Perfect Parisian Sheath

$61 to buy
$695 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! Make an elegant entrance in this Ports 1961 dress to impress style.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - thick jersey fabric is fitted throughout and cinches in waist
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - thick jersey fabric is fitted throughout and cinches in waist
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy wool jersey. Sweetheart neckline with twist detail. Cap sleeves. Front pockets. Hidden back zip. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
94 reviews
Fit
Large20
True to Size69
Small2
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
February 27, 2016
Fun
Fit great
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
September 28, 2015
Loved it!
Loved the color, and loved the fit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
April 15, 2015
Comfortable and professional choice
This is one of the most comfortable dresses that I have ever worn. I loved the stretchy fabric and kangaroo pocket. It's very simple and professional but the neckline keeps it from being boring. It was perfect for my work holiday party.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 3, 2015
This dress is the perfect balance of class and sass!
This dress is so classy! It runs true to size and is such a nice weight fabric. I received compliments all evening and felt so comfortable and confident in it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 185lbs
February 26, 2015
Jazz set in Vegas - perfect dress for the occasion!
I loved that this dress had pockets! Had to be careful with how bulky the items were though - pocketed items fall/rest around the stomach area. The material was lighter than expected, but the dress fit well and was perfect for a quick convention jazz set.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
February 2, 2015
Perfect little black dress
I ordered a 0 and a 2, normall ywear a 2 and considered ordering a 4 for my second size but glad I didn't! It runs a bit large so the 0 fit perfectly. A tiny bit low cut, I'm barely a B cup and was fine if I wore a bra with no padding but any sort of push-up bra made it almost too inappropriate to wear around family. Absolutely loved the dress though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 23, 2014
Cute, but tight!
I wore it to a work Xmas party. It's a nice dress, and comfortable (pockets!), but it is skin tight! It was also pretty short on me (5'8"). And the zipper in the back was stiff and stuck out a bit awkwardly. Wouldn't wear it again, but it was pretty ok for the occasion.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
December 22, 2014
Overall, great dress & very comfortable!
extremely comfortable & forgiving fabric. Reserved size 6 & 8. Both fit, but 8 felt a bit roomier in the hips (which I prefer). However, felt the top / neckline was a bit low.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
December 16, 2014
As a very pear pear, this was too tight on my bottom half and too big on top
This happens a lot-- with a 27" waist and a 43" bottom... Not a lot works! This dress is no exception, which was too bad because it was a very pretty dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
November 16, 2014
Amazing fit!
This dress is my favorite rental so far! The length was perfect and it is super-flattering. The neckline was not too low and the pockets were so useful. I have already ordered this a second time for an upcoming work event.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 16, 2014
Great dress, very easy to wear. I ordered the 0 and the 2, and went with the 0.
It is a very dark navy, almost black.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
October 26, 2014
Sweet, simple dress
A nice, flattering dress (though do wear your Spanx). It needs some excellent accessories to really shine. I had no riding up problems.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
October 22, 2014
lovely!
Great fit for someone shaped like a pear ;) The dress is definitely a dark navy. A little heavy material if you wanted to wear it for an event over 80 degrees. True to size - a little larger in the chest so if you're smaller than a B it might not work for you.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Body type: Petite
October 21, 2014
Fun comfortable dress
Dress was extremely comfortable, love the pockets. Fun dress and perfect for any event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
October 19, 2014
This dress was amazing and elegantly simple!
I am in love with this dress! I wish I owned it. I wore the 4 and it is true to size, just slightly loose in the bust, I didn't even try on the 2 because it felt great everywhere else. The pockets were so fun and the material was incredibly comfortable. So flattering! The dress was black but looked navy in some lighting so I wouldn't wear a black shoe with it. Loved it and would recommend to anyone looking for a black dress to wear that is hassle free
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
September 28, 2014
Classy, comfortable, great for curves
I rented this dress for a special b-day event - it was perfect. This dress fit my curves with no problems at all and was comfortable to move around in. Seeing dresses modeled by tall women in size 0 & 2 I assume they won't fit me -- this one did and I would definitely rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113lbs
September 22, 2014
Beautiful Dress!
The dress was beautiful, and I was in the SEEN Column of our newspaper. Elegant and easy to wear.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
September 10, 2014
Unwearable
Unfortunately, the dress was too short for me and not flattering at all due to the cut of the bustline and high waist. I ended up wearing another black dress I had in my closet.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
July 3, 2014
Nice dress for a professional event
The dress fit really well but I ended up not being able to attend the event I rented it for. The material was also not as nice as it looked online.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
June 23, 2014
Classic and comfortable
This dress has a classic, flattering design. The fit is snug, but the stretchy fabric and dark color are very forgiving. It even has pockets in case you want to go sans purse. I wore it to my brother-in-law's rehearsal dinner and got lots of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
June 15, 2014
Very comfortable!
