach and the color was a bit off but I did love the dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 26, 2012
Liked the dress but it's really hard to wear undergarments underneath.
Very pretty but not sure I would rent it again. The halter pulls a lot and started to hurt through the night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
September 25, 2012
This dress is very unique!
I wore this to a wedding in London in the spring, it is very light and I needed a wrap, it would be perfect for any summer/late spring affair. The fit was easy to wear, I ordered the 4 and the 6, both seem to fit the same. The neck chain can be worn once or twice wrapped around your neck. Twice wrapped seem to give it more staying power.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 22, 2012
Very Chic Dress with Wow Factor
This dress is very dramatic, richer in color that it appears on screen, and different from your typical cocktail dress. I wore it to a late summer wedding in Brooklyn and received tons of compliments. It was even comfortable to wear while dancing. Undergarments are a challenge -- you'll need a backless NuBra or you'll have to go without. Though the dress shows a lot of skin, I never worried about accidentally showing too much because the fit was great. You'll need to steam the dress as it wrinkles easily. I felt the gold chain halter made additional jewelry unnecessary and paired the dress with simple gold sandals and a clutch from RTR. All in all, I loved that dress and felt fantastic wearing it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
September 19, 2012
It was a fun dress to dance in
Very nice, pretty dress. Some reviews said it wrinkled easily but I didn't find that. The color is beautiful!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
September 19, 2012
Great
Be careful of the chain when dancing -- you may hit some people.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 50
Body type: Petite
September 18, 2012
I didn't receive the chain to hold up the dress so was unable to wear it.
Pretty color
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 14, 2012
The back of this dress is to die for!
I wore this to a summer outside wedding. I received so many compliments!!! The dress is effortlessly beautiful and comfortable to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 12, 2012
Bright, flowing and a true stand out
I would have given it a 5 except it took some work to dewrinkle the dress after it was delivered, otherwise you will absolutely stand out whereever you are with this dress. It is much brighter orange than the picture.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 23, 2012
beach wedding
Gorgeous color, received lots of compliments, very comfortable. Only minor complaint was that I felt the color of the gold neck chain looked dull, I used an almost identical gold chain belt I own that mroe closely matched my earrings in tone and was perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
August 17, 2012
Wanted to love it.
The cut and color of this dress were spot on, and it would have been beautiful to wear to a spring wedding (what I ordered it for). Unfortunately, the chain tie around the neck is pretty heavy and hangs down the back a bit like a tail, so it's not the best to dance in. There was also something about the fit that was not as flowy as I expected.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
August 16, 2012
Simply beautiful!
This dress is a statement dress! The dress runs pretty close to true to size, but is a bit narrow through the hips. It drapes beautifully across the front and the back. I wore it with a Nu-Bra underneath, but did not need any dress tape at all. The color is a rich coral/melon and looks great with a tan. The chain is heavy but not uncomfortable. Overall, the look was amazing and I received many complements on the overall outfit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 16, 2012
Perfect Tango Dress
No way you're wearing a bra with this one! The chain halter is a heavy chain. LOVED the dress! Hadn't tried it on until just before we got ready to preform our wedding Tango. It was amazing!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
August 15, 2012
Everyone loved the bright, bold, exotic look of this dress; esp the back.
A little brighter than the pictures but still a gorgeous dress. I usually wear a size two with my bust being 34C. Yet, in this dress I wore a size 0 - perfect fit all over. I would recommend buying tape for the sides of this dress, just for security purposes. I had none but would say get some if you are worried about a nip slip. Went perfect with a pair of brown sandal high heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 12, 2012
BRILLIANT
I was looking for the perfect dress for a black tie event held at the zoo as a charity event. The event is well known, with lots of coverage from local and national businesses. Finding the perfect dress is crucial, and this was it! I cannot tell you how many people stopped me to ask for a picture and inquire about the gown. It was the most stunning piece at the event. I was stopped so often my husband and friends were getting irritated we couldn't walk without being stopped every 30 seconds. I was photographed several times. The back of the dress is amazing. While the front is still sexy. I wore it with nude strappy pumps. For jewelry I rented a cuff and wore diamond stud earrings. I would highly recommend this dress. It was glamorous, sexy, original, and made me feel brilliant.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
August 10, 2012
Pretty Dress, Worked When Preg
I wore this dress to a wedding when I was 4 months pregnant, I normally wear a size 2 and this fit perfectly despite my bump, so I guess it might run a little large. Overall it was a very nice dress, I received lots of compliments. The actual dress I received though was starting to tear when I got it in the back so I had to use tape to hold it up and a safety pin, which was fine but a little annoying.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
August 2, 2012
I felt like I was on the red carpet....
