Rebecca Taylor

Peacock Feather Dress

$40 rental
$495 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Rent this fun and flirty embellished Rebecca Taylor strapless dress for a cocktail or birthday party where the night is full of dancing and friends.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Smoke blue silk(100% silk). Strapless sweetheart neckline. Feather beading detail. Full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
128 reviews
Fit
Large
(34)
True to Size
(91)
Small
(3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 29, 2011
In between the wedding and reception we found a local concert going on, we definitely stood out but in a great way
I wore this to a summer wedding in Chicago and it was perfect. Great summer dress, light and fun. The back is elastic and great for all bust sizes, runs very true to size.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
August 3, 2011
Got so many compliments on this dress at our friends' summer wedding in Colorado. The color is much more vibrant in person. Wore it with blush pink peep-toes and carried a silver clutch. No need for lots of jewelry... the sequins make a statement!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
August 13, 2011
This dress was perfect for my cousin's summer beach wedding...so light and flowing. I received many compliments and it looks great in pictures!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 16, 2011
Loved the dress & Rent the Runway!
Wore this with gold strappy sandals to a fundraising Gala in Saratoga. Loved it! Also rented a gold clutch to go with it. Felt like Carrie Bradshaw, what more can a girl want?!
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
September 20, 2011
love this dress!! Super flattering, everyone loved!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
September 27, 2011
This was my first rental. I knew what dress I was expecting because I tried it on in Bloomingdales first. The dress was great, but did look a little bit worn. You could see dry cleaning lines, and it came kind of wrinkled. Once steamed a bit it looked much better. A few of the beads were coming off, but all in all the dress looked great. Was comfortable all night dancing and didnt fall down.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
September 28, 2011
Great dress for a wedding--fit really well and was comfortable to wear and dance in. The color is more vibrant in person but is still a muted blue. The sequins looked really nice and I got lots of compliments!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
October 5, 2011
I LOVED this dress!
GORGEOUS DRESS! I ordered my size and a size up just in case but my size fit perfectly. Make sure if you have larger breast to get a good strapless bra but other than that, the dress is fantastic!!! I would actually order a size down for the second dress
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 11, 2011
Dress fit true to size. It was very light and comfortable.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
October 31, 2011
This dress was absolutely beautiful - ran true to size and stayed up just right (I'm a 34B). I rented a size 6 and probably could have used a size 4 instead if it had been in stock. It is a slightly deeper color in person than it appears online.
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
October 31, 2011
I wore this dress to a friend's wedding and it was fabulous! I got so many compliments on it and I felt so great all night. I loved it so much that I actually bought it when it went on sale at Neiman's. It fits great, looks sexy, and flows just right for a night on the dance floor! One caution - it does run a little big so size down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
November 21, 2011
I wore this dress to my sorority formal on a boat! It was perfect for dancing all night and I received countless compliments.
I absolutely loved renting this dress! The color is gorgeous and much deeper than in the photo. The beading and sequins looked great and the dress was overall really well-made. I would say the dress runs just a bit large -- usually a 6, but felt the 4 looked better as the bodice was too long on the other dress (I'm 5'1"). Would definitely recommend this dress for anyone with an hourglass shape -- so flattering! Only complaint: the boning was poking out a little bit in the bodice.
RTR CustomerNovember 21, 2011
Thanks for your feedback about the boning- we'll examine all the styles to make sure we take care of this!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
November 30, 2011
Parents Weekend
Very comfortable and fun to wear
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
December 12, 2011
Wore this dress to my school's Winter Formals. Hada great night in a great dress!
I've rented 5+ RTR dresses for various occasions, and this was my favorite. It was really comfortable, long enough to dance in, and fit like a glove. I highly recommend wearing it with the Nicole Miller pearl drop earrings that are suggested.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
December 14, 2011
So Happy!
