Rent 3 for 1 Valentine's Day weekend! Use code 3FOR1VDAY16. DETAILS

Valid on rentals only. You will pay the cost of the most expensive item. Adding a free backup size will count as 1 of the 3 items. Offer expires 2/13/16 at 11:59pm EST and delivery dates must be 2/5/16 through 2/13/16. Promo code cannot be used on existing orders or be combined with other offers or gift cards. Enter promo code at checkout.

Perfect Plum Dress

$175 to buy
$1400 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Rock this Preen frock for a fashion-forward and sexy look. This curve-contouring style is the epitome of cocktail chic!

Size & Fit

This dress runs very small! We recommend sizing up one or two sizes (see following fit notes for exceptions). XS,S,M,L. Size XS=00; Size S=0/2; Size M=4; Size L=6/8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - strap runs long but can be secured with fashion tape
WAIST: Very fitted - bondage jersey cinches in waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; use fashion tape to help secure strap if needed
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs very small! We recommend sizing up one or two sizes (see following fit notes for exceptions). XS,S,M,L. Size XS=00; Size S=0/2; Size M=4; Size L=6/8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - strap runs long but can be secured with fashion tape
WAIST: Very fitted - bondage jersey cinches in waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; use fashion tape to help secure strap if needed
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Purple stretch bondage jersey. One shoulder neckline. Ruched body. Cut-out detail on back. Exposed side zip. 34" from shoulder to hem.

