Desert Sequin Sun Dress

$72 to buy
$335 retail
Stylist Notes

You're an animal! Bring out that inner tiger ladies and dance the night away in this nude, sequin print Rebecca Taylor dress.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection with elastic band
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips; curvier women may need to size up in backup for length
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection with elastic band
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips; curvier women may need to size up in backup for length
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Printed sequins(100% polyester). Scoop neckline. Bloussant waist. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
180 reviews
Fit
Large
(56)
True to Size
(110)
Small
(5)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
June 23, 2013
Fun, flouncy dress for going out
Dress is super short on the sides, but had a more tunic-like fit in the front. It was a little blousey-er on the sides than I thought it would be. Great color and the flat, clear sequins looked great up. All my girlfriends wanted to wear it out for our Girl's Weekend in Ocean City.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 24, 2013
Best Birthday Ever!
I rented this for my 23rd birthday party. I wanted something fun and sparkly, and that's exactly what it was! However, it didn't look super amazing on me. I have zero curves, and this dress made that very obvious. But, I don't regret renting it all. It was perfect for going out and dancing all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 1, 2013
Perfect dress for the occasion!
Wore the dress to a formal dinner/dance. Wanted something fun and youthful without being too revealing or overly dressy. This dress was perfect! Loved the color and the texture. Super comfortable to dance in, and had plenty of room to be able to enjoy eating dinner. Ran a bit large in the waist, I am normally a size 2, but ordered a 2 and a 4 after reading some reviews of the dress being too short. As I am 5'4", the length was perfect, but I could have gone with a size 0 in the waist. Overall, LOVED the dress!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
July 4, 2013
Fierce!
The fit was great! It is a much sexier style than what I normally wear. However, I felt very comfortable the whole night. There was no tugging on this or pulling up that. I felt amazing the entire night!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 8, 2013
Amazing Dress!!
I rented this dress for a girls night out expecting to like it, but i fell in LOVE with it. It was loose and comfortable and yet still very form flattering. The dress runs a little big so I would size down for your backup. Can't say enough good things about this dress. Perfect girls night out dress. Will deff rent again!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
July 17, 2013
I rented this dress for a girls night out and it was great! It fit well and was super comfy! Love!
The only problem I had with the dress was the straps were not adjustable. I'm pretty short so it would have been a little better with adjustable straps.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
July 29, 2013
I wore this for my birthday... I LOVED IT!!
I always have a problem with straps on everything.. these were long on me. But I used the fashion tape that came with the dress to hold it in place. I loved the way this fit.. I felt so carefree in the dress. There was no hassle of constantly fixing it. The sequins were the perfect birthday glam touch.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
August 5, 2013
Perfect dress for my 30th birthday party downtown!
I wish I could keep this dress! I felt so comfortable and beautiful all night. I got so many compliments! I usually wear an 8 in pants but a 10 in dresses due to my bust size. I read the reviews and got an 8. It was perfect. Straps were a little long but nothing that was a serious pain to deal with. I accessorized with gold and threw a denim vest on top to edge it up a bit!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 6, 2013
LOVED this dress! Wore it for my sister's bachelorette party. Sexy but pretty comfortable..
The length is great if you're on the shorter side, the only weird feature are the straps, definitely too long. I almost wore the 2 because the straps were so short but the 2 was just too fitting on top. I just dealt with it and didn't worry about it. Wore a nude strapless bra which worked great. Pairing it with nude platform pumps made my legs look long and lean too. Would definitely rent it again if I had the opportunity!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
August 6, 2013
Perfect for bachelorette party + vacation in Miami.
I have been stalking sale sites to snag this baby for myself. Great party dress for a summer night celebrating and dancing. It's short but not unreasonable - just mind your bend-and-snaps. The gold sequin overlay wasn't overpowering (and it didn't scratch under my arms either). The animal print (snakeskin?) is subtle. Received lots of compliments. Elastic waistband hit at smallest part of waist and the dress has a really cute profile. The straps are not adjustable but the neckline was fine, actually more conservative than I'd anticipated. I went with a strapless bra (it's lined enough so you could wear nude or black), but if you have a smaller chest you could probably go braless. Also looks killer with heels but if you happen to have an unfortunate foot injury (not naming names) you can get away with flats.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
August 16, 2013
fun, comfortable dress.