I rented this dress for a banquet. I'm 5'5'', 130 lbs, large B/almost C cup bust. The sides of the dress are actually quite elastic so I probably could have gotten away with a two, but the four was great. I danced hard all evening and I had no issues with the dress falling down. One of the best aspects of this dress was the movement and how it flowed when I walked. I realize all computer monitors will show color differently, but the teal was darker than I thought (but still gorgeous). I highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
December 14, 2011
Great dress! A+++
I wore this dress to my sorority formal and got a lot of compliments! It was incredibly lightweight and was very fun to wear and dance in. The color is a lot richer and darker than in the photo (look at the photos other raters have posted for a better idea of the color), but this was not a big deal at all. The beading is very much silver/gray-- there is no gold in it! I wore silver shoes with small gem details, dark teal/smokey quartz earrings, and an onyx bracelet with this dress. Definitely plan to wear your hair up with this dress, especially if you have long hair like I do. I normally wear a size ten, but ordered the size twelve as a back up because I have a large bust. The ten fit beautifully, but the zipper was broken, so it would not properly zip. The twelve had an okay-fit, but was too roomy in the bust/back area, which is NEVER a problem for me! Despite this, the dress stayed up all night long (even if I wasn't!).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 22, 2011
Fun pretty party dress
I wasn't sure about this one when I rented it because I thought it looked a little plain, but I got it because the reviews were all positive. I was pleasantly surprised when I got it delivered. It was fun and sweet but the detailing at the top added a lot of personality and I felt like the dress was something special and different. It's a lightweight material, but I wore it in fall/winter with black tights. There's rouching at the back, so it stretches a little and stays in place. I would order your normal size and a size down. Overall, very feminine, pretty, and unique.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
January 4, 2012
Beautiful and comfortable
I wore this dress for a New Year party. The color is a bit darker and richer than in the photo, and the sequin detail was beautiful. I wore it with just black pumps and a black wrap. I would usually wear a size 6 and the 6 fit fine. But then I tried on the 4, and it fit great too, which I ended up wearing. The back has a very stretchy smocking panel, so the smaller size felt a little more secure. I have a very large chest (34D) and it fit great. I wore a full bustier bra and the dress hid it very well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
January 10, 2012
New Years Eve
I rented this dress as a backup for NYE and ended up wearing it. The color and sequins are beautiful in real life. I paired the dress with the showstopper earrings from RTR, nude patent leather heels, wore my hair in a fancy ponytail, and got lots of compliments. There is some stretch in the back, so you may want to size down for your backup size. The full skirt would be great on pear shaped ladies to hide the hips/butt. The one caveat is that the bodice has absolutely no structure, so make sure to wear it with a good strapless bra or, better yet, a bustier.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
January 11, 2012
Great dress!
This dress fit really well and supported my bust nicely. It was cute and comfortable. My only complaint is that the plastic boning in the bodice to keep it sturdy popped through the material and was poking me in the armpit. Other than that, I loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 19, 2012
Just enough sparkle to ring in the New Year!
I wore this dress for New Year's Eve on a yacht, and it was so cute! I usually wear a 6, but got the 4 as my backup size. It definitely runs a little big because it has elastic panels on the sides. I would definitely recommend getting your normal size and the next size down.The color in person is even prettier than it is in pictures. I am 5'4", and it was just above my knees, which I thought was appropriate for this... even though I usually wear them shorter :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 20, 2012
Fun dress!
This dress was really fun and great for dancing. I wore it to a winter wedding and did black tights. I usually wear a 6, and I ordered an 8 as a back-up. There was not much different in the 2 sizes but I wore the 6 because it stayed up a little better. Some of the sequins had been pulled up but other than that the dress was in good shape.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
January 29, 2012
LOOVED!
I LOVED this dress! It fit perfectly, and I got so many compliments! It's even more amazing in person! I didn't want to give it back!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 5, 2012
Wore to a dance; received many compliments!
Beautiful and comfortable. Light, flowy fabric, richer teal than in the RTR photo. I ordered size 8 with 6 as backup. I would have probably worn the 6 for a more fitted top that stayed up better, but it had a damaged zipper that made it impossible to wear. The 8 fit fine though, and the beading on both dresses was in perfect condition. Overall, a great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
February 13, 2012
Great Dress
Fits great, looks great!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 154lbs
February 18, 2012
Looking and feeling great on my 21st birthday.
This dress met and surpassed expectations. The dress is darker than pictured (which I hoped for) and the sequins added subtle festiveness for my little celebration. I felt so comfortable because of the skirt, which allowed me to move and sit and stand without having to worry about the insecurities that go with my pearest of pear shape. I accompanied the dress with black spiral tights from American Apparel and vintage black pumps.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
February 23, 2012
Great Dress!
I'm 6'0" and the dress was long enough! Elastic in the torso helps fit. If you're between two sizes I would get the smaller one.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
March 15, 2012
very pretty!
dress looked great on but the back zipper was impaired. its stretchy but still fit very good, i got a ton of complements on the beading!
DianaMarch 31, 2012
we have the exact same measurements... what size did you wear? thanks.
