Gold Rush Mini

$364 to buy
$520 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Having a huge blowout birthday bash? Rent this gold sequin explosion by Pencey for your big night. Go with trendy accessories like the Erickson Beamon's Gold Digger Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection; fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - may be more fitted on women with fuller hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection; fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - may be more fitted on women with fuller hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Gold sequins (100% polyester with sequins). Crew neckline. Short sleeves. Shift body. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported.

Share
140 reviews
Fit
Large10
True to Size88
Small29
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 17
Body type: Petite
March 26, 2016
Fantastic Dress!
This dress was great! The sparkles were perfect and will make anyone who wears this dress a sure standout. It's pretty comfortable to wear and easy to pull off. Only four stars because it's the not the absolutely best and stunning dress ever, but it's very nice and almost there. If you're okay with looking like you're wearing an oversized sparkly t-shirt then it's great! Super cute dress that says "casual but I like to party" overall great dress!!
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Party
January 9, 2016
I wore this to a Great Gatsby themed party. Everyone loved
The dress was a bit tight when I first slipped it on but once I adjusted it the dress was pretty comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 4, 2016
So easy, affordable & fun
This dress make me feel so fun & festive. Wish I had more occasions to use RTR
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 8, 2015
Tasteful and flashy!
I love how fun this dress is! Wonderful for a wedding! The dress was a little shorter than I am usually comfortable wearing but once I got to the venue, I didn't notice. I received so many compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 7, 2015
Celebrated my birthday in this dress!
Definitely runs a little snug - I bounce between a 2/4 and rented the medium because it was the only one available. Fit perfectly but definitely put this on before you do your hair and makeup because it has to go over the head and is a snug fit. Perfect length and I am 5'9 but if you are planning to do a lot of dancing this might not be the right dress. The color is gorgeous - different shades of sequins (pure gold, rose gold, silver) so it looks fab in person and in pictures. Loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 46
August 11, 2015
Stunning !
This dress ran a little small, but he sequins are great, they are all different colors, I received many compliments on this. A lot of fun to wear !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 6, 2015
A perfect fit on a petite frame
I am always a bit nervous that dresses will be too big/long on me since I am so petite. This was a perfect fit! A loose but nice fitting shift (perfect for a big meal) that hit just at the right spot on my mid thigh (sorry you can't see that in the photo). As other reviewers said, it is a little tricky getting on and off. You may want to style your hair after putting it on. I wore this for a hollywood glam themed bachlorette party but it would also be great for a holiday party.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Wedding
July 15, 2015
Quick & easy delivery and return!
This dress was such a hit at the 4th of July wedding I attended. Loose enough to dance, long enough appear modest, but young & vibrant enough to look my age. As most people have stated, the arms run small and the dress is hard to get off (especially if you have big hair!). I was still able to pull off a medium without looking like the hulk in my photos, but pulling the dress off in the more literal sense was a group effort. Worth renting, but if you have beefy arms I would highly recommend sizing up.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
July 6, 2015
Fourth of July Wedding Winner
I ordered both the XS and S sizes. It definitely ran small due to the straight cut and sequined details, I'm not overly curvy however; I do have a 'bubble butt' so there was no way I could get the XS dress to fit in the hip area. The dress has VERY little give so if you are concerned about it being too small, order a size larger. For example, I probably could have worn a medium in the hips even though I'm a small top. PS This dress was almost impossible to get in and out of, even with help!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 3, 2015
I didn't end up wearing this dress even though it's ADORABLE.
looking back at pictures, I should have worn this dress instead of the backup dress that I chose. It was not that short and I didn't think that it was hard to get on and off. It's a very high quality dress with just the right amount of sparkle. I have boobs and a butt and it fit me great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
May 6, 2015
Awesome Party Dress!
I wore this for my birthday party, and then again for a night out I loved it so much! It is an awesome dress and I would love to have it in my closet someday. Perfect amount of bling and the cut made it very classy. I am 5'11 so I will warn other tall ladies, wear this to events you are not expecting to sit down too much. I got a lot of compliments and I felt that the color was a great bright gold. The fact that it is lined was also a plus, it was very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 1, 2015
It was a gold colored party so I thought this dress would have been perfect based on the reviews
the arms were so tight I couldn't even wear the dress. The midsection was very large and the legs and hips were tight. Very strange fit. Even if I had ordered a 6 or 8, it wouldn't have worked. I couldn't even take it off without help. Very disappointed I couldn't wear it. I hope this honest review helps someone else.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
April 15, 2015
So sparkly and comfortable. Tons of compliments.
Loved this! It ran a little big, but was totally comfortable. I'm rather short, so the length was perfect with 2in heels. It's definitely a show-stopper and is a bit heavy, but not super hot.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
April 10, 2015
TINY!!!