This was an easy dress to wear. The fit runs big ( I ordered a 2 and a 0 and the 0 was still roomy) so I wore it with a belt I already owned. The neckline is a little higher than I realized and doesn't show any cleavage. The sequins are not itchy at all as there is a nice liner in the dress. I liked the subtle animal print in the sequins.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 23, 2013
Did not work for me.
The dress looked rather drab, and did not fit at all the way that I had hoped. The shoulders were really tight, and the waistline was boring. Thankfully this was my back up dress. My friend tried it on and it looked really cute on her more curvaceous figure.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
August 27, 2013
Almost perfect fit
I usually wear a 6-8, this dress fit perfect with the exception of the straps, they are way to long. I ended up wearing it as a racer back. This was my back-up dress and I ended up wearing it for my birthday.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 3, 2013
You'll Sparkle!
Though its sequins, I wore it to a party/concert/day event. It was my birthday weekend and wanted to add a little sparkle to my day. I dress down the sequins with flat sandals and long strap bag. It's a loose dress except for the elastic gathering at waist. It is short. It was comfortable. I can imagine how sexy it would be with heels! No complaints really.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 5, 2013
Absolutely perfect for my bachelorette party!
I wore this dress for my bachelorette party at the beach over labor day. It was beyond perfect. I've never felt better in a dress. It was fun, flirty, showed off just the right amount of skin and was extremely comfortable. I found it to run pretty true to size and loved the elastic waist that made it super comfortable to dance in all night long. I also loved the very slight kerchief hemline, it gave a little sneak peak and a tiny bit more leg at every turn. I was complimented everywhere I went and the gold color & shimmer was great against my pale but sun-kissed complexion. This dress could be perfect on anyone! Cons - honestly, not a single one.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 10, 2013
This dress was perfect for the Great Gatsby themed party I went to!
I'm usually a size 8 in dresses but ended up wearing a size 10 in this dress. I'm pear-shaped so the 8 fit my bust perfectly but was a little tight on my hips. The 10 was perfect on my hips but big on top so I ended up safety-pinning the straps. If you are curvy, hourglass, or pearshapped I'd suggest grabbing a larger size just in case. I paired this dress with blush pink Sam Edelman pumps and it was perfect. This is an absolutely gorgeous dress and I got so many compliments on it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
September 11, 2013
Size up if you're full chested
I ordered this as a backup dress, and did not wear it. I'm a 36DD and the chest was a little too tight in the chest area in a size 8.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
September 15, 2013
The Kate Spade jewlery helped transform the dress into what I needed!
It fit pretty true to my size. It was a little big but I am super small! I loved everything about this dress and its a great price! I loved the dress and it went really well with my skin tone!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 20, 2013
Cute, but not meant for someone my build
This dress is light and cute, but the way it is cut at the top isn't flattering on my figure.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
November 4, 2013
Comfortable, fun and gorgeous! I had a great time wearing this dress!!
Pros: sparkly and gorgeous! Cons: a little bit short
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 23, 2013
Could have been better
I ordered this as my backup dress, and I'm so glad that my first choice fit because this was pretty bad. I knew that it ran large, but I was afraid of it being too short on my long legs. However I was wrong in my thinking because nothing about it fit me. The elastic in the waist was completely stretched out (I'm assuming by another renter who should have gone up a size) to the point that it hung super straight and boxy. Also the straps were too long. The color was great and I loved the sequins, but I never would have been able to wear it. I just wish I would have gotten a 4 that was not worn out. Oh welll, you win some, you lose some. Luckily I LOVED my other pick!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 16, 2013
Ehhh
I didnt really like this dress, looked better on model. It was super short, but I didn't like the way it fit around the waist. I couldnt really fold it over where the elastic was because it was so short and I wanted it to fit as straight as possible. My least fave out of my RTR picks.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
December 17, 2013
Different Color in Person
I got this dress as my back up dress for a formal. When it arrived, I was surprised to see that it was more tan than it was gold. I was expecting it to be much lighter. It also ran a little large. I'd say it's more fit for summer than winter occasions.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
May 13, 2013
Wore this for a Gatsby themed event.
The fit was true to size and the quality of the dress was great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 26, 2013
Perfect for a Semi Formal
I have longer legs and it was a bit short on my but overall good fit!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
April 17, 2013
Would rent again, like the subtle shine! Great for Vegas!
Nice and flowy, but straps are not adjustable. Strapless bra, forgiving bottom!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 19, 2013
very comfortable for dancing
very pretty, understated sparkle
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
January 1, 2014
Short... can be dressed down & worn as a tunic!
