Ports 1961

Perfect Parisian Sheath

$61 to buy
$695 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! Make an elegant entrance in this Ports 1961 dress to impress style.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - thick jersey fabric is fitted throughout and cinches in waist
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Product Details

Navy wool jersey. Sweetheart neckline with twist detail. Cap sleeves. Front pockets. Hidden back zip. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
94 reviews
Fit
Large
(20)
True to Size
(69)
Small
(2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
November 16, 2014
Amazing fit!

This dress is my favorite rental so far! The length was perfect and it is super-flattering. The neckline was not too low and the pockets were so useful. I have already ordered this a second time for an upcoming work event.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 3, 2015
This dress is the perfect balance of class and sass!

This dress is so classy! It runs true to size and is such a nice weight fabric. I received compliments all evening and felt so comfortable and confident in it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
April 15, 2015
Comfortable and professional choice

This is one of the most comfortable dresses that I have ever worn. I loved the stretchy fabric and kangaroo pocket. It's very simple and professional but the neckline keeps it from being boring. It was perfect for my work holiday party.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
May 29, 2011
This was my first rental. Great experience and now I am hooked!

Dress fits body very well (it's stretchy). It's classy and can be worn to just about any event. The smaller size of the two I ordered was the one I wore. It doesn't run too large, but I'd definitely go with the smaller size. The neckline is cut a little low and reveals a bit of cleavage (even with my size B chest). Great dress, but I think next time I will order a dress which is a little more exciting and sexy.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 15, 2011

It runs a little big. I'm usually a size 4 so I got a size 4 and 6. THey fit but kinda big. I called up RTR and they send a size 2 the next day. I love this dress its conservative and sexy at the same time. I wore it to a wedding and paired it with a silver belt and silver shoes to make it more dressed up. I would rent this again.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 14, 2011

I wore this to a friend's engagement party. It fits great - pretty snug, but extrememely flattering because the material is thick and doesn't show every lump and bump. The material is less dressy than I thought, so you can dress it up with accessories, but it could also work for a business cocktail party. I usually wear a size 4, but wore the size 2, so I would go a size down. I have a small bust, but the neck showed them off and almost gave me a little cleavage!

Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
October 25, 2011

This dress is outstanding! I typically wear a size 4 and have a larger chest (DD), but based on the reviews I ordered the 2 as my back up...so glad I did! The 2 fit and looked amazing (I didn't even bother trying on the 4). The fabric had some stretch but was nicely weighted and perfect for fall NYC weather. This dress is beautiful and was a real head turner - will definitely rent again.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 27, 2011
Great dress!

Great dress for company holiday party. Classic, elegant, and very flattering. A dress you can feel confident in. The thicker material of the dress also makes it a good winter dress. I am 5'6", 120 pounds, and a 34A. I usually wear around a size 4, but ordered a 2 as a back up. The 2 fit well; it was form fitting but definitely not tight.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 1, 2011
Dress was ok at best.

This dress ran a size or two bigger. I'm usually a size 3/4 and I had order both the 2 and 4 because of previous reviews. The dress was more business than casual. And I have a very petite frame, and the dress overall was not very flattering. I wore this for a date, and it was a little too business woman for me. Also at the midsection where the waist cinches, most dresses have it so that it is breathable, but this was stationary. I also, was very unhappy with the fact that the hemline of the dress was so tight. I could not comfortably get in or out of a car.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
September 18, 2012
sophisticated and professional

i rented this to wear to a cocktail party where i was checking in people at the door. i felt sophisticated and sexy, but completely appropriate at the same time. the length is right and the cut not too low. the stylist suggested that i size down for my back up size and she ended up being correct that this runs a bit large.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
December 3, 2012
Great lines

the dress is a bit loose. I had size large and the fabric was extra stretchy. The top was cut low, so be sure you have the right bra. I kept pulling the dress up to cover up. eventually, I just draped a scarf around myself for added confidence. I really enjoyed the pockets of the dress, too!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
January 2, 2013
Easy and elegant.

