Preen

Plaza Dress

$137 to buy
$1,300 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

With striking sculptural details, this stunning Preen dress is sophisticated and cool. Wear this piece with AV Max's Gold Hammered Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0; Size S=2; Size M=4,6; Size L=8.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - low cut on side cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Red stretch bondage jersey((64% acetate; 29% polyester; 6% elastane). One shoulder neckline with pleating detail on shoulder. Ruched body. Exposed side zip. 38" from shoulder to hem.

Share
163 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(34)
Small
(125)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
July 13, 2014
Service excellent as always

Runs tight. As others said, I needed my husband to zip it up. Then zipper falls a little and catches on your skin. Otherwise, nice fabric and very flattering.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
July 22, 2014
Dress came in a timely manner and in great condition

Amazing dress. Classy & sexy. Does run small

Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
May 6, 2014
Got lots of compliments. Color n style.

Dress runs small, but it fit beautifully.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
July 31, 2014
Gorgeous color!

Order one size up. If you're petite, use safety pins to shorten the length of the dress.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 20, 2014
I loved this dress!

I loved wearing this and got a bunch of compliments. I didn't have any issues with the zipper sliding as some have mentioned. It does run small, but I was able to squeeze into my usual size. I definitely recommend this dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
August 23, 2014
This dress was absolutely stunning!! It fit like a glove after the difficult process of putting on

Tip: use some bra tape on the right upper side of the dress to avoid giving others a view!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
August 29, 2014
The color was so vibrant, and I received a ton of compliments!

The color of this dress was absolutely perfect. However, listen to the other reviewers saying this dress runs small. I usually wear a 0 in dresses, but I had to wrestle this dress on. The back up size small wasn't available, so I took a chance on the XS. It took 15 minutes of sweating, pulling, and zipping to get it on (but I did manage to do it without assistance- I had to scrunch it all down around my waist and zip it, then pull it up over my shoulder). Once it was on, there was no fear of it coming off or the zipper coming down, and I had very little side boob. I wore the dress without a bra- the material was thick enough to where I felt fully covered. I really loved this dress, but I was uncomfortable in it- it was just too tight (and that was before I ate dinner!). You cannot tell how constricting it felt, which made it a high quality dress. Unfortunately there were a few places that you could tell the seams had been stretched, and it looked like holes in the dress. I really liked the length. Usually dresses are too long on my 5'3" frame, but this hit right above my knee just as pictured. I would not rent this dress again (unless a larger size was available), but I did get a ton of compliments throughout the night! As a sidenote, I rented the gold bracelet pictured, and it was too large- just snapped one picture in it.

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
September 2, 2014
Va va voom!

The other ladies aren't lying! Definitely a tight fit - I normally wear a 4/6, but was able to squeeze into a size small. I think this dress has been on the site for awhile, and they’ve lost some inventory to damage/stains, etc. I called customer service to ask about larger sizes, and was told that what they have on the site is all they have available. I was able to get into the dress on my own, but it took a firm grip, some anchoring the fabric between the wall & my hip, and lots of curse words. Once it’s on though… va va voom! I loved the bright color, neckline, fabric, and detailing! Only downside is that not much else (food/drinks) would fit in the dress with me (haha). Once my sister & boyfriend saw this one, they were sold – so Preen it was! Only downside was that after some dancing, the zipper will start to un-zip itself because there's no clasp at the top. I also felt like if I reached my arm too far over, I might have a wardrobe malfunction - probably because my tata's are on the small side!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
September 3, 2014
Makes you feel like a knockout!

Loved this dress and will rent again. Runs VERY small and needed help zippering up ... But once you're in, it's structured and comfortable. No need for spanx! Enough stretch to dance in, and I loved the length -- hit my knees perfectly so I felt appropriate despite the tight fit. It's a great dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
September 7, 2014
Stunning Dress!

This dress was absolutely gorgeous! I rented this dress for a wedding, I ended up wearing the size small (rather than the xs). The dress is extremely stretchy, which made it very difficult to zip up, but also it held everything in place. The back is low so I went with no bra (I used tape so everything stayed where it should). I got so many compliments. My husband was a big fan of the dress too.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 22, 2014
Too small, does not run true to size.

