Preen

Blue Violet Cocktail Dress

$35 rental
$1,298 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Show off your curves in this vibrant one shoulder Preen dress. Your ultimate cocktail dress for that fancy dinner party or charity event. Also, great for a wedding at anytime of the year. Pair with a bold cuff like the AV Max's Gold Hammered Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0; Size S=2; Size M=4,6; Size L=8.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - low cut on side cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Purple stretch bondage jersey(64% acetate; 29% polyester; 6% elastane). One shoulder neckline with pleating detail on shoulder. Ruched body. Exposed side zip. 38"" from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
136 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(22)
Small
(107)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 15, 2013
Disappointed.

This dress looked lovely on all the other ladies, but it did not fit me... I usually wear a 2-4 or S-M, the Small that arrived was so cut so small, and I don’t think the medium would have even fit. I didn’t have time to receive a replacement size since I was traveling the next day. Also, the hem of the dress was buckling, it wasn’t very nice for the retail cost of the dress.

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
August 17, 2013
I was told I had on the most beautiful and sexy dress at the wedding!

The fit of the dress is very sexy. The dress runs small and it cannot be zipped up on my own. Other that I loved the dress and so did my partner. I wore the dress to an evening wedding so it was very appropriate.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
August 25, 2013
Amazing dress, lots of compliments!

This dress definitely runs small. I normally wear a zero, and the small in this dress was tight. I'm sure the medium would have been too big though. The fabric is amazing and very comfortable! I could have worn this dress all day. I loved the style, especially the back. I received lots of compliments and felt like a million bucks wearing this dress! A must-rent!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
September 17, 2013
Must be Twiggy to wear

They did not have a size large for me to order as a back-up, but the medium was not even a close call so the large would likely not have fit either. VERY small fit. I had to send it back and have RTR overnight me another style. Loved my back-up dress even more than this one and RTR customer service was excellent!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 2, 2013
Beautiful dress, tight fit

I really enjoyed the dress but did have some problems with the zipper. The dress did not have hooks on the top of the zipper and it kept creeping down and pinching me but I just added a safety pin and it was fine. Also, I would listen to the reviews that it runs a bit small. At 130 lbs and 5'6" the medium was a tight fit. Actually, I thought it might not fit at all but luckily with a little assistance we got it zipped up. Also, the color was more of a royal blue than I thought it would be but still loved it. All in all very glad I rented it and would have done it again given the chance.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 136lbs
October 16, 2013
NOt my cup of tea

I was really excited for this dress... At the time i was 120lbs and a size 0/2 and ordered a Medium and it was still too small. It also just wasn't flattering..

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 28, 2013
Sexy dress!

This dress is gorgeous!! As everyone else mentioned, this dress does run a little small. With that said though, the material was stretchy enough that I was able to wear a small, which is the size I normally wear. The side zipper is definitely hard to zip up, and I had to have my husband help squeeze me in the dress. Once zipped, the dress fit like a glove and did not feel small at all. It was just hard to get into, especially around the ribcage area! I ordered a small and medium and the small overall fit me better. I have a small chest and I didn't want the top to be baggy. I would definitely recommend this beautiful dress!!

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 20, 2013
I felt sexy and stylish.

No fuss dress. Would rent again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
January 13, 2014
Fit and draping incredible

Loved this dress, it's a bit long but I didn't mind for the event... Felt comfortable and classy all night.. Hugs in all the right places :) small fit as well but I felt much more comfortable in the medium

View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 3, 2014
Love this dress!

Flattering and comfortable but it RUNS SMALL I definitely recommend getting a size up! The zipper on the side wasn't staying put so i had to safety pin it shut besides that I would absolutely rent again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 10, 2014
Beautiful color, runs small

I rented this dress for a cocktail party. I only got one size and wasn't able to wear it, because it was tight around the chest area. I wasn't able to zip the dress all the way up, however it fit perfectly elsewhere. I recommend getting a size up to what you usually wear (depending on your chest/ upper body build as well). The color is beautiful, and this would be a fun dress to wear to a cocktail party or a girl's night out. I recommend getting two sizes if your like it, so you can see what fits best.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 19, 2014
RUNS VERY SMALL

I attempted to wear this dress for a party....unfortunately, the only size available was a Medium and they didn't have a Large as a back-up size. I tried on the medium and could have pulled it off, but it was very snug and I was concerned that once I put a piece of lettuce in my mouth, the dress would just be too tight. The ironing job on this dress left something to be desired because once I put it on, the hem crease was out of whack...although this could have been because the dress was too tight on me. I would love to try this dress again....but in size Large.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
March 24, 2014
So Flattering!

Great dress. I rented the red Preen dress of similar fabric and this one didn't disappoint, either. These dresses are so fab. and super flattering. I usually wear an 8 (or a large 6) and the medium was tough to zip, but it worked. The zipper tended to fall, so I put a safety pin as a "bar" under the zipper so it wouldn't fall down. Great dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32H
Body type: Hourglass
March 31, 2014
Small fit as everyone says... beware the zipper.