Rented this dress (twice) for weddings. It has an elegant simplicity and a flattering overall cut. The dress is made from a nice thick jersey and is completely lined, which makes it great for a fall or winter wedding. It's also incredibly easy to wear and to match with shoes/accessories. In terms of sizing, I would say that it runs slightly large (and has some forgiving stretch). Only improvement to this dress would be the addition of a back slit to the skirt, which would allow for easier movement. But overall a reliable, classic sheath suitable for many occassions.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
January 14, 2013
Ran large. Ended up wearing the other dress I rented

The dress was really nice, just a bit baggier than it should have been for the size.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 25, 2013
This dress was very flattering! I felt slim and pretty in a very understated way.

This dress is very stretchy-- I'm usually a 4 and couldn't tell much difference between the 2 and 4, but went with the 2 because it wasn't as fitted as the model's. Others mentioned it was lowcut-- I thought it was just fine for a modest chest and worked well with any non-full coverage bra. The pockets were perfect The stretchiness made the dress so comfortable all night, not at all the kind of dress you can't wait to take off. Understated but lovely. Perfect for a work party!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32DDD/E
Body type: Pear
Weight: 156lbs
March 25, 2013
Lots of compliments, a very flattering dress, but navy not black.

I really loved the fit of the dress, it was very flattering. However, definitely runs large. The material has a lot of stretch to it so I would really recommend ordering a size smaller than you usually wear. I usually wear a 10-12, so ordered both sizes. I wore the 10 but I probably would have fit into an 8 even better. I am a 36-DD and it was still a little roomy for me on top and in some photos the neck line went so low that my bra was visible. I would not order this dress if you have a small bust because the neckline is very roomy. If you have a curvy shape it is a very flattering dress. I got lots of compliments on the great hour glass figure it gave me. Word of warning ladies - this was my mistake for not reading the description, but when I placed the order I thought this was a black dress based on the photos. It is actually navy. I didn't mind, but it did mean I had to rethink my accessories at the last minute since my jacket and shoes I had planned to wear were black. Overall, my first Rent the Runway experience and I would definitely rent again.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
September 11, 2013
I felt very cute in this at my engagement party! It was a little big, but super cute.

Everything was a little big and slouchy, but no one noticed :)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 143lbs
September 27, 2013
Cute LBD!

Dress is stretchy so I could have worn the 6 or 8. I wore the 6 which was at least two inches shorter than the 8. I had issues with gapping around the pockets but not enoug to make it unwearable. It was cute but not my favorite rental.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 10, 2012
Beautiful!

I loved the dress but found that it ran a bit large.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
March 10, 2014
I wore this to my engagement party.

The style and shape of the dress are really fun, but it was also perfectly appropriate for a party hosted by my parents' friends.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 5, 2014
Great dress for work and after work in NYC

Runs big. I usually wear a 6 - but 4 was perfect. Wasn't lined but very comfortable. Wore all day long and was comfortable.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 10, 2014
Beautiful Conservative Dress

I didn't end up wearing this dress but would definitely rent it again for a slightly more casual event. Would be great for a formal work function. Wonderful LBD. I would suggest sizing down when renting the dress.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
February 2, 2015
Perfect little black dress

I ordered a 0 and a 2, normall ywear a 2 and considered ordering a 4 for my second size but glad I didn't! It runs a bit large so the 0 fit perfectly. A tiny bit low cut, I'm barely a B cup and was fine if I wore a bra with no padding but any sort of push-up bra made it almost too inappropriate to wear around family. Absolutely loved the dress though!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
October 9, 2012
Demure!

Dress was awesome. Many compliments and I felt like a million bucks. I am only 5' so I had to tape the top if the dress to the bra straps to keep it in place but it stayed wonderfully.....

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 23, 2014
Cute, but tight!

I wore it to a work Xmas party. It's a nice dress, and comfortable (pockets!), but it is skin tight! It was also pretty short on me (5'8"). And the zipper in the back was stiff and stuck out a bit awkwardly. Wouldn't wear it again, but it was pretty ok for the occasion.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
September 10, 2014
Unwearable

Unfortunately, the dress was too short for me and not flattering at all due to the cut of the bustline and high waist. I ended up wearing another black dress I had in my closet.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
August 24, 2010

Dress runs true to size and it had the right amount of umph for my presentation at work. It is stretchy fabric and also looks great with tights!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 4, 2010

Loved the navy blue color and style!! Perfect dress for networking and comfortable!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 59
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 6, 2010

