Pencey

Gold Rush Mini

$35 rental
$520 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Having a huge blowout birthday bash? Rent this gold sequin explosion by Pencey for your big night. Go with trendy accessories like the Erickson Beamon's Gold Digger Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection; fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - may be more fitted on women with fuller hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection; fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - may be more fitted on women with fuller hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Gold sequins(100% polyester with sequins). Crew neckline. Short sleeves. Shift body. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

127 reviews

Fit
Small 25
True to Size 83
Large 10
Photos 68
Molly
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 26, 2011

Disco Ball

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress to wear to my company's Christmas party. It was certainly a showstopper and everyone loved the dress. One thing to note, the dress is short! Especailly if you have long legs! So make sure you know how to sit gracefully and I would advise not bending over to pick things up or lifting your arms high in the air else you risk exposing your bum. Also, the lining is smaller than I expected and fits much tighter than the rest of the dress, but it was not so horrible that it bothered me all night. Other than that I loved the dress. It is a great combination of sassy and classy- loud but not too flashy b/c of the high neck and sleeves. Perfect party dress.
E.H.
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 27, 2011

Classy but fun!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for a black tie holiday party and it was perfect. I loved the sparkle but it did not look cheap at all -- very classy dress. The picture is a very accurate depiction of the dress. I am 5'5" and 120 lbs and the S fit great. The XS would have worked but was slightly tight across the bottom. Fun and beautiful dress for a special night out. I recommend black patent leather pumps and pretty stud earrings. Keep it simple since the dress speaks for itself.
BmoreSGF
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Jan 3, 2012

Party Dress!!!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to a Christmas party with "festive cocktail attire" and received a ton of compliments. It's such a fun dress and really easy to wear.
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 4, 2012

Oops. A little short.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The gold sequins were perfect for New Year's! I should have paid attention to how "mini" it was. Unfortunately, at 5'6" it rode waaay up my thigh. Although I have nice long legs, it wasn't appropriate for a women of a certain age..
Lori
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Jan 5, 2012

Christmas Sparkle

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was a hit at my Christmas party. The small was a little snug in the chest so I wore the medium.
Maggie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 21
Body type: Athletic
Jan 7, 2012

Great dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved it! I got so many compliments on this dress. The sleeves and cut of the dress balance out the loudness of the sequins for a perfect look! The fabric is a bit heavier than usual due to the sequins, and it was a little big at the top, so it didn't seem as fitted as it looked in the photo. Regardless, I was very pleased with this one!
kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 9, 2012

NYE

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered and S and M because I was worried about the length-- usually wear a small. I ordered this for NYE and I was slightly disappointed because the gold was intense and I was thinking it would be a more subtle champagne-y hue based on the picture. I also think I was between sizes as the medium looked like a bag on me. The small was a little tight in the shoulders and arms, a little awkward to move in. I wore the small because it looked more like how it looks on the model than how the medium did. Length was good overall, definitely got compliments and it is a fun dress!
MCM
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Feb 9, 2012

Gold Sequined Sheath

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I was disappointed when I received the dress. I was looking forward to wearing it to a company's birthday party in NYC and ended up going with my back-up RTR dress (which was perfect). When I unzipped the garment bag, the sequins were already a bit too much for me. I thought the sequins would be a little more muted in color, but the name of the dress is an accurate description. It's a very gold dress. I wear a size 2 top and 4 bottom, so based off the product description and size chart I ordered an XS and S. I could barely fit the S over my head and, once I did get it on, it was not flattering at all. The dress fits more like a sheath than a shift. It was quite baggy on the side and tight in the shoulder and hip area. Overall, it didn't work for me, but still would be a great option for those with maybe a straight & narrow or petite frame.
Chelsae
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 14, 2012

Fun Dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Like other reviewers have noted, the dress runs a little small in the shoulders. I probably would have liked how the extra small fit in the body better, but my normal-sized shoulders were way to broad to dream about fitting in the XS. That being said, the small still looked gorgeous, I felt like a million dollars, and I got a ton of compliments.
Jessica
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 24, 2012

VDay Dinner

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I wore this dress out for Valentine's with my boyfriend and then to my (late) birthday party after! It was a great fit, super fun and I loved it.
dtd
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Mar 5, 2012

