Rent the Runway

Rachel Roy

Coral Origami Sheath

$40 rental
$445 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

You'll be the talk of the party when you walk in wearing this Rachel Roy dress! Perfect for the modern Jackie O to stand out at the next dinner party or nail that upcoming interview.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 4 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 4 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Coral stretch crepe(96% wool; 4% elastane). Square neckline. Cap sleeves with pleating detail. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 40'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

85 reviews

Fit
Small 10
True to Size 62
Large 12
Photos 39
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190 lbs
Apr 8, 2012

I was in search of a dress that complimented my style and when I saw this dress I had to have it. The excitement of arriving home and the dress being on my doorstep two days before my event was awesome. Most importantly, trying on the dress (and it fitted) and then looking in the mirror and tears forming as I realized how beautiful I looked.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Tina C. Hines This sheath was the perfect attire for the launching of my business. The color was exactly what I was looking for and I loved the way the square neck accented my neckline. The shape of the dress contoured my body. All of my guests (and people who saw the photo) fell in love with the dress just like I did. Thank you Rent the Runway.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
May 19, 2012

I felt like I looked great!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a television appearance, and the color looked great on tv! It fit well, and didn't add any extra "pounds" for the camera. Thanks RTR!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 138 lbs
Jun 13, 2012

The color and fit of the dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress!! I got lots and lots of compliments. The color is fantastic and the fit is wonderful. I have a small waist but athletic arms and legs. The fabric is sturdy but with a nice amount of stretch. I loved the sleeves and the length was perfect, I am petite and it came just past my knees. You won't regret this purchase! It's so fun!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
Sep 12, 2012

So many compliments!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
At a wedding where I knew only the bridge and groom (and my boyfriend, who was in the wedding party), I received so many compliments from the other guests about how gorgeous the dress was. It was a little big up top (I'm not very busty) so the shoulders felt a little loose, and the length was longer than I would've liked (going past my knees) but it was very comfy all day long. The length might be fine for others, I just have a long torso and really short legs (I'm more like 5'2.75" with a 29-30" jeans inseam). Did I mention all the compliments?? I just wish I had a real photo! (The one I've uploaded was where I was trying to decide which shoes to wear, so it's not a great shot, but you can see how long the dress was on me.) And maybe some RTR referral cards to hand out!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 3, 2012

I needed a bright dress to wear to a big political event, and this did the trick.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I found the dress to run a big large around the middle. But all told, I got tons of compliments and definitely stood out. A great dress that I wish I owned... in a 4.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 7, 2012

Knockout dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Loved the way this dress looked - I felt like I stepped of the Mad Men set. My only issue was it was a little too low cut for me. I didn't really notice that on the model photo but pretty sure everyone sitting across from me at dinner got an eyeful (whether they wanted it or not!).
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 12, 2012

This was my first time using RTR. The process could not have been any easier.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress fit was true size. It hugs the body, but there is plenty of stretch. You can wear a bra with straps, which is a bonus. Got a bunch of complements and loved the color.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 13, 2012

Beautiful color and cut that flatters a large bust and a long waist! Perfect for dancing all night.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is definitely a dress that looks better on than on the model. I have a large bust, a long waste and broad shoulders, and this dress was fabulous. The square neck is VERY flattering for a 34DD, and the A-line is very slimming through a long torso. I wore this for a fall (October) wedding, and it was absolutely perfect. The earrings came as a part of the Stylist Surprise, and I really liked them. I would not have picked them out myself, but they really complimented the dress and completed the look. The shoes were mine - nude pumps like Kate Middleton's.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 19, 2012

Gorgeous, Eye Catching Dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress will definitely turn heads. It's a gorgeous orange color and I wore it for a work gala the weekend before Halloween, so it was perfect in that respect. Unfortunately, it wasn't the best fit for me. I'm a true pear shape, and this dress really doesn't work very well. I was literally taped into the top so that people wouldn't be looking down my dress when I leaned over. Close coworkers commented that they thought the dress looked like it fit perfectly, but it didn't. Had I tried this on in a store with the thought of buying, I would never have purchased this dress. It was fun wearing it and it looked fine, but I was constantly worrying about the tape. If you're a pear, you'll probably feel more secure and comfortable in other dresses.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
May 5, 2013

This dress fit great and had so many comments "You look great and I love that dress"

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
perfect in the bust if you have a large bust and curves
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
May 14, 2013

CHIC DRESS!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress- the fit is flattering without showing too much skin. It was the perfect color for a summer wedding and the Erickson Beamon earrings were fab as well. I received so many compliments on both the dress and earrings.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
May 16, 2013

