Rent the Runway

Proenza Schouler

Kaleidoscope Cut Out Dress

$147 to buy
$1390 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

With a lustrous texture and chic cutouts, this sensational Proenza Schouler dress is definitely a style that makes you take notice. Paired with Badgley Mischka's Dramatic Drop Earrings for a seriously unstoppable look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - ribbed inserts allow some stretch in bodice though fitted in bust so full busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fabric highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow at hips so consider sizing up one or two sizes for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - ribbed inserts allow some stretch in bodice though fitted in bust so full busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fabric highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow at hips so consider sizing up one or two sizes for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Multicolor metallic tweed. Crew neckline. Cutout detail at shoulder. Ribbed inserts on side. Hidden back zip. 35" from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

60 reviews

Fit
Small 38
True to Size 21
Large 1
Photos 21
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Aug 12, 2010

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
My new favorite dress on the site! Runs very narrow through the hip and thighs so I suggest sizing up. A GORGEOUS fit and color!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Oct 20, 2010

Overall fit: Small
This is a beautiful dress. The colors are mesmerizing and the fabric is beautiful. I usually wear a size 0 but this size was too narrow through the hips and caused an unflattering gathering/bunching in the stomach area. The size 2 fit better at the hips but unfortunately it was too large in the bust area. Wish this could have worked out as it is a stunning dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 2, 2010

Overall fit: Small
I would go up 1-2 sizes depending on hip size... Beautiful dress, lots of compliments!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 4, 2010

Overall fit: Small
Less stunning in person than in the photos here and could not fit over my hips! No stretch in this dress. Too bad because I had really been looking forward to wearing it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Nov 15, 2010

Overall fit: Small
the fabric and color is amazing in person. it has a tweed like material with shimmer. i'm normally a 2 or 4 but ended up wearing the 4 since it runs very narrow in the hips. luckily, i'm a 32c and was able to fit the bust with a padded bra. if not, it will fit weird. fun mini dress
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Body type: Pear
Nov 16, 2010

Overall fit: Small
This is a tricky one. While absolutely gorgeous, the fabric isn't what I was expecting at all--it's almost tweedy. As other reviewers have mentioned, the dress runs extremely tight through the hips...I usually wear a size 4 and ordered a size 6, and it still clung around my bum (but was gaping at my chest). Needless to say I didn't end up wearing the dress, although I would have if it had fit! (I wear size 27 jeans if that helps) So unique and beautiful--if you're not a pear, go for it!
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 16, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Fantastic dress. The material surprised me - wool with larger piles across the darker areas. There is also less stretch in the fabric, so anticipate a closer, less flexible fit around the tush. The dress stood up against an evening of heavy dancing and still looked great when I hung it up at the end of the night.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jan 3, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I was SO disappointed with this dress. It looks much better in the picture. First, I think the fabric looked cheap. It's almost like a tweed & in the picture it almost looked like it's be stretchy & metallic-y. Not the case. It also looked very worn. Also the fit was ALL wrong. I usually wear a 4 & ordered a size up but it still did not work. The top fit fine, but the bottom was very loose (and I have a plump :) butt) so I was shocked. Also, I'm 5'5 and it hit just above the knee so it wasn't as short as I was expecting. All in all, I would not recommend this since there are so many other amazing dresses to choose from.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Feb 24, 2011

Overall fit: Small
The dress was a bit of a disappointment. I would recommend this dress to those who are petite because the proportions are off for a curvy person like myself. I'm a size 6 and I could barely fit into a size 8 for this particular dress. The dress was also a little loose in the bust even though the waist area fit snugly. The look wasn't flattering and the material was a bit cheap looking in person.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Mar 17, 2011

Overall fit: Small
This dress was weird. I'm 105 lbs, 34C and it was tight on my hips and chest but too loose on my waist. The fabric was also fluffier than I expected.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jun 2, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was just okay! I wore it to a wedding and while the fabric is stunning in person I felt that the cut of the dress was just so-so.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 5, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I am usually a 0 and for this dress a 2 fit me perfectly. I absolutely LOVED wearing it and felt like a supermodel.
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 4, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I rented it-couldn't even wear it-The material was too Bally for me to den wear-it looks too used.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
Nov 17, 2011

Dress looks worn

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fabric of this dress looks a bit too worn to wear to any event. I would not recommend renting this dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Dec 14, 2011

Such an amazing dress!!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect for the Christmas party. It fit a little small in size 0 throughout the rear so I'm glad I ordered size 2 as well. I received lots of compliments. I felt so classy and sexy all night.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
May 24, 2012

Great dress, unforgiving

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This dress is gorgeous but definitely runs small and is not forgiving. Wouldn't recommend for a wedding if you want to move around and dance! Wish I could've worn it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
May 25, 2012

Small on bottom, but hot!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
It is very fun and unique. The black stretchy side panels are more prominent than they appear in the photo. The dress is made of a wooly fabric and is fully lined, so its warm. And it runs very small through the hips- if you have a curvy rear, this dress might not work for you. I ordered a size up, and the dress was a little tight on the bottom (still ok) but the top was a little loose (I'm smaller-busted). As an alternative, I love the Lela Rose Galaxy Tweed dress which I also rented- a much more generous fit and very similar fabric, but a more conservative cut.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 3, 2012

Pretty But Small

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The dress is beautiful but ran small around my thighs
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 6, 2012

Very pretty, but a little smal

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the fabric on this dress, but it was really tight. I usually wear a 2 or a 4 and I should have ordered a 6 in this style.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 9, 2012

Loved it!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was beautiful. I'm 4'11" and it came to my knee. I got so many compliments on it!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×