You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Perfect Plum Dress
Rental $30 Retail $1400
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Rock this Preen frock for a fashion-forward and sexy look. This curve-contouring style is the epitome of cocktail chic!
Chat with a Stylist
Purple stretch bondage jersey. One shoulder neckline. Ruched body. Cut-out detail on back. Exposed side zip. 34" from shoulder to hem.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs very small! We recommend sizing up one or two sizes (see following fit notes for exceptions). XS,S,M,L. Size XS=00; Size S=0/2; Size M=4; Size L=6/8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - strap runs long but can be secured with fashion tape
WAIST: Very fitted - bondage jersey cinches in waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; use fashion tape to help secure strap if needed
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos39

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Nat
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2432
Jan 23, 2013
Pretty and unique
Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a formal affair, loved it but the ruffling needed some adjusting throughout the night. Otherwise it fit well.
pa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Jan 19, 2013
too small.
Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
too small
Jodi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2443
Jan 7, 2013
The dress is really pretty, but be careful to avoid a "malfunction"...
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fits tight, and is gathered to accentuate curves. My issue with the dress was that the strap that goes across the back was rather loose, and once I started moving around the strapless side kept slipping down. Even after I used adhesive strips I had to be careful to make sure I wasn't falling out.
Brittanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3423
Jan 4, 2013
Runs way small
Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Not wanting to believe that I would ever be anywhere near a medium, I ordered this dress in a SM. Way to go Preen for destroying a girls self esteem. I got the dress on but could barely zip it up. I usually wear XS and SM or size 0-2. This dress was gorgeous but it just wasn't meant to be.
Katatouille
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2523
Dec 24, 2012
Strap is too long for petite girls!
Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a holiday formal. I mostly wear a size XS and had to wear a size S in this dress. My friends had to help me zip up. The strap is really long and had to be shortened which I did so with a safety pin and double sided tape. Since I had to shorted the strap, the back of the dress did not look like it did on the model. However, no one else could tell that I had to doctor the strap. With the exception of the extra long strap, the dress fit me very well.
lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Dec 12, 2012
Classy and sexy
Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Beautiful material and color. Makes for an amazing shape since it ruches at the right spots. It is definitely tight and tough to get on but worth it after all the effort and looks better tight than loose. Once its on, it is super comfortable since the material is so stretchy and easy to look elegant and pretty. Highly recommend!
Meghan
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
Dec 11, 2012
Customer Service at its BEST!!
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for a summer wedding, but when I got the dresses (a small and an X-small) they were both too small, even though I'm fairly small to begin with. I called rent the runway to let them know about the size issue, they were super helpful!!! They let me return the dress and gave me a credit for my next rental.
ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 5433
Nov 14, 2012
LOVED this
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Want to rent again for sure. If you have large breasts, this will be tight in the chest. I am a B and it was a good, but snug fit. Nice quality fabric. Very form fitting.
Tinley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 97 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2521
Nov 2, 2012
Great cocktail dress.
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Gorgeous dress! Definitely runs on the smaller in size, but the XS worked for me. I had to pin the should strap, though since it was a bit long otherwise.
Jasiel
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2423
Sep 11, 2012
Beautiful dress but too small
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Rented this dress in a XS with a back up size of S and ended up not even wearing it. I have a small and petite body type; around the time I rented it I weighted about 107 pounds and both dress sizes would not zip up. I loved the dress and material is amazing hence the three stars, but so disappointed it did not fit.
Aimee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7534
Aug 24, 2012
very cute, but runs very small
Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This was my backup dress for a wedding. I should've read the notes on the fit because it runs way small. I ordered a medium and it wasn't close to fitting. The medium fit my size 2/4 sister so she wore it.
D
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2522
Aug 19, 2012
Smashed boobs
Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Not good for small busts. Really smashed the chest area. Also runs very small. I returned it because I didn't find it particularly flattering.
FL
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2422
Aug 12, 2012
Very form fitting
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I have a very small frame and the xs was way too small. The dress was tight around my body yet the shoulder of the dress was falling off me. Luckily I had a 2nd dress that was a much better fit!
Cayla
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 4333
Jul 23, 2012
Gorgeous Dress
Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I absolutely loved this dress. After sizing up, the fit was perfect. I had to use some tape to keep it in place, and it worked out well. This dress was great for formal.
SAHM28
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2522
May 31, 2012
Way too small
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I was so looking forward to wearing this dress to my friend's wedding. I received the package on time. I tried on the XS first, couldn't get the zipper up past my ribcage. I tried on the S and I had trouble with that as well. The straps are long and the right side bunching looked weird. This dress might look better on someone taller and thinner. I had to send it back, but ended up finding a dress, still with tags, in my closet to wear. I hope my next experience will be much better than this one, other than that, customer service was great about it all.
Marisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 4421
May 21, 2012
Great Dress!
Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I really loved this dress. It looked fantastic, however, I did have some issues before I left the house. First, the shoulder strap is very long, which required some creative pinning so that the dress would stay up. Second, the dress is very stretchy all over, which doesn't provide for much support when it comes to the chest. I felt like I had to constantly be pulling it up or else a minor "slip" would occur. Lastly, yes, you may have a minor heart attack when you're trying to zip up the dress, but fear not, it will zip all the way. Because it's so stretchy, you just need to pull the two parts together and it will zip just fine. Overall, the minor set backs were well worth the end product. The dress looked fantastic, perfect for the occasion, and I felt great. I definitely recommend this dress, just bring a pin and some fashion tape and you are set!
CheriM
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2523
Feb 17, 2012
Nice dress, way too small
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I'm usually an XS and for some brands an XXS so I thought I would be fine with an XS in this dress. I was wrong. I couldn't even get the dress to zip. It eas a very beautiful dress and I wish I was able to wear it. If you get this one, be sure to get a dress one size larger than what you normally wear OR order both sizes to ensure you'll have one that fits.
laura
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 44
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 6641
Jan 4, 2012
too small
Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I normally wear a 6 and I could barely (BARELY!) zipper the size L and wear it for New Year's Eve. Thank goodness I had ordered a back-up dress...but unfortunately this was the one I had my heart set on. The shoulder strap was way too large. It had pilling at the top of the dress near the strap. The color was lovely, and I was disappointed it did not work. I am very tall and thin and this was not at all big enough..not even close. I wore the back-up, but wish this had fit and did not have to pay for it not fitting.
Diana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 103 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2422
Dec 13, 2011
Tiny Waist
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I loved this on the model but I did have difficulty putting it on. I was in between an XS and a S but decided to squeeze into the XS. I was able to pull and tug but after the zipper was up, it didn't feel too restricting. I loved the color but the waist is tiny! I did have to secure the top strap with a safety pin as well. Overall I loved it!
Monica
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 96 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2523
Dec 2, 2011
Stunning dress!
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is stunning. I wore it to a wedding and got lots of compliments all night. The quality of the material and the workmanship of the details are impeccable. It does run very very small and it's a snug dress, especially in the waist area which was perfect for me because I have an abnormally small waist (22 inches). If you're like me and have a hard time finding clothes that fit in the waist, you'll love this dress! I will rent this again!
Marta
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5434
Nov 16, 2011
Great Dress- Fits funny
Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was great overall. My only complaint was that the folds in the dress looked odd depending how you position them. Its particularly odd by the bust. Nevertheless, the dress looked great. It's fairly tight so you dont really need a bra. The material of the dress hides all the flaws, as though it had built in spanx... favorite part about the dress
Ana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4333
Oct 23, 2011
Loved it!
Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Love this dress. Read the reviews and was worried it would be kind of small, but I am a size 4-6 and the medium fit like a glove. The material really holds it all in and hugs curves nicely, although Spanx never hurt! Wore it with silver accessories to a wedding and got a ton of compliments. The only thing that annoyed me was that the shoulder strap kept slipping down, and fashion tape didn't really look good holding it up. Also, you would have to wear a backless, strapless bra. Otherwise, loved it!
Mel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2522
Oct 7, 2011
Overall fit: Small
Although the color, style, & fabric of this dress is gorgeous & stunning, I could not make it fit. And I ordered one size up for a backup & it still didn't fit. I couldn't even get them zipped. It runs super small. I typically wear a 0. If I had gone two sizes up, it wouldn't have fit in length & the strap would've just hung off because I am short. This dress might fit a much taller woman, but you definitely have to be super model thin & tall. So unfortunate, because it is a beautiful dress. But RTR was wonderful about the return & credit that I used toward a future rental.
amy
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 1321
Sep 28, 2011
Overall fit: Small
I love this dress! but it does run small so go a size up.
bc
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
Sep 27, 2011
GORGEOUS
Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Absolutely loved this dress! Definitely red carpet worthy. This dress does run extremely small. I am a true 0 and always wear a size small. I definitely needed some assistance zipping the dress up. The dress does have some stretch but not much. I wanted to order the medium as my backup size but they didn't have it available at the time. The small fit but I would have felt a little better knowing I had a back up size. Rent the Runway was so organized delivering my dress and made it so easy to ship back. Overall, I had a great first experience with RTR. Will definitely rent from them again.
g
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3543
Aug 29, 2011
Sexy and gorgeous dress
Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Sexy gorgeous dress! Fits like a glove, little smaller than usual. Definitely made me look very curvy - I was worried that I would pop out of the dress when I was dancing! Everyone complimented me on the dress. I would definitely order a size larger and use double stick tape, as the strap was a little too long.
eve
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3534
Aug 24, 2011
Overall fit: Small
I rented this dress for my best friend's engagement party - I'm her maid of honor and it was the perfect wow dress for a MOH. I was extremely nervous about the fit of this dress, but once I got it to fit it looked absolutely amazing. I have never worn anything but an XS or S in my life, and though the M did fit, it was kinda tight around my waist (the design of the dress cinches at the waist). Definitely order up and order another size up as a backup size, especially if you're curvy. Note the color is more indigo in person. The open back and the angles in the front are extremely sexy. I also had to use the fashion tape to keep the back strap in place, but it stayed put all night. I got tons of compliments and would rent it again if it wasn't so memorable!
