Ports 1961

Perfect Parisian Sheath

$61 to buy
$695 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! Make an elegant entrance in this Ports 1961 dress to impress style.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - thick jersey fabric is fitted throughout and cinches in waist
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - thick jersey fabric is fitted throughout and cinches in waist
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy wool jersey. Sweetheart neckline with twist detail. Cap sleeves. Front pockets. Hidden back zip. Model's height is 5'10".

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

90 reviews

Fit
Small 2
True to Size 66
Large 20
Photos 19
KR
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119 lbs
Feb 3, 2011

Perfect dress for Fashion's Night Out NYC. Stylish yet sophisticated - perfect combination.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I loved this dress. It hug the body in the right places, the fabric was forgiving and the sweetheart neckline was very flattering.
CB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
May 29, 2011

This was my first rental. Great experience and now I am hooked!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Dress fits body very well (it's stretchy). It's classy and can be worn to just about any event. The smaller size of the two I ordered was the one I wore. It doesn't run too large, but I'd definitely go with the smaller size. The neckline is cut a little low and reveals a bit of cleavage (even with my size B chest). Great dress, but I think next time I will order a dress which is a little more exciting and sexy.
MichAnglin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 30, 2011

I wore this dress to my High Tea bridal shower...it was flattering, comfortable and I felt so classy and fashionable!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I am obsessed with this dress & wish I owned it. Wore it to a high tea bridal shower and got so many compliments. The bottom half is forgiving, the fitted portion is perfect and the dress is super comfortable. I have a large chest, and it was a little on display. Paired it with deep sea earrings and teal flower petal cuff.
MrsBianca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Dec 3, 2012

Great lines

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
the dress is a bit loose. I had size large and the fabric was extra stretchy. The top was cut low, so be sure you have the right bra. I kept pulling the dress up to cover up. eventually, I just draped a scarf around myself for added confidence. I really enjoyed the pockets of the dress, too!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175 lbs
Mar 25, 2013

Lots of compliments, a very flattering dress, but navy not black.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I really loved the fit of the dress, it was very flattering. However, definitely runs large. The material has a lot of stretch to it so I would really recommend ordering a size smaller than you usually wear. I usually wear a 10-12, so ordered both sizes. I wore the 10 but I probably would have fit into an 8 even better. I am a 36-DD and it was still a little roomy for me on top and in some photos the neck line went so low that my bra was visible. I would not order this dress if you have a small bust because the neckline is very roomy. If you have a curvy shape it is a very flattering dress. I got lots of compliments on the great hour glass figure it gave me. Word of warning ladies - this was my mistake for not reading the description, but when I placed the order I thought this was a black dress based on the photos. It is actually navy. I didn't mind, but it did mean I had to rethink my accessories at the last minute since my jacket and shoes I had planned to wear were black. Overall, my first Rent the Runway experience and I would definitely rent again.
Taylor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
May 10, 2013

This dress was the perfect mix of professional and sexy! So many compliments!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for a dressy cocktail/black tie dinner for work. I was a little wary because of the material (it's jersey) but with the right accessories it was perfect! I'm probably somewhere between a 10-12 but with my larger chest I usually have to go for the 12. The cut of the dress is really nice and I didn't feel like I was showing too much cleavage at all. AND it has pockets! It was a perfect dress that because of the simplicity of it, you can do so much! I would love to have this is my closet!
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170 lbs
Aug 20, 2013

Very flattering dress. Comfortable, easy to walk in, lovely.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit is true to size. I'm 5'11" and wore it for a red carpet event where I was part of the staff and needed to be running here and there and didn't feel it was too short. It was very flattering - definitely cocktail party suitable, but not so dressy that you feel like the dress is wearing you.
Jaime
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Aug 22, 2013

Pretty dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I liked the dress - especially the pockets! I enjoyed the stretchier fabric (so comfortable!) and the neckline (so flattering), but ended up going with a dress that had some more detail to it. If you have great accessories, check this dress out to jazz it up!
Demetra
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 11, 2013

I felt very cute in this at my engagement party! It was a little big, but super cute.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Everything was a little big and slouchy, but no one noticed :)
Michele
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 143 lbs
Sep 27, 2013

Cute LBD!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
Dress is stretchy so I could have worn the 6 or 8. I wore the 6 which was at least two inches shorter than the 8. I had issues with gapping around the pockets but not enoug to make it unwearable. It was cute but not my favorite rental.
Leslie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Oct 22, 2013

I wish the dress was in better condition so I could of worn it.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered a 0 and a 2. The 0 fit the best however the quality of the fabric was not worthy to wear to the wedding. There were snags in the fabric and it was also pilling in parts of the dress. This was my first rent the runway and I don't think I'll do this again.
Ally
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 18
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 21, 2013

Tons of compliments from strangers all night!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was super comfortable! I was a little worried about the length, but it ended up being perfect. The criss cross detail on the front was beautiful and the pockets were definitely a plus. No complaints!
sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 26, 2013

Received a bunch of compliments!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fit was perfect. I will note that for some the neckline (deep neckline) might be an issue, but I am small chested and it didn't affect me. I didn't notice it until after the event and perusing pics and it was a bit low.
Ellen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175 lbs
Dec 12, 2013

I felt glamorous and sophisticated

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was quite comfortable and fit well. I think it rode up a little on the hips but it wasn't too bad. It gave me a lot of confidence, and I would definitely wear it again.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112 lbs
Feb 28, 2014

Valentine's Day Date

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I wore this out for a night out in the city. PROS: Incredibly comfortable fit and true to size. Loved the material and the way it looked - gorgeous and classic. Also appreciated the pockets (which lie flat against the dress instead of pouffing up ). CONS: None - would definitely rent this dress again!
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 10, 2014

I wore this to my engagement party.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The style and shape of the dress are really fun, but it was also perfectly appropriate for a party hosted by my parents' friends.
Alex
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 18, 2014

I wore this dress to a work gala.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is wonderful. The cut of the neckline is very flattering. I am a 34b and I never felt like anything was going to pop out. I did not wear a special bra . I usually wear a size 4 dress and that is what I wore. I recommend getting your usual size plus one size smaller since the dress is very stretchy. The only surprise for me was that the dress was quite a bit shorter than I expected. I am 5.5 and the dress fell about 5 or six inches above my knee. A little short for work but oh well..
Tina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 25, 2014

Very comfortable

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Very comfortable. Both the 6 and 8 fit but the 8 felt a little more comfortable. It did ride up a little at times. Overall I really liked it and got lots of compliments. Love the pockets!
corey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 26, 2014

A little too boring....

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Rented this for a wedding but did not end up wearing it.....dress is much cuter on the model than in person. Fit is fairly true to size. Need some jewelry to jazz it up.
Amanda
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 7, 2014

I did not wear it to the event

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
the dress was bunchy in the back and tighter at the bottom than I expected.
Anna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Apr 15, 2014

Comfortable and simple

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was very comfortable to wear all day. It is a thick Jersey type material and the weight kept it from feeling clingy. The color is really a nice navy blue, and it has pockets. My only issue is that it was fairly short, so I sized up to add some length. The extra length helped with sitting etc waiting for the wedding to begin etc.
Adriana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
May 5, 2014

Great dress for work and after work in NYC

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Runs big. I usually wear a 6 - but 4 was perfect. Wasn't lined but very comfortable. Wore all day long and was comfortable.
Mary Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
May 10, 2014

Beautiful Conservative Dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I didn't end up wearing this dress but would definitely rent it again for a slightly more casual event. Would be great for a formal work function. Wonderful LBD. I would suggest sizing down when renting the dress.
erica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Jun 15, 2014

Very comfortable!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very comfortable but a little warm because of the thickness of the material. Probably best for fall/winter events. Overall fit was good, but a little big up top. Overall, great first RTR experience!
Adele
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 23, 2014