Lots of compliments

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered this one and the gold Milly dress for a cocktail party with a gold theme. The Milly dress actually fit better but the sleeves were a bit restricting so I went with this one for dance-ability. I usually wear a '0' and this was slightly large but perfect for comfort. You will not be disappointed. (The color is quite gold compared to champagne)
Lindsey
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
May 15, 2012

Wear it to get noticed

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is amazing. I usually wouldn't wear this type of dress size I have a larger rear and it seems made for very stright-bodied women. However, I couldn't resist. I ordered both a M and L and the M was perfect because it hugged my rear and (with spanx) didn't ride up. I received so many compliments from my friends and strangers. My only cautions are it did sometimes make my stomach look larger than it is, but that is the nature of this non-hugging dress and also the sequins are kind of killer. If you're going to be dancing all night, prepare to have a few war wounds on the insides of your arms. Would totally rent this dress again!
ABDALI
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 56
Body type: Athletic
May 15, 2012

Prom was fabulous!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Prom could not have been better! This dress was not only a perfect fit, there were no other dresses even closely resembling it!
Melanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 10, 2012

Sparkles!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding in NYC during the winter. I love the dress, especially on the model. But the high neck on me was not as flattering. I would not rent this style dress again, but that has more to do with what looks good on my shape than the dress. If you can pull off a higher neck, this dress is super cute!
mizzadie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

fantastic bling :)

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
wore it to a day at the races and a bridal shower on the same day a real treat ! definitely would recommend !!!
katie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Sep 10, 2012

looks great

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress. I wore it to a casino night and it was a big hit. I normally wear a size 4 and have a bit of a pear shape to me. the underlying layer was a bit tight but the top layer covered it up nicely. the M was way too big.
Jacqueline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 2, 2012

Beautiful, eye catching dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I got tons of compliments on this dress! I loved it overall, but thought that the neckline was a bit tight. I could have gone a size up in the neck but nowhere else.
Sloan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 131 lbs
Oct 3, 2012

I wore this the night of my bachelorette party. It was definitely eye-catching.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Such a fun dress!
Jai
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 4, 2012

Super cute in person

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I never had a chance to wear the dress as it couldn't get it over my hips. Not a good option for larger bottoms
Noelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 6, 2012

The gold sequins on the entire dress literally make you the star of the night.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I have a slim body type. I got the smallest size and it still felt a little big on me. This dress would have been perfect if the body was contoured. It looks like it is on the model picture but it's straight lined. I paired it with some large jewelry and nude pumps, which matched the accent color perfectly. The dress hit me mid-thigh and I have long legs like the model. I was complemented on my dress from the moment i walked into the room and continuously throughout the night. I would definitely recommend the dress, especially if you want to be noticed.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 8, 2012

Sparkle Overload

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I'm a sucker for anything with sequins, but this dress was a little too much for me. Also, the dress gives you no shape.
Hannah W.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 9, 2012

Super cute for a fun night out!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
A little tight so I couldn't comfortable raise my arms but the 2 did fit okay. It was short and very shiny so I thought it was quite appropriate for the fundraiser I was attending but otherwise very cute!
Amber
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 24, 2012

Bachelorette Party Bling!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my bachelorette party - it fit perfectly and I got a lot of compliments! Definitely THEE perfect dress to wear to spend your last night out as a single lady!
jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
Oct 30, 2012

A fun choice

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is very chic, but the smallest size available was too large and boxy on me.
Victoria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Nov 7, 2012

It was not a flattering fit on me at all. I didn't end up wearing it because it looked awful.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I thought this dress looked super cute in the picture. I received the dress and immediately was blinded by the sparkle, which wouldn't have been terrible because I was planning on wearing the dress to Vegas anyways. The dress looked awful on me. I have more of an hourglass figure and it looked tight in the hips and baggy around the middle. I think if you are tall and thin that this dress could be cute, but if you have a figure-definitely stay away!
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

Odd Fit

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress as a back up for NYE. After reading the reviews I rented the XS. It was extremely tight on the hips and then big everywhere else. It didn't really flatter me - if I were to rent it again I would go up a size or two so it fit more like a shift dress.
MCC
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Jan 13, 2013

Very boxy, runs big

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I am pretty petit so this dress did nothing for my frame. I ordered the M due to the S ans XS not being an option. Sadly I did not get to wear this dress.
kathryn
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 9, 2013

Wasn't a fan

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Ordered. Tried on. Horrible. Def not a good dress for an hourglass figure. It went straight down and made my hips lok wide.
Kerriblyss
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113 lbs
May 3, 2013

Beautiful

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was beautiful but the sequins caught in to everything, My hair the
Susan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106 lbs
May 17, 2013

I got a lot of compliments on this dress! It is a great color and trim, perfect holiday dress.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The only downfall for me was that the sleeves were a little tight. I am petite in build and found them to be restricting, so can't image that this dress would be fitting for someone with a little big larger or muscular arms.
katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143 lbs
May 22, 2013

Fun sparkly party dress

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This was a fun dress to wear to my friend's big b-day bash party. It is pretty comfortable. Easy to sit in and easy to dance in. I normally would wear a medium, but I wore the large due to the fact that I have broader shoulders and as other reviewers stated, the shoulder/sleeve area runs small. The large also gave me a tad bit more length so it wasn't a mini skirt, but a normal short skirt. I loved that it is loose in the middle so my "pooch" is hidden. Overall a fun, sparkly dress for a fun night out on the town.
christina
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jun 3, 2013

Beautiful dress, fit wasn't flattering on me

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The dress was absolutely stunning in person, but it looked like a sack on my body. I'd suggest ordering a size down (not up like I did) just in case. I ended up not wearing the dress at all which was a bummer.
Elaine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 1, 2013

so cute! Runs small

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Such a cute dress, rented it to wear on New Years Eve. I wanted to love this dress so much but wish I had rented a size up because it was so tight on my butt!
abylish
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 5, 2013

Cute dress, couldn't wear it.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
For some reason, this fit me very strangely and I don't have trouble with things fitting. It was incredibly uncomfortable at the neckline. I didn't wear it because of the tightness at the neckline and odd fit in my shoulders. Sad - I had gotten it for Vegas and it just sat in my suitcase. Giving it two stars because it was a very fun dress, just didn't fit me at all.
Simone
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Aug 27, 2013

Cheesy!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
I normally don't wear sequins, but I thought this looked like a fun, classy option to wear while on a vacation in Miami. This dress was incredibly cheesy looking in person and I ended up not wearing it. Also, I have a very athletic build with muscular arms and the sleeves were very tight on my arms when I tried it on (otherwise runs true to size).
laurie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 4, 2013

Felt pretty.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this to a "formal" wedding and it was perfect. Comfortable yet sparkly and appropriate for occasion. Didn't have to wear any special bra or Spanx so that was another bonus. A random gentleman (other than my husband) complimented me on the dress which made me feel good. Would definitely do this dress and RTR again!
Ann
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 17, 2013

Show stopper, sparkly, classic!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Very pretty! As mentioned, the sleeves are tight and I felt that the dress runs a bit small overall. I am normally a 4 in most dresses and the 6 was a better fit. I wore this for my sister's Bachelorette Weekend for wine tasting (she requested that we all wear sequins!). Overall, a classic, stand out dress! Sorry -- didn't capture a clear pic with all of the wine tasting going on! ;)
megzip
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 24, 2013

If you want to stand out and really be flashy without being at all trashy, this is it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered a XS and Small based on other reviews from customers thinking it would be more of a shift dress than anything really fitted. Though, I could not get the XS over my hips, which typically is not a problem. The Small fit and was still very comfortable, though it was less than a shift dress because it was still fitted around the hips and bum area. The length was just to my fingertips at 35" from shoulder to hem. I would definitely rent again but would try the Medium. p.s. This dress was sent to me overnight and delivered within 24 hours before 10 am day of wedding! Love RTR!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 31, 2013

Cute, comfy, good for hiding early stage baby bump (was ~4 months)

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Would typically be a 4 (and prob small in this dress) not pregnant, but the Medium was great for ~4 months along).
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Nov 14, 2013

Small in the arms and a bit unflattering

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The arms were tight. The middle did not lay flat and made the appearance of a tummy!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×