Definitely needed 2 friends to help zip this up but once it was on it looked amazing. Would have given it more stars if the zipper hadn't fallen a bunch of times and left little nicks all over my side.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 16, 2014
Beautiful looking dress BUT..

This dress I could tell would of been great on but the sizing is crazy small! Order 2 sizes bigger than what you normally would wear. This was my first choice, but had to go with my backup dress because neither size fit. I'm around 110-115 lbs. I usually wear a 2 or a 4, but probably could have used a 6 or 8 in this dress. The dress did look beautiful and would of loved to have worn it if I could of.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
April 22, 2014
Just like the other reviewers said

Yup, this dress was so so small. I managed to get into it with help from my boyfriend. Once I was in it, it really was a great dress. RTR didn't have a M which was my preference, so I took the risk in ordering. The color is beautiful, but I probably wouldn't rent again just because of how tight it was. It was very pretty on, but the tightness was a one time thing!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 106lbs
April 28, 2014
Wore secondary dress...thankfully I got one. Ugh for this dress!

Did not like the way this dress fit me. I went up a size...it does run small. Hugged in the wrong places for me and fitted large in the chest area.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 28, 2014
Didn't end up wearing it, wore the same dress in light blue

RUNS VERY SMALL! I had a backup dress that I ended up wearing, but this dress was extremely elegant. I wore the exact same dress in light blue from RTR, in the same size, but it fit differently because it had been worn several times before (I think). And thus, easier to get on than this one, which was very new. Definitely go up a size. Very dramatic silhouette, and the top neckline is gorgeous.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 5, 2014
Watching my friend get married in a beautiful venue, myself in a beautiful dress!

The dress was awesome! But the fit was a little tricky. It was super tight in the waist, and well lined so I felt really secure. However the top fit a little large on me ( can't say I'm blessed in the chest!). Likewise, the back strap didn't fit quite flat at all times (you can see it in my pictures). Others had commented that they wished there was a clasp at the top of the zipper, which RTR must have taken to heart because the dress I received did in fact have a clasp. My own suggestion would be to have a few tack stitches added to the top-there is a pleat that can come unfolded showing the tag in the back. I must say that I love the RTR concept and am looking forward to my future rentals!

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 16, 2014
Runs small. Order up. Need assistance to zip

The color is really stunning. I wish I could have made this work but it just didn't. It was way too small and unforgiving.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 4, 2014
I've rented this dress in both red and blue I love it so much!

I rented this for a college alumni event and it didn't fail to impress. I was really happy I rented it. I'm still not sure if I liked this color or the red better.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 9, 2014
Beautiful dress / Terrible Fit

The dress was absolutely beautiful - color, fabric, and ruching were perfection! However, the fit (at least for me) was a major setback. I'm 5'11", size 2, with fuller hips and a tiny waist and chest. Surprisingly, the size S fit my hips but I could barely manage to zipper it past my ribcage. It was as if they placed a XXS top on a S bottom! Regardless, I sucked it up and had a great time and received many compliments on the dress. A MUST TRY for small chested women!

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
June 27, 2014
The event was actually cancelled due to legal issues from another charity event.

I got my normal size, but the tube part of the dress was really tight while the top seemed like it was made for a much larger bust (I am a 32D and normally a size 4/5 depending on the dress, so I'm not sure how that would be logical if the dress part fit snugly). I was super disappointed as it didn't even look like the color in the pictures, it's much darker and almost a navy blue.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
June 30, 2014
Very comfortable for a long afternoon/evening affair.

Runs small, be careful when you zip up. Once you get in it, it fits perfectly and is extremely comfortable.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
July 20, 2014
Dress looked beautiful

One of the other girls at the wedding also was wearing a RTW! We took this photo together, as we both had a great experience with RTW. Dress fit exactly how the reviews said. Took my husband forever to zip the dress up and I got many pinches on my side from the zipper. After it was on though, it was ver comfortable and looked amazing. The color had a lot more purple in it then the pictures let on. On the reviews as well, lots of the reviews mentioned side boob. I am large chested and had zero side boob, which I was very happy about since the wedding was all of my husbands coworkers. Beside the pinches, I was very happy with the dress and the service. Will be renting again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
July 27, 2014
Love this dress! Great color!

Beautiful dress! Difficult to zip on your own, but fit like a glove and was very comfortable. Good length for tall girls.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
July 1, 2012
Absolutely gorgeous!