I rented this dress for my sorority formal and it came and was literally a child size. I am usually a large is everything so I thought it would fit no problem. I couldn't even get it on my arms.. My friend that is usually a small/medium even tried it on and it barely fit her. Do not rent this dress if you have any sort or muscular/larger arms. Only a good dress for the skinny minnies.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
March 29, 2015
Great dress for formal occasion
Wore this dress to a wedding - this dress may have been more appropriate for a winter formal occasion, but I still got compliments in it! Nicely made dress, fits to size - a bit difficult to put on and off (make sure to do your hair after you put on the dress!). Another great rental from RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
March 23, 2015
Stunning with lots of wiggle room!
I wore this dress to my best friends wedding celebration. They were married in Figi and had a dinner party to celebrate the event. The dress was perfect for the event - cocktail attire. I ordered the S with the M as my backup. The S had a great overall fit but since we were having drinks and a full course dinner I went with the M - for more room. The length was similar in both sizes but the M just gave me a little more wiggle room :) The length was great and with heels it actually made my legs look longer. Loved this dress and received so many compliments on it. I wore tan heels and very simple jewelry. The dress does it all. Would definitely recommend and wear again. If only it weren't a rental!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Party
Age: 27
March 8, 2015
Great experience!
The fit of this dress is perfect! The arms are slightly snug but nothing that was uncomfortable. I received so many compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 21, 2015
this was a perfect upscale work party at the ritz! Not too overwhelming!
good length, mid thigh
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
January 25, 2015
I wore this dress for my 23rd birthday in DC. It was the perfect party dress for the birthday girl!
Overall, I thought this dress was very comfortable and well made. I would say it fits true to size, but definitely tight about the thighs/hip area. I think it is the perfect dress for any sparkly occasion!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
January 21, 2015
Looks shine-tastic with a microphone!
I rented this dress for my karaoke birthday party and it couldn't have been more perfect! It shined under the lights and I felt like a diva! I got a million compliments. It was comfortable to rock out in all night. I felt fantastic in this dress. I carry my weight in my arms so it's worth noting that if you have thicker arms it does feel a little snug. And echoing what others have said, you'll need to do your hair after putting on the dress because there is only the little clasp at the neck.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 14, 2015
So comfortable and fun to wear
I loved this dress. I would say as with all designer dresses it runs a bit small. I'm normally a medium but I ordered the large and it was perfect. I did not experience what others have said in their reviews as far as having trouble taking the dress off. I got tons of compliments on it and it was so comfortable I didn't want to take it off! No need to suck in or skip dinner, as it was a roomy fit in a flattering way.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
January 5, 2015
THE PICTURE DOES NOT DO THIS DRESS ANY JUSTICE! IT'S SO GLAMOROUS.....
DRESS RUNS TRUE TO SIZE, IT'S A LITTLE LONGER THEN ILLUSTRATED IN THE PICTURE. IT SHIMMERS AT EVERY POINT.
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
January 3, 2015
Fun and comfy!
Be prepared to stand out in this dress! I'd never worn a sequin dress before and decided to go for it for a holiday party. Since the dress stood out on its own, I kept it simple with the hair and accessories. It was super comfortable but made me feel incredibly sexy at the same time. The husband can be a tough critic, and he definitely approved.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 31, 2014
Great dress for a rehearsal dinner! Fun without being over the top with family around.
Comfortable to wear all night long, be careful of wearing a jacket or sweater over it because looser fabrics can snag on the sequins if layered over the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
December 30, 2014
Woah small!
Wow this dress ran small. Dress was made up I a few tones of sequin, so it was very pretty. There isn't too much to even say about it besides how tight it was. Do not rent if you have a large bust. Dress does not have a large zipper or any stretch, I had to be yanked out of it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 30, 2014
I wore this dress for my golden birthday party and it was perrrrrfect!!
The dress was a little shorter than I expected, but not awfully short. The under-layer may be a little tight around the hips if you have any sort of butt. Overall I was really happy with this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
December 23, 2014
Fun & Comfortable Party Dress
I loved this dress! It was very comfortable and perfect for my company's holiday party. I ended up wearing the large - the medium was a too tight for my bust. I had so much fun in this dress and would definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
December 17, 2014
Perfect Dress
I wore this dress to a wedding and got complements all night. I usually wear an XS, but the XS was booked. I tried the S. I was so glad I did - I think it fit perfectly. The XS may have been a little small. The S was relatively snug on my hips but still fit nicely. Not too tight. The dress was short, even though I'm not a tall girl. I thought the length was perfect with the high conservative neck.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
December 9, 2014
IMPOSSIBLE to take off.