I loved the dress! It was unique and very comfortable.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was very easy to wear. I initially had difficulty with the zipper and after tugging for a little while, I got it zipped up. Otherwise, it was a fun, easy dress wear.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148 lbs
Jun 5, 2013

This dress was amazing, i legit have sero complaints about it. I got so many compleiments all night!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress made be feel skinny and beautiful for the wedding i went to. I am usually a size 6 in jeans so i got a 4 and a 6 just in case and the 6 fir good but the 4 fit like a glove and i ended up going with the 4. It was a wedding in miami for my boyfriends cousin and while everyone else was wearing bland colors i really stoof out and made a splash and a great impression on the family!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 6, 2013

This dress fit great. I wore it to a formal event, and received many compliments on it.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I would suggest wearing this dress with a strapless bra. The material is soft and comfortable, and stretchy. It molded well to my body and I received tons of compliments on it. Great dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Jun 10, 2013

This dress fit so well! . I got so many compliments and felt great the whole night!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am 5'11 so the length was perfect for me. I can't tell you much I loved this dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 28, 2013

Rachel Roy can do no wrong!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
After renting a different Rachel Roy dress (the Good Karma Sheath) and falling in love with the way it fit and flattered my body type, I called RTR to change my dress for another upcoming rental to this Rachel Roy. I could not be happier with my gut check reaction. Her dresses are prefect for an hourglass shape. And just as the last dress I rented, while the 6 (my usual size) fit and looked fine, the 4 fit like a glove and really showed off how beautiful the dress was. The vibrant orange color was perfect for a summer wedding (it even earned a compliment from one of the female bartenders at the wedding), and the Kendra Scott Emerald earrings were a great color combination along with a gold bracelet and nude pumps. The length is also perfect and appropriate for a wedding. My only complaint is that I wish RTR carried even more Rachel Roy dresses!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152 lbs
Sep 24, 2013

Showstopper

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I (deliberately) chose this dress for a huge business presentation in a room full of men in navy & charcoal suits. The details on the neckline and back were gorgeous. (See close up) The fit was perfect -- not too tight, not too loose. It was literally breathtaking, yet classic and totally business appropriate. No one missed me; everyone complimented me.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 64
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 29, 2014

When a friend who knows me well asked his wife who the woman in the great orange dress was.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was a tighter fit than I am used to, but it was such a beautiful dress I just stepped out with confidence and had a great evening with many compliments.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
May 16, 2014

Fabulous color!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The top was a little large for me, since I am pear shape but given the structure of the dress, it still looked great. I got so many compliments all night at the benefit dinner I wore this to!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
May 18, 2014

Great looking dress made for a wonderful evening

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for a formal work event and received tons of compliments. I am tall, and have what you might call "child bearing hips" but this dress looked great on. It does show every little bump, so if you have any tummy issues spanx are a must!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
May 21, 2014

The topic of conversation at a work event

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This orange dress is perfect for a work event or a casual affair, depending on accessories. My colleagues admired it all evening, especially the color. I found the fit slightly snug in hips and slightly loose in the top, and also a bit short waisted, but nothing major.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Jun 2, 2014

I knew that I looked better than everyone else at the event!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I normally wear a 6, but probably should have sized up. I had to wear Spanx so that there were no panty lines or bulges. The fabric is slightly stretchy and form fitting.. On a positive note, I really loved the color. It was so beautiful! I can say that I had the most beautiful dress at the wedding (don't tell the bride).
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 3, 2014

Amazing Dress!! So glad I rented this!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
If you are curvy, rachel roy is the best! I got so many compliments on this dress!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 15, 2014

Eye Popping Color!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Lot's of complements on this dress. Wore with gold jewelry and ivory snakeskin pumps to a fundraiser luncheon. Material is a little thin but it has stretch to it. Tight in the shoulders for me but I am larger on top.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 22, 2014

A little disappointed….

