Proenza Schouler

Kaleidoscope Cut Out Dress

$147 to buy
$1,390 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

With a lustrous texture and chic cutouts, this sensational Proenza Schouler dress is definitely a style that makes you take notice. Paired with Badgley Mischka's Dramatic Drop Earrings for a seriously unstoppable look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - ribbed inserts allow some stretch in bodice though fitted in bust so full busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fabric highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow at hips so consider sizing up one or two sizes for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Multicolor metallic tweed. Crew neckline. Cutout detail at shoulder. Ribbed inserts on side. Hidden back zip. 35" from shoulder to hem.

Share
59 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(20)
Small
(38)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 17, 2011
Dress looks worn
The fabric of this dress looks a bit too worn to wear to any event. I would not recommend renting this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 9, 2012
Loved it!
The dress was beautiful. I'm 4'11" and it came to my knee. I got so many compliments on it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 7, 2012
Beautiful dress!
I typically wear a 2 or 4 and the 4 fit perfectly. I thought the material was great for an outdoor wedding since it was a bit heavier weight. The material is beautiful with the mix of colors and metallic sheen. It's a really sexy dress without being over the top. I loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
November 9, 2012
I did not end up wearing this.
It is really more tweed -- the picture shimmers more than it actually does. It also was really boxy and not a great fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
November 22, 2012
Loved the colors!
I rented this dress for new years. The material was a little different than I expected, but overall it fit great and looked great as well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
April 23, 2013
Super fun sorority party, with a very fun dress!
I received a size 0 and a size 4, unfortunately the zipper of the 4 was broken, so I had to go with the 0. It was SUPER tight, and the material does not have a lot of give. It was perfectly comfortable while standing and dancing, but very short while sitting. I would've definitely preferred a size 2, so make sure to get your real size! I wore it with nude strappy heels to play off of the blush color in the fabric, and a simple gold bracelet and a bag with gold hardware! I did get a ton of compliments on it, and I loved how much personality the dress had!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 30, 2013
Perfect fit and really stands out!
Fits really true to size, no stretch in the fabric though so I'd recommend going one size up for a backup. Beautiful dress and fun to wear!
CarmenFebruary 24, 2014
I am the same age as you and am considering this dress for a sorority formal. I 2 inches shorter than you, am slender, but have wide hips. Would you recommend this dress or will it be too much of a hassle?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 119lbs
December 22, 2013
Pretty!
This was my back up dress for a wedding, and while I wasn't crazy about it, I got a ton of compliments. It grows on you. Beautiful colors, the material was a bit odd but thick so it held everything in real well. I would recommend ordering a size up if you're a size betweener.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 30, 2013
Pretty and surprisingly comfortable
I rented this dress as an option for New Year's Eve, but I ended up choosing to wear another dress. However, I was pleasantly surprised by the fabric of this dress, both the color and texture were better than I had predicted. It wasn't as dressy looking as I was hoping for though, and I had read reviews saying to size up, so I ordered the 10 when I am usually an 8, and I wish I had just ordered an 8 because the 10 gave my body no shape. In the picture I am holding the extra fabric in the back to make it look more flattering. This would be a nice dress for a work function, maybe I'll find an occasion to order it again, next time in size 8.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
March 5, 2014
Great Dress!
I ordered this dress as my second style for a November wedding. While I ended up wearing an Herve Leger dress to the event, this dress was so great! I wish I would have had two weddings to wear it to! The cut-outs are chic but nothing too flashy. The fabric is sort of reminiscent to a tweed so it's a tad heavier than some other fabrics but it's not too short and it fit great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
April 27, 2014
Beautiful color!
I didn't end up wearing this dress but it fit perfect. You would need to wear a strapless bra and the fabric was a little scratchy.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
May 21, 2014
Wore dress to evening wedding.
Great dress. Very pretty. Zero stretch in fabric. Beware if you are pear shaped.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
July 9, 2014
This dress is amazing, wish I could have kept it!
This dress is so much fun! The fit, the colors, the cut outs, its a true show stopper. I wore this to a concert and after party in Nashville for the first night of my husband's 30th birthday weekend. The pictures online do not do this dress justice!! It is way more fabulous in person. I paired it with black pumps and gold accessories. The fit is very true to size, it fit like a glove. I would recommend going up a size for your back up if it is available because it is very fitted across the bodice. I got so many compliments on this dress and it was perfect for a night on the town!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 96lbs
September 18, 2014
beautiful colors
Kaleidoscope dress is the perfect name for this dress. The colors are vibrant and beautiful. The fabric doesn't have much give minus the black elastic sides. I'm a true 0 so this dress fit perfectly even after a 5 course meal and dessert. The only thing weird about the dress is the shoulders, because of the cutouts, it didn't sit perfect on my shoulders and sometime would awkwardly 'bunch up'.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 17, 2014
Seeing a dear friend wed, a very emotional evening!
I normally wear a size 8, however that wasn't available for the event I was renting for. And based on the reviews, I figured I would be fine with a 10. It actually was too big on me throughout. The slight advantage of that is that as the dress has no stretch, it was nice to have some extra space for things like getting in and out of the car. The dress is quite beautiful, got many compliments, but the make of the dress is just a little too restricting. I imagine that the 8 would have fit and looked way better, but I definitely would have been uncomfortable due to the non stretch fabric. I think a slit in the back would have made a huge difference in wearability. I also wonder if the dress had been stretched out over time because it pooched very oddly in the stomach area. Not very flattering but probably something only I noticed anyway.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
December 15, 2014
I had a great time and its great to have a really nice dress.
The fit was perfect, The material does not have a lot of stretch, but it was very easy to dance in all night.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
June 2, 2011
This dress was just okay! I wore it to a wedding and while the fabric is stunning in person I felt that the cut of the dress was just so-so.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 10, 2012
fun party dress
the torso is a bit short in the dress, but was great overall. material not what i expected- thought it would be "smoother" but was more textured that the picture shows.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
November 14, 2012
the night was full with fun with my girls and i was very pleased that i didn't have to worry.
it fit perfectly!i absolutely loved how it wasn't too short for my birthday dinner.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×