After seeing in other reviews that this dress is quite short, I realized I could dress it down for a more casual New Year's Eve event by wearing it over leggings and boots, belting it, and wearing a cashmere cardigan over it to help balance out the black legs. The 10 fit a bit more snuggly and thus worked better as a tunic top for me (the 12 had a fuller-looking skirt that made it look more like a dress on me). Other reviews were spot-on about the straps being too long (which was fine for me since the slack was hidden under my sweater, but might be a problem for others!). The clear-colored sequins are sparkly but more subtle than metallic sequins. Also, I agree that the color was more beige than the gold color depicted in the model photo. Overall, I loved the dress -- it was perfect to give me a little NYE sparkle and remain casual enough for the event I attended.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 28, 2014
It was a really pretty dress and with hair and makeup it worked for the 1920s party I went to
I usually wear a size 4 but the top of the size 4 is too big. It slips really low and showed my bra. The 2 fit better but the waist band on the dress was stretched out. The dress would be 4 stars but since I couldn't wear the one that fit properly overall I think it was a 3 for the experience.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
January 31, 2014
Loved this sparkly dress!
This dress was so much fun to wear. I wore it to a club in Vegas and received a lot of compliments. I normally wear an 8, but ordered both the 6 & 8 after reading the reviews that it runs large. It does run large, but it also runs short! The 8 was too big on the top, so I went with the short 6. I loved this dress and had a lot of fun wearing it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
February 18, 2014
super cute dress, but really short.
got this to wear at a destination wedding, but it was too short. It barely covered my ...so sad.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 119lbs
February 28, 2014
Loved how I could move around in my dress.
The dress is gorgeous. I usually wear a size 2 in dresses so I ordered a 2 and 4. It turned out that the size 4 dress wasn't in stock at the time so I ordered a 0 and a 2 instead. The 0 ended up being big on me, with the 2 being HUGE. I used a belt around the waist raise to fix the problem, and it ended up working perfectly. It was a little short, but I loved it.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
March 5, 2014
Perfect for Vegas!
While I really liked this dress, I didn't love it. The sizes I received were odd... the 2 was too big and the 4 fit fine. The straps are NOT adjustable so if you have a smaller frame/bust you will be pulling the dress up all night. Looked great, but with all the other amazing dresses that RTR has, I wouldn't recommend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
March 16, 2014
Loved this dress!
Rented this dress for a great gatsby themed party and it was perfect! The dress was darker than I expected but it looked great and was really sparkly under the dim bar lights. Fit great although it wasn't tight around the waist. Wanted another excuse to wear it before I sent it back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 2, 2014
Obsessed
I am pretty tall so I always have to be careful of the length of dresses, but this dress was the perfect length for me. The straps are a little long and not changeable. Normally wear a 4, but a 2 was perfect
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 24
April 2, 2014
Lots of compliments!
I wore this to a New Years themed party. Usually size 0 fits me perfectly, but the mid section was a little wide and the straps were a little too long on me!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 99lbs
April 16, 2014
Wore this to my gatsby-themed junior prom! Perfect for the night!
I ordered the 0 and the 2. I first tried the 0 which was a tad too big so I didn't even bother with the 2! To fix the fit issue I used fashion tape along the chest and waist area. Other than being slightly large, it was perfect! Absolutely wonderful. It made me feel so special and beautiful for prom. It is loose enough to be comfortable yet shows enough skin to feel flirty! Such a lovely dress. I hated to send her away!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
April 18, 2014
I wore this dress for a night out in Vegas! It fit great.
This dress was very flattering. It made my waist look small and my legs look long. The sides of the dress are a little higher than the front, which was a fun detail.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 22, 2014
Easy fit & fabulous!
I wore this dress for my Bachelorette Party in Vegas. We did a sequin theme and this dress was perfect! It's a really easy fit and very flattering. It's a tad large so I wore the zero. The straps aren't adjustable so if you have small shoulders you'll need the smaller size. Also the elastic waist band was a little too big in the size 2, but I have a small waist. Would love to find something to rent this dress for again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
April 29, 2014
Didn't Fit
Unfortunately, both sizes I ordered were too big for me. It seemed like the waistband on the dress was really stretched out and the dress just didn't look right on me. Sad to say I was unable to wear it, and had to run out and buy a dress at the mall at the last minute for my bachelorette party. I'd love to try RTR again, but I'm afraid of wasting my $ again! :(
See more reviews:
3 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×