I rented this dress for a wedding. Most of the reviews I read said the fit ran true to size. This dress does not run true to size. It is a very small, tight fit. There is almost no give in the fabric either. Gorgeous dress and I wished it had fit. Order a size up!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
September 23, 2014
Beautiful sexy dress - runs super small

This dress is glamorous with it's one shoulder and sexy with it's fitted style. Loved the red and was really hoping it would fit since I had read how small it ran. Unfortunately though, even after being able to zip it up after lots of struggling - I just didn't feel comfortable enough in it to wear it. It fit a good 2 sizes smaller than what it is. I fit into size X-Small or 2-4 in almost everything but since the only size available for me to rent was the Small that's the one I chose and crossed my fingers it would fit. Maybe next time I can rent a Medium or Large even and get to wear it as it is a gorgeous dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105lbs
September 24, 2014
A great choice to stand out

As others mentioned, it takes 2 pairs of hands to zip this dress even if you are thin. Once on though, it was great! The fit was perfect and I felt comfortable and confident all night, even though this style of dress is not exactly my go-to. The deep red color was eye-catching and the cut was wedding-appropriate in spite of the body-hugging fit.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
September 28, 2014
Too small

Didn't get to wear this dress since it was too small. Very pretty and great material. Will rent again in a larger size next time!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 29, 2014
Great dress! Gorgeous color! Received so many compliments, runs tight though so order a size up!

I rented this dress for a late summer wedding and I loved it. It was a great color and I got so many compliments on the dress throughout the night. I ordered a S and an XS because the mediums were sold out and I thought I would be okay with a S, but the dress runs very tight. When I put the dress on I had to have my boyfriend help me zip it up while I held the top part of the zipper together. It was a struggle to zipper it, but once I had it on it was actually surprisingly comfortable. The only issue I had while it was on is the zipper on the side would come down a touch and I just had to be wary of it all night. I think it would have been okay if I had the medium though. I would recommend ordering a size up for this dress since it runs extremely small. I would definitely recommend this dress I loved it!

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 25, 2014
Boyfriend loved it!

Perfect dress for the occasion! I was prepared for the worst but with a little help from a friend I was zipped and ready to go. This dress miraculously turned my athletic v-shape into an hourglass. The only issue I had was with the length of the dress. It covered my whole knee so I used fashion tape to hike it up about 2 inches above the knee. I had an absolutely amazing night and I highly recommend this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
October 27, 2014
I felt like a knockout!

The dress does run small, but once you get your helper to zip this up, the fit is perfect. The dress' material is thick and stretchy enough to not make you feel uncomfortable. The bottom half also wasn't too tight which makes it so much more comfortable. No side boob issues for me (34B)! The length also makes this dress appropriate for formal affiars. I'm 5'6 and the dress hit right above my knees. Definitely renting the blue version when the XS becomes available!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 6, 2014
too tight in the waist

The dress (size small) was absolutely stunning from the front and the super small waistline cinched everything in the middle. The side view was awful. That tiny waist created a strange bulge over my butt and a pooch in the front. All of the extra material just added girth and made my flat butt look really unattractive. I am pretty thin so this was a complete shock... however, I am still super soft from having kids. Maybe a more fit person would be fine. I thought it was going to make me look more curvy but its just not a good dress for a straight up and down slug girl. I've been obsessed with this dress for months so I was really upset but luckily I ordered a back up (Black Halo Sultry Cut Out Dress) and it was great. RTR still wins.

Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 11, 2014
beautiful dress but runs small!

I ordered this dress as my back up because it looked beautiful online and got great reviews. However, when it came in, it was so small I couldn't even zip the dress up to try it on. I'd order it again but would definitely recommend going a size up.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
February 23, 2015
Perfect mix of classy and sexy!