Simply gorgeous. "Tres" sophisticated and the fit is very flattering. I had my doubts about a blue dress but I paired it with some deep purple peep toe pumps and pearls and it was elegant with a dash of my personality. As always with my Runway rentals, lots of compliments.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
September 28, 2010

I really liked this dress, it was chic and sophisticated. The fabric is a little stretchy which allows for a bit more give in your curvier areas.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 59
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
October 11, 2010

This dress was my backup, but it was a close call. The sheath is a well-made and conservativly cut style. The neckline, however, made it much sexier than it would appear in the photo--particularly for those who have a full bust. In my case, cleavage was on display and I decided that the occasion called for less cleavage. Loved the pockets and for a grazing business coctail party it would be great--pockets are a rare feature on dresses and they are a great place to stash a business card or slim cell phone.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
November 16, 2010

This dress is cut beautifully, and is very flattering and ladylike. The fabric is relatively thick, and the dress is lined, which gives the piece a nicely tailored look. This is a great dress for a holiday work party, or any other time that you'd like to look like Jackie-O--effortlessly chic. I'm 24, and I liked that it made me look more put together for a work party I was attending. I let my Mom try it on too (she's 50), and she loved that it made her look sexy, but not like she was "wearing her daughter's clothes."

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
December 14, 2010

I loved this dress. Who knew wool could be so soft? Wore it to a holiday party with some stilettos and diamond jewelry and received a ton of compliments. I definitely agree with some of the previous posts about the bust. I have a larger bust, (Thanks to the birth of my daughter.), and it was certainly on display more than in the photo. (My husband didn't mind and it was still work holiday party appropriate.) I would recommend checking out Port 1961's website for their sizing guide because it's different from Rent The Runway's.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32F
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 3, 2011
Perfect dress for Fashion's Night Out NYC. Stylish yet sophisticated - perfect combination.

I loved this dress. It hug the body in the right places, the fabric was forgiving and the sweetheart neckline was very flattering.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Body type: Athletic
April 21, 2011

I ordered this dress in an 8 and 10, but the 10 was not available. It is very nice, the fabric is heavy, and it is a nice cut, except I found it to not be the right proportions for me, e.g. my torso was maybe a bit too long for it, and it was also very short, shorter than on the model. I didn't feel it fit well so I sent it back, but would have liked to have seen how the large size would have fit.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 138lbs
May 10, 2011

Perfect dress. Went to a meeting to a cocktail party without any changes. I can't tell you how many compliments I got. I felt like a million bucks and felt amazing. Runs true to size and hugs in all the right places.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
July 30, 2011
I wore this dress to my High Tea bridal shower...it was flattering, comfortable and I felt so classy and fashionable!

I am obsessed with this dress & wish I owned it. Wore it to a high tea bridal shower and got so many compliments. The bottom half is forgiving, the fitted portion is perfect and the dress is super comfortable. I have a large chest, and it was a little on display. Paired it with deep sea earrings and teal flower petal cuff.

View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
October 19, 2011

This was my first rental and a great experience. Very flattering and amazing, high-quality fabric with this dress. I am usually between a 4 and 6, so ordered both. I would say it runs just a bit large since the 4 was plenty big enough. I was nervous about the fit since I am on the thinner side but have a 32DDD chest, but this dress was perfect. Used for engagement pics!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
October 29, 2011

I have rented this dress twice already. Once for a work related dinner and once for a wedding. It fits perfectly and is oh, so flattering. I would love to own it!

EmilyOctober 29, 2011
Where did this dress fall on your legs because I am a similar body type as you
JaxOctober 29, 2011
Came right to the knee. I wore it with no problem but when I rent again (and I'm sure I will) I am going to shorthen it a bit with Hollywood Hem Tape available from RTR.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
November 7, 2011

I'm 5'5" and wore a size 4 in this dress. I wore it to a formal luncheon and felt just like Audrey...but with boobs. Girls with a chest, be warned: you will have cleavage in this dress. Go with a balcony bra, as a full coverage one will tend to show in the front.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
December 8, 2011
Conservative Nice Dress

I rented this dress for a holiday party where I needed something conservative. This dress was perfect! It fit well without being too tight but still showed my figure. Great choice.

See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×