I loved this dress and would rent it again in a heartbeat. Got so many compliments. Caution: It runs very small. I'm usually a 0-2 in dresses but found the Medium to be a perfect fit. Works well with NuBra as suggested by RTR.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 26, 2014
so comfortable

Loved this dress so much!! I read the reviews about how small the fit was and this dress definitely runs small, but I think I could have gone with an XS if it had been an option. The narrowest part of the dress is around the ribcage, so if you have a smaller upper body like me the small fit is less of an issue. I was worried the chest part would be weirdly baggy on me since I'm pretty flat but it laid in a flattering way. I wore sticky boobs just to feel more covered up but could have gone without a bra. I did use double sided tape along the right side to help with the gapping (I guess where there would be side boob if you have a larger chest) but it was an easy fix. The dress was long on me, hitting right past the knees. The material is sturdy so I was able to safety pin/double-sided tape and then iron the hem. The shoulder strap also gapped a little in the back but only required one safety pin to secure it to the back of the dress. These were just small tweaks and the dress came out looking like it was made for a petite person :) The best part is, it's SUPER comfortable- the dress material is thick and stretchy and I felt like I could have a huge wedding feast without a second thought. Huge fan of this dress- already planning to rent in a different color!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
August 30, 2014
Fun night in beautiful dress! Strong fabric, fit snugly in all the right places. Lots of compliments

I felt like a star in the dress! It fit beautiful on. The first try it took a while to get on and zippered! The zipper was a nightmare the first time and I had to work it a bit. Like other reviews, I do recommend a safety pin to ensure the zipper stays up. But once on, the dress has a lot of give and I felt comfortable to move around and dance in it! I would rent this dress again. I received compliments all night. #glamorous #wedding #lovethedress

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 1, 2014
Beautiful dress...but runs very small!

This dress is just as beautiful as it shows on the model. There wasn't a medium available so I got the small. Like the other reviewers, I thought that it ran small and I needed the help of someone else to help me zip it up. Once it was zipped up it felt fine but the process of zipping it up was not favorable which is why I rated it 4 out of 5. I wore it to an outdoor wedding in the summer and I got tons of compliments from people.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
September 7, 2014
It was so small that I couldn't wear it to the event.

I read reviews that said that the dress ran small, but wow I was unprepared for just how tight it was going to be. When I first attempted to try it on I ran and jumped on the scale to make sure that I hadn't gained a surprise 15 pounds since I ordered the dress one week prior. The dress was so small I needed an extra person to help me try and fit in it. In the end, the dress was so tight and the zipper digging so hard into my side that I had to wear a different dress to the event. The next time that reviews say that a dress runs small I will order 2 sizes up or not at all!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
September 9, 2014
You want to wear this dress! It runs small for sure, but size up and Go Get 'Em Girl !

I originally ordered this dress in the red color, but the XS zipper would not stay up. I am almost always a size 0-2, This dress runs a little small, you should size one size up. Once I had the correct size, it was so comfortable and so flattering!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
September 16, 2014
Way way too small

I'm normally a 4-6 and this dress didn't come close to fitting

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
September 25, 2014
I had to wear a back up LBD.

Rented this dress for a wedding. Based on reviews from women with my same height, weight and dress size, I ordered a small. The dress arrived timely. Unfortunately it was so small I could not even get the zipper all of the way up. The bottom of the dress did not lay flat either which was weird, as if someone had poorly hemmed it. It kind of bubbled up around the seam. My size for bra fittings is actually 33 (not technically 34) and this dress did not fit over the top of my ribcage. It did not even make it to my boobs which I was concerned about being a DD vs. D. Also, the color was very purple. Based on the picture online I had anticipated closer to a cobalt blue. It was not close to this color. I really did not like the color, and was upset about the fit. I ended up wearing a stand by LBD to the wedding. I will try RR again based on the convenience, cost and overall concept but with a different dress. This was not the dress for me.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
September 29, 2014
Darker cobalt color in person.

I have wanted to rent this dress for quite a while, and it always seems to be booked. For good reason, once you squeeze into it, it looks amazing! Note, I received notice that the medium was damaged by a previous renter and no longer available. I am between a 4-6, and I could fit into the S. The dress is a darker cobalt in color and needs simple jewelry. I did not end up wearing this dress, but I would rent it for a different event.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 26, 2014
Very small

Pretty but runs very small

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
December 12, 2014
I rented this for an office holiday party.

The dress runs small. I did not notice the ruching in the picture when i rented it. The lines going across my bottom did nothing for me. The hem was not pressed down very well and there was a tear in the dress, not really noticeable because of the ruching. I did not wear the dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
January 4, 2015
Did not wear the dress due to small size

Dress looked beautiful and the material seemed comfortable. Overall I did not wear this because the size I ordered was a two and there was no backup available. i normally wear a 2, but in this dress it was just too snug. A size four would have worked better.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 8, 2014
Way too small

This was my "second" dress and I figured it would be too small. It was!! I could not even get it on. The color of the dress is not accurately reflected in the picture. It is purple.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 103lbs
February 12, 2015
Gorgeous dress perfect for cruise vacation

I rented this dress to wear for a cruise formal night. The color was a beautiful violet. I received several compliments on the dress. As other reviewers have said this runs very, very small. I usually wear a 0 or XS. Only the size S was available. I decided to try it based on the other reviews and am glad I went with the small. I don't think an XS would have fit; the small was really small (for reference I am 32C-23-35). I was able to zip it up to about my rib cage by myself, but required help to get the zipper up the rest of the way. Once it was on, it was very comfortable and looked great. As usual, customer service was great and the rental process was easy.

See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×