I wore this dress for my birthday dinner with my family, but I almost couldn't wear it because it was so hard to get on. I actually needed my boyfriend's help getting it on, but once I had it on it fit like a glove. The ruching on the top and the one shoulder are gorgeous. The zipper kept falling down so make sure it lock it in place! The color of the picture of the model is definitely off. This dress is fire engine red not orange like the picture. Overall, this dress was great, it's definitely versatile and can be worn to a variety of occasions. I think I'll have to size up if I decide to rent it again due to how difficult it was to get on.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
August 17, 2014
Stunning - i loved the fit!

Make sure to use a safety pin to keep the zipper from sliding down.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
September 1, 2015
Sexy and Elegant!

I wore this dress to a March wedding in Florida and could not have been happier with my selection. Because the back was so low I could not wear a bra with this dress but the fit of the top offered enough support. While the dress ran a little small and the zipper required a few extra sets of hands this dress was both sexy and elegant.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
September 14, 2011
I wore this dress to my wedding after party!!

I'm usually a 2-4/x-small-small, but ended up wearing the medium which was a bit snug, but I didnt really care. It's supposed to be a tight dress. The small I ordered, forget about it. I couldn't get my little bum in it. Everything hit me in the same place it does on the model. The dress is much hotter and a deeper red in person. It's a total knockout dress. It just runs VERY small. Order up, waaaay up. I don't recommend this for girls with curves.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
March 6, 2012
Everything! the dress stole the show.

I LOVED this dress, got an insane amount of compliments it was sexy without being inappropriate. Preen however does run incredibly slim... I'm a solid 0, a cup and weigh about 100-105 lbs and needed help zipping up the XS. But once zipped it was flawless. My FAVORITE rent-the-runway dress so far.... I'm small chested so it wasn't a problem but this dress does have some serious side boob.

MeredithMarch 6, 2012
this is actually the cutest picture ever
View photos (2)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 26, 2012
The best compliment that I received was "ravishing." This was an incredible night.

This was definitely one of the most beautiful dresses I've worn. It's difficult to fit into (I'm about 125 lbs., 5'5'' and wore the small), so I'd recommend having a friend help you zip up. It's not uncomfortable once on, though. The dress was so flattering - I was told that I looked ravishing, stunning, beautiful, etc... most compliments that I've received in a night.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
April 1, 2014
Gorgeous Dress! Felt like a knock-out!

Fit is very small! I am normally a size 2-4. I wanted a medium but it wasn't available so I got the small. It was only tight in the rib cage. The zipper kept slipping, only a couple of inches though...but I keep pulling it up. It does take two people to zip it up. Once it was up- perfect! I wish I could have kept it. This was my first rental...won't be the last!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 107lbs
April 3, 2014
Fun

This dress is definitely tight, like the other reviewers said. I usually wear an XS, sometimes an XXS, and I had to squeeeeeze into the S and have someone zip me up (even wondered if I should have gotten the M to try). Even the S was very tight. Overall, it was comfortable enough and I was able to dance and move around fine. The right side is a little gaping, as the other reviewers said; I used some double sided bra tape... it helped but still looked like it was taped. I wore a backless sticky bra (I got the petals to wear with it, but I'm pretty flat, so I decided against those. If you have boobs, then I'm sure that would work fine). Some reviewers said no bra is fine, and I'm sure it could be, but I wasn't comfortable without something there. The material is thick, but I could definitely see some outlines through the dress. Overall, the dress is fun, I got tons of compliments on it, and I would rent it again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
June 25, 2014
I WILL be renting this again!!

This dress was amazing! It looked amazing, and I felt amazing! Like all the other reviews state, you should order up a size for your second size, and you will definitely need help zipping it. It's a lot richer of a red color than the photo, which is what I hoped for because I have red hair and do to look so great in orangey red. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because the hem was real weird on the one I wore. It's like it wasn't even or something. Not noticeable to anyone but me, though. If you rent this, prepare for all sorts of attention and compliments!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 98lbs
June 28, 2014
Customer service was amazing after a miscommunication! I got my dress at the last minute!

The dress runs small and there's a little side boob. I didn't use fashion tape but I'm sure it wouldn't hurt. Everyone loved my dress and it was so unique at the wedding. The photographer even approached and said I looked beautiful! I recommend any communication with RTR be done over the phone as I sent an email and my order was canceled but luckily I had a few days and I was able to get my dress on the day of the event; a Saturday delivery !

View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
June 30, 2014
This was my first rental and I was extremely happy. I didn't want to return it.

I have been obsessed with this dress since Heidi Klum wore it on America's Got Talent. It was definitely a struggle to zip, but once it was on, it hugs you in all the right places. The color is a rich red and the material feels amazing. I wouldn't recommend for women with large busts because there is side boob, but it's sexy without being too revealing. Loved loved love it!!!!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
February 7, 2014
Perfect for a Paint The Town Red charity event for heart disease. Felt very festive in this dress!

Definitely a tight fit. I'm typically a 0-2 and 5'7. A small normally is my go to. I wanted a medium for my back up but RTR was out so I chanced it on the small. Need two people to zip it up for sure. However, it hugs in all the right places and hides all the bad ones! Loved loved loved it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 23, 2014
Beautiful wedding in an amazing dress!

The dress runs a little on the small side. It is a gorgeous dress and very comfortable. The only problem I had was trying to zip it up. I'm usually an XS or S in almost every dress but I will admit trying to zip this sucker up was not an easy task, if I would have gone with a Medium size, it probably would have been a little easier but once I got it zipped, the dress fit like a glove and looked amazing! Easy to dance in, move around and you'll get tons of compliments!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
July 23, 2014
Customer service was excellent.

This dress runs way too small! I ordered a small (sized up) and needed the help from my husband to zip it. Once we finally got it zipped, the top was too big. It was tight in the waist and much too long for me. The fabric is also very heavy. On the plus side, the color is beautiful.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 14, 2010

I ordered both the M and L. I tried the L (8) and could not zip up past my chest. I am a 34C. Great dress but I think this is for very very slim waisted women...or you need someone to help you zip it. No eye-hook either at the top of the zipper to help....so sad as I wanted to wear this dress.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 6, 2010

This is a fabulously flattering red dress! It's also very comfortable; I wore this dress to a black tie event and danced all night. A few observations: (1) This dress really does run small (I usually wear a size 2 and wore the medium); (2) It is on the longer side (it hit me right at the knee); and (3) There will be a little side-boob action if you have bigger boobs (I am a C cup), but nothing a little double-sided tape won't fix.

Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
November 1, 2010

The color and design of this dress are stunning, however it does run extremely small. I'm 5'2" 115 lbs so ordered an XS and a S, the XS could not zip up all the way and while i could zip the S completely, it wasn't as form fitting as I prefer in the thigh area, I ended up going with another dress.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 48
Body type: Athletic
November 18, 2010

Gorgeous color, amazing fabric that holds you tight but doesn't look tight. This runs so small, though, that I couldn't comfortably wear it. I'm long and lanky - usually a size 6-8, 36A, 137lbs - and this was almost unzippable.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 8, 2010

GORGEOUS dress! So much better than in the pictures. It hugs your body and holds everything in. Hard to zip up, and if it's tight the zipper sometimes comes a little unzipped at the top, but once you get it on, man is it hot! I received so many compliments on this dress throughout the night. It's a little longer than in the picture (hits right at the knee rather than above), but this creates a little modesty as it's pretty tight, and obviously very bright. Fantastic, fantastic dress.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 56
Body type: Athletic
March 28, 2011

I got both xs & s. The extra small fits me perfectly. Although it was difficult to zip up the dress. It is definately a 2 person's job. But once the dress is zip, its very comfortable and flatering. It was a big hit because it makes me look really skinny and the pleats help hide all the imperfections. It's a dress that I am willing to purchase just as a "go to dress."

Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 31, 2011

Absolutely gorgeous dress. More Red that orange. Usually I wear a small, but luckily also got the medium based on the reviews. It is a show stopper! Definitely a must rent!

See more reviews:
3 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×