I originally rented this dress for my work holiday party - but wasn't sure that it would be "form fitting" enough - I didn't want to look like a gold paper bag. In any case, the RTR Gods were looking out for me, because since the backup size ended up being damaged, I was contacted by RTR asking if I wanted another dress instead! They let me still rent the M Gold Dress but then sent me another style dress for the inconvenience (thanks again!). Anyway, I put on the Medium Gold Dress and it fit well. The bottom is tapered and while I won't say it showed off my figure, it was okay. I would definitely recommend this dress if you have some problem areas you're looking to hide. I took one awkward selfie, pictured here, before I went to take it off and try on the other dress. It took me twenty minutes to get the dress off. TWENTY. I have a large chest, but basically the dress could not come off of my shoulders and over my chest at the same time. I laughed, almost cried, and decided to try one more time before I was going to call my girl friend to have her help me pry it off, when I was finally able to get the dress over my chest. I would NOT recommend getting this dress unless you have the help of two girlfriends to get it off of you at the end of the night. It is a pretty dress - and great for holiday parties, but I wish there was a better exit strategy. No wonder my back-up size got damaged...
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
November 30, 2014
A stand out.
Seemed to run just a bit big. Wore for a family holiday dinner. Comfortable yet elegant and sassy. Would totally rent again. Recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Body type: Petite
November 19, 2014
Absolutely loved this dress on the app and loved it even more in person. I got compliments all night
I normally wear a small in a dress, but the extra small fit just right. It was hard to take on and off, but fit perfectly when it was finally on. Looks great in pictures! Was definitely more than pleased with it and did NOT want to return it
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
November 17, 2014
Lit up the room
I got a million compliments on this dress. It definitely stood out in a room full of black dresses. I loved the fit and the comfort of this dress. I highly recommend it!!!!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
November 2, 2014
A great choice if you don't have a 21" waist.
The dress was beautiful & comfy. Perfect for a long night of dancing. I received lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 26
October 19, 2014
I wore this dress for my Savannah, Georgia Bachelorette Party! I walked around town to oohs and ahhs
I ordered an XS because the S was not available and it was a little tight around the thighs and I was unable to lift my arms very high :( I would say to look for another dress than try and go down a size if you're unsure. However, the dress was so fun and I got so many compliments throughout the night! I was nervous about trying RTR, but everything arrived on time and looked great :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Body type: Petite
October 1, 2014
The star of the photoshoot!
I'm a photographer, and use Rent the Runway primarily for wardrobe options. I found this dress for a fun, modern elopement editorial I was about to shoot, and it worked perfectly! The only note the model made was that it was not stretchy at all, and didn't have much give. Not necessarily a bad thing, just something to keep in mind! Overall, this was a fabulous little dress, and everyone has been commenting on it!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 17, 2014
Loved this dress! Wore it as a bridesmaids dress. So elegant.
Little tricky to get into because there is no zip. I got dressed before hair and make up. Absolutely loved it though. All the bridesmaids wore nude shoes.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 146lbs
September 3, 2014
Super Cute But With An Unfortunate Experience
First of all, when people say that this dress runs small, it REALLY runs small. Tried it on immediately after receiving it... looked absolutely great in it... but when I tried to take it off, definitely got stuck. There's no zipper so you have to pull it over your head and when I went to pull it off, it got stuck on my arms. Had to call my boyfriend who was at work to help me out of it. While I crack up about my experience, and thank god I wasn't in a dressing room trying this on, it was kind of a bummer to send it back before I could wear it out. I gave it 4 stars because regardless of it issue, it looked great. The dress fit well everywhere else but the shoulders and it made me look very slimming... I would have taken a picture, but I didn't have much of a chance. For those who normally wear a size medium, step it up and get a large.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
August 29, 2014
I got so many (good) head turns that I felt like Beyonce or J.Lo!
I was obsessed with this dress as soon as I saw it on RTR and it was the PERFECT dress for my 23rd birthday! The dress is classy, sexy and you can't go wrong with something that sparkles like that! The sparkles are actually gold and pale pink so I would recommend nude or a bright colored shoe (I wore red). I ordered both the Medium and Large after reading multiple reviews, but felt the Large fit better in the sleeves and for the style of the dress. I would recommend going up a size if you have bigger arms but overall, I absolutely loved the dress and would most definitely re-order!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108lbs
August 12, 2014
I wanted to stand out...and I did!
This stunner was comfortable to wear all night. I wore this for my engagement party/couples shower and wanted a fun alternative to a white dress. Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
July 24, 2014
Dress is amazing! If u wear something like this everyone will note it.
Im 5'5 130lb and size S was perfect For me. The dress is amazing! I got a lot of compliments and it was hard for me to return. I wanted to keep it.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×