Share
98 reviews
Fit
Large0
True to Size18
Small80
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 14, 2012
Loved this dress on!
I ordered this dress thinking I would wear the small based on the other reviews saying it ran small but ended up wearing the medium. It is very stretchy fabric so it is kinda a struggle to get on but once it is on it stays in place and looks great! Highlights curves and hides problem area's very well! You definitly need to have fabric tape to hide bra-or just go without if you can!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
November 14, 2012
LOVED this
Want to rent again for sure. If you have large breasts, this will be tight in the chest. I am a B and it was a good, but snug fit. Nice quality fabric. Very form fitting.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
November 13, 2012
My favorite RTR rental so far
This dress is SO flattering. It cinches your waist and sits at a perfet length on your thigh. It hugs in all the right places. I received so many compliments!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 5, 2012
This dress was a hit - got tons of compliments!
Dress definitely runs small like everyone said. I order a S and M and once I tried the medium on, I knew there was no way I was fitting into the small. Dress is fantastic though - very forgiving. Looks great - a nice deep plum color.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
Weight: 97lbs
November 2, 2012
Great cocktail dress.
Gorgeous dress! Definitely runs on the smaller in size, but the XS worked for me. I had to pin the should strap, though since it was a bit long otherwise.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 22, 2012
Absolutely LOVED this dress!
Wore this dress for a wedding and felt absolutely beautiful. I had my eye on this dress for awhile and was not disappointed - I received so many complements. The fabric is very stretchy so, like some of the reviews say, it is a little hard to zip at first but the fabric has a lot of give so don't be discouraged! Would definitely recommend it!!
KaitlinOctober 24, 2012
I'm expecting this dress for a wedding I have next weekend... your review just made me so excited!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 3, 2012
I LOVED this dress. It made me feel like a million bucks!
The dress was snug but curved in all the right places. I normally would have wanted to go a size up but with a Preen dress it is made to fit tight yet it gives so you do not feel uncomfortable or self-conscious.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
September 24, 2012
Great color, Great dress!
As other renters say, this dress is tight but once on, it makes you look fabulous. Even though it is super fitted, its comfortable and flattering. The strap is long but can be managed. Overall, a GREAT rental!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 24, 2012
Perfect dress for a date w my boyfriend and then a friend's rooftop party.
This tailored dress was made for me! The fabric is forgiving w it's stretchy quality. I think it would be flattering on other body types as well. It was difficult to return bc I loved it so much.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
September 23, 2012
Took some work, but I liked it...
I really liked the idea of this dress. It was a beautiful deep purple and had amazing details...but honestly, I didn't love it. Everything in the past that I've rented fit so well that I didn't even bring a back up dress to the wedding...so I HAD to make this one work. FIRST: please believe the other reviewers and order a size up...this thing is TINY! I mean realllly tiny. I wear an XS in Herve and still couldn't fit into an XS in this. Second of all, make sure you ask for a newer dress...the one I received had a number of holes (first time ever with RTR) and I spent a ton of time having to safety pin them closed. Lastly, like others have said, the shoulder is really long, so make sure to bring some pins or sticky tape. Overall...I wouldn't rent again, but I did feel sexy the night of the wedding and had a number or compliments. (And OF COURSE the RTR customer service team went above and beyond when I told them there were holes and gave me RTR credit...thanks RTR team! )
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
September 11, 2012
Beautiful dress but too small
Rented this dress in a XS with a back up size of S and ended up not even wearing it. I have a small and petite body type; around the time I rented it I weighted about 107 pounds and both dress sizes would not zip up. I loved the dress and material is amazing hence the three stars, but so disappointed it did not fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 24, 2012
very cute, but runs very small
This was my backup dress for a wedding. I should've read the notes on the fit because it runs way small. I ordered a medium and it wasn't close to fitting. The medium fit my size 2/4 sister so she wore it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 107lbs
August 21, 2012
it was a great birthday!
The dress fit like a glove, albeit a rather tight glove. It is extremely flattering and enhances and cinches your waist line. The colour is beautiful as well!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 19, 2012
Smashed boobs
Not good for small busts. Really smashed the chest area. Also runs very small. I returned it because I didn't find it particularly flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
August 13, 2012
When my boyfriend told me I was the most beautiful girl in the world.
Dress ran small, but it was beautiful for the occasion
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
August 12, 2012
Very form fitting
I have a very small frame and the xs was way too small. The dress was tight around my body yet the shoulder of the dress was falling off me. Luckily I had a 2nd dress that was a much better fit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
July 23, 2012
Gorgeous Dress
I absolutely loved this dress. After sizing up, the fit was perfect. I had to use some tape to keep it in place, and it worked out well. This dress was great for formal.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
May 31, 2012
Way too small
I was so looking forward to wearing this dress to my friend's wedding. I received the package on time. I tried on the XS first, couldn't get the zipper up past my ribcage. I tried on the S and I had trouble with that as well. The straps are long and the right side bunching looked weird. This dress might look better on someone taller and thinner. I had to send it back, but ended up finding a dress, still with tags, in my closet to wear. I hope my next experience will be much better than this one, other than that, customer service was great about it all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
May 21, 2012
Great Dress!
I really loved this dress. It looked fantastic, however, I did have some issues before I left the house. First, the shoulder strap is very long, which required some creative pinning so that the dress would stay up. Second, the dress is very stretchy all over, which doesn't provide for much support when it comes to the chest. I felt like I had to constantly be pulling it up or else a minor "slip" would occur. Lastly, yes, you may have a minor heart attack when you're trying to zip up the dress, but fear not, it will zip all the way. Because it's so stretchy, you just need to pull the two parts together and it will zip just fine. Overall, the minor set backs were well worth the end product. The dress looked fantastic, perfect for the occasion, and I felt great. I definitely recommend this dress, just bring a pin and some fashion tape and you are set!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 17, 2012
Nice dress, way too small
I'm usually an XS and for some brands an XXS so I thought I would be fine with an XS in this dress. I was wrong. I couldn't even get the dress to zip. It eas a very beautiful dress and I wish I was able to wear it. If you get this one, be sure to get a dress one size larger than what you normally wear OR order both sizes to ensure you'll have one that fits.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 46
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 4, 2012
too small
I normally wear a 6 and I could barely (BARELY!) zipper the size L and wear it for New Year's Eve. Thank goodness I had ordered a back-up dress...but unfortunately this was the one I had my heart set on. The shoulder strap was way too large. It had pilling at the top of the dress near the strap. The color was lovely, and I was disappointed it did not work. I am very tall and thin and this was not at all big enough..not even close. I wore the back-up, but wish this had fit and did not have to pay for it not fitting.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 103lbs
December 13, 2011
Tiny Waist