Very comfortable but a little warm because of the thickness of the material. Probably best for fall/winter events. Overall fit was good, but a little big up top. Overall, great first RTR experience!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 10, 2014
Beautiful Conservative Dress
I didn't end up wearing this dress but would definitely rent it again for a slightly more casual event. Would be great for a formal work function. Wonderful LBD. I would suggest sizing down when renting the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 5, 2014
Great dress for work and after work in NYC
Runs big. I usually wear a 6 - but 4 was perfect. Wasn't lined but very comfortable. Wore all day long and was comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
April 15, 2014
Comfortable and simple
This dress was very comfortable to wear all day. It is a thick Jersey type material and the weight kept it from feeling clingy. The color is really a nice navy blue, and it has pockets. My only issue is that it was fairly short, so I sized up to add some length. The extra length helped with sitting etc waiting for the wedding to begin etc.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
April 7, 2014
I did not wear it to the event
the dress was bunchy in the back and tighter at the bottom than I expected.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
March 26, 2014
A little too boring....
Rented this for a wedding but did not end up wearing it.....dress is much cuter on the model than in person. Fit is fairly true to size. Need some jewelry to jazz it up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
March 25, 2014
Very comfortable
Very comfortable. Both the 6 and 8 fit but the 8 felt a little more comfortable. It did ride up a little at times. Overall I really liked it and got lots of compliments. Love the pockets!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 18, 2014
I wore this dress to a work gala.
This dress is wonderful. The cut of the neckline is very flattering. I am a 34b and I never felt like anything was going to pop out. I did not wear a special bra . I usually wear a size 4 dress and that is what I wore. I recommend getting your usual size plus one size smaller since the dress is very stretchy. The only surprise for me was that the dress was quite a bit shorter than I expected. I am 5.5 and the dress fell about 5 or six inches above my knee. A little short for work but oh well..
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
March 10, 2014
I wore this to my engagement party.
The style and shape of the dress are really fun, but it was also perfectly appropriate for a party hosted by my parents' friends.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
February 28, 2014
Valentine's Day Date
I wore this out for a night out in the city. PROS: Incredibly comfortable fit and true to size. Loved the material and the way it looked - gorgeous and classic. Also appreciated the pockets (which lie flat against the dress instead of pouffing up ). CONS: None - would definitely rent this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
December 12, 2013
I felt glamorous and sophisticated
The dress was quite comfortable and fit well. I think it rode up a little on the hips but it wasn't too bad. It gave me a lot of confidence, and I would definitely wear it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
November 26, 2013
Received a bunch of compliments!
The fit was perfect. I will note that for some the neckline (deep neckline) might be an issue, but I am small chested and it didn't affect me. I didn't notice it until after the event and perusing pics and it was a bit low.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 21, 2013
Tons of compliments from strangers all night!
This dress was super comfortable! I was a little worried about the length, but it ended up being perfect. The criss cross detail on the front was beautiful and the pockets were definitely a plus. No complaints!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
October 22, 2013
I wish the dress was in better condition so I could of worn it.
I ordered a 0 and a 2. The 0 fit the best however the quality of the fabric was not worthy to wear to the wedding. There were snags in the fabric and it was also pilling in parts of the dress. This was my first rent the runway and I don't think I'll do this again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 143lbs
September 27, 2013
Cute LBD!
Dress is stretchy so I could have worn the 6 or 8. I wore the 6 which was at least two inches shorter than the 8. I had issues with gapping around the pockets but not enoug to make it unwearable. It was cute but not my favorite rental.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
September 11, 2013
I felt very cute in this at my engagement party! It was a little big, but super cute.
Everything was a little big and slouchy, but no one noticed :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
August 22, 2013
Pretty dress
I liked the dress - especially the pockets! I enjoyed the stretchier fabric (so comfortable!) and the neckline (so flattering), but ended up going with a dress that had some more detail to it. If you have great accessories, check this dress out to jazz it up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
August 20, 2013
Very flattering dress. Comfortable, easy to walk in, lovely.
The fit is true to size. I'm 5'11" and wore it for a red carpet event where I was part of the staff and needed to be running here and there and didn't feel it was too short. It was very flattering - definitely cocktail party suitable, but not so dressy that you feel like the dress is wearing you.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 29, 2013
Fit like a glove!
Love the pockets. Got tons of compliments. Highly recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 9, 2013
Best for a cocktail party
Love the cut, the pockets and cute cap sleeves. Excellent fit, wish I could have kept this one! Perfect go to black dress. Its a nice thick ponte fabric, I wore it in the winter and it kept me warm!
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×