RebeccaJune 13, 2012
It says she wore a size two...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 18, 2012
Very pretty
This dress is very pretty and has a nice twirl factor! The 0 fit perfect however there is something wrong with the zippers on both dresses I received, the 0 and 2. On the 0, which is the one I ended up wearing, it had the original zipper but it kept getting stuck at one point and once I zipped it all the way up it undid itself. Luckily I managed to fix it. The 2's zipper had been replaced with some kind of industrial, cheap zipper that I couldn't even zip up. Everything worked out find but I was worried. The dress had a few minor snags but nothing too noticeable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
April 21, 2012
The fact that downs of people commented on how beautiful and fashionable I looked that night. I may have gone stag this once, but it was by far the best homecoming ever.
Hey! I rented this dress last year for Homecoming and I absolutely loved it! It was pretty and flattering in all the right places. I'm a pear shape so I'm always looking for something that skims over my hips without looking bulky. I loved the boning in this dress, it made it so comfortable and flattering. I definitely recommend it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
May 20, 2012
Pretty, easy to wear dress
This dress is very pretty. I wore it for a work charity event and this dress was fun and still professional enough (with a shrug). I am a petite 5'1" and this dress hit me at my knees. I don't usually wear strapless, but this fit nicely and stayed up with no tugging. The dark turquoise with steel gray and silver beading would compliment any coloring. Due to the elastic side panels, it is a true size fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 5, 2012
Class a frass
I wore this dress to a pretty formal wedding and it was lovely! It fit perfectly and had just enough sparkle. I wore black patent peep toes and they looked great. Lots of compliments for sure. I would highly recommend this dress to everyone.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 13, 2012
This dress is amazing!
This dress is absolutely gorgeous! Really, that's all I have to say. It is just beautiful. The sequins and color are really lovely (color is probably a bit darker than in the main photo here). It was a smidge big for me in the chest but it wasn't a problem at all. Also, it can definitely be worn to semi-casual and formal occasions alike. I wore it to a friend's graduation party and saw another woman wearing it to an awards gala at the Kennedy Center a few days later. Basically, I love this dress and wish I owned it!
GracelynOctober 5, 2012
I am the exact same measurements as you, so I was wondering how high above the knee the dress sat on you. I'm worried about the length making me look really short.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116lbs
June 14, 2012
Perfect dress to dance in
The dress looked much better in person than in the picture. It was my back-up dress but I ended up liking it more! It fit well in all the right places and the detail was beautiful. The color is rich and would be flattering on all skin colors.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
June 25, 2012
Being comfortable AND one of the best dressed at the party
This dress is beautiful! The handsewn sequins/beads really makes the dress special. The fabric has a great drape and the bodice has a stretchy panel in the back along the exposed zipper so it FITS without suffocating. Not having to tug up a strapless dress all night is priceless. aaaand I got a ton of compliments :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
July 13, 2012
LOVE!
Fit perfectly - the elastic sides were a pleasant surprise and a great asset. The skirt of this dress was very swishy and fun. I loved it so much I wanted to buy it so I could wear it again and again.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
July 15, 2012
Super fast and easy shipping! Everyone kept asking where I got my dress and I hated to share my secret but my friends are obsessed now!
Wore this for my 21st birthday and got so many compliments! It was super comfortable and the color was even better than the picture. It fit perfect on the length and the peacock beading was my favorite part. The silver glitz bangle set matched perfectly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
July 22, 2012
This dress made me feel great and it was so comfortable for a night of dancing.
I wore this to a family wedding and it was perfect- flattering and not too revealing. I danced the whole night and did not have to worry at all about it falling down. My back-up size was not available so I was a little worried about the 0 fitting, but it fit great. I think this dress is better in person than in pictures and I got compliments on it all night long.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
July 23, 2012
I got lots of compliments on my dress and the amount of sparkly detail! It had a great twirl quality to it which was great for dancing at the wedding, would definitely do again for special events!
I wore this to an Indian wedding and the color and peacock design were great, got many compliments. My main issue with fit was actually the lack of structure for the strapless area ie the only thing holding it up was elasticized ruching which I am confident has been worn out over time so even the smaller dress isn't tighter in the bust, only tighter in the waist so the cups just flop out which for anyone--busty or not, is not a good thing! I ended up pinning my strapless bra to the dress in multiple places (about 8 safety pins total) so it would hold up all night. Other than that it was a great party dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
July 25, 2012
Beautiful and I got a lot of compliments.
Wore this to a NYE wedding. It was just sparkly enough for the occasion. The waist is a little short so if you have a long torso I would not recommend.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×