Z
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 1431
Jun 23, 2011
Overall fit: Small
LOVED wearing this dress!! be weary that it does run on the small side. I'm typically a size 4-6, small bust, and i still had a tough time zipping up the top part (ordered a S). once it was on - with the help of a friend zipping this baby up - it looked amazing and the compliments kept on coming!
mrsmillertime
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 1521
May 3, 2011
Overall fit: Small
Normally wear a 0-2. The S was not available and I took a chance and rented the XS (00). Was so tight I couldn't even attempt to zip the dress up over my hips. Bummer.
VC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3531
Mar 28, 2011
Overall fit: Small
I was excited to get the dress because it looks gorgeous, a stylist recommended it, and most of the reviews were positive. Unfortunately, even though I took everyone's advice to order a larger size, the shoulder strap was too long and wouldn't stay on. I usually wear a 2 or 4, and I ordered the medium. I was able to get it on, and it fit great except for the straps (they were too long), so I was not able to wear it at all. I was very disappointed. I also did not receive the fit kit, so I wasn't able to try to make it work. I would suggest measuring prior to renting this dress.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 1531
Mar 15, 2011
Overall fit: Small
I squeezed into a M (barely), but did not love the dress. Two things were not great about it - the shoulder strap had excess fabric, so it never would have worked, and the zipper did not want to stay zipped (no hook at the top) ... could have easily caused a major wadrobe malfunction. Also, I have a small chest, and this didn't help that at all - would definitely want stick on bra cups to give a little more shape/support. The color was great, and once on the fabric really concealed any figure imperfections. Note - you will defintiely want some fashion tape for the strap across the back.
mbg
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
Jan 26, 2011
Overall fit: Small
I just received this dress and was more than upset to find out the fit is nothing like what it looks like online. Im very very slim with no curves and i had difficulty even zipping the S. its much longer than it appears and very awkward in the bust if you aren't full figured.
Jenna
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 1441
Jan 3, 2011
Overall fit: Small
I absolutely loved this dress. It does run small, but I was able to rent a small and it fit perfectly - it just took a little work to get the dress zipped up. If you have someone to help you, it should be no problem! Once I had the dress on, it fit like a glove and I got tons of compliments. The only problem I encountered was the strap that went over my right shoulder - it was a bit too long and tended to flap a bit instead of holding taut. It wasn't a huge, obvious problem though and the dress still fit beautifully. I'd definitely rent it again!
Maria
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 1631
Jan 3, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was perfect for my New Years Vegas Trip! It definetely is form fitting. If you are busty, I would go one-size up. It is a beautiful dress.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Jan 2, 2011
Overall fit: Small
I am a size 4/6 and I could not even zip the medium! This dress is also very structured and more vamp-looking in person.
Mitzy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2534
Dec 11, 2010
Overall fit: Small
This dress runs small!! A Medium is a 2/4 and the small is a 0/2 and there is no room for forgiveness. Yes you need double sided tape and the Nubra to pull it off. And you will be fussing with the top, with all of the folds it can be confusing as to how they are supposed to lay. But all of the size issues aside this dress will make you look fabulous!!
vc
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2533
Nov 30, 2010
Overall fit: Small
This dress is gorgeous on but was a bit tricky to fit. I'm petite with c cups (size 0 dres or top / 25 waist) and I ordered the xs and the small. The xs was teensy! Definetly fit like a super small 00 - I couldn't even zip it. The small was a snug but sexy fit but then the one sided strap was too big to go over my shoulder. I ended up tucking the strap in and wearing the dress strapless. I accessorized with a 34" necklace with a small charm at the end. And I really loved the look!
Lara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3534
Nov 17, 2010
Overall fit: True to Size
Love this dress! Great body-hugging fit with a sexy back too. Perfect for a fun night out or easy to dress up for black tie.
LP
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3523
Nov 15, 2010
Overall fit: True to Size
the eggplant color is very vibrant in person and the fabric has a lot of stretch to it. the dress is lined and definitely keeps everything in. i'm typically a size 2-4, 32c and went with the medium. the small was definitely too tight to zip up. the only problem with the dress is that the back strap was a bit long (my torso isn't long enough) so i had to safety pin it up. there is no adjustment on the strap for the shoulder part.
Mel
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 1421
Nov 10, 2010
Overall fit: Small
I was overly excited to receive this dress in the mail and both sizes ran wayy smaller than I expected. I finally got the medium size on but there was no was going to move the rest of the night. (Usually I fit in a small in dress, size 2-4). I have larger hips which is where it was the tightest.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress