Rebecca Taylor

Daria Peplum Dress

$105 to buy
$350 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

You'll be the spitting image of Audrey Hepburn in this ultra-feminine Rebecca Taylor dress. Ruffled sleeves and a peplum at the waist create the perfect hourglass silhouette.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - ruffle accents at waist gives the illusion of curves while also concealing any flaws
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips and backside-curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'11''.)

Product Details

Black crepe. Crew neckline with slit. Short sleeves with ruching and ruffles. Peplum detail at waist. Back slit. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip with ribbon detail. 38'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
83 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(58)
Small
(21)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 1, 2010

Cute dress, a little frumpy, normally I wore a 4 and the 4 was too big. As someone else mentioned this dress just does not look right unless it is fitted perfectly. Kind of felt like something I should wear to a funeral...but still got lots of complements.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
July 27, 2011

I LOVED wearing this dress. I usually wear a 4 or a 6, and I'm pretty busty. I wore a 4 in this. I wore it to a wedding and received numerous compliments. My only complaint is that the zipper wasn't working when I received it. When I took it to the tailor, it was a quick fix.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
December 7, 2011
Loved it

I loved this dress. I actually wore it twice in the four days I had it. I first wore it to a business dinner and then a fundraiser brunch and it was perfect for both! It was sophisticated and very flattering. I was surprised that the size 4 fit better than the 6 (thank goodness for back-up sizes!). Great rental!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
August 20, 2012
Runs very large - cute though!

I rented this dress for a work conference and I rented a size 6 and a size 4. I normally have success with fitting into one or the other depending on the dress and the cut. I didn't end up wearing either as the 4 was too big. Although this made me feel great - unfortunately there wasn't enough body definition to wear. I would definitely rent the size 2 sometime in the future.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 144lbs
April 20, 2012
a bit snug ...

This is a really cute dress. Unfortunately, it was a bit snug. I am usually a 6-8 but could have used a bit more room in this 8. The material is a lightweight crinkly type (not as thick as looks in pic)... If ordering, go a size up for your backup size...

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
June 11, 2012
beautiful dress

i rented this dress for my nephew's bar mitzvah and i loved it. the dress does run small though so i am so glad i ordered the size up as my secondary dress. i almost always wear a 2 in dresses but had to wear the 4 in this one. i absolutely love this dress. my only complaint is that the fabric is not that great and i had to steam it before wearing because it was so wrinkled. the size 2 (which i didn't wear) was a little dirty. otherwise, i loved this dress

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 25, 2012
Wonderful!

I wore this dress for a job interview and absolutely LOVED it! it was perfect. I picked a size 2 and 4 and ended up wearing the 4. It was very form fitting, so I wish I would have gotten the dress in a 4 and 6 instead.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
September 9, 2012
A bit small

Good overall. The opening of the dress is a bit flimsy though.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
October 24, 2012
I wore this to a sorority philanthropy event.

I was disappointed by Rebecca Taylor's choice of material for this dress. It was a synthetic material that was not a high quality. Also, there is a slit in the back that runs pretty high, so be wary if you are tall! I was constantly fidgeting to ensure that others did not get too much of a view of my backside. At the same time, though, I received many compliments from others! Overall, I think that I looked fine but there are better black peplum dresses out there.

LindseyOctober 24, 2012
I agree about the slit in the back I had to wear a slip.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 14, 2012
Happy Hour....Not so Happy

I was looking for a dress to wear to a friend's happy hour networking event. I was impressed with some of the pictures and reviews so I took a chance (there were a lot of negative reviews so I was skeptical). I wasn’t at all impressed with the fabric, it felt cheap. It runs extremely small and is not made for curvy girls. I usually wear a six or eight, but after reading the reviews I decided to get the eight and ten, both were a no go.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
November 24, 2012
Runs small...Not a fan of the material

I thought that dress would have been a more luxe material, however, I was very disappointed by it when it actually came in. AND to boot, it was a very small size 12. I'm rather 'hippy", and this dress didn't come close to fitting.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
December 17, 2012
I wore this dress to my wedding rehearsal and rehearsal dinner. My now-husband was drooling! :)

The dress was a little snug but in a sexy way. It doesn't look like much on the hanger but when you put the dress on it's HOT! Add some bling and you are good to go.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
March 30, 2013
very narrow in the hips

I rented this dress to wear to Easter brunch. I was disappointed that it was so narrow in the hips. It was a really cute dress but not meant for a curvy girl.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
August 16, 2013
My curves did not work with this dress.