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The reviews of this dress are very good - was a little shocked given the material (very thin). I couldn’t wear any type of Spanx because no matter what some line (even in seamless) would show through (if not the stomach then the legs or back). Wrinkles very easily, so if you fly with it, you will definitely have to do some ironing, which is tough on the shoulders. Just something to be aware of!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 23, 2014

I wore this to a charity polo event, and it was a classy knock-out--so many compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Great for an hour glass, really hugged my curves. Definitely some stretch. Will hit below the knees on shorties, which I prefer.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 7, 2014

I really enjoyed the quick customer service with my purchase.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
None of my bras would fit under the dress hidden from view even with the strap clips on the shoulders. I'm kinda busty and this dress made me look flat chested without a bra. The size 6 fit better on the upper portion of my body and didn't hang or make me look like I had huge shoulder pads but the but area was super tight. The size 8 was loose enough on the waist but the dress didn't hang right on my body. The dress is beautiful but its definitely for a taller person with a longer waist. The darts and seams didn't match up with the curves of my body and it felt like a sack. Both of my dresses had some damage to them as well. I ended up not wearing the dress to my event.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 8, 2014

Didn't receive as many compliments as I usually do in my RTR dresses.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress ran large in bust area, small everywhere else. More the smaller size to try to compensate for that so the dress was tighter than I would have liked. The sleeves were a little restricting, especially on the dance floor. And the color was a little different than in the picture. More reddish orange.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 23, 2014

Very cute but ran small.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I normally wear a size 6 (and usually get a size 8 for backup for Rachel Roy, but unfortunately an 8 was not available) so I ordered the 6. It was a gamble, and I lost. The 6 was just too tight around the hips.
RTR Customer
Age: 26
Jul 31, 2014

RTR did a nice job delivering on the services they promised.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I put "true to size" because it didn't really fit small or big overall . It was too big in the waist, yet cut too short. Then too right in the hips and thighs. I would consider myself someone with an hourglass figure. Tried on the six and it was too small in the hips. My coworker and I decided it would be fun to wear the same dress to our business party because our company color is orange. She is on the left and wearing the six. I am on the right. Overall, the cut was really funky and I wasn't impressed by it. For being a designer dress, it should've fit way better. Maybe you have to be a 2x4 plank for it to work.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 156 lbs
Aug 8, 2014

I wore this for an interview with the board. Beautiful dress,

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It does gape on top and you will need fashion tape.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Sep 20, 2014

Perfect fit. Classy yet sexy.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I love Rachel Roy- her dresses are just stunning. The detail is beautiful and the color is vibrant and the cut is flattering! I want to own this dress. Looked awesome and my fiancé loved it too!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Sep 30, 2014

Beautiful Color Brought Attention to a Timeless Silhouette

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this dress to a formal annual event for my law school. I was concerned at first that the dress was too "daytime;" but the color and beautifully snug material made the dress a perfectly classy dress for evening. Fits true to size - I wore it with emerald green and gold accessories. I received compliments all night, it was truly a standout.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148 lbs
Oct 11, 2014

Beautiful Dress!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress as my back up dress. I ended up wearing the other dress. This color & fit were perfect but I felt more comfortable in the other dress
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 12, 2014

Great rich Orange color!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress fit somewhat tight up top, and loosely comfortable everywhere else, not too tight, Only problem was the dress threading started coming undone in two certain spots and even torn the back split slightly, though I only did one slow dance,. Great length, very sexy still and very comfortable, not to tight. I would recommend
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Apr 1, 2015

Amazing fabric and love the sleeve detail, it's a bit long!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I rented this for work and LOVED it. The fabric was sleek and flattering. The sleeve detail was unique and like nothing I'd ever worn before. This was a little long on my 5'4 frame but I think it was still fine. The color popped on air and made me feel very pretty. If I wore this out on the town I'd pair it with a bright necklace in a contrasting hue (maybe blue or purple). Overall a fantastic dress! Will certainly rent this again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 10, 2015

Great structure and form fitting

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my bridal shower. I wanted to stay away from the typical white dress and this was perfect. It is more orange in photos than coral. It had a great fit and the length was very modest hitting right at the knee. The first time I put it on I felt like the shoulders made me look like a linebacker- but fortunately it didn't stay that way for long. This was a nice one time rental but not sure if I would rent again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
May 12, 2015

Cute, but would not recommend if you wear size 12

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Work
I rented this for an important business meeting. I usually fit well in a 12 in most designers, but this one felt like I was pushing the limit on the fabric. The dress was very tight and the neckline and sleeves layed oddly on my shoulders. Almost like the sleeves never felt like they stayed in the right place. The neckline was really low and even with a strapless bra, the tops of the strapless bra showed occasionally. Would not recommend renting if you usually wear a size 12 in anything.
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 8"
May 18, 2015

This gorgeous dress was my second choice but it was perfect!!

Size worn: 12
Rented for: Other
It fit perfectly on my hourglass figure. The only downside is that it was too low cut for the baptism I attended. Gorgeous color!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 11, 2015

Wore this for a political fundraiser.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was beautiful and I received many compliments. The material is elegant and the color is a coral red, beautiful. One con was I am petite and the shoulders were a little lose on me.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×