Preen

Perfect Plum Dress

$175 rental
$1400 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Rock this Preen frock for a fashion-forward and sexy look. This curve-contouring style is the epitome of cocktail chic!

Size & Fit

This dress runs very small! We recommend sizing up one or two sizes (see following fit notes for exceptions). XS,S,M,L. Size XS=00; Size S=0/2; Size M=4; Size L=6/8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - strap runs long but can be secured with fashion tape
WAIST: Very fitted - bondage jersey cinches in waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; use fashion tape to help secure strap if needed
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs very small! We recommend sizing up one or two sizes (see following fit notes for exceptions). XS,S,M,L. Size XS=00; Size S=0/2; Size M=4; Size L=6/8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - strap runs long but can be secured with fashion tape
WAIST: Very fitted - bondage jersey cinches in waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; use fashion tape to help secure strap if needed
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Purple stretch bondage jersey. One shoulder neckline. Ruched body. Cut-out detail on back. Exposed side zip. 34" from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

99 reviews

Fit
Small 81
True to Size 18
Large 0
Photos 42
Heesun
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Aug 31, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Loved this dress! It was trendy and classy all at the same time, while allowing me to have an amazing dinner (no "I can't eat if I want to breathe" fears) and dance the night away afterward. The only thing I'd recommend is use the fashion tape to help with the back strap - it hooks like a bra in the back and it kinda just hangs there if you use the smallest hooks.
Kim
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 6, 2010

Overall fit: Small
I was so excited for this dress to come in the mail, but when it got here, found that it would not zip up the whole way. I range in sizes depending on the store, anywhere from 0-4 (usually 0 or 2 in tops, 2 in dress pants and 2 or 4 in jeans) and have full C cups. So I got the small and an xs for backup. However, I could only get the zipper up half way on the size small. I imagine that this dress was built for someone with minimal curves, so I'd recommend ordering a size up unless you're stick thin
jc
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Apple
Sep 7, 2010

Overall fit: Small
Although this dress is as beautiful in person as it is on the website, I was sad when it arrived, tried it on and it didn't fit me because the sizes for this dress run very small. If you have some hips, curves and some leg (like me) you might want to go a size or two up.
BK
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
Sep 13, 2010

Overall fit: Small
I absolutely loved the dress, and received compliments on it all night! It definitely runs small (I'm a 2-4 in stores) and I ended up wearing a M in this dress! The zipper doesn't have a clasp at the top, so even though it fit, the zipper kept sliding down all night. And I agree with needing the fabric tape for the back - it definitely looks like a bra if you don't tape down the extra tab! Regardless - I loved it and wish I could wear it again.
L
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 20, 2010

Overall fit: Small
despite issues with the service (ordered a medium & received a small and large with no return envelopes) this dress is more beautiful in person than in the pic and incredibly flattering. the strap in back and shoulder were easily secured with fashion tape.
Little J
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 107 lbs
Sep 21, 2010

Overall fit: Small
This is a beautiful dress and if you get the right size, it's very flattering. I'm usually a XS or S since I'm pretty petite (5'0, 34C, 108lbs) but the S barely fit me. Also, for smaller girls, beware of the one shoulder strap - it's way too long but there's a way to tuck it in the back strap to make the dress work. Overall, it's a great dress, especially if you're on the taller side, but be sure to get 1-2 sizes up!
Cristina
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
Sep 27, 2010

Overall fit: Small
I wear a small or x-small so very disappointed that I could not wear this dress for my event. I am 32C, 115lb. Order at least 2 sizes up. Strap is also very long and needs to be adjusted...otherwise, cute dress that I would have loved to wear.
Jen
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 29, 2010

Overall fit: Small
This dress is amazing! I range between a size 4 and 6, and ordered a M with a L to back up. Yes, I also had the issue with it being VERY difficult to zip up. The lining in this dress is like a glove - it hugs your body very similarly to SPANX while the dress itself does not appear to be tight. My issue was that there is no hook at the top of the zipper, which would have helped immensely. I ended up having to have my boyfriend hold the top of the zipper as I zipped. The difference between the M and the L is very slight, and is mainly in the length of the shoulder strap. Advice: Don't get discouraged if you have issues zipping.
JM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 28, 2010

Overall fit: Small
Beautiful dress but VERY small! I ordered a large and couldn't zip it up. I normally wear an 8. This dress is not made for anyone with a figure! Straight figures, no bust will look amazing in this dress.
sc
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 5, 2010

Overall fit: Small
I am 5'6, 117 lbs, athletic with 34c bust. Besides my chest, I am quite narrow. I called and was told the dress runs small and to order the medium. The medium was all out, so I ordered another dress and got this one in a large as my back-up. I ended up wearing this dress. It fit and looked great. The medium may have fit-no way to know. Two things-the bra strap in the back does need to be taped back and there was a little bit of peek-a-boo at the breast on the side without the shoulder strap.
Caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Nov 8, 2010

Overall fit: Small
This dress runs extremely small. XS usually fits me perfectly but this was not even close to zipping up. Thankfully, I had ordered it as my 2nd dress option. Very cute dress just order big!
Mel
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Nov 10, 2010

Overall fit: Small
I was overly excited to receive this dress in the mail and both sizes ran wayy smaller than I expected. I finally got the medium size on but there was no was going to move the rest of the night. (Usually I fit in a small in dress, size 2-4). I have larger hips which is where it was the tightest.
LP
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Nov 15, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
the eggplant color is very vibrant in person and the fabric has a lot of stretch to it. the dress is lined and definitely keeps everything in. i'm typically a size 2-4, 32c and went with the medium. the small was definitely too tight to zip up. the only problem with the dress is that the back strap was a bit long (my torso isn't long enough) so i had to safety pin it up. there is no adjustment on the strap for the shoulder part.
Lara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 17, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Love this dress! Great body-hugging fit with a sexy back too. Perfect for a fun night out or easy to dress up for black tie.
vc
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103 lbs
Nov 30, 2010

Overall fit: Small
This dress is gorgeous on but was a bit tricky to fit. I'm petite with c cups (size 0 dres or top / 25 waist) and I ordered the xs and the small. The xs was teensy! Definetly fit like a super small 00 - I couldn't even zip it. The small was a snug but sexy fit but then the one sided strap was too big to go over my shoulder. I ended up tucking the strap in and wearing the dress strapless. I accessorized with a 34" necklace with a small charm at the end. And I really loved the look!
Mitzy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 11, 2010

Overall fit: Small
This dress runs small!! A Medium is a 2/4 and the small is a 0/2 and there is no room for forgiveness. Yes you need double sided tape and the Nubra to pull it off. And you will be fussing with the top, with all of the folds it can be confusing as to how they are supposed to lay. But all of the size issues aside this dress will make you look fabulous!!
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124 lbs
Jan 2, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I am a size 4/6 and I could not even zip the medium! This dress is also very structured and more vamp-looking in person.
Maria
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Body type: Petite
Jan 3, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was perfect for my New Years Vegas Trip! It definetely is form fitting. If you are busty, I would go one-size up. It is a beautiful dress.
Jenna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 3, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I absolutely loved this dress. It does run small, but I was able to rent a small and it fit perfectly - it just took a little work to get the dress zipped up. If you have someone to help you, it should be no problem! Once I had the dress on, it fit like a glove and I got tons of compliments. The only problem I encountered was the strap that went over my right shoulder - it was a bit too long and tended to flap a bit instead of holding taut. It wasn't a huge, obvious problem though and the dress still fit beautifully. I'd definitely rent it again!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×