You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Perfect Parisian Sheath
Rental $30 Retail $695
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Exclusive to Rent the Runway! Make an elegant entrance in this Ports 1961 dress to impress style.
Chat with a Stylist
Navy wool jersey. Sweetheart neckline with twist detail. Cap sleeves. Front pockets. Hidden back zip. Model's height is 5'10".
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - thick jersey fabric is fitted throughout and cinches in waist
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos11

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Angela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6434
Sep 17, 2012
Comfy but not frumpy.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I enjoyed this dress during a time i didn't feel very fit but was required to wear a formal dress. It was just long enough, just stretchy enough, and just lovely enough to make all my curves look gorgeous! I didn't have to keep pulling it up, down, or all around. the dress sat so well and I really like the dress. This dress served it's purpose as a "little black dress" but I didn't feel this would be a dress you would turn heads in. While it is beautiful, it's simply simple.
Philippa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4534
Sep 10, 2012
Great Classic Dress
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my backup dress that I wore. The fabric was incredibly comfortable and forgiving, but a little bulky. I did wear a belt as I felt the waist line needed definition. Neckline was quite low but flattering with a full bust and allows a regular bra. Pockets in the front a great look but did make that area not so smooth. I got compliments with on the dress - you cant go wrong with a classic like this.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6434
Aug 25, 2012
Didn't get the dress in time
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I was so excited to wear this dress for a big conference. Unfortunately, it was delivered to the wrong house so I never even got to see it.
Aimee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7534
Aug 24, 2012
Beautiful dress
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
If you want to feel beautiful and classy for an evening, this is the dress. I wore it to my 10 year high school reunion and everyone thought it was perfect.
adgal2008
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5624
Aug 16, 2012
Classic Look
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Adorable retro look. Great neckline if you have a generous chest, and curves. It was a great fit. Fabric was crepe. Not a nightclub dress. It's demure.
Maddie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Aug 10, 2012
Beautiful!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I loved the dress but found that it ran a bit large.
Tamara
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 7424
Apr 20, 2012
Sophisticated w/ cleavage
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for a charity event that was for work. It called for business attire. This dress was almost perfect. Beautiful, flexible, and comfortable. The 10 fit me very well, if not a bit of bunching because the zipper was long (i have this issue often though, and its not really noticable, its just that the shoulders can creep up on me if im not careful because i am short and short waisted). If you are busty, be careful. I was able to get away with it but I wear a 32F/34D bra - the girls were definitely apparent. It was okay though. I would have preferred to be a bit more covered, and double sided tape would have helped me to secure the dress a bit better (i just adjusted it manually and it was ok). I recieved LOTS of compliments on how i looked. People were admiring it! I wore nude pumps, pearl earrings and a pearl/gold necklace. Worked well. Really love the dress. Super comfortable with a sexy yet sophisticated flair.
B
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3443
Mar 12, 2012
Perfect!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Perfect for a wedding - great length and the fit was great. The fabric is slightly stretchy which makes the dress really comfortable. The dress also has pockets.
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 6443
Dec 20, 2011
This dress is a must!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Absolutely love this dress, it was such a shame to send it back! Fits true to size and is very flattering.
M
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Dec 8, 2011
Conservative Nice Dress
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a holiday party where I needed something conservative. This dress was perfect! It fit well without being too tight but still showed my figure. Great choice.
Stephanie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4321
Dec 1, 2011
Dress was ok at best.
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
This dress ran a size or two bigger. I'm usually a size 3/4 and I had order both the 2 and 4 because of previous reviews. The dress was more business than casual. And I have a very petite frame, and the dress overall was not very flattering. I wore this for a date, and it was a little too business woman for me. Also at the midsection where the waist cinches, most dresses have it so that it is breathable, but this was stationary. I also, was very unhappy with the fact that the hemline of the dress was so tight. I could not comfortably get in or out of a car.
Mia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4532
Nov 27, 2011
Great dress!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Great dress for company holiday party. Classic, elegant, and very flattering. A dress you can feel confident in. The thicker material of the dress also makes it a good winter dress. I am 5'6", 120 pounds, and a 34A. I usually wear around a size 4, but ordered a 2 as a back up. The 2 fit well; it was form fitting but definitely not tight.
Jess A.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4434
Nov 7, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I'm 5'5" and wore a size 4 in this dress. I wore it to a formal luncheon and felt just like Audrey...but with boobs. Girls with a chest, be warned: you will have cleavage in this dress. Go with a balcony bra, as a full coverage one will tend to show in the front.
Jax
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4623
Oct 29, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I have rented this dress twice already. Once for a work related dinner and once for a wedding. It fits perfectly and is oh, so flattering. I would love to own it!
Allison
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 4434
Oct 25, 2011
Overall fit: Large
This dress is outstanding! I typically wear a size 4 and have a larger chest (DD), but based on the reviews I ordered the 2 as my back up...so glad I did! The 2 fit and looked amazing (I didn't even bother trying on the 4). The fabric had some stretch but was nicely weighted and perfect for fall NYC weather. This dress is beautiful and was a real head turner - will definitely rent again.
Brooke
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 1441
Oct 19, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
This was my first rental and a great experience. Very flattering and amazing, high-quality fabric with this dress. I am usually between a 4 and 6, so ordered both. I would say it runs just a bit large since the 4 was plenty big enough. I was nervous about the fit since I am on the thinner side but have a 32DDD chest, but this dress was perfect. Used for engagement pics!
EMW
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4543
Oct 14, 2011
Overall fit: Large
I wore this to a friend's engagement party. It fits great - pretty snug, but extrememely flattering because the material is thick and doesn't show every lump and bump. The material is less dressy than I thought, so you can dress it up with accessories, but it could also work for a business cocktail party. I usually wear a size 4, but wore the size 2, so I would go a size down. I have a small bust, but the neck showed them off and almost gave me a little cleavage!
Jaclyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4532
Aug 15, 2011
Overall fit: Large
It runs a little big. I'm usually a size 4 so I got a size 4 and 6. THey fit but kinda big. I called up RTR and they send a size 2 the next day. I love this dress its conservative and sexy at the same time. I wore it to a wedding and paired it with a silver belt and silver shoes to make it more dressed up. I would rent this again.
Kerry
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 1531
May 16, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
Loved it! This dress fits great and it looks awesome on...highly recommend!!
JJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 138 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6423
May 10, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
Perfect dress. Went to a meeting to a cocktail party without any changes. I can't tell you how many compliments I got. I felt like a million bucks and felt amazing. Runs true to size and hugs in all the right places.
Susan
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 1531
Apr 21, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I ordered this dress in an 8 and 10, but the 10 was not available. It is very nice, the fabric is heavy, and it is a nice cut, except I found it to not be the right proportions for me, e.g. my torso was maybe a bit too long for it, and it was also very short, shorter than on the model. I didn't feel it fit well so I sent it back, but would have liked to have seen how the large size would have fit.
vt_sonya
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 1431
Dec 14, 2010
Overall fit: True to Size
I loved this dress. Who knew wool could be so soft? Wore it to a holiday party with some stilettos and diamond jewelry and received a ton of compliments. I definitely agree with some of the previous posts about the bust. I have a larger bust, (Thanks to the birth of my daughter.), and it was certainly on display more than in the photo. (My husband didn't mind and it was still work holiday party appropriate.) I would recommend checking out Port 1961's website for their sizing guide because it's different from Rent The Runway's.
Jackie K.
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 1431
Nov 16, 2010
Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is cut beautifully, and is very flattering and ladylike. The fabric is relatively thick, and the dress is lined, which gives the piece a nicely tailored look. This is a great dress for a holiday work party, or any other time that you'd like to look like Jackie-O--effortlessly chic. I'm 24, and I liked that it made me look more put together for a work party I was attending. I let my Mom try it on too (she's 50), and she loved that it made her look sexy, but not like she was "wearing her daughter's clothes."
Sally
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4443
Oct 12, 2010
Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was amazing for a fall wedding! It fit perfectly and accentuated all my best parts. I would definitely recommend this for anyone going for a chic and classic look.
Judy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 55
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4634
Oct 11, 2010
Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was my backup, but it was a close call. The sheath is a well-made and conservativly cut style. The neckline, however, made it much sexier than it would appear in the photo--particularly for those who have a full bust. In my case, cleavage was on display and I decided that the occasion called for less cleavage. Loved the pockets and for a grazing business coctail party it would be great--pockets are a rare feature on dresses and they are a great place to stash a business card or slim cell phone.
Alissa
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 1431
Sep 28, 2010
Overall fit: True to Size
I really liked this dress, it was chic and sophisticated. The fabric is a little stretchy which allows for a bit more give in your curvier areas.
JB-ATL
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2634
Sep 6, 2010
Overall fit: True to Size
Simply gorgeous. "Tres" sophisticated and the fit is very flattering. I had my doubts about a blue dress but I paired it with some deep purple peep toe pumps and pearls and it was elegant with a dash of my personality. As always with my Runway rentals, lots of compliments.
Platinumtraveler
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4623
Sep 4, 2010
Overall fit: True to Size
Loved the navy blue color and style!! Perfect dress for networking and comfortable!
Ashelyn
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 1431
Aug 24, 2010
Overall fit: True to Size
Dress runs true to size and it had the right amount of umph for my presentation at work. It is stretchy fabric and also looks great with tights!
CD346
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 1531
Aug 23, 2010
Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is very figure-flattering for curvy body types. I am 5'4" and a size 8 and the dress definitely made me look thinner.
Lara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3534
Aug 13, 2010
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Such a great dress - can take you from the office straight info the evening. Easy fit and flattering cut.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress