Perfect Plum Dress

$175 to buy
$1400 retail
Stylist Notes

Rock this Preen frock for a fashion-forward and sexy look. This curve-contouring style is the epitome of cocktail chic!

Size & Fit

This dress runs very small! We recommend sizing up one or two sizes (see following fit notes for exceptions). XS,S,M,L. Size XS=00; Size S=0/2; Size M=4; Size L=6/8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - strap runs long but can be secured with fashion tape
WAIST: Very fitted - bondage jersey cinches in waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; use fashion tape to help secure strap if needed
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs very small! We recommend sizing up one or two sizes (see following fit notes for exceptions). XS,S,M,L. Size XS=00; Size S=0/2; Size M=4; Size L=6/8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - strap runs long but can be secured with fashion tape
WAIST: Very fitted - bondage jersey cinches in waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; use fashion tape to help secure strap if needed
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Purple stretch bondage jersey. One shoulder neckline. Ruched body. Cut-out detail on back. Exposed side zip. 34" from shoulder to hem.

Share
98 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(18)
Small
(80)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
September 11, 2012
Beautiful dress but too small
Rented this dress in a XS with a back up size of S and ended up not even wearing it. I have a small and petite body type; around the time I rented it I weighted about 107 pounds and both dress sizes would not zip up. I loved the dress and material is amazing hence the three stars, but so disappointed it did not fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
September 23, 2012
Took some work, but I liked it...
I really liked the idea of this dress. It was a beautiful deep purple and had amazing details...but honestly, I didn't love it. Everything in the past that I've rented fit so well that I didn't even bring a back up dress to the wedding...so I HAD to make this one work. FIRST: please believe the other reviewers and order a size up...this thing is TINY! I mean realllly tiny. I wear an XS in Herve and still couldn't fit into an XS in this. Second of all, make sure you ask for a newer dress...the one I received had a number of holes (first time ever with RTR) and I spent a ton of time having to safety pin them closed. Lastly, like others have said, the shoulder is really long, so make sure to bring some pins or sticky tape. Overall...I wouldn't rent again, but I did feel sexy the night of the wedding and had a number or compliments. (And OF COURSE the RTR customer service team went above and beyond when I told them there were holes and gave me RTR credit...thanks RTR team! )
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 24, 2012
Perfect dress for a date w my boyfriend and then a friend's rooftop party.
This tailored dress was made for me! The fabric is forgiving w it's stretchy quality. I think it would be flattering on other body types as well. It was difficult to return bc I loved it so much.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
September 24, 2012
Great color, Great dress!
As other renters say, this dress is tight but once on, it makes you look fabulous. Even though it is super fitted, its comfortable and flattering. The strap is long but can be managed. Overall, a GREAT rental!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 22, 2012
Absolutely LOVED this dress!
Wore this dress for a wedding and felt absolutely beautiful. I had my eye on this dress for awhile and was not disappointed - I received so many complements. The fabric is very stretchy so, like some of the reviews say, it is a little hard to zip at first but the fabric has a lot of give so don't be discouraged! Would definitely recommend it!!
KaitlinOctober 24, 2012
I'm expecting this dress for a wedding I have next weekend... your review just made me so excited!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
Weight: 97lbs
November 2, 2012
Great cocktail dress.
Gorgeous dress! Definitely runs on the smaller in size, but the XS worked for me. I had to pin the should strap, though since it was a bit long otherwise.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 5, 2012
This dress was a hit - got tons of compliments!
Dress definitely runs small like everyone said. I order a S and M and once I tried the medium on, I knew there was no way I was fitting into the small. Dress is fantastic though - very forgiving. Looks great - a nice deep plum color.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
November 15, 2012
Such an amazing dress for RTR Boston Party!
everything is just perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 70
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 4, 2012
Such a beautiful dress. I received compliments all night.
This dress does run a whole size smaller. I typically wear size S but ordered M instead (thanks to the RTR stylist) and it fits perfectly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 11, 2012
Customer Service at its BEST!!
I rented this for a summer wedding, but when I got the dresses (a small and an X-small) they were both too small, even though I'm fairly small to begin with. I called rent the runway to let them know about the size issue, they were super helpful!!! They let me return the dress and gave me a credit for my next rental.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
December 12, 2012
Classy and sexy
Beautiful material and color. Makes for an amazing shape since it ruches at the right spots. It is definitely tight and tough to get on but worth it after all the effort and looks better tight than loose. Once its on, it is super comfortable since the material is so stretchy and easy to look elegant and pretty. Highly recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
January 4, 2013
Runs way small