I wore this dress and I received so many compliments, although reading the reviews I was kind of nervous about the fit. The overall fit was very nice, I didn't even need the fashion tape I purchased. I wore it with some Vince Camuto gold sandals and got as just as many compliments as I got on the dress. This dress is definitely and eye catcher!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 31, 2012
People told me I looked like I was going to the Oscars :)
I wore this dress to my sister's destination wedding in Cancun and I thought it was great. It's light, the color stands out and it's appropriately sexy! I wore a 6. I would have worn the 4 but it was too wrinkly (not RTR's fault - I carried it on 3 planes). I'm generally a 6 so that's why I say it runs a little bigger. It's not super form-fitting but it's cut beautifully! I see now that some people doubled the chain but I had it hang down by back. I kind of liked it that way? I wore a backless strapless bra with adhesive cups - worked well!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
July 8, 2012
Knockout, WOW, not for the SHY
Need to OWN this dress with its bold color and body-skimming, revealing lines--have a well-toned, sleek, physique. I'm olive-skinned-color best with darker complexions. Wore this for my daughter's beach wedding and got just as much attention and compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 25, 2012
Gorgeous dress. I felt like a Grecian Goddess!
I wore this elegant dress to an "island casual" wedding reception. The dress was beautiful and photographs amazing. I paired the dress with gold snake sandals to make it a bit more casual. Although the dress was gorgeous, I would not say it was an effortless and comfortable dress to wear. Undergarments were a bit of a challenge. The dress shows every line, lump, bulge, etc. so any type of panty line would have been visible. I ended up wearing bike short style underwear. These were seamless and the dress looked much smoother with something under it. The dress is backless, so the shorts could not be high wasted. I wore petals up top for coverage. The chain was very heavy and took some getting used to. The silk was soft, but did wrinkle easily. I sprayed the dress down with wrinkle release prior to wearing.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 8, 2012
LOVED this dress, but small
I ordered this dress for a spring wedding in Charlotte and was so excited when the box came and couldn't wait to try it on! But the excitement quickly turned to disappointment when the dress didn't fit me right. I ordered both a 6 & 8 (I fluctuate between a 4-6, but figured I'd order a size bigger JUST in case I needed the extra room) and the 8 was just too tight. It was GORGEOUS on and the back looked AMAZING, but it was snug in the hip and thigh area, so ultimately I had to return it. But I exchanged it for another dress that arrived the next day (great customer service RTR!!) that worked out well. Really wish this dress would have worked out!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
June 5, 2012
stunning!!
Rented this for a wedding on a beautiful ranch in CO. Got so many compliments and so many questions on where I got it and who designed it. I wore a Nu-Bra underneath, which did not show at all and did not even slip after hours of (vigorous) dancing. You definitely need something or else you will show! I also was worried about my tummy after eating/drinking, so I wore a spanx-esque thing ("commando") under, which was great. The dress was pretty tight to any bumps/unflattering areas on your stomach or butt that you don't want other people to see, even though it looks flowing on the model here, so unless you have a model figure, probably need one... Difficult to find something that fit under the dress because of the low back and the way that the left leg seam goes much higher (which was hot), but I ended up using the fashion tape that RTR provided (thank you!) to tape together the dress so that it didn't show. Also, I taped the back of the dress where there is a square-ish flap of fabric into the inside of the dress so it was less abrupt and more flowing. As for the others' comments about the seam, I actually twisted the dress to the right so that the seam swerved to the side instead of going down the middle. And anyone who is short like me, should not be concerned -- the asymmetrical cut is very, very flattering even on short legs. :) Definitely recommend this dress -- turns heads and pops in a crowd. Also really fun to twirl around in on the dancefloor!
SJFJune 20, 2012
I have this dress reserved for an "island casual" beach wedding for this weekend. I am beginning to panic that it may be too dressy.
RTRJune 27, 2012
This dress can definitely work for Island Casual! Try a simple shoe and light jewelry to let the dress stand out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
May 29, 2012
Great Dress!
Absolutely loved this dress... was gorgeous and different. Highly recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
May 21, 2012
it's always a treat to be a standout in Miami. love that this dress popped in a crowd of LBDs..
this dress was flawless in every way. it hangs beautifully, hue is perfect for sunkissed shoulders, it flutters when you walk. just perfect. the cut is ample & will accommodate many body types. i wore petals for coverage & it was enough for me at 34DD+. i wanted to keep this one..
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×