Proenza Schouler

Kaleidoscope Cut Out Dress

$147 to buy
$1,390 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

With a lustrous texture and chic cutouts, this sensational Proenza Schouler dress is definitely a style that makes you take notice. Paired with Badgley Mischka's Dramatic Drop Earrings for a seriously unstoppable look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - ribbed inserts allow some stretch in bodice though fitted in bust so full busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fabric highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow at hips so consider sizing up one or two sizes for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Multicolor metallic tweed. Crew neckline. Cutout detail at shoulder. Ribbed inserts on side. Hidden back zip. 35" from shoulder to hem.

Share
59 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(20)
Small
(38)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
July 9, 2014
This dress is amazing, wish I could have kept it!
This dress is so much fun! The fit, the colors, the cut outs, its a true show stopper. I wore this to a concert and after party in Nashville for the first night of my husband's 30th birthday weekend. The pictures online do not do this dress justice!! It is way more fabulous in person. I paired it with black pumps and gold accessories. The fit is very true to size, it fit like a glove. I would recommend going up a size for your back up if it is available because it is very fitted across the bodice. I got so many compliments on this dress and it was perfect for a night on the town!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 11, 2014
The dress was beautiful.
I ordered both a zero and two; the dress runs small and tight all over so I wore the two. Also,, I thought the fabric would be a shiny patent but it turned out to be a woven dresses- the threads seem to fray a little all over. Still, I really like the dress and it looked great for the wedding- just a little warm for summer,
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 31, 2014
not my favorite ..
The dress runs small - I barely fit in the 6. It's much darker in person than in the photo too. Didn't wear, went with another RTR dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
September 17, 2014
Not being able to get in this dress??
This dress is for someone with no curves.... And fits 2 sizes smaller than listed ..... Curvy women - don't bother !
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Weight: 96lbs
September 18, 2014
beautiful colors
Kaleidoscope dress is the perfect name for this dress. The colors are vibrant and beautiful. The fabric doesn't have much give minus the black elastic sides. I'm a true 0 so this dress fit perfectly even after a 5 course meal and dessert. The only thing weird about the dress is the shoulders, because of the cutouts, it didn't sit perfect on my shoulders and sometime would awkwardly 'bunch up'.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
October 30, 2014
Received numerous compliments on this dress from everyone!
The fit is pretty tight so do some crunches before wearing this number unless you don't mind a little muffin popping out. I'm usually a size 0 and wore the size 2. The material is thick, almost like tweed, but it was comfortable in an October wedding. The neckline looks better in person and very unique.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 17, 2014
Seeing a dear friend wed, a very emotional evening!
I normally wear a size 8, however that wasn't available for the event I was renting for. And based on the reviews, I figured I would be fine with a 10. It actually was too big on me throughout. The slight advantage of that is that as the dress has no stretch, it was nice to have some extra space for things like getting in and out of the car. The dress is quite beautiful, got many compliments, but the make of the dress is just a little too restricting. I imagine that the 8 would have fit and looked way better, but I definitely would have been uncomfortable due to the non stretch fabric. I think a slit in the back would have made a huge difference in wearability. I also wonder if the dress had been stretched out over time because it pooched very oddly in the stomach area. Not very flattering but probably something only I noticed anyway.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
December 15, 2014
I had a great time and its great to have a really nice dress.
The fit was perfect, The material does not have a lot of stretch, but it was very easy to dance in all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 4, 2014
I wore this for my rehearsal dinner and got tons of complements
I'm quite tall and wound up going a size up for a better fit around my hips, though the waist wound up being a little loose.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
August 12, 2010
My new favorite dress on the site! Runs very narrow through the hip and thighs so I suggest sizing up. A GORGEOUS fit and color!
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
October 20, 2010
This is a beautiful dress. The colors are mesmerizing and the fabric is beautiful. I usually wear a size 0 but this size was too narrow through the hips and caused an unflattering gathering/bunching in the stomach area. The size 2 fit better at the hips but unfortunately it was too large in the bust area. Wish this could have worked out as it is a stunning dress.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
November 16, 2010
This is a tricky one. While absolutely gorgeous, the fabric isn't what I was expecting at all--it's almost tweedy. As other reviewers have mentioned, the dress runs extremely tight through the hips...I usually wear a size 4 and ordered a size 6, and it still clung around my bum (but was gaping at my chest). Needless to say I didn't end up wearing the dress, although I would have if it had fit! (I wear size 27 jeans if that helps) So unique and beautiful--if you're not a pear, go for it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 3, 2011
I was SO disappointed with this dress. It looks much better in the picture. First, I think the fabric looked cheap. It's almost like a tweed & in the picture it almost looked like it's be stretchy & metallic-y. Not the case. It also looked very worn. Also the fit was ALL wrong. I usually wear a 4 & ordered a size up but it still did not work. The top fit fine, but the bottom was very loose (and I have a plump :) butt) so I was shocked. Also, I'm 5'5 and it hit just above the knee so it wasn't as short as I was expecting. All in all, I would not recommend this since there are so many other amazing dresses to choose from.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
June 2, 2011
This dress was just okay! I wore it to a wedding and while the fabric is stunning in person I felt that the cut of the dress was just so-so.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 5, 2011
I am usually a 0 and for this dress a 2 fit me perfectly. I absolutely LOVED wearing it and felt like a supermodel.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
May 24, 2012
Great dress, unforgiving
This dress is gorgeous but definitely runs small and is not forgiving. Wouldn't recommend for a wedding if you want to move around and dance! Wish I could've worn it!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 10, 2012
fun party dress
the torso is a bit short in the dress, but was great overall. material not what i expected- thought it would be "smoother" but was more textured that the picture shows.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
November 14, 2012
the night was full with fun with my girls and i was very pleased that i didn't have to worry.
it fit perfectly!i absolutely loved how it wasn't too short for my birthday dinner.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 114lbs
April 8, 2013
Loved the shine!
This dress definitely runs small, so definitely get a size up as your extra. I loved how there was a metallic hint running through the tweed. It made for an amazing shine in the light!
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×