Not wanting to believe that I would ever be anywhere near a medium, I ordered this dress in a SM. Way to go Preen for destroying a girls self esteem. I got the dress on but could barely zip it up. I usually wear XS and SM or size 0-2. This dress was gorgeous but it just wasn't meant to be.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
January 19, 2013
too small.
too small
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
January 22, 2013
Fabulous and classy dress!
I rented this dress for Vegas trip. It does run super small. I normally wear a size 2 and the M fit like a glove. The material is super stretchy and hugs every curve. I loved this dress and felt beautiful in it. Would definitely rent it again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 23, 2013
Pretty and unique
I wore this to a formal affair, loved it but the ruffling needed some adjusting throughout the night. Otherwise it fit well.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
August 31, 2010
Loved this dress! It was trendy and classy all at the same time, while allowing me to have an amazing dinner (no "I can't eat if I want to breathe" fears) and dance the night away afterward. The only thing I'd recommend is use the fashion tape to help with the back strap - it hooks like a bra in the back and it kinda just hangs there if you use the smallest hooks.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 6, 2010
I was so excited for this dress to come in the mail, but when it got here, found that it would not zip up the whole way. I range in sizes depending on the store, anywhere from 0-4 (usually 0 or 2 in tops, 2 in dress pants and 2 or 4 in jeans) and have full C cups. So I got the small and an xs for backup. However, I could only get the zipper up half way on the size small. I imagine that this dress was built for someone with minimal curves, so I'd recommend ordering a size up unless you're stick thin
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Apple
September 7, 2010
Although this dress is as beautiful in person as it is on the website, I was sad when it arrived, tried it on and it didn't fit me because the sizes for this dress run very small. If you have some hips, curves and some leg (like me) you might want to go a size or two up.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
September 13, 2010
I absolutely loved the dress, and received compliments on it all night! It definitely runs small (I'm a 2-4 in stores) and I ended up wearing a M in this dress! The zipper doesn't have a clasp at the top, so even though it fit, the zipper kept sliding down all night. And I agree with needing the fabric tape for the back - it definitely looks like a bra if you don't tape down the extra tab! Regardless - I loved it and wish I could wear it again.
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
September 20, 2010
despite issues with the service (ordered a medium & received a small and large with no return envelopes) this dress is more beautiful in person than in the pic and incredibly flattering. the strap in back and shoulder were easily secured with fashion tape.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
September 29, 2010
This dress is amazing! I range between a size 4 and 6, and ordered a M with a L to back up. Yes, I also had the issue with it being VERY difficult to zip up. The lining in this dress is like a glove - it hugs your body very similarly to SPANX while the dress itself does not appear to be tight. My issue was that there is no hook at the top of the zipper, which would have helped immensely. I ended up having to have my boyfriend hold the top of the zipper as I zipped. The difference between the M and the L is very slight, and is mainly in the length of the shoulder strap. Advice: Don't get discouraged if you have issues zipping.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
October 28, 2010
Beautiful dress but VERY small! I ordered a large and couldn't zip it up. I normally wear an 8. This dress is not made for anyone with a figure! Straight figures, no bust will look amazing in this dress.
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
November 5, 2010
I am 5'6, 117 lbs, athletic with 34c bust. Besides my chest, I am quite narrow. I called and was told the dress runs small and to order the medium. The medium was all out, so I ordered another dress and got this one in a large as my back-up. I ended up wearing this dress. It fit and looked great. The medium may have fit-no way to know. Two things-the bra strap in the back does need to be taped back and there was a little bit of peek-a-boo at the breast on the side without the shoulder strap.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 8, 2010
This dress runs extremely small. XS usually fits me perfectly but this was not even close to zipping up. Thankfully, I had ordered it as my 2nd dress option. Very cute dress just order big!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
November 15, 2010
the eggplant color is very vibrant in person and the fabric has a lot of stretch to it. the dress is lined and definitely keeps everything in. i'm typically a size 2-4, 32c and went with the medium. the small was definitely too tight to zip up. the only problem with the dress is that the back strap was a bit long (my torso isn't long enough) so i had to safety pin it up. there is no adjustment on the strap for the shoulder part.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 17, 2010
Love this dress! Great body-hugging fit with a sexy back too. Perfect for a fun night out or easy to dress up for black tie.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
November 30, 2010
This dress is gorgeous on but was a bit tricky to fit. I'm petite with c cups (size 0 dres or top / 25 waist) and I ordered the xs and the small. The xs was teensy! Definetly fit like a super small 00 - I couldn't even zip it. The small was a snug but sexy fit but then the one sided strap was too big to go over my shoulder. I ended up tucking the strap in and wearing the dress strapless. I accessorized with a 34" necklace with a small charm at the end. And I really loved the look!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 11, 2010
This dress runs small!! A Medium is a 2/4 and the small is a 0/2 and there is no room for forgiveness. Yes you need double sided tape and the Nubra to pull it off. And you will be fussing with the top, with all of the folds it can be confusing as to how they are supposed to lay. But all of the size issues aside this dress will make you look fabulous!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
January 2, 2011
I am a size 4/6 and I could not even zip the medium! This dress is also very structured and more vamp-looking in person.
AshleySeptember 25, 2015
Do you think this would pair well with a matte rose gold sequin maxi? I can't tell what the color is exactly. Thanks!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Body type: Petite
January 3, 2011
This dress was perfect for my New Years Vegas Trip! It definetely is form fitting. If you are busty, I would go one-size up. It is a beautiful dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
March 15, 2011
I squeezed into a M (barely), but did not love the dress. Two things were not great about it - the shoulder strap had excess fabric, so it never would have worked, and the zipper did not want to stay zipped (no hook at the top) ... could have easily caused a major wadrobe malfunction. Also, I have a small chest, and this didn't help that at all - would definitely want stick on bra cups to give a little more shape/support. The color was great, and once on the fabric really concealed any figure imperfections. Note - you will defintiely want some fashion tape for the strap across the back.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
March 28, 2011
I was excited to get the dress because it looks gorgeous, a stylist recommended it, and most of the reviews were positive. Unfortunately, even though I took everyone's advice to order a larger size, the shoulder strap was too long and wouldn't stay on. I usually wear a 2 or 4, and I ordered the medium. I was able to get it on, and it fit great except for the straps (they were too long), so I was not able to wear it at all. I was very disappointed. I also did not receive the fit kit, so I wasn't able to try to make it work. I would suggest measuring prior to renting this dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
May 3, 2011
Normally wear a 0-2. The S was not available and I took a chance and rented the XS (00). Was so tight I couldn't even attempt to zip the dress up over my hips. Bummer.
RemicaSeptember 26, 2015
I am five eight with 2 to 3 inch heels...I don't know why it made the first comment with all the odd symbols for my height.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
May 22, 2011
this dress made me feel beautiful and comfortable- dresses never disappoint!
This dress is super stunning in person and gives you a really nice feminine shape. It does run on the smaller side and would recommend ordering a size up as a back up. I received a ton of complements on this dress and would definitely rent it again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
May 2, 2011
Chic dress...especially the color
Beautiful fit! I wore it to a wedding and it worked perfectly. The only issue I had with it was that I found myself fussing with the bust area a bit. I'm small chested so I'm not sure if that was why, or if it was the cut. Runs a little tight
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122lbs
August 24, 2011
I rented this dress for my best friend's engagement party - I'm her maid of honor and it was the perfect wow dress for a MOH. I was extremely nervous about the fit of this dress, but once I got it to fit it looked absolutely amazing. I have never worn anything but an XS or S in my life, and though the M did fit, it was kinda tight around my waist (the design of the dress cinches at the waist). Definitely order up and order another size up as a backup size, especially if you're curvy. Note the color is more indigo in person. The open back and the angles in the front are extremely sexy. I also had to use the fashion tape to keep the back strap in place, but it stayed put all night. I got tons of compliments and would rent it again if it wasn't so memorable!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
August 29, 2011
Sexy and gorgeous dress
Sexy gorgeous dress! Fits like a glove, little smaller than usual. Definitely made me look very curvy - I was worried that I would pop out of the dress when I was dancing! Everyone complimented me on the dress. I would definitely order a size larger and use double stick tape, as the strap was a little too long.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Body type: Pear
September 28, 2011
I love this dress! but it does run small so go a size up.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
October 7, 2011
Although the color, style, & fabric of this dress is gorgeous & stunning, I could not make it fit. And I ordered one size up for a backup & it still didn't fit. I couldn't even get them zipped. It runs super small. I typically wear a 0. If I had gone two sizes up, it wouldn't have fit in length & the strap would've just hung off because I am short. This dress might fit a much taller woman, but you definitely have to be super model thin & tall. So unfortunate, because it is a beautiful dress. But RTR was wonderful about the return & credit that I used toward a future rental.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 23, 2011
Loved it!
Love this dress. Read the reviews and was worried it would be kind of small, but I am a size 4-6 and the medium fit like a glove. The material really holds it all in and hugs curves nicely, although Spanx never hurt! Wore it with silver accessories to a wedding and got a ton of compliments. The only thing that annoyed me was that the shoulder strap kept slipping down, and fashion tape didn't really look good holding it up. Also, you would have to wear a backless, strapless bra. Otherwise, loved it!
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×