I loved this on the model but I did have difficulty putting it on. I was in between an XS and a S but decided to squeeze into the XS. I was able to pull and tug but after the zipper was up, it didn't feel too restricting. I loved the color but the waist is tiny! I did have to secure the top strap with a safety pin as well. Overall I loved it!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 96lbs
December 2, 2011
Stunning dress!
This dress is stunning. I wore it to a wedding and got lots of compliments all night. The quality of the material and the workmanship of the details are impeccable. It does run very very small and it's a snug dress, especially in the waist area which was perfect for me because I have an abnormally small waist (22 inches). If you're like me and have a hard time finding clothes that fit in the waist, you'll love this dress! I will rent this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
November 16, 2011
Great Dress- Fits funny
The dress was great overall. My only complaint was that the folds in the dress looked odd depending how you position them. Its particularly odd by the bust. Nevertheless, the dress looked great. It's fairly tight so you dont really need a bra. The material of the dress hides all the flaws, as though it had built in spanx... favorite part about the dress
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 14, 2011
feeling like a princess :_)
I was told by a stylist that this dress runs small. I normally wear a 0 or xs, so I ordered a xs and a small as backup. I could not get the xs on, it was so tight. The Small was challenging to zip, but once it was on, it fit perfect! The dress was stretchy and very comfortable. Loved it!!! Thanks RTR!!!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
November 7, 2011
It was a dress I never would have found otherwise. Made me feel fabulous!
I tried this dress on and it made me feel big, I always wear the XS but in this case it wouldn't zip over my hips. The small however looked beautiful on and it was snug in all the right places. Love the color!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 23, 2011
Loved it!
Love this dress. Read the reviews and was worried it would be kind of small, but I am a size 4-6 and the medium fit like a glove. The material really holds it all in and hugs curves nicely, although Spanx never hurt! Wore it with silver accessories to a wedding and got a ton of compliments. The only thing that annoyed me was that the shoulder strap kept slipping down, and fashion tape didn't really look good holding it up. Also, you would have to wear a backless, strapless bra. Otherwise, loved it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
October 7, 2011
Although the color, style, & fabric of this dress is gorgeous & stunning, I could not make it fit. And I ordered one size up for a backup & it still didn't fit. I couldn't even get them zipped. It runs super small. I typically wear a 0. If I had gone two sizes up, it wouldn't have fit in length & the strap would've just hung off because I am short. This dress might fit a much taller woman, but you definitely have to be super model thin & tall. So unfortunate, because it is a beautiful dress. But RTR was wonderful about the return & credit that I used toward a future rental.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Body type: Pear
September 28, 2011
I love this dress! but it does run small so go a size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
September 27, 2011
GORGEOUS
Absolutely loved this dress! Definitely red carpet worthy. This dress does run extremely small. I am a true 0 and always wear a size small. I definitely needed some assistance zipping the dress up. The dress does have some stretch but not much. I wanted to order the medium as my backup size but they didn't have it available at the time. The small fit but I would have felt a little better knowing I had a back up size. Rent the Runway was so organized delivering my dress and made it so easy to ship back. Overall, I had a great first experience with RTR. Will definitely rent from them again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
August 29, 2011
Sexy and gorgeous dress
Sexy gorgeous dress! Fits like a glove, little smaller than usual. Definitely made me look very curvy - I was worried that I would pop out of the dress when I was dancing! Everyone complimented me on the dress. I would definitely order a size larger and use double stick tape, as the strap was a little too long.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122lbs
August 24, 2011
I rented this dress for my best friend's engagement party - I'm her maid of honor and it was the perfect wow dress for a MOH. I was extremely nervous about the fit of this dress, but once I got it to fit it looked absolutely amazing. I have never worn anything but an XS or S in my life, and though the M did fit, it was kinda tight around my waist (the design of the dress cinches at the waist). Definitely order up and order another size up as a backup size, especially if you're curvy. Note the color is more indigo in person. The open back and the angles in the front are extremely sexy. I also had to use the fashion tape to keep the back strap in place, but it stayed put all night. I got tons of compliments and would rent it again if it wasn't so memorable!
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
June 23, 2011
LOVED wearing this dress!! be weary that it does run on the small side. I'm typically a size 4-6, small bust, and i still had a tough time zipping up the top part (ordered a S). once it was on - with the help of a friend zipping this baby up - it looked amazing and the compliments kept on coming!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
May 22, 2011
this dress made me feel beautiful and comfortable- dresses never disappoint!
This dress is super stunning in person and gives you a really nice feminine shape. It does run on the smaller side and would recommend ordering a size up as a back up. I received a ton of complements on this dress and would definitely rent it again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
May 3, 2011
Normally wear a 0-2. The S was not available and I took a chance and rented the XS (00). Was so tight I couldn't even attempt to zip the dress up over my hips. Bummer.
RemicaSeptember 26, 2015
I am five eight with 2 to 3 inch heels...I don't know why it made the first comment with all the odd symbols for my height.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
May 2, 2011
Chic dress...especially the color
Beautiful fit! I wore it to a wedding and it worked perfectly. The only issue I had with it was that I found myself fussing with the bust area a bit. I'm small chested so I'm not sure if that was why, or if it was the cut. Runs a little tight
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
March 28, 2011
I was excited to get the dress because it looks gorgeous, a stylist recommended it, and most of the reviews were positive. Unfortunately, even though I took everyone's advice to order a larger size, the shoulder strap was too long and wouldn't stay on. I usually wear a 2 or 4, and I ordered the medium. I was able to get it on, and it fit great except for the straps (they were too long), so I was not able to wear it at all. I was very disappointed. I also did not receive the fit kit, so I wasn't able to try to make it work. I would suggest measuring prior to renting this dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
March 15, 2011
I squeezed into a M (barely), but did not love the dress. Two things were not great about it - the shoulder strap had excess fabric, so it never would have worked, and the zipper did not want to stay zipped (no hook at the top) ... could have easily caused a major wadrobe malfunction. Also, I have a small chest, and this didn't help that at all - would definitely want stick on bra cups to give a little more shape/support. The color was great, and once on the fabric really concealed any figure imperfections. Note - you will defintiely want some fashion tape for the strap across the back.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
January 26, 2011
I just received this dress and was more than upset to find out the fit is nothing like what it looks like online. Im very very slim with no curves and i had difficulty even zipping the S. its much longer than it appears and very awkward in the bust if you aren't full figured.
NoelleSeptember 29, 2015
were you able to wear heels?
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
January 3, 2011
I absolutely loved this dress. It does run small, but I was able to rent a small and it fit perfectly - it just took a little work to get the dress zipped up. If you have someone to help you, it should be no problem! Once I had the dress on, it fit like a glove and I got tons of compliments. The only problem I encountered was the strap that went over my right shoulder - it was a bit too long and tended to flap a bit instead of holding taut. It wasn't a huge, obvious problem though and the dress still fit beautifully. I'd definitely rent it again!
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×