Loved the style, but unfortunately it didn't fit and I didn't have a back up size. I have what's called a "shelf-booty" and this just didn't want to work with it! I should have ordered the next size up.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 5, 2013
Peplum may just not be my thing

It was a little small. Not really appropriate for weddings as it is a little casual.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
September 16, 2013
Not really work appropriate

I was excited to try this dress. I reviewed all of the photos on this site. Everyone looked great! I wear an 8/10 so I ordered the 8 and 10. The 8 was a bit tight in the waist so I tried the 10. The 10 was tighter in the hips than the 8! The dress itself was a lightweight and non stretchy fabric. I work in a very conservative office. I think this dress is more appropriate for semi formal affairs than the office given its form fitting shape. The dress didn't look bad, just not what would be acceptable in my office. yMMV.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
January 15, 2014
They've been very helpful.

The material is kind of cheap feeling and it was way too small. It would not even fit over my hips nor chest, and of course the next size up was not available. I ended up returning this dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
March 14, 2014
Loved this dress! So many complements!

This is a fabulous dress, looks amazing. Overall, fit is good, but snug in hips. Similar to what others have said though, this size 0 looks like it has been worn a lot. Very hard to get neckline to stay put and not flip over. I used tape to keep down. Also, crepe fabric wrinkles pretty easily; I had to iron before wearing. But it is very eye catching, and works beautifully for day time transition to night time events. Loved it!!!!!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
July 8, 2014
Too short, too tight

This was sent as backup when my first choice didn't fit. Didn't end up wearing this either. One was too tight for occasion, other was a little too short. If I had upsized again maybe it would have fit but that would have been 2 more sizes higher than my usual.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
September 26, 2014
This was the perfect dress style for a professional cocktail event.

I usually wear an 8. The 10 was more comfortable, but I wore the 8 because the style looks better if it's snug (in my opinion). There is a tiny bit of stretch.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
January 9, 2011

This dress did not fit how I thought it would. It almost came to my knees!

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 129lbs
June 10, 2014
Perfect fit! I loved this dress!!!

This was one of the most flattering dresses I have ever worn. It fit my petite frame great! Simple and classy!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
July 16, 2012
Beautiful But Run Small

Beautiful dress but defensively not for pear shaped women. The dress ran really small and the hem was loose in the front of dress. Since it didn't fit, I didn't wear it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
August 1, 2012
Perfect

This dress fit perfectly. I ended up going with the 6 because it had more room but the 4 fit also especially if you like a more snug fit. I am 5'0 and the length was just perfect!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Athletic
March 12, 2013
Couldn't make it work...

Just to echo the other comments, this dress runs very small. I am a true 8 but figured I would wear a 10 based on the reviews, but RTR was out of the 10 on the day I needed the dress. So I tried the 8, and it was VERY tight and not appropriate for the work event I needed it for, so I couldn't wear it. However, if it had fit properly, it would have been a perfect dressy yet work-appropriate dress, if that's what someone is looking for! I am busty and was worried that it would cut too low in the front but that was not the case. Just FYI, I ordered the DVF Bam Pow dress as the back-up and that was a fantastic choice!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 7, 2010

I loved this dress! It is prefectly cut (i am usually a 6 and ordered the 4 & 6 and ended up wearing the 4)and fitted, but needs to be snug to look right. I would rent again and recommend this to anyone.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 8, 2010

Perfect for a wedding. Fit great. Prompt arrival and convenient delivery and return.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
December 18, 2010

beautiful dress. wore with black tights and with the Azaara's Silver Flower Earrings. i'm very satisfied with everything.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
January 13, 2011

I wore this dress to a funeral and it was exactly what I was looking for, conservative yet stylish. Wonderful fit for women with a curvy body type.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 6, 2011

Fantastic dress that's great for day or night. Very chic and flattering for my curvy figure. Wore it for a work event, but could easily wear it for a wedding or dinner, as well. Depending on the brand, I wear a 4 or a 6, but wore the size 4 of this dress.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
June 9, 2011

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
August 1, 2011

This was a great dress - fit like a glove and to size. If you're shorter than the model this dress will run more towards your knees than mid-thigh length. The only small issue was the slit across the chest, because the flaps of fabric fell to the side instead of remaining flat across my chest

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 28, 2011

Loved this dress! I wore it to a business dinner function and it was perfect. Definitely understated while still fun and figure friendly. This just above my knees, which worked better for my occasion. Only downside is that the two "flaps" up top did not want to stay up. TIP - get double sided fashion tape and you will look flawless.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 19, 2012
It was so easy to rent.

I really loved this dress and got many compliments on the look. A few of my friends made comments about how professional it looked but that is one of the reasons I loved it. It is a very classic and chic LBD. The fit was perfect and was very flattering. I don't really have much of a figure but this dress really worked with my "boyish" shape. The only negative thing I will say about this dress is that the material isn't what I was expecting. It isn't as structured in person as it is in the online photo. However, I still loved it and definitely recommend it to anyone for any occasion. The dress also made a perfect addition to my style blog at www.sparklesandstripes.com and being able to rent the dress made a great post title!

HannahJanuary 19, 2012
im thinking about renting this for graduation? i love the look! but is it too wintery?
RTRJanuary 19, 2012
Hi Hannah, this dress is definitely appropriate for a graduation this season. It's made of black crepe, so it's not super heavy.
HannahJanuary 19, 2012
thanks for the speedy response!
amberJanuary 19, 2012
Will dress be to warm for June wedding in palm Springs?
AlexaJanuary 19, 2012
Love your entire look - perfect styling with the bold clutch and heels.
Tricia January 19, 2012
I love the look very professional which is what I need for an event
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 138lbs
March 18, 2012
Professioanl enough for work

I ordered this dress for a different event that fell through, but ended up wearing it to work. It was professional, but offered a different look than my typical work sheath dress. It was also very comfortable. The size 4 fit me even though I have larger hips, but I wore the 6. This was only because the size 4 was a bit worn out and looked perpetually wrinkled. This was probably just due to wear, but I think it should have been retired and not sent out. Luckily, the 6 wasn't too big. It actually made me feel more comfortable since I was going to work. Got lots of compliments, too.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 12, 2012
Simple

I rented this dress for honors convocation and ended up wearing a backup dress instead of this one. This dress was business-like and elegant, but it didn't have enough of a presence for me, which is why I went with another one. I ordered two sizes in this one - a 0 and a 2 and the 2 fit perfectly. The fabric doesn't have any stretch and the material is light. Overall, it's a simple black dress good for any formal or work related event. It is simple and classy.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
May 20, 2012
Day to night flattering dress

I rented this for a work event that went into the evening. It was not too loud for the day time, but still totally elegant enough for an evening out. I had also worried that this dress would be too warm and wintery for Spring but it was a lighter fabric than I had expected. Very happy with the cut and would definitely rent again

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
August 11, 2012
Classy, stylish LBD

This dress ran true to size and was a cute spin on the LBD with the peplum and ruffled cap sleeves. I would definitely rent this again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 17, 2012
Graduation

I rented this dress for my graduation. I really liked the look of it. Simple, but very pretty. The material I thought could have been nicer and it seemed a little worn out. The only available sizes when I rented were the 2 and the 4. I normally go for a 0 or 2. I didn't end up wearing either but just because of the size. If the material was a bit nicer, this would be an amazing dress.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 22, 2012
Easy and cute

Great dress. I felt pretty, but totally comfortable.

See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×