Classic and comfortable

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress has a classic, flattering design. The fit is snug, but the stretchy fabric and dark color are very forgiving. It even has pockets in case you want to go sans purse. I wore it to my brother-in-law's rehearsal dinner and got lots of compliments.
Alana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Jul 3, 2014

Nice dress for a professional event

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit really well but I ended up not being able to attend the event I rented it for. The material was also not as nice as it looked online.
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 10, 2014

Unwearable

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Unfortunately, the dress was too short for me and not flattering at all due to the cut of the bustline and high waist. I ended up wearing another black dress I had in my closet.
lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 22, 2014

Beautiful Dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was beautiful, and I was in the SEEN Column of our newspaper. Elegant and easy to wear.
Karen
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165 lbs
Sep 28, 2014

Classy, comfortable, great for curves

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a special b-day event - it was perfect. This dress fit my curves with no problems at all and was comfortable to move around in. Seeing dresses modeled by tall women in size 0 & 2 I assume they won't fit me -- this one did and I would definitely rent it again.
Angela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 19, 2014

This dress was amazing and elegantly simple!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am in love with this dress! I wish I owned it. I wore the 4 and it is true to size, just slightly loose in the bust, I didn't even try on the 2 because it felt great everywhere else. The pockets were so fun and the material was incredibly comfortable. So flattering! The dress was black but looked navy in some lighting so I wouldn't wear a black shoe with it. Loved it and would recommend to anyone looking for a black dress to wear that is hassle free
Raquel
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Body type: Petite
Oct 21, 2014

Fun comfortable dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress was extremely comfortable, love the pockets. Fun dress and perfect for any event.
Kendra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 22, 2014

lovely!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great fit for someone shaped like a pear ;) The dress is definitely a dark navy. A little heavy material if you wanted to wear it for an event over 80 degrees. True to size - a little larger in the chest so if you're smaller than a B it might not work for you.
Jo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Oct 26, 2014

Sweet, simple dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
A nice, flattering dress (though do wear your Spanx). It needs some excellent accessories to really shine. I had no riding up problems.
Julia
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 16, 2014

Great dress, very easy to wear. I ordered the 0 and the 2, and went with the 0.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It is a very dark navy, almost black.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Nov 16, 2014

Amazing fit!

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Date
This dress is my favorite rental so far! The length was perfect and it is super-flattering. The neckline was not too low and the pockets were so useful. I have already ordered this a second time for an upcoming work event.
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 16, 2014

As a very pear pear, this was too tight on my bottom half and too big on top

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This happens a lot-- with a 27" waist and a 43" bottom... Not a lot works! This dress is no exception, which was too bad because it was a very pretty dress.
JJ
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 22, 2014

Overall, great dress & very comfortable!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
extremely comfortable & forgiving fabric. Reserved size 6 & 8. Both fit, but 8 felt a bit roomier in the hips (which I prefer). However, felt the top / neckline was a bit low.
Hillery
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 23, 2014

Cute, but tight!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore it to a work Xmas party. It's a nice dress, and comfortable (pockets!), but it is skin tight! It was also pretty short on me (5'8"). And the zipper in the back was stiff and stuck out a bit awkwardly. Wouldn't wear it again, but it was pretty ok for the occasion.
grace ellyn
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Body type: Athletic
Feb 2, 2015

Perfect little black dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered a 0 and a 2, normall ywear a 2 and considered ordering a 4 for my second size but glad I didn't! It runs a bit large so the 0 fit perfectly. A tiny bit low cut, I'm barely a B cup and was fine if I wore a bra with no padding but any sort of push-up bra made it almost too inappropriate to wear around family. Absolutely loved the dress though!
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 3, 2015

This dress is the perfect balance of class and sass!

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
This dress is so classy! It runs true to size and is such a nice weight fabric. I received compliments all evening and felt